Can't see any previous thread on this which says a lot. Galway are 1/50 on and the spread is 12 points. I can't recall any previous Connacht final where Galway were as overwhelming favourites to win, it's highly doubtful the 2000 final versus Leitrim was at those levels with the bookmakers, only final I can recall that might be in the mix.
Haven't done Connacht back to back since 2002/03, which both speaks to the competitiveness of the Rossies and the excellent Mayo team that walked all over Galway and the rest of the province for a long time, while also of course reflecting the absolute circle of hell that Galway football descended into, there were some chastening days including at the hands of Sligo in 2010. Would be a sign of progress to be consistently winning Connacht again but that said, the reputation of the provincial system is in dire order now compared to the start of the noughties.
This Sunday if Galway show up paying full respect to Sligo, going full tilt and playing to potential, they should be winning well I think, although given the draw today there's not exactly a brilliant prize awaiting the Connacht winners.
Is there any potential for a shock result at all?
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on May 02, 2023, 05:22:01 PM
Can't see any previous thread on this which says a lot. Galway are 1/50 on and the spread is 12 points. I can't recall any previous Connacht final where Galway were as overwhelming favourites to win, it's highly doubtful the 2000 final versus Leitrim was at those levels with the bookmakers, only final I can recall that might be in the mix.
Haven't done Connacht back to back since 2002/03, which both speaks to the competitiveness of the Rossies and the excellent Mayo team that walked all over Galway and the rest of the province for a long time, while also of course reflecting the absolute circle of hell that Galway football descended into, there were some chastening days including at the hands of Sligo in 2010. Would be a sign of progress to be consistently winning Connacht again but that said, the reputation of the provincial system is in dire order now compared to the start of the noughties.
This Sunday if Galway show up paying full respect to Sligo, going full tilt and playing to potential, they should be winning well I think, although given the draw today there's not exactly a brilliant prize awaiting the Connacht winners.
None and the spread is about right. Sligo will come good in time, serious work done at underage but this Sunday is far too soon for them against established Div 1 team that reached last years All Ireland final.
Nothing makes you feel old like jubilee teams and Galway 98 are the jubilee team this year.
QuoteThe brilliant Galway team that ended the county's 32-year wait for Sam Maguire glory in 1998 will be honoured at Sunday's Connacht SFC final in Castlebar.
Managed by John O'Mahony, the Tribesmen upset the odds by beating Mick O'Dwyer's Kildare 1-14 to 1-10 in the All-Ireland final. Current Galway manager Padraic Joyce scored the Galway goal in the second half, while Jarlath Fallon, Michael Donnellan, Kevin Walsh, Derek Savage, Tomas Mannion and Sean Óg de Paor were other stars of the success.
That Galway team went on to win a second All-Ireland in 2001 at Meath's expense after losing the 2000 decider to Kerry after a replay.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 02, 2023, 06:22:56 PM
Nothing makes you feel old like jubilee teams and Galway 98 are the jubilee team this year.
QuoteThe brilliant Galway team that ended the county's 32-year wait for Sam Maguire glory in 1998 will be honoured at Sunday's Connacht SFC final in Castlebar.
Managed by John O'Mahony, the Tribesmen upset the odds by beating Mick O'Dwyer's Kildare 1-14 to 1-10 in the All-Ireland final. Current Galway manager Padraic Joyce scored the Galway goal in the second half, while Jarlath Fallon, Michael Donnellan, Kevin Walsh, Derek Savage, Tomas Mannion and Sean Óg de Paor were other stars of the success.
That Galway team went on to win a second All-Ireland in 2001 at Meath's expense after losing the 2000 decider to Kerry after a replay.
I was in college at the time - so hard to believe it is 25 years ago already. Time flies.
Quote from: galwayman on May 02, 2023, 07:59:39 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 02, 2023, 06:22:56 PM
I was in college at the time - so hard to believe it is 25 years ago already. Time flies.
Very true. Was at the stage in college to be savvy enough to go drinking in the college bar to sort out accommodation rather than queuing half a mile for the Advertiser accommodation page.
Still sore about Donnellan's goal, a feed of pints and a fit of patriotic fervour following serial slagging all day, I offered 2/1 on Kildare.
Wasn't the only bad decision of my 20s, but not f***ing far off the worst!!
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on May 02, 2023, 05:22:01 PM
2007?
There's no way it was 1/50 on in 2007 surely? I'd be shocked if it was, one of the Sligo posters would remember maybe what they were as underdogs that day.
