GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: TBT on June 20, 2007, 11:36:52 PM

Title: Dublin & Offaly in Leinster U21 Hurling final
Post by: TBT on June 20, 2007, 11:36:52 PM
Dublin 3-12 Wexford 2-14
Offaly 1-13 KK 0-13

Should be a v good final.
Title: Re: Dublin & Offaly in Leinster U21 Hurling final
Post by: INDIANA on June 21, 2007, 12:46:39 AM
good day alright- dublin hung on but always led. ref was  a disgrace for both teams but we hung on. offaly have a lot of senior experience so it should be  agood final. think it's in parnell.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 21, 2007, 06:46:47 AM
Fantastic result for Offaly, and a real shot in the arm. I think this is our first win over Kilkenny at any grade since 2000, which is way too long for a county that was getting used to Cats scalps in the 80s and 90s.

Great news altogether, and I hope it'll be a great U-21 final as well. There might be hope for Leinster hurling at senior level yet....
Post by: clootfromthe21 on June 21, 2007, 01:35:42 PM
Any one know when the final is?
Post by: INDIANA on June 21, 2007, 01:48:20 PM
18th july parnell park.
Post by: glens73 on June 21, 2007, 02:26:08 PM
Is this not a heck of a result for Offaly?

Correct me if I'm wrong but have the Cats not been hammering Offaly at all grades for years now.

Post by: INDIANA on June 21, 2007, 02:36:08 PM
fine win by offaly- by all accounts kk aren't that strong at u21 level this year. but that's by their standards - any win over kilkenny at any grade is a hell of a result. Offaly like dublin have about 10 senior panelists playing so it wasn't a huge shock - offaly were quietly fancied to win and have an extremely good side this year.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on June 22, 2007, 08:46:53 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 21, 2007, 02:36:08 PM
fine win by offaly- by all accounts kk aren't that strong at u21 level this year. but that's by their standards
Kilkenny lost the 2004 All Ireland minor final by 1 point, after a replay, so they were hardly that bad either.
Post by: INDIANA on June 22, 2007, 11:14:49 AM
spoke to kilkenny people beofre the game- reckoned it was the worst side since 2000 -they expected nothing -mind you that's by their standards but jesus they hadn't a good word to say about it.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on June 22, 2007, 11:56:43 AM
Kilkenny are great lads for that. When they lose it's because they were bad, nothing got to do with the opposition's prowess.
I'm sure they didn't pick 2000 as a random year either, if you follow the same logic.
They have no accurate way of gauging the relevant strengths of their teams year on year, but since they lost to Offaly that year, then they assume they themselves must have been shite.
Heaven forbid another county had a decent vintage in a particular year.
Post by: tayto on June 22, 2007, 01:09:49 PM
Well done to Offaly, a great result for Leinster - even Kilkenny fans agree.
Someone made the point that kilkenny beat this offaly side at minor by 17 points, that's a hellofa turnaround from minor to u21.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 22, 2007, 02:55:50 PM
Imagine what we'll do to them at senior level??? :D
Post by: tayto on June 22, 2007, 04:17:40 PM
if only it'd work out that simple!

Good thing was this result wasnt totally unexpected.

The winner of the Leinster final gets the Ulster champions in the semi so it's all to play for, this is probably the biggest hurling match in dublin hurling in a long time, Hope to god we get some of the lads back in time for the 18th. Unfortunately I have a feeling we wont be seeing Mccaffery hurling again this summer, he needs to get that injury sorted for once and for all.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 22, 2007, 04:49:19 PM
To be honest Tayto, I think this is a bigger game for Offaly than Dublin. The perception at large is that hurling is dying in Offaly, and certainly some of the maulings the senior team have gotten in the past few years would attest to that opinion. Our underage teams have also been very unsuccessful, by and large. Now I feel that our underage teams are always going to struggle until a batch all come together, because our county pick is small. I think our seniors are better than their results show, but constantly being beaten down by the top teams has led to a huge crisis in confidence with them.

If the Under 21s were to win Leinster, it would re-inforce with them that they *can* compete, and have the hurling skills to do so. With such a large number of them on the senior panel, I would expect that to give a boost there as well. Beating Kilkenny will already have been a big fillip. We need lads who are not automatically starting with an inferiority complex with Kilkenny, and I bet BRian Cody wasn't too happy with that result in Nowlan Park.

Having said that, it would be an even bigger boost for the lads themselves to go on now and win Leinster, and would only enhance that feeling that they belong at the top table of hurling counties.

Dublin on the other hand are improving, and are already strong at underage level. If they win, it will simply underline that fact, but if they lose, the wheels will not come off the wagon.
Post by: tayto on June 22, 2007, 05:05:31 PM
I agree that Offaly could well do with the boost, if they were up against anyone else i'd cheer them on. but so could Dublin, we've been knocking on the door of an U21 Leinster title for so long, to finally win it would be a massive boost to everyone involved in the underage coaching development system, and the players themselves. success at this level would possibly make the decision for dual players that little bit more difficult to make, we've loads of talented dual players coming through, i want the decision of which code to stick with to be as difficult as possible for them. All this underage progress badly needs to silverware at an older age group to help keep the whole show on the road.

