Yes it's true. Nice to break a bit of news on my first post, or maybe you all knew. Apparently Grimley is with him too. The plot thickens when you consider ARMAGH AND kILDARE ARE IN THE SAME DIVISION...
He's only been linked to the job, nothing is confirmed.
Lads you should read the Kildare Board nobody knows yet, it's getting ridiculous!! All th names under the sun so nothing said until it's officially announced!
OTB I'd delete that very quickly
I heard this last week and also heard Canavan was approached. Of the two McGeeney would be my choice, he's good friends with Glen Ryan so I'd imagine Glen would be coming on board as a selector. The key to his appointment is of course Grimley, Newstalk seem to think the appointment was immanent and Ger Gilroy was like a 6 year old in his excitement calling McGeeney the new Keane.
If we had that team on board and a proper 3 year plan I think we could be definite challengers in Leinster again, he has division 1 football next year to work with and a very competitive club football championship, a bit of northern steel in Kildare football could make all the difference.
I for one am quite excited by the prospect by the Geezer revolution and hope it's not pie in the sky...
Over the Bar, that was way over the line. Deleted.
QuoteOver the Bar, that was way over the line. Deleted.
?? ??? ??
Great players don't always make great managers but McGeeney strikes me as a man who would be a decent manager. I think its a good move for Kildare.
Quote from: Over the Bar on September 19, 2007, 09:14:32 AM
QuoteOver the Bar, that was way over the line. Deleted.
?? ??? ??
OTB I didn't think there was too much wrong with that. Bit of a joke. Some people take themselves too seriously!!
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 19, 2007, 08:27:15 AM
I heard this last week and also heard Canavan was approached. Of the two McGeeney would be my choice, he's good friends with Glen Ryan so I'd imagine Glen would be coming on board as a selector. The key to his appointment is of course Grimley, Newstalk seem to think the appointment was immanent and Ger Gilroy was like a 6 year old in his excitement calling McGeeney the new Keane.
If we had that team on board and a proper 3 year plan I think we could be definite challengers in Leinster again, he has division 1 football next year to work with and a very competitive club football championship, a bit of northern steel in Kildare football could make all the difference.
I for one am quite excited by the prospect by the Geezer revolution and hope it's not pie in the sky...
Dinny,
are the rumours that Grimley will be part of the package?
If so then that would be a fantastic coup for Kildare.
If its McGeeney on his own, then its another potential Steve Staunton scenario.
It could go either way.
Initially the players and fans will lead to so much hype and enthusiasm, that it is bound to up Kildares confidence and perf (I think Kildare have as good a squad - talent wise- as Meath at least). So this will carry them some distance, and it all depends on the Leinster draw.
BUT when the going gets tough, and its tactical decisions McGeeney has to make, his lack of experience could bring the whole thing crashing down. Kildare being a daycent bunch, wont ridicule him though and he would be given every help and benefit of any doubts etc
Thats obv if he is appointed (and appointed without Grimley).
If Grimley is part of it, then he will be the tactician behind the scenes with McGeeney as front man and the guy who will whip the side into shape.
Interesting times.
Also interesting that RTE are reputedly going to pay €20 million for TV rights over the next three years. The last 3 year deal was only worth €12 million ! ! !
O'Dwyer was there in the 90's - he was a great success - there are a lot of resources there which will be useful.
Good luck to Kieran and co.
Wud it not make more sense to have Grimley as the manager and Geezer as tea-boy? I'd be surprised if Grimley wud want to be no 2 to a complete novice? It's not as if Geezer would be the better frontman to the media either given his lack of personality.
Geezer is very good with the media and will lighten up just like Keano !
QuoteDinny,
Seemingly that's a stuumbling block, Grimly is not keen on the travel from Armagh (McGeeney is based in Dublin). It would only work I believe if Grimley was on board, interesting few days ahead...
Quote from: Over the Bar on September 19, 2007, 09:52:27 AM
Wud itnow make more sense to have Grimley as the manager and Geezer as tea-boy? I'd be surprised if Grimley wud want to be no 2 to a complete novice? It's not as if Geezer would be the better frontman to the media either given his lack of personality.