Nah 2007 was about a 4 point spread I believe. The 2013 final between Mayo and London may have been the shortest odds wise (or highest spread wise). At a guess that was a 16-17 point spread
This fixture was a 13 spread in Markevic in 2019. Sligo seem in a much better place, while Galway are probably a reasonable amount better also, albiet that team was coming off a semi final. The venues probably in Galways favour. I don't think there's a ground in Ireland outside of Tuam (at a push) that this team would prefer to play at
Galway obviously heavily favored. We seem to play better when underdogs but hope we can keep this one close. Good opportunity for us to get tough games in the qualifier which will only help us in the long run. Things are improving in Sligo but realistically we can only hope Galway have a bad day.
Two changes for Galway, Gleeson back in goal and McDaid starts instead of Cathal Sweeney. Power really hard done by, he might not have been brilliant against Roscommon but he was steady. He didn't deserve to be dropped after one game.
Quote from: Duine Eile on May 04, 2023, 10:56:38 PM
Two changes for Galway, Gleeson back in goal and McDaid starts instead of Cathal Sweeney. Power really hard done by, he might not have been brilliant against Roscommon but he was steady. He didn't deserve to be dropped after one game.
I wouldn't be so sure he's been dropped per se.
It almost looks like they are going to give both lads games.
Very strange to be almost rotating your keeper in the championship.
I mean Power didn't get a minute until the last League group game against Kerry.
It's just all a bit strange
Fair play to Joyce giving Sligo a fighting chance.
Quote from: galwayman on May 04, 2023, 11:00:35 PM
I wouldn't be so sure he's been dropped per se.
It almost looks like they are going to give both lads games.
Very strange to be almost rotating your keeper in the championship.
I mean Power didn't get a minute until the last League group game against Kerry.
It's just all a bit strange
Power has played 2 games and he's been replaced for the next game both times. It makes no sense and can't be doing much for his confidence in fairness.
(https://tfkdatatfk.s3.dualstack.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/optimized/3X/1/f/1f6e5945a5dece0388a83847673d18bbee5967e4_2_1000x1000.jpeg)
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/2023/05/05/for-sligos-eamonn-ohara-pain-of-losing-in-2010-outweighs-memories-of-connacht-title/
For Sligo's Eamonn O'Hara, pain of losing in 2010 outweighs memories of Connacht title
On a big weekend for Sligo football, the seniors contest the provincial final, looking for a first championship in 16 years
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/2023/05/05/for-sligos-eamonn-ohara-pain-of-losing-in-2010-outweighs-memories-of-connacht-title/
Seán Moran
Fri May 5 2023 - 06:00
On Sunday, Sligo contest the Connacht final for the first time in eight years. They will be looking for what would be a fourth provincial title and their first since 2007.
Although that triumph is a treasured memory for Eamonn O'Hara, who had also won an All Star in 2002 and played with the county up until 2013, he says that to this day it is outweighed by the final three years later when they lost to Roscommon.
"I was absolutely disgusted. The way I looked at it is that our team would have been different if we had won two. There was always talk of the '75 team. They had a Connacht and some wonderful players but they hadn't won more than one.
"We played in a few Connacht finals so for us only to win one and particularly to lose that one — I'd say the disappointment that year outweighed the happiness in '07."
He believes that after major wins over Galway and Mayo, Sligo lost focus maybe as a result of being firm favourites going into the final against Roscommon, which they would lose by a point.
"Roscommon had us lined up nicely for an ambush and that's exactly what happened. We kicked some bad wides that day.
"Mentally we weren't there — one fellah coming late to the bus at a meeting point. That wouldn't have happened before the semi-final. You could see in hindsight that we had got a bit loose. One guy wearing a different top.
"Small stuff but Sligo can't afford to be even slightly off. We needed everything to be right and that's what we hung our hat on — preparing perfectly."
'Very competitive'
O'Hara is concerned about the weekend's final in Castlebar, as Sligo haven't so far been exposed to top-level opposition but hopeful that the county will be competitive and able to build on the occasion.
Sixteen years ago, victory came as the culmination of some striking performances in the championship that decade.
Liberated by the newly introduced All-Ireland qualifier system, which began in 2001, Sligo reeled off a number of significant results against formidable teams. "We were very competitive in that era," he says.
That's no exaggeration. In 2001, they beat Mick O'Dwyer's Kildare, who were outgoing Leinster champions. A year later, again in Croke Park, they defeated Tyrone who would win the next year's All-Ireland and took Armagh, who went to be champions that season, to a replay along the way.
A few years later, having apparently stalled, Sligo picked the trail again, this time in their provincial championship, under the management of Tommy Breheny, a former selector who took over for two years, winning Connacht and causing surprise by walking away later that year.
O'Hara says that everything about the year was geared towards winning the province, a journey that began with a trip across the Atlantic.