I don't go along with this hurling dying in Offaly stuff, seems to me it's impossible for any county with a small pick to stay successful over the decades, you're bound to need rebuilding periods. I dont know if it's true but I believe they were slow to setup the underage structures, combined with a small pick the current malaise was probably enevitable, I'm sure you'll be back. Sher did St Rynagh's give Castleknock a hellofa game in the Feile, much moreso then a lot of the other teams they met.

Still think we'll be up against it mind you.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 16, 2007, 03:28:46 PM
Going to go to this on wednesday.Would like to see Dublin win too be honest
Post by: AZOffaly on July 16, 2007, 03:41:47 PM
That's not the deal. We have it already sorted out. Dublin win the Minor, Offaly the Under 21 and Kilkenny the Senior.

Offaly need this even more than Dublin do.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 16, 2007, 06:13:42 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 16, 2007, 03:41:47 PM
That's not the deal. We have it already sorted out. Dublin win the Minor, Offaly the Under 21 and Kilkenny the Senior.

Offaly need this even more than Dublin do.

Offaly always seem to be needing something ::),It was the same when they were relegated and the Offaly Manager starting crowing about Offaly hurling needing to be in Divison 1 when it was a downright disgrace that Laois weren't being promoted after winning Div 2.But the Offaly manager failed to mention that,It didn't matter that Laois hurling might have needed it sure their only minnows

I hope Dublin win,I think it's silly saying Offaly need it more.It's a final it's not about someone needing to win it's about whos the best and i think Dublin hurling will offer more than Offaly over the next ten years
Post by: AZOffaly on July 16, 2007, 06:31:21 PM
Laoislad, you are some tulip. Yes Offaly need to win this, and we need it more than Dublin because Dublin have far more success at underage in the recent past than we do.

And your own assertion that Dublin will offer more in the next 10 years is the precise reason why Offaly need it more at the moment. We need to rally ourselves.

Regarding McIntyre's idiotic comments, I think every Offaly person I've spoken to disassociates themselves from them. If we were poor enough to go down, then down we go. Likewise Laois should have come up to make it a 10 team division. If ye had a years hurling at Division 1, maybe ye could even give us a game in the Championship next year.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 16, 2007, 06:32:55 PM
PS. Unlike Laois when I say 'we need' I mean 'we need to burst ourselves to win it'. When Laois say 'we need', they go and hire Mick O'Dwyer.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 16, 2007, 06:34:52 PM
Im no Tulip im more of a cactus..
Post by: AZOffaly on July 16, 2007, 06:35:41 PM
That's a very easy set up Laoislad, but I'll not lower myself :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 16, 2007, 06:39:03 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 16, 2007, 06:35:41 PM
That's a very easy set up Laoislad, but I'll not lower myself :D

;) Come on the BIFFOS DIVISION 4 FOOTBALLERS AND DIVISON 2 HURLERS!!!

only joking of course AZ i love Offaly
Post by: INDIANA on July 16, 2007, 07:50:04 PM
going to be close- just praying mc caffrey is fit- we need all hands on deck for this one.
Post by: dubsnsubs on July 18, 2007, 03:04:47 PM
Agreed it will be close but I'd make Offaly slight favourites due to their victory over Kilkenny in Kilkenny being worth more than our 1 point victory over Wexford in Parnell park. Also Dublins injuries have to have an effect. Heres hoping for a big crowd and a good game.
Up the Dubs!
Post by: Gnevin on July 18, 2007, 03:10:28 PM
Someone told me this is sold out , can any one confirm?
Post by: Lone Shark on July 18, 2007, 03:13:32 PM
I can't imagine it - I didn't even hear anything about tickets going on sale down in Offaly myself. (Albeit I'm living in Galway and can't travel due to work, but even so....) There'll be some ructions if this is the case - many people I know didn't know anything about tickets and are just travelling up.

I don't remember a press release or anything saying it'll be all ticket?
Post by: Onlooker on July 18, 2007, 03:40:26 PM
I would like to see Offaly win this one and I believe that they will.
Post by: dubsnsubs on July 18, 2007, 04:16:06 PM
This match is deffo pay at the gate. I'd expect 8/9000 to attend....hopefully.
Post by: Lone Shark on July 18, 2007, 09:00:38 PM
Congrats to the Dub folk. Our lads kept battling, but there were just too many of them not at the races. Dublin were outhurling us in too many areas of the field, and barring a few spells either side of half time they were the better team. We'd have been delighted to take the draw if we got it, but it would have been undeserved on the night.

Now go and win the bloody thing please. If we have to lose, I really hope it goes to a county that would actually get a real boost from the win, and no disrespect but that ain't Galway or Cork.
Post by: Canalman on July 18, 2007, 09:09:17 PM
Missed game doe to work. Absolutely delighted for the lads and we had a clubman on the team.
Makes up for my treks to the previous finals and hopefully we can make the AIF. Our bogey team Antrim awaits in the long grass.

