Well how do we rate Galway's chances of winning on Sunday. I think the best we can hope for is that Kilkenny play badly on the day but I don not think this will happen with Cody in charge.
Kilkenny by a wide margin.
Just can't see Galway anywhere close with 15 minutes to go.
Ger is playing COdy at his own game I see.. Forewarning the refs about the KK habit of making your hands and wrists pay for having the temerity to have possesion against them....
http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/galway-boss-calls-on-ref-to-curb-cats-belting-1038641.html
By Colm Keys
Tuesday July 17 2007
GER LOUGHNANE has raised the stakes again ahead of Sunday's All-Ireland quarter-final with Kilkenny by calling on the match referee and his officials to provide greater protection for his players.
Loughnane's respect for Kilkenny is well documented by now but his observation after Saturday's qualifier win over Antrim in Salthill's Pearse Stadium about "flicking and belting across the wrists" not being allowed to happen is sure to lift the temperature ahead of the fourth successive championship meeting between these sides.
Kilkenny have won two of the previous three in convincing fashion, both in Thurles in 2004 and 2006 when Galway couldn't cope with their ferocious intensity.
In between Galway won a much more open All-Ireland semi-final in 2005 in Croke Park, where Sunday's tie has been fixed for.
Now Loughnane has drawn attention to Kilkenny's style of tackling and hopes the referee, who hadn't been confirmed by Croke Park by last night, will be responsive to it.
"These lads (Galway) are as good a bunch of players as I have worked with," he said.
"Whether we are ready for the savaging that Kilkenny will give them, I don't know," he added.
"I hope that it will be an open game and I hope that whoever is refereeing it will give us some chance, that we won't get this ferocious barracking from a Kilkenny defender when he has the ball.
"This flicking, belting across the wrists can't happen next Sunday and if it doesn't, you never know."
Loughnane will be happy that the game has been fixed for Croke Park and not Thurles where these Galway players have not been spared in the past.
Loughnane has consistently showered Kilkenny with plaudits during his time as a TV and newspaper analyst and recently described the Cats' current group "as one of the best teams ever".
Earlier this year he highlighted their league meeting with the All-Ireland champions in Nowlan Park as Galway's first big pressure test of his management.
Hickey doubt
Meanwhile, Kilkenny defender Noel Hickey is the Leinster champions' most serious injury concern after he picked up a leg injury in the Leinster final.
The injury took a few days afterwards to manifest and the powerful full-back did not feature in a practice match in Nowlan Park over the weekend. Kilkenny, however, expect him to have recovered in time.
"Noel has a bit of a strain - sometimes a blow to the leg might not show up for a week or two, but we're hopeful he'll be alright. He's doing a certain amount of training," said selector Martin Fogarty.
Quote from: GY Joe on July 17, 2007, 08:27:41 AM
Ger is playing COdy at his own game I see.. Forewarning the refs about the KK habit of making your hands and wrists pay for having the temerity to have possesion against them....
http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/galway-boss-calls-on-ref-to-curb-cats-belting-1038641.html
By Colm Keys
Tuesday July 17 2007
"These lads (Galway) are as good a bunch of players as I have worked with," he said.
"Whether we are ready for the savaging that Kilkenny will give them, I don't know," he added.
"I hope that it will be an open game and I hope that whoever is refereeing it will give us some chance, that we won't get this ferocious barracking from a Kilkenny defender when he has the ball.
"This flicking, belting across the wrists can't happen next Sunday and if it doesn't, you never know."
Christ almighty the man has lost the run of himself completely,is this the same Loughnane who was taking about waring hurleys off of the Deise selectors in 98 ?
The slasher Hickey and co are no angels but sure not every team can be as pure as the driven snow like Clare's backs were in the 90's ;)
Sylvie Linnane and the Kilkenny brothers would be mortfied which such "nancy-boy" talk coming out of a Galway manager before a big championship game. ;)
Futile to try and predict whats gonna happen here. The 'on paper' form goes out the window. Galway have been a banana skin for Kilkenny over the years and I don't think too many in the black and amber on sunday will lose sight of that.
What happens on sunday is down to Galway, and what they can muster. One would think that they'll be infinitely more fired up for this than at any other time during Loughnane's tenure. Wheter they can lift it enough to overcome whatever challenge Kilkenny will throw at them is another question. They are coming in on the back of some appalling performances and it might be too much of a big ask.
On the other hand, Kilkenny probably are there for the taking. Nothing can be read into the Wexford game, due to how poor the opposition was that day. Against Offaly, Kilkenny hurled well, but the levels of urgency weren't there until after the half-time bollocking. If Galway still have their tails up by half-time they could well get a good run at Kilkenny. The open spaces of Croke Park will suit them, thats for sure, but will they be able to get enough of a grip at midfield to ensure a supply of ball for their forwards? Will they be able to contain the Kilkenny threat at the back? Possibly.
On form, one can't look beyond Kilkenny. As has been the case with many Kilkenny-Galway games over the years, the form book isn't all that reliable.
I was hoping for a step up from Galway under Loughnane but there's no sign of it yet. The full back line were very weak against Clare and if they play like that again Kilkenny will destroy them in the opening minutes. I'd expect Kilkenny to win handy enough but you live in hope.
Kilkenny will have too much for Galway, Galway caught them napping in 2005 but in 2006 The Cats were well up for the game and showed just how far above Galway they are. I hope that Galway can keep up with them but I fear Kilkenny could demolish them in the second half.