"We had no fear of Galway in the final and had already beaten Roscommon in the Hyde. Everything was aligned for us. All year, our focus was on winning the Connacht title. It wasn't vintage Galway in terms of the team but they definitely had big names from their All-Ireland winning team — Joyce, Fallon, Savage — even if they were coming to the end of their era."
Sligo came out on top, he believes, because of the quality of their teamwork and belief in each other.
"I scored the goal and it was a great day for me personally but I remember more the collective effort — everyone doing their job on the day. It was probably the first time we could look back and say, 'you did that right' and 'every other year we didn't do that right'.
"All these little pieces came together. We took the scores when they came and even if we missed a couple of chances, that didn't come back to haunt us. It was an outpouring of relief."
Kerry era
Perhaps subconsciously they regarded it as a destination. Just as their predecessors in 1975 ran into the propellers of a Kerry team in the first year of what would become an era, they didn't survive the next outing.
"After winning Connacht we celebrated and then in Croke Park came up against a good Cork team, who got to that year's final.
"They were physically better than us albeit that when you look at the game again — and we have done so often — we missed 1-3 in the first five minutes. Great opportunities to get scores on the board, scores that we had been taking all year in previous games.
"We left them behind us on the day and eventually Cork just squeezed the life out of us."
O'Hara has been involved with Sligo's extraordinary underage emergence. As a selector with Dessie Sloyan, he contributed to the county's first under-20 Connacht title last year, which was just recently turned into two-in-a-row under the management of Paul Henry, who has been involved with the cohort since they were a development squad.
On a big weekend for Sligo football, the under-20s face Kerry in an All-Ireland semi-final on Saturday.
O'Hara is positive about the future.
"We have to manage the transition and we're in Division Three so there will be opportunities. I think that group can win another under-20. There will be 10 still available and from what I know of underage and college football in the past few years, I think they've every chance."
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 04, 2023, 11:46:48 PM
(https://tfkdatatfk.s3.dualstack.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/optimized/3X/1/f/1f6e5945a5dece0388a83847673d18bbee5967e4_2_1000x1000.jpeg)
Joyce wanting to retain Maher and Conroy at midfield means McDaid to 7 was something that could have been seen coming, hope that works out because a HB line of McHugh, Daly and McDaid all playing to potential could be the best line in the team. I would be concerned about McDaid's tackling technique at times, hopefully he's more so going the other way but it's something to watch out for, Galway cannot be giving away stupid fouls that turn into easy scores, always a chance you'll have a ref only too happy to blow for soft enough stuff like the league final this year.
What's going on with the goalkeeper hokey cokey I don't know, if they had been alternating every league game to see who got the nod for championship you'd say something but here we are regardless.
Looking for Galway to show some improvement on breaking ball and kickout retention from the Rossie match, also interested to see if Sligo will target the lack of height in the Galway FB line Sunday and how they might cope with that, seems a possible avenue of attack for Sligo.
Galway have zero excuses for Sunday, need to be ruthless in front of the posts like a Kerry would be in the same position as huge favourites.
Would prefer and I think we need to see McDaid play further forward to be honest. Our HF line can be static and lack penetration a bit; McDaid is very good at bursting through at pace and getting defenders turned, which opens up opportunities for supporting attackers coming off the shoulder.
McDaid wasn't far off footballer of the year last year from midfield. I'm loathe to see him moved out of there even though he was an excellent wing-back at underage for Galway. I can see what they are trying to do in getting all the best players on the field together somehow. And they don't seem to want to consider using Conroy as an impact sub yet. While Maher's form has made him difficult to leave out.
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FvXeaClXwAMgQpz?format=jpg&name=small)
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 05, 2023, 12:54:56 PM
McDaid wasn't far off footballer of the year last year from midfield. I'm loathe to see him moved out of there even though he was an excellent wing-back at underage for Galway. I can see what they are trying to do in getting all the best players on the field together somehow. And they don't seem to want to consider using Conroy as an impact sub yet. While Maher's form has made him difficult to leave out.
Should be grand this weekend - probably a good one to try it out but I'm always a bit wary when I see teams that look like the best 15 individual players and lads being shifted out of their best position.
The goalie rotation is also a bit of a puzzler - maybe PJ just feels he can experiment in this game before the serious business starts in the next game.
The only reason I seen Galway management going with Gleeson again is because he can get more distance on his kick out than Power who is good with the short chipped up kick outs. McDaid although 8/9 on his back played at times wing half back in the championship last year with Tierney moving into midfield.
What's the feeling amongst Sligo supporters, would they have preferred the option of playing tailteann again regardless of the result in this game?
That said, the Connacht losers have a group that has potentially winnable games in it!
Quote from: onefineday on May 06, 2023, 06:38:21 AM
What's the feeling amongst Sligo supporters, would they have preferred the option of playing tailteann again regardless of the result in this game?
