After a mixed league campaign for both sides they take on each other in the Ulster Championship this weekend.
I have to say I haven't felt as unenthusiastic about a championship match for years. I have a feeling that either side wouldn't be too bothered about being knocked out to avoid another tough match or two before the AI series begins.
I can only see more ulster teams winning the all Ireland with the new format, in the future without the effort that needs to be put into ulster.
It's obviously not the end of the road to lose it but can still see enough benefits in winning to keep it interesting. I don't think a 6 week break will do any good at this stage of the season especially on the back of a loss. There is also a potential to stay away from Dublin and Kerry until a semi final by going the direct route. Plus it's still nice to win your provincial title.
You'd imagine Tyrone will line out as follows if all fit:
Morgan
McKernan
Hampsey
Quinn
Meyler
McNamee
Harte
Kennedy
Kilpatrick
Oguz
Mattie
McGeary
Burns (sweeper)
Canavan
McCurry
Though given the safety net there could also be the temptation to make a couple of changes and get players that could play important roles game time while still having a strong team. I'm thinking of the following:
Sludden
Devlin
McGleenan
McShane
R Canavan
M O'Neill
Quote from: Redhand Santa on April 12, 2023, 05:08:21 PM
It's obviously not the end of the road to lose it but can still see enough benefits in winning to keep it interesting. I don't think a 6 week break will do any good at this stage of the season especially on the back of a loss. There is also a potential to stay away from Dublin and Kerry until a semi final by going the direct route. Plus it's still nice to win your provincial title.
Morgan
McKernan
Hampsey
Quinn
Meyler
McNamee
Harte
Kennedy
Kilpatrick
Oguz
Mattie
McGeary
Burns (sweeper)
Canavan
McCurry
Though given the safety net there could also be the temptation to make a couple of changes and get players that could play important roles game time while still having a strong team. I'm thinking of the following:
Sludden
Devlin
McGleenan
McShane
R Canavan
M O'Neill
Think that team will start but think mcgeary may miss out
Forecast looking good for Sunday should bump the crowd up a bit
Quote from: CK_Redhand on April 12, 2023, 04:36:56 PM
After a mixed league campaign for both sides they take on each other in the Ulster Championship this weekend.
I have to say I haven't felt as unenthusiastic about a championship match for years. I have a feeling that either side wouldn't be too bothered about being knocked out to avoid another tough match or two before the AI series begins.
Tyrone have an decent outside chance at an All Ireland, Monaghan haven't a hope of winning it. Why would either side not what to win Ulster? At the end of the day players want to win trophies and neither of those 2 can afford to turn their nose up at one
Yeah gaa attitudes can be messed up. It's like teams putting a lot of effort into the leagues and then no one caring about winning it or wanting to celebrate it.
Winning ulster playing 3 games over the next 6 weeks is not going to reduce your chances of winning an all ireland. If anything it's going to improve it both by giving a slightly easier route and building confidence and getting high level match exposure. Being ulster champs is nothing to be sniffed at.
Quote from: NotedObserver on April 12, 2023, 08:13:37 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on April 12, 2023, 05:08:21 PM
Morgan
McKernan
Hampsey
Quinn
Meyler
McNamee
Harte
Kennedy
Kilpatrick
Oguz
Mattie
McGeary
Burns (sweeper)
Canavan
McCurry
Sludden
Devlin
McGleenan
McShane
R Canavan
M O'Neill
Think that team will start but think mcgeary may miss out
You havnt missed any, id be along the same lines of thinking.
Although I havnt given up on one of Paudie McNulty or Peter Teague coming into the picture, injuries permitting. I believe we could do with another option even coming off the bench in the middle third
Quote from: Redhand Santa on April 13, 2023, 08:00:37 AM
Yeah gaa attitudes can be messed up. It's like teams putting a lot of effort into the leagues and then no one caring about winning it or wanting to celebrate it.
Winning ulster playing 3 games over the next 6 weeks is not going to reduce your chances of winning an all ireland. If anything it's going to improve it both by giving a slightly easier route and building confidence and getting high level match exposure. Being ulster champs is nothing to be sniffed at.
The Ulster championship is an incentive for the winner, first seeds in the group offsetting somewhat the 3 hard games and shorter break, but the runner up has much less reward for same.
Should Tyrone go out in this qf or in the sf, I don't think there will too much gnashing of teeth.
Problem is if ye beat Monaghan you can go soft on Derry. It's basically an ulster decider and when you draw swords you gotta use them..
Monaghan have been mediocre in the championship in recent years. Maybe Vinny Corey will bring something different this year.
Remember Thur nights where the team was named and you could talk in depth about the upcoming match.
Changed times.
Will we get 10K at it?
Quote from: Fuzzman on April 13, 2023, 09:04:06 PM
Remember Thur nights where the team was named and you could talk in depth about the upcoming match.
Changed times.
Will we get 10K at it?
Doubt it.
Changed times.
Will we get 10K at it?
They were listening Fuzzman. Debate away about the line up.
https://tyronegaa.ie/squad-named-for-ulster-football-championship-opener/
Quote from: square_ball on April 13, 2023, 09:20:57 PM
Changed times.
Will we get 10K at it?
They were listening Fuzzman. Debate away about the line up.
https://tyronegaa.ie/squad-named-for-ulster-football-championship-opener/
Bit of a shock O'Neill starting ahead of oguz but they've always liked him. Plenty of options on the bench. Great to see Thursday night teams back.
Surprised M. ONeill back in
Glad McNamee back in full back line
It'll be interesting to see where O'Neill lines out. I'd def have him as a better half back than forward. Him dropping back will give the likes of Harte meyler and mckernan plenty of cover to get forward.
Would like to see Oguz in from start as one for the future but hopefully see game time at some point. Will be interested to see how Oneill and mcgeary get on
Joe Oguz can feel pretty hard done by here but Fergal and Brian likely still have nightmares about the ease with which Mayo cut through us for goals. O'Neill provides more covet around that 6 channel and we'll likely see Oguz come on in the 2nd half for McGeary.
McCurry and D Canavan will stay up front for the most part but the rest are sweepers, runners, middle eight, quarterbacks, ... whatever label you want to put on them. The numbers on the back of the shirt mean nothing.
Love to see Monaghan win this nobody likes Tyrone
Quote from: Unlaoised on April 13, 2023, 10:24:25 PM
Love to see Monaghan win this nobody likes Tyrone
You will be disappointed.
You never know, an unfancied Monaghan caught Tyrone out of their zone and beat them handy enough the last time they played in Healy Pk in the championship.
Hopefully Conor McManus is fit enough to start in what would be his 17th championship season.
Quote from: Main Street on April 13, 2023, 10:56:57 PM
You never know, an unfancied Monaghan caught Tyrone out of their zone and beat them handy enough the last time they played in Healy Pk in the championship.
Hopefully Conor McManus is fit enough to start in what would be his 17th championship season.
If so, that's some achievement.
I wonder is it back to 2021 tactics.
Hard working defensive setup first half and then bring on the scorers to finish it off?
Oguz looks good for the future but didn't do enough in the league in my eyes to start but could well be a good ball winner from kickouts going forward
McCarty, Bannigan, O'Hanlon, McManus and McCarron - that's a very strong looking Monaghan forward unit on paper. If they get the right supply will cause plenty of problems.
Not many at the Derry game today.
Don't think I can ever remember less of a build up before a first round match.
Tomorrow could be a very defensive game.
Can't see Canavan and Dazzler getting much space.
It would be nice to get a chance to put the Derry wans back in their box
That's the spirit.
What if Derry bate us well again though if we get by the Oriel?
Monaghan an old team, they be gone after this year, they keep with Tyrone in the 1st half but Tyrone pull away in the 2nd.
How many of that Monaghan published starting team are in their 30s?
I don't think there is a big lot between these sides but Monaghan have a bit of an inferiority complex when it comes to Tyrone. Even in the pre match talk you would think they were division 3 going up against a top 2 side such is their reverence for Tyrone. Combine that with the fact that the game is in Omagh and I can only really see one outcome today.
Changed times.
Will we get 10K at it?
And Club Tyrone had a night in Garvaghey ..
Tyrone fans show up in a AI final these days unfortunately.
Ulster and Connacht are the only provinces with clashes of the big teams at this stage of the all Ireland.
Monaghan are 5/2. They must have a decent chance .
No body ruling Monaghan out, but their age profile is against them. You can't play a lad of, 36 at Midfield
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 16, 2023, 12:28:09 PM
No body ruling Monaghan out, but their age profile is against them. You can't play a lad of, 36 at Midfield
Don't rule lads out because of their age.
That's silly.
Quote from: Jim Bob on April 16, 2023, 10:16:57 AM
Changed times.
Will we get 10K at it?
Thought this myself yesterday. Barely a whisper about it all week. And like it's the Ulster championship ffs.
Are people moving away from the county game and taking more interest in clubs? Is the new schedule to blame? Traditionally we would have associated the Ulster championship with early summer. Pints and burgers and sunshine. Be none of that today.
Quote from: marty34 on April 16, 2023, 12:46:24 PM
That's silly.