The moving of O'Dwyer out to centre half forward in the 2nd half and the intro of McCaffrey swung the game back to Dublin imo.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2007, 09:48:28 PM
Great game really enjoyed it,Some great Hurling and was delighted to see Dublin win
Post by: Gnevin on July 18, 2007, 10:40:08 PM
Well done to the lads , super win , great game, great crowd and great atmosphere  (I wonder if we'll be begruded this)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2007, 10:41:10 PM
Quote(I wonder if we'll be begruded this)

Post by: slow corner back on July 18, 2007, 10:58:40 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 18, 2007, 09:02:55 PM
Aontroim hammer An Dun to set up an All Ireland semi final with the Dubs (I think I saw somewhere).
According to tadays irish news the ulster u-21 is a round robin affair so antrim still have to play derry although I would hope we have too much for them. If that is the case it should be a good semi with ourselves and dublin. Congratulations to dublin on your win, your are obviously hot favourites to make the final now.  ;)
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 11:57:16 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 18, 2007, 10:40:08 PM
Well done to the lads , super win , great game, great crowd and great atmosphere  (I wonder if we'll be begruded this)

Na for some reason they want us to do well in the Hurling, apparently it will raise the profile of the game!!! Great night for Dublin Hurling tho.

Sam is number 1!
Post by: tayto on July 19, 2007, 12:17:07 AM
Ah jaysus lads can you not just leave the snide stuff and just enjoy the night.

Two Leinster hurling titles this summer. I'm feckin floating about the place. Two leinster titles in the one week. Go'Wan Dublin!

hard luck to Offaly, jesus christ but yez didnt give up. Very enjoyable game. I'd be a bit disappointed with some of your players attitude, they didnt seem as fired up as you'd expect from a team that beat Kilkenny to get to a Leinster final. Still think you'll get a few handy hurler for the seniors off that team and the weekend showed how much more we need the underage lads coming through then you do.

Great to see Johnny Mc come on when things were going wrong, I always felt we'd be able to pull ahead again, we'd just been scoring so well. Durkin also made an impact, couldnt have come back from hie trip at a better time. What a goal at the end to finish the game, just when we were finding it hard to clear the ball down the pitch.

Never seen so many kids at half time hurlin on the pitch in parnell park, there's always a few but jesus it was wedged!  ;D
Post by: Gnevin on July 19, 2007, 12:21:17 AM
http://www.hill16.ie/viewstoryhill16.asp?id=8642&mainheading=Word+on+The+Hill&viewstory=yes

Dubs end under-21 famine

DUBLIN 2-18 OFFALY 3-9

The famine is over and hopefully the pitch wasn't 'compacted' by the jubilant Dublin fans who streamed onto the pitch on a historic night for Dublin hurling!

On Wednesday night for the first time since 1972 Dublin were crowned Leinster U21 hurling champions and for the first time did a minor-U21 provincial hurling double.

A crowd of 8,000 witnessed a thrilling spectacle which contained everything. At one stage of the opening half the Dubs led by nine points, yet ten minutes into the second half where three points in arrears.

From then to the finish though it was Dublin's night as they outscored the Faithful County 1-6 to 0-0 in a determined and composed showing culminating in Peadar Carton's superb goal in stoppage time.

A Ross O'Carroll goal in the fourth minute helped Dublin out of the starting blocks and with Alan McCrabbe accurate from frees and play Sean Lane's side led 1-10 to 0-4 after 25 minutes.

The lightening struck twice inside three minutes as Alan Egan and Joe Bergin (penalty) rattled the Dublin net before Offaly concluded the half with two points to trail by the minimum, 1-10 to 2-6, at the interval.

Four minutes into the second half Offaly hit their third goal when Derek Molloy did not make the cleanest of connections but still enough to edge in front 3-6 to 1-11.

The introduction of John McCaffrey especially and Shane Durkin, however, helped Dublin get up off their knees with McCaffrey's point shortly after being brought on steadying the ship.

But back game Offaly with three points inside two minutes to open up a three-point lead, 3-9 to 1-12, with 20 minutes remaining.

Questions were being asked of the mettle of this Dublin team and they answered loud and clearly with a stirring finish to the game.

A McCrabbe free from the standside under pressure in the 48th minute really lifted the Dublin charge and Durkin superbly angled over a minute later on the terrace flank after a clever delivery into space from Joey Boland.

The Dubs had their dander up and Carton and a the influential McCrabbe (free) added to the Dublin cause with scores.

To finish off on a high note Carton instigated the final nail in the Offaly coffin when he won a ball 45 metres from his won goal before covering three-quarters the length of the park and come in on the end of the move and finish a superb goal to the roof of the Dublin net.

Enter stage left, right and all other directions Dublin fans of all ages to celebrate.

SCORERS - Dublin: A McCrabbe 0-9 (0-4f, 0-1 '65'), P Carton 1-2, R O'Carroll 1-0, T Brady, D Connolly, D O'Dwyer, S Durkin 0-1 each. Offaly: J Bergin 1-1 (1-0 pen), C Slevin 0-3, A Egan, D Molloy 1-0 each, D Horan (0-1f), S Dooley 0-2 each, S Ryan 0-1.
DUBLIN - P Curtin; R Drumgoole, P Callaghan, D Webster; K Dunne, T Brady, M McGarry; J Boland, A McCrabbe; E Moran, D Connolly, S Lehane; P Carton, D O'Dwyer, R O'Carroll. Subs: J McCaffrey for Lehane (34 mins), S Durkin for Moran (35).
OFFALY - M Mulrooney; C Hernon, P Cleary, C Coughlan; D Kenny, B Leonard, B Watkins; S Ryan, C Mahon; C Slevin, D Molloy, D Horan; S Dooley, J Bergin, A Egan. Subs: M Verney for Coughlan (25 mins), K Grogan for Leonard (53), S Molloy (53).
REF - S Whelan (Wexford)

Post by: Gnevin on July 19, 2007, 12:24:25 AM
Quote from: tayto on July 19, 2007, 12:17:07 AM