He did it in cavan last year but it was clear to be seen that it was Grimley who called the shots.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 19, 2007, 09:55:38 AM
QuoteDinny,
Seemingly that's a stuumbling block, Grimly is not keen on the travel from Armagh (McGeeney is based in Dublin). It would only work I believe if Grimley was on board, interesting few days ahead...
I presume horses mouth....from you friend....
Quotegiven his lack of personality
Have you ever met this man? I don't think you have or you wouldn't be making a daft statement like this. McGeeney is a very personable and decent fella and good company.
If he's going to Kildare and if he's taking Paul Grimley with him, all I can say is
"Shame on Armagh Co Board in letting these 2 outstanding men slip out of their grasp? What a mistake!"
Quote from: Sandy Hill on September 19, 2007, 10:47:36 AM
Have you ever met this man? I don't think you have or you wouldn't be making a daft statement like this. McGeeney is a very personable and decent fella and good company.
If he's going to Kildare and if he's taking Paul Grimley with him, all I can say is
"Shame on Armagh Co Board in letting these 2 outstanding men slip out of their grasp? What a mistake!"
imo it would be too soon for McGeeney to coach/manage armagh
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 19, 2007, 10:49:46 AM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on September 19, 2007, 10:47:36 AM
imo it would be too soon for McGeeney to coach/manage armagh
i am of the same opinion myself LB, i think he should take some time to himself, relax for a bit and in a few months/years go into club management, and then try his hand at inter-county. although this is geezer we are talking about, always aims high!!
Quoteimo it would be too soon for McGeeney to coach/manage armagh
You're possibly correct lynchboy, but I'd still like to have him involved with the Armagh set-up. The man is a legend in our County and would ensure a tremendous work ethic and total commitment. As for Grimley, I always felt that he was a good tactician and McGeeney would seem to have endorsed this view if he is taking him with him.
it doesnt matter how good the guy was as a player, and how respected he was amongst his own team mates.
There will ALWAYS be some bit of jealousy/narkiness from ex-team mates and esp some of the younger more arrogant panel members.
Once you get that in the dressing room, there is a snowballing effect and its curtains.
Think - Steve Staunton.
McGeeney would be fine if he headed off to another club side to learn his trade - like McNulty did. He (mcnulty- but dont ask me which is which) obv will want the armagh job in a few years time,and by then will have some good teams under his managerial belt - picking up the good and bad aspects of management along the way.
Its a proven template for retired players, and any player who tried to buck the trend (by going straight/too soon into mgt with his own county team) usually ends up failing.
I think recently Sligo or Roscomman (??) have found that, and previous examples remind me of Ogie Moran in Kerry.
IMO
Grimley would be great for any county.
You are thinking of Justin McNulty who manage Mullahoran in Cavan - very good manager.
McGeeney and Justin would have been two good men to have over a county minor team/development squad
Quote from: thebandit on September 19, 2007, 11:23:02 AM
You are thinking of Justin McNulty who manage Mullahoran in Cavan - very good manager.
McGeeney and Justin would have been two good men to have over a county minor team/development squad
he's gone from mullahoran and now managing my local team - st brigids in Dublin
the other mcnulty is prob a better bet as a dev squad guy - as he coaches youth players..
Has this been confirmed yet?
QuoteHave you ever met this man? I don't think you have or you wouldn't be making a daft statement like this. McGeeney is a very personable and decent fella and good company.
Yes I've met him and I'mnot saying he'snot good company however I meant he's a bit stoic in terms of his media persona if he's to be the front man and Grimley the worker behind the scenes.
yep, 99% confirmed, Grimley will be the manager with McGeeney 2nd in command
Quote from: fcuksake on September 19, 2007, 03:24:09 PM
yep, 99% confirmed, Grimley will be the manager with McGeeney 2nd in command
thats good news for Kildare.
They have some good young talent there. Could be dark horses for next years leinster championship now they have a management that is competent rather than inept
best of luck to them
BBC Website,
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7001612.stm
A great managerial appointment by Kildare.
