Anyone at it? Great craic so far, thankfully not overly ruined by Belfast ones.
Wee niece dancing at it, got bit of exposure on the socials today. Few relatives up saying it's great
Me personally, I'm still recovering from enniscorthy 01 and 02 🤭
a few of the in-laws up yesterday
said the prices scandalous
20 quid for a pint and glass of vino in one bar...£13 for a burger on the street
but atmosphere great
Friend up yesterday,has wom multi medals in the past at the Fleadh, wasnt impressed, said Wexford was way better 2yrs ago and a no of previous ones, Said the Fleadh was not really suited to a large city area. Said there was a limited number of places to play, plus some pubs with the speakers on, drowning out music from other nearby musicians.We not mention the transport issues or the £200 per nite hotels.( alot that normal in Belfast. We see if it improves.
Can someone teach them southerners how to drive? The A1 was incredibly dangerous today. The number of southern regs sitting in the overtaking lane at 55-60mph for miles and the number of good god-fearing northerners who felt the need to undertake.
Has totally ruined the Fleadh for me.
Though I did see a young man carrying an O'Brien's, Foreglen kit bag through Royal Hillsborough.
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on August 03, 2026, 10:35:53 PMCan someone teach them southerners how to drive? The A1 was incredibly dangerous today. The number of southern regs sitting in the overtaking lane at 55-60mph for miles and the number of good god-fearing northerners who felt the need to undertake.
Though I did see a young man carrying an O'Brien's, Foreglen kit bag through Royal Hillsborough.
Fear of God when I see them near a roundabout :o
Was up this evening. Brilliant atmosphere.
Pint was £6.20 and the sausage supper was £10.
Some great pub sessions.
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on August 03, 2026, 10:35:53 PMCan someone teach them southerners how to drive? The A1 was incredibly dangerous today. The number of southern regs sitting in the overtaking lane at 55-60mph for miles and the number of good god-fearing northerners who felt the need to undertake.
It's the Foreglen man you should really be scared of
People that go to cities and complain about prices need to not bother going, it's the same in every city.
There on Sunday to enjoy the craic with family, didn't worry about the price of a pint or the food. Atmosphere brilliant and while there no issues
Stingy gurning middle aged feckers stay and Home and count the pennies ;D
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2026, 11:57:25 PMPeople that go to cities and complain about prices need to not bother going, it's the same in every city.
There on Sunday to enjoy the craic with family, didn't worry about the price of a pint or the food. Atmosphere brilliant and while there no issues
Stingy gurning middle aged feckers stay and Home and count the pennies ;D
You'd make a great Tory.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 03, 2026, 10:18:19 PMFriend up yesterday,has wom multi medals in the past at the Fleadh, wasnt impressed, said Wexford was way better 2yrs ago and a no of previous ones, Said the Fleadh was not really suited to a large city area. Said there was a limited number of places to play, plus some pubs with the speakers on, drowning out music from other nearby musicians.We not mention the transport issues or the £200 per nite hotels.( alot that normal in Belfast. We see if it improves.
Hope the multi-medalled friend has a better experience at the weekend.
She got 5 1st place medals i never see lol
Pubs needs to cop the f**k on with recorded music being blasted out. White's, Kelly's etc. Great session in the Duke of York started off by four young Down and Armagh girls who were near terrified to ask the bouncer could they go in and set up. Took an awful lot of balls and they had background music pumping awful shite over the top of them even as they played genuinely brilliant stuff. Took a solid 45 mins before they had the wit to turn it off. Wasn't helped by screaming twats requesting the fields of Athenry or demanding to know "do yiz not know any Michael Jackson?!"
Made a point of going to see a group of Irish dancers from Green island/Hong Kong first thing in Victoria Square. Some brilliant and some terrified but my 5 year old was utterly enchanted. Was in awe of the girls from start to finish. They did brilliantly.
Saw a great spot in 2 Royal Avenue for an hour or so. Can't remember the name but they were Belfast family ones from Twinbrook and they were brilliant. Especially came together when the younger ones joined in. Locals need to learn when and how to whoop and holler. Have heard the rattlin bog enough for the whole week
Really good session in the Sunflower and then came across a great late spot with two lads on guitar at the bottom of Royal Avenue. Haymarket? Maybe used to be the Hudson. Had a catalogue of classics but despite my repeated and vocal suggestion wouldn't or couldn't play the Green and Red of Mayo.
Handed over a fresh, crisp 20 for two pints of stout and two packets of scampi fries in the Morning Star. Couldn't believe my £1 change. Was in Lyrath Estate in Kilkenny last week spending a fortune and didn't feel like my pants were being pulled down as much.