Well, it's not. I assume you don't deny that a players ability to get around the pitch diminishes from their mid 30s at latest?
Which Tyrone is likely to turn up ?
I have 2 free tickets for this if anyone needs any? Can be emailed over
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 16, 2023, 01:02:24 PM
Changed times.
Will we get 10K at it?
Thought this myself yesterday. Barely a whisper about it all week. And like it's the Ulster championship ffs.
Are people moving away from the county game and taking more interest in clubs? Is the new schedule to blame? Traditionally we would have associated the Ulster championship with early summer. Pints and burgers and sunshine. Be none of that today.
Can't believe I'm on the Tyrone v Monaghan thread ( may God forgive me!) but have to agree.
The early start to the championship has been a disaster so far.
Zero atmosphere at Armagh v Antrim. Ditto Derry v Fermanagh . You could make the case that everyone knew how those would end up before they threw the ball in.
But Mayo v Roscommon in weather more suited to a league game with a poor enough attendance. That will worry the suits in Croke Park.
First "real" game in Ulster today. Fancy Tyrone but Monaghan might just have enough about them to cause an upset or at least make a game of it.
Will be interesting to see the attendance and what the atmosphere is like.
Changed times.
Will we get 10K at it?
Club Tyrone had a night in Garvaghey on Thursday past
Certainly doesn't have the feel of a traditional championship match but hopefully there is a decent enough crowd and plenty of intensity when it gets going. Never tends to be much between these sides and sure to be closer than the recent league match which lacked much bite even before the dismissals. From a Tyrone point of view it's hard to know where we are. The Kerry game brought hope but the subsequent performances against Monaghan and Armagh were pretty mixed. I do feel Tyrone's best chance this year is aiming to try and get some momentum behind them and find form. As such, a wee run through Ulster would be welcome. Not totally convinced there are enough scores in the named team but we'll soon find out.
Quote from: Rois on April 16, 2023, 03:10:38 PM
Changed times.
Will we get 10K at it?
Club Tyrone had a night in Garvaghey on Thursday past
Oh right. Didn't know.
You'd think there d be a few photos on the Tyrone gaa Facebook. Very poor PR
This on the radio?
Is Ryan McAnespie injured for Monaghan?
Travelling this year, think he's in Oz.
Quote from: square_ball on April 16, 2023, 03:45:35 PM
Is Ryan McAnespie injured for Monaghan?
He is in Australia
Niall Kearns long time injured?
McCurry and Canavan looking very sharp here. I think that's the first 1 on 1 I've seen Canavan score at county level.
Darragh Canavan goal has Tyrone in control in the opening 12 mins. 1-4 to 0-2
Poor enough game so far but Fitzmaurice is making it sound like a classic.
Monaghan playing way too open.
Ref too slow on the whistle.
Tyrone very much on it here the hunger seems to be back!
Ref missing every single cynical foul by tyrone when monaghan on the break.
Cavanan just now prime example.
Quote from: 5times5times on April 16, 2023, 04:32:13 PM
:'(
Quote from: 5times5times on April 16, 2023, 04:32:13 PM
harsh travelling call on monaghan too
Terrible call for over carrying
Ref very poor.
And bought a classic mckernan dive by pulling defenders arm up
Compared to last year Tyrone are in the mood again. Half time Tyrone 1-10 Monaghan 0-8. McManus doing his best to keep Monaghan in the game.
The big difference is Tyrone winning own kick out at ease while Monaghan are really struggling. Both teamss doing well in possession but, Tyrone have a lot more possession
Should it not have been a black card for Morgan? Deliberate pull back.
Modern day football with goalies going out the field is awful to watch
Quote from: straightred on April 16, 2023, 04:37:54 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on April 16, 2023, 04:35:40 PM
Ref very poor.
No yellow for morgan ?
If you give yellows for a slight tug on a jersey there wouldnt be a player left on any gaa pitch
Monaghan are surprisingly wide open in defence, much too easy for Tyrone. They have barely laid a glove on them and only McManus free kicks are sparing them from a worse beating.
Darren Hughes maybe better at full forward, hasn't the legs for Midfield, Kearns a big loss there, The lad on Canavan way too open./inexperienced.
Quote from: tintin25 on April 16, 2023, 04:44:57 PM
I would have said yellow but definitely a card of some sort. Stopped a fast break
Quote from: tintin25 on April 16, 2023, 04:44:57 PM
Might want to learn the rules first. Black card is only if you pull a player down to the ground. Not a tug on a jersey
QuoteDouble dummy.
Did he switch hands twice? He didn't overcarry anyhow
Quote from: tyrone08 on April 16, 2023, 04:45:44 PM
Ref very poor.
No yellow for morgan ?
If you give yellows for a slight tug on a jersey there wouldnt be a player left on any gaa pitch
Ah but he's a Tyrone man. Should be a straight red! ???
Dublin lad on rte, another on bbc, christ we stuck for choice.
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 16, 2023, 04:49:23 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on April 16, 2023, 04:45:44 PM
Ref very poor.
No yellow for morgan ?
Ah but he's a Tyrone man. Should be a straight red! ???
Jaysis lads ye are awful persecuted against - we were complaining Roscommon last week for playing the rule book to perfection also. It's really not a ye thing. You are correct in that it's not card worthy but it should be. The rule book has become a tactic to take advantage of.
Quote from: highorlow on April 16, 2023, 04:48:55 PM
QuoteDouble dummy.
Did he switch hands twice? He didn't overcarry anyhow
Ref clearly signaling over carrying afterwards
It wasn't the fact it was a tug it was the deliberate nature of it that would frustrate...
Micky Harte not in agreement with the other two lads ;D
Quote from: Itchy on April 16, 2023, 04:43:06 PM
The big difference is Tyrone winning own kick out at ease while Monaghan are really struggling. Both teamss doing well in possession but, Tyrone have a lot more possession
Tyrone defending well, Monaghan are too loose.
Shouldn't be allowed to block a man contesting a throw up like Lavelle on Kilpatrick there, You see it every gane now.
and now he misses a penalty. I could see that easily from the comfort of my couch
Ref starting to make some bad calls, missed that one on Gallagher there.
Was free out first.
McCarron lacks pace, never get them 50/50 balls
I say that's a good tackle there, ref maybe blindsided on the other end if it.
Mickey harte can't see a way back for monaghan.
Brutal take at half time.
Wetting his knickers over Tyrone.
Ye know rightly mcconville wants to tell him to f**k up.
Great tackle from McGeary there given as a free in to Monaghan.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 16, 2023, 04:51:48 PM
Dublin lad on rte, another on bbc, christ we stuck for choice.
Far worse is the fact that they have a man in the studio as a pundit with a son playing today.
Wind there must be stronger than it looks on Tv
McCurry needs to get his act together and soon.
Monaghan with a good start to the 2nd half. 1-10 to 0-11. 46 minutes played.
Wind doesn't matter one bit according to saint mickey
Another terrible call against Tyrone.
That said, Tyrone need to sort out the discipline.
Where was this Monaghan in the first half, at least they're getting tore into them now.
Talking about Armagh can't tackle, Tyrone can't,
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on April 16, 2023, 05:11:13 PM
Wind doesn't matter one bit according to saint mickey
Monaghan upping the intensity the big difference in this 2nd half.
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 16, 2023, 05:12:17 PM
Another terrible call against Tyrone.
They're in good credit
Canavan tripped as he picked the ball up.
Free to Monaghan.
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 16, 2023, 05:14:08 PM
Canavan tripped as he picked the ball up.
Free to Monaghan.
That was a dive he wasn't touched!
Some nasty mouthy wee pricks from tyrone. Late sly digs and always leaving something after a tackle.
Any wonder they're universally hated
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on April 16, 2023, 05:14:41 PM
Some nasty mouthy wee pricks from tyrone. Late sly digs and always leaving something after a tackle.
FFS 😂
they should be well ahead but agreed - hard to like them
Mattie Donnelly always look done, but shows well at Key times.
Lol put the phone down for half an hour you dose 🤣
Let me know when McCarron turns up, he giving Monaghan very little here.
Some ball from mccurry
Canavan very fast.
Canavan fouls the ball twice and Fitzmaurice says he should've got a free kick. That's why his father shouldn't be doing punditry when his son is playing.
Goal for Monaghan. They lead 1-13 to 1-12. 57 minutes.
Game on now. OHanlon has played well and deserves that
Meyler should took a black and took him down there.
Quote from: yellowcard on April 16, 2023, 05:20:50 PM
Canavan fouls the ball twice and Fitzmaurice says he should've got a free kick. That's why his father shouldn't be doing punditry when his son is playing.
If Fitzmaurice was his da you might have a point??
Great goal, super pass from Beagan.
Cracking game of football lads!!
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 16, 2023, 05:21:19 PM
Goal for Monaghan. They lead 1-13 to 1-12. 57 minutes.
they deserved that
Tyrone rattled. If Monaghan maintain this intensity they'll win this now.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 16, 2023, 05:21:31 PM
Meyler should took a black and took him down there.
