I have been thinking of getting one on my shoulder for some years now,don't know why i want one but have always wanted too
I know there is a certain amount of stereotyping of people who have tattoos but i know Accountants and Gardai etc who have them
Has anyone got one or thinking of getting one?
I have 2 - a small Celtic cross inside a tribal sun on my right shoulder and I have my first name in Hebrew script on the side of my right calf
(http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/8300/tatt2ki9.jpg)
(http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/2485/tatt1uw7.jpg)
Pay no attention to the awful white legs
I have thought about it and unless you have something really worth the embarrassment dont bother.Your name in hebrew?whats so special about that, it might as easily have been spanish,jose.I know a lad that got a big celtic tatoo after they won some competition, its on his lower arm so all can see and has caused him nothing but hassle going out at night unless he wears sleeves so whats the point.
Discreet may also be fine but then you never see it.Some people can carry it off and have no trouble, ciaran macdonald has lots of totooes but is a greaty footballer and people know he does a lot for charity organisations so he gets a pass.
Think hard about it is my advice.
Don't do it son, i had two cut out of my arm. They were put on years ago "Celtic" and "CFC", doctor and a scalpel done the trick. After a few years of looking at the tattoo you'll be sick of it, espically when the colour fades.
all I will say is be very thoughtful about what you might put on your body. It has to mean something everlasting to you, as you will always have it(unless you use surgery to remove). Get it somewhere discreet, I have mine at the very top of my left arm, only visible if the shirt is off or I choose to show it to someone.
Ive had it for 15 years, and enjoy it as much now as i did then. BUT Its something I know my feeling on will NEVER EVER CHANGE.......
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 06, 2007, 01:50:07 AM
I have been thinking of getting one on my shoulder for some years now,don't know why i want one but have always wanted too
I know there is a certain amount of stereotyping of people who have tattoos but i know Accountants and Gardai etc who have them
Has anyone got one or thinking of getting one?
I think you've answered your own question
i have a tattoo as well, as an fear rua said think long and hard about what you want to get tattooed and just don't go into to the shop and pick one of the designs they have,maybe have a rough sketch of what you would like done something that means something to you.Mines on my back i have it six years and i would never ever think of getting it removed
Two men, a Yank and a Irishman are having a leak in a pub's toilet. The Yank glances accross at the other fellow and sees he has a "N" and a "Y" tattooed on his lad. "Jaysus" says he, "are you from New York too, I have the same tattoo and when I get an erection its spells out NEW YORK".
"No" says the Irish man, "mine spells out NEWTOWNMOUNTKENNEDY"
As for Tattoos, back in the 80's I was going to put all the Kerry teams who had won All Irelands on my back, but then realised that I would soon run out of space :P
:D :D :D go on the paddy
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 06, 2007, 09:29:43 AM
As for Tattoos, back in the 80's I was going to put all the Kerry teams who had won All Irelands on my back, but then realised that I would soon run out of space :P
You should put on a reminder that it ok to go to Croke Park before september :D
QuoteYou should put on a reminder that it ok to go to Croke Park before september
Thats just wrong, a trip to Croke Park is a sacred pilgrimage and should only be undertaken once a year preferably on the feast of Saint Samuel Kerry de la Maguire in September, when the rewards from the Gods are at their greatest. If you go too often you just lose respect for the place and you then start arriving 15 minutes late for games and start booing the opposition and referees, and singing funny songs about some lads dressed in blue.
Honest opinion - don't like them. Can tolerate one but multiple - no. What happens when you're seventy and have this bluey-greeny coloured thing all wrinkled up on your skin. I think it stems from a storyline in Grange Hill when I was growing up about a girl who got one and wanted to get rid of it.
A girl who used to work in my firm had one on her arm - caused her all sorts of problems when it was the summer and she wanted to wear sleeveless tops as she had to cover the tattoo up when she went out to visit clients.
Not to everyone's liking but i think some can be great. Have one myself but is way up my arm so not often seen and isn't in everyone's face. remember seeing a brilliant tattoo a while back on a lads shoulder/back.... it was a celtic design with his childs name inside it!!! My advice is to go in and get a few ideas of what you would like?? any artist thats any good at all can even create a unique design for you or copy any emblem etc???
has any one seen the show miami ink now there they do some serious tattoos
Quote from: Rois on July 06, 2007, 10:03:10 AM
Honest opinion - don't like them. Can tolerate one but multiple - no. What happens when you're seventy and have this bluey-greeny coloured thing all wrinkled up on your skin. I think it stems from a storyline in Grange Hill when I was growing up about a girl who got one and wanted to get rid of it.
A girl who used to work in my firm had one on her arm - caused her all sorts of problems when it was the summer and she wanted to wear sleeveless tops as she had to cover the tattoo up when she went out to visit clients.
Reminds me of Grandpa Simpson . What you call this showing bart his tattoo . Bart : wrinkly gibberish !
You can get a temporary tattoo, think it lasts for about 3/4 years then it fades away. At least this way you will be able to decide if you want one for life.
Laoislad, you should get one of Debbie Mc Gee ;)
Quote from: Gnevin on July 06, 2007, 10:21:09 AM
Reminds me of Grandpa Simpson . What you call this showing bart his tattoo . Bart : wrinkly gibberish !
A guy who works in my local supermarket on the tills has "1690" tattooed across his knuckles. Classy.
Okay then, i'll say it....
Gab, that tattoo on your leg... holy god
K.E.T
Thanks for all the advice apart from Full Back and his Debbie Mcgee suggestion :D I actually think Full Back has a obsession with Debbie now!!
