GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Cortoon on July 26, 2024, 12:11:40 PM

Title: 2024 Footballer of the year
Post by: Cortoon on July 26, 2024, 12:11:40 PM
Dylan McHugh looks a shoo-in, but I wouldn't rule out Paul Conroy.

Dylan McHugh 5/4

Rian O'Neill 4/1

Conor Turbitt 9/2

Shane Walsh 6/1

Barry McCambridge 10/1

Paul Conroy 12/1

John Maher 12/1

Cillian McDaid 16/1

Aidan Forker 20/1

Rory Grugan 25/1

Aaron McKay 33/1

Liam Silke 40/1

Johnny McGrath 40/1

Stefan Campbell 50/1

Robert Finnerty 50/1

Blaine Hughes 50/1

Andrew Murnin 66/1

Oisin Conaty 80/1

Connor Gleeson 80/1

Matthew Tierney 100/1

Niall O'Donnell 100/1

Damien Comer 100/1
Title: Re: 2024 Footballer of the year
Post by: Armagh18 on July 26, 2024, 12:16:06 PM
Obviously depends on which 6 or 7 have a big final.
Post by: marty34 on July 26, 2024, 12:27:28 PM
Quote from: Cortoon on July 26, 2024, 12:11:40 PMDylan McHugh looks a shoo-in, but I wouldn't rule out Paul Conroy.

Dylan McHugh 5/4

Rian O'Neill 4/1

Conor Turbitt 9/2

Shane Walsh 6/1

Barry McCambridge 10/1

Paul Conroy 12/1

John Maher 12/1

Cillian McDaid 16/1

Aidan Forker 20/1

Rory Grugan 25/1

Aaron McKay 33/1

Liam Silke 40/1

Johnny McGrath 40/1

Stefan Campbell 50/1

Robert Finnerty 50/1

Blaine Hughes 50/1

Andrew Murnin 66/1

Oisin Conaty 80/1

Connor Gleeson 80/1

Matthew Tierney 100/1

Niall O'Donnell 100/1

Damien Comer 100/1

Good call on Conroy.

He's a warrior.  Plus he, at 36 I think, has only missed a few minutes of championship action this year.
Post by: galwayman on July 26, 2024, 12:47:11 PM
I think if we win - it will be McHugh.
If Armagh win - it will be Turbitt.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2024, 12:56:39 PM
If (thats a big if) Shane Walsh puts in a master class, and he has that in his locker, he'll get the nod, should Galway win
Post by: tintin25 on July 26, 2024, 01:45:09 PM
Don't really think there have been many stand out performers this year so ultimately the final will have a big say.  Interesting to see Turbitt being mentioned, he's been decent yes (although moreso in patches) and there's a potential all-star there but POTY?  Doesn't even feature in the top ten scorers in championship to date.
Post by: lurganblue on July 26, 2024, 02:12:16 PM
I cant see it being Turbitt.  I agree that if Walsh turns it on then he may get it.  I think Rian is also in that boat despite being off that level in the earlier games.
Post by: JimStynes on July 26, 2024, 02:25:37 PM
Walsh has been hot and cold this year. I think he drifts out of games too much. The sort of boy that could turn it on and be unmarkable though. Turbo has had a great year. He won 2/3 player of the matches in a row and the way Armagh play you're not going to get one player racking massive scores.
Post by: mouview on July 26, 2024, 02:29:07 PM
He probably won't get it but Johnny McGrath at 40/1 is way over-priced.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2024, 02:30:42 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on July 26, 2024, 01:45:09 PMDon't really think there have been many stand out performers this year so ultimately the final will have a big say.  Interesting to see Turbitt being mentioned, he's been decent yes (although moreso in patches) and there's a potential all-star there but POTY?  Doesn't even feature in the top ten scorers in championship to date.

Is Turbitt not the highest scoring player for Armagh this year with 3-22?
Post by: Manning18 on July 26, 2024, 02:33:24 PM
Cillian McDaid versus Dublin is possibly the standout performance of anyone across the year. If he puts in a motm he'll get it id imagine

Barry McCambridge for Armagh has been awesome.

What generally happens with these though is the intercounty players pick the winner, months after the action ends. The majority are probably watching the semi and finals in a bar abroad. So the big name tends to come to the fore and the less recognizable one gets forgotten. So think Rian is Armagh win, and wouldn't rule out Walsh if he'd a good final. Mcdaid would have the profile also
Post by: tintin25 on July 26, 2024, 03:03:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2024, 02:30:42 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on July 26, 2024, 01:45:09 PMDon't really think there have been many stand out performers this year so ultimately the final will have a big say.  Interesting to see Turbitt being mentioned, he's been decent yes (although moreso in patches) and there's a potential all-star there but POTY?  Doesn't even feature in the top ten scorers in championship to date.

