Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on June 29, 2007, 03:38:57 PM

Title: Protestant United Irish Men oppose British Royal Visit to Dublin
Post by: T Fearon on June 29, 2007, 03:38:57 PM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/letters/article2721138.ece

John Robb is an eminent surgeon from the protestant community in the 6 counties who has devoted his life to the cause of a New United Ireland. To my mind he is ten times a better Irishman than gutless toadies like Ahern,Kenny, Mc Didntdowell, Rabbitte etc,and numerous others in Kildare Street, Dublin, will ever be >:(
Title: Re: Protestant United Irish Men oppose British Royal Visit to Dublin
Post by: Donagh on June 29, 2007, 03:44:40 PM
Ach Tone, I thought you were going to start a thread on Edward Fitzgerald, Neilson, Russell or McCracken.  :(
Post by: upthedubs on June 29, 2007, 03:47:41 PM
as a citizen of the republic i would welcome her. it would be nice to show that we have moved on from the past. i see no reason why she should not visit.
Post by: T Fearon on June 29, 2007, 03:51:13 PM
Donagh, I am only interested in contemporary stuff. ;D

However John Robb is on a par with any of the aforementioned. He never ceases to promote the cause. I remember when my brother as a young Medical Student in the early 80s, trained for a while at the Route Hospital. John Robb gave him and his fellow students a book on his vision for a New Ireland free from British interference etc. Although my brother was about the most apolitical person you could have met,it speaks volumes for Robb's enthusiasm and tireless promotion of his cherished ideals
Post by: T Fearon on June 29, 2007, 05:07:11 PM
Fishhead, if any of your so called Irishmen had been half as proactive in their pursuit of a United Ireland as John Robb has been all his life (in spite of leading a busy professional life as a Surgeon as well) then they would earn commendation from me. As Sinn Fein used to say of Charles Haughey, they are big on verbal republicanism but short on action.

Sadly we are all too aware up here in the North that those in the 26 counties worship money, wealth and status way ahead of their national geographical and political territory. They are content to allow the involvement of a vile alien and corrupt foreign power, responsible for the deaths of thousadns of innocents in Iraq (not too mention Ireland over centuries)  to have control over part of their national territory without so much as a whimper.
Post by: ziggysego on June 29, 2007, 05:36:13 PM
I don't have a problem with Lizzy visiting the south. By all means visit.

Why not conside it with the Love Ulster parade? What would be better than them useless tossers protesting about what a dark house the South is for protestant, whilst on the same day the British Queen receives a warm welcome. :)
Post by: T Fearon on June 29, 2007, 06:45:36 PM
Ziggy for the offence this visit would give to true Republicans (in other words all true Irishmen and women) as articulated so well in this letter, allied to the sectarian nature of the English Throne, a visit to Dublin should be totally out of the question, far less welcomed, in my opinion
Post by: ziggysego on June 29, 2007, 07:23:53 PM
I understand your views and respect them Tony. I have no love for the British Queen and if and when she does come to Ireland, I won't be one of the ones that comes out to see her. She came to Omagh and I was nowhere to be seen that day. I have no respect for the monarchy and all its represents. In that sense, you can tell me a Republican. In fact, I believe SammyG is a Republican too ;)

That all said and done, I believe that we as a nation should be looking forward and not back to past hurts and pains. We can all laugh at Love Ulster and their pathetic attempts to stirr up trouble with their parading in Dublin. We all laughed at RSF's protests at Croke Park when England came to play Ireland and left with their tails between their legs. We all laughed, particularly, at the fool in the Celtic top! ;)

So I say, when the Love Ulster parade comes to Dublin to "highlight" how intolerant a Catholic country is to its Protestant citizens and neighbours, else invite the British Queen over for tea in Phoenix Park and a tour of the Dail. That would piss off Willie "Can't get elected" Frazier more that anything.

I just won't be there.
Post by: Rossfan on June 29, 2007, 08:08:22 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 29, 2007, 07:23:53 PM

I just won't be there.