Anyways i have been thinking of getting one for a long time and am not going to rush into anything,It will be well hidden on my shoulder.I think people don't realise it can be a very personal thing to get a Tattoo but there is a stereotypical view of people who have them that their all scumbags in some way.I do agree some tattoos look awful but as some have posted these are the ones that are in your face all the time
my particular favourites are the" swallow on the neck" allways nice to see, or else the love hate on the knuckles maybe Laoislad could put Love Laois on his knuckles
I think it was Frank Carson who said that he was out one night and he knew the bar he was in was a classy joint.....all the women's tattoos were spelt right. :D :D
Seen an eye Tattooed on the back of a skinheads head , back in the 80's . 8)
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 06, 2007, 04:27:53 AM
I have 2 - a small Celtic cross inside a tribal sun on my right shoulder and I have my first name in Hebrew script on the side of my right calf
(http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/8300/tatt2ki9.jpg)
(http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/2485/tatt1uw7.jpg)
Pay no attention to the awful white legs
The top one isnt too bad, but the one on the leg - HOLY FCUK :D
Where you on the jungle juice when the b4stard done that to you Gab?
Not casting aspersions on his genealogy or anything, but I heard Fearon has 'Tottenham Hotspur' tattooed on his fingers.
how about this bummer of a tattoo... ;)
QuoteYour name in hebrew?whats so special about that, it might as easily have been spanish,jose.
That's what I said - Gabriel is Hebrew for "God is my strength" - what's so wrong with that?
QuoteGab, that tattoo on your leg... holy god
Thanks Uladh - knew you'd like it
Why do people get their own name tattooed on their arm..............
In case there's any confusion...
The ladies with the tattoos on their lower back, heard them call "tr**p stamps".....Classy
Gabriel hurl, is the tattoo on you?
No offense meant.
Tattoos are very popular in the usa and probably canada too.No one bats an eyelid when they see them with all the different types of folk walking around.How is work in toronto? is the construction thing a good gig over there?
QuoteGabriel hurl, is the tattoo on you?
No offense meant.
Tattoos are very popular in the usa and probably canada too.No one bats an eyelid when they see them with all the different types of folk walking around.How is work in toronto? is the construction thing a good gig over there?
Yep - thats my leg - I can take another picture of you want ;)
Construction work is busy here as always - and profitable - I know cos I pay the feckers every month - although out west in Calgary and Edmonton - it's exploding altogether - they can't get the houses and apartment buildings up quick enough
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 09, 2007, 07:55:56 PM
(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/34/118884591_f74cff4b0c.jpg)
:o
:D :D
Why in under god would anyone do this to themselves?
(http://www.thesmokinggun.com/graphics/art3/1103061allgier1.jpg)
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 09, 2007, 08:01:04 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 09, 2007, 07:55:56 PM
(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/34/118884591_f74cff4b0c.jpg)
:o
:D :D
I think this delightfull young fella is saying "I want 4 tickets for Hill 16 on sunday"
gabriel_hurl can you not see that is a map out of a prison ala Michael in prison break. ;D ;D
is that Alan SMith?
Quote from: heganboy on July 11, 2007, 06:17:17 PM
is that Alan Smith?
Was thinking the same thing.
being from a Republican area a few of the locals had the initials of a paramilitary organisation tattooed across their knuckles, they are now all called FRA :D
what about names on girls backs across their shoulders, WTF is that all about
I had an American mate in Japan who suffered big time for having what we would consider the most inocuous little tattoo on his shoulder. He was forbidden from going to onsen and when the Japanese soccer players saw it they gave him a wide berth. All thanks to the association between the yakuza and tattoos.
I have to fly this absolute fcukwit to and from site and what pisses me off is the huge picture of Adolf Hitler he has tattooed on his calf. I am just dying for one minor indiscretion from him or the slightest hint of alcohol on his breath and he is not flying on my plane. tr**p.
One of the cleverest tattoos I have ever seen was this old bloke I met at a place called Denham in Western Australia. He had all this Thai writing on his arm and I asked him what it meant. He said "if you can read this I'll buy you a drink". Cue the next 10 minutes trying to guess what it said. He then told me it meant precisely that....if you can read this I'll buy you a drink. Clever.
If I were ever to get one it would be one I chose myself not one of these I-want-to-be-individual-but-I'll-get-the-same-Indian peace sign tattoos-like-my mates.
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 09, 2007, 08:41:14 PM
Why in under god would anyone do this to themselves?
(http://www.thesmokinggun.com/graphics/art3/1103061allgier1.jpg)
Best of all the guy looks half-caste...!! :D
so thats where alan smith went!
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/7139492.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/7139492.stm)
'Romantic' trick tattoo to stay
The "supermarket" tattoo is here to stay
When teenager Joanne Raine had her boyfriend's nickname "Roo" tattooed on her stomach it was supposed to be a sign of her undying love.
The 19-year-old from Darlington paid £80 for the Chinese artwork in 2004 and was delighted with the results.
That was until she showed it off in a Chinese takeaway and found out it actually spelled "supermarket."
The pair have now split up, but Miss Raine said she will keep the tattoo because she cannot afford a new one.
She said: "I did it because I wanted to show him how much I loved him and he had one done as well.
"I did not think about whether it meant forever. I'm just going to have to keep it as I can't afford to get another one done
Thought I would resurrect this thread as I just got more work done on my back.
I have a tattoo on each upper arm - both of them i drew myself and both mean a lot to me.
The crucifix on my back is a mayan influenced crucifix I brought home from Nicaragua - a local artist, Paul Digby, drafted it up for me and I had it tattooed about 3 years ago now. I got a bible verse underneath it at the weekend. Very happy with it.