Well obviously Kilkenny have to go in warm favourites although Galway have always had the knack of ambushing the cats down through the years. Any repeat of the Clare performance though and they might as well get on the bus home before half-time.
I know a few Kilkenny lads and they're actually quite wary of Galway for some reason but to have any chance they'll have to produce far more than they have so far this year. It would be a Lazarus like comeback to win this game after the inept performance in Ennis.
As for the comments on Kilkenny's belting I thought the whole point of management was to motivate your own players not the oppositions.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 17, 2007, 11:43:22 AM
I know a few Kilkenny lads and they're actually quite wary of Galway for some reason
Thats the problem, the cats are wary therefore they will go out firing on all cylinders. Galways and to be honest every other counties only hope is if the cats approach a game expecting a win.
could be good crack before throw in like in 2001. Murray flooring McEvoy and Power breaking a hurley off someone before the throw in.
the verbal scuds from Ger are bringing the pot to the boil nicely
Quote from: Durlas Eile on July 17, 2007, 12:27:54 PM
could be good crack before throw in like in 2001. Murray flooring McEvoy and Power breaking a hurley off someone before the throw in.
the verbal scuds from Ger are bringing the pot to the boil nicely
Whilst Galway were shocking against Clare, the physical battering they took that evening will stand to them against Kilkenny. The problem being is that Kilkenny are infinitely better hurlers than Clare as well as giving out the physical stuff when the need arises. The Galway team lined out against Antrim certainly had Kilkenny in mind with Mark Kerins out to win ball against a very accomplished Kilkenny half back line. In his prime Kerins was handy enough but injuries and the years may take their toll and I can't see him last the full 70 minutes.
Will Fergal Healey be given the job of stopping Eddie Brennan? I certainly think he's the only lad you'd put on him in the absence of Ollie Canning. He was Galways best hurler against Clare down in Ennis by a long way. Him aside the other two fullback positions are a worry for Gerlock.
Broderick will be picked on the edge of the other square to try to bring out Noel Hickey from his comfort zone, whether Hickey goes is another matter.
IF Galway are to win they'll need to score goals and stop Killkenny doing likewise. I can't see them doing either as much as I'd like to.
Killkenny by 9+
QuoteWill Fergal Healey be given the job of stopping Eddie Brennan
Fergal Moore is who you're thining of JC.
Depends on what Galway show up. If they have done enough ball work, which it looked as if they hadn't against Clare, then they are the sort of team Kilkenny don't like. Fast forwards, full of movement. Obviously they will need to compete at the back, especially for puckouts coming down on top of Shefflin, Comerford et al.
It should be Kilkenny by a wide margin, but I think I;'ll be backing Galway to at least cover the handicap if it's anything more than 5.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 17, 2007, 01:30:39 PM
QuoteWill Fergal Healey be given the job of stopping Eddie Brennan
Fergal Moore is who you're thining of JC.
You're right GBB
Quote from: GY Joe on July 17, 2007, 08:27:41 AM
By Colm Keys
Tuesday July 17 2007
GER LOUGHNANE has raised the stakes again ahead of Sunday's All-Ireland quarter-final with Kilkenny by calling on the match referee and his officials to provide greater protection for his players.
Loughnane's respect for Kilkenny is well documented by now but his observation after Saturday's qualifier win over Antrim in Salthill's Pearse Stadium about "flicking and belting across the wrists" not being allowed to happen is sure to lift the temperature ahead of the fourth successive championship meeting between these sides.
Kilkenny have won two of the previous three in convincing fashion, both in Thurles in 2004 and 2006 when Galway couldn't cope with their ferocious intensity.
In between Galway won a much more open All-Ireland semi-final in 2005 in Croke Park, where Sunday's tie has been fixed for.
Now Loughnane has drawn attention to Kilkenny's style of tackling and hopes the referee, who hadn't been confirmed by Croke Park by last night, will be responsive to it.
Loughnane will be happy that the game has been fixed for Croke Park and not Thurles where these Galway players have not been spared in the past.
Loughnane has consistently showered Kilkenny with plaudits during his time as a TV and newspaper analyst and recently described the Cats' current group "as one of the best teams ever".
Earlier this year he highlighted their league meeting with the All-Ireland champions in Nowlan Park as Galway's first big pressure test of his management.
Hickey doubt
Meanwhile, Kilkenny defender Noel Hickey is the Leinster champions' most serious injury concern after he picked up a leg injury in the Leinster final.
The injury took a few days afterwards to manifest and the powerful full-back did not feature in a practice match in Nowlan Park over the weekend. Kilkenny, however, expect him to have recovered in time.
"Noel has a bit of a strain - sometimes a blow to the leg might not show up for a week or two, but we're hopeful he'll be alright. He's doing a certain amount of training," said selector Martin Fogarty.
All this blather is a good move by Ger. Nothing wrong with trying to play some of the game before the whistle.
Realistically, if Loughnane wasn't in charge of the team would anybody be expecting Galway to come even close to Kilkenny?
On all known form, player ability and sub options, Kilkenny should wipe the floor with Galway next Sunday by 8 or 9 points plus, there was 5 points in it last year but if you take away the easing up of the Kilkenny team and the few late Galway goals you'll reveal an unmerciful hammering all over the pitch.