Never seen so many kids at half time hurlin on the pitch in parnell park, there's always a few but jesus it was wedged!  ;D
Was one else reminded of the film Zulu :D
Post by: dubsnsubs on July 19, 2007, 12:28:12 AM
Great game, great crowd and great result. There can be no doubt but the best team won. Great to see John mc come from the bench and strike two vital points. The future is hopefully blue and hopefully we can keep the heads for the semis. Up the Dubs!
Post by: Bacon on July 19, 2007, 08:02:23 AM
Congratulations Dubs! Well done. Antrim did indeed hammer Down in Ulster but they have to play Derry before the championship is decided. It's a round robin between the 3 counties.
Post by: Sky Blue on July 19, 2007, 08:33:54 AM
Great result now let's go on and win an All Ireland. We need to keep aiming for the top; Leinster is no longer the target. I couldn't get to the match due to work. Dubs for the double??  ;D
Post by: GY Joe on July 19, 2007, 08:40:39 AM

Well done to Dublin and hard luck to Offaly, although the best team won IMO. I thought it was a cracking match.. The Dub no. 13 looks a real player man.. v good.. In all I can see alot of players coming off that u21 team. Thought they were very big lads too..

Gotta be a good team coming out of BAC over the next 5 yrs
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 19, 2007, 09:20:50 AM
Quote from: Sky Blue on July 19, 2007, 08:33:54 AM
Great result now let's go on and win an All Ireland. We need to keep aiming for the top; Leinster is no longer the target. I couldn't get to the match due to work. Dubs for the double??  ;D

Yeah Minor and U/21 Hurling double for the Dubs this year.Hope they do it
Post by: AZOffaly on July 19, 2007, 09:26:26 AM
Congratulations to Dublin, although I am very disappointed. They totally deserved their win, and as Lone Shark said, were the better team all over the pitch apart from about 2 spells of 10 minutes each.

The post mortems can wait from an Offaly perspective, but I thought our first touch under pressure was very poor, and I would have expected better. Dublin have a load of good hurlers though, and it is no shame to lose to a better team. We have to go back and keep at it, but I hope Dublin go on and win the All Ireland. Well done lads.
Post by: INDIANA on July 19, 2007, 10:09:26 AM
Over the moon really-the quality of the game was terrific and the second goal willl stay with me forever. Hopefully we can push on - thought mc crabbe was great but i thought the half back line was terrific. Dunne is a wonderful stickman and i thought Brady was out of this world.
I'd like to say i hope to see offaly back soon the goodwill from their fans was great to see and very much appreciated..
Post by: Hound on July 19, 2007, 10:14:44 AM
Fantastic game. Credit to both teams. Great to see the Dubs had the resolve to come back from conceding three scrappy (from a Dublin perspective) goals - absolute body blows, I was on my knees!

Great goal at the end to finish it off - although bad decision not to take his point!!
Post by: Billys Boots on July 19, 2007, 10:24:43 AM
Congrats to the Dubs, great stuff indeed.  Exciting times, hopefully, for hurling enthusiasts in the capital.
Post by: tayto on July 19, 2007, 10:29:17 AM
Thanks lads, especially the offaly boys, very gracious in defeat.

Looking forward to seeing how both teams fare again non-Leinster counties.
Post by: Declan on July 19, 2007, 10:38:53 AM
Great result and the scenes at the end were fantastic. Cmon you boys in blue. Can we say Dublin are now a true dual county?
Fair play to the Offaly lads as well. Gracious as befits their fine tradition
Post by: bottlethrower7 on July 19, 2007, 10:42:11 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 19, 2007, 10:14:44 AM
Great goal at the end to finish it off - although bad decision not to take his point!!

having some Fergal Chambers flashbacks were we then?

I think he did the right thing. A player so obviously on top of his game, you couldn't begrudge him. And what a move, started on the half-back line on one wing, and finished up the opposite end on the other wing by Carton, who probably should have been watching from the sidelines while serving a 6-month ban.

This will probably get RTE's next 'best moment of the TV age' award, as it was even better than Micheal Donnellans 60-yard run up the field.

A good little Dublin team there. I had my doubts, mostly because of the management, and I think they were somewhat founded. 1, 4 and 11 have to go off that team. They were the only real weaknesses.
Post by: Mentalman on July 19, 2007, 10:48:45 AM
Caught the game last night on TG4, God bless them for their support of the GAA, and it was a cracker, real blood and guts effort. Felt after tiring themselves out after getting themselves back into the game Offaly paniced at the end, when points would have done the trick. but good on the Dubs, that last end to end goal was something else, real old fashioned balls out hurling! Great stuff.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 19, 2007, 11:58:47 AM
Congrats to the Dub's.  Heard the result on the wireless this morning and Peadar Carton mentioned.  I hurled with Peadar Snr when I hurled with Eoghain Ruaidh and against him on another occasion and I often wonder how many players today had their fathers represent the county?  (Don't mention the Brogan's please!!!!)