Anyone else get a tattoo recently?
Once you start that's it.
BTW Hurl - good concept and fair play for getting the Hebrew
Tattoo's on men can be so sexy, all black ones are better than the coloured ones though. What's your general opinion on girl's with tattoo's? I was thinking about getting something small like a treble clef on my hip or something.
My tattoos are all black with some shading
Tattoos on girls can be ok - depends on where and why.
When I was getting one tattoo a got talking to a girl who just got a butterfly on her ankle because it would look nice when she was out. I don't agree with that at all. Get a tattoo that means something or you will only end up regretting it.
I am trying to convince my woman to get a charm bracelet tattooed around her ankle - she can add little charms for events in her life: our marriage, the birth of our son, any other kids etc etc
Why not get her a real charm bracelet for round her ankle. Tattoos are scummy.
Real charm bracelets are tacky IMO.
not a big fan of tatoo's .... some on men are ok! but i don't like them on women, especially if you see a girl at a gala or wedding where she's wearing a formal dress with a big oul tattoo on her arm or back... not classy at all!
Quote from: maggie on November 05, 2008, 09:18:01 PM
Real charm bracelets are tacky IMO.
Not as tacky as a tattoo. No offense to anybody with one, just my opinion as was pointed out.
Tattoos make some people feel better about themselves. Some people like them. Some dont. If you dont like them, dont get one. I dont like green rain jackets - but I cant do anything other than not look at them when I see one.
Throw up a picture of the cross ice man - if you fancy it.
Quote from: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 03:06:10 AM
Tattoos make some people feel better about themselves. Some people like them. Some dont. If you dont like them, dont get one. I dont like green rain jackets - but I cant do anything other than not look at them when I see one.
Throw up a picture of the cross ice man - if you fancy it.
Oh excuse me Mr.All American doesn't like green rain jackets ::)...What the hell is wrong with green rain jackets ???
Tut Tut *shakes head* what have they done to you over there Puck..You use to be just like us now you won't even wear a green rain jacket,All that Reno sun is affecting you,it really is so so sad
Metinks LL has lost the plot!!
Anyway there is a Tattoo Convention on this weekend in dublin if anyone is thinking of getting inked up
http://www.dublintattooconvention.com/
Why would you let anybody but a registered medical practitioner stick needles in you? Even then, you'd only undergo it for positive health reasons. Having yourself perforated for fun doesn't make sense to me. Leave aside that the needles contain ink, presumably of indeterminate source and that the operation takes place in a room with no supervised hygiene standards, no certified standards of sterilisation and no guarantee of how and on whom the needles have been used before. And all this so that you can emulate the style sense of a moron on a motorbike with high handlebars and spend the rest of your life branded like a calf.
I have a Celtic armband on my right Bicep. I wanted to get one for about 2/3 years before I got it done but waited as I wanted to be totally sure it was not a phase and that it was the right thing to do. Its about 2 inchs thick and goes the whole way around with the 2 ends meeting on the inside. Its not one of those thin tattoos made up of knotwork only. It was specially designed by the Artist (who I knew fairly well) for me after I gave him a rough description of what I wanted. It contains images inspired by the book of Kells of 2 Irish wolfhounds clashing with an outline of intricate celtic Tara design. With a dark border and shading throughout. It is black ink only. I have it about 6 years now and not for one single moment have I regretted it. If anything I love it more now than at the beginning. I dont see it as a fashion acessory but as an extension of my celtic identity.
My advice would be to
1 - make sure you def want one before you do anything. If you have been waiting for a couple of years and still want it your probably always gonna want one.
2 - Get it somewhere that can be covered easily if necessary eg. job interview, strict club, meeting in-laws for first time. This basically rules out anything below elbow or the neck up.
3 - Dont get heaps of colours in your tattoo as they end up looking like the ones kids get in sweats and you may end up looking like a loyalist.. Stick to black ink and shading these always look the best and come up much better.
4 - Make sure you get something that means something to you, definately not a cartoon or a slogan. If your getting it for fashion Id say forget about it, and remember fashion changes all the time.
5 - Get something original, dont pick an image from the artists catalogue as you could end up sitting beside someone in a bar with the same. Look through the catalogue for Ideas then Give the artist a rough idea of what you want and he should be able to do up something for you (if he cant do this hes not much of an artist and avoid him like the plague). Take any paper copies with you when your done so as it doesnt get added to the catalogue.
6 - Get a good artist. This is very important. I have seen some absolute crap work that has ruined some potentially great designs. If you have any friends who have tattoos have a look at them and see what sort of quality they are. Are they faded much? are the lines clear? Is the work Tidy?,
agree with what was said re getting it in a discreet place. do NOT get one your fore-arm, unless your a spide. same goes for those tattoos fellas get round their bicep, looks crap. mine is on my back jus below my neck, reasonable place to have it as i can cover it up or flaunt it easily.
Sorry, but I do find the suggestion funny that there's a social hierarchy in tattoo world and your social standing therein is determined by the location of your tattoo.
good for you
There's nothing original about any tattoo. They look cheap and common on either fellas & girls and will look increasingly so the older you get. Just like gold chains & earrings, the lower down the social chain you are the more tattoos you should have if my observations are any indicator.