Neither will I.
I will go about my normal business and totally ignore that type of nonsense.
Post by: stew on June 29, 2007, 10:43:33 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on June 29, 2007, 10:31:47 PM
T.FERON despite your lack of knoweledge of the Southern mind, we are obviouly fearfull of a similar disaster put on West Germany by having to accomodate East Germany, we are ALL REPUBLICANS, but your defination SCARES THE SHIT OUT OF US, we donn't want a right wing Catholic Regeime, or a left wing Communist Republic, we want our Country, to be honest if you want to join we REFUSE TO CHANGE, all you Republicans camn down, all you Unionists cop the f**k on.

Why should we change, we have a great fucken Country. You all become like us or Im not interested.This is MY COUNTRY, & I AM PROUD OF IT.

You all become like us????? You talk about Bush, Jews and Muslims and them you claim you want us all to be like you??? what does that even mean? can I take it you and Kerry MIke or AZ etc are all feckin clones.

Let me tell you someting fishstick sam, you are scary and I for one want no part of anything you are associated with after that tirade, that was quite possibly the worst post ever on this board.
Post by: Donagh on June 30, 2007, 12:48:38 AM
          What have you got in your hand?
                  A green bough.
           Where did it first grow?
                   In America.
            Where did it bud?
                   In France.
           Where are you going to plant it?
              In the crown of Great Britain.

Liberté, égalité, fraternité
Post by: T Fearon on June 30, 2007, 11:21:49 AM
Fishead Sam you are truly a p***k. If you think an eminent surgeon like John Robb's view of Republicanism equates to anything remotely like Sinn Fein's then you truly are a twat of the first degree.

The British monarchy is the epitome of class privilege and sectariansim  and therefore should offend all true Republicans, Irish, or otherwise.
Post by: Tankie on June 30, 2007, 12:46:53 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 29, 2007, 05:07:11 PM

Sadly we are all too aware up here in the North that those in the 26 counties worship money, wealth and status way ahead of their national geographical and political territory. They are content to allow the involvement of a vile alien and corrupt foreign power, responsible for the deaths of thousadns of innocents in Iraq (not too mention Ireland over centuries)  to have control over part of their national territory without so much as a whimper.

Thats a bit of a bullshit statment, are u saying you lads up there would give up your cash and live in a dump just so you can have a united Ireland? 
Post by: magickingdom on June 30, 2007, 01:20:45 PM
any particular reason you had to bring his religion into it tony? i've always liked john robb but i think he called it wrong on this issue..
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 30, 2007, 01:25:52 PM
Fishhead sam, what sort of ranting is that?
Are you right in the head?
Post by: GweylTah on June 30, 2007, 01:38:19 PM
The Norwegian King and Queen paid a state visit to the Republic of Ireland last year.  That Royal Family has almost exactly the same constitutional role in Norway that Queen Elizabeth and the British Royal Family has in the UK.

Of course she should visit the Irish Republic as soon as she and the Republic's Head of State and the two governments feel it appropriate.

Progress must not be held back by extremists on either side, or irrelevancies like John Robb who's being pedalling pointless fringe ideas for years.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 30, 2007, 01:39:26 PM
Me thinks Fisheadsam was on the jungle juice last night...!  :D
Post by: Evil Genius on June 30, 2007, 01:54:49 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 29, 2007, 06:45:36 PM
true Republicans (in other words all true Irishmen and women)

Well, well, well. You know, I was going to fire off a post highlighting the bigotry inherent in this statement of Fearon's (i.e. I can't be a 'true Irishman', despite having been born and brought up in Ireland, to Irish parents, grandparents, ancestors etc going back centuries, simply because I don't hold to the "approved" doctrine)

Then I read through the rest of this thread. And if the fighting, sleighting and backbiting between the various "true" Irish factions, North and South, is anything to go by, I think I'd rather be a Palestinian or something! :D

United Ireland my hole  ::)

P.S. I've no doubt Prof. Robb is an entirely decent and principled man. Therefore I'm sure he'd be as horrified by the thought that his fellow Irishmen and women must hold to the orthodoxy demanded by the likes of Fearon, as he must be disappointed by his utter failure to persuade more than a handful of his fellow countrymen to abandon their Unionism and espouse the Republican cause.