Tyrone already playing like they've 14 men. They don't need to go to 14.
is it extra time today if its a draw
Brilliant goal!
Monaghan got on top since Hughes went off.
Cracking game. Great to see for a change.
Monaghan with all the momentum, Tyrone need someone to step up
Rae you see a game this good this early in the championship.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 16, 2023, 05:24:09 PM
Monaghan got on top since Hughes went off.
Mcnamee was totally glory hunting there. Simple goal if he'd hand passed across to Kilpatrick.
Began 2 missed kicks might come bck to haunt him, Morgan on song on his kicks.
BBC says canavan on for Morgan
What a game
6 minutes injury time per RnaG
It's a good game saying the ref not too hot on it.
McNamee could walk for that.
Dirt
McNamee should've walked there, officials have been poor today.
Gypsy move.
But sure what would ye expect
Surelt thats either a red or nothing? Clown of a ref
Wrong man carded there, why players do that stupid rabbit punch is silly.
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 16, 2023, 05:32:48 PM
Surelt thats either a red or nothing? Clown of a ref
Its on the umpire you have to assume
1-15 each. Will extra time be required here?
Ref has been absolutely conned last few minutes ::)
That last one be on the umpire.
Huge by McCarthy down the middle
Best game I've seen at county level in a long time, both sides going for it.
Yep, fair play to both sides. Great second half
thats really soft
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 16, 2023, 05:34:52 PM
That last one be on the umpire.
Either nothing was seen and its play on, or there was a strike and its a red. Yellow is saying i haven't a clue.
Poor ref.
Shocking call for that free in for tyrone
Last free for mccrurry was nothing. Tyrone have it now
Tyrone? Dive? Never
Very kind to Tyrone there!
There was a push
Pure fluke
Holy f**k!
Some game
you gotta love it. Who wants a draw
Gwan young O'Toole!
This is too funny.
What a game. Some balls to take shot on goal there
If it had went over the bar, the ref would blew the whistle, where this time coming from.
Mad bastard going for the goal
Jebus, through morgans legs
Fair play. Some cahonies!!
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 16, 2023, 05:41:39 PM
if he missed you'd kill him :)
were's he getting all the extra time
No harm to the ref, that game long over.
SEAFOID THOUGHT MONAGHAN WERE FINISHED! ::)
Quote from: Itchy on April 16, 2023, 05:41:51 PM
Funny, but so true! ;D
What a game. You love to see it
FT Tyrone 1-18 Monaghan 2-17. Goal in the 6th minute of injury time wins it for Monaghan.
Fair play monghan. Far better in the 2nd half
Wonder what McConville saying to Mickey.
Quote from: Fuzzman on April 15, 2023, 10:46:14 PM
Not many at the Derry game today.
Don't think I can ever remember less of a build up before a first round match.
Tomorrow could be a very defensive game.
Can't see Canavan and Dazzler getting much space.
It would be nice to get a chance to put the Derry wans back in their box
Tyrone handed their arses
Oh Micky lol
Finished team eh. And that was with a shite first half
Unreal game, Tyrone be around the championship with a vengeance later on
Poor old Tyrone ;D ;D
Fair play to Monaghan. Couldn't see that turnaround at half time.
Fcuk right off.
That was a great game.
Well done Monaghan
Fully deserved, great game.
Some win, well deserved it was a game of 2 halves.
Some 2nd half.
Are Tyrone a confirmed 3rd seed now?
Does the heart good.
Quote from: straightred on April 16, 2023, 05:42:06 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 16, 2023, 05:41:39 PM
if he missed you'd kill him :)
Think that's what helped him. Morgan or the defender never expected it. Fair play to him for going for it. Alot of players should be going for it rather than take the easy option.
This is what happens when you play with athletes and not footballers. Michael O Neil, Frank burns, Kieran mc Geary, Cormac Quinn. Pure shite.
Quote from: Itchy on April 16, 2023, 05:41:51 PM
He will live in Monaghan history.
Fair fucks to Monaghan, they never lie down.
That is a superb win for Monaghan
Congrats Monaghan.
Hungrier team won. Tyrone very poor second half
Tyrone left that game badly behind them, ref was poor to them but started giving them easy ones near the end. I be worried about playing Monaghan saying McCarron didn't touch leather and can't play as bad again.
Delighted for Vinny boy, what a win for your first championship game in charge
Unbelievable lads!! What a game Monaghan thoroughly deserving winners!
Fair play to Monaghan, played with no fear in the 2nd half. Tyrone are fragile mentally.
How the f**k is mcmanus mom. He barely touched the ball in open play.
Hahahahahahahahahahhaaa stick it up ye yous diving shower yeeeeeeeaaaoooo
Quote from: Quarterbackk on April 16, 2023, 05:47:04 PM
This is what happens when you play with athletes and not footballers. Michael O Neil, Frank burns, Kieran mc Geary, Cormac Quinn. Pure shite.
LOL one of those players won footballer of the year
Quote from: Itchy on April 16, 2023, 05:48:37 PM
Beggan for me. Kickouts superb and set up a few scores with his kick passing.
Joke decision. There were at least half a dozen footballers more deserving.
A great game of football. Boys kicking the ball, going for the jugular, brilliant. Football needed that.
Quote from: square_ball on April 16, 2023, 05:50:29 PM
Would agree. Beggan is one top class man
Quote from: tyrone08 on April 16, 2023, 05:49:22 PM
And never beat the dubs and can't shoot. Wise up. What did your half forward line score today.
Canavan should been MOTM
Refs very quick to give Monaghan the frees needed to get back in it.
Quote from: square_ball on April 16, 2023, 05:50:29 PM
Excellent save as well!
Mad game to reflect on, but right now I'd say Beggan for MOTM. Missed a couple of frees he wouldn't be happy about, but otherwise he had a critical role in the play with a couple of key passes setting up big scores. Also caught a ball which might have been creeping over the bar and of course that big save late on
Quote from: Quarterbackk on April 16, 2023, 05:51:42 PM
And never beat the dubs and can't shoot. Wise up. What did your half forward line score today.
You can tell me to wise up all you want but the fact is he won footballer of the year. Nothing will change that lol.
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on April 16, 2023, 05:52:35 PM
Very quick to give Tyrone frees as well!
Tyrones late frees were softer. And a couple of other incidents that went their way, McNamee lucky to stay on for one thing
and not so quick to give them a penalty or send the tyrone lad off
O'Hanlon got motm!
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 16, 2023, 05:51:54 PM
Canavan should been MOTM
100% - shouldn't be afraid to give it to one of the losing team. OHanlon was Monaghan's vest player
Quote from: tyrone08 on April 16, 2023, 05:53:29 PM
Quote from: Quarterbackk on April 16, 2023, 05:51:42 PM
You can tell me to wise up all you want but the fact is he won footballer of the year. Nothing will change that lol.
He did and well deserved.
Great game. Needed that after some of the sh!te served up recently. Pity bout the result but Monaghan well deserved that, especially cause of that finish for the goal!!
Still have hope for the rest of the year. Some of the attacking play was great. Badly need to sort out some of the defensive problems. Thought McCurry took some wrong options but great ball winner.
Ref was poor, but for both teams with some questionable decisions for both sides.
Have to settle for Sam now.
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 16, 2023, 05:54:54 PM
O'Hanlon got motm!
Mcmanus on BBC. I'd agree it should have been Beggan or Canavan.
Kilpatrick, Beggan, McCarthy, O'Hanlon and McCurry all played well but Canavan was the best player on view today.
Fair play to Monaghan, fantastic second half performance to turn it around and some effort to stick in the goal at the end. If they can maintain that level of performance and intensity they will be tricky for most teams. Test for them will be can they maintain it or was today their performance of the championship. Deserved winners today.
From a Tyrone point of view the first half was decent and five point lead probably didn't quite reflect their performance. Second half simply not good enough though and the team got weaker with the subs for me. Also felt my concerns over lack of scorers were correct, Canavan and McCurry apart there wasn't enough threat. Not beyond them to still be a serious threat as the championsip goes on but plenty to work on.
Proper game of football anyway and Ulster Championship alive and kicking.
Ref was poor
Tyrone half forward line was a problem before ball was thrown in
Meyler had a great 1st half but had a complete nightmare for the goal, showed the lad goal side
Why did they feel the need to change munroe for mcnamee. Mcnamee might have saved the goal that Morgan should have
Kind of feel like that monaghan deserved it cause they took on the goal when it was on unlike our two fisted points in 2nd half.
Doogan not up to it
Fair play to Vinny Corey too. He took on a job that nobody else wanted, kept them up against the odds and turned around that game at half time today which looked very unlikely. Made a few bold subs today that worked out massively, he has been manager of the year so far to date. Also that second half was great to watch, high energy front foot stuff.
Game was won at Midfield 2nd half.
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 16, 2023, 06:00:17 PM
O'Hanlon got motm!
McCarthy for me. The main reason for the turnaround
Excellent game off football , fair play to Monaghan , dug in when they needed to . Hard to win any games with that starting HF line of ONeill , McGeary and Burns . There needs to be at least some form of scoring threat from that line - there isn't . Surprising decision to take off Donnelly near the end when the game was in the melting pot and experience was key , plus he can kick a point , maybe injured ?