You're correct - was actually looking at an old table although you'd have to factor frees into that too.  Like I say, certainly in the running for an all-star although be surprised if in running for POTY.
Post by: David McKeown on July 26, 2024, 03:07:43 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on July 26, 2024, 03:03:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2024, 02:30:42 PM

You're correct - was actually looking at an old table although you'd have to factor frees into that too.  Like I say, certainly in the running for an all-star although be surprised if in running for POTY.

There was a stat in the semi final programme that since the weekend of the Ulster final Turbitt has been the highest scorer from play in the Championship. No idea on the accuracy of that.
Post by: square_ball on July 26, 2024, 03:16:21 PM
In 2022, Shane Walsh was barely in the conversation for an All Star but had a final of the ages and got an all star and a player of the year nomination.

It's been the type of year where theres no massive stand out so Sundays performance will count for a huge amount.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 26, 2024, 03:25:57 PM

Has been some good displays by forwards in the odd individual game but the most consistent players this year for me has been defenders Dylan McHugh,Johnny McGrath,Aaron McKay,Liam Silke,Barry McCambridge and Aidan Forker.

On Turbitt he's in the top ten scorers. Those that has scored more than him D Clifford,C Costello,R Finnerty,O Gallen,S Mulroy and R O'Donoghue.  Scores from play on the other hand he's got 3-12 which currently has him 2nd in the list and needs to score three from play on Sunday to finish the top scorer from play.
Post by: Armagh18 on July 26, 2024, 04:26:56 PM
McCambridge could be a good shout if he was to do a decent job on Walsh and maybe pop up with a couple of scores himself. Since quarter final that would be 1-2 while keeping Murtagh quiet, a goal while keeping Clifford quiet and if he does similar against Walsh he's had as good a year as anyone.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 27, 2024, 02:28:38 AM
If Galway win it should be Paul Conroy, If Armagh, not so sure.
Post by: Armagh18 on July 27, 2024, 07:34:35 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 27, 2024, 02:28:38 AMIf Galway win it should be Paul Conroy, If Armagh, not so sure.
See thats whats abit daft about these awards, if Conroy was to have a brilliant final but lose by a point and for talks sake Rian/Turbo/McCambridge had stinkers of finals but their team got over the line, who is more deserving of the award?

Think the 4 mentioned plus Dylan McHugh all have a good chance and should all be certain all stars.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 27, 2024, 06:11:56 PM
McCambridge, Turbitt or Grugan would be the most deserving from Armagh.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 27, 2024, 06:53:10 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 27, 2024, 06:11:56 PMMcCambridge, Turbitt or Grugan would be the most deserving from Armagh.

Aaron McKay. But when do full backs win POTY? That's a genuine question
Post by: galwayman on July 27, 2024, 07:34:41 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 27, 2024, 07:34:35 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 27, 2024, 02:28:38 AMIf Galway win it should be Paul Conroy, If Armagh, not so sure.
See thats whats abit daft about these awards, if Conroy was to have a brilliant final but lose by a point and for talks sake Rian/Turbo/McCambridge had stinkers of finals but their team got over the line, who is more deserving of the award?

Think the 4 mentioned plus Dylan McHugh all have a good chance and should all be certain all stars.
Bit like the man of the match - which was clearly Walsh two years ago. But Kerry win so Clifford gets it.
Post by: galwayman on July 27, 2024, 07:35:56 PM
I love Paul Conroy and he has had a good season.
But Dylan McHugh has easily been our best player all year.
Post by: downtothecore on July 28, 2024, 07:38:07 PM
Quote from: galwayman on July 27, 2024, 07:35:56 PM
I love Paul Conroy and he has had a good season.
But Dylan McHugh has easily been our best player all year.
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 27, 2024, 07:34:35 AM

Paul convoy was brilliant today. He should get it regardless of result.
Post by: Gael85 on July 28, 2024, 08:43:39 PM
McCambridge must be favourite.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 28, 2024, 09:41:08 PM
McCambridge very quiet in the second half today.
Post by: David McKeown on July 29, 2024, 02:04:46 AM
I think McHugh deserves it but I think there's 5 or 6 players in with a shout, McHugh and Conroy but also McCambridge, Turbit, O'Neill and maybe even Conaty could all be nominated.
Post by: Armagh18 on July 29, 2024, 02:54:58 AM
Barry, Rian, Conroy or Maher.