Grimley came on board with the Ogs minors the time we won the Ulster Minor competition, his tactics and movitivational skills were top drawer. This along with Geezer's sheer will to be the best in evreything he does should be a good combination.
Brilliant news for Kildare. Their half-arsed preparatory methods have been legendary over the last few years. If there's one thing for sure, Grimley and McGeeney will bring the latest thinking in training and fitness regimes. Great stuff - maybe now I can put up a Kildare flag in the summer. :P
Quote from: Star Spangler on September 19, 2007, 04:29:26 PM
Brilliant news for Kildare. Their half-arsed preparatory methods have been legendary over the last few years. If there's one thing for sure, Grimley and McGeeney will bring the latest thinking in training and fitness regimes. Great stuff - maybe now I can put up a Kildare flag in the summer. :P
You will be hoisting a white flag in June alright.
Fair play to Geezer, I wonder what he will make of the mentality in the Kildare camp?
I bet lads on the Kildare panel will be getting sick at the thought at what awaits them on the training field and in the gym in the months ahead ;D
Pure Torture no doubt.
It mightn't be too bad - Mc Geeney lives in the real world.
Quote from: orangeman on September 19, 2007, 06:01:18 PM
It mightn't be too bad - Mc Geeney lives in the real world.
That man lives in his own world!
Still haven't seen this confirmed anywhere, the Kildare lads are going nuts on their county website forum but at the end of it all nobody knows forsure. Jesus they've mentioned so many names on there it's ridiculous - McGeeney/Grimley/Micko(again)/Paidi/Tommy Carr/Dempsey/OJ Simpson
Kildare County Board will not be making any comment on this issue for a few weeks according to RTE Radio News.
It looks like a done deal - the only thing left to resolve would be the "personal terms" - apparently he has passed the medical and will be fit to play.
Geezer will have them pumped up looking like michelin men in their white jerseys, eyes bulgin wanting to tear the heads off the armagh men when they meet in the league........ :o :o
Jeez you'd think he'd want to take at least one year out (though I suppose he had a relatively play-free summer). Not getting personal here, but does he have a wife and kids?
QuoteNot getting personal here, but does he have a wife and kids?
His wife is the gym and his kids are his biceps......he's been bringing them up for years
Quote from: ONeill on September 19, 2007, 10:21:07 PM
Jeez you'd think he'd want to take at least one year out (though I suppose he had a relatively play-free summer). Not getting personal here, but does he have a wife and kids?
Long term girlfriend is
Julie Davis
renowned physical fitness trainer,
she trained Cavan this year and is head of DCU elite athelte physical fitness programme.
they are well matched id say :D
I think it would be a great move for Kildare and McGeeny himself . Who would be his back up team ,?.
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on September 19, 2007, 10:39:25 PM
Long term girlfriend is
Julie Davis
she trained Cavan this year and is head of DCU elite athelte physical fitness programme.
And she's a total lasher as well. :o
Will be interesting to see how Grimley fares. I'm undecided on him after his sojourn in Cavan, there was some improvements but some negatives too. Then again, it
was the particular caste of mind that is the Cavan senior footballer he was working with, it might be different elsewhere.
I just hope McGeeney doesn't still believe in the muscle. I don't think it enhanced Armagh's prospects whatsoever from 2004 on. Sure Paddy McKeever could've been a legend without the beef.
Quote from: ONeill on September 19, 2007, 11:14:03 PM
I just hope McGeeney doesn't still believe in the muscle. I don't think it enhanced Armagh's prospects whatsoever from 2004 on. Sure Paddy McKeever could've been a legend without the beef.
The only reason Paddy McKeever ever beefed up was becasue he wanted to look at himself in the mirror and think that he would look the part when he went to australia with his shirt off.
Quote from: Deal_Me_In on September 20, 2007, 06:27:19 AM
The only reason Paddy McKeever ever beefed up was becasue he wanted to look at himself in the mirror and think that he would look the part when he went to australia with his shirt off.
Back to personal insults! :-\ No point being jealous Dealer!