Thought Kilpatrick played well and Canavan was immense . A couple of times in the second half McGeary received the ball around the 45 and had a chance to drive past his man in behind - both times turned and went back and recycled .
Quote from: thewobbler on April 16, 2023, 06:35:45 PM
O'Hanlon got motm!
McCarthy for me. The main reason for the turnaround
O'hanlon was consistently good over the whole game. Deserved motm in my view.
Monaghan actually much the better side in the 2nd half. If they'd put in a full 70 like that, they'd have won by 6 or 7.
Tyrone might still pull sometout of the bag in AI series but I'm not sure they are contenders any more. Management look out of their depth.
Monaghan will be hard to beat if they can maintain that level.
Life in the old dog yet, fine second half performance by Monaghan to win and outscore Tyrone 2-9 to 0-8. Sets up intriguing semi final v Derry who i doubt will concede a score as big as 2-17 but they are conceding goals so an area for Monaghan to exploit. Plenty of soul searching for Tyrone after that defeat, 5 points up at half time and lost their way badly.
Quote from: marty34 on April 16, 2023, 12:46:24 PM
That's silly.
Tut tut!
Could have a potential round robin group of Dublin, Monaghan, Derry and Tyrone.
Matty D 3 points from play and a leader, taking him off was a terrible decision. Did Ruairi touch the ball?
Also Dooher with fourth official, pure harassment.
Ref gave Monaghan some handy ones to keep them in it
Marty, did the game not change when they took Hughes off.
Quote from: Under Lights on April 16, 2023, 07:08:06 PM
Matty D 3 points from play and a leader, taking him off was a terrible decision. Did Ruairi touch the ball?
For someone who has so much talent and should be a leader for that team I thought Petey Harte was very poor and didn't get on enough ball as he should have!!
Turned her off at half time. Getting the impression I shouldn't have.
McCarthy going to half back made a big difference and as they said on tv Kieran Hughes coming on.
Yeah Donnelly going off strange.
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/north-s-first-minister-hails-victorious-tyrone-at-homecoming-1.4671904
"The question I would say is: why do you have to wait a year or two," explained Dooher before the team departed Croke Park on Saturday evening.
"You only get one chance and you make the most of it whenever you can. But the way we look at it is: don't wait until tomorrow. You know, do what you can today. And don't put off anything that you can do today. And them boys did that. You never know. You might never be back again in an All-Ireland final. And you have to grasp that opportunity."
O'Hanlon got motm!
O'Hanlon got motm on BBC; as chosen by Philly
McManus motm on RTE
This match only matters if the provincial championship matters. Tyrone will be there in the quarter finals, most likely
Quote from: seafoid on April 16, 2023, 07:24:34 PM
This match only matters if the provincial championship matters. Tyrone will be there in the quarter finals, most likely
It mattered. Look at the emotion from the players and supporters, days like that are why people follow gaa.
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 16, 2023, 07:37:06 PM
It mattered. Look at the emotion from the players and supporters, days like that are why people follow gaa.
Very much mattered. Big crowd in attendance, two teams that gave their all and that's all any supporter from the two teams would want from any championship match.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 16, 2023, 07:14:15 PM
Marty, did the game not change when they took Hughes off.
No.
Monaghan let Tyrone walk through them in the first half.
In 2nd half, Monaghan were far more aggressive and played with more intensity.
Corey, O' Hanlon and Mansey all said that was the turning point.
Nothing to do with age. Monaghan have a good few older lads on. Nothing to do with age.
To say lads, at 35 or 36, are done, is mad.
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 16, 2023, 07:41:42 PM
Very much mattered. Big crowd in attendance, two teams that gave their all and that's all any supporter from the two teams would want from any championship match.
Hoping for a similar day out next week although a more comfortable win for us would be nice!
Disappointing result after a good first half. Canavan looked dead on his feet and probably could have been taken off but no one really there to change it up. I assume mcshane is nowhere near it? Surprised at donnelly coming off as well as he is the man that shows leadership when needed but maybe got a knock. When your defence is conceding so easily though you can forget about it. I really thought we had sorted those early season problems in defence but not so. Time now for management to work on things but not sure about them either. Coming away with more questions than answers!
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 16, 2023, 07:44:12 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 16, 2023, 07:41:42 PM
Hoping for a similar day out next week although a more comfortable win for us would be nice!
I'm expecting Cavan to throw the kitchen sink at it. Those comments from Ciarán McKeever might be a bit of mind games if not would have to question where Armagh are going under this management.
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on April 16, 2023, 07:17:03 PM
Turned her off at half time. Getting the impression I shouldn't have.
You weren't the only entity to switch off at half-time FFS, alas! :P
Jesus they were 2 very soft goals conceded by Tyrone. Meyler and Morgan would normally be reliable enough in preventing goals but both will be disappointed with their attempts for either goal
Quote from: screenexile on April 16, 2023, 07:15:57 PM
Quote from: Under Lights on April 16, 2023, 07:08:06 PM
For someone who has so much talent and should be a leader for that team I thought Petey Harte was very poor and didn't get on enough ball as he should have!!
Watched Harte against us in Ulster club. He was miles off it physically in that so don't know what Tyrone think he can do at this stage.
Boys a dear, Tyrone's finest wee Trailer on the naughty step?? Of all days!!
Near post goal, am sure Morgan will be disappointed, although the defence also seemed to have gone AWOL.
The annoying thing about Monaghan is they can produce brilliant displays at times however once they have any sort of scalp they seem happy to disappear again for another year.
They always seem like a team to be happy in Division 1 without any actual desire to go on and win anything, 2 ulster titles in 35 years back that up
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 16, 2023, 06:35:39 PM
Game was won at Midfield 2nd half.
It was. You'd have to wonder how Tyrone had all these clever set plays in the 1st half on kick outs and then it was like a different team in the 2nd half. They handed Monaghan a foot in the door and they duly burst the door open.
Tyrone have a few players who have regressed badly since winning the All Ireland in 2021. McGeary, Burns, McNamee, Sludden have not done much since the AI win. I don't know what's happened with McShane either as he has fallen off a cliff since apparently getting a golden handshake to resist Aussie Rules. Some of them probably have their best days behind them but it's not like they're too old either. Id say it's as simple as them simply not retaining the hunger after scaling the peak. Without that manic desire Tyrone look average and Monaghan had that in spades in the second half. Tyrone barring a few exceptions couldn't really match it.
I don't see them having much of an impact on the AI series either, they could make a quarter final but based on all known form they will probably limp out. Unlike Mayo, the 5 week gap will be of no benefit to them.
Quote from: An Watcher on April 16, 2023, 08:12:35 PM
Jesus they were 2 very soft goals conceded by Tyrone. Meyler and Morgan would normally be reliable enough in preventing goals but both will be disappointed with their attempts for either goal
No defender likes a forward as good as O'Hanlon running at them, he did really well but yesh should have been stopped. Morgan and the whole country were expecting the lad to fist a point for the second one, but still Morgan must do better there!
Quote from: tyrone08 on April 16, 2023, 08:17:34 PM
The annoying thing about Monaghan is they can produce brilliant displays at times however once they have any sort of scalp they seem happy to disappear again for another year.
They always seem like a team to be happy in Division 1 without any actual desire to go on and win anything, 2 ulster titles in 35 years back that up
That's one of the most insulting things I've read on GAA Board.
A county that has decimated the natural bar set by their population levels, for 2 generations now.
And you describe them as a failure.
It's not just insulting. It's retarded.
Well done Monaghan.
Quote from: thewobbler on April 16, 2023, 08:22:37 PM
A county that has decimated the natural bar set by their population levels, for 2 generations now.
I think they're maybe victims of their own success tbh. Just had a look at the population list there and the counties most similar to them are Sligo, Fermanagh, Carlow and Roscommon. Ok Roscommon do rightly but the others have nowhere near the pedigree Monaghan have. Seriously punching above their weight and unlike 3 of those, there would be a not insignificant number of people in Monaghan who wouldn't exactly be GAA inclined shall we say.
You do know what "decimate" means, ie, to destroy a tenth, literally?
Monaghan thrive in the early stages of the competition when the refereeing standards are much weaker. This "Cullen" from Fermanagh will not be getting any big games in the near future.
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on April 16, 2023, 08:50:03 PM
Monaghan thrive in the early stages of the competition when the refereeing standards are much weaker. This "Cullen" from Fermanagh will not be getting any big games in the near future.
I almost admire the dedication in keeping this troll account going over several years
Monaghan deserved the win, based on second half. Fair play.
No answer tactically from management to the Monaghan press.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 16, 2023, 08:38:26 PM
Okay I didn't know that.
You do know that language has evolved since Roman times?
Quote from: Schkite on April 16, 2023, 09:00:29 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on April 16, 2023, 08:50:03 PM
I almost admire the dedication in keeping this troll account going over several years
Wouldn't mind if he'd come up with something with even a modicum of wit.
