Who was it you pretended to be on the school playground when you were knee high to a grasshopper?
For me it was Bernard Flynn, and when the hurl and sliotar came out I was Joe Cooney.
Brian Lohan and Jonny Corvan
Paddy Mo
Frank Mc Guigan, only better :D
I idolised my Uncle as he was a Laois senior county Hurler in the 80's
Use to always pretend i was Barney Rock as well
Don't remember pretending to be anyone but I do recall seeing some specific skills and trying to execute them.
Matt Connor scored a point in the first half of the 82 final where he turned a couple of defenders inside out before slotting it over.
Tried it in a training match and it came off perfect except I stuck it in the net. ;D ;D ;D
Also remember seeing Ritchie Connor execute a chip lift in full flight in some game in Croker in the early 80's.
Tried it in a club match and luckily it worked.
Always wanted to be a star,did not matter what star.
You would not believe the amount of allirelands i have won with the last kick of the game (in the garden, or the amount of ones i have lost with a last minute free in the same back garden, luckily i could always save the day with a bit of extra time and a few more frees).
Ciaran macdonalds skills allied to dara o ses drive would be some star.
Plunkett Donaghy, Ambrose Rodgers and then before I left primary school James McCartan Jnr (after his 2 goal burst against Armagh in 1990 ;D)
Johnny Corvan, Fran McMahon, JK, Colin McKinstry, Jack O'Shea and Ambrose O'Donnovan because I thought his name was the coolest thing I'd ever heard!
will ie joe padden without the bloodied head. he was well fit to jump and not that tall himself. tis all about timing.
Paul Curran all round brilliant footballer! Have met him a few times and he's a really nice bloke to match!!
DINKY MCBRIDE
The great Tony McManus ............also liked Meaths Brain Stafford
Paddy Bawn Brosnan
Sean O'Neill, I remember one move he made, simple one really, going on a solo run, player comes out, Sean turns his back to the player, hops the ball, then the quick turn and shoot for a point in the one move. Never failed to work in school games.
Paddy Mo (got his autograph on my arm when I was seven and didn't wash it for a week)
Johnny Corvan, after a fantastic goal down in Cork
Football - Graham Geraghty, Trevor Giles, John Mc Dermott, Tommy Dowd, Colm O Rourke
Hurling - Johnny Pilkington, Paul Flynn, John Troy, Jamsie O Connor, Mark Landers, Petey Quigley
Colm McAlarney of Down. I never knew Armagh had a team until 1977 :-[
Pat Spillane . The best player ever to play the game (in my opinion ) and then he goes to the Sunday World not the best Sunday game anchor though .
The one and only King Frank Mc Guigan
Jimmy Browne
Growing up I always fancied myself as a full back cos I had a decent pair of hands and I wasnt fast enough or skilful enough to play anywhere else...so my heroes were John O'Keeffe and The Doc....but the daddy of them all was Colm McAlarney...everybody wanted to be Arkle...legend.
It would appear that the Downmen here who are nominating Arkle, never saw Joe Lennon or Jarlath Carey. While Arkle was a good Mid-Fielder, he would not have been fit to carry the water bottle for either lennon or Carey
Quote from: rolloutking on August 03, 2007, 07:12:07 PM
Football - Graham Geraghty, Trevor Giles, John Mc Dermott, Tommy Dowd, Colm O Rourke
Hurling - Johnny Pilkington, Paul Flynn, John Troy, Jamsie O Connor, Mark Landers, Petey Quigley
I like it.
All club players. i didn't know there was county football until i was 11 or 12.
The one and only Houlie.
brian mc giligan, what a savage, hes got an arm,like a leg, a punch that wud sink a battle ship
Hughie Emerson
Paddy Mo. Absolute rock for Armagh.
Johnny Corvan was the most talented gaelic footballer I ever saw play the game, he was amazing.
Paddy Mo. Remember when he turned up to our dinner dance / presentation night in the Chestnut lodge. I've a photo of myself in my "tank top" staring up with this shell shock look at paddy.
Jim McConville, Martin McQuillan, Houlie.
Colm O'Rourke, a cultured left boot. Maurice Fitzgerald, will there every be such a natural talent again. Teddy McCarthy, Cork midfielder who could outjump the biggest midfielders despite only being about 5ft. Mick Lyons, a savage of a man but very effective.
Houlie was a mate growing up so I didnt really look up to him although he was some footballer, he was a tremendous keeper as well and lined out for the County as a keeper in the early days. he also played a few games for our sawker team and was ina different class than anybody else.
