GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Tiger Craig on August 16, 2007, 12:22:21 AM

Title: Interesting offer from the Aussies
Post by: Tiger Craig on August 16, 2007, 12:22:21 AM
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22252802%255E20322,00.html

Have some of our players in return !!
Title: Re: Interesting offer from the Aussies
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 16, 2007, 12:40:26 AM
you lads dont have a clue do you ?

..its either that or else its just a complete pisstake.
Post by: galla on August 16, 2007, 01:47:18 AM
So there are going to be professional players in GAA I dont think so
Post by: Tiger Craig on August 16, 2007, 02:00:01 AM
They aren't talking about professionals, they are talking about guys who were top juniors, have been on AFL club lists and had all the top training etc, but aren't going to make the big time - generally because they are too small.

Richmond (the club in the article, and the one I follow) are experts in this - they keep recruiting small skilful players who are duds in the big time - hence Richmond consistently sucking.
Post by: stephenite on August 16, 2007, 02:56:39 AM
I briefly thought about this a few weeks ago, coincidentally while watching Richmond take a hiding from the Swans at the SCG. I say briefly because it only took me a few seconds to realise what an absurd idea it is.

First off why would an AFL player (failed or not) want to go to Ireland to play GAA? They will not be paid, are they going to go the other side of the world to work in a f**king bank, and play a bit of ball in the evenings? Evenings where the weather will, 99% of the time, not exactly be what they are used to.
Unless there is a viable financial reward it will not take off. And there will not be a viable financial reward

Secondly, who will they play for?
Are GAA clubs expected to send people to 'scout' for these lads? Do the clubs get first call on them over the county if they were even deemed good enough, or is it the counties that 'scout' for them, and if so what club do they play for within that county?
Considering that the root of the GAA is the club you come from, do they all have to play for Dublin as that's where they'll most likely land?

The lifestyle argument is a bit off point as well, as someone who has lived in both countries, I cannot see too many Aussies moving over 'the lifestyle'. Certainly there are many who have settled in Ireland but I'd doubt it was for lifestyle of modern Ireland.

Stupid idea that will never take off
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 08:16:09 AM
Unlike Aussies rules i don't think you could just walk on to a panel in 6 months infact if Tadhg Kennelly returned tomorrow i'd doubt he'd get on the Kerry panel next year.
Post by: Black and white on August 16, 2007, 08:44:52 AM
he would walk straight into the team never mind the panel, he is a f**king pro with a gaa background
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 08:47:56 AM
Quote from: Black and white on August 16, 2007, 08:44:52 AM
he would walk straight into the team never mind the panel, he is a f**king pro with a gaa background
Was discussing this over the weekend and it was said that his touch would be gone and while is AFL fit he's not Gaelic football fit.
Post by: FermGael on August 16, 2007, 08:50:43 AM
Agree.  He would walk straight into any team in the country.  An unbelievable player in both codes.
As for the player swap(i.e AFL-GAA), it will never happen. 
Post by: Hardy on August 16, 2007, 09:00:16 AM
QuoteThe Tigers could provide players, who don't reach the top AFL level, to Ireland's Gaelic Athletic Association.

This piece of arrogance perfectly illustrates the attitiude of the AFL and the Aussie Rules community in general to our game and the GAA. They poach our very best and, by way of recompense, offer us their rejects who, though not good enough for their game would somehow be an addition to ours.
Post by: clarshack on August 16, 2007, 09:15:39 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 08:47:56 AM
Was discussing this over the weekend and it was said that his touch would be gone and while is AFL fit he's not Gaelic football fit.

read somewhere recently that afl players are the fittest athletes in the world. in the last 2 compromise rules series the australians were far fitter hence why ireland got stuffed both times.
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 16, 2007, 09:20:54 AM
Quote from: clarshack on August 16, 2007, 09:15:39 AM

read somewhere recently that afl players are the fittest athletes in the world. in the last 2 compromise rules series the australians were far fitter hence why ireland got stuffed both times.

