GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Myrising on August 06, 2025, 03:51:03 PM

Title: Laois Premier IHC
Post by: Myrising on August 06, 2025, 03:51:03 PM
Group A

Team   Pts   P   W   L   D   F   A
1   Mountmellick   4   2   2   0   0   43   34
2   Camross GAA Club   2   2   1   1   0   49   32
3   Colt Shanahoe   2   2   1   1   0   28   47
4   Abbeyleix St Lazarians   0   2   0   2   0   32   39

Group B

#   Team   Pts   P   W   L   D   F   A
1   Ballyfin CLG   4   2   2   0   0   53   30
2   Clonaslee St Manmans   2   2   1   1   0   34   35
3   Rathdowney Errill   2   2   1   1   0   39   30
4   Clough Ballacolla   0   2   0   2   0   26   57

Here is how they stand after round 2 Mountmellick and Ballyfin are guaranteed a quarter final at least and could be favourites to reach the final, Mountmellick may be underdogs but could benefit from the bounce that comes with winning the intermediate last year.

By the looks of it there will be one less second team next year which would be no harm as having half of the second tier competition made of second teams isnt good for Laois hurling, that being said obviously if they are better than other teams they should be there.
Title: Re: Laois Premier IHC
Post by: Laois345 on September 10, 2025, 06:51:42 AM
I see Colt have put in an objection against their result v Rathdowney Errill. Pat Phelan decided to blow up the game at 28mins.

Sounds harmless but I'd argue there was another 8 mins to play as there were stoppages in second half, included one long one for 3/4 mins.

What was he thinking? Good to see this stuff not being brushed under the carpet. Simply can't be happening in this day and age.
Post by: Laois man on September 10, 2025, 09:00:35 AM
Replay Sunday
Post by: Laoisred on September 10, 2025, 09:05:01 AM
A mistake on the part of the referee for sure. But I suppose errors happen. Apparently watch was stopped on 33 (the time he played in the first half). Rules are rules and as I understand it, both halves must have at least 30 mins of play. Pity for RE who had them beaten out the gate and were 12 points up. It will be tighter the next day.
Post by: Laois345 on September 10, 2025, 12:23:50 PM
I'm delighted it's being replayed. Referees have to show accountability for their actions also.

I have time for referees, it's a tough job, but sometimes it's good to see them being kept in check. The standard is generally low as it is, so I hope it serves as a metaphorical kick in the arse and it doesn't happen again.

Rathdowney bet them well, but it will be tighter next day. Colt grew into it a bit near the end. Old legs in that rathdowney team too. Who know.

Post by: Plentymorehurlsontheline on September 10, 2025, 01:25:32 PM
I don't think they grew into it at all, they got a goal which was answered by a goal almost immediately. Another few minutes were not going to change anything.
It will definitely be closer the next day though, C/S will surely have learned a few lessons.
Post by: Ballygowen on September 11, 2025, 11:14:17 AM
I suppose they are intitled to appeal it, and i suppose why not? if they get beat its no different to the previous result, but if they win (slim chance) well then its a great call. Probably more pressure on RE now to win again. Positive thing to take from it whether people think its a farce or not is that it will hopefully keep tabs on referees and improve the standards.
Post by: Mad Mentor on September 13, 2025, 07:50:10 PM
Replay will not now take place as R/E appealed the decision and won. To have to replay a match you were winning by 10 points because the referee made a mistake would have been harsh. Especially when the reason there should have been added time was because one of our lads was injured by a bad pull on him by a C/S player. It was grasping at straws IMHO.
Post by: Verbal on September 13, 2025, 08:03:52 PM
Any idea of the basis or grounds for their appeal?
Post by: Mad Mentor on September 13, 2025, 08:58:16 PM
I think it was that we were being penalised for the refs mistake.
Post by: Laois man on September 13, 2025, 09:33:10 PM
As they say in laois refs decision is final. Weather it's right or wrong.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on September 14, 2025, 09:52:01 AM
Opinions on whether Colt Shanahoe could have won the game in the time remaining are all fine, interesting and good pub talk but they don't have any place in this discussion.

The rule 3.2 states that the game must be replayed if the full time is not played. It doesn't say anything about guessing who would have won and awarding them the game.