That said, the Connacht losers have a group that has potentially winnable games in it!
Sligo get at least 3 extra games at the top level which is priceless
Best of luck to Sligo tomorrow.
They'll need it :-\
Quote from: seafoid on May 06, 2023, 09:25:53 AM
Will it be priceless if they get 15 point hammerings in those 3 games?
I can see Sligo getting took assunder tomorrow, Galway are my pick to win Sam. I just can't see how Sligo can trouble them but I do hope I'm wrong.
Quote from: Itchy on May 06, 2023, 10:05:26 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 06, 2023, 09:25:53 AM
Will it be priceless if they get 15 point hammerings in those 3 games?
I can see Sligo getting took assunder tomorrow, Galway are my pick to win Sam. I just can't see how Sligo can trouble them but I do hope I'm wrong.
The point ofthe new setup is to give counties more games. It's up to them what they do with it. Sligo could have been in the Tailteann but they are at the higher level.
They should have fighting chances against Roscommon and Kildare.
The reality is we are nowhere near the level of Galway. We have played only Division 4 teams and New York and are in a Connacht final. Its a big step up to from that to play All Ireland contenders. We will require Galway to be complacent and indifferent similar to 2007 but this is a far superior Galway side.
Not a big fan of the Sligo manager and his aggressive, abrupt man management skills which has meant a number of players from my own club chose not to commit. I suppose we have been promoted so I season will be a success irrespective of what happens today and in the coming weeks. Hopefully the game plan and match ups are right and Sligo to be competitive. But it should be a comfortable victory for Galway.
This weekend has been a success already after yesterday's heroic performance from the u20.
Pat Spillane starts the scoring for Sligo.
Sligo 0-02 Galway 0-00
Real competitive opening 8 minutes for Sligo as they lead 0-3 to 0-2
Good goal but the Sligo lad misjudged the flight of the ball more than it been a exceptional pass.
Galway with a quick 1-2. 1-4 to 0-3 after 15 minutes.
Sligo have give away 2 poor goals.
Galway must have the best set of forwards in the country now, very one sided affair as expected.
Real feel of a serious contender for Sam versus a side who were playing Division 4 football in the league about this.
Was about to say there was a very professional feel to the way Galway were going about their business but Burke's black card there was absolutely moronic.
6 steps for the 2nd goal. Tierney best player in country in current form!
Half time Galway 2-7 Sligo 0-5. Galway with 9 scores from 10 shots. Sligo 5 from 10. Not the best of defending by Sligo on both goals and both created by Comer and scored by Tierney.
There is a reason the Tailteann Cup was introduced, it was so that Counties like Sligo could have a realistic chance of winning a National Title. By default this year they are going to end up in a competition where they are going to be contending with damage limitation.
Shane Walsh off confirmed as tactical change. 2nd game in a row he's been off colour. 2-11 to 0-7 46 minutes.
FT Galway 2-20 Sligo 0-12. The bookies before the game reckoned Galway by 12 and they win by 14.
That final went along the lines as expected. Only surprise was Galway scoring 2-20 and Comer not scoring and Walsh with just two frees. Sligo will come good in time with the work they are doing at underage level but today was always going to be gulf in class.
The game went kind of to script.
I personally thought we would make hard work of it but we didn't.
Shane's form is worrying.
He hasn't played well in any game for Galway this season at all since he's come back in.
No idea if he's carrying something or just not "on it".
He looks disinterested half the time.
Quote from: galwayman on May 07, 2023, 05:39:27 PM
The game went kind of to script.
I personally thought we would make hard work of it but we didn't.
Shane's form is worrying.
He hasn't played well in any game for Galway this season at all since he's come back in.
No idea if he's carrying something or just not "on it".
He looks disinterested half the time.
Walsh has had a long season with Galway getting to the AI final and the Kilmacud journey and controversy after. It does not matter if he's off the boil or even carring a slight injury at the moment. Connacht Championship and Groups stages are tippy-tappy, The real stuff begins after.
From the media afterwards.
QuoteShane Walsh was bedridden for two days with flu this week. Padraic Joyce didn't want to start a game without Paul Conroy and Walsh so played him. That's why he was the first player to come off.
Not sure you can take much from the match. With a lead built up and the big wind behind them, Galway played the 2nd half in 2nd gear and started emptying the bench with 25 minutes left to play. One eye already on Tyrone in 2 weeks time. Tierney was back to his league form thankfully. The Galway forwards seem to take it in turns for one of them to have a stormer. Comer the last day. Was Tierney's turn today. Would be nice to see them all or most of them play well together. They'll have to do it eventually to get what they want.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 07, 2023, 06:11:30 PM
QuoteShane Walsh was bedridden for two days with flu this week. Padraic Joyce didn't want to start a game without Paul Conroy and Walsh so played him. That's why he was the first player to come off.
