Given the weather. What would the boards favourites be?
Myself
1) 99
2) Mars Ice Cream
3) Magnum
1) Calippo
2) Twister
3) 99
Honourable mention to your Polly Pineapples, Pear Picking Porkies and Jokers as well.
1. 99, always and forever
2. Solero
3. Twister
Cafolla Joe's ice cream in Lurgan! Dodgy owner though
Wibbly Wobbly Wonder. Aldi as a similar product called "Jiggly Pops" but not as good.
Two I've bought recently and remain my favourites Brunch and Feast.
1- Brunch
2- Mint Feast
3- Magnum
Do they still have Loop The Loops?
Pear pickin porkie
Choc pop
Callipo
Magnum (white chocolate)
Pear picking
Fruit pastille
Quote from: Genocide Organ on July 17, 2026, 07:51:23 PMDo they still have Loop The Loops?
Very much so.
1. Solero
2. Iceberger
3. Mars/Snickers
Mint Feast
Twister
Screwball
Definite mention for a Feast and a Brunch. Something to be said for a good old fashioned choc ice...use to love them at my grannies.
Choc & nut cornetto
Twister
Loop the loop
Brunch
Do they still have the foot one with the chocolate big toe?
And fat frog? They were lovely
It will be interesting to see how mamy of us still like the old school choc ices and wibbly wobbly wonders versus the notions of magnums and whatnot
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 17, 2026, 09:24:09 PMTwister
Loop the loop
Brunch
Fat frogs are gone 10 years. I recall protests.
Funny feet? Not sure.
Brunch is the Crocs of the ice cream world.
Iceberger
Brunch
Tapioca, rice pudding and semolina.
Quote from: seafoid on July 17, 2026, 09:49:29 PMIceberger
Brunch
Reverse order is mine. Shoutout for the auld tub of ice cream at a Connacht championship match.
QuoteQuoteTwister
Loop the loop
Brunch
Funny feet? Not sure.
Oh that's right , I was there
Never took to the Mars and Snickers ice cream. Both hugely overrated
Scoop of vanilla ice cream in a glass of Club Orange was another favourite.
Not a big ice cream fan, as in can take or leave a 99, or Magnum etc. prefer the more refreshing ice type lollies.
Top 3 would be
Whites lemonade ice lollies
Fruit pastilles
Pistachio Cornetto (not that easy to get over here).
Close runner ups - Feast, loop the loop, captain quencher. Hard to beat a wee rocket as well.
Joker
Fruit Pastille
Twist Cup
Honourable mention Twister
No shout for Mr Frostie?
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on July 17, 2026, 09:30:20 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on July 17, 2026, 09:24:09 PMTwister
Loop the loop
Brunch
Funny feet? Not sure.
Freaky foot?
1. Frostie
2. Choc Pop
3. Joker
Quote from: ONeill on July 18, 2026, 06:19:29 AM1. Frostie
2. Choc Pop
3. Joker
This post was sponsored by Dale Farm.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2026, 08:39:49 AMQuote from: ONeill on July 18, 2026, 06:19:29 AM1. Frostie
2. Choc Pop
3. Joker
Man yearns for a return to his childhood. Probably puts diluting juice in the ice tray and his mam tells him off
Ps worst one has to be pear picking porky
Always felt the Dale Farm Rocky Raspberry had the strongest flavour and therefore the best of the ice lolly genre including the orange, pear etc.
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 18, 2026, 09:24:20 AMQuote from: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2026, 08:39:49 AMQuote from: ONeill on July 18, 2026, 06:19:29 AM1. Frostie
2. Choc Pop
3. Joker
Man yearns for a return to his childhood. Probably puts diluting juice in the ice tray and his mam tells him off
"Diluting juice"?
You mean squash? Or at least cordial?
I said what I said 😄😄
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 18, 2026, 06:41:25 PMI said what I said 😄😄
You said fact.
You ever try to drink it without diluting it?!
Quote from: gallsman on July 18, 2026, 06:36:25 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 18, 2026, 09:24:20 AMQuote from: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2026, 08:39:49 AMQuote from: ONeill on July 18, 2026, 06:19:29 AM1. Frostie
2. Choc Pop
3. Joker
"Diluting juice"?
FFS did you grow up on the Malone Road?! Diluting juice up and down the country.
Quote from: gawa316 on July 18, 2026, 07:06:52 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 18, 2026, 06:41:25 PMI said what I said 😄😄
You said fact.
You ever try to drink it without diluting it?!
Remember after a feile match when it was absolutely freezing and wet our manager came into the changing rooms with diluting ginger and told us to drink it straight....ripped the insides of me!!
HB Feast Update !
White ice cream & softer chocolate inside - when did this happen ?
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2026, 07:24:59 PMQuote from: gallsman on July 18, 2026, 06:36:25 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 18, 2026, 09:24:20 AMQuote from: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2026, 08:39:49 AMQuote from: ONeill on July 18, 2026, 06:19:29 AM1. Frostie
2. Choc Pop
3. Joker
"Diluting juice"?