thats to be expected clarshack they are full time pros .sean og said on the programee that setanta trains 4 times a day compared the intercounty player who trains 4 times per week
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 09:26:08 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 16, 2007, 09:20:54 AM
Quote from: clarshack on August 16, 2007, 09:15:39 AM

thats to be expected clarshack they are full time pros .sean og said on the programee that setanta trains 4 times a day compared the intercounty player who trains 4 times per week
plus that's all the game is run and catch
Post by: Hardy on August 16, 2007, 09:33:23 AM
Ah in fairness, there's more to it than that. There's punch. And elbow and clothesline and bludgeon and see-how-short-you-can-get-your-shorts. Oh - and look after your hair, above all else.
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 16, 2007, 09:38:06 AM
sure they were even training setanta how to box ;)
Post by: tayto on August 16, 2007, 10:07:35 AM
Yea read his traning regime for a week. Starts with an hours boxing traning every morning!  ::)
Post by: full back on August 16, 2007, 10:09:23 AM

Come off it gnevin. Are you trying to say guys in the AFL arent as fit as Gaelic footballers? ::)
Post by: his holiness nb on August 16, 2007, 10:19:51 AM
This story has to be a pisstake, surely.
Or are they that dumb?
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 10:22:55 AM
Quote from: full back on August 16, 2007, 10:09:23 AM

Come off it gnevin. Are you trying to say guys in the AFL arent as fit as Gaelic footballers? ::)
No i'm saying they are a different kind of fit , like Rugby players are a different kind of fit to GAA players or that hurling who was on the road to croker who was told he maybe be Hurling fit but he not cycling fit
Post by: full back on August 16, 2007, 10:35:30 AM
Off course hurling fit isnt anything like cycling fit!
Totally different set of muscles etc etc
But GAA & AFL - there are many many similarities, hence the International rules.
No doubt a player in the AFL would be fit to play GAA without a shadow of a doubt
Post by: Uladh on August 16, 2007, 10:45:39 AM

An australian, with no background in our game, could not make it at our game. certainly their fitness is more than adequate but the nuances of playing the game are so different from the afl. it would take a top level professional from the afl two years to get his skills and understanding of the game to a level where he could compete for a place on a county panel. if you throw one of them into a decent level of club football, you could maybe use them at midfield with strict orders to win it and lay it off. the frees he'd give away would kill a team and you'd be playing with 14 men for long periods of games i'd imagine.
Post by: full back on August 16, 2007, 10:51:16 AM
No doubt uladh it would take them time to adjust to our game, but I was talking about gnevin saying they wouldnt be fit enough to play GAA ::)
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 16, 2007, 10:54:03 AM
it would be viable if the aussies who take it up are actually after a professional business contract - after not making it in aussie rules, and this was a back door easy route into getting a 'green card'.

After this , it would be up to the actual individuals as to how good they would be.
Yes they would be fit and strong, good fielders  but would have to learn a whole lot at club level before being good in the club game, THEN they may be considered for inter county. But thats the same chance all promising youngsters have. But as the aussies will already have a bit of PR behind them , they would stand a better chance of getting called up. Obv not in the various begrudgery loving counties (like Cavan) etc that would never call them up and find various reasons for this.... ;)

so not a piss take if its a cunning ruse to get employment in Ireland by the aussies
just repatriating the historical convicts

hmmmm I wonder could we do something like this with the 'orangy' lads in the north with England/scotland .... ;) :D
Post by: orangeman on August 16, 2007, 11:07:15 AM
Can't happen and won't happen ?
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 11:10:00 AM
Quote from: full back on August 16, 2007, 10:35:30 AM
Off course hurling fit isnt anything like cycling fit!
Totally different set of muscles etc etc
But GAA & AFL - there are many many similarities, hence the International rules.
No doubt a player in the AFL would be fit to play GAA without a shadow of a doubt

The amount of bulk they have isn't required in our games like Eric Miller who thought he'd walk on to the Dublin panel anyone who seen him said he was to big for the game.
Post by: ludermor on August 16, 2007, 11:53:34 AM
there are feck all AFL players with the bulk of eric miller
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 11:54:52 AM
Quote from: ludermor on August 16, 2007, 11:53:34 AM
there are feck all AFL players with the bulk of eric miller

I know that it was just an example
Post by: full back on August 16, 2007, 12:00:28 PM
Good example gnevin :D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 16, 2007, 12:02:24 PM

I think the least of Kennelly's problems if he came back would be physical fitness. AFL players are supremely fit and they are not rugby player bulky. They are invariably all lean.
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 12:04:07 PM
Quote from: full back on August 16, 2007, 12:00:28 PM
Good example gnevin :D
Well how many player do you know that went other code -> GAA after their 20 odd?
Post by: Uladh on August 16, 2007, 12:08:18 PM

You'll not have heard of them. thats the result of not making it in rugby
Post by: full back on August 16, 2007, 12:10:08 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 12:04:07 PM
[Well how many player do you know that went other code -> GAA after their 20 odd?