Great result for hurling.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 19, 2007, 01:25:52 PM
Great result for hurling - in Dublin. Not so good for us Bud :D
Post by: dublin hurling revolution on July 19, 2007, 02:39:13 PM
thought the dubs were great last night, showed real class not breaking down at the end. excellent performances from mc crabe, mc caffery, carton, brady.. finally showing real hope for dublin hurling in the next few years. dublin did however have some weaknesses(numbers 1,10,12) and if they can sort out those positions they will be real contenders for the all ireland.

i thought the dublin keeper, curtin, was poor. he showed no real strenght around the goal. to be honest i think they would be better off with the minor keeper, mc garry, he is showing up really well for them. dont no if any of the minors are on the 21 panel?? but i think its something the lads on the line should look at.

The crowd at the game and the scenes at the end were fantastic! This crown to add to the minor title won a few weeks back is finally giving reward to all the folks putting in the hard work in dublin. congrats lads, up the dubs!
Post by: tayto on July 19, 2007, 02:58:10 PM
i dont want to nit pick but there's a couple of positions that could be looked at alright.

What was the nameof the keeper ont he colleges team last year, lambert was it? he looked a great prospect i thought.

Thoguht we made the game look simple for spells yesterday, a bit like kilkenny do sometimes.

emotional stuff at the end.

Post by: SuperMac on July 19, 2007, 04:16:08 PM
Great win for the Dubs, hopefully they will capture a Leinster senior in the next few years, hurling could do with Dublin been a major force. I've often wondered why Dublin were not better at hurling, I mean there's plenty of it played all over the city ? But it was an outstanding game, very high standard for U21's from both sides. Dublin will surely go on to win the title. A Dublin hurling revival on the way surely  :)
Post by: bottlethrower7 on July 19, 2007, 04:24:41 PM
Quote from: tayto on July 19, 2007, 02:58:10 PM
What was the nameof the keeper ont he colleges team last year, lambert was it? he looked a great prospect i thought.

the keeper last night was full-back on that colleges team, if I'm not mistaken.

and the sub-keeper last night also was not a keeper and looked to be warming up to be coming on out the field at one stage.
Post by: tayto on July 19, 2007, 04:34:52 PM
Callaghan was fullback on the colleges team as well as last night.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on July 19, 2007, 05:00:30 PM
Quote from: tayto on July 19, 2007, 04:34:52 PM
Callaghan was fullback on the colleges team as well as last night.

I stand corrected

DUBLIN COLLEGES : S Lambert; S Murphy, P Callaghan, M Brannigan; S Ó Seanáin, C Connolly, B Treacy; S O'Rorke, D Connolly; C Mac Giolla Bhride, R O'Carroll, J Maher; D Kelly, J Cooper, P Ryan.
Post by: tayto on July 19, 2007, 06:04:41 PM
He didnt have a great semi final so it's good to see him recover well last night.
Heard good things about Lambert playing outfield for boden.
Then there's bren tracey, another good player.

Paul Ryan - shane O''rourke will all be u21 again next year with some of the minors off this years panel, shoul dbe strong again next year
Post by: INDIANA on July 19, 2007, 07:33:52 PM
tayto
the only players dublin won't have next year are peadar carton/webster/mc crabbe and moran.
the rest of the first 15 plus kevin o reilly(the best forward in the county)/ shane o rourke/mc caffrey/durkin are all elligible next year. that coupled with this year's minors should make dublin fairly shit-hot again next year.
Post by: tayto on July 19, 2007, 08:04:42 PM
Yep fair point Indiana, i wasnt listing them all just thinking off the top of my head, altho McCrabbe in that sort of form is priceless.
Post by: TBT on July 19, 2007, 11:51:14 PM
Lads, I'd be more worried about Antrim than speculating about next season. Dublin made shocking hard word putting away a v limited Offaly side. A KK side of equal standard to Dublin would have won that game by 20 points.
Antrim were a better side than Dublin at minor. It would be a shame if Dublin blew a chance of reaching an All Ire at this stage.
Post by: tayto on July 20, 2007, 11:40:59 AM
Bit harsh on Offaly, i think they're a better team then you're giving them credit for.
Antrim have had some serious minor teams the last few years but I'm not sure i'd agree that they were better the the Dublin 05 minor team.
Post by: INDIANA on July 20, 2007, 04:55:35 PM
i think that's utter bullshit TBT .they had 12 senior intercounty hurlers and i know talking to Offaly people they reckoned it was a hell of  ateam. The simple fact of the matter is Dublin hurled them off the park.
Why is it when Dublin win at hurling the opposition must be shite? Could be breaking news but maybe Dublin are good? I'm just throwing it out there for people like TBT who can't seem to grasp the concept that sometimes better teams come along.
There is no guarantee that we will beat Antrim and Galway are still the favourites. But this is a very good Dublin side and I simply do not accept that us winning the provincial title is a poor reflection on the other teams in the province.
It's typical of the sort of arrogance that exists among the Mafia hurling counties out there who like nothing more than the status quo to remain
Post by: tayto on July 20, 2007, 05:14:28 PM
If we can get Johnny McCaffery, Shane O'Rourke and C.Connolly back fully fit we'll take some beating. O'rourke broke his collar bone against Kildare so shoul dbe back shortly, hope to jaysus McCaffery's injury dosent have a reaction to his half hour on wednesday. Not sure whats up with C.Connolly.
Post by: cnoc16 on July 20, 2007, 07:44:06 PM
I don't neccesarily think we need conor connolly back, as mcgarry at half back was outstanding, in the first half he was the best in that line, as brady and dunne only raised game in second half when they were needed.
thought o'cllaghan in full back was outstanding, i know bergin wasn't in there all the time but i gemnuinely can't remember bergin being in the game in any of the positions he played.
some people have been saying that moran and lehane the two half forward were poor, but in all likelihood come the antrim game, boland will be taking one of them positions as mccaffrey comes in midfield to partner mccrabber, who gave one of the best displays of hurling i've seen at any level this year, great first touch and excellent striking.
durkin done well when he came on so might warrant the other half forward spot, but i reckon moran just had a bad game and may keep his place.
the two corner backs were poorish on the night, but they were probably the two lads who got us to the final based on their performances against wexford, even though webster was taken off.
all in all one of the best days for dublin hurling in my 10 or so years of watching them at minor, 21 and senior.
Post by: TBT on July 20, 2007, 10:01:37 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 20, 2007, 04:55:35 PM
i think that's utter bullshit TBT .they had 12 senior intercounty hurlers and i know talking to Offaly people they reckoned it was a hell of  ateam. The simple fact of the matter is Dublin hurled them off the park.
Why is it when Dublin win at hurling the opposition must be shite? Could be breaking news but maybe Dublin are good? I'm just throwing it out there for people like TBT who can't seem to grasp the concept that sometimes better teams come along.
There is no guarantee that we will beat Antrim and Galway are still the favourites. But this is a very good Dublin side and I simply do not accept that us winning the provincial title is a poor reflection on the other teams in the province.
It's typical of the sort of arrogance that exists among the Mafia hurling counties out there who like nothing more than the status quo to remain
INDIANA,
if you have taken the time to clear the smoke, that came out your ears, from in front of the monitor and actually read my post you'll see that we are in agreement over the fact that Dublin hurled Offaly off the park. The v fact that ye did this and still had to wait for an injury time goal to kill a game that should have been put to bed by half time should not be lost in the euphoria of the win.
I've never met a "mafia hurler" in my life, I think. I've definately never met a genuine hurling follower how wouldn't like to see the likes of Dublin competeing strongly at senior level. I hurled myself in Dublin when I lived there and have plenty of scars to prove this.