If we are any kind of an organisation in Laois and we hold the rules in any kind of regard the game must be replayed. More for the integrity of the county board than anything else.
Post by: Plentymorehurlsontheline on September 14, 2025, 10:38:51 AM
The playing time shall consist of two periods
of thirty minutes each, but time shall be added
on in each period for incidental or deliberate
delays. This shall be termed 'Normal Time'.
 Exceptions:
 (i) In Inter-County Senior Championship,
National League, Subsidiary Competition
and Tournament games, the playing time
shall consist of two periods of 35 minutes
each.
 (ii) The playing time may be reduced by local
Bye-Laws for Under 15 or younger games.
Post by: Verbal on September 14, 2025, 10:49:24 AM
Just to be clear. Did the referee play 28 minutes in total?

So there would have been 2 + possibly 5 or 6 minutes (there were stoppages above the norm I believe?)
Post by: Plentymorehurlsontheline on September 14, 2025, 11:03:07 AM
28 and change going by the clubber clock. I'd say 4 minutes minimum extra time, R/E had a lad down for a good few minutes (a yellow for that foul was debatable to say the least).
Post by: Laois345 on September 14, 2025, 01:03:25 PM
I reckon there should have been 6 maybe 7 minutes left from the time whistle was blown, that's including added time.
Post by: Ballygowen on September 14, 2025, 01:05:40 PM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on September 14, 2025, 09:52:01 AMOpinions on whether Colt Shanahoe could have won the game in the time remaining are all fine, interesting and good pub talk but they don't have any place in this discussion.

The rule 3.2 states that the game must be replayed if the full time is not played. It doesn't say anything about guessing who would have won and awarding them the game.

If we are any kind of an organisation in Laois and we hold the rules in any kind of regard the game must be replayed. More for the integrity of the county board than anything else.

Spot on with this post. Regardless of what was in it there wasn't enough time played. At what stage does it sit well with people to appeal, 3 points in it, 5 points in it? With the match been postponed it now sets a precedence going forward. Co board make a balls of this? Is the match postponed or is it canceled and R/E in the semi next Saturday? Could make a balls for fixtures now
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on September 14, 2025, 02:41:58 PM
At what stage can referees (and I'm not saying this happened here at all) blow up a game early because they need to be somewhere with no repercussions whatsoever? Is it 10 pts with 7-8 mins to go? Could they do it for 8 points? Or 6? Walk off and say 'ah ye wouldn't have won that.'
Post by: Jd on September 14, 2025, 02:43:06 PM
Quote from: Ballygowen on September 14, 2025, 01:05:40 PM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on September 14, 2025, 09:52:01 AMOpinions on whether Colt Shanahoe could have won the game in the time remaining are all fine, interesting and good pub talk but they don't have any place in this discussion.

Spot on with this post. Regardless of what was in it there wasn't enough time played. At what stage does it sit well with people to appeal, 3 points in it, 5 points in it? With the match been postponed it now sets a precedence going forward. Co board make a balls of this? Is the match postponed or is it canceled and R/E in the semi next Saturday? Could make a balls for fixtures now

I'd imagine only postponed .......sure the Co Board ruled according to the rules. If R/E appeal the ruling then I presume it'll have to be heard and again decided on. Rightly or wrongly C/S had grounds to appeal as it's accepted that the match was blown up early. R/E can appeal that decision and so it's back in front of some committee who will again rule on it. If either club don't agree with the ruling then I'm sure they can take it further. Fecks up the schedule but it has to be done properly otherwise some club will have a gripe about it
Post by: Plentymorehurlsontheline on September 14, 2025, 05:16:28 PM
Is it definitely in the rules that there's a replay for blowing up the match early?
Post by: Laois345 on September 14, 2025, 06:56:58 PM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on September 14, 2025, 02:41:58 PMAt what stage can referees (and I'm not saying this happened here at all) blow up a game early because they need to be somewhere with no repercussions whatsoever? Is it 10 pts with 7-8 mins to go? Could they do it for 8 points? Or 6? Walk off and say 'ah ye wouldn't have won that.'

Couldn't agree more. There's a wider point to this than whether or not Colt would have come back and got a result or not. It's about accountability, we're into the realm now where it can happen again and be brushed under the carpet. A precedent has been set.
Post by: Mad Mentor on September 14, 2025, 07:36:28 PM
Why would having a replay lead to accountability for the ref and county board? Unless you make the same ref do it for free and the county board pay the supporters to attend. All it does is punish R/E who would probably have been without the player who was injured in the game.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on September 14, 2025, 08:02:02 PM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on September 14, 2025, 07:36:28 PMWhy would having a replay lead to accountability for the ref and county board? Unless you make the same ref do it for free and the county board pay the supporters to attend. All it does is punish R/E who would probably have been without the player who was injured in the game.

