GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Lecale2 on June 27, 2007, 03:59:02 PM

Title: Christy Ring Cup 2007
Post by: Lecale2 on June 27, 2007, 03:59:02 PM
No topic on this yet? Fixtures for this week:

All Ireland Christy Ring Cup Hurling Championship

Group 2A - Round 3

Ballycran 3.00 Down v Mayo Down

Pairc Tailteann 2.00 Meath v Kerry Draw

Group 2B - Round 3
Celtic Park 3.00 Derry v Kildare Derry

Arklow 3.00 Wicklow v Calow Wicklow

Meath have made a great start.
Title: Re: Christy Ring Cup 2007
Post by: johnneycool on June 27, 2007, 04:06:40 PM
Have Meath not already drawn with Westmeath?

Eoin Brislane is certainly some addition to a team at this level.

Down have an uphill battle on their hands after getting beat by Westmeath and having to go away to Kerry.

They also might be hoping for the fog to descend on Portaferry as well when Meath come to town!!
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 27, 2007, 04:07:01 PM
QuoteCeltic Park 3.00 Derry v Kildare Derry

Are you serious Kildare are something like 1/4 for this game. Have the Kildare team been struck with a virus or something?
Post by: Lecale2 on June 27, 2007, 04:10:36 PM
Derry will have a full team out on Saturady. Wait to you see Lone Shark cutting the odds when the teams are named.
Post by: johnneycool on June 28, 2007, 07:57:17 AM

If Carlow can put up a score of 3-13 against Kildare, it isn't beyond the realms that Derry could get a win up in celtic park!!

Post by: Sky Blue on June 28, 2007, 09:19:17 AM
It seems to me that the draw hasn't been seeded. Group A looks much stronger than Group B with 2 from Westmeath, Meath, Down and Kerry all capable of qualifiying for the play-offs. Mayo look a bit off the pace.

I'd be very confident that the winner of the competiotion will come from Group A. And they'll probably play the other Group A qualifier in the final. Despite the draw with Meath I think Westmeath will win Group A and go on to reach the final.
Down won't need fog on Strangford Lough to get the points off Meath this time. The crucial game will be Kerry v Down. The winner of that can go on to the final as well.

In Group B Carlow look like qualifying along with Derry/Kildare/Wicklow. Carlow upset Down last year in the semi final but I can't see anyone from Group B troubling the Group A Semi-finalists.

BTW - Good to have a hurling section. Those Tyrone/Armagh tossers do my head in.
Post by: johnneycool on June 28, 2007, 10:48:09 AM
Quote from: Sky Blue on June 28, 2007, 09:19:17 AM

BTW - Good to have a hurling section. Those Tyrone/Armagh tossers do my head in.

There are some decent hurling contributors from Armagh in particular so I wouldn't be inclined to use such a wide brush although you do have a point.
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on June 28, 2007, 10:58:21 AM
Thank you Johnnycool  ;)
Post by: johnneycool on June 28, 2007, 01:19:02 PM
Quote from: SouthArmaghBandit on June 28, 2007, 10:58:21 AM
Thank you Johnnycool  ;)

I didn't have you in mind though bandit!
Post by: treborstemme on June 28, 2007, 11:19:51 PM
Great to have some decent discussion about hurling, particularly tier 2 hurling that doesn't get a look in.  The christy ring is a great competition now, and a challenge for all sides concerned.  I think as a Derry man, the game at celtic match should be a good one.  Although Kildare gave our lads a right hammering in the league, this new look, very young derry side are starting to gel and with home advantage should gave kildare a dam hard game.  Wicklow should beat Carlow in Arklow, but I definately wouldn't be surprised to see Carlow pulling out a result.  I think alot of the hype surrounding the Wicklow team, although welcome is slightly exagerated.  Westmeath, team to beat I'd say!
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 28, 2007, 11:25:24 PM
Regarding the Mayo v Down game, one can only say that will be a walk in the park for Down. So far, Mayo have succombed to Kerry and got hammered by Meath in which Meath outscored Mayo by 14 points to 1 in the second half. I'm not from a hurling area in Mayo myself (don't even know if there is a hurling area) but it's sad to see the Mayo hurlers going through the hammerings, especially after they nearly got to a Division 2 final last year. I reckon they will be competing in the Nickey Rackard Cup next season. ANd it's all the Co. Boards fault.
Post by: treborstemme on June 28, 2007, 11:32:34 PM
Talk about county boards!