Above all else good minor Dublin players appear to be developing into good young adult hurlers. That is the key for a competitve  Dublin senior side.
Post by: INDIANA on July 21, 2007, 04:53:38 PM
Sorry i still think your post is totally incorrect. i saw that antrim side at minor playing limerick that lost narrowly to limerick in parnell park. I presume that's the one you're talking about. I still wouldn't say it was better than Dublin. We aren't in  a position to take anyone for granted and we won't be taking antrim that way. BUt i'll be perfectly blunt about it- if dublin perform i think they'll take antrim because i think they are a better team than them.
As regards a hurling Mafia - i have no doubts that the retention of the cosy cartel that exists in hurling would be the preferable choice of those counties. We all know the key to this is a good senior team but that's still two years down the line at least i'm afraid.
Post by: tayto on July 21, 2007, 07:34:04 PM
Quote from: TBT on July 20, 2007, 10:01:37 PM
Above all else good minor Dublin players appear to be developing into good young adult hurlers. That is the key for a competitve  Dublin senior side.

Very true, its the skills and hurling we're playingthat's exciting, we're not scraping through by a lucky goal or two, we're playing some good bloody stuff and that goes for the minors as well.
Post by: tayto on July 21, 2007, 07:36:47 PM
Quote from: cnoc16 on July 20, 2007, 07:44:06 PM
some people have been saying that moran and lehane the two half forward were poor, but in all likelihood come the antrim game, boland will be taking one of them positions as mccaffrey comes in midfield to partner mccrabber, who gave one of the best displays of hurling i've seen at any level this year, great first touch and excellent striking.
durkin done well when he came on so might warrant the other half forward spot, but i reckon moran just had a bad game and may keep his place.
the two corner backs were poorish on the night, but they were probably the two lads who got us to the final based on their performances against wexford, even though webster was taken off.

Fair comment about Connolly, but he's some player to have on the bench of he does get fit.
Agree Durkin would probably start for me.
someone said they saw O'Reilly warm up??? Is he back from the injury already?
Carton is in trouble over the wild pull in the tipp game so i'd say we'll lose him for the rest of the summer - and rightly so to.
Post by: cnoc16 on July 21, 2007, 10:59:27 PM

Quote from: tayto on July 21, 2007, 07:36:47 PM
Carton is in trouble over the wild pull in the tipp game so i'd say we'll lose him for the rest of the summer - and rightly so to.

well it was a wild pull but they way curran reacted when walking off the pitch was a disgrace. he went up to carton n hit him a sly dig and called him a little bollox.