Laois GAA are supposed to uphold the rules of the GAA all the times. Not some of the time, not when it suits them or certain clubs. All of the time. We should be able to trust them to do the correct thing even when it is difficult.

This is one such time. Its a horrible situation. RE have been unlucky but we cannot wander into the realm of 'ah they probably would have won anyway' and usher a team into the next round.

As has been said earlier, where do we draw the line? It's clear in the rule book where the line is. If a game is not completed, it must be replayed. There is no caveat for unassailable leads or anything else.

Its very simple. If the co board are to have any respectability then they enforce the rules without favour or prejudice. If not we are in the Wild West.

Post by: Plentymorehurlsontheline on September 14, 2025, 08:07:08 PM
Where is it clear in the rules book though? I put up the rule that was mentioned and there's nothing about a replay in it.
Post by: Mad Mentor on September 14, 2025, 09:16:26 PM
There's no mention of replays in the rule.
Post by: SCFC on September 15, 2025, 11:14:25 AM
I don't know the ins and outs of the particular game but it seems to me that whatever body allowed RE's appeal has left itself open to further appeals at higher levels by Colt Shanahoe if they are interested in doing so.
Post by: Ballygowen on September 15, 2025, 02:33:11 PM
Looking at Laois Gaa Fixtures they have RE V Mountmellick on Saturday evening at 5pm in trumera. so whatever loop hole they went down they were successful.
Post by: Laois man on September 18, 2025, 01:35:43 PM
Clonad in the junior C final tonight and intermediate sfinal the weekend there putting in a big effort out there and have good numbers.
Post by: Laois345 on September 19, 2025, 06:40:18 AM
If a referee decides to blow up at game this weekend with one team up by a point and 29 minutes played then it can't be replayed based on previous precedent set.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on September 19, 2025, 07:29:54 AM
Not sure the precedent has been fully set yet
Post by: Zooming around on September 19, 2025, 09:03:48 AM
On what grounds was Rathdowney/Errill's appeal upheld?
Post by: border on September 19, 2025, 05:23:21 PM
Anybody else here that Colt/Shanahoe have lodged another appeal
Post by: Mad Mentor on September 19, 2025, 08:54:17 PM
R/E vs Mountmellick match will not be played tomorrow. C/S have taken it to the DRA.
The remaining two minutes and any additional time due should be all that is played. Why should R/E have to replay the whole match?
Post by: Plentymorehurlsontheline on September 19, 2025, 10:45:24 PM
I remember a few years ago, Kilmacud Crokes finished a club All-Ireland final with 16 men. Obviously this is against the rules. In a much bigger game, that was alot closer, Glen pulled out of their appeal and gave up on the chance of a replay.
Anyone saying that C/S are right to appeal are being ridiculous IMO. They might have not played as well as they can but on the day, they were well beaten and the extra few minutes in all likelihood would have made the scoreline worse. I can say with 100% certainty that if the roles were reversed then R/E would not entertain the thoughts of an appeal.
Post by: Laois345 on September 20, 2025, 07:52:01 AM
I think people are missing the point here, this is about the upholding of standards, not about how much C/S were beaten by.

It's very simple, do we want to set a dangerous precedent here where Laois GAA can literally play by their own rules or do we want actually follow the rules of the GAA? Dangerous territory. I am from neither place and I know what should happen.

People keep quoting the scoreline, it's irrelevant. It could be 40 point loss and it should still be replayed. If it was a one point loss, people would be saying it should be replayed, which shows their ethical compass is guided by the scoreboard and not the rules.
Post by: Plentymorehurlsontheline on September 20, 2025, 08:01:08 AM
So if we are following the rules of the GAA, what rule says it has to be a replay? Because I can't find it. And there are definitely matches that were blew up early in the past that didn't get replayed.
Post by: Lovely laois on September 20, 2025, 08:26:57 AM
I believe this is to make an example of the referee in question more than anything. Yes R/E the better team without question but you cannot blow up a game with 28 minutes played when it it clearly states in the rules that 30 minutes must be played in each half. The same referee is down to officiate a semi final in the sabe grade tonight which in itself is very questionable as I would have imagined that referee would be stood down until this matter was rectified and also this is not the first time concerns have arisen with this referee which have included errors in score keeping in the past.
Post by: From the Terrace on September 21, 2025, 08:21:32 PM
Agree completely with last poster. How does ref get a semi-final, when championship is in limbo over a mistake he made.
Only in Laois would this happen, an example of poor judgement shown by Laois CCC/executive.
Post by: Laois345 on September 21, 2025, 09:32:52 PM
Quote from: From the Terrace on September 21, 2025, 08:21:32 PMAgree completely with last poster. How does ref get a semi-final, when championship is in limbo over a mistake he made.
Only in Laois would this happen, an example of poor judgement shown by Laois CCC/executive.