Quote from: Over the Bar on November 06, 2008, 12:40:52 PM
There's nothing original about any tattoo. They look cheap and common on either fellas & girls and will look increasingly so the older you get. Just like gold chains & earrings, the lower down the social chain you are the more tattoos you should have if my observations are any indicator.
are gold chains not only chav like if they are worn out over the top of t shirts, jumpers etc
Been tempted to get a Celtic Cross for the last number of years. Just don't think I could stick the pain.
i have two tattoos and i think they are fine on men & women. Think long and hard about it and def get it somewhere you can cover up. I dont like them on a woman's upper arm or anything like that, they are terrible. i have a small star on my inside wrist and the gaa symbol on my lower back. They werent that sore atall.
Quote from: miss mess on November 06, 2008, 02:21:12 PM
i have two tattoos and i think they are fine on men & women. Think long and hard about it and def get it somewhere you can cover up. I dont like them on a woman's upper arm or anything like that, they are terrible. i have a small star on my inside wrist and the gaa symbol on my lower back. They werent that sore atall.
If it's the old one it's gonna cost a pretty penny to get it removed and replaced with the new one, note to young ones everywhere...
its the old one. i have no intention of getting it removed. i thought long & hard about getting it done and i love it.
Do those blaster yokes they use to remove scribbles and drawings from public buildings work with personal graffiti?
Quote from: Hardy on November 06, 2008, 12:17:02 PM
Why would you let anybody but a registered medical practitioner stick needles in you? Even then, you'd only undergo it for positive health reasons. Having yourself perforated for fun doesn't make sense to me. Leave aside that the needles contain ink, presumably of indeterminate source and that the operation takes place in a room with no supervised hygiene standards, no certified standards of sterilisation and no guarantee of how and on whom the needles have been used before. And all this so that you can emulate the style sense of a moron on a motorbike with high handlebars and spend the rest of your life branded like a calf.
Hardy, Ill not presume that you either have or have not been in a tattoo parlour. As someone whose job ( :D ) required alot of time in sterile environments, I must say that the sterilization in every tattoo parlour I have ever entered has been fantastic. Needles are opened brand new in front of you, from sterile packets and when your work is finished - the needles are (and should be if they arent) broken in front of you before entering the sharps box. Everything is sterilized with 75% ethanol- including the tattoo guns, the sterile latex gloves used by the artist, and the cling wrap that is laid over the chair/bed.
Im not sure about home right now - but this town sustains 15 tattoo parlours that I know of, and probably more. It is a livlihood and a culture. Under no circumstances are these places run by cowboys looking to make a quick buck. One only has to look at the success of the reality tv shows Miami Ink and LA Ink to see what tattoos mean to the people who get them.
My first tattoo was one of those bad mistakes people make, however I now love it, and wouldnt change it for the world, as it reminds me of being 17, carefree and foolish. My carefree and foolishness didnt cause me to steal a car with a bunch of glued up mates and ruin someones live. I just got a feckin tattoo - and sure wasnt it a fine release that did no harm to anyone.
Tattoos are no longer exclusive to the "dregs" of society as once they were.
I find them to be a healthy way for people to express themselves quietly, and personally and without any insult to others.
Regarding removal - its a painful, expensive proceedure, red hot lasers break up the ink (depending on the colours - this can take a long time) which then enter the lymphatic system and drain away. It may take over 10 sittings to remove a small coke can size design.
OTB - Saying there is nothing original about any tattoo is like saying the Mona Lisa isnt original just incase someone else drew a picture of a woman before Leonardi did.
There are many generic tattoos and designs - but each one in generally original to the artist and the person who is getting the work done.
I dont mean to insult either you are hardy - but you boys must be as old as my dad ;)
No problem Puck. Only giving you my opinion. And I probably am as old as your Dad. I'm glad the tattoo parlours you know about are clean and well run. I still wouldn't let anyone stick a needle in me who wasn't medically qualified. And I don't think the equivalent of the AMA exists in tattoo world to ensure that (practically) all tattoo places are properly sterile, etc.
Anyway, that's not the point. I just don't understand why an intelligent person like yourself wants to inflict personal graffiti (I liked that so much I had to use it again), however "artistic", on themselves. It just seems like an odd form of self expression to me, especially when you can't be sure that what it's expressing is what you'll want to express in twenty years' time, but you'll have to continue expressing it, whether you like it or not. But it's harmless, it doesn't disrespect anybody and it's a free country. Some might say posting on an internet discussion board is also an odd form of self expression.
Ive thought about that yeah. I decided before I did anything that was visible to the public eye that if in twenty years time all I have to regret (which Im sure I wont) are a few markings here and there, Ill be very happy with my lot.
Sure didnt Christy Moore do the whole graffiti'd tounge thing. He must be mad.
(http://lh5.ggpht.com/_6Ny4_EnZRhg/SRMSGW_ULKI/AAAAAAAAAHA/ZIrswoeDFQo/s576/fullback1.JPG)
I just got it done less than a week ago so its still red around the edges and the ink is darker than the crucifix - but it will blend in soon.
how much did all that cost?
Got the crucifix done in Lurgan - it was 75 sterling
The bible verse was $200 in New Jersey USA
I lke it iceman - The cross is a great turn on a popular theme. Something different.
Quote from: The Iceman on November 06, 2008, 03:59:13 PM
Got the crucifix done in Lurgan - it was 75 sterling
The bible verse was $200 in New Jersey USA
You think Youd spend an extra tenner and get that tuft of hair at the top of your back waxed :D lol
would imagine its a bit of a nightmare for sleeping lad especially that bit over the spine. I always thought the itch was worse than the pain.
Your starting to get a hairy back,be carefull........