Quote from: cavanmaniac on September 19, 2007, 10:57:40 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on September 19, 2007, 10:39:25 PM
Long term girlfriend is
Julie Davis
And she's a total lasher as well. :o
Will be interesting to see how Grimley fares. I'm undecided on him after his sojourn in Cavan, there was some improvements but some negatives too. Then again, it was the particular caste of mind that is the Cavan senior footballer he was working with, it might be different elsewhere.
When are the Cavan folk gonig to realise that there players are shite and are too small. They have had Grimley, Mc Elkennon and Coleman in charge and have done zero in the championship. If your p[layers were greyhounds or horses they would all be put down.
I hope he believes in some muscle. Kildare are one of the weakest county teams around.
The amount of times i see county men flattenned with shoulders in club games is a joke.
When you get hiot by a ciounty man you should know all about it, not the case with the vast majority of Lilywhite players.
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on September 20, 2007, 08:27:46 AM
Not an insult or jealous. Have met the man a number of times and found him to be arrogant and self obsessed. Was talking to members of the Armagh team that said he was in the gym 3 times a week pre season prior to going to Australia and that was not his normal attitude.
Settle down lads - Paddy's a legend in Armagh - a nice fella - not arrogant - you need to know the man before you start throwing the brickbats !
I have heard that Grimley didnt get the Armagh job as Big joe didnt want him too.
Morgan was also going to pull the pin if he got in?
So Morgan picked the manager then effectively ??
Quote from: Deal_Me_In on September 20, 2007, 10:37:48 AM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on September 20, 2007, 08:27:46 AM
Not an insult or jealous. Have met the man a number of times and found him to be arrogant and self obsessed. Was talking to members of the Armagh team that said he was in the gym 3 times a week pre season prior to going to Australia and that was not his normal attitude.
You are insulting him, & what do you care if he looks after himself?
Sure wouldn't it be great to be in the shape Paddy is in ?
I don't care what shape he is in but i congratulate him on the disipline needed to get into such conditioning. My original post in relation to Paddy beefing up was implying he done it as much to go to australia as anything else, which was also told to me from various sources in Armagh, which you took to be an insult (although it wasnt intended as one). I them responded saying this plus what i have personally thought of the man on the ocasions i met him (personal views of which everyone is entitled)
Paddy, along with the rest of the panel, have been on specific weight training programmes for years....not just in the lead up to his travels!!!
I'm not sure it's right to question his motives.
I suppose the rest of the Armagh panel's bulking up is conincidence.
QuoteI suppose the rest of the Armagh panel's bulking up is conincidence.
....maybe they just want to look their best in the Kremlin of a Saturday night? ;):P
Was all this bulking up productive ? In terms of Ulster titles, yes, but what about the AI ? Did it slow them down ???
QuoteWas all this bulking up productive ? In terms of Ulster titles, yes, but what about the AI ? Did it slow them down
Agianst Fermanagh in 04 they looked like tree trunks, but otherwise I didnt notice any slowness.
spillane did
Quote from: orangeman on September 20, 2007, 10:44:13 AM
Settle down lads - Paddy's a legend in Armagh - a nice fella - not arrogant - you need to know the man before you start throwing the brickbats !
I hear he a while man for the gambling, topical i know.......
QuoteJeez you'd think he'd want to take at least one year out (though I suppose he had a relatively play-free summer).
Undoubtedly Geezer has finished his playing days a tormented soul without the 2nd AI that he so craved. The only way he can now exorcise his demons is to win one as a manager and has obviously wasted no time in setting about acomplishing that. Only then can he sleep easy.
Quote from: Over the Bar on September 20, 2007, 10:45:38 PM
QuoteJeez you'd think he'd want to take at least one year out (though I suppose he had a relatively play-free summer).
Undoubtedly Geezer has finished his playing days a tormented soul without the 2nd AI that he so craved. The only way he can now exorcise his demons is to win one as a manager and has obviously wasted no time in setting about acomplishing that. Only then can he sleep easy.
he wont get his 2nd AI this year, maybe a leinster title (at most)
I suppose he has to start somewhere and Kildare appear to have a good young side.