Derry county board put Derry senior Hurlers on the plane to London on the morning of the match and flew them home on the same evening. Some members of the panel were apparently up at 5am!  Don't think this would happen footballers some how :: :-X.
Post by: johnneycool on June 29, 2007, 08:25:47 AM
Ruairi McGrattan gets a starting berth in the halfbackline for Down. I'm not a big fan I have to say but he is a better option than Zelda who isn't fit and sharp enough for this grade anymore.
Simon Wilson also gets a start but in the half forward line. Because of his wrong grip, he's totally dependent on his right side and any defender worth their salt should work that out quite quickly. All the same , he is a strong f**ker and will win more than his fair share of ball and may add something to what is in general a lightweight attack. Mayo should be a win but some of the inadequecies of the Down team will be masked and found out in the tougher battle against Kerry the following week.

Post by: Bacon on June 29, 2007, 08:30:21 AM
What's the full team JC?
Post by: johnneycool on June 29, 2007, 08:50:33 AM
Quote from: Bacon on June 29, 2007, 08:30:21 AM
What's the full team JC?

I only got snippets last night at the club training.

I'm assuming that the team is almost identical barring those two changes I've mentioned.
Post by: Whitehair on June 29, 2007, 09:15:31 AM
Down v Mayo

Down have made two changes for Saturday's Christy Ring Cup clash with Mayo at Ballycran (1300 BST).
Simon Wilson takes over from Emmett Trainor in attack with Patrick Coulter switching to the right corner and Wilson coming in at left half-forward.

Ruairi McGrattan replaces Jerome Trainor in defence, starting at left half-back and Michael Ennis switching to right half-back.

The throw-in time has been moved forward two hours to 1300.

Down started the competition as favourites but lost 2-13 to 1-15 to Westmeath in last weekend's opener.

Down: Graham Clarke, L Clarke, S Murray, F Conway, M Ennis, P Hughes, R McGrattan, A Savage, Gabriel Clarke, B McGourty, K Courtney, S Wilson, E Clarke, G Johnson, P Coulter.

www.bbc.co.uk/ni

Post by: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2007, 06:36:40 PM
QuoteDerry will have a full team out on Saturady.

So no excuse for their hammering, Kildare are a consistent Ring side and aren't far from making the breakthrough, should make the semi's I think for a 3rd consecutive year...
Post by: slow corner back on July 01, 2007, 08:28:08 PM
God result for Kildare especially up in Celtic Park, did not see it coming myself but fair play to Kildare.
Post by: Gnevin on July 02, 2007, 12:17:17 AM
Quote from: slow corner back on July 01, 2007, 08:28:08 PM
God result for Kildare especially up in Celtic Park, did not see it coming myself but fair play to Kildare.
Really shows the pointlessness of the ulster championship when a team like Kildare who are no where near Leinster's (admittedly terrible) standard can well beat the ulster runners up
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 02, 2007, 08:16:14 AM
QuoteReally shows the pointlessness of the ulster championship when a team like Kildare who are no where near Leinster's (admittedly terrible) standard can well beat the ulster runners up

The gap here is closing as counties like Kildare, Meath and Westmeath are putting resources into hurling, Kildare's u/21s only lost to Dublin's u21s who are in the Leinster final by 5 points and had chances to win that game. But the Christy Ring for Kildare as it a competition that is really bringing on Kildare hurling...
Post by: johnneycool on July 02, 2007, 10:05:00 AM
Down's chances of going any further in the Christy Ring took a bit of a blow yesterday when both Magic and Liam Clarke were injured in a club game. Magic's shoulder looked fucked and he went for an x-ray after the game. Wee Liam took a slap in the back of the hand when he was clearing the ball, swoll up like a bap and may be broken as well.
With Paddy Hughes getting a straight red for a bit of wrestling the already threadbare squad looks fucked now.
Post by: Gnevin on July 02, 2007, 11:55:35 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 02, 2007, 12:21:29 AM
Quoteulster runners up
???
Sorry confused Down and Derry .
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on July 04, 2007, 03:49:06 PM
With the limited options available for Down in the half back line now it looks like Simon Wilson and possibly Ciaran Courtney could be moved back. Would suit big Ciaran far better facing the ball and his strength in the air would be an advantage.