I don't buy this "masterplan" seafoid that some are talking about with regards to the bould Ger, fair enough Kilkenny are the team that Loughnane wanted at the start of the year as an "acid test", but back in the depths of winter he couldn't have foreseen just how poor the players would be performing in the summer months. A loss to a very average Clare team is not exactly the ideal prep for facing the Cats, even when we beat them in 2005, the players had turned around a game against Tipp in the Q-final and had already showed some form.
Hoping to be proved wrong but alas it could be a bad weekend all round in both codes for the maroon and white.
I think Ger is right to stir it up before the match. What is there to lose. Kilkenny are the favourites by a long shot. This tactic of telling the ref's to be aware of the opposite team is used in rugby and it some times works. It has to have some effect on the ref they will be more aware of what is happening in the tackle during the match.
Did the bould Ger not give Dinny Cahill a death on the Sunday game a couple of years ago for making comments in the press prior to the Cork Antrim game a few years ago? Is he now not doing something very similar? I expect KK to go through Galway like a dose of salts
Have heard so many "stories" about the Galway team, that it's hard to seperate fact from fiction. One thing's for sure, Ger want's this badly & I think the Galway lads want it more. G looked rubbish against Clare for sure, they can't b as bad against the aristocrats. The Galway training sessions are allegedly ferocious, we'll see. Maybe, Ger has had this game in mind all year & hasn't shown his hand yet. The spine of the team looks as brittle as it did before the great man took over.
Can't wait for this game to start, has Ger been bluffing all along or will they slay the monster? Here's hoping.
Gailimh abu, the weast awake ... ::)
Quote from: nobackdoor on July 18, 2007, 01:39:17 AM
Maybe, Ger has had this game in mind all year & hasn't shown his hand yet. The spine of the team looks as brittle as it did before the great man took over.
Can't wait for this game to start, has Ger been bluffing all along or will they slay the monster? Here's hoping.
Yep, it was a masterplan to lose to Clare and get the option of playing Kilkenny or Waterford ahead of Wexford or Limerick ;) Looks like ye in Galway have forgot to boil the water ;)
I heard Ger on the sports news this morning clarifying his remarks about Kilkenny. You could listen to him talk hurling all day.
On the match it's hard to see anything other than a big win for the Cats based on form. The Galway defense in inexperienced and Kilkenny have the forwards to explot that weakness. Galway ghave a great full forward line but they won't get enough ball to do the damage they are capable of doing. I hope Galway put it up to them but I really can see no evidence that they will.
Kilkenny by 10+
"Yep, it was a masterplan to lose to Clare and get the option of playing Kilkenny or Waterford ahead of Wexford or Limerick Wink Looks like ye in Galway have forgot to boil the water"
There may be a certain Ger-like logic in that tactic. Loughnane knew in all probability that Galway would have to face KK sometime in the c'ship this year - why not in the 1/4 final before the Cats were more strenuously tested? It hasn't stopped KK from dishing out 2 hidings at this stage in the past 3 years however..:-(
Any scenario for Sunday may be envisaged - either team winning by a narrow or wide margin; oddly enough Galway have better scoring forwards but KKs play better as a unit. The Cats sheer physical power could blow Galway away in the opening minutes but the open spaces of Croker may suit the quicker team. Which, if any, team is better than 2 years ago? (perhaps a safer reference point than last year when Conor Hayes made some bizarre selectorial decisions - Conor Dervan midfield?) It would be easier to predict this weekend's Lotto numbers than the Galway team Gerlock will send out but probable FB line of the slowish Kennedy, raw and loose Mahon and rather untested Moore could be taken to town. At odds of 7/2 (PP) Galway aren't a bad price but I wouldn't put the mortgage on it.
Any scenario for Sunday may be envisaged - either team winning by a narrow or wide margin; oddly enough Galway have better scoring forwards but KKs play better as a unit. [/quote]
Galway will not hammer Kilkenny and to say Galway have better forwards is a joke, Henry on his own must average near 1-10 a game and Comerford will get another 4 or 5 throw in Brennan there and you are looking at some serious forward power!! I'm sick of this whole Galway potential thing!! I've been hearing it since I was in nappies and still not seen them deliver on it, except for the very very odd match over the last 15 years. I have the potential to be an ice skater (even though I have only skated once in my life and spent the majority of the time on my ass) What I am saying is we can all say that our county team has potential but at some point you have to say "screw this old and boring potential myth we have serious problems in the county"
Quote from: Punxsutawney Fergal on July 18, 2007, 12:12:16 PM
Any scenario for Sunday may be envisaged - either team winning by a narrow or wide margin; oddly enough Galway have better scoring forwards but KKs play better as a unit.
Galway will not hammer Kilkenny and to say Galway have better forwards is a joke, Henry on his own must average near 1-10 a game and Comerford will get another 4 or 5 throw in Brennan there and you are looking at some serious forward power!! I'm sick of this whole Galway potential thing!! I've been hearing it since I was in nappies and still not seen them deliver on it, except for the very very odd match over the last 15 years. I have the potential to be an ice skater (even though I have only skated once in my life and spent the majority of the time on my ass) What I am saying is we can all say that our county team has potential but at some point you have to say "screw this old and boring potential myth we have serious problems in the county"
PF... The potential thing is getting old I agree.. ESPECIALLY if your galwegian.. You see its based upon the fact that we have an equal record with KK in underage in the last 20 years minor and U21 so where the fu*k do the senior all-irelands go?