For some reason I have a tuft of hair there and a few stragglers on the shoulders - I think as the hair falls out of my head it lands there LOL
These things happen when you get older boys - ah well
Quote from: The Iceman on November 06, 2008, 04:10:32 PM
For some reason I have a tuft of hair there and a few stragglers on the shoulders - I think as the hair falls out of my head it lands there LOL
These things happen when you get older boys - ah well
NOT A WORD!! Do you hear me billy or exile... not a word!! :P
For tattoos Australia is the place to be. Everyone seems to have them.
Anyone see Stephen Ireland's tattoo, now that is some tattoo.
Quote from: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 04:04:38 PM
I lke it iceman - The cross is a great turn on a popular theme. Something different.
Yeah i really like the cross as well when you said you had a crossss earlier on in the post iceman i was thinking your typical celtic cross
Quote from: Canalman on November 06, 2008, 04:17:23 PM
For tattoos Australia is the place to be. Everyone seems to have them.
Anyone see Stephen Ireland's tattoo, now that is some tattoo.
does he have angels wings or something like that
(http://i234.photobucket.com/albums/ee316/bizzle83_bucket/406350958-soccer-uefa-cup-first-rou.jpg)
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on November 06, 2008, 04:38:15 PM
(http://i234.photobucket.com/albums/ee316/bizzle83_bucket/406350958-soccer-uefa-cup-first-rou.jpg)
Thats about 2 grand right there
Fair play - 4 sittings I would say and a LOT of pain!
Almost as bad as this guy
(http://www.crimerant.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/11/curtis.jpg)
who suffers from unfair stereotyping
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on November 06, 2008, 04:38:15 PM
don't know about that one he looks more like a pheasant
Did anyone listen to the 2fm afternoon show today-total rip off of this thread-could hardly believe it.
They were discussin whether tats were nice.
Own up-who works on the show and was stuck for ideas.
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 06, 2007, 10:46:26 AM
Thanks for all the advice apart from Full Back and his Debbie Mcgee suggestion :D I actually think Full Back has a obsession with Debbie now!!
Anyways i have been thinking of getting one for a long time and am not going to rush into anything,It will be well hidden on my shoulder.I think people don't realise it can be a very personal thing to get a Tattoo but there is a stereotypical view of people who have them that their all scumbags in some way.I do agree some tattoos look awful but as some have posted these are the ones that are in your face all the time
Here's one you I'm sure you would have no problem wearing with pride on your shoulder LL!
(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/174/420791357_3f2db49a7a.jpg?v=0)
Can you 2 keep your bickering to PM's?
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 06, 2008, 06:30:57 PM
its no bickering the man is proud of his british heritage and the picture would be perfect for when he is in the pub watching his british soccer team or incase he wants to play rugby league for Britain or something!
i'm more like a friendly neighbour helping him out ;)
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 06, 2008, 06:30:57 PM
First off...Bickering :D Who the f**k says Bickering :D
Second...Im not "bickering" with anyone Tankie just loves to try and get a rise from me but as so far failed in every attempt!
As for the banner Tankie..I reckon the whole thing would be a bit big for my shoulder but I would consider getting Shankly is God as a tattoo thanks for the suggestion
That Final was a great match,though as I wasn't born I have only seen it on video.
We won 3-0 with King Kev scoring twice and with Irish man and actually a Dubliner just like you Tankie,Steve Heighway scoring the other goal.. :)
hey deel rover - how many tattoos does ciaran mc have?
from reading your post there's defintely no chance of him playing again??
Cisse got the Liverpool crest tattooed on his calf when they signed him. He used to go over and show it to the fans before/after games.
Lesson:
It's OK to make a dick of yourself when you're on the wages of a professional footballer and can afford several grand to get the tats removed without deep scarring or cancer inducing treatment. For the rest of you its a lifetime of regret.
Quote from: Over the Bar on November 15, 2008, 09:47:18 PM
Cisse got the Liverpool crest tattooed on his calf when they signed him. He used to go over and show it to the fans before/after games.
Lesson:
It's OK to make a dick of yourself when you're on the wages of a professional footballer and can afford several grand to get the tats removed without deep scarring or cancer inducing treatment. For the rest of you its a lifetime of regret. In my opinion
Just edited that for you, you can thank me later.
I was sittin in the chair yesterday for a couple hours, and saw this hanging on the wall - so I wrote it down.
Some of you might appreciate it. On the other hand, im sure some will dismiss it as bullshit.
One of the most common misconceptions
regarding tattoos is that they are simple
adornment, like a piece of jewelry or an
article of clothing. This is one of the
reasons that people look down on them;
the unenlightened think that the work
was slapped on us as an afterthought.
Those of us with ink in our skin
know otherwise.
Tattoos are the secret language of our
souls and each piece conveys
intimate information about the owner.
Whether we are declaring a spiritual
belief, our love for a certain person,
place or thing, or just showing the
world that we're not going to live by
the rules, tattoos communicate our
innermost selves to the rest of the planet.
Anyone get a tattoo lazered off? it is sore man. I had a tatoo lasered off my arm a few years ago-won't say what it was but was far sorer than getting it put on. Could smell the burning flesh-zap-zap
My wife has been getting one taken off for a while now (although I think shes given up)
The lazer process (over here at least) takes a number of settings where the lazer (different lazers for different ink pigment particle sizes) breaks up the ink under the skin and then it gets carried away by the lympatic system.
She said it was horrendously sore, worse than any tattoo she got. She even used a local anastetic cream before hand, but it helped very little.
You got yours taken off in one go? You musta had it burned off.
(http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a28/opal4irene/work%20stuff/laserpictures030.jpg)
Id rather keep it, but the moral of the story is dont get stupid tattoos.