Not sure you can take much from the match. With a lead built up and the big wind behind them, Galway played the 2nd half in 2nd gear and started emptying the bench with 25 minutes left to play. One eye already on Tyrone in 2 weeks time. Tierney was back to his league form thankfully. The Galway forwards seem to take it in turns for one of them to have a stormer. Comer the last day. Was Tierney's turn today. Would be nice to see them all or most of them play well together. They'll have to do it eventually to get what they want.
I thought Comer was excellent again today.
Best football is played before the score is taken
Quote from: Derryman forever on May 07, 2023, 06:32:45 PM
Well invovled in both goals however it was real Division four defending by Sligo on both goals.
Quote from: Derryman forever on May 07, 2023, 06:32:45 PM
Still they were very good as were Kerry.
Galway and Kerry are the only real contenders in my opinion.
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 07, 2023, 02:26:17 PM
6 steps for the 2nd goal. Tierney best player in country in current form!
If you'd said Sean Kelly I'd go along with it. Absolute machine for Galway currently.
Galway look really good, even given the level of opposition today.
Sean Kelly has to be one of the best footballers in the country at the minute.
Galway are serious contenders I think, would certainly give kerry and Dublin a run for it.
Galway a serious contender but remember Clare are a lot better than Sligo and Kerry ripped them assunder. Kerry are the team to beat.
Quote from: Itchy on May 07, 2023, 08:45:26 PM
Galway a serious contender but remember Clare are a lot better than Sligo and Kerry ripped them assunder. Kerry are the team to beat.
Ah lads, Galway took off some of their star players. Galway could have beaten Sligo by what ever score they liked.
Kerry's game was overrided by the Cliffords loss and became a
Lets go in get the job done and quietly slip away .
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on May 05, 2023, 11:50:01 AM
Galway have zero excuses for Sunday, need to be ruthless in front of the posts like a Kerry would be in the same position as huge favourites.
Got what I expected and what was needed, really professional performance from Galway, excellent shot conversion rate albeit against a Division 3/4 outfit.
Any Sligo mistakes were punished really bar the late kickout that Tierney won and couldn't slip the handpass to the onrushing Galway player for a good goal chance. Tierney was excellent besides, totally on it from the start.
Galway sloppy at times in 2nd half but the game was long over. Hard to be overly critical, did what they had to do.
Walsh way out of form the last two matches, if he's been sick with the flu don't play him, it's Sligo not Mayo or Kerry. Cooke very good today I thought but you have to caveat everything with the fact there is a huge gap from Division One down to the lower levels. Galway are facing into a much greater challenge in two weeks time from a team who were AI champions only two years ago.
Quote from: Derryman forever on May 07, 2023, 07:32:12 PM
Galway and Kerry are the only real contenders in my opinion.
Wouldn't write off Dublin until they are in the ground with a stake in the heart, if they hit form on the big day they could take out the champions, they are definitely not the team they were however. Don't know where the other contenders are at yet, Mayo could do anything from flopping out at the q final stage to winning the whole thing. Cannot understand what Tyrone are at. Until we see otherwise Kerry are clearly still the team to beat for me anyway.
While I like the look of what the men in maroon have displayed to date, there is a long way to go yet for Galway, the cat bad league final performance at the venue where the big games will all be played remains a concern. Had no excuse for the really flat performance - unlike Mayo who were out the following week - and could have done with the win in a national final. Squad is better but need to keep driving on.
I read somewhere that in order to do back to back the team needs a 25% improvement in year 2 . Minus David Moran Kerry need at least 30% extra.
Quote from: seafoid on May 08, 2023, 10:44:13 AM
I read somewhere that in order to do back to back the team needs a 25% improvement in year 2 . Minus David Moran Kerry need at least 30% extra.
True but 20% of such statistics could be said to be made up
That is not correct it is about 35 percent.
The game went as expected. We were totally outclassed, Defensively we were clueless, some dreadful individual mistakes. Thankfully Galway had some mercy on us taking 3 fisted points instead if going for goal (Tierney didn't get the memo unfortunately) and taking off some of their better players. Will the next 3 games be any better - unlikely
Quote from: Mano on May 08, 2023, 06:08:49 PM
The game went as expected. We were totally outclassed, Defensively we were clueless, some dreadful individual mistakes. Thankfully Galway had some mercy on us taking 3 fisted points instead if going for goal (Tierney didn't get the memo unfortunately) and taking off some of their better players. Will the next 3 games be any better - unlikely
Galway are at least a class above the flourbags and the rossies.