Expect Ciaran Coulter to start in attack to replace the one or two lads moving back - if the rumours about John Murphy are true it doersn't look good, no harm to the guys but not senior inter county standard at all. Surely drafting in the likes of young Conor Woods would be a better option?
Post by: johnneycool on July 05, 2007, 09:10:54 AM
Quote from: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on July 04, 2007, 03:49:06 PM
Surely drafting in the likes of young Conor Woods would be a better option?

John Murphy has been one of the ever present individuals at training so he deserves his chance if he gets it. Parachuting players in has backfired already with this management.
Post by: No1 on July 06, 2007, 09:40:57 AM
  JC, I see your clubmate is endearing himself to his managers and teammates in todays Gaelic Life.  The Loughinisland footballer would have been safer keeping quiet till after the game this weekend.
Post by: tayto on July 06, 2007, 10:00:19 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 02, 2007, 08:16:14 AM
QuoteReally shows the pointlessness of the ulster championship when a team like Kildare who are no where near Leinster's (admittedly terrible) standard can well beat the ulster runners up

The gap here is closing as counties like Kildare, Meath and Westmeath are putting resources into hurling, Kildare's u/21s only lost to Dublin's u21s who are in the Leinster final by 5 points and had chances to win that game. But the Christy Ring for Kildare as it a competition that is really bringing on Kildare hurling...

Kildare had their chances to win that game but the Dublin keeper made a couple of good saves.
All be it an away game midweek and we were and are missing two key players [and a couple of others]
Heard there's serious work going on in Kildare, long may it continue.
Post by: johnneycool on July 09, 2007, 09:03:46 AM
Quote from: No1 on July 06, 2007, 09:40:57 AM
  JC, I see your clubmate is endearing himself to his managers and teammates in todays Gaelic Life.  The Loughinisland footballer would have been safer keeping quiet till after the game this weekend.

What did the big man say?

I personally wouldn't let him out of the parish, you just don't know what he'll say or do!!

I hear that a load of boys got good odds on Kerry with ladbrokes and made a killing with one fella having his bet withheld as ladbrokes as they investigate...
Post by: Lone Shark on July 10, 2007, 01:42:58 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 09, 2007, 09:03:46 AM

I personally wouldn't let him out of the parish, you just don't know what he'll say or do!!

I hear that a load of boys got good odds on Kerry with ladbrokes and made a killing with one fella having his bet withheld as ladbrokes as they investigate...

Get your facts straight. We are not with-holding any bets. We may disagree on what went on here but I would not stand by while my company doesn't play fair.
Post by: johnneycool on July 10, 2007, 03:38:12 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on July 10, 2007, 01:42:58 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 09, 2007, 09:03:46 AM

Get your facts straight. We are not with-holding any bets. We may disagree on what went on here but I would not stand by while my company doesn't play fair.
Fair enough, I was only repeating what I was told and it was obviously bollocks. I'll apologise for that but you did imply that the Down hurlers weren't trying on the rackard thread and whilst Down were understrength I'm sure most of the lads give there all no matter if their ability was lacking.

As a matter of interest on a similar matter, how did you set the odds for the Cork/Waterford Munster semi-final considering that the Cork boys appeals were being heard right up till the saturday night before the game?
Post by: Lone Shark on July 10, 2007, 04:06:13 PM
I wouldn't say it like that - I would say that a lot of your own county men implied that they weren't going to try by their betting patterns, and certainly the match result did nothing to contradict that theory. I don't think you realise quite how rare it is for people to back against their own county in GAA in a vital championship match - I honestly can say I don't remember ever seeing it before.

I also think that although understrength, it still was a disgraceful result with twelve of the team that started against Westmeath. If ye lost by two or three I might be a bit more sympathetic.