Aye it was a stupid tatoo alright and was same method as MRS Puckoon. On my forearm and had ten or so treatments. Was worth it though to get rid of the bloody thing. Never returned to same colur as rest of skin... is a bit whiteish but do rightly...
Quote from: Puckoon on February 27, 2009, 12:10:47 AM
I was sittin in the chair yesterday for a couple hours, and saw this hanging on the wall - so I wrote it down.
Some of you might appreciate it. On the other hand, im sure some will dismiss it as bullshit.
One of the most common misconceptions
regarding tattoos is that they are simple
adornment, like a piece of jewelry or an
article of clothing. This is one of the
reasons that people look down on them;
the unenlightened think that the work
was slapped on us as an afterthought.
Those of us with ink in our skin
know otherwise.
Tattoos are the secret language of our
souls and each piece conveys
intimate information about the owner.
Whether we are declaring a spiritual
belief, our love for a certain person,
place or thing, or just showing the
world that we're not going to live by
the rules, tattoos communicate our
innermost selves to the rest of the planet.
in other words an alternative to a personality
If you're deep enough with a response like that, surely you can delve a little deeper and tell us what is a personality?
An alternative to a personality indeed.
Ros must be covered in tattoos!
heading to get some more work done tomorrow
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on February 27, 2009, 03:17:54 PM
heading to get some more work done tomorrow
Now Rafa is staying...
:D - nothing to do with Rafa :D
Im all for ink - but this is crazy..
From BBC.
US couple 'tattooed their children with guitar string'
Tattooing children under 18 is a crime under Georgia state law
A man and woman in the US state of Georgia are facing child cruelty charges after using a homemade device to tattoo six of their children.
Patty "Jo Jo" Marsh and Jacob Edward Bartels allegedly used a plastic pen fitted with a piece of guitar string to mark the children, aged 10 to 17.
Unlicensed tattooists and the tattooing of minors are illegal in Georgia.
Ms Marsh told local media she had not done anything wrong and that the children had asked for the tattoos.
"I'm not breaking the skin. It's going to fade away, it's like a pen mark," she told reporters.
The children were marked with small black crosses on the skin between their thumb and index finger. One was also tattooed with the words "Mama & Dad".
Chattooga County Sheriff John Everett said the couple had been reported by the biological mother of some of the children, who noticed the ink marks could not be wiped off.
"We've never seen anything, or heard of anything like this, in the surrounding counties, or anywhere," he told the WHEC news website, adding that police believe the same improvised needle was used for all the children.
Mr Bartels and Ms Marsh were released on bail by police, but Ms Marsh said she could not understand the public's reaction.
"I love my children, we'd never do anything to harm our kids," WHEC quoted her as saying.
Quote from: Puckoon on January 05, 2010, 01:15:39 AM
Im all for ink - but this is crazy..
From BBC.
US couple 'tattooed their children with guitar string'
Tattooing children under 18 is a crime under Georgia state law
A man and woman in the US state of Georgia are facing child cruelty charges after using a homemade device to tattoo six of their children.
Patty "Jo Jo" Marsh and Jacob Edward Bartels allegedly used a plastic pen fitted with a piece of guitar string to mark the children, aged 10 to 17.
Unlicensed tattooists and the tattooing of minors are illegal in Georgia.
Ms Marsh told local media she had not done anything wrong and that the children had asked for the tattoos.
"I'm not breaking the skin. It's going to fade away, it's like a pen mark," she told reporters.
The children were marked with small black crosses on the skin between their thumb and index finger. One was also tattooed with the words "Mama & Dad".
Chattooga County Sheriff John Everett said the couple had been reported by the biological mother of some of the children, who noticed the ink marks could not be wiped off.
"We've never seen anything, or heard of anything like this, in the surrounding counties, or anywhere," he told the WHEC news website, adding that police believe the same improvised needle was used for all the children.
Mr Bartels and Ms Marsh were released on bail by police, but Ms Marsh said she could not understand the public's reaction.
"I love my children, we'd never do anything to harm our kids," WHEC quoted her as saying.
File photo of Mr Bartels and Ms Marsh...
(http://swongled.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/rednecks.jpg)
Bloody rednecks
http://www.flickr.com/photos/matthewg15/sets/72157623193844296/
What do ye reckon of my latest work?
tattoos-love them
have two myself!
got my first one at 16 and my 2nd at 18
both of them i got because they symbolise things that mean the absolute world to me, been planning my third for a while now!
when you're gettin a tattoo, the thing you have to think about is who you're getting it for, for you? or for other people to see?
mine are both in places where no one can see, unless i want to show them.
thats why the 3rd is taking so long to get, just finding a suitable place to put it!
my granny and granda got their first tattoos at 60, two years later on, nanny has 3!
I hate tattoos, they call ones that have tattoos on their backs tr**p stamps.
No harm to you, but tattoos on elderly people are hard to look at.
they're fresh done like, they look as well as anybody elses, rather get it done when you're all old and wrinkley than have it go all wrinkley as you get older!
nothin for them to loose gettin them done at that age, not as if they've to cover them over for work or anything!lol
seen a girl with either a pink panther or a tigger, couldn't make it out, on her boob, was near sick! hate them tr**p stamps too.
hardstation; they don't say anythin! nannys got a celtic band and a rose and granda got a tiger, hearly the whole length of his upper arm! the boyfriend calls him bobby george!lol
seen a girl with either a pink panther or a tigger, couldn't make it out, on her boob, was near sick! hate them tr**p stamps too.
Went to New Orleans for Mardi Gras, stepped into this bar that had topless women, lathered in oil, wrestling. Cost 10 to get into, seen the first "lady" with a tatoo of a snake on her boob and the head biting her nipple. The other lady had tatoos covering her mid section and most of her back. Turned around asked for my ten and said "see ya'll later".