Niall Grimley for me but won't get it
Post by: tonto1888 on July 29, 2024, 07:11:16 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 29, 2024, 02:04:46 AMI think McHugh deserves it but I think there's 5 or 6 players in with a shout, McHugh and Conroy but also McCambridge, Turbit, O'Neill and maybe even Conaty could all be nominated.

It should be Aaron McKay
Post by: David McKeown on July 29, 2024, 07:21:13 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 29, 2024, 07:11:16 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 29, 2024, 02:04:46 AMI think McHugh deserves it but I think there's 5 or 6 players in with a shout, McHugh and Conroy but also McCambridge, Turbit, O'Neill and maybe even Conaty could all be nominated.

It should be Aaron McKay

Going in to the final I thought Aaron needed a good final to win an all star, he definitely did that yesterday. I wouldn't be surprised either way on a poty nomination
Post by: Armagh18 on July 29, 2024, 07:48:14 AM
Barry, Aaron, Rian, take your pick.
Post by: onefaircounty on July 29, 2024, 11:10:03 PM
Very hard to pick one from Armagh. Cases can be made for three or four.

I think if it goes to Armagh has to be McKay or McCambridge

I think we may a Galway winner.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 29, 2024, 11:28:23 PM
I still go with Conroy!
Post by: Mario on July 29, 2024, 11:33:24 PM
Maher would be my choice. Hasn't had a bad game all year. I know he prob won't even get a nomination
Post by: onefineday on July 29, 2024, 11:36:28 PM
A good final for turbitt or McHugh would have sealed it for either.

I'd struggle to give it to mccambridge given his game time this year, don't think McKay will get the nod either. If Galway had snatched something, Conroy's final performance along with his efforts throughout the year would have pushed him close, but on balance, I think it's hard to see past Rian O'Neill. His semi-final performance was probably the most significant performance of the year from anyone. He was solid to good for the most part prior to that and had a sound final, so for me, he's the winner. And being honest, I've never been that convinced about him before, but with the year that's in it, I think he'd be deserving.
Post by: AustinPowers on July 30, 2024, 12:11:20 AM
Have to say it's refreshing to see  talk of POTY/All stars etc for counties other than Dublin or Kerry

The final  itself wasn't a brilliant spectacle but the colour, atmosphere   and the occasion was great.

Things do get a bit stale watching the same two  teams in a final. But like  2010 and 2012  it was  nice to  see new teams  on the biggest occasion
Post by: RandyDupree on July 30, 2024, 01:25:47 AM
Turbo
Post by: bennydorano on July 30, 2024, 09:29:58 AM
McCambridge has definitely made a late run into the chat, but IMO McKay has been consistently better & high performing over the year, trouble is a lot of his work has gone unnoticed by the the public (& I'm as guilty as anyone in this as I couldn't have picked Dylan McHugh out of a line up before Sunday there). The lack of chat around McKay on Sunday night's TSG would make me fear for his POTY chances tbh.
Post by: Orior on July 30, 2024, 09:35:34 AM
Quote from: RandyDupree on July 30, 2024, 01:25:47 AMTurbo

Defo
Post by: statto on July 30, 2024, 09:49:18 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 30, 2024, 09:29:58 AMMcCambridge has definitely made a late run into the chat, but IMO McKay has been consistently better & high performing over the year, trouble is a lot of his work has gone unnoticed by the the public (& I'm as guilty as anyone in this as I couldn't have picked Dylan McHugh out of a line up before Sunday there). The lack of chat around McKay on Sunday night's TSG would make me fear for his POTY chances tbh.
Poty normally decided by who turns up from semi final on.Turbitt had a poor final and took off early so can't see him getting it.McCambridge got 2-5 and was picking up the marquee forwards on the opposition team which makes me think he will get it.
Post by: NAG1 on July 30, 2024, 10:01:42 AM
Quote from: RandyDupree on July 30, 2024, 01:25:47 AMTurbo

Don't think you can be that anonymous on the biggest day of the year and still get POTY, he has been great though.
Post by: Don Johnson on July 30, 2024, 10:49:11 AM
Barry is 4/7 for it now.
Post by: Armagh18 on July 30, 2024, 11:05:27 AM
Barry, Aaron, Rian, Niall Grimley.

Wouldn't begrudge Conroy or Maher.

Blaine
McCambridge
Burns
McKay
Forker
Crealey
Grimley
McElroy
Conaty
Rian
Turbo

All worthy of All Stars tbh. Obviously won't all get.
Post by: David McKeown on July 30, 2024, 11:51:13 AM
The thing about these kind of awards is that they are awarded by people who unlike supporters aren't at every game. So a lot of the pre quarter-final performances unless they were on tv will likely count for little.