I have to say, if we had a man like Cody in charge for the last 8 years, I think we would have won as much as the Cuttns by this stage...
Galway realistically have no chance on Sunday.You have to be displaying some sort of form during the year to be in with any chance and Galway have been bad all year.Loughnane tactics were only good for Clare at that time, but he has not brought out the best in Galway.I thought yee were making more progress under Hayes and were playing a nicer style of hurling.Loughnane will leave Galway in a bigger mess than he found it.Only solution get rid of GL and go into Leinster.
Quote from: robinbanks on July 18, 2007, 01:05:43 PM
Galway realistically have no chance on Sunday.You have to be displaying some sort of form during the year to be in with any chance and Galway have been bad all year.
typically I'd agree with that. However, after what Tipp did last weekend I think anything is possible.
typically I'd agree with that. However, after what Tipp did last weekend I think anything is possible
If that was a championship match and the losers were gone do you think Cork would have lost?.
"Galway will not hammer Kilkenny and to say Galway have better forwards is a joke, Henry on his own must average near 1-10 a game and Comerford will get another 4 or 5 throw in Brennan there and you are looking at some serious forward power!! I'm sick of this whole Galway potential thing!! I've been hearing it since I was in nappies and still not seen them deliver on it, except for the very very odd match over the last 15 years. I have the potential to be an ice skater (even though I have only skated once in my life and spent the majority of the time on my ass) What I am saying is we can all say that our county team has potential but at some point you have to say "screw this old and boring potential myth we have serious problems in the county"
It remains to be seen. Oddly enough I wouldn't be totally afraid of Sheflin scoring, I've seen him miss a few over the years and there have been games when he hasn't even scored from play - a lot of his tallies have come from the placed ball. It's his playmaking duties I fear. Comerford can be held but Brennan only ever seems to play well against Galway. :-\ Counter that with very skillful hurlers like the 2 Healys, Broderick, Hayes, A Kerins, Kerril Wade, even Tannian - all these guys can score easily enough if they put their mind to it. (And that's discounting Farragher and E Cloonan who will hardly be playing)
Galway may well have 'serious problems' in the county, but only at senior level. Minor, U-21 and club seem to be healthy enough from where I stand.
Quote from: mouview on July 18, 2007, 01:13:58 PM
"Galway will not hammer Kilkenny and to say Galway have better forwards is a joke, Henry on his own must average near 1-10 a game and Comerford will get another 4 or 5 throw in Brennan there and you are looking at some serious forward power!! I'm sick of this whole Galway potential thing!! I've been hearing it since I was in nappies and still not seen them deliver on it, except for the very very odd match over the last 15 years. I have the potential to be an ice skater (even though I have only skated once in my life and spent the majority of the time on my ass) What I am saying is we can all say that our county team has potential but at some point you have to say "screw this old and boring potential myth we have serious problems in the county"
It remains to be seen. Oddly enough I wouldn't be totally afraid of Sheflin scoring, I've seen him miss a few over the years and there have been games when he hasn't even scored from play - a lot of his tallies have come from the placed ball. It's his playmaking duties I fear. Comerford can be held but Brennan only ever seems to play well against Galway. :-\ Counter that with very skillful hurlers like the 2 Healys, Broderick, Hayes, A Kerins, Kerril Wade, even Tannian - all these guys can score easily enough if they put their mind to it. (And that's discounting Farragher and E Cloonan who will hardly be playing)
Galway may well have 'serious problems' in the county, but only at senior level. Minor, U-21 and club seem to be healthy enough from where I stand.
Above hurlers maybe skillfull on the training pitch but thats about it.When have they scored easily.Talent in Galway is way overestimated.Not serious contenders this year on any time soon by the looks of things!
Quote from: robinbanks on July 18, 2007, 01:13:46 PM
typically I'd agree with that. However, after what Tipp did last weekend I think anything is possible
If that was a championship match and the losers were gone do you think Cork would have lost?.
careful now, the ship is about and doesn't take to kindly to folks dissing Tipp!!
Not dissing Tipp at all. Tipp were beaten by an average Limerick side that got beat by Waterford in Munster Final by 9 points.Waterford have beat Tipp already this year in league, and have beat Cork in Championship.At best ye are about fourth best in Munster with Clare just behind ye.You cant honestly think that ye are going to win anything this year.Ye celebrated big after Cork match because ye knew it was going to be yer only win this year.
Quote from: mouview on July 18, 2007, 01:13:58 PM
Bit like Limerick but every year people don't throw their name about as the potential darkhorse - These Galway players might be skill-full but year on year they fail to deliver in the championship! So they look really skill-full in the pre-game match warm up but 99.9% of the time we don't see them applying this skill in the heat of the battle!!! Hurling is about more than skill, christ I hurled with guys who could do amazing things with a hurling ball in training but come match day they were always the lads taken off at half-time. When these so called great Galway hurlers start delivering performances consistently then I will start recognising them up there with the KK, Waterford and Cork players. Maybe Galway need to stop picking the flash hurlers and start throwing a few hard-men into the team.