Only able to get up to mid-afternoon. Anyone know of any places that may be good for early sessions/trad stuff?
Not the folky music that's been on the socials of a lot of young ones.
The city looks fantastic.
I think the pubs will start to wise up about the amplified music, as there have been enough complaints!
Mon-Wednesday are generally only feeling their way into the craic but Thursday onwards will be something else. I think the big thing is that it has been underestimated how big this is and how many people will be about, despite the fact that they have been told umpteen times!
As for the pints going up I am not surprised...this will keep a lot of places floating for a long time! I did challenge Bamber in Maddens if they'd go back to normal prices next week and he said they'd go up to £7!!!
Tempted to go up Saturday morning but could be carnage, sure to be the busiest day. I suppose if you are up there and it's a long wait for a pint you knew what you were signing up for. Looks good in fairness hopefully the weather stays decent
If you're in early it'll be plenty accessible. Lots of kids and family events on before lunch.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 04, 2026, 11:57:29 AMI think the pubs will start to wise up about the amplified music, as there have been enough complaints!
There's just no need for it at all. Whites yesterday had live music in the beer garden, but they've a terrace now stretching into the middle of High Street where they were blaring generic tunes from Spotify or wherever at the same time. There was a girl at the corner of High St. and Bridge St. dancing by herself with just this smell bluetooth speaker and you couldn't hear a thing because of the noise coming from Whites.
Never waited long for a drink, they have that many pop up bars about the place that queues for drinks was minimal, had to queue for Kelly's, but talking 3 or 4 minutes and no waiting for drinks
This could be in the WTF thread. I have never met a southerner who thinks like this...
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/comment/opinion/fleadhs-arrival-in-belfast-is-a-breakthrough-for-southerners-who-see-northern-ireland-as-foreign/a/159497353.html?fbclid=IwdGRjcATerThwZG9mAWZkaWQWUL3P00q2wu6FfZe9owu8N4TpHgo3iWV4dG4DYWVtAjExAHNydGMGYXBwX2lkCjY2Mjg1NjgzNzkAAR7cSA5Tjjh4UveBVV6es1YaJ0GWRfkrPSUphHXECu7y6-9rYBQflx6iGx1uCA_aem_6nZZ4GztH-jw26s31K0RCw
Quote from: Orior on August 04, 2026, 12:35:06 PMThis could be in the WTF thread. I have never met a southerner who thinks like this...
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/comment/opinion/fleadhs-arrival-in-belfast-is-a-breakthrough-for-southerners-who-see-northern-ireland-as-foreign/a/159497353.html?fbclid=IwdGRjcATerThwZG9mAWZkaWQWUL3P00q2wu6FfZe9owu8N4TpHgo3iWV4dG4DYWVtAjExAHNydGMGYXBwX2lkCjY2Mjg1NjgzNzkAAR7cSA5Tjjh4UveBVV6es1YaJ0GWRfkrPSUphHXECu7y6-9rYBQflx6iGx1uCA_aem_6nZZ4GztH-jw26s31K0RCw
Back in the day I knew grown ass man (from Belfast) that never had a pint in the city center! Work with a colleague from the south who'd never been to the North until we had a works function, up to that point the furthest north was Carlinford for a xmas do.. Plenty prods never been across the border too
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2026, 12:49:21 PMQuote from: Orior on August 04, 2026, 12:35:06 PMThis could be in the WTF thread. I have never met a southerner who thinks like this...
Back in the day I knew grown ass man (from Belfast) that never had a pint in the city center! Work with a colleague from the south who'd never been to the North until we had a works function, up to that point the furthest north was Carlinford for a xmas do.. Plenty prods never been across the border too
I grew up with people who never, ever went further north in their life than Armagh city, and that was solely for football. They'd happily travel anywhere in the south though
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2026, 12:49:21 PMQuote from: Orior on August 04, 2026, 12:35:06 PMThis could be in the WTF thread. I have never met a southerner who thinks like this...
Worked with people in the past who would go for weekends away to Limavady (Radisson), Kesh and Castlerock. Mention Donegal to them and you may as well be suggesting Australia.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 04, 2026, 01:06:47 PMQuote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2026, 12:49:21 PMQuote from: Orior on August 04, 2026, 12:35:06 PMThis could be in the WTF thread. I have never met a southerner who thinks like this...
I grew up with people who never, ever went further north in their life than Armagh city, and that was solely for football. They'd happily travel anywhere in the south though
Sure with that awful twang down there youse are basically Louth anyway.