Don't know if someone raised this but less than 25,000 at the two finals. I know we might not have the same draws again for years. Games were very one sided and to ask people to pay 35Euro for stand tickets is a bit much. The only redeeming feature of the weekend was the Display of David Clifford [deepest sympathy to him and his family] surely he is the Erling Haaland of gaelic footballer. You cannot coach what this lad does.
Quote from: mad tan on May 08, 2023, 07:58:29 PM
Don't know if someone raised this but less than 25,000 at the two finals. I know we might not have the same draws again for years. Games were very one sided and to ask people to pay 35Euro for stand tickets is a bit much. The only redeeming feature of the weekend was the Display of David Clifford [deepest sympathy to him and his family] surely he is the Erling Haaland of gaelic footballer. You cannot coach what this lad does.
Yeah would agree with that. Ironic that you could probably get twice that for the ulster final next week if you had the stadium there. Should at least be a game that will be in the melting pot in the last 5 minutes anyway. Hopefully Louth can put up a good showing against Dublin.
Had it been a semi final between Sligo v Galway it would have in the region of 8,000 at it. So it would be known beforehand that this pairing would not attract anymore than it got and Markievicz Park or Hyde Park should have hosted it.
Lord Prenty declared at an early stage the Final was fixed for McHale.
Helping his favourite County pay off their debts.
Sod Sligo or capacity or how many might turn up, look after his own.
Galway have now knocked Mayo off their perch
Quote from: seafoid on May 08, 2023, 07:10:19 PM
Quote from: Mano on May 08, 2023, 06:08:49 PM
Galway are at least a class above the flourbags and the rossies.
A class above the Rossie's; Galway have knocked Mayo off their perch??? Your sounding like David Brady now.
Quote from: Rossfan on May 09, 2023, 01:01:29 AM
It's a long-standing rule though that the final must be played at a neutral venue if (one of the) participating counties, i.e. Sligo or Leitrim, haven't a ground big enough to host final and its expected crowd. Pre-match estimates said that there would be > 15k at the game on Sunday; even as it was, Markiewicz Park would have been well full with Sunday's attendance. There's no point in saying that it could have been held in Sligo, no-one knew in advance what crowd would turn up.
Quote from: mouview on May 09, 2023, 11:52:58 AM
It's a long-standing rule though that the final must be played at a neutral venue if (one of the) participating counties, i.e. Sligo or Leitrim, haven't a ground big enough to host final and its expected crowd. Pre-match estimates said that there would be > 15k at the game on Sunday; even as it was, Markiewicz Park would have been well full with Sunday's attendance. There's no point in saying that it could have been held in Sligo, no-one knew in advance what crowd would turn up.
No way was 15k the expected crowd for this match up. Last two Sligo v Galway championship games had 5 to 8k in attendance. This was one rare opportunity for Markievicz Park to host a final.
PJ said it was the first Galway 2 in row since 2003. Most of the intervening 2 decades were very long for Galway football supporters.
On the other hand, Down and Meath are playing Tailteann Cup now.
The CC pre empted any pressure to have it in Marky by announcing the venue some weeks beforehand.
12k in Markievicz would have given some sense of a major occasion.
Quote from: Rossfan on May 09, 2023, 04:37:04 PM
The CC pre empted any pressure to have it in Marky by announcing the venue some weeks beforehand.
12k in Markievicz would have given some sense of a major occasion.
Agree 100%, but the GAA and rational decisions do not often occur.
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 09, 2023, 04:17:15 PM
No way was 15k the expected crowd for this match up. Last two Sligo v Galway championship games had 5 to 8k in attendance. This was one rare opportunity for Markievicz Park to host a final.
https://www.mayonews.ie/news/gaa/1154235/sligo-venue-not-an-option-for-connacht-final.html
Correct it wasn't 15k expected. See "more than 20k expected" from Mayo's finest bureaucract
He is correct on one score though, Markevic has a capacity of 10k, not the 15-18k that people reading outdated wiki pages etc seem to assume. Aside from the obvious integrity concerns with ripping up the prior arrangement days before the final, and the fact that Sligo and Galways home/away situation is still under dispute (Sligo pulled out of the last game due in Galway), the crowd the last day wouldn't have fit in Markevic
Quote from: Manning18 on May 10, 2023, 12:25:11 AM
https://www.mayonews.ie/news/gaa/1154235/sligo-venue-not-an-option-for-connacht-final.html
Correct it wasn't 15k expected. See "more than 20k expected" from Mayo's finest bureaucract
He is correct on one score though, Markevic has a capacity of 10k, not the 15-18k that people reading outdated wiki pages etc seem to assume. Aside from the obvious integrity concerns with ripping up the prior arrangement days before the final, and the fact that Sligo and Galways home/away situation is still under dispute (Sligo pulled out of the last game due in Galway), the crowd the last day wouldn't have fit in Markevic
Like John Prenty doesn't tell tall tales. To repeat not a hope going on previous attendances for Sligo v Galway championship games was it going to get 15k never mind 20k and Markievicz Park holds a lot more than 10k and an option B should have been Hyde Park with 19k currently allowed capacity.