What are you talking about gnevin ???

Your original point was AFL players would not be fit enough to play GAA
Complete bollocks, then you tried to justify it by saying that Eric Miller was too big for GAA
Post by: thebandit on August 16, 2007, 12:15:35 PM
So basically they want to take our best prospects and give us the guys who aren't good enough for their game.

Arrogance of the highest order
Post by: limerickros on August 16, 2007, 12:18:50 PM
Do any clubs have aussie lads playing with them. There must be thousands of aussies in the country at present. Some of them must be playing Junior football
Post by: stephenite on August 16, 2007, 12:36:28 PM
Kennelly would walk back onto any GAA team in the country - simple as that. The fact is that it's harder to convert to AFL from GAA than vice versa, and the only substantial reason for this is the difference in the shape of the ball, it's a lot easier for anyone to read the bounce of a round ball than an oval one - fact.

As for the nuances of the game, it's a valid enough point but I think that saying it would take two years is stretching it a bit. If Martin Clarke can make first grade in AFL in such a short space of time, a similiarly talented individual at the same stage should be able to make the transition to GAA in the same space of time at least.

Fact remains the idea itself is an ill thought out notion of a fool who has no idea what he's talking about.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 16, 2007, 12:58:40 PM
Well considering in the International Rules they can come over and play with a round ball after a couple of weeks training and give our players a hiding seems to imply that they would comfortably cope with GAA rules....once they don't tackle...
Post by: inisceithleann on August 16, 2007, 01:13:00 PM
Quote from: limerickros on August 16, 2007, 12:18:50 PM
Do any clubs have aussie lads playing with them. There must be thousands of aussies in the country at present. Some of them must be playing Junior football

We had a Kiwi rugby player play junior level with us a few years ago. Granted he wasn't aussie and he didn't play aussie rules but he took the game up from scratch and top scored with a goal and a few points in his first game. It proved to us that the game can be picked up very quickly. Soloing the ball was his biggest difficulty but his strength, fitness and speed overcame this and if he'd kept at it could have been a great player.
Post by: Star Spangler on August 16, 2007, 01:49:51 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 16, 2007, 09:00:16 AM
QuoteThe Tigers could provide players, who don't reach the top AFL level, to Ireland's Gaelic Athletic Association.

This piece of arrogance perfectly illustrates the attitiude of the AFL and the Aussie Rules community in general to our game and the GAA. They poach our very best and, by way of recompense, offer us their rejects who, though not good enough for their game would somehow be an addition to ours.

Nail on the head Hardy.  Or they could always play for Kilkenny.
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 02:18:41 PM
Quote from: full back on August 16, 2007, 12:10:08 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 12:04:07 PM
[Well how many player do you know that went other code -> GAA after their 20 odd?

What are you talking about gnevin ???

Your original point was AFL players would not be fit enough to play GAA
Complete bollocks, then you tried to justify it by saying that Eric Miller was too big for GAA
No what wasn't my point ffs what i said is that they would not be GAA fit which included,dodging tackles , shooting on the run , running and catching for 70 minutes straight with no interchange etc etc
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 02:20:37 PM
Quote from: stephenite on August 16, 2007, 12:36:28 PM
Kennelly would walk back onto any GAA team in the country - simple as that. The fact is that it's harder to convert to AFL from GAA than vice versa, and the only substantial reason for this is the difference in the shape of the ball, it's a lot easier for anyone to read the bounce of a round ball than an oval one - fact.

Well if thats true Gaelic football in the most unskilled game in the world , considering 2 hurlers are currently over in aus in AFL 1st teams .

Gaelic football , involves a lot more skill than AFL
Post by: full back on August 16, 2007, 02:21:57 PM
Aye I suppose you are right
In the AFL they dont run, catch or dodge tackles amongst other things
Post by: fearglasmor on August 16, 2007, 02:32:27 PM
Foreget about the shape of the ball, thats just a red herring.

The critical difference is the tackle. If its bred into you to grab your opponent round the waist it will frustrate you to have to stand off and shadow,  and vice versa.

But of course the original post was a lame brain notion.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 16, 2007, 02:32:51 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 02:20:37 PM

Well if thats true Gaelic football in the most unskilled game in the world , considering 2 hurlers are currently over in aus in AFL 1st teams .