On the Cork/Waterford game I took the punt beforehand that they wouldn't get off, but was then prepared to change the odds if necessary - I had a journalist on the scene ready to text me if the boys got a reprieve.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 10, 2007, 04:18:05 PM
Whats the story with this Kerry v Down game, only just seen this thread now and havent heard any media reports about it beyond what was on hoganstand below. Shane Brick scored 15 points which is a great personal tally.

Quotehttp://www.hoganstand.com/Kerry/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=80106

Post by: magpie seanie on July 10, 2007, 04:19:53 PM
Looks like a scam to me.
Post by: Mentalman on July 16, 2007, 04:44:44 PM
Any sign of a draw or fixtures for the semis? Westmeath were fairly poor against Kerry, gone backwards alot over the last 18-24 months.
Post by: cill_dara on July 17, 2007, 01:21:55 PM
It's a double header in Tullamore this saturday 21st July with an all Leinster final four :

Westmeath Vs Carlow 5.00pm
Meath Vs Kildare 7.00pm

They Should be two good games of Hurling!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 17, 2007, 02:17:01 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on July 16, 2007, 04:44:44 PM
Any sign of a draw or fixtures for the semis? Westmeath were fairly poor against Kerry, gone backwards alot over the last 18-24 months.

It was a brutal game on Saturday, but there is a few good lads that should come through in the next couple of years, keeping them interested will as always be the challenge.
Post by: johnneycool on July 17, 2007, 02:17:18 PM
Quote from: cill_dara on July 17, 2007, 01:21:55 PM
It's a double header in Tullamore this saturday 21st July with an all Leinster final four :

Westmeath Vs Carlow 5.00pm
Meath Vs Kildare 7.00pm

They Should be two good games of Hurling!

It's a Meath v Westmeath final..

Will Eoin Brislane be lining out against David Kennedy cill_dara?
Post by: Bacon on July 17, 2007, 02:46:39 PM
Who is in the relegation play-off?
Post by: Mentalman on July 17, 2007, 02:53:39 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 17, 2007, 02:17:01 PM

It was a brutal game on Saturday, but there is a few good lads that should come through in the next couple of years, keeping them interested will as always be the challenge.

Agreed. From that point of view having the Ring & Rackard competitions is beneficial in my opinion, even if Saturday's game was dreadful. I just wish the GAA itself would give it some publicity. For instance there is no where on GAA.ie you can find out the group standing etc. If the organisation itself can't be bothered how can they expect the national media to give it any attention? Not expecting a huge crowd in Tullamore, hope I can make it myself, working that night but think I will manage it. Would love to see them make another final, it does keep an interest in the small ball game going in the "lesser" counties, not only because you get a big day out in Croker and get to watch how the big boys do it at first hand.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 17, 2007, 04:01:58 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on July 17, 2007, 02:53:39 PM

Agreed. From that point of view having the Ring & Rackard competitions is beneficial in my opinion, even if Saturday's game was dreadful. I just wish the GAA itself would give it some publicity. For instance there is no where on GAA.ie you can find out the group standing etc. If the organisation itself can't be bothered how can they expect the national media to give it any attention? Not expecting a huge crowd in Tullamore, hope I can make it myself, working that night but think I will manage it. Would love to see them make another final, it does keep an interest in the small ball game going in the "lesser" counties, not only because you get a big day out in Croker and get to watch how the big boys do it at first hand.

Apart from the first year where they had his descendents on the steps for the Hogan, the GAA have done nothing for the Christy Ring Cup, or the Nicky Rackard for that matter. Won't be able to make Tullamore or Sunday in Croker for that matter, hopefully will get to see Westmeath in the final as the undercard to Galway V Wexford match... There will be a poor enough crowd there from Westmeath compared to what there could have been if the hurlers put up a decent showing...
Post by: the ship on July 17, 2007, 04:41:40 PM
Quote from: Bacon on July 17, 2007, 02:46:39 PM
Who is in the relegation play-off?

there is no relagation this year
Post by: Mentalman on July 17, 2007, 05:05:28 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 17, 2007, 04:01:58 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on July 17, 2007, 02:53:39 PM

Apart from the first year where they had his descendents on the steps for the Hogan, the GAA have done nothing for the Christy Ring Cup, or the Nicky Rackard for that matter. Won't be able to make Tullamore or Sunday in Croker for that matter, hopefully will get to see Westmeath in the final as the undercard to Galway V Wexford match... There will be a poor enough crowd there from Westmeath compared to what there could have been if the hurlers put up a decent showing...