Quote from: takeyourownpath on January 16, 2010, 10:54:44 PM
when you're gettin a tattoo ... you have to think
Surely some mistake?
It was a bit below the belt OK. Which is probably the best place to tattoo too.
trying to figure out a tattoo for the new baby daughter that blends in with the rest of my arm tattoo
also working on a sleeve of the death scene of cuchulain
I know you're taking the piss but does anyone know whether it is illegal to tattoo your kids?
Quote from: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 05:03:53 PM
I know you're taking the piss but does anyone know whether it is illegal to tattoo your kids?
I believe he meant he's getting a tattoo of his daughter on himself
correcto
I want to get a tattoo for my daughter on my arm
already have on for my marriage and for my son
trying to figure out something that will blend in
Puck has some great daughter tattoos have to say
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 19, 2010, 05:25:55 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 05:03:53 PM
I believe he meant he's getting a tattoo of his daughter on himself
Ahhh ...
What will you do if the wife divorces you and the kids end up hating you for some reason?
I presume there's a tattoo for that?
A good tattoo artist can cover up pretty much any tattoo
I have fighting Irish tattoo along with the name of our parish underneath it.
Handy for getting a taxi home when your steaming.... :D :D
Real Laoislad, watch out for stray apostrophes!
Quote from: Dakota on January 19, 2010, 05:48:22 PM
What will you do if the wife divorces you and the kids end up hating you for some reason?
My kids can hate me as much as they want - they could disown me and it wouldn't stop me being their da or from loving them
Quote from: Dakota on January 19, 2010, 05:48:22 PM
What an (excuse me pangurban) retarded question.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VWNtQYss6go (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VWNtQYss6go)
What a dumb broad.
he should have hit her with the gun and no ink first - my God whats wrong with the woman
Puck any pics of your finished sleeve?
One touch up session left Iceman and hopefully that should be it done. I'll put a few up on FB when it's in its entirety. There is a lot going on in it - but I will be glad to have it finished. It is easy to get fed up with the healing process every couple weeks - not to mention the expense.
Any good sites for tatoo designs? Ones that you can actually make out what the picture is?
Quote from: lurganblue on October 04, 2010, 06:09:56 PM
Any good sites for tatoo designs? Ones that you can actually make out what the picture is?
That question is a bit like getting on the internet with no idea of what you want to do on it.
What kind of designs do you like? Traditional, Japanese, Tribal, Celtic, Graffiti'd, Colour, Portrait, Black and Grey?
Whatever kind you like just search for it on google.
Better bet is to find an artist who's style you like and look through their portfolios.
Thinking of a cross on my arm but havent seen anything that's right just yet. Possibly Celtic. Any recommended artists?
There aren't too many decent ones about Ireland mate in fairness. Mostly guys who just put stencils on you and tattoo over that.
That guy in Lurgan has good enough reports and isn't too rough. Its all about what you want - best to come up with a design or work with an artist for a design and then get that tattooed...... rather than relying on someone who isnt necessarily "an artist" to come up with someone.....
We accommodate an amazing range on gaaboard.com
Warning! Are you permanently damaging your skin? (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=17571.0)
I've a couple. Same as whoever said it a few pages back, I only have them where they cant be seen. Ye would never know I had them unless I wanted you to see them. Thats whats its about really, if ye wana get one, then it has to be for you, not so people can see them.
Thanks for that
Quote from: lurganblue on October 04, 2010, 08:33:35 PM
Thinking of a cross on my arm but havent seen anything that's right just yet. Possibly Celtic. Any recommended artists?
Clans crest? :P Try Newry ink on facebook for some ideas. I'm think of getting another. base of my back probably.
Na lad don't fancy the clans crest. I've had a wee look at newry ink on facebook. Some good stuff. Who do you go to?
Him in Union St. Think he done the Clans crests them others have cos saw them in his portfolio.
Went to pick Junior up today after work and her grandma informed me she'd dilligently spent half an hour colouring her arm in this morning. "Just like daddy". ;D
Quote from: fitzroyalty on October 04, 2010, 11:33:12 PM
Him in Union St. Think he done the Clans crests them others have cos saw them in his portfolio.
Keith Girvan is his name and incase you guys don't know him he done time for being a member of the UDA so i wouldn't exactly trust him with anything republican or you could end up with a Union Jack on your back :D :D
Tattoo's are well and good at the time but after a few years majority of people regret having them done espicially as the coloured ones start to fade. Lurgan blue you could get one done on that snozzle of yours and he'd probably run out of ink :D
Quote from: lolafrola on October 05, 2010, 09:45:38 AM
Keith Girvan is his name and incase you guys don't know him he done time for being a member of the UDA so i wouldn't exactly trust him with anything republican or you could end up with a Union Jack on your back :D :D
Tattoo's are well and good at the time but after a few years majority of people regret having them done espicially as the coloured ones start to fade. Lurgan blue you could get one done on that snozzle of yours and he'd probably run out of ink :D
This kind of nonsense that gets trotted out with little or no substance to it gets my goat.
Anyone who is serious about getting tattooed should do a little research - and you'd realise that this kind of speak is just bullshit.
Well Puck i didn't go and do a public survey but anyone i know with tattoo's regret having them done, that is their words not made up ones from myself
Quote from: Puckoon on October 05, 2010, 04:49:48 PM
Quote from: lolafrola on October 05, 2010, 09:45:38 AM
This kind of nonsense that gets trotted out with little or no substance to it gets my goat.