Quote from: robinbanks on July 18, 2007, 01:42:55 PM
Not dissing Tipp at all. Tipp were beaten by an average Limerick side that got beat by Waterford in Munster Final by 9 points.Waterford have beat Tipp already this year in league, and have beat Cork in Championship.At best ye are about fourth best in Munster with Clare just behind ye.You cant honestly think that ye are going to win anything this year.Ye celebrated big after Cork match because ye knew it was going to be yer only win this year.
whats this 'ye' business ? :)
Tipp dont deserve respect.They are a very average team and will not be in the running come September.
Quote from: robinbanks on July 18, 2007, 03:25:47 PM
Tipp dont deserve respect.They are a very average team and will not be in the running come September.
Well they will beat Wexford on Sunday and will find themselves in the All-Ireland semi which must be considered a good year by Tipp considering the team they have at their disposal (I reckon KK will beat them by 10+ points in the semi)
Quote from: Punxsutawney Fergal on July 18, 2007, 03:32:18 PM
Well they will beat Wexford on Sunday and will find themselves in the All-Ireland semi which must be considered a good year by Tipp considering the team they have at their disposal (I reckon KK will beat them by 10+ points in the semi)
Just keep talkin loike that...
??? ??? ??? ???
I wouldnt rule out Wexford.They always have one big match in them.Tipp will be cocky enough now and will probably change the team again for the match
Quote from: robinbanks on July 18, 2007, 04:01:48 PM
I wouldnt rule out Wexford.They always have one big match in them.Tipp will be cocky enough now and will probably change the team again for the match
What was their big game last year? the hiding from KK or Clare, As a Wexford man I really would love to believe in this one big game theory but the reality is Wexford have a shocking team.
yes, you are dissing them. Very much so
Tipp for all their failings are battle hardened and used to a pace of hurling that Wexford aren't and they'll have gained a lot of confidence in their win over Cork irrespective of whether it mattered that much to Cork or not. It was that lack of confidence which was their undoing against Limerick. I'd expect them to get over Wexford and pose a real threat for whoever they meet in the semi-final. Babs seems to have rode out the storm and now has no's 3 and 6 settled with an ever improving supporting cast around them. Tipp are no push overs.
Wexford on the other hand scraped past Dublin and got hung out to dry by Kilkenny. Morale in that camp will be low and I'd be surprised if they could muster one good game against Tipp. It'd have to be a bad day for Tipp and a good day for Wexford for the yella bellies to do anything.
Dickie Murphy has been drafted in to take charge of the Galway/Kilkenny game. The original refree Pat O'Connor has dropped out due to "work commitments". Nothing at all to do with Ger's comments on the radio.
According to anfearrua.com the wife of one of the Kilkenny players was killed in a road accident this morning. Tragic news, puts everything in perspective.
http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0719/rta1.html (http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0719/rta1.html)
RIP
F*ck it that is shocking. I know it happens way too often on our roads, but to hear that a couple of kids are in a critical condition as well is heart breaking. I don't know the identity of the player, but no matter who it is, or whether they've ever held a hurl in their hand, it's just tragic.
It's James McGarry's wife AZ, God love him. Very hard to come to terms with this, it tests my faith anyway. I doubt if the game will go ahead on Sunday now. Awful, awful news.
R.I.P.
Jesus that is awful news,I heard about crash earlier today and as always felt sick when you hear about someone dying in such a way
God help the family
R.I.P
It just makes you think,All the importance we put on the Gaa and the fights and the debates at the end of the day it all means nothing it's only a game
This is just so sad it puts everything into perspective
Very sad. RIP. I can say no more.
Condolances to James McGarry, the McGarry & Vanessa's family from all in Mayo.
RIP
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 20, 2007, 09:20:11 AM
Condolances to James McGarry, the McGarry & Vanessa's family from all in Mayo.
Who elected you to speak for all the people of Mayo?
What's your story Aristotle Flynn, Fishead sam was trying to say a few kind words about this terrible accident and you go mouthing off.
Keep quite.
Does anyone know if this game is still being played on sunday?
Moved to Saturday week.
All 3 of Sunday's games have been moved to Sat week.
Sorry to hear the terrible news. Rest in Peace.
My heartfelt condolences to the berieved. Having lost an uncle and first cousin, who was coincidentally also recently married at the time, in almost identical circumstances just over 2 years ago, I have a good idea of what they are going thru and I wouldn't wish it on anyone.
Its hard to know whether to start talking about this game yet, but its on next Saturday and we might as well.. In normal circumstances I may be trying my best to wind up some cats, but the heart isn't in it right now.
The same question might well be asked of the KK squad, but knowing the manager as we do, he will try to turn that shock and negative emotion into a desire to do something positive for the county. Thats what I fear...
Galway may be on tenterhooks, primed to see the demenor of the black and amber as they take the field, either way, they will take the lead from that and react accordingly. Hopefully it will be enough.. Thats all we can do in Galway, hope to see a new team with the spirit of 1986, 2001 and 2005 to spook the cats again and get into their brains like no-one else...
Rumours abound that Hardi and Tony óg have walked....they probably wouldn't have played anyway.... but we're still fcuked!!
Heard these rumours this morning too, Joeen. Apparently they missed a training session after the Antrim game, ( also a game after which E Cloonan reportedly (and forcibly) made his disappointment known to Gerlock when he wasn't used). Tony Og is no loss as his most recent performance against Clare shows. Hardi is a whole-hearted player and probably would / will start against KK though I still feel he's a bit loose and slow. Team is supposed to be picked this evening but, you know.....