Quote from: LC on August 04, 2026, 01:10:54 PMQuote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2026, 12:49:21 PMQuote from: Orior on August 04, 2026, 12:35:06 PMThis could be in the WTF thread. I have never met a southerner who thinks like this...
Worked with people in the past who would go for weekends away to Limavady (Radisson), Kesh and Castlerock. Mention Donegal to them and you may as well be suggesting Australia.
A weekend away to Limavady?! Nobody hates Fenians that much surely.
Might head down for a few hours on Friday afternoon. Is the best approach just to dander about or is there a consolidated area that is better hanging around? Sounds like it is strung out over a wide enough area.
Want to hit the sweet spot of getting the atmosphere, the music and crucially a few pints without spending the entire time in queues.
Just walk around the whole place. Something takes your fancy, pull up a pew.
They are scheduled events at the main stages of course.
Quote from: Orior on August 04, 2026, 12:35:06 PMThis could be in the WTF thread. I have never met a southerner who thinks like this...
Sadly there are more of them than you think, especailly around south Dublin. Some of them even call the 6 counties the Uk.maybe thats just to piss me off though ;D. Very few would say north of iteland, alot would say northern ireland.
Quote from: gallsman on August 04, 2026, 01:46:15 PMJust walk around the whole place. Something takes your fancy, pull up a pew.
They are scheduled events at the main stages of course.
Cheers. Will do.
I see a far-removed cousin of mine, Marcas Ó Murchú, is playing the Gig Rig at 5pm so will swing by for that.
St Anne's cathedral's carpark are doing some great food places and there is a bar onsite also, getting drinks and food wasn't an issue, I think as you say just hitting the right gigs at the right time. Might head up again on Friday night, fingers crossed that everything continues in the same vein
Having great weather is a bonus for the Fleadh. Bit of sunshine and being able to walk about helps no end with the atmosphere.
This. I know plenty of Dubs who have never been to Cork or Limerick either. It's not partitionist, it's just more a thing to go to Riga for a weekend than jump on a train. Kilkenny or Kracow for a long weekend costs the same.
Give yourself an hour to dander round it and get your bearings. There's definitely good vibes, everyone out for a good time and some music. A good few wee ones busking, bring your change for tips. One of the outdoor bar singers was pretty rubbish and there were Lambeg drums and whistles on the gig rig who weren't much better.
The electric building is brilliantly transformed, you can get a pizza and pint and enjoy the stage music which was very good. Overall there seemed a shortage of sessions in the streets/pubs, but maybe that'll pick up towards the weekend or maybe I'm not familiar enough with 'the scene'. I also wonder is it actually busier with young musicians in the afternoon? It's a noisy environment with too much piped music, outdoor lads on mics and the generators from stalls, so tough going for a group of 12 year olds trying to play.
I'm not shy criticising the bureaucracy in this place but they've done a nice job here and they're flexing to close more roads around City Hall given the numbers which is a good call.
The AI fleadh has almost always been an event that fits best in decent sized provincial town. The organisers have done a brilliant job to scale it up to fit the space and maintain the atmosphere. Loads of people still trying to find their feet and strike a balance for what the Fleadh should be about. Heading back tonight for another mooch about and a few tunes fingers crossed.
Thought last night was a bit quieter. Just dandered around for a couple of hours with no drink. Had a horrible moment when the bouncer at the Haymarket looked at me walking in and said "back for more after last night's carry on?"
There's a Lavery's pop-up in what I'm told is an old eclectical station beside St. Mary's Church. Brilliant atmosphere inside.
It's brilliant. Really great atmosphere. I didn't know how they'd manage it across such a wide area but it's working out ok so far.
Was there last night and what a sight and sound, was amazing. Two hours just dandering about on me owe taking it all in. A few negative comments online, but from the usual suspects, who would have though that.
Throughly enjoyed it and will be back. Well played the organisers.
Quote from: Square Ball on August 05, 2026, 12:33:28 PMWas there last night and what a sight and sound, was amazing. Two hours just dandering about on me owe taking it all in. A few negative comments online, but from the usual suspects, who would have though that.
Over 2 million positive online mentions according to Belfast Live....says it all really!
Quote from: Square Ball on August 05, 2026, 12:33:28 PMWas there last night and what a sight and sound, was amazing. Two hours just dandering about on me owe taking it all in. A few negative comments online, but from the usual suspects, who would have though that.