True, Saturday's fare wouldn't whet the appetite for the casual observer. One of my friends who would have little enough interest was shocked at the standard, or even that Kerry could put it up to Westmeath. Easy knowing he hasn't been paying much heed since the eighties. Still he didn't expect at the end of the hurling match that the football could be worse! It wasn't until they moved Murtagh closer to goal that Westmeath got anything like a game going. But sure we will see how things pan out, maybe the chance of a big day out will get them motivated.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 18, 2007, 12:53:28 PM
Quotemaybe the chance of a big day out will get them motivated.

Hopefully, would be great to see them back in Croker. Carlow will be motivated anyway after their no show last year so it'll be no walkover. Ridiculous there's no promotion to Liam McCarthy this year.
Post by: Lecale2 on July 18, 2007, 01:03:37 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 18, 2007, 12:53:28 PM
Ridiculous there's no promotion to Liam McCarthy this year.

Why is there no promotion this year?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 18, 2007, 01:48:49 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 18, 2007, 01:03:37 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 18, 2007, 12:53:28 PM
Ridiculous there's no promotion to Liam McCarthy this year.

Why is there no promotion this year?

A question only the HDC can answer (and whatever it is it still won't make sense).
Post by: Bacon on July 18, 2007, 03:43:01 PM
Kildare side to face Meath on Saturday -

C Cunningham; T Finnerty, P Reidy, P Keegan; D Harney, D Kennedy, K Bracken; C Buggy, B White; K Divilly, T Murphy, L Harney; B Byrne, O Lynch, T Spain.

Have they a chance? Where has the improvement in Meath come from? This could be a good year for Meath GAA all round. Not many would have foreseen the progress so far at the start of the year.
Post by: johnneycool on July 19, 2007, 08:19:58 AM
Quote from: Bacon on July 18, 2007, 03:43:01 PM

C Cunningham; T Finnerty, P Reidy, P Keegan; D Harney, D Kennedy, K Bracken; C Buggy, B White; K Divilly, T Murphy, L Harney; B Byrne, O Lynch, T Spain.

Have they a chance? Where has the improvement in Meath come from? This could be a good year for Meath GAA all round. Not many would have foreseen the progress so far at the start of the year.

I've always found that counties like Meath, Kerry, Westmeath, Kildare and even Down every once in a while get their act together and make a concerted effort for a few years and start going well. This enthusiasm only lasts for a few years then they're back in a malais. Meath must be on the upturn of this cycle whereas Down are certainly on the downward spiral.
Post by: Sky Blue on July 19, 2007, 08:30:01 AM
There's a section in Denis Walsh's excellent book "Hurling: The revolution years" on hurling in Down and Kerry called "Love in a cold climate". Interesting stuff. It would confirm what you're saying Johnneycool. Well worth reading.
Post by: Mentalman on July 19, 2007, 10:54:16 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 19, 2007, 08:19:58 AM
Quote from: Bacon on July 18, 2007, 03:43:01 PM

I've always found that counties like Meath, Kerry, Westmeath, Kildare and even Down every once in a while get their act together and make a concerted effort for a few years and start going well. This enthusiasm only lasts for a few years then they're back in a malais. Meath must be on the upturn of this cycle whereas Down are certainly on the downward spiral.

Very true JC. Until that cylical system is slowed down there will only ever be a decreasing number of big boys out there. What to do is the question though, are we back to hurling always being the poor relation in those counties, and if so should there be a hurling development board to take over the funding etc. of the game in those counties from their county board?
Post by: Gnevin on July 19, 2007, 11:22:11 AM
True but with the 3 tier system in place their are meaningful goals to reach off . This year 2 on the  Rackard cup go up while none go down, does this indicate an improvement in the weakest counties?
Post by: johnneycool on July 19, 2007, 01:25:13 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 19, 2007, 11:22:11 AM
True but with the 3 tier system in place their are meaningful goals to reach off . This year 2 on the  Rackard cup go up while none go down, does this indicate an improvement in the weakest counties?