I disagree i think AfL is a harder game to play..Have you ever tried kicking a Aussie Rules ball 50 yards between the posts,IMHO it a lot harder than kicking a gaelic football between two posts from the same distance
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 02:39:54 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 16, 2007, 02:32:51 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 02:20:37 PM

I disagree i think AfL is a harder game to play..Have you ever tried kicking a Aussie Rules ball 50 yards between the posts,IMHO it a lot harder than kicking a gaelic football between two posts from the same distance
2 skills required for this game , catching and it kicking and not even on the run , kicking from a stop and catching most often from a standstill . Your just not use to the ball LL and the  Gaelic style kick out swinging doesn't help . I'm sure if you put in a couple of  weeks of pratice you'd be alot better and remember once you marked the ball you have up 30 seconds to set your self up and kick .
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 16, 2007, 02:43:20 PM
I actually played it when i spent a year down under Gnevin and i thought it was very difficult to be honest but thats just me i was never much good at Gaelic either i was always better at hurling and at that other sport that i shouldn't mention around the Gaa side of the board!!!
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 02:46:43 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 16, 2007, 02:43:20 PM
I actually played it when i spent a year down under Gnevin and i thought it was very difficult to be honest but thats just me i was never much good at Gaelic either i was always better at hurling and at that other sport that i shouldn't mention around the Gaa side of the board!!!

From what i've heard the Gaelic kick is a real problem for the lads heading down their ,you many of had the same thing but no one was their to coach it out of you

or maybe your just crap :P
Post by: thebandit on August 16, 2007, 02:48:51 PM
We had an Aussie lad training with our club earlier in the year, he was  6ft tall, strong and quick, but he couldn't catch kick or fistpass. He couldn't be rivalled for breaking a ball though.
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 16, 2007, 02:51:41 PM
didn't zinzan brooke (spl) the former New Zealand captain play gaelic games off season to keep himself fit, he also said it helped his ball handling skills. i think he was pictured at croke park during the six nations this year 
Post by: Jinxy on August 16, 2007, 02:57:22 PM
Every single GAA player who has gone to the AFL has been in the top % of his clubs best runners during their first pre-season in Oz. What does that tell you? It's not running ability that is the problem. Martin Clarke and Colm Begley were in the top 2-3 athletes based on running ability pretty much as soon as they stepped off the plane.The fitness gap is manifested in the Irish players inability to recover quickly from being tackled and dragged to the ground which happens umpteen times a game in compromise rules. Thats what saps the energy from the Irish lads as they aren't conditioned for it. Constant wrestling off the ball doesn't help either. If you took that out of the mix I honestly believe they would be running just as hard as the aussies come the final whistle.
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 03:47:24 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 16, 2007, 02:51:41 PM
didn't zinzan brooke (spl) the former New Zealand captain play gaelic games off season to keep himself fit, he also said it helped his ball handling skills. i think he was pictured at croke park during the six nations this year 
Are you sure it wasnt Shane Ryan in disguise ? ;)
Post by: Romeo on August 16, 2007, 03:48:50 PM

That's not what they think in Oz. Funniest thing I ever heard was when I was in Adelaide at one of the compromise rules games, the Ozi's in the crowd whinging that their lads couldn't judge the bounce of the round ball!

Also played the game when I was out there and yes it is difficult to adapt to kicking the oval ball. One of the more didfficult things was to get out of the habit of landing the ball in front of a guy so that he could run onto it on after a bounce (like u would in Gaelic). Obviously once the oval ball it hits the ground in front of a guy it can go anywhere!
Post by: magpie seanie on August 16, 2007, 04:31:56 PM
Is Jim Stynes some kind of retard?

From Hoganstand.com:

Stynes says GAA needs International Rules

16 August 2007

Former Dublin footballer and Aussie Rules legend Jim Stynes says unless the GAA makes positive moves to ensure the continuation of the International Rules series more young Gaelic footballers will make their way Down Under.

Stynes believes that the series needs to be relaunched sooner rather than later if the GAA isn't to suffer a drain of its brightest young stars.

"After last year, some officials saw it as their chance to put an end to the series and the concept," Stynes claimed.

"However in their haste they overlooked the long-term damage broken ties would do to the most exciting talent coming through the underage ranks of the GAA.

"The GAA needs this game to stay alive to have any say in future drafting.

"This is the only way the GAA can stop large numbers of kids leaving for Australia each year."