Mickey Moran is now being linked on the BBC teletext
Quotehe wont get his 2nd AI this year, maybe a leinster title (at most)
Maybe a case of stating the obvious there! :-\
From BBC NI Sport ----- Last Updated: Tuesday, 2 October 2007, 21:25 GMT 22:25 UK
QuoteMcGeeney is new Kildare manager
Kieran McGeeney succeeds John Crofton in the Kildare job
Former Armagh captain Kieran McGeeney has been appointed as the new manager of the Kildare football team.
McGeeney's appointment was ratified by the Kildare County Board on Tuesday night after chairman Syl Merrins' proposal was accepted.
The Mullaghbawn man, who retired from intercounty playing duty last month, is expected to be joined in Kildare by ex-Armagh assistant Paul Grimley.
McGeeney takes over from John Crofton who stepped down during the summer.
The Armagh man appears to have all the attributes to become a successful intercounty manager.
His former county team-mate Oisin McConville said last month:"Armagh's loss will be somebody else's gain and every county in Ireland will want to bring him (McGeeney) in."
McGeeney's inspirational captaincy helped Armagh win the 2002 All-Ireland title.
He was part of the Armagh panel for more than 15 years and was named the official GAA Footballer of the Year in 2002.
McGeeney claimed his first Ulster Championship medal in 1999 and he went on to claim five more provincial medals as well as three All Star awards.
The centre half-back also captained Ireland's International Rules team last year and he won provincial club medals with his native Mullaghbawn and Dublin outfit Na Fianna.
McGeeney's commitment was a huge factor in Armagh's successes over the last decade.
His discipline off the field was almost as legendary as his tenacity on the pitch.
Indeed, when commentators spoke about the professional approach which had became part of the modern intercounty game, invariably McGeeney's name cropped up.
>:(
whats the :( for??
Probably to reflect what most armagh people think... why have we snubbed those two great men and let them walk into someone else's county when we had every opportunity to make use of them
Nice to see it confimed, credit to Syl Merrins the Kildare Chairman, he took this upon himself. Must be first time a Nurney man ever did anything useful. Nice to see a 3 year deal in place as well..
QuoteProbably to reflect what most armagh people think... why have we snubbed those two great men and let them walk into someone else's county when we had every opportunity to make use of them
So you'd prefer to have McGeeney as Armagh manager than McDonnell?
Grimley has proved that Armagh board right in their decision. If he's prepared to be McGeeney's no. 2, he's not the man for the Armagh helm.
Happens that i would prefer geezer to mcdonnell but that is not the point. he wanted to play which was rebuffed and failing that he should have been kept on the ship in some capacity. you don't come across men with that stature many times in a generation.
The comment about grimley has no rationale attached to it.
Did Mc Geeney apply for the Armagh managers job? If he didn't how could he get it?
Quote from: DMarsden on October 03, 2007, 11:15:07 AM
Happens that i would prefer geezer to mcdonnell but that is not the point. he wanted to play which was rebuffed and failing that he should have been kept on the ship in some capacity. you don't come across men with that stature many times in a generation.
The comment about grimley has no rationale attached to it.
Are you saying Geezer wanted to continue playing but McDonnell said no?
As McGeeney is clearly good enough to play for Kildare, is there any chance that he could get a transfer from Na Fianna and play for the Lilywhites?.
honestly lads, do you think he would play for anyone else but Armagh? i don't think he would!!
QuoteAnd she's a total lasher as well
errr............is that good or bad? What does "lasher" mean?
Was wondering that meself. Lush = Gorgeous, Gash = Brutal
So what's Lash then??
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 03, 2007, 11:28:40 AM
Did Mc Geeney apply for the Armagh managers job? If he didn't how could he get it?
who said he should get the armagh job?
Quote from: DMarsden on October 03, 2007, 10:45:56 AM
Probably to reflect what most armagh people think... why have we snubbed those two great men and let them walk into someone else's county when we had every opportunity to make use of them
well you did question why he was snubbed how could he be snubbed if he did not apply for the job?