Whilst the intercounty fixture quantity has gone up I'd question whether the quality of the teams have improved.

Most teams do indeed now have reasonably achievable targets whether that be Christy Ring or the Nicky Rackard tournaments. That places even more commitments on the players who aren't treated as well as the big counties and the pride of playing for the jersey wears a bit thin after a while, so training drops off, performances drop off accordingly. Down, who played in Div1 of the NHL struggled to get a team at home to Meath on saturday past and I'm sure other teams out of the reckoning had similar issues.

There still is a huge gap between tier 1 and tier 2 as Antrim, Laois and to a lesser extent Dublin have found out.

In fairness to Dublin they seem to have the proper structures in place at juvenile level but it will be another 4 to 5 years of the same hard work before they reap any kind of reward at senior level. Keeping that type of entusiasm going for a sustained amount of time is the hard part. Dublin probably have the resources in terms of finance, expertise and player base to compete on a longer term, the others don't.

Post by: Mentalman on July 22, 2007, 03:45:49 AM
Exciting, if not high quaility games, in Tullamore tonight.

I said to one of the Carlow punters I was chatting to at half time "not to worry, if any county can blow an eleven point lead at half time, it's Westmeath!". How right I was. Somehow though, through a combination of guts and Carlow tiring, the Lakelanders squeaked out a victory by 2 points, 4-11 to 2-15. We were at sea in the middle of the park without Loughlin, but I think Qualter's move to bring him in early to the fray in the second half to bhoy up the team backfired a bit, as try as he might, Enda just wasn't fit. Still on the other hand the move to put John Shaw in at full forward paid handsome dividends, with 3 goals in 3 injury time minutes, all of which he was involved in. Don't know though, you just can't play with 12 men, Westmeath need to find some sort of forward line between now and the final. The only consolation is that that seems to be one of the major differences at this level, lacking real decent inside forwards.

Think it will be a ding dong battle with Kildare in the final. Held on to watch their game. Like ourselves their inside forwards aren't all that. What they do have is a great midfield pairing, playing with real experience, excellent half backs also, and a couple of other decent additions, like 25 who came on. Any Kildare heads throw light on why they had 4 changes to the starting lineup? And why none of those guys appeared off the bench? Injury? Anyway definitely a case of the sum being greater than the parts, Westmeath will have to watch the fouling, Billy White is peerless anywhere from the midfield in. They actually could/should have won by more, lot of wides in the last quarter, when I got the feeling some of the Meath players had more or less thrown their hat at it. Still, saying that, Meath could have had at least a draw only for a bit of panicing at the end.

All in all a good evening's entertainment. Unfortunately looks like I won't make the final, but we'll have to see.
Post by: Iarmhí Abú on August 05, 2007, 08:47:22 PM
Well done to the hurlers.  Qualter certainly seems to be doing a good job. It's a pity we won't get another chance to play in the Leinster championship.  Great to see the lads getting the chance to lift a trophy in Croker.
Post by: Mentalman on August 07, 2007, 10:37:40 AM
Congrats to the Westmeath lads, bringing home the bacon once again! Not as exciting as the game versus Down two years back when the big prize was on offer, but still great to win. Westmeath performed as they have most of the season, building a fairly commanding lead before half time, then relaxing a bit. Generally in that situation when the other team got back into the game they gave another spurt to close out the match, but that wasn't needed yesterday, although it should have been. Billy White had his one off day of the year from frees on the big occasion otherwise it would have been a lot tighter. If Kildare had one or two better forwards it also would have made it a lot more difficult, I think, judging from the Meath game, that's a problem they have had all along.