P.P.S. Whatever the rights and wrongs of the Queen's position etc, I am both pleased and impressed that the majority of citizens of the Irish Republic appear to take a tolerant and mature approach to her proposed visit, especially since that doubtless means that they can no longer call themselves "true" Irishmen and women for thinking that way...
Post by: Evil Genius on June 30, 2007, 02:00:46 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 30, 2007, 12:48:38 AM
                  A green bough.
           Where did it first grow?
                   In America.
            Where did it bud?
                   In France.
              In the crown of Great Britain.

My penis.
When did it first grow?
When I was fourteen
Where did it bud?
In my bedroom, with the lights out
Eh? I've only ever held it in my hand...
Post by: Donagh on June 30, 2007, 03:31:24 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 30, 2007, 02:00:46 PM
My penis.
When did it first grow?
When I was fourteen
Where did it bud?

Good to know you have such an enlightened view of your history and culture. Well done...
Post by: Evil Genius on June 30, 2007, 03:58:23 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 30, 2007, 03:31:24 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 30, 2007, 02:00:46 PM
My penis.
When did it first grow?
When I was fourteen
Where did it bud?

Good to know you have such an enlightened view of your history and culture. Well done...

That verse wasn't intended to reflect my view of my history (or yours, for that matter).

It reflects my opinion of you, if you must know... :D
Post by: stew on June 30, 2007, 04:41:34 PM
Evil, I doubt that Donagh gives two shites what you think of him.

As for liz coming to Ireland, let her come and wave and do whatever it is she does and then leave, she is best ignored and sure she does no harm unless your name is Diana. ;)
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2007, 04:43:48 PM
Quote from: stew on June 30, 2007, 04:41:34 PM
she does no harm unless your name is Diana. ;)

oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh  :D
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 30, 2007, 04:45:35 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 30, 2007, 01:39:26 PM
Me thinks Fisheadsam was on the jungle juice last night...!  :D

Well spotted Gaoth Dobhair Abu, I'll blame the Stella Artois  ;)

What I meant to get across was for every John Robb there is a Conor Cruise O'Brien (Who I think is a p***k) working away against him.

Also stop blaming Southerners for everything, we where all brought up being told about the United Irishmen, & in a way the Rebublic of Ireland s a working example of the United Irishman, Southern Caholics, Protestants & Dissenters + now Muslims, the Jews where always shown respect, the Chineese community, Eastern European & African communites (look @ Portlaoise) for example are all United Irishmen. I think the Republic is a generaly a good place, the leaders of the South have tons of questions to answer but their interaction with the North or Britian is certainly not one of them. I have no problem with the British Monarch coming to the South, thats what normal countries do. I have a big problem with the Love Ulster Parade coming down here, as its only reason is to insite trouble.

Now I will go and delete my origionaly inarticulate responses, which where trying the same point across in a bad way.
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2007, 04:51:27 PM
How's the head today Sam?
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 30, 2007, 04:53:53 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 30, 2007, 04:51:27 PM
How's the head today Sam?

Sick as a Dog, not in good form at-all-at-all, that crap seriously fcks you up.
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2007, 04:54:54 PM
I learned back in March..... stay off the board when you've had a few drinks ;)
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 30, 2007, 05:01:54 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 30, 2007, 04:54:54 PM
I learned back in March..... stay off the board when you've had a few drinks ;)

Afraid to look @ the mobile today too. It was that thread on the stuff that fcks you up most  :o , so I decided to check the theory out  ??? , had a few Uncle Arthurs after work before that as well  :P. Irritable wasn't the word to decribe it  >:( . The whole Paranoia thing is kicking in now  :-\ . Never again, never again  :'( .
Post by: Tyrones own on June 30, 2007, 05:29:59 PM
Quote from: stew on June 29, 2007, 10:43:33 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on June 29, 2007, 10:31:47 PM
T.FERON despite your lack of knoweledge of the Southern mind, we are obviouly fearfull of a similar disaster put on West Germany by having to accomodate East Germany, we are ALL REPUBLICANS, but your defination SCARES THE SHIT OUT OF US, we donn't want a right wing Catholic Regeime, or a left wing Communist Republic, we want our Country, to be honest if you want to join we REFUSE TO CHANGE, all you Republicans camn down, all you Unionists cop the f**k on.