BrokenCrossbar made him squeal once after a particularly ignorant tackle but then Houlie is and was an Ogs man and they have no problem squealing. ;)
Gerry Sheridan represented Bailieborough Shamrocks for five years at under 14 level and was my chilhood hero. Needless to say the legs were well busted by the time he got to senior level however his namesake represented the county with some distinction some years later taking an Ulster medal in 97.
Childhood County-Ray Carolan, Gene Cusack for striking with two goals in 69 Ulster final as a 19 year old as we rolled the All Ireland Champions; Mick O Connell.
Childhood nightmares-Sean O Neill.
Tohill, Corkery, Giles, Maurice Fitz
Quote from: stew on August 04, 2007, 08:33:15 PM
Houlie was a mate growing up so I didnt really look up to him although he was some footballer, he was a tremendous keeper as well and lined out for the County as a keeper in the early days. he also played a few games for our sawker team and was ina different class than anybody else.
BrokenCrossbar made him squeal once after a particularly ignorant tackle but then Houlie is and was an Ogs man and they have no problem squealing. ;)
Sure that's all BC was good for ;D
Aidan Skelton. Tried growing a moustache when I was 9. Failed, so I drew one on and ran around the field.
Vinnie Murphy.
Jimmy Smith and Tidsy
Frank McGuigan
Being a child of the 60's and from Down of course I favour Arkle. Sure a minor in the 68 final didn't he bring Kerry's acknowledged greatest Micko to heel - can still recall the hype about this individual match of McAlarney's youth v Micko's experience and class.
Later on in life I think Maurice Fitzgerald is the most cultured naturally gifted footballer I have had the pleasure to see live in Croker. I am sure he provided inspiration for many backgarden games.
With the sliother, well for me there is one star that shines out brighter than all others, the one and only Jimmy-Barry Murphy. Come to think of it, he was excellent at football also.
During the summer of 1989 Meath won every all ireland played in my back garden with winning scores by everyone but my favorite was when McQuillen scored a last minute penalty to beat Cork
From my own county it was of course the one and only Willie Joe and TJ Kilgallon.
From other counties I admired Larry Tompkins and Mickey Linden. When I played the small ball I'd always turn into Joe Cooney!
The one and only Matt Connor. Also John Egan and Mikey Sheehy.
Believe it or not Matt Connor was one of mine, as he would have been for many Laois lads living round the border region. From a Laois perspective, it would have been fellas like Liam Irwin and Tom Prendergast.
At a national level it would have been the lads who did well on Superstars and in the Aussie Rules -- Jacko notably.
until i was 12 i thought Joe Cooney was the only hurler in the world
Quote from: Pangurban on August 04, 2007, 02:48:33 AM
It would appear that the Downmen here who are nominating Arkle, never saw Joe Lennon or Jarlath Carey. While Arkle was a good Mid-Fielder, he would not have been fit to carry the water bottle for either lennon or Carey
You need to be that little bit older to model yourself on Joe Lennon who, of course, was actualy an Armagh man.
matt connor, i even got a offaly kit one year just to be like him
Jack O'Shea.............
Paidi O'Se - hard nut to crack !
Kevin Heffernan, Des Foley and Mickey Whelan
Niall Buckley
Jack O'Shea, Gerry mcentee, brian Mullins, Brian McGilligan, Matt Connor, Fran McMahon, Frank McGuigan, Phelim Farrell
Cormac Bonner, Joe McKenna, John Fenton
Now i never thought fran McMahon would make this thread. and via derry man too!
Quote from: Uladh on August 07, 2007, 02:20:50 PM
Now i never thought fran McMahon would make this thread. and via derry man too!
His second appearance ;)
Mick lyons, Martin O'Connell, Niall Cahalane & Robbie O'Malley.
jesus i'm surprised you picked a cork man culchy1 your not a defender by any chance ;)
Ray Mc Carron , what a sweet footballer that man was.
Gerry Mc Carville , A BEAR.
Fergus Caulfield , what a sweet ....elbow that man had ;D
Most of the men on the Down and Galway teams of the early '60s
My childhood favourite was Brian Mullins. Hard man.
originaly from reading his book
Mick O'connell a true legend who only ever did things his way. And from the bits of footage ive seen of him he was and would be now untouchable .
Also for one day only Balla's Willy Nally did more to inspire a love of the game than any other player . V galway 81? A GOD
Mayo team in 96/97, despite not winning gave me some memorable days out! Knockmore were strong then as well so most of the heroes were from the Knockmore team.
Ogie Moran. Eight Celtic Crosses in the one position. No comparison.
High or Low - Willie Joe.
As the meeja said at the time he was the Last of the Mohicans (actually they said last of the Folk-Heroes).