I would echo Iarmhí's comments, the very least that should be available to the winners of the Christy Ring is a playoff game against the worst team in the Liam McCarthy, otherwise all the talk of rewarding counties promoting hurling is pretty much just that - talk. I mean what's to motivate the likes of Down, Kerry, Westmeath, Carlow and Kildare, after they have won Christy Ring, a self contained championship just won't be enough. From a hurling promotion point of view kids, the hurlers of tomorrow, are obviously more drawn to a sport where their county is mixing it with the big boys. Also it keeps the weaker counties in the Liam McCarthy on their toes throughout the whole year, although I'm sure from their point of view they would rather concentrate on their club championships.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on August 07, 2007, 02:08:58 PM
I dont see anything wrong with a one-up, one-down system. Of course the HDC may have been afraid that the team going down might be a "traditional" hurling county who were just having a bad (albeit very bad) year who might hammer everyone the next year in the Christy Ring thus annoying the rest
i think what might be better is the suggestion of a playoff game, say the bottom two teams from the "Tier 1" group stages play eachother, the loser then plays the winner of the Christy Ring. The winner goes up, the loser goes down. Similar for the worst/best teams between the Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 07, 2007, 03:13:36 PM
Well done to the lads, did all that was expected of them even if they did slacken off when they realised that Kildare hadn't bothered turning up. Greville, Dowdall, McCormack and Carty were the standouts for me. Great to see another trophy being lifted in Croker by the maroon and shites, 3 trophies in 4 years not bad going...
Darren could do with brushing up on his public speaking though although he was in fine form with the 3 cheers... Quite the native speaker too  :D

See we're allowed compete for Leinster next year, what would happen though if we were to make the final or win the thing??? * As has been suggested by Your Grace, a play-off between the bottom team from the Liam McCarthy is the least the winners of the Christy Ring cup deserves...

*Apart from pigs taking to the skies of course.
Post by: Mentalman on August 07, 2007, 03:28:08 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 07, 2007, 03:13:36 PM
See we're allowed compete for Leinster next year, what would happen though if we were to make the final or win the thing??? * As has been suggested by Your Grace, a play-off between the bottom team from the Liam McCarthy is the least the winners of the Christy Ring cup deserves...

*Apart from pigs taking to the skies of course.

Just reading that

Westmeath hurlers set for 2008 provincial championship
06 August 2007

Following their Christy Ring Cup final win over Kildare (2-15 to 0-13), the hurlers of Westmeath will be given the chance to pit their skills against Leinster's finest next year.

Westmeath's application to play in the 2008 Leinster SHC campaign has been approved and they will also get the chance to defend their Christy Ring Cup title as well.

"We took a decision at a hurling forum in Leinster some time ago that Westmeath would be allowed into the Leinster championship," Leinster PRO Tom Farrell confirmed.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=81508 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=81508)

Strange one, realistically how can they play in both?
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 07, 2007, 03:29:05 PM
Kildare Hurlers are just Kildare footballers in disguise.  :'(
Post by: Mentalman on August 07, 2007, 03:41:50 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 07, 2007, 03:29:05 PM
Kildare Hurlers are just Kildare footballers in disguise.  :'(

Still I reckon if they could pick up an inside forward somewhere they would do real damage. The experience will stand the team, outside of the Tipp lads, in good stead. Look at Westmeath, some of them boys are 10 years on the go, getting hammered out of sight in LSHC games. Takes a long time for the weaker counties to get a side together. Expect Kildare, if they can keep that side together, and Carlow, if their manager's resignation doesn't set them back, to be compeiting to the last in next year's Ring Cup.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 07, 2007, 04:08:44 PM
In fairness the hurling folk in the county were quite confident going up to Croker but with the bus breaking down etc they had no luck, then in the first half 12 wides and the 2nd Westmeath goal was a clear foul on the goalie as well. However the U/21's were only beaten by 5pt against the Leinster Champions and the minors reached the All-Ireland B final. Hurling is on the up in the county and the likes of Kennedy and O'Dowd will bring on our hurlers. The future is bright, baby steps is the key though..
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 07, 2007, 05:18:19 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on August 07, 2007, 03:28:08 PMStrange one, realistically how can they play in both?

I can only assume that they will be treated the same as the counties in Division 4 of the league, i.e. you're into the Tommy Murphy/Christy Ring unless u make ur provincial final. But then again doesn't the Christy Ring begin at the same time as the LSHC??? My head hurts...

Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 07, 2007, 04:08:44 PM
In fairness the hurling folk in the county were quite confident going up to Croker but with the bus breaking down etc they had no luck, then in the first half 12 wides and the 2nd Westmeath goal was a clear foul on the goalie as well. However the U/21's were only beaten by 5pt against the Leinster Champions and the minors reached the All-Ireland B final. Hurling is on the up in the county and the likes of Kennedy and O'Dowd will bring on our hurlers. The future is bright, baby steps is the key though..

I would imagine that the bus breaking down had a big physcologial effect on the Kildare team, they didn't look at all settled on the field and were very slow out of the blocks. Couldn't figure out for the life of me how they had beaten an Eastmeath team we had drawn with in Naavaan until I heard about the bus...
Post by: Mentalman on August 07, 2007, 05:37:24 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 07, 2007, 05:18:19 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on August 07, 2007, 03:28:08 PMStrange one, realistically how can they play in both?

I can only assume that they will be treated the same as the counties in Division 4 of the league, i.e. you're into the Tommy Murphy/Christy Ring unless u make ur provincial final. But then again doesn't the Christy Ring begin at the same time as the LSHC??? My head hurts...

Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 07, 2007, 04:08:44 PM

I would imagine that the bus breaking down had a big physcologial effect on the Kildare team, they didn't look at all settled on the field and were very slow out of the blocks. Couldn't figure out for the life of me how they had beaten an Eastmeath team we had drawn with in Naavaan until I heard about the bus...

We'll never know now I suppose. On the night against Meath the Kildare midfield and half backs looked the business, and never let the likes of Bislane near the ball, but they didn't have a stitch of a forward. On the basis I thought Westmeath would win, in as much as we've proved in every match to have naother gear when the chips are down, but it would be tighter. On the day, other than Kennedy, Kildare were miles away from their men until it was too late.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 10, 2007, 10:29:45 PM
Will there be any relegation/promotion from the Christy Ring Cup to the Nickey Rackard cup this year? Afterall, there isn't from the Liam McCarthy Cup to the Christy Ring Cup
Post by: Mentalman on August 15, 2007, 12:02:58 PM
Wanted to post this a couple of days back but couldn't get on the board:

Qualter steps down as Westmeath hurling boss
14/08/2007 - 09:04:25

Christy Ring Cup champions Westmeath are on the lookout for a new manager after Seamus Qualter's decision to step down from the position he has held for more than two years.

Westmeath beat Kildare 2-15 to 0-13 on August 5 to win their second Christy Ring Cup during Qualter's reign, but the Galway native feels he has done all he can with the Lake county.

Between being a selector and manager, Qualter has been involved in the Westmeath set-up for the past four years. He took over as interim manager from Tom Ryan in May 2005, after Ryan quit when only 13 players turned up for a training session.

Qualter steered Westmeath to victory in the inaugural Christy Ring Cup but the following year, they were beaten by Dublin in a relegation play-off and lost their All-Ireland championship status.

But following a solid league campaign in 2007 - they reached a National League Division Two semi-final - Qualter's side mounted a determined challenge to annex their second Ring Cup title.

There were wins over Down, Mayo and Kerry and a draw with neighbours Meath in the group stages, they downed last year's beaten finalists Carlow in the last-four and Kildare were no match for them in the Croke Park decider.

The win earned Westmeath an invite to play in the 2008 Leinster championship but Qualter, a member of the Southern Gaels club in Athlone, will not be at the helm for next season.

The Westmeath County Board has thanked Qualter for the many years he has given to the county's senior hurling team, firstly as a player, then as a selector and finally, as team manager.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/mhcwmheyidid/ (http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/mhcwmheyidid/)

Great pity, we could badly do with hi again next year, I would imagine he hasa better offer on the table, could luck to the lad, he was instrumental in the best period of Westmeath hurling in my lifetime I imagine. Thanks Seamus! Íarmhí Abú!
Post by: Gnevin on August 15, 2007, 12:25:49 PM
If westmeath a good enough for Leinster they are good enough for Liam.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 15, 2007, 03:37:27 PM
Qualter did a good job alright, was never afraid to speak up when the lads were looked over and always seemed passionate and committed. Short turnaround after the Tom Ryan shambles and all the messing seemed to come to a quick end...