Quote from: An Watcher on April 16, 2023, 07:51:19 PM
Disappointing result after a good first half. Canavan looked dead on his feet and probably could have been taken off but no one really there to change it up. I assume mcshane is nowhere near it? Surprised at donnelly coming off as well as he is the man that shows leadership when needed but maybe got a knock. When your defence is conceding so easily though you can forget about it. I really thought we had sorted those early season problems in defence but not so. Time now for management to work on things but not sure about them either. Coming away with more questions than answers!
We had sorted the early season problems when we moved Harte away from 6. Whilst we tried Burns, Munroe and McCarron with varying degrees of success we never settled that position. The lack of a settled 6 meant they put Harte back there to accommodate the remaining defenders and we lost his attacking threat without closing down the middle.
Nothing retarded about it. Monghan have had the beating of many ulster teams over the years in certain games. Their failure is doing it at leat semi consistently. No point in pulling a few big games a year out of the bag, they had had the talent over the last 8 years to be challenging for regular ulster titles at least and have failed to do so
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on April 16, 2023, 09:27:54 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on April 16, 2023, 09:06:32 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 16, 2023, 08:38:26 PM
Okay I didn't know that.
You do know that language has evolved since Roman times?
It has. It has also left words like "retarded" behind.
Indeed, but in this particular case it was the most appropriate word to use.
Any act of describing an entity that continually punches above its weight, as lacking desire, is one that is intellectually deficient.
Just looking back the the Sunday Game that goal was never on how he had the balls to go for it I'll
never know.
Fair play to him!
Fair play to Monaghan - they always play the game in the right way.
Quote from: tyrone08 on April 16, 2023, 09:25:31 PM
Nothing retarded about it. Monghan have had the beating of many ulster teams over the years in certain games. Their failure is doing it at leat semi consistently. No point in pulling a few big games a year out of the bag, they had had the talent over the last 8 years to be challenging for regular ulster titles at least and have failed to do so
In that 8 years you had a super Donegal and Tyrone to contend with not to mention the quality of the other teams that ulster can produce ...
Silly statement they have punched above their weight for a long time .
Counties like laois westmeath offaly Longford wesmeath fermanagh cavan Down Sligo Wicklow etc would love to have the success they have had .
Yes 2 titles in 10 years could have been 4 or 5 but they were unfortunate with the draw aswell meeting Tyrone Dublin and kerry in quarters and semi in them years .
A great county with great pride
Yeah that is probably fair enough tbh. When did they last win one? 2015 was it? McManus one of the best ever to do it probably should have won more.
Quote from: screenexile on April 16, 2023, 09:43:15 PM
Just looking back the the Sunday Game that goal was never on how he had the balls to go for it I'll
never know.
Fair play to him!
One of those scores you'd get once every 10 attempts. In that regard he was lucky.
Wonder what his manager would want him to do if a similar situation arose in to Derry game
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 16, 2023, 09:58:24 PM
Yeah that is probably fair enough tbh. When did they last win one? 2015 was it? McManus one of the best ever to do it probably should have won more.
There last 2 were 2013 and 2015 I think. There were only really Donegal and tyrone in contention between 2015 and 2020 so monaghan definitely should have won at least 1-2 more in that time period.
Now Derry and armagh are on the rise I can't see monghan doing it this year.
Quote from: yellowcard on April 16, 2023, 08:20:27 PM.
I don't see them having much of an impact on the AI series either, they could make a quarter final but based on all known form they will probably limp out. Unlike Mayo, the 5 week gap will be of no benefit to them.
Don't see much of a difference between Mayo, Tyrone, both will be talked up as possible contenders especially if hit a run of form in the round robin however are either strong enough in midfield or defensively to win the All-Ireland this year?
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 16, 2023, 10:25:40 PM
Don't see much of a difference between Mayo, Tyrone, both will be talked up as possible contenders especially if hit a run of form in the round robin however are either strong enough in midfield or defensively to win the All-Ireland this year?
I'd have Mayo a lot further up the list than Tyrone at the minute based on the past year and a half's
football.
Quote from: screenexile on April 16, 2023, 10:30:13 PM
I'd have Mayo a lot further up the list than Tyrone at the minute based on the past year and a half's
football.
be very little between the 2 if they played next week imo. Still think Tyrone the more likely of the 2 to beat Kerry.
Quote from: Jim Bob on April 16, 2023, 10:07:38 PM
never know.
Fair play to him!
One of those scores you'd get once every 10 attempts. In that regard he was lucky.
Wonder what his manager would want him to do if a similar situation arose in to Derry game
What does it tell you about the lack of spantaneity in the modern game the fact that an awful lot of people are focusing more on his decision to go for goal rather than the quality of the actual finish. He struck it perfectly and despite some people criticising Morgan, it was struck with such pace and precision that I don't think he could really do much with it.
never know.
Fair play to him!
Funny enough he scored a very similar goal only a few weeks ago against Mayo
- https://youtu.be/B2rqqBd2s80
Of course the circumstances were very different in that this was early in the game - but for a defender, he doesn't mind taking on a shot
Quote from: yellowcard on April 16, 2023, 10:45:18 PM
never know.
Fair play to him!
What does it tell you about the lack of spantaneity in the modern game the fact that an awful lot of people are focusing more on his decision to go for goal rather than the quality of the actual finish. He struck it perfectly and despite some people criticising Morgan, it was struck with such pace and precision that I don't think he could really do much with it.
In terms of that goal, had it been saved then there was a substantial chance that Morgan would parry it out, either back into the path of O'Toole or else it might go out for a 45, which would likely be a point anyway.But it is easy for me to say that.
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 16, 2023, 10:41:54 PM
football.
be very little between the 2 if they played next week imo. Still think Tyrone the more likely of the 2 to beat Kerry.
Tyrone are a few levels below Kerry and Dublin. They got lucky in 2021 and fair play to them, nobody can take that AI off them. But they have done nothing to disprove the belief that they were one of the most mediocre AI champions in a generation.
In the race for Sam it's Kerry, Dublin, Galway and Mayo in that order and then there is a cluster of 4 Ulster teams plus Roscommon a bit below that top level. That's how I see it anyway.
Did u see the tyrone half forward line???
Lucky all ireland champions don't beat 5 division one teams in the shape of cavan, donegal, monaghan, kerry and mayo. I'd say a lucky all ireland was the year the dubs won in 3020 beating westmeath, laois, meath, cavan and mayo. Jesus christ. So Tyrone beat donegal, monaghan and kerry while the dubs beat westmeath, laois and meath. Such a difference. Luck my arse
Got the luck of a game put off,
Well done to Monaghan, showed great fighting qualities to get through in a tremendously entertaining game of football. I really hope we meet them again in an All Ireland quarter final in Croke Park.
The bizarre nature of this championship structure is that Tyrone are no better or no worse off now than they were this morning. They will still be in the round robin stages, will win enough games to get out of the group and then the really championship begins. Everything up to that point is pretty meaningless.
I hope the 5 weeks off enable Tyrone to build on the positives today. I was much happier with our attacking play, getting the ball forward much more quickly and we created scores more easily than we have done lately. Clearly there are issues defensively and big gaps which means we are shipping goals but hopefully that can be worked on.
Watched the reply there and the Monaghan 20 took 10 steps with the ball before laying it off for the last goal. Have a look, it's comical that he got away with it
Quote from: yellowcard on April 16, 2023, 10:51:54 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 16, 2023, 10:41:54 PM
football.
Tyrone are a few levels below Kerry and Dublin. They got lucky in 2021 and fair play to them, nobody can take that AI off them. But they have done nothing to disprove the belief that they were one of the most mediocre AI champions in a generation.
In the race for Sam it's Kerry, Dublin, Galway and Mayo in that order and then there is a cluster of 4 Ulster teams plus Roscommon a bit below that top level. That's how I see it anyway.
Sorry but that's just rubbish. They had the toughest run of fixtures of any all ireland ever. Prove me wrong.
Edit - and did it with a string of players missing in parts of July and August due to Covid isolation rules.
The goal was a FLUKE! Poor and insane shot straight up the middle that flukley went through Morgans legs
Was absolute madness....But class at the same time
Everyone expected a handpassed point for a draw but The Monaghan no 14 was actually standing at the edge of the small square for an easy open net palmed in Ryan McHugh goal....O Toole had the blinkers on though, clearly never played BBall in his life....ask Stephen O Hanlon what he thought of that decision to shoot!
But here thankfully he did, incredible drama
Hope Monaghan kick on now
Quote from: Gold on April 17, 2023, 12:25:35 AM
The goal was a FLUKE! Poor and insane shot straight up the middle that flukley went through Morgans legs
Everyone expected a handpassed point for a draw but The Monaghan no 14 was actually standing at the edge of the small square for an easy open net palmed in Ryan McHugh goal....O Toole had the blinkers on though, clearly never played BBall in his life....ask Stephen O Hanlon what he thought of that decision to shoot!
Both McManus and Corey said he scored the same goal a few weeks back against Mayo.
Not bad for a fluke!
Quote from: J70 on April 17, 2023, 12:29:59 AM
Both McManus and Corey said he scored the same goal a few weeks back against Mayo.