Galway to get stuffed and Ger to walk. His whole approach is old fashioned now and it clearly doesn't impress the Galway lads. All will be revealed on Saturday but I think Galway will be doing well to get within 10 pts. The Cats will win the All Ireland.
Mouview,
I don't think Cloonan & Hardi were playing well anyway. Cloonan slows up the play too much and looks like a man that has clocked too many hurling miles. Hardi was too loose and unfit. Remeber Ben O'Connor scored 1-5 in the 2005 final off him.
I hope he picks the fast snappy hurlers he put out against Antrim as thats our only hope.
Byrne warns Galway to prepare for hard stuff or take up tennis
By Jackie Cahill
Thursday July 26 2007
FORMER Kilkenny captain Denis Byrne has turned up the heat ahead of Saturday's All-Ireland hurling quarter-final by warning Galway to prepare for a physical onslaught from the Cats at Croke Park.
And Byrne has told the Galway players that if they can't handle the physical stuff, they should "take up squash or tennis".
Byrne has revealed how the Cats were issued with a "no retaliation" directive before the 2001 All-Ireland semi-final between the sides.
And he believes that Kilkenny's recent success came about as a result of a significant shift in policy following that shock loss.
He revealed: "Kilkenny were issued with a directive of no retaliation that day because they were expecting Galway to try the heavy stuff from the start.
"It backfired on Kilkenny. - Brian McEvoy got a few shots from Richie Murray before the throw-in but didn't react.
"Kilkenny were a much more physical team than Galway, but Galway out-ran them and even going back to the 1980s, it was Galway's pace that has troubled Kilkenny more than anything.
"And two years ago, they opened up the Kilkenny backs and scored five goals.¨
Byrne was a member of the last Kilkenny team to defeat Galway at Croke Park, back in 2000.
Byrne believes that current Galway boss Ger Loughnane is playing a dangerous game with his pre-match claims of Kilkenny "savagery".
Byrne added: "Ger Loughnane obviously feels that he needs to go that way because he knows Kilkenny are a very physical team and he's trying to protect the Galway lads.
"But hurling is a physical game and if Galway can't handle it, they shouldn't be playing inter-county hurling. They'd be better off taking up squash or tennis."
Lyng and Fogarty back for Kilkenny
Friday, 27 July 2007 09:40
Derek Lyng and Aidan Fogarty have both recovered from injury and have been named in the Kilkenny team for tomorrow's All Ireland hurling quarter-final against Galway.
The Ballyhale duo Michael Fennelly and Eoin Reid make way from the team that won the Leinster final.
Noel Hickey has been named at full-back despite concerns over his fitness.
Kilkenny are taking nothing for granted and Martin Comerford, who has been selected to play at right half-forward insisted: 'There certainly won't be any complacency on Kilkenny's part.'
'We have lost four Championship matches since 2000 and Galway have beaten us in two of them which is a poor record. We've beaten them twice in the meantime so this is a kind of deciding encounter on Saturday.
'Whoever wins is playing an All-Ireland semi-final and that's the carrot at the end of the line,' he added.
Kilkenny (SHC v Galway): PJ Ryan; M Kavanagh, N Hickey, J Tyrrell; T Walsh, B Hogan, JJ Delaney; J Fitzpatrick, D Lyng; M Comerford, E Brennan, E Larkin ; A Fogarty, H Shefflin, W O'Dwyer.
Has the Galway team been named yet, or is Ger going tp announce it just before the game
Awful bad feeling that Galway are gonna get blown away...
I dont think they will to be honest, although I dont think they will win.
If Kilkenny allow them to play hurling which I think they will, I can see Galway putting up a good score.
At the same time its hard to see them winning.
But dont right them off, this is when Galway are at there most dangerous.
Sure Galway have shown no form at all under Loughnanne so if there is a big game in them it has to be Sunday. Should be a tough opening 20 minutes with both teams having some serious forwards . I would worry about the Galway full back line though and for that reason would expect kK to come through with 5 or 6 points to spare.
Ya not expecting the win, but the players seem to have confidence in them selves. So why not get behind them. I agree the full back line could be better, but I think Galway will just have to take the attitude for all out attack rather than be defensively minded if they are going to win.
Can we win it lads. Up Galway.
1-18 each 60 minutes gone
Feck this for a game of soilders, we didnt deserve this.
The worst thing is that it is now Kilkenny v Wexford in the semi final.
Quote from: Tubberman on July 28, 2007, 05:29:05 PM
Hear hear. Another one-sided affair in prospect probably, even if Wexford decide to try a leg this time.
My god, Galway could not get the ball to their men at all today. the Kilkenny half backs made a rag of the Galway half forwards. if it wasnt for the gutsy performance of the Galway backs the inevitable defeat would have been evident alot earlier. Cloonan got 1 touch of the sliotar. I hope to God Wexford have something in them to stand against the Cats.
Quote from: thejuice on July 29, 2007, 01:25:42 AM
My god, Galway could not get the ball to their men at all today. the Kilkenny half backs made a rag of the Galway half forwards.
As a Meath man maybe the grasp of hurling isn't the best but the Galway half forwards contributed 8 points from play in the game which is a great amount by any standard. The Kilkenny halfback line was under some duress at times as witnessed by the fact that JJ Delaney and Brian Hogan were taken off.