Post by: Star Spangler on August 16, 2007, 04:44:12 PM
QuoteThe GAA needs this game to stay alive

(http://toolstolife.com/files/shareimages/-blog-1169730200.gif)
Post by: jimmykeaveney on August 16, 2007, 05:15:59 PM
Quote from: Uladh on August 16, 2007, 10:45:39 AM

An australian, with no background in our game, could not make it at our game. certainly their fitness is more than adequate but the nuances of playing the game are so different from the afl. it would take a top level professional from the afl two years to get his skills and understanding of the game to a level where he could compete for a place on a county panel.

You can't be serious. If the likes of Nathan Buckley, Nathan Brown, Daniel Kerr or many others who have played International Rules and showed up our players' skills over the years took up Gaelic Football, they would walk onto any county panel. Many of these guys are supreme ball players who would easily adapt.
Post by: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 07:06:48 PM
Quote from: jimmykeaveney on August 16, 2007, 05:15:59 PM

An australian, with no background in our game, could not make it at our game. certainly their fitness is more than adequate but the nuances of playing the game are so different from the afl. it would take a top level professional from the afl two years to get his skills and understanding of the game to a level where he could compete for a place on a county panel.

You can't be serious. If the likes of Nathan Buckley, Nathan Brown, Daniel Kerr or many others who have played International Rules and showed up our players' skills over the years took up Gaelic Football, they would walk onto any county panel. Many of these guys are supreme ball players who would easily adapt.
Their is a huge difference between a game where once you catch the ball you've got loads of time to kick it . No solo, no hop, no running on to a pass , no looking for the space ,no dodging tackles , most of lads listed above would struggle with the pick up alone
Post by: Star Spangler on August 16, 2007, 09:07:55 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 16, 2007, 02:51:41 PM

I met him in one of the boxes at the 2001 semi between Derry and Galway clearly enjoying the game.  Sound bloke who can put away a pint of Guinness in some style!!
Post by: Jinxy on August 16, 2007, 11:00:27 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 16, 2007, 07:06:48 PM
Quote from: jimmykeaveney on August 16, 2007, 05:15:59 PM

Their is a huge difference between a game where once you catch the ball you've got loads of time to kick it . No solo, no hop, no running on to a pass , no looking for the space ,no dodging tackles , most of lads listed above would struggle with the pick up alone

The australians are very adept tactically at putting a man in space for a shot or getting a mark for a shot on goal, but if they had to turn on a sixpence as soon as they got the ball or had a couple of defenders breathing down their neck they would be in serious bother. The aboriginal lads would probably meke better gaelic footballers as they are in general far more nimble and possess more flair than the other AFL players. There are obvious exceptions but to say that just because a guy is good at kicking the ball in IR when he has a second to compose himself and watch the ball onto his foot, he would be a star in the GAA is a bit of a leap.
Post by: jimmykeaveney on August 16, 2007, 11:11:57 PM
Jinxy I don't think it's that much of a leap to say that the cream of their game would make it at ours when you see the speed at which the like of Martin Clarke and Colm Begley have adapted to their game. IMO the difficulty in adapting to Aussie Rules for a Gaelic footballer is still greater than vice versa. I'll grant you that the proposal from Richmond is a bit of an insult though.
Post by: Tiger Craig on August 16, 2007, 11:40:37 PM
I wonder if some of you guys have ever actually seen a game of Aussie Rules. Players actually do run, turn, dodge, evade tackles, and kick on the run (all with the knowledge that if they are too slow they will get smashed)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 17, 2007, 02:00:42 AM
QuoteTheir is a huge difference between a game where once you catch the ball you've got loads of time to kick it . No solo, no hop, no running on to a pass , no looking for the space ,no dodging tackles , most of lads listed above would struggle with the pick up alone

Quotebut if they had to turn on a sixpence as soon as they got the ball or had a couple of defenders breathing down their neck they would be in serious bother

Its the opposite, excluding the mark, in Aussie rules you have much less time in general play  to do something with the ball when you get it. You have approx 2-3 seconds before you get flattened. At least with Gaelic you can "ride" the tackle to some extent.
Post by: Bod Mor on August 17, 2007, 05:55:05 AM
I could imagine alright Ben Cousins lining out for Mayo during his next "rehabilition exercise" or spider Everett blasting out Amhrán na bhFiann hand on heart in the Kerry colours.

Honest to god this is the most ridiculous thing I have ever come across in my life ever.
Post by: Uladh on August 17, 2007, 11:08:00 AM

The main problems for an aussie coming ito our game would mosty be when they haven't got the ball. you cannot shephard you man for a start. marking is much more difficult without contact and tackling would be an impossibility.