Not bad for a fluke!
https://youtu.be/B2rqqBd2s80
i didn't see that 2nd half performance coming after the first half. This time I'd have to say Tyrone played the game fair and square, I don't know what happened to them in the 2nd half in particular but just happy enough with Monaghan's approach which was evident from the 2nd half throw in.
We will need 2 good halves to beat Derry.
The new championship structure will favour the big teams like Tyrone. It's closer to a soccer tournament like the old World Cup with a group stage and knockout over a relatively short time period.
Tyrone are not the finished article yet.
But they have time to get up to speed. The goal was top notch.
https://twitter.com/RTEgaa/status/1647614391561383937
Quote from: An Watcher on April 16, 2023, 11:00:10 PM
Lucky all ireland champions don't beat 5 division one teams in the shape of cavan, donegal, monaghan, kerry and mayo. I'd say a lucky all ireland was the year the dubs won in 3020 beating westmeath, laois, meath, cavan and mayo. Jesus christ. So Tyrone beat donegal, monaghan and kerry while the dubs beat westmeath, laois and meath. Such a difference. Luck my arse
There are no lucky all Ireland champions. Tyrone, Dublin or otherwise. You best who you have to beat and that's it. Did Tyrone get the tub of the green in certain games? Maybe. But what all Ireland champions didn't
The funny bit about the lucky All Ireland is when people throw in covid like it was some massive advantage. Tyrone training with 14/15 players or less for 2/3 weeks in the middle of the championship and people thinking it was somehow an advantage as Kerry had to wait an extra week to play the game. Even within that match Tyrone played with 14 men for 20 minutes of the second half and only for a soft Kerry free at the end would have won in normal time. Going into the final as underdogs with all experts tipping an on form Mayo team and turning them over by 4/5 points. Not sure where the luck game from. They averaged 21 points a game playing against 4 division one teams.
Very poor start to second half yesterday when Tyrone game out with the wrong mentality cost them nearly as it was hard to recover once Monaghan had the momentum. I'd still have Tyrone as lively All Ireland contenders but lot of work to do especially defensively. Both goals yesterday were a joke from a defensive point of view.
Reading back yesterday - it's almost like people are out to complain about games no matter what. There was a few negative comments during the first half. It wasn't a classic but there was 19 scores in it including a master class from Canavan. You wonder what some people want from the game now.
A game of two halves.
Tyrone were going well in the first half, Monaghan living off a very poor referring performance. Some very soft and questionable frees.
10 and 20 from Monaghan had great games, constantly running at the Tyrone defence. Can't for the life of me understand the thought process of leaving Burns on for so long. He was having a stinker. McGeary not brilliant either. Morgan with another horror show. Missed a straight forward FK, kickouts in 2nd half not great and getting beat for the goal at the end. He's an outfield player in goals. It's not working.
Don't get the love for Beggan, didn't think he was that great to be honest.
McCurry and Canavan had great games, but they were constantly caught in a web of Monaghan men.
When was the last time Tyrone conceded 2-17? A freak result.
Anyway thems the breaks.
For the neutral it must've been one of the best games in a long time.
Best game I have seen in a long time. Some of the comments about O'Toole going for the goal the way he did show how we have become conditioned to be being very risk averse.
I found McGinley's (a good analyst generally) analysis on the sunday game disappointing. It was about where Tyrone gave it to monaghan rather than where monaghan won it. Every team makes mistakes which will ultimately being the differentiator in games.
Monaghan Derry will be interesting. Monaghan won't be easy beat there.
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 17, 2023, 08:46:14 AM
I found McGinley's (a good analyst generally) analysis on the sunday game disappointing. It was about where Tyrone gave it to monaghan rather than where monaghan won it. Every team makes mistakes which will ultimately being the differentiator in games.
Yeah I really don't like this kind of analysis that has come out since, seems really one-sided. Why is it that Tyrone are the architects of their own downfall in the 2nd half, and yet they are getting alot of praise(rightly) for their 1st half attacking play. If the analysis was more even then maybe it would be pointed out that Monaghan's defensive set-up was inviting Tyrone on and way too open. In fairness to Vinny, once he made the switches on McCurry and Canavan, they were much more contained than the first half hour. Not many people giving that credit though, merely looking at it from the Tyrone side.
Quote from: trailer on April 17, 2023, 08:44:15 AM
A game of two halves.
Tyrone were going well in the first half, Monaghan living off a very poor referring performance. Some very soft and questionable frees.
10 and 20 from Monaghan had great games, constantly running at the Tyrone defence. Can't for the life of me understand the thought process of leaving Burns on for so long. He was having a stinker. McGeary not brilliant either. Morgan with another horror show. Missed a straight forward FK, kickouts in 2nd half not great and getting beat for the goal at the end. He's an outfield player in goals. It's not working.
McCurry and Canavan had great games, but they were constantly caught in a web of Monaghan men.
Anyway thems the breaks.
Strange comment. You'd think going by that he's just been fired in this year as an experiment in nets when in reality he's been consistently one of the best goalkeepers in the game for 10 years now. I wouldn't swap him for any other keeper in Ireland and there is no one remotely close in Tyrone in quality to him.
A game of two halves.
Anyway thems the breaks.
I personally though both teams got a few soft frees, but Tyrone were very undisciplined in the tackle in that first half with no need to be.
They were dominating the game but still gave away too many frees in scoring areas when they didn't need to. Then were further punished for what I assume was backchat and the ball getting moved forward 10m to make it even easier.
A little more discipline and a little less bad manners and they'd have been 8-9 ahead at half time with little chance of Monaghan coming back.
Quote from: square_ball on April 17, 2023, 10:33:24 AM
A game of two halves.
Anyway thems the breaks.
Strange comment. You'd think going by that he's just been fired in this year as an experiment in nets when in reality he's been consistently one of the best goalkeepers in the game for 10 years now. I wouldn't swap him for any other keeper in Ireland and there is no one remotely close in Tyrone in quality to him.
Couldn't agree more. We have defensive issues but Morgan isn't one of them!! We need a settled 6 that isn't Harte. And ideally Burns to get back to his better form in a sweeper role. Lacking a bit of leadership as well from the likes of McGeary, Hampsey etc. The only one who seems to consistently prove that is Donnelly, but given his age we can't solely rely on him.
Morgan is one of the best goalies in the country. Its between him and Beggan.
Poor goalkeeping... nothing flukey about it.
Since winning the All-Ireland in 2021 Tyrone have only beaten Fermanagh in the championship. (A record that should be improved on the All-Ireland group stage?)
In Tyrone's last three championship games they have conceded 4-51. If that isn't improved on it will likely be a Prem quarter final exit this summer.
Best game I have seen in a long time. Some of the comments about O'Toole going for the goal the way he did show how we have become conditioned to be being very risk averse.
I think Monaghan could beat Derry. Corey is a good manager
Heard your man on OTB say that Monaghan aren't concerned about Ulster titles anymore and it's all about the All-Ireland now. I thought Monaghan hadn't won Ulster in nearly a decade?
Quote from: greatpoint on April 17, 2023, 04:35:27 PM
Heard your man on OTB say that Monaghan aren't concerned about Ulster titles anymore and it's all about the All-Ireland now. I thought Monaghan hadn't won Ulster in nearly a decade?
The red hair chap who tends to have some odd opinions. Monaghan players reaction at the full whistle says they are very much concerned but Derry next another big hurdle to jump
Quote from: seafoid on April 17, 2023, 03:45:53 PM
I think Monaghan could beat Derry. Corey is a good manager
I agree.
Though I think Derry will be much tougher than Tyrone were yesterday. It will be an tough game for both sides.
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 17, 2023, 04:57:26 PM
The red hair chap who tends to have some odd opinions. Monaghan players reaction at the full whistle says they are very much concerned but Derry next another big hurdle to jump
That's Shane Hannon, knows about all things Monaghan GAA in minute detail. He did not say Monaghan are not concerned about Ulster titles, he said winning Ulster in itself is not enough for this Monaghan team, they want more.
Quote from: Main Street on April 17, 2023, 08:44:03 PM
That's Shane Hannon, knows about all things Monaghan GAA in minute detail. He did not say Monaghan are not concerned about Ulster titles, he said winning Ulster in itself is not enough for this Monaghan team, they want more.
Isn't he the reporter that did the Kellie Harrington interview a few weeks ago. I thought that was a reasonable interview but he was on the wrong end of a twitter pile on after it.
It's nice to spend the day in celebration of an Ulster triumph.
I wondered what had happened to Tyrone, watched the 2nd half again, and inside the first 10 minutes Monaghan undid most of Tyrone's first half dominance when scoring 4 points without even breaking sweat. Monaghan had made the changes, tactics and attitude,while Tyrone were in a daze.
But from 45mins onward it was 50/50, until Tyrone had the game won with seconds to play, looked certain winners, but then we witnessed an audacious brilliant winner.
Somehow at the death the pendulum fell Monaghan's way at Healy Pk.