Why should we change, we have a great fucken Country. You all become like us or Im not interested.This is MY COUNTRY, & I AM PROUD OF IT.

You all become like us????? You talk about Bush, Jews and Muslims and them you claim you want us all to be like you??? what does that even mean? can I take it you and Kerry MIke or AZ etc are all feckin clones.

Let me tell you someting fishstick sam, you are scary and I for one want no part of anything you are associated with after that tirade, that was quite possibly the worst post ever on this board.

:D :D   Good man Stew...... though i could add a few names to that list ;)
Post by: Rossfan on June 30, 2007, 05:50:30 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on June 30, 2007, 04:45:35 PM
[
the Rebublic of Ireland s a working example of the United Irishman, Southern Caholics, Protestants & Dissenters + now Muslims, the Jews where always shown respect, the Chineese community, Eastern European & African communites (look @ Portlaoise) for example are all United Irishmen.

At least you had the dacency to lave out Mayomen  :D
By the way our U16s bet the daylights out of ye last night in Ballyhaunis 2-16 to 6 points or thereabouts ;D
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 30, 2007, 05:53:22 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 30, 2007, 05:50:30 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on June 30, 2007, 04:45:35 PM
[
the Rebublic of Ireland s a working example of the United Irishman, Southern Caholics, Protestants & Dissenters + now Muslims, the Jews where always shown respect, the Chineese community, Eastern European & African communites (look @ Portlaoise) for example are all United Irishmen.

At least you had the dacency to lave out Mayomen  :D
By the way our U16s bet the daylights out of ye last night in Ballyhaunis 2-16 to 6 points or thereabouts ;D

Well done, what position where you playing  :D
Post by: SuperMac on June 30, 2007, 06:40:03 PM
Well, Mrs Windsor comes, it will give some fellas an excuse to wreck Dublin again  ;D
Post by: Aerlik on June 30, 2007, 07:20:07 PM
Folks... a wee true story about Dr. John Robb.

12th. September 1974, a 7 year old boy from Kilrea Co. Derry suffered a serious compressed skull fracture after a fall on the family farm.  He was given no chance of survival when first diagnosed by the local GP, who recommended he be driven by his father to Coleraine Hospital as there was no time to get an ambulance there.  The Royal Vic. Hospital in Belfast was informed and a surgeon, one Dr. Robb was despatched to Coleraine hospital to help one Dr. Greer (RIP) perform what turned out to be life-saving surgery.

33 years later that same wee lad types this message.

I have never got around to thank Dr. Robb.  Tony, do you have a contact email address please?

Post by: Donagh on June 30, 2007, 08:04:59 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 30, 2007, 03:58:23 PM
It reflects my opinion of you, if you must know

Nah it reflects the immature and intellectually challenged disposition of the poster - something that was already only too obvious after your first few navel gazing, banal 'contributions'.
Post by: Rossfan on June 30, 2007, 09:09:12 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on June 30, 2007, 05:53:22 PM

I'm not good enough  but I'd probably make ye're team alright ;)
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 30, 2007, 09:23:53 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 30, 2007, 09:09:12 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on June 30, 2007, 05:53:22 PM

I'm not good enough  but I'd probably make ye're team alright ;)

They playing the Kilkenny seniors in a challenge game to bost their confidence.  :D
Post by: T Fearon on July 02, 2007, 09:18:33 AM
Aerlik, no email address but try the Route Hospital. Be prepared to have Mr Robb's political persuasiveness thrust upon you as well, if you do make contact! ;)
Post by: Aerlik on July 03, 2007, 04:56:21 PM
Tony thank you.

I just wanted (over the past few years) to say thank you for saving my life.