If you read it again, you'll see i refer to making use of him in a playing context. athough i agree there are a lot of ways he could have been utilised
fair enough dmarsden
It has been reported that Geezer may have to step down from his role as GPA secretary now and his days playing club football with Na Fianna could be over.
Anyone else hear this?
Didnt hear that kentucky
Is Dessie Farrell still playing?
It was just on RTE 2fm news earlier. But maybe they just mean just to his new commitments he may not have the time to do both.
Im sure he will still have some role with the GPA even if it's not secretary.
geezer's other half cud maybe take the odd training session! ;)
Quoteathough i agree there are a lot of ways he could have been utilised
Yes he'd make a great comedian.
Quote from: Over the Bar on October 04, 2007, 03:07:32 PM
boom boom ;)
Quote from: Over the Bar on October 04, 2007, 03:07:32 PM
Perhaps Mr Cavlan could be his trusty companion?
QuotePerhaps Mr Cavlan could be his trusty companion?
nah, he'd continue to be dogged by his past!
Perhaps Mr Cavlan could be his trusty companion?
Only in the bit where he saws the dog in half.......
Terms and conditions for the Kildare job are very good - new sports car already sponsored by some big outfit - by the way I don't begrudge it to him a bit - he's a legend !
A complete legend. I'll never forget these photos, taken after the AIF in 2003. Geezer stayed out to watch PTG lift Sam as a reminder of what the hurt felt like.
(http://ssl.utvinternet.com/sportingvisions/imgdir/78032168/armaghtunnel-12in_x_17in-(0.jpg)
(http://ssl.utvinternet.com/sportingvisions/imgdir/78474743/geez.jpg)
A giant.
Coming from you O'Neill, from the enemy camp, genuinely magnanimous!
[From the Leinster Leader]
Tommy Callaghan talks with Kildare boss Kieran McGeeney:
Tommy Callaghan: How much do you know about the standard of football in Kildare?
Kieran McGeeney: Well without being over familiar with Kildare I know how they have fared out against Armagh the last few times we played. They reached the semi-final of the national football league and while they may not have had a great championship run they are, nevertheless, a decent side and I am looking forward to working with.
Short term what would your ambitions be?
Well like everyone else, I would like to win every game that we play. That goes without saying whether that be in the O'Byrne, Cup, the National League, the Leinster Championship. It is everyone's ambition to win an All-Ireland and I am no different in that regard. Win every game we can I suppose is the short answer to that.
Paul Grimly is obviously very important to you?
Very important. I am not trying to pretend I know all about management. I don't. I have just finished my inter-county career and I will need a lot of guidance and as much help as I can get and Paul will be a big help in that regard. I have my own ideas and thoughts having played for so long but you need other people there to help and guide you and thankfully Paul is that man.
Your reputation is one of total dedication as a player I presume you will be bringing that attitude with you into management and expect your players to show the same dedication?
It depends what you want to do. If you want to turn up for every game, go through the motions that's one way but if you want to win you have to be committed; winners don't win by accident; you have to have hard graft; you only get out of the game what you put in to it; if it was just a matter of turning up on a Sunday or whenever it would be great but it doesn't work that way. Winners are the hardest trainers and the most dedicated of players; that has always been the way and always will be. If you don't put in the effort, you will get what you deserve.
I presume you will be bringing a third selector on board. Have you decided on who at this stage?
I will (bringing in a third person) but I have not decided who that person will be just yet; plenty of time to do that when I see how things are going in Kildare and who is available but between now and Christmas we will be training and we'll just see how things go and take it from there. Hopefully I can find someone who will get along with both myself and Paul which is essential and we will take it from there.
As an inter-county player who has just retired and still involved at club level in Dublin, what are your thoughts on the club versus county problems that crop up throughout a season. Are you anxious that your players play with their clubs as much as possible?
Yes, of course, I want people to play as much football as possible; if you want to become a better footballer you have to play football. Yes, I will be trying to accommodate the clubs as much as possible; it is vital for players to be playing football and while I am aware of the problems I will certainly be trying to accommodate everyone, both players and clubs
I presume you will be taking the player into the gym sooner rather than later?