Any neutrals thoughts about the ref Niall Cullen? I thought he did well, brought something different to the refereeing. Obviously he wasn't perfect but calmly effective and in command, in the context of a hotly contested Ulster 1/4 final which was going down to the wire.
Quote from: Main Street on April 17, 2023, 09:20:43 PM
I wondered what had happened to Tyrone, watched the 2nd half again, and inside the first 10 minutes Monaghan undid most of Tyrone's first half dominance when scoring 4 points without even breaking sweat. Monaghan had made the changes, tactics and attitude,while Tyrone were in a daze.
But from 45mins onward it was 50/50, until Tyrone had the game won with seconds to play, looked certain winners, but then we witnessed an audacious brilliant winner.
Any neutrals thoughts about the ref Niall Cullen? I thought he did well, brought something different to the refereeing. Obviously he wasn't perfect but calmly effective and in command, in the context of a hotly contested Ulster 1/4 final which was going down to the wire.
Corey definitely identified the problems at half time and made the changes that won Monaghan the match. They upped the intensity and started to hunt down Tyrone in he second half after they had been far too passive in the opening period. That was great management.
Thought the referee was fairly poor. Gave Monaghan some fairly innocuous free kicks which McManus converted in the first half to keep them in the game. Should've sent off McNamee for striking Jones but instead booked Hampsey (tbf that was down to his umpires) and gave Tyrone a couple of very soft free kicks nearing the end of the match.
Can someone explained what happened with the Tyrone "indirect free"? That's what the BBC commentators called it but I can't remember it happening in GAA before.
Happened in Derry v Dublin game in the league.
Quote from: CK_Redhand on April 17, 2023, 10:10:46 PM
Can someone explained what happened with the Tyrone "indirect free"? That's what the BBC commentators called it but I can't remember it happening in GAA before.
I didn't see it but a "technical foul" inside the 13yd box im guessing ? Fouling the ball, too many steps etc ?
When play is stopped for a serious injury, play is restarted with a free for the last team in possession but they can't score from the free. If no team was in possession it is a hop ball
Not to be too negative but I thought both sides were poor enough for periods of the game.
I think because of the exciting nature of the game down the stretch people are overlooking a lot of poor/bad play on both sides.
Monaghan were wide open in the first half - at one stage it was like they had forgot to tell anyone to play centre-back never mind sweeper.
Tyrone's discipline and taking on some poor options on the shooting front (McCurry especially) kept Monaghan in the game in the first half.
Then at the start of the second half Tyrone looked like a side who were convinced they had the game won - they had the look of a team who seemed to think that they were much further ahead on the scoreboard- of all sides to adopt this attitude to Monaghan are not the side to do so especially when Tyrone had kept them in the game in the first half.
It took Tyrone way too long to wake up in the 2nd half and actually realise they were in a game. Then it was helter-skelter down the home stretch.
Quote from: yellowcard on April 17, 2023, 09:54:28 PM
Corey definitely identified the problems at half time and made the changes that won Monaghan the match. They upped the intensity and started to hunt down Tyrone in he second half after they had been far too passive in the opening period. That was great management.
Thought the referee was fairly poor. Gave Monaghan some fairly innocuous free kicks which McManus converted in the first half to keep them in the game. Should've sent off McNamee for striking Jones but instead booked Hampsey (tbf that was down to his umpires) and gave Tyrone a couple of very soft free kicks nearing the end of the match.
I think the slo mo replays confirmed that the ref had his reasons to award the soft foul, maybe opinions differ on the force of the push in the face/back, but the O'Hanlon steps foul took the biscuit, was it not a thing decided in the past with Sean Cavanagh, 4 baby steps on the spot is equal to one manly step?
Did Peter Harte have any impact in the game, I didn't realise he was playing until midway 2nd half.
Still no idea how Tyrone were so open for the second goal. Madness how Monaghan had so many overlaps.
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 17, 2023, 11:21:16 PM
Still no idea how Tyrone were so open for the second goal. Madness how Monaghan had so many overlaps.
They didn't get back fast enough to lock the doors. I wouldn't try too hard to analyse the why, but the goal needed to be scored by Monaghan instead of a fisted point, Tyrone would have had two plays to score a point instead of desperate attempts to score a goal.
I thought ref was poor enough, gave some ridiculous soft frees to both teams and bottled a red card against Tyrone.
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on April 17, 2023, 10:19:50 PM
When play is stopped for a serious injury, play is restarted with a free for the last team in possession but they can't score from the free. If no team was in possession it is a hop ball
The ongoing lack of knowledge of this rule by so many never ceases to amaze me!!
Monaghan scored 10 points from frees. Roscommon would never allow that to happen.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 18, 2023, 08:40:54 AM
The ongoing lack of knowledge of this rule by so many never ceases to amaze me!!
Include Thomas Niblock and Philly McMahon in this group as they were amazed at the strange goings on.
Think because yrs ago, it was a throw up ball.
From memory I think it was changed around 10 years ago?
Another that some commentators don't know is a throw up for encroaching when taking a sideline kick.
And of course McStay and playing the ball on the ground in last year's Tailteann Final
Quote from: Rossfan on April 18, 2023, 10:34:31 AM
From memory I think it was changed around 10 years ago?
Another that some commentators don't know is a throw up for encroaching when taking a sideline kick.
And of course McStay and playing the ball on the ground in last year's Tailteann Final
The lack of knowledge of the rules among the 'expert pundits' is a disgrace! If they don't know the rules of the game they shouldn't be providing 'expert' analysis!
Quote from: seafoid on April 18, 2023, 09:32:14 AM
Monaghan scored 10 points from frees. Roscommon would never allow that to happen.
Depends on the referee.
Quote from: clarshack on April 18, 2023, 10:59:26 AM
Depends on the referee.
Hard to concede frees when you're down with that many head injuries.
Quote from: square_ball on April 17, 2023, 10:33:24 AM
A game of two halves.
Anyway thems the breaks.
Straight up all messing aside, I just think he never makes a save. He's actually good enough to probably play outfield for Tyrone. For me a true goalkeeper saves that last shot. He'll think he did poorly as well.
Quote from: clarshack on April 18, 2023, 10:59:26 AM
Depends on the referee.
100%. The first thing any county team should be doing is analysing the referee as there is no consistency from one to another.
https://youtu.be/yDr_CycyGL0?t=1017
"Monaghan don't care about winning Ulster this year, it would be lovely, but the group is the focus" (16:57 in the video)
That is what was said, not sure why you are pretending otherwise. You can click on it and listen to it yourself.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 18, 2023, 08:40:54 AM
I suspected that's what it was for but as I said I had never seen it before, or just didn't notice. 99% of the time in these situations it seems to be a hop ball, maybe the ref normally lets things run until the ball spills loose?
Dick Clerkin
"if that Tyrone team goes on and competes for Sam Maguire this summer, I will lick Rory Gallagher's post match palms"
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 18, 2023, 04:03:56 PM
Dick Clerkin
"if that Tyrone team goes on and competes for Sam Maguire this summer, I will lick Rory Gallagher's post match palms"
Never did think Dick was the sharpest tool in the shed.
I agree with him.
I thought after the end of the league and first half on Sunday that they could be challengers but I can't see how the team that capitulated in Omagh could win an All Ireland.
It would be some turnaround!!
Dick Clerkin
Sure they will be competing for Sam this year Aren't they in the group stages ???
Quote from: screenexile on April 18, 2023, 09:38:00 PM
I agree with him.
I thought after the end of the league and first half on Sunday that they could be challengers but I can't see how the team that capitulated in Omagh could win an All Ireland.
He didn't say 'win an All Ireland "
I agree with him.
Not really. Tyrone won in 05 and 08 after losing in Ulster. If they had been fabulous in the early rounds maybe they wouldn't have won the all Irelands
Quote from: greatpoint on April 18, 2023, 03:03:35 PM
"Monaghan don't care about winning Ulster this year, it would be lovely, but the group is the focus" (16:57 in the video)
That is what was said, not sure why you are pretending otherwise. You can click on it and listen to it yourself.
. No need to get your knickers in a twist.
He said what I said he said just before he said what you said he said.
https://youtu.be/yDr_CycyGL0?t=974
I can be both right and wrong at the same time..
Quote from: Jim Bob on April 18, 2023, 09:43:04 PM
Dick Clerkin
Sure they will be competing for Sam this year Aren't they in the group stages ???
Are you going to bust Dick's balls over a technicality?
I agree with him.
Sounds familiar. Never rule those f**kers out
Alot of people seem to mention Tyrone getting beat in omagh as if its kerry in killarney or the dubs in croke Park. Would love to know the statistics but omagh is far from a fortress. Many a time I'm glad they're out of there as the record is just ok
I agree with him.
Meh. Turned around bigger.
Sports fans/pundits are unbelievably fickle. Tyrone have 1 bad half in their last 4 games, during which they played Kerry, Monaghan, Armagh, Monaghan and all of a sudden they are written off.
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 18, 2023, 11:14:06 PM
I agree with him.
Sports fans/pundits are unbelievably fickle. Tyrone have 1 bad half in their last 4 games, during which they played Kerry, Monaghan, Armagh, Monaghan and all of a sudden they are written off.