FFS did you grow up on the Malone Road?! Diluting juice up and down the country.
Squash or cordial or, rarely, dilute.
Never heard "diluting juice" in my life!
Choc Ice (HB)
Cornetto (HB)
Orange Super Split (HB)
Favourite childhood Ice Lolly - Patsi Pop (Palm Grove)
The people have spoken gallsman 😎
Solero
Brunch for me btw 🤓
Diluting orange in our house, as it was usually orange.
Still got that name even if it was orange and pineapple, blackcurrant etc...
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 18, 2026, 10:03:53 PMDiluting orange in our house, as it was usually orange.
Same 🤣
Didn't wanna say that earlier in case I got pelters 🤣
Its all about how you pronounce diluting though....
Got to say it in a culchie way...
Like dilutin in quick motion....and not di-luting like Paddy Raff in a Malone Rd accent...
Surely nearly every house in the country knows this...
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on July 18, 2026, 10:21:24 PMIts all about how you pronounce diluting though....
Got to say it in a culchie way...
Like dilutin in quick motion....and not di-luting like Paddy Raff in a Malone Rd accent...
Surely nearly every house in the country knows this...
This.
Calling it squash or cordial ffs. Never heard worse.
QuoteQuoteDiluting orange in our house, as it was usually orange.
Same 🤣
Didn't wanna say that earlier in case I got pelters 🤣
We might both get pelters yet
After the cordial lads though, they're clearly first :D
And rightly so
I'm away for a drink of apple flavoured dilutin orange 😎
I'd say English lads or Prods call it cordial in fairness...
Cordial, get the f**k outta here!!
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on July 18, 2026, 10:33:38 PMI'd say English lads or Prods call it cordial in fairness...
Aye, and they definitely don't call Coke and the likes minerals!
Dilutin' is basically a single syllable
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 18, 2026, 10:37:22 PMQuote from: STREET FIGHTER on July 18, 2026, 10:33:38 PMI'd say English lads or Prods call it cordial in fairness...
Aye, and they definitely don't call Coke and the likes minerals!
Dilutin' is basically a single syllable
My granny would often say 'would ye like a wee mineral and a pack of tatty chips?'
Minerl 😜
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 18, 2026, 10:42:48 PMMinerl 😜
That's more like it....Friday night and the minerl man lands with his bottles of Maine, Cola, Orange, Orange and pineapple, while lemonade, brown lemonade and American Soda!!
QuoteQuoteMinerl 😜
That's more like it....Friday night and the minerl man lands with his bottles of Maine, Cola, Orange, Orange and pineapple, while lemonade, brown lemonade and American Soda!!
My da liked Cream soda and Sasperella (aka Sarsaparilla )
Minerl right up there with dilutin...
Well known in this part ot the world....
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 18, 2026, 10:45:03 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 18, 2026, 10:42:48 PMMinerl 😜
My granny got a crate off the mineral man every Friday. Cloudy Limeade was the guvnor. There was another one called Splice was a great thirst quencher on a hot day. Apparently they have fancy bottle nowadays.
Portello!
Then renamed to Portemao?
Was that like a marathon/snickers thing lol
Up round our parts maine still available why I've had two pineappleade this week alone 😄
Splice was lilt pretty much. Good times 😎
Don't know if it was Quosh or Robinson's but one of them did a lovely tropical diluting juice...was like the colour of fairy liquid
Hard to beat an almond granita in Sicily for pure refreshment.
It's diluting juice btw. Where does Cremola foam fit in?
Ahhhh cremola 😍 raspberry #chefs kiss
Place in ballymoney still does it if yer ever brave enough lol
Cremola.....cocaine for kids just....🤷🏻
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 18, 2026, 11:03:50 PMSplice was lilt pretty much. Good times 😎
Was Splice the stuff that made your really wheezy (breathe wise) after a sup??
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on July 18, 2026, 11:31:41 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 18, 2026, 11:03:50 PMSplice was lilt pretty much. Good times 😎
Jees mate what was your mam adding to it 😄
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 18, 2026, 11:45:27 PMQuote from: STREET FIGHTER on July 18, 2026, 11:31:41 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 18, 2026, 11:03:50 PMSplice was lilt pretty much. Good times 😎
Jees mate what was your mam adding to it 😄
It was my Granny 😭😭😭
Dilutin juice in my house too. Gallsman is on the wind up sure.
Brought back memories there. Showed the children how to make dilutin juice ice cubes. They are 20 though and weren't that impressed.
Quote from: ONeill on July 19, 2026, 06:14:04 PMBrought back memories there. Showed the children how to make dilutin juice ice cubes. They are 20 though and weren't that impressed.
🤣🤣
Do coke ones oneill. And/or a wee splash vodka either there or into the dilutin ones 🤝