Got to train with Mayo once and would only pass to WJP even if it meant passing backwards.
what club did you play for muppett
Quote from: rosnarun on August 08, 2007, 02:53:48 PM
Mick O'connell a true legend who only ever did things his way. And from the bits of footage ive seen of him he was and would be now untouchable .
Also for one day only Balla's Willy Nally did more to inspire a love of the game than any other player . V galway 81? A GOD
I was also at that game in 81, he caught some balls that day. I remember it well as I was hitching a lift back home after the game when a car stopped in Balla, I jumped in only to realise that there was 3 of the Mayo team in it, they did not stop to pick me up but to drop someone off, so I shared the car with Nally, Garvey and JP Kean after Mayo's first Connaught final in years....sure they could not throw me out once I was in. Times sure have changed. Nally was as good as Padden in his day at catching the high ball.
I think the Mayo Gaels savages will be very upset about this !
Was also at the game but Willie played damn all for mayo after this. Still looks fit enough to play county.
Quote from: FL/MAYO on August 11, 2007, 11:43:50 AM
I was also at that game in 81, he caught some balls that day. I remember it well as I was hitching a lift back home after the game when a car stopped in Balla, I jumped in only to realise that there was 3 of the Mayo team in it, they did not stop to pick me up but to drop someone off, so I shared the car with Nally, Garvey and JP Kean after Mayo's first Connaught final in years....sure they could not throw me out once I was in. Times sure have changed. Nally was as good as Padden in his day at catching the high ball.
Nice story Fl/mayo , what would the attendances have been at the connaught final in 81
I would say it was around 20000, the place was not full if I remember correctly. It was a good game though, Nally lorded it at midfield, the ball just stuck to his hands.
Quotewhat club did you play for muppett
Mitchels. In 1989 Johnno liked to have 15 v 15 games in training so he'd send up for 4,5, 6 or whatever to make up the numbers. We would normally mark each other. Great for a teenager though to be calling for the ball from your heroes. Sometimes they even passed!
Quote from: muppet on August 11, 2007, 01:39:39 PM
Quotewhat club did you play for muppett
Mitchels. In 1989 Johnno liked to have 15 v 15 games in training so he'd send up for 4,5, 6 or whatever to make up the numbers. We would normally mark each other. Great for a teenager though to be calling for the ball from your heroes. Sometimes they even passed!
were you part of the mitchels team that got to the all ireland club final?
To many questions Rover ;)
Quote from: muppet on August 11, 2007, 02:47:55 PM
To many questions Rover ;)
fair enough muppett :D its just that i was part of the panel that lost to the mitchels in 1993 in Ballina when John Maughan was cente Back for ye, Tom reilly scored a goal that killed us he was a fierce handy footballer
Great player, was injured for 1989 when he might have made a real difference. Played in the final replay in 1996 when he was past his best but he made a dramatic entry!
i don't know you anyway can't recall any muppets ever playing for the mitchels ;)
Lots of us muppets played for the Mitchels.
(Had to get that out before anyone else said it)
Quote from: muppet on August 11, 2007, 03:09:14 PM
Lots of us muppets played for the Mitchels.
(Had to get that out before anyone else said it)
A good friend of mine here in Florida played the the Mitchells in the nineties, from the Galway Roscommon border area.
Havo? Last I heard he was in Cavan.
No, from the Williamstown area
Quote from: FL/MAYO on August 11, 2007, 01:18:34 PM
I would say it was around 20000, the place was not full if I remember correctly. It was a good game though, Nally lorded it at midfield, the ball just stuck to his hands.
We could do with a few Nallys nowadays so.
QuoteNo, from the Williamstown area
You have me.
Would have to disagree with you that it was a good game. It was a very stop and start game, in fact there was actually 70 frees in that game. A minute of play didn't pass without some stoppage or other. I'm sure it was good from a Mayo perspective in that it was the first Connacht final victory since the late 60s. Sligo's defeat of Roscommon was the shock of that season. How times have changed!
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on August 11, 2007, 08:43:28 PM
Would have to disagree with you that it was a good game. It was a very stop and start game, in fact there was actually 70 frees in that game. A minute of play didn't pass without some stoppage or other. I'm sure it was good from a Mayo perspective in that it was the first Connacht final victory since the late 60s. Sligo's defeat of Roscommon was the shock of that season. How times have changed!
You could be right about the game, but what stood out to me was the way Nally caught everything...well he seemed to anyway. Twenty six years ago how time flys, a few pints in the meantime seems to have affected the memory.
Quote from: muppet on August 11, 2007, 08:37:05 PM
QuoteNo, from the Williamstown area
You have me.
Muppet, I sent you a PM.
Frank McGuigan and em........ Pat Spillane.