Anyway, will give a more detailed verdict on the game later.
galway lads not able to catch the ball - constantly putting up the hurley then the Kilkenny man would pick up the breaking ball
one of the main differences between the teams
other was the commitment to the tackle. Kilkenny have almost perfected the art of tackling the player without fouling him - stopping him from running and stopping him from sticking up the hand to catch a ball!!
if the ball is on ground then Kilkenny boys go in full throttle to win the ball and get their whole body over the ball - whereas the Galway players expected to come up easily with a soft roll lift.
Quote from: neilthemac on July 29, 2007, 10:39:26 AM
galway lads not able to catch the ball - constantly putting up the hurley then the Kilkenny man would pick up the breaking ball
one of the main differences between the teams
other was the commitment to the tackle. Kilkenny have almost perfected the art of tackling the player without fouling him - stopping him from running and stopping him from sticking up the hand to catch a ball!!
if the ball is on ground then Kilkenny boys go in full throttle to win the ball and get their whole body over the ball - whereas the Galway players expected to come up easily with a soft roll lift.
Is it just me or did Galways lack of meaningful matches really show in the last 10-15 minutes?
Quote from: Owenmoresider on July 28, 2007, 09:21:45 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 28, 2007, 05:29:05 PM
Hear hear. Another one-sided affair in prospect probably, even if Wexford decide to try a leg this time.
And Tipp who should have lost by 10 to Wexford wouldn't be hammered ??? ??? ???
exactly that sorry excuse for a tipp team would have been hockeyed.
Quote from: thejuice on July 29, 2007, 01:25:42 AM
My god, Galway could not get the ball to their men at all today. the Kilkenny half backs made a rag of the Galway half forwards. if it wasnt for the gutsy performance of the Galway backs the inevitable defeat would have been evident alot earlier. Cloonan got 1 touch of the sliotar. I hope to God Wexford have something in them to stand against the Cats.
??? What game were you watching ? Galway half forwards cleaned the KK half backs...................
Perhaps not later in the game, GI.
Despite the 'good' performance we are no further on from 12 months ago. When he first came in, Gerlock stated that he couldn't build a team in Galway the way he had to do in Clare, that the players were already there in the county. Now he comes along on GBFM insisting that the building process will continue so that somebody will eventually benefit from it. It can't always be next year for Galway hurling, we're 10-15 years now listening to that. Continuity and a settled team must be imposed immediately or another generation of talented players will be wasted.
As for the game itself, Mahon is simply not good enough, not in the FB line anyway. Richie Murray doesn't do enough, E Cloonan isn't a man to bring in as sub, he's unable to hit the ground running, neither is David Forde. Tannian is too timid, good hurler but needs to throw himself into the game much more than he does. Ditto Niall Healy, though, like his brother, a great stickman. Wade had a mixed big game debut but will improve. 2 - 3 big men are needed for the forwards and there's only one of Joe Canning.
I'd like to get the views of the Galwegians who post here on how far our hurling team have progressed this year...if at all.
The over-riding feeling leaving Croker was disappointment for the way the match went, but hope for the future provided lessons are learnt and taken on board.
I felt we could have actually taken Kilkenny the last day. When you think we had players struggling on the pitch like Hardiman, David Forde and Cloonan for a half an hour and still nearly took them it makes you wonder what might have been. The sideline let Galway down again with poor selection and the poor substitutions....
When I saw the team on the programme I thought we might have had half a sniff of taking Kilkenny. With the excepotion of Kennedy at corner back I agreed with every one of the selections. But yet again Ger you try to hoodwink everyone by sending them out in a totally different fashion. The only one you are fooling at this stage is yourself.
Why was Hardiman started when he clearly was neither motivated in the run up to the game or playing well enough all year anyway to warrant his spot at No.5?
Why didn't Broderick start?
Why, oh why, oh why, was David Forde brought on?
Why didn't he bring on David Tierney who has always hurled well against Kilkenny?
Why was Eugene brought on in such a high tempo game when his pace and agility has been suspect all year as well?
Hardiman wasn't up to it and Eoin Larkin showed him a clean pair of heels for the 1st half before he was withdrawn at half time. 30 minutes too late in my opinion as he was struggling from the word go.
Kennedy, while he cleared a few balls, was not imposing or pacy enough for my liking and having Hardi and himself on the same side of the field handed Kilkenny at least 3/4 scores in the 1st half.
I could go on ad infinitum about various things that were done wrong the last day. But I hope Loughnane is given another year. I hope they cut out the shitehawking and become less aggresive in the newspapers and much more imposing on the hurling field. I hope Sean Treacy is given the match runner role because Louis Mulqueen is the trainer and nothing more. He's having too much of an involvement for my liking and is more worried about being stuck in Loughnanes ear and being seen on the sideline. I want a Galway man going out on the field giving instructions to our Galway hurlers. Mulqueens job finishes on the training field and the only job i'd give him on match day is carrying hurleys.
Finally my player ratings for the last day and the year.
Colm Callanan - Has been a solid if unspectacular goalie. I thought he could have come out on top of Brennan when that ball broke through. But he's done OK.
Greg Kennedy - Was brought back in the hope he could roll back the years to 2001. While he was alright he wandered a bit and I didn't feel our young full back was getting much support from him....especially when the game entered the final stages.