Prior arrangement was brought in for when Leitrim and Sligo reached finals and would attract 20k plus to finals those days are now over especially if they don't play Mayo in the final.
"We're expecting a crowd of more than 20,000 people and it should be a great occasion," remarked John Prenty.
John is away with the fairies. As of 10am on Sunday morning I believe only a little over 8,000 tickets was sold so I'd question the accuracy of 11,867 published attendance as Sligo,Galway aren't big on season ticket holders. Also uncovered Seating was €30 a 5€ increase on previous years Connacht finals, no common sense used there.
Tony McEntee Interview
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G2WW44mLiOw
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 10, 2023, 01:20:25 AM
"We're expecting a crowd of more than 20,000 people and it should be a great occasion," remarked John Prenty.
John is away with the fairies. As of 10am on Sunday morning I believe only a little over 8,000 tickets was sold so I'd question the accuracy of 11,867 published attendance as Sligo,Galway aren't big on season ticket holders. Also uncovered Seating was €30 a 5€ increase on previous years Connacht finals, no common sense used there.
I'm of the opinion the early announcement of venue was to ensure there couldn't be a campaign or pressure to play at Markievicz.
Galway probably wouldn't have minded as they knew they were going to win anyway.
I know there's an agreement that CFs involving Sligo and Leitrim go to neutral venues but those things can easily be set aside if both Counties agreed.
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 10, 2023, 12:48:54 AM
Quote from: Manning18 on May 10, 2023, 12:25:11 AM
Like John Prenty doesn't tell tall tales. To repeat not a hope going on previous attendances for Sligo v Galway championship games was it going to get 15k never mind 20k and Markievicz Park holds a lot more than 10k and an option B should have been Hyde Park with 19k currently allowed capacity.
Prior arrangement was brought in for when Leitrim and Sligo reached finals and would attract 20k plus to finals those days are now over especially if they don't play Mayo in the final.
Why does Markievicz "hold a lot more than 10k"? Because you say so?
Considering how health and safety have absolutely slashed grounds with non bucket seating/standing all over the country, I see nothing in Markievicz to think it would be allowed to hold 'a lot more' than 10k. McHale Park for instance was 42k in the noughties and is now 25k max. There would've been a larger demand had one team been at home also. All a moot point anyway, as you can't change agreements with days notice, it's unfair on whichever team would have to travel to the others home ground
Im sure Prenty did think there was far more coming than realistic. As any amount of history has shown us, this is hardly the most competent individual we're dealing with. I'd agree that Hyde Park was probably a better option, but he's nothing if not consistent and did another twist for his own
Quote from: Manning18 on May 10, 2023, 03:04:16 PM
Considering how health and safety have absolutely slashed grounds with non bucket seating/standing all over the country, I see nothing in Markievicz to think it would be allowed to hold 'a lot more' than 10k. McHale Park for instance was 42k in the noughties and is now 25k max. There would've been a larger demand had one team been at home also. All a moot point anyway, as you can't change agreements with days notice, it's unfair on whichever team would have to travel to the others home ground
Im sure Prenty did think there was far more coming than realistic. As any amount of history has shown us, this is hardly the most competent individual we're dealing with. I'd agree that Hyde Park was probably a better option, but he's nothing if not consistent and did another twist for his own
The Slattery report cut the capacity of Markievicz park to 16,000. More that 25k max in MacHale Park also matter of fact 29,449 was at the Galway v Mayo match in 2018.
Quote from: Rossfan on May 10, 2023, 01:40:40 PM
I'm of the opinion the early announcement of venue was to ensure there couldn't be a campaign or pressure to play at Markievicz.
Galway probably wouldn't have minded as they knew they were going to win anyway.
I know there's an agreement that CFs involving Sligo and Leitrim go to neutral venues but those things can easily be set aside if both Counties agreed.
It appears that way alright and I doubt Galway would say no Markievicz Park final.
I've no great gra for Prenty but in fairness, McHale park is closer to more of the Galway football strongholds than the Hyde, plus it has a few more roads in than in Roscommon.
We're banned from holding CFs since 2018.
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 10, 2023, 03:22:26 PM
It appears that way alright and I doubt Galway would say no Markievicz Park final.
If Sligo want a home/away Connacht final arrangement and Markievicz Park is allowed to host one that should be done and there would be no problem with it.