There is no accountability for referees in this county. This incident should serve to promote accountability amongst them.

The standards need to be raised and accountability is the only way to achieve that.
Post by: Lovely laois on September 21, 2025, 09:53:32 PM
Not enough variation in referees
.same refs getting the same games year in year out. Questions have to be asked and maybe clubs need to have more input with regards to this
Post by: Jd on September 22, 2025, 11:54:48 AM
Same refs are getting matches cos there aren't enough refs at the hurling end of things. You talk about clubs having an input into it. Perhaps a start would be that clubs start getting people to sign up to ref. I believe the ref in question is well regarded as a ref among the clubs and does a lot of matches at both juvenile and adult levels. He made a mistake and held his hands up to it. Should we ban him from refereeing for two years maybe or is one enough. The clubs in question are going through the various processes open to them according to the rules. At the end of it a decision will be made and life will go on
Post by: From the Terrace on September 22, 2025, 12:03:31 PM
No-one saying ref should be banned, stood down for at least one round of championship would be appropriate.
For him to get the semi-final is ridiculous. No accountability is the major problem.
Agree we need to promote refereeing in our clubs
Post by: Laois Rising on September 22, 2025, 12:08:06 PM
Quote from: Laois345 on September 21, 2025, 09:32:52 PM
Quote from: From the Terrace on September 21, 2025, 08:21:32 PMAgree completely with last poster. How does ref get a semi-final, when championship is in limbo over a mistake he made.

Mistakes happen. it was an honest mistake- this is not the premier league where referees are full time professionals. Accountability-if ever there was a Sky Sports pundits term it's that.  Go to every and any county forum page and you have posters with the same gripes etc. regarding referees. It is a thankless job-as you are showing this with your comments. Some referees are better than others. Accept that mistakes happen and at the end of the day it is only sport. No one is intentionally going out to referee these games to purposefully sabotage a club or make bad calls. If you are so passionate about this you can go contact your local Referee Administrator, either Vincent Dowling on (086) 339 7952 or Maurice Deegan on (086) 803 3823 and discuss with them the importance of accountability. I'm sure they would be very appreciative of your thoughts. While you are onto them they will also be able give you details on upcoming GAA Referee Foundation Course in Laois, which you will have to complete before you can referee games. GAA Club Referee Course only take 3 nights to complete and are delivered by GAA Referee Tutors. You'll be good to go for the 2026 season.
Post by: From the Terrace on September 22, 2025, 12:40:50 PM
Quote from: Laois Rising on September 22, 2025, 12:08:06 PM
Quote from: Laois345 on September 21, 2025, 09:32:52 PM

Mistakes happen. it was an honest mistake- this is not the premier league where referees are full time professionals. Accountability-if ever there was a Sky Sports pundits term it's that.  Go to every and any county forum page and you have posters with the same gripes etc. regarding referees. It is a thankless job-as you are showing this with your comments. Some referees are better than others. Accept that mistakes happen and at the end of the day it is only sport. No one is intentionally going out to referee these games to purposefully sabotage a club or make bad calls. If you are so passionate about this you can go contact your local Referee Administrator, either Vincent Dowling on (086) 339 7952 or Maurice Deegan on (086) 803 3823 and discuss with them the importance of accountability. I'm sure they would be very appreciative of your thoughts. While you are onto them they will also be able give you details on upcoming GAA Referee Foundation Course in Laois, which you will have to complete before you can referee games. GAA Club Referee Course only take 3 nights to complete and are delivered by GAA Referee Tutors. You'll be good to go for the 2026 season.

I have refereed games. Scorekeeping & timekeeping are fundamental to refereeing. He is a poor ref end of.
Players training all year for their championship to be thrown into limbo by a referee who is clearly not up to it.