Ger Mahon - Had played a fine game up until those last 10 minutes. The goal was not his fault. He followed his man out and didn't realise there was actually a switch going on. The ball broke inside to Brennan and the rest is history. He's still only 20 years old and you don't hear anyone slating Noel Hickey for his boo boo for Richie Murrays goal. I hope he's retained and given a chance at full-back, preferably with Joyce and Moore each side of him.
Fergal Moore - Was heading for a Man of the Match performance until he got injured. This guy has improved no end this year and will be at No.4 next year. Ollie Canning isn't as badly missed as we thought.
Shane Kavanagh - Hurled well the last day despite that disastrous sideline cut. He's big and strong and could do with horsing into lads a bit more as well. I would retain him at No.5 next year.
John Lee - Has been great all year. If he works on catching the ball instead of trying to take it on the hurl and clears a few balls himself instead of trying to lay them off he will be the complete centre back. Still U-21 and a frighteningly good prospect. Would make himself or Fergal Healy captain next year
David Collins - Named in the programme at No.7. Never set foot in this position all day. I refuse to criticise his form as he was never played in the positioon he got young hurler of the year award in 2005. I hope to see him at No.7 next year and given a chance to resurrect his form.
Fergal Healy - Has been the most consistent Galway hurler for the last 5/6 years. He was being taken off and then not getting started and generally being fucked around for the last couple of years. The fact that he has stuck with it is a testament to his determination and stubborness not to let poor decision making get him down. Well done Mr. Healy. Played magnificently the last day as he has in nearly every big game for Galway.
Richie Murray - He done alright the last day. Just alright. Has failed to live up to the billing so many times that i wonder is he ever going to turn it on. Would probably benefit from being sited at midfield on a consistent basis.
Alan Kerins - Probably his best year in a Galway jersey. His hurling has been sharp and his striking has improved no end. Might sneak an All-Star.
Niall Healy - Played well the last day. Another victim of the ridiculous rotation/team selection strategy adopted by Loughnane. I'm hoping for a big year from this guy next year.
Iarlaith Tannian - Failed to impose himself on the game and his man on Saturday. Where is the Tannian that thundered into Keith Rossiter and Wexford in Nowlan Park? In bloody corner forward that's where! Tannian did not set foot at No.11 all day on Saturday. He played in every position in the full forward line and wing forward. I want to see him in his proper position of centre forward for a few games next year and let's see if he really is as good as he has shown occasionally in the past.
Kerrill Wade - Not a bad first championship season for him. Didn't do an awful lot from play the last day. But a good winter in the gym beefing up a bit should sort him out and he should be able to contribute a bit more from play next year. Still U-21.
Damien Hayes - Full of energy and running at midfield but unfortunately his passing and striking wasn't up to scratch. A few times he did a big build up only to hit the ball 40 yards. If he let it off alot quicker to the inside forward line it would have worked better. I hope he re-finds his touch next year as he's a great player to watch
Derek Hardiman - Hardi needs to shit or get off the pot next year. His form has plummeted since the highs of 2005 and his fitness is seriously suspect. The rumours of his departure from the squad were not exaggerated and I don't think Loughnane should have bothered bringing him back and playing him. He was lucky to start and even luckier to be left on for the whole first half.
Kevin Broderick - Should have started. Noel Hickey and Co. hate a Broderick type of forward and to only give him 20 minutes in the 2nd half was a disgrace.
David Forde - There's no point in going on about him any further as it's not fair on Fordey. Except to say I hope the management have seen the light....finally.
Eugene Cloonan - Unfortunately inter-county pace has passed out Eugene. He was never a pacey forward but he could turn quick and strike. He doesn't even have that anymore as his back problems have robbed him of that ability. Noel Hickeys block down on his point effort was indicative of Cloonans season. No point in him being involved next year. He's just not able for this pace anymore.
David Tierney - Should have been used on Saturday and should be involved next year.
Mark Kerins - Time is up for Mark as well.
Joe Canning will hopefully be involved and the U-21s might turn up another one or two next year. Therefore would like to see this team tried in the league.
1. Callanan/Ryan
2. Joyce
3. Mahon
4. Moore
5. Kavanagh
6. Lee
7. Collins
8. Fergal Healy
9. Murray/Tierney
10. A Kerins
11. Tannian
12. Niall Healy
13. Wade
14. Joe Canning
15. Broderick/Hayes
FTJC that would be pretty close to my team..
From the U21's.. A few I listed here.. Who would you include on the panel to give a serious tryout?
Skehill
Keary
Kilkenny
and of course the 2 you mentioned
Canning
Wade
Ive often thought about the underage side of things and the conclusion has hardened since Saturdays 1/4 final that KKs U21's and young players are not far superior to ours. We may have as many Top players overall. The difference is that they are entering a different set-up. A winning team with an organised ruthless manager who they know will try them out.
The conveyor is working in KK because they can transition the bright prospects into an already hardened, winning team who they know can cover mistakes for them giving them the leeway to hurl like they can.. Thats a great boost mentally for any team.
Contrast that with the Galway seniors, the pressure is now immense, the mentality is almost desperate, and good minor and U21 prospects cannot but be affected negatively whether conciously or not. Every mistake is magnified (see Ger Mahon) and the pressure on the next 'bright thing' is suffocating. Build the team first, get it settled, then do what Cody does, transition 2 or 3 in every year to keep it fresh.
D'oh.. Am I stating the obvious? Maybe some Cat can enlighten..