Anyone who is serious about getting tattooed should do a little research - and you'd realise that this kind of speak is just bullshit.
aye i agree with puck here i don't regret mine and i have them over 10 years thinking of getting another one soon
Quote from: lolafrola on October 05, 2010, 05:00:52 PM
Well Puck i didn't go and do a public survey but anyone i know with tattoo's regret having them done, that is their words not made up ones from myself
Lo Lo Lo Lo Lola - :)
They're all idiots then who went and got ink in their skin just to be cool - with little or no thought to the consequence, or why they were actually doing it. I am not going to argue that there are not bad tattoos, bad artists, badly run shops and poor quality ink. If you're going to do something permanent like that - do it right as you only get one shot at it. A little research goes a long way.
I've had about 33 hours of work done since I started - colours are as bright as they were 15 years ago, lines are as clear and perfect as they were when they were done. I wear sunblock on any and all that are exposed to the sunshine, my artists use top quality inks (which are evolving yearly in quality) - and I've no regrets. There are good tattoo decisions and there are bad tattoo decisions. It's not hard to make good choices. Just perhaps a little more expensive and less impulsive.
Easy you Lola. That conk is a feature ;)
I take it you got yours done in America puck?
I'm not a big fan of tattoos but have seen some that look well. One of my friends is looking to get a tattoo done on her fingers.. now that, to me, is just tacky.. really can't see the appeal!
Scenario #1
I get a tattoo on my face that would scare the bejayus out of children or grannys. Then, while in a restaurant I'm evicted because my tattoo is making other customers feel uneasy and spoiling the experience which they are paying for. Am I being discriminated against by the restaurant? Or should the other diners just get over my scarey tattoo? Do the rights of one person override the rights of the majority?
Scenario #2
Those of you who have met me, know that I'm one ugly fecker. And I've had to live with that ever since the midwife smacked me for looking at her. Being buck ugky is why I've so many posts on a faceless anonymous message board. But anyway, I'm out having a meal, and my ugly face is upsetting other diners. So the restaurant asks me to leave. Am I being discriminated against? What about the rights of the other diners to enjoy their meal? Do the rights of one person override the rights of the majority?
Quote from: Orior on January 31, 2013, 12:05:21 AM
Scenario #1
I get a tattoo on my face that would scare the bejayus out of children or grannys. Then, while in a restaurant I'm evicted because my tattoo is making other customers feel uneasy and spoiling the experience which they are paying for. Am I being discriminated against by the restaurant? Or should the other diners just get over my scarey tattoo? Do the rights of one person override the rights of the majority?
Scenario #2
Those of you who have met me, know that I'm one ugly fecker. And I've had to live with that ever since the midwife smacked me for looking at her. Being buck ugky is why I've so many posts on a faceless anonymous message board. But anyway, I'm out having a meal, and my ugly face is upsetting other diners. So the restaurant asks me to leave. Am I being discriminated against? What about the rights of the other diners to enjoy their meal? Do the rights of one person override the rights of the majority?
Solution to both scenarios:
Cooking lessons.
(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_y0tq-wRPOHE/TLJOEDWYVbI/AAAAAAAAALs/9jKzlAQEcP0/s1600/leeds+fan.JPG)
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2013/01/28/article-0-1732D878000005DC-342_468x329.jpg)
Works in a bank.
Orior - by posturing two scenarios, I think you might know you've got a beaten docket on your hands but what the hell, I'm on overtime.
QuoteAm I being discriminated against by the restaurant?
Absolutely. They'd get torn apart if it went to the courts.
QuoteDo the rights of one person override the rights of the majority?
Poorly worded. If the customer with the tattoo is declined service for that reason alone it is an infringment of their right to not be discriminated against. The "
rights of the majority" are not being interfered with should the customer with the tattoo be served. Their experience might be somewhat diminished (if they are morons), but that is no more a right they hold, than demanding that no one but the head chef cook their meal in it's entirety, or that the owner of the house themselves wait on their table in a tutu. So yes, the rights of one person should most definitely over-ride the cosmetic preferences of the majority.
Mid Louth - were you not taught that it's rude to stare? ;) In seriousness however, it isn't okay to roar across a restauraunt, and in my short few years on this earth I have seen plenty of bad manners in the food service industry. I haven't as yet seen any evidence to correlate bad manners with being tattooed.
What about dogs? Are you within your rights to object to a dog in a restaurant?
Quote from: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 10:25:00 AM
You can choose something else from the menu.
I think you are within your rights to object to anything, including dogs, tattooed folks, amputees, very tall folks, very short folks, women with too much or too little clothing on. Are dogs tucking into Chicken Maryland in staggering proportions in Meed?
Tattoo's what?
my favourite
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YJVdnMAGIt8
The Germans take their dogs everywhere. When I was in Berlin I was surprsied to see these boys sitting in pubs, restaurants and coffee shops with their alsations, etc at their feet.
Quote from: Puckoon on January 31, 2013, 04:45:52 PM
I think you are within your rights to object to anything, including dogs, tattooed folks, amputees, very tall folks, very short folks, women with too much or too little clothing on. Are dogs tucking into Chicken Maryland in staggering proportions in Meed?
I was asking in general, not about me. But why would anyone want to object to amputees, very tall folks, very short folks, women with too much or especially with too little clothing on? Or even tattooed folks?
I think that it's a combination of increasing levels of lifestyle variety in society and the fact that people as a whole are developing an ever increasing level of false entitlement and to hell with everyone else.
I too was talking in general, and not about you.
Evil Genius has been found, safe and well.
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/408562_151608414991562_1175614286_n.jpg)