Talk in circles about sky sports all you like.
Post by: Verbal on September 22, 2025, 06:46:58 PM
There's truth on both sides here.
There has been a cohort of hurling referees in the county who have gotten totally out of hand in the past 10-15 years.
Some disgraceful things have been ignored or allowed through when all including the county board knew there was skullduggery/settling of scores/downright dishonesty at play.
I don't think this incident falls into that category.
A simple mistake was made. It's up to the rule makers to pass judgement afterwards, but stepping the referee down wouldn't be appropriate.
Post by: Lovely laois on September 22, 2025, 10:48:21 PM
In Offaly referees get a write up in the Offaly express on there performances after games and this can either be positive or negative. I think a section on the referee performance should be included in laois today reports for example. This would be a good way to highlight other referees who are not in the like light and who are never offered the opportunity the referee bigger games, it must be very disheartening for some refs looking at the same lads year in year out and let's be honest rarely move outside the 65s!!! Why would anyone stay reffing when that is what they are looking at and knowing no change will come. No shortage of referees, problem is at least 5-6 referees should retire and move away and let the younger and fit referees have a real yo at proving themselves
Post by: Mad Mentor on September 23, 2025, 05:31:14 PM
R/E v C/S will be replayed this Sunday in Rathdowney at 12 o'clock after R/E offered this "in the best interests of our players and Laois GAA".
Ref TBC
Post by: Laois345 on September 23, 2025, 07:45:02 PM
Ref Pat Phelan, why not
Post by: Ballygowen on September 24, 2025, 09:16:50 AM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on September 23, 2025, 05:31:14 PMR/E v C/S will be replayed this Sunday in Rathdowney at 12 o'clock after R/E offered this "in the best interests of our players and Laois GAA".
Ref TBC

I saw that on Laois today, although is it not strange that R/E have home advantage? surely a neutral venue could be got?
Post by: Plentymorehurlsontheline on September 24, 2025, 09:20:10 AM
Quote from: Ballygowen on September 24, 2025, 09:16:50 AM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on September 23, 2025, 05:31:14 PMR/E v C/S will be replayed this Sunday in Rathdowney at 12 o'clock after R/E offered this "in the best interests of our players and Laois GAA".
Ref TBC

I saw that on Laois today, although is it not strange that R/E have home advantage? surely a neutral venue could be got?

Yeah, sure look, R/E should just give the game to C/S. It is completely their fault after all 🤷
Post by: Ballygowen on September 24, 2025, 10:29:22 AM
Quote from: Plentymorehurlsontheline on September 24, 2025, 09:20:10 AM
Quote from: Ballygowen on September 24, 2025, 09:16:50 AM
Ref TBC

Yeah, sure look, R/E should just give the game to C/S. It is completely their fault after all 🤷

to be fair its not C/S fault either. I just find it strange that a replay would be in one of the teams home venue. why wouldn't it be in a neutral venue like all other 1/4 finals in PI?
Post by: Plentymorehurlsontheline on September 24, 2025, 10:34:44 AM
Well it happened because R/E offered a replay on the one clause that the game was played in Rathdowney and C/S agreed to it. Other than that, it would have dragged on for god knows how long. It's not C/S's fault but they are definitely getting away with one and I stand by my earlier statement that if it was the other way around, it would not have been appealed.
Post by: Ballygowen on September 24, 2025, 10:56:48 AM
Well look, if they agreed to it so be it. I personally wouldn't of agreed to it. its solved now anyways. the PI Championship can move on

Post by: Plentymorehurlsontheline on September 24, 2025, 11:13:00 AM
To be honest I'm surprised they did if they were willing to fight everything else. Will be interesting to see if they learned lessons from the first day. It should bring a good crowd!
Post by: Mad Mentor on September 28, 2025, 02:38:35 PM
Replay result :
Rathdowney Errill 1:19
Colt Shanahoe 0:11
Post by: Verbal on September 28, 2025, 03:22:54 PM
How did the ref get on?
Post by: Mad Mentor on September 28, 2025, 04:14:16 PM
Quote from: Verbal on September 28, 2025, 03:22:54 PMHow did the ref get on?

Brochan Reilly was the ref and he was fine. Having a score board helps. To the credit of both teams it was a good clean game.
Post by: Laoisred on September 28, 2025, 07:09:51 PM
Was at the match. A non event, the same as the first day really. Mountmellick will be a different challenge for RE.