A lot of people have this misconception of me and the gym. I am in the gym a lot less than many people envisage; the gym is part of the overall training; it is an essential part but in the overall picture of training it is only a very small part of it; you have to win the ball; you have to hold the ball; you have to kick it over the bar. The most important part of football is winning the ball, holding the ball, knowing when and how to get rid of it and putting the ball over the bar. Gym work is important but it is not the be all and end all that many people seem to think.
2002 was your greatest year, what was your biggest disappointment?
Again the perception of me out there is very different to the reality. The bonds you make; the friends you make in football these are the great things about playing football and when you learn to become part of a team that is when you learn about winning and I suppose losing. You learn to take what comes and work hard to ensure you improve. Football is very rounded; it helps to form a person for later life also which is very important. Disappointments are all about what goals you set for yourself, both on and off the pitch. The bigger the ambition the greater the disappointment if it doesn't work out but when it does the sense of achievement is immense.
You are heavily involved with the GPA do you feel it is important that the GAA move to improve the welfare of players from an injury point of view and so on?
Of course. The players must be looked after. They are the ones doing all the work; they are the ones putting their body on the line week in and week out, whether that is training or playing; and I'm not talking about professionalism here and neither is the GPA. Don't forget that players pick up injuries that can stay with them for the rest of their lives and they must be looked after and looked after properly. They have to be given as much lee-way as possible to accommodate them for their training and when playing but things have improved over the last ten years and hopefully that will continue. There is always room for more improvement; everything has to be right for the players; we have to get as good as players as possible out on the pitch in as fine a condition as possible and that can only be done with the help of the county board; the help of the hierarchy and really everyone involved in the game.
I don't know whether you are aware that this is a mad GAA county and I can guarantee the first time Kildare will line out under yourself and Paul the ground will be packed, as it was in Micko's term, whether that game is in St. Conleth's Park or elsewhere, do you think that will bring extra pressure on yourself and indeed on the players?
Well first of all I am a long way from Micko's profile but all counties these days have big GAA following so that is nothing new. As for pressure, I suppose there are different types of pressure. I am well aware of the pressures on players and while I have yet to experience pressure in management, I suppose it is a bit like everything else, if you want to listen to the negatives or the positives; I will listen to them all but am well aware that a clap on the back is not far removed from a kick in the arse.
When do you hope to meet with the players?
Sooner rather than later; lots of work to be done and the sooner we get a start the better for all concerned.
05 October 2007
Ive always admired Kieran McGeeney, that interview just confirms that he is a very solid, mis-understood and honest man. Does anyone really know the circumstances surrounding his departure from Armagh? I think he could have still be invaluable to him, maybe more so than some of the players who have yet to retire.
That interview is very typical of him, very level headed, keeps it simple and to the point! When that man talks the kildare players will listen and believe me the honesty he brings will have the hairs standing on the back of their neck from the 1st day they meet him. I wish him all the best
If they don't listen to Mc Geeney they'll listen to no one
sure thon boys a quere heure altegether
do u hear the whilst stories bout him, hes a an animal
he has retired from playing club football from what I hear from na fianna
he also will no doubt appoint glan ryan as selector
Heard he was at the Kildare county final today and was like the Messiah !
yeah got a glimpse of him at the kildare final. was keepin a low profile. he hada newspaper over his face with 2 eyeholes in it.
no joke
There's a picture of him and Grimley on RTE website - I don't see that newspaper all the same.
nah he didnthave the newspaper but he did have the dark shades and ski hat on
Quote from: inthemixer on October 09, 2007, 10:51:25 PM
nah he didnthave the newspaper but he did have the dark shades and ski hat on
Probably still hanging from his birthday party!! seen pics of it in the armagh observer today - looked like he was having a great time!!
Just to add i think McGeeney will have a Roy Keane type effect on Kildare. They are both similar in my opinion - born winners and have the dedication and committment to make it work at whatever level they manage at.