The "I don't care about the Fleadh so much that I'm on the internet posting about it" brigade
There's a bunch of themmuns absolutely raging about the positive feedback. Nolan must be purple with rage!
Looking forward to Friday afternoon now and will definitely be calling in on these ad hoc places like the Electric Light Station and The Donegal. I have to say there has been some great (and highly unusual!) creative thinking to breathe some life into these places and negotiating with the men and women with the clipboards demanding permits and risk assessments. Be interesting to see if many of these spots live on after the Fleadh.
There have been many complaints about piped music drowning out street performers, so hopefully that's one thing learned for next time.
Quote from: general_lee on August 05, 2026, 01:08:20 PMQuote from: Square Ball on August 05, 2026, 12:33:28 PMWas there last night and what a sight and sound, was amazing. Two hours just dandering about on me owe taking it all in. A few negative comments online, but from the usual suspects, who would have though that.
The "I don't care about the Fleadh so much that I'm on the internet posting about it" brigade
And the more they don't care, the more they post.
The music last night in Maddens was astonishingly good.
Quote from: ONeill on August 05, 2026, 07:41:32 PMThe music last night in Maddens was astonishingly good.
What time you in there at? Are the better pub sessions on later into the evening?
Hopefully weather will pick up a bit.
Good feel factor about it. Great to see. Good for the businesses in Belfast.
Seem to have managed the bigger city layout rather than smaller towm reasonably well. I'd say they'll review things and plan to tweak a few things for next year.
Could, say, Newry or Armagh hold/organise the Fleadh?
Quote from: marty34 on August 05, 2026, 07:57:38 PMHopefully weather will pick up a bit.
Good feel factor about it. Great to see. Good for the businesses in Belfast.
Seem to have managed the bigger city layout rather than smaller towm reasonably well. I'd say they'll review things and plan to tweak a few things for next year.
Could, say, Newry or Armagh hold/organise the Fleadh?
Not sure about Armagh. There actually aren't that many pubs in Armagh and it would be poky enough for space apart from Shambles Yard or Market Place.
This Fleadh seems to be doing alot for bringing both communities together.
Alot of unionists taking an interest in it and participating which is good to see.
Always have the few trolls but seems to be very positive overall.
My nearly 80 year old aul fella went in today and had a great time. Thought the atmosphere was terrific and everyone was just being social and friendly, looking to have a good time. He did feel the music got lost a bit in the midst of the big piss-up which I'd agree with. Some of the music has been very hard to hear in some of the spots over the sheer din of people having a good time.
Did see a couple of rats last night beside Kelly's in need of a good hiding screaming Islamic abuse at a group of security guards. "Jesus Christ is our Lord and saviour you f**king Mohammed c***ts" I believe it was. Stereotypical Belfast pikeys out of their minds on god knows what with their hands down their trousers. Sorry, tracksuit bottoms.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 05, 2026, 07:45:47 PMQuote from: ONeill on August 05, 2026, 07:41:32 PMThe music last night in Maddens was astonishingly good.
What time you in there at? Are the better pub sessions on later into the evening?
It was fairly late on. But from tomorrow onwards Fleadhs really take off. The competitions start on Friday and tonnes of musicians about.
Quote from: ONeill on August 05, 2026, 10:15:49 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on August 05, 2026, 07:45:47 PMQuote from: ONeill on August 05, 2026, 07:41:32 PMThe music last night in Maddens was astonishingly good.
It was fairly late on. But from tomorrow onwards Fleadhs really take off. The competitions start on Friday and tonnes of musicians about.
I was supposed to be going on Friday but the big son wants to go tomorrow now instead! Sounds like it'll be good craic.
Quote from: gallsman on August 05, 2026, 09:25:11 PMMy nearly 80 year old aul fella went in today and had a great time. Thought the atmosphere was terrific and everyone was just being social and friendly, looking to have a good time. He did feel the music got lost a bit in the midst of the big piss-up which I'd agree with. Some of the music has been very hard to hear in some of the spots over the sheer din of people having a good time.
Did see a couple of rats last night beside Kelly's in need of a good hiding screaming Islamic abuse at a group of security guards. "Jesus Christ is our Lord and saviour you f**king Mohammed c***ts" I believe it was. Stereotypical Belfast pikeys out of their minds on god knows what with their hands down their trousers. Sorry, tracksuit bottoms.
100%
UTV News obviously spent ages trawling businesses in Belfast to find a negative slant. They managed to find an optician who said that his business was negatively impacted. When they put this point to the representative from the Chamber of Commerce, she quickly put them in their box highlighting all the positives.