i don't think that there will be any comeback from it, it was a wild pull and probably malicious, but he shouldn't be suspended for it.
Post by: tayto on July 22, 2007, 12:57:08 AM
eh, why not? He broke someones Jaw with a wild pull and knocked several teeth out.
Post by: cnoc16 on July 22, 2007, 03:06:56 PM
just because a fella gets badly injured doesn't mean there should be an inquest about it. it happened on the ball and if the referee deemed it fit for a red card he should have given one, if not let it be, i've no interest in getting into a discussion about gaa disciplinary procedures but in my opinion the referees decision should be final with regard to incidents that happened on the ball. in all fairness the fella would nearly ned to be decapitated to be sent off in inter county hurling, the level of sendings off is very low, and to reprimand carton would be a disgrace in letting people away with off the ball stuff and much wilder pulls
Post by: INDIANA on July 22, 2007, 03:20:36 PM
I would advise you to exit this debate here and now. Quite frankly as a Dublin fan your comments are a disgrace.It was a disgraceful pull the worst i have seen in over 25 years of watching games etc. He's damn lucky he didn't get 6 months because that's what he deserved.
Paul Curran lost 4 teeth and got  a broken jaw from the incident. Did you expect him to make  a charitable donation to Carton's bank account thanking him for the amount of time he now has to spend in a dentist's chair? It's not something i want associated with Dublin hurling and if Carton is now banned he can have no complaints. I think i speak for the vast majority of Dublin hurling fans in saying that we don't in any way wnat to be associated with your comments which are scandalous quite frankly..
Post by: Lone Shark on July 22, 2007, 08:36:25 PM
Quote from: cnoc16 on July 22, 2007, 03:06:56 PM
to reprimand carton would be a disgrace in letting people away with off the ball stuff and much wilder pulls

What the hell games do you be watching? That was as bad a swipe as I've seen in ages.

As the lads suggested, you'd be fairly on your own in this opinion, Dublin supporters or otherwise.
Post by: resdubwhite on July 23, 2007, 12:07:37 AM
I'm with the majority here too. A horrible horrbile pull. ANd I can't think of one worse.

Hope Curran mends well. Carton is rightly in serious trouble over it.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on July 23, 2007, 10:38:48 AM
Carton should get at least 6 months for that pull. It was the lowest of the low and anyone thinking it was on the ball is deluded. But the ref stupidly gave a yellow card for the incident so I really can't see what else can happen. It might set a dangerous precedent for some disciplinary committee to overrule (and undermine) a ref. In saying that, if there was ever a right time to do it it would be now. Someone like that has no place on a hurling pitch.

And Curran was busy lying on the ground in agony to have reacted, so I'm pretty sure any allegations are well wide of the mark.
Post by: the ship on July 23, 2007, 03:12:13 PM
amazingly bt i have to agree with you again, an appalling wallop as you are ever likely to see
Post by: cnoc16 on July 23, 2007, 05:07:54 PM
Quote from: bottlethrower7 on July 23, 2007, 10:38:48 AM
And Curran was busy lying on the ground in agony to have reacted, so I'm pretty sure any allegations are well wide of the mark.

Curran was well enough to accost carton at the end of the game, right in front of me and many other dublin and tipp fans and players as i strolled across the pitch.

It was a wild pull, i don't think it was malicious and i dont think there should be any comeback if the referee made his decision on it there and then to give him a yellow card.

the disciplinary system has gotten so far out of hand the last three years it is unreal. the fact is that there are pulls like that in club games around the country every weekend and the referee makes a decision on it and it is final. there is no reason why the referees decision shouldn't be final at inter county level, if anything it is telling us that the supposed best referees in the country make mistakes n they have to be overrrled. what does that say for club referees?

we can't keep calling referees decisions into question, as they do one of the hardest jobs and the most thankless jobs in the association. i for one wouldn't ever question a refs decision and respect them fully in their decisions and when they make a decision at intercounty level it should be final.

that is not to say that i don't agree with off the ball stuff being looked at by the disciplinary committees
Post by: bottlethrower7 on July 24, 2007, 08:27:28 AM
Quote from: cnoc16 on July 23, 2007, 05:07:54 PM
It was a wild pull, i don't think it was malicious and i dont think there should be any comeback if the referee made his decision on it there and then to give him a yellow card.

see my previous comment about being deluded
Post by: tayto on July 24, 2007, 10:59:41 AM
When is a decision due?
Post by: slow corner back on July 24, 2007, 08:24:57 PM
Any date set yet for the all ireland semi?
Post by: cnoc16 on July 25, 2007, 11:00:47 AM
carton wrongly is after gettin an eight week suspension, dcb are appealing the decision rightly.

semi final vs antrim is on the weekend of august 19th.
Post by: the ship on July 25, 2007, 11:15:43 AM
8 months he should have got
Post by: homeofhurling8 on July 25, 2007, 11:31:20 AM
Quote from: cnoc16 on July 23, 2007, 05:07:54 PM
Quote from: bottlethrower7 on July 23, 2007, 10:38:48 AM

It was a wild pull, i don't think it was malicious

What colour is the sky on your planet ? What in the name of Christ was Carton attempting to do ? He pulled two feet below the ball into the right side of Currans face as Curran caught the ball in his left hand,if by some freak of nature Carton had actually connected with the ball he would have sent it out over the stand on that side of the field ! It was a deliberate,malicious stroke which Carton took a step back and to the side to execute,as dirty a stroke as we are ever likely to see on a hurling field.

the fact is that there are pulls like that in club games around the country every weekend and the referee makes a decision on it and it is final

Jesus wept,are you for real,so lads around the country are having their faces rearranged and amateur dentistry performed every weekend are they ? Its a wonder we have anyone left playing the game at all.

If the 8 week ban is true then its nothing short of a disgrace.

Post by: Lone Shark on July 25, 2007, 12:34:06 PM
Quote from: cnoc16 on July 25, 2007, 11:00:47 AM
carton wrongly is after gettin an eight week suspension, dcb are appealing the decision rightly.