However, Sligo didn't fulfil their fixture in 2020, next Connacht championship match should be in Galway.
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 10, 2023, 03:22:26 PM
The Slattery report cut the capacity of Markievicz park to 16,000. More that 25k max in MacHale Park also matter of fact 29,449 was at the Galway v Mayo match in 2018.
Haha seriously!? The Slattery report was 2011,12 years ago now. They were allowing 34k in Pearse Stadium and 36k in Castlebar in 2012.
McHale Parks Capacity at Donegal v Mayo 2019 Super 8s game was a fully sold out 25369. A simple google can tell you this
Perhaps your county man was lying and MP with its miniscule stand and 4 rows deep sideline terrace is still allowed to hold a mere 9k less than McHale Park. That's all we have to go on at this point though
Quote from: Manning18 on May 10, 2023, 04:35:07 PM
Haha seriously!? The Slattery report was 2011,12 years ago now. They were allowing 34k in Pearse Stadium and 36k in Castlebar in 2012.
McHale Parks Capacity at Donegal v Mayo 2019 Super 8s game was a fully sold out 25369. A simple google can tell you this
Perhaps your county man was lying and MP with its miniscule stand and 4 rows deep sideline terrace is still allowed to hold a mere 9k less than McHale Park. That's all we have to go on at this point though
My county man? Neutral opinion I have on this topic.
The Slattery report is when a number of grounds had their capacities restricted.
Unreserved seating was the case for home Super 8 games meaning the capacity of venues got cut. Connacht championship matches are reserved seating.
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on May 10, 2023, 04:14:38 PM
Sligo didn't fulfil their fixture in 2020, next Connacht championship match should be in Galway.
Because of covid contacts which wouldn't be right not allow them a home match in the next meeting v Galway.
The 2020, 2021 Connacht championship matches played behind closed doors or tiny crowds really should have been played in the Connacht GAA Centre as the towns missed out on big championships matches and the money it brings
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 10, 2023, 04:46:42 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on May 10, 2023, 04:35:07 PM
My county man? Neutral opinion I have on this topic.
The Slattery report is when a number of grounds had their capacities restricted.
Unreserved seating was the case for home Super 8 games meaning the capacity of venues got cut. Connacht championship matches are reserved seating.
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on May 10, 2023, 04:14:38 PM
Sligo didn't fulfil their fixture in 2020, next Connacht championship match should be in Galway.
Because of covid contacts which wouldn't be right not allow them a home match in the next meeting v Galway.
The 2020, 2021 Connacht championship matches played behind closed doors or tiny crowds really should have been played in the Connacht GAA Centre as the towns missed out on big championships matches and the money it brings
Were they the only county unable to fulfil a fixture during COVID? They couldn't field, not entitled to anything now.
Galway lost a slew of starters for the U20 semi final that year due to Covid but got a team of lads out on the pitch.
Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't Sligo ask for a week's postponement and were told to Eff off?
Contrast their treatment with Tyrone's!!
I was looking at the roll of honour for Connacht. The split is roughly 40% Mayo and Galway and 20% Rossies. 5 were won over 123 years by Sligo and Leitrim.
Mayo were well ahead until the 1960s. In 1940 for example Mayo had 22 versus 13 for Galway.
Between 1960 and 1979 Galway added 10 and Mayo added just 2. Mayo had a long period from 1969 to 1981 where they won no Connacht title. A lot of this was down to Roscommon.
By 1988 Galway were 5 ahead but Mayo were strong in the late 1990s and the gap was down to 1 by 1999. With a new team after the Longford debacle Mayo were very strong from 2011 on.
in 2015 Mayo were 2 ahead but the last few years saw Galway catch up again.
It's an amazing rivalry.
Amazing rivalry in a Connacht sense. In an All Ireland sense, which is about 25 times more important, it's utterly lopsided.
Is there a bit of dispute over what the current Connacht score is? Colm Keys had it as 49 now for Galway and 48 for Mayo. Someone said to me it was 48 each now however
Quote from: Manning18 on May 11, 2023, 01:07:20 PM
Amazing rivalry in a Connacht sense. In an All Ireland sense, which is about 25 times more important, it's utterly lopsided.
Is there a bit of dispute over what the current Connacht score is? Colm Keys had it as 49 now for Galway and 48 for Mayo. Someone said to me it was 48 each now however
There might be some ambiguity over it alright I think. I've seen some tallies where Galway were one behind prior to last Sunday. Bit of confusion over the 1926 AI winners too I think. Mayo won whatever final was played, without the Connacht final having yet taken place. When it was subsequently played later in the year, Galway won it, and were hence declared the proper AI champions by central council. Something like that anyway.