The main reason I feel Armagh won the All Ireland (I don't think I'll ever get fed up writing that) is that they have such a squad depth. I was saying they maybe don't have the superstars that some other counties have but what they have is a higher quality worst player than anyone else.

The knock on of that is that no one was probably consistently great in every game but most were brilliant in at least one or two and when they weren't on top form the next man up was by and large able to come in and do the job.

As a result it's hard to make a case for any one player of the year from Armagh as a fan but maybe easier as a journalist who wasn't at or didn't see every game.

Therefore I think McHugh or Conroy are more deserving.

All that said, I have a sneaky feeling towards Conaty. Mom in both the quarter final and final I think. Already well in the conversation for young player of the year before the final and had a fantastic league campaign. Not the best player in the country for me this year but maybe a great dark horse for player of the year.
Post by: Armagh18 on July 30, 2024, 11:56:19 AM
Conaty YPOTY without a shadow of a doubt.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on July 30, 2024, 12:03:26 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 30, 2024, 11:51:13 AMThe thing about these kind of awards is that they are awarded by people who unlike supporters aren't at every game. So a lot of the pre quarter-final performances unless they were on tv will likely count for little.

The main reason I feel Armagh won the All Ireland (I don't think I'll ever get fed up writing that) is that they have such a squad depth. I was saying they maybe don't have the superstars that some other counties have but what they have is a higher quality worst player than anyone else.

The knock on of that is that no one was probably consistently great in every game but most were brilliant in at least one or two and when they weren't on top form the next man up was by and large able to come in and do the job.

As a result it's hard to make a case for any one player of the year from Armagh as a fan but maybe easier as a journalist who wasn't at or didn't see every game.

Therefore I think McHugh or Conroy are more deserving.

All that said, I have a sneaky feeling towards Conaty. Mom in both the quarter final and final I think. Already well in the conversation for young player of the year before the final and had a fantastic league campaign. Not the best player in the country for me this year but maybe a great dark horse for player of the year.

Agree with that 100%, and that is what would make naming an Armagh player POTY difficult.  Rian and Turbo have had great games and quieter games throughout the championship.  McCambridge would be my pick, but he was late to the party so to speak, so that would make it difficult for him also. 

If you were to go from the final backwards to the group games, he was probably Armaghs most important player in terms of what he brought to the backline and some big scores in the big games. 

That being said, Conroy would be in with a fair shake, and had Galway won, there would be no discussion on the matter.

Post by: Blowitupref on July 30, 2024, 02:13:42 PM
In a year where forwards struggled to stand out I think it would be fitting that defender would win it and McCambridge and Dylan McHugh would be the front runners.

Maybe a midfielder is in with a shout also and Irish examiner made a strong case for Paul Conroy today.

Quotethe veteran midfielder came into the decider as Galway's joint top scorer from play in champ with 2-13. He was their third highest assister and won 14/19 long kickouts targeted at him.
The 35-year-old was Man of the Match against Derry and Monaghan this season. He had 30 possessions in the semi-final against Donegal and not one of his passes failed to find a man. In the final, he had 38 possessions, kicked 0-3 and continued to operate as a formidable kickout weapon. As an all-round footballer, he was awesome.

Post by: Don Johnson on July 30, 2024, 03:07:49 PM
14/1 readily available for all you Conroy fans.
Post by: Don Johnson on July 30, 2024, 04:14:59 PM
Who's been punting with Boyles in the last hour, Conroy into 10s from 14s now.
Post by: Applesisapples on July 30, 2024, 04:19:35 PM
For me Conor Turbit has just about enough MOTM's to forgive his errant display in the final. Rian O'Neill and Barry McCambridge are in the running. I didn't see enough of the other teams to add from outside Armagh.
Post by: Armagh18 on July 30, 2024, 06:05:55 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on July 30, 2024, 03:07:49 PM14/1 readily available for all you Conroy fans.
Some value that.

Would love one of our lads to get it in particular Niall Grimley but wouldn't begrudge Conroy. A class act.
Post by: ONeill on July 30, 2024, 11:21:37 PM
What price Rian?
Post by: Don Johnson on July 31, 2024, 09:04:12 AM
Rian 5/1 now. Conroy well backed now into 5/1 and Barry out to 8/11. Some moves in the last 24 hours.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 31, 2024, 09:53:46 AM
McCambridge injured for the games in Ulster?

Wouldn't surprise me if Conroy won it, it will be closer then the odds suggest.