If Dublin county board are having the cheek to appeal that ban, then Dublin hurling will very quickly find itself losing a lot of the goodwill that's floating round for them at the moment. That is a lenient ban, and i'd imagine most genuine Dublin supporters will be embarassed by the fact that people are trying to get him off, much like we were when Mcintyre went around giving out about the league structure after we got relegated instead of at the start of the year. We'd expect this kind of trickery from the Wig in Cork, not from the Dubs.

If ever there was a case for extending his ban for having the brass neck to appeal, this is the case.

I'm just glad that the Leinster Final was such a comprehensive win. It's a lot easier take defeat knowing your team were outplayed than it would be if we lost by one or two with Carton playing.
Post by: Onlooker on July 25, 2007, 02:43:19 PM
I think that the Dublin County Board are making a big mistake if they appeal the suspension on Paedar Carton, as there must be a very real chance that his suspension will be increased.  I think that 2 months is a very lenient period of suspension.  They are also doing theit best to reduce the amount of goodwill towards Dublin that exists in most hurling counties.   If this appealgoes ahead it would be fitting if Dublin lost to Antrim in the All Ireland Semi Final.  I certainly hope that Antrim win that game.
Post by: tayto on July 25, 2007, 04:49:33 PM
Agree with the lads, appealing this is a joke.

Mind you other counties are just as guilty of this attitude of always trying to get their man off the hook no matter what. It's something I cant stand.

Take the punishment and get on with it.

Agree that an 8 week ban seems lenient if anything, then again, he's going to miss an all Ireland semi-final and possibly final so maybe the length of the ban is fair considering the enormity of the matches he'll miss. The biggest matches in Dublin hurling in decades.
Post by: TBT on July 25, 2007, 04:53:28 PM
With apologies to Paul Curren but this decision highlights the complete farce that is the disciplany structures of the GAA. The CCCC has point blank refused to go down this route with numberous incidents since the tunnel debacle. Media pressure, step forweard Michael Moynihan in the Examiner, have forced their hand in this instance just as that Breheny   oalf called the shots in the tunnel incident. How about some consistency Nickey Brennen.
Post by: TBT on July 25, 2007, 04:54:18 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on July 25, 2007, 12:34:06 PM
Quote from: cnoc16 on July 25, 2007, 11:00:47 AM

If Dublin county board are having the cheek to appeal that ban, then Dublin hurling will very quickly find itself losing a lot of the goodwill that's floating round for them at the moment. That is a lenient ban, and i'd imagine most genuine Dublin supporters will be embarassed by the fact that people are trying to get him off, much like we were when Mcintyre went around giving out about the league structure after we got relegated instead of at the start of the year. We'd expect this kind of trickery from the Wig in Cork, not from the Dubs.

If ever there was a case for extending his ban for having the brass neck to appeal, this is the case.

I'm just glad that the Leinster Final was such a comprehensive win. It's a lot easier take defeat knowing your team were outplayed than it would be if we lost by one or two with Carton playing.
The Wig from Cork is actually a combover.
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on July 25, 2007, 10:18:22 PM
Just when I was starting to distinguish the Dublin hurlers from their football brothers!!! :-[
Post by: INDIANA on July 25, 2007, 11:07:54 PM
bit late in the evening for you fergal?
to be fair i'm embarrassed as a dublin fan that they are appealing this.
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on July 26, 2007, 07:50:59 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 25, 2007, 11:07:54 PM
bit late in the evening for you fergal?
to be fair i'm embarrassed as a dublin fan that they are appealing this.

Can't sleep with the excitement of Wexford beating Tipp at the weekend ;)
Post by: the ship on July 26, 2007, 11:10:50 AM
you will be awake along time then :D :D   
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on July 26, 2007, 11:14:12 AM
Quote from: the ship on July 26, 2007, 11:10:50 AM
you will be awake along time then :D :D   

The Ploughing championship.. I hear we always do well at it ;)
Post by: the ship on July 26, 2007, 11:31:50 AM
reading on an fear rua ye have good handballers who are always on the move.
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on July 26, 2007, 11:35:10 AM
Quote from: the ship on July 26, 2007, 11:31:50 AM
reading on an fear rua ye have good handballers who are always on the move.

Is that a joke about our supposed Itinerant problem ;)
Post by: the ship on July 26, 2007, 11:58:44 AM
did not know ye had one , but while we are on about wexford, staying in wexford for 2 days any advice on things to do and see i have 3 young lads and 1 wife to keep happy
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on July 26, 2007, 01:14:46 PM
Quote from: the ship on July 26, 2007, 11:58:44 AM
did not know ye had one , but while we are on about wexford, staying in wexford for 2 days any advice on things to do and see i have 3 young lads and 1 wife to keep happy

What town you staying in?

Post by: the ship on July 26, 2007, 03:08:30 PM
whites hotel in wexford
Post by: Punxsutawney Fergal on July 26, 2007, 04:16:06 PM
Just been done up, apparently they have done a good job with it. Most places in Wexford are weather dependent! Johnstown Castle is a nice place to go - fantastic gardens and lakes plus the kids will run themselves stupid thus making them tired in the evening.

curracloe beach is a great beach "if" the sun appears. Eating - Fordes on the cresent in Wexford Town and La Dolce Vita in Selsker in Wexford Town. The Lobster Pot in Carne is also a great place to eat.

The Irish National Heritage Park is just outside the town and is worth a visit

Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2007, 10:11:47 PM
Kilmore Quay and beach is well worth a visit as is Duncannon..