They were written off at start of year, then got a few good wins and were talked about as ai contenders. If we get a good win over Cavan and get that monkey off our back of not beating a decent team in Ulster we'll get serious smoke blew up our hole. Fickle is right. It'll take a good team to knock Tyrone out!
Quote from: Main Street on April 18, 2023, 10:16:09 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on April 18, 2023, 03:03:35 PM
. No need to get your knickers in a twist.
He said what I said he said just before he said what you said he said.
https://youtu.be/yDr_CycyGL0?t=974
I can be both right and wrong at the same time..
The distinction is that you replied to tell me I was wrong while I never made any reference to your suggestion of what was said. If you can't follow the logic you should go back and read the posts again, fair play for conceding on your error though.
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 18, 2023, 11:24:26 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 18, 2023, 11:14:06 PM
I agree with him.
They were written off at start of year, then got a few good wins and were talked about as ai contenders. If we get a good win over Cavan and get that monkey off our back of not beating a decent team in Ulster we'll get serious smoke blew up our hole. Fickle is right. It'll take a good team to knock Tyrone out!
It's gotten to be the same in every sport. One minute you're the best ever and the next after a poor performance you're the worst team/player they've seen in their lives. There's no middle ground any more it has to be one or the other.
The other thing people don't consider is that you *should* learn more from a defeat than a victory. Tyrone will be looking at where they went wrong and trying to correct it. Monaghan had an awful first half so maybe they will have their learnings from that too but Tyrone have plenty of time to put things right.
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 19, 2023, 08:53:26 AM
The other thing people don't consider is that you *should* learn more from a defeat than a victory. Tyrone will be looking at where they went wrong and trying to correct it. Monaghan had an awful first half so maybe they will have their learnings from that too but Tyrone have plenty of time to put things right.
Thats a fair point too. If McCurrys point had proved to be the winner it would have papered over a lot of the cracks in that 2nd half.
I'm not expecting Tyrone to win the AI this year but I think they'll be in a quarter final and after that who knows. It will still take a good team to beat them.
Quote from: square_ball on April 19, 2023, 09:05:37 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 19, 2023, 08:53:26 AM
Thats a fair point too. If McCurrys point had proved to be the winner it would have papered over a lot of the cracks in that 2nd half.
I'm not expecting Tyrone to win the AI this year but I think they'll be in a quarter final and after that who knows. It will still take a good team to beat them.
Yeah if Monaghan have a first half against Derry like that they'll surely be dead and buried by half time. Obviously 2 good sides but they'll both have to improve and play well for more than a half if they want to get anywhere this year.
It was a very close game. Tbh 9 times out of 10 that goal doesn't go in then everyone would have been saying how great Tyrone are. Dick Clerkin is another one of these ones who say things to get attention so not sure I would be paying much attention.
There are very few teams who will be genuine AI contenders anyway. Tbh for me there are probably only two.
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 19, 2023, 09:29:25 AM
It was a very close game. Tbh 9 times out of 10 that goal doesn't go in then everyone would have been saying how great Tyrone are. Dick Clerkin is another one of these ones who say things to get attention so not sure I would be paying much attention.
There are very few teams who will be genuine AI contenders anyway. Tbh for me there are probably only two.
Galway or Dublin? Obviously Kerry.
There's a top 10 this year so far.
The 8 who were in Div 1 plus Derry and Dublin.
Which of them are genuine contenders for Sam?
Dublin, Kerry, Galway by 2022 Championship performances.
Possibly Mayowestros on their League showings.
A semi final appearance is the limit for the remaining 6.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 19, 2023, 10:21:36 AM
There's a top 10 this year so far.
The 8 who were in Div 1 plus Derry and Dublin.
Which of them are genuine contenders for Sam?
Dublin, Kerry, Galway by 2022 Championship performances.
Possibly Mayowestros on their League showings.
A semi final appearance is the limit for the remaining 6.
Wouldn't say a semi is the limit. Would you be hugely surprised if Tyrone, Derry, yourselves or ourselves were to turn over one of those 4 in a semi final? Maybe a bit of a shock but not massively so
I'd be pleasantly surprised :D
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/2023/04/19/darragh-o-se-why-dublin-are-my-all-ireland-favourites-this-year-even-ahead-of-kerry/
And as good as Monaghan were, I think Tyrone will be more of a threat at the business end of the championship. Too many of their players were off-form on Sunday, but they haven't gone away. I don't think the Ulster championship was a priority for them.
Quote from: seafoid on April 19, 2023, 11:31:48 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/2023/04/19/darragh-o-se-why-dublin-are-my-all-ireland-favourites-this-year-even-ahead-of-kerry/
And as good as Monaghan were, I think Tyrone will be more of a threat at the business end of the championship. Too many of their players were off-form on Sunday, but they haven't gone away. I don't think the Ulster championship was a priority for them.
Has a Kerry man ever publicly tipped them for the All Ireland?
Dick Clerkin
Dick still raging about losing the games that really mattered against Tyrone as a player ;D. He might be a better pundit if he could move on. Wonder how he defines "competes" too. If Tyrone end up even making the last four then he might be making an awkward call to Rory Gallagher.
Disappointing to see the likes of Peter Harte and Niall Morgan in particular coming in for criticism. Wasn't Peter's day but a great player for many years and I'd back him to bounce back again. Morgan too a class act and he did well in Sunday for the most part. His kicking was outstanding. Should have stopped the goal but given it seems pretty much everyone was shocked that O' Toole went for goal then maybe we should cut him some slack. It's perhaps a reflection on the game that going for goal at that stage is seen by many as a risk too big to take or as a reflection of naivety. Would be nice to think it might inspire a slight change of thinking. All credit to O'Toole, who also came across extremely well in his post match appearance on the GAA Social.
Dick Clerkin
It depends how you define competing for Sam Maguire. I'd still expect them to get out of the group and probably reach the quarter finals. After that I'm not sure. Dick would be more used to licking the GAA establishments asses and I don't expect to see him licking Rory Gallaghers hands.
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 19, 2023, 10:01:14 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 19, 2023, 09:29:25 AM
Galway or Dublin? Obviously Kerry.
Looking at the odds Dublin and Kerry. Mayo,Galway odds suggests they might reach the final but won't win against the two favourites.
::) Such a typical comment from someone who is only concerned with the viewpoint of the "big" team. He's always been like that tbh
Tyrone's players looked in pretty damn good form in the first half. And for a bit of balance, why not mention how Monaghan's players were in shocking form for that period of the game, and some of the main players didn't even have a good second half(D Hughes off injured, McCarron). Incredibly selective and unbalanced piece there
Same was said about Tyrone last year when they lost to Derry. Only to go out of the championship tamely.
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 19, 2023, 06:50:09 PM
Same was said about Tyrone last year when they lost to Derry. Only to go out of the championship tamely.
Tyrone never followed up an all Ireland with a good year
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 19, 2023, 06:50:09 PM
There was no contest in that game though, not really comparable.
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 19, 2023, 03:31:55 PM
Dick Clerkin
Dick still raging about losing the games that really mattered against Tyrone as a player ;D. He might be a better pundit if he could move on. Wonder how he defines "competes" too. If Tyrone end up even making the last four then he might be making an awkward call to Rory Gallagher.
Disappointing to see the likes of Peter Harte and Niall Morgan in particular coming in for criticism. Wasn't Peter's day but a great player for many years and I'd back him to bounce back again. Morgan too a class act and he did well in Sunday for the most part. His kicking was outstanding. Should have stopped the goal but given it seems pretty much everyone was shocked that O' Toole went for goal then maybe we should cut him some slack. It's perhaps a reflection on the game that going for goal at that stage is seen by many as a risk too big to take or as a reflection of naivety. Would be nice to think it might inspire a slight change of thinking. All credit to O'Toole, who also came across extremely well in his post match appearance on the GAA Social.
I wouldn't say its a reflection on how the game is going as its always about risk verse reward. If he missed it then he would have been slated for a long time not taking the point. You can praise him for taking the risk but there wouldn have been knifes out for him if he missed it. Imagine losing an ulster final or ai final for example for someone going for glory instead of levelling the game
Quote from: Schkite on April 19, 2023, 06:41:46 PM
::) Such a typical comment from someone who is only concerned with the viewpoint of the "big" team. He's always been like that tbh
Tyrone's players looked in pretty damn good form in the first half. And for a bit of balance, why not mention how Monaghan's players were in shocking form for that period of the game, and some of the main players didn't even have a good second half(D Hughes off injured, McCarron). Incredibly selective and unbalanced piece there
I remember a certain comment about not winning an AI with Dooher in the team and eating hats. Be great if this came back to bite the bold Dick later in the year.
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 19, 2023, 11:10:55 PM
Quote from: Schkite on April 19, 2023, 06:41:46 PM
I remember a certain comment about not winning an AI with Dooher in the team and eating hats. Be great if this came back to bite the bold Dick later in the year.
Nah, Dick will not have to lick palms, he has given his hips for the cause, he's a made man in Monaghan, an untouchable.