Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: john mcgill on June 11, 2007, 10:03:10 PM

Title: Vegetable roll
Post by: john mcgill on June 11, 2007, 10:03:10 PM
Vegetable roll is made of sausage meat with onion and tomato added.  Lovely but big time bad for the arteries. Comes in rolls the size of a small burger. Its a great delicacy in Armagh and Tyrone.  A friend who lives in Luton always asks me to bring hiim some over.  He tells me that its not available in the south.  I'd like to know where its sold and not.  Also are there any other areas where there are specialist foods like this.  I once had the best white pudding ever in Newport.
Title: Re: Vegetable roll
Post by: Stranworst on June 11, 2007, 11:04:15 PM
Am from Craigavon myself and have to say love a good veggie roll!

Plus live with a good few fellas from Down an all from school who hadn't really heard of them? What's the deal there?

Great meat addition to a fry!
Post by: stew on June 11, 2007, 11:31:19 PM
I havent had a veggie roll in about ten years  :'(

Whatever happened to the keady loaf? I loved that bread, the toughest crust in the world and you used to get them still warm from the oven and i put butter and jam on it with a mug of tae, ahh the memories.
Title: Keady loaf
Post by: john mcgill on June 12, 2007, 05:11:31 AM
Stew
The Keady loaf, as was, has gone out of existence.  O'Kanes in Armagh sell a very good batch loaf from a bakery in Cavan. (No I'm not Eggie O'Kane!)
Keady also did a very good soda loaf
I'm off for breakfast, this nostalgia has made me hungry.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on June 12, 2007, 08:04:23 AM
I see Tesco's is now selling Polish bread. What is the difference between it and a Crossey's special.

PS My relations in Canada just want tins of mushy peas brought over to them when there's ones going over.
Post by: Long time dead on June 12, 2007, 08:07:19 AM
Think the Keady loaf as we all knew and loved it went for hygiene reasons, doubt it would go down well now walking into Macrai's pawing round the bread and breaking your own loaf off - but hey it was beautiful bread.  As for vegetable roll - I love the stuff.
Post by: mooncatiii on June 12, 2007, 08:59:05 AM
if its veggies roll your after look no further than charlie mallon's, in lurgan and portadown!  fuk they're some eat!
Post by: An Fear Rua on June 12, 2007, 09:19:54 AM
In and around Dungannon we have  the "mate roll" , sounds quite similar, sausage meat with a few herbs and stuff, shapped like a thick burger , battered and deep fried. A meat roll supper from O'Neills(the original Dolphin) on the Donaghmore road would take the beer of anyman, no matter what time of the morning. I always get at least one serving every time i go home.

Its no wonder the heart attack rate is so high, but sometime you just have to for go the risks..
Post by: rrhf on June 12, 2007, 09:33:57 AM
the "mate roll" is indeed a Dungannon phenomenon,  in Dungannon they say its better than sex,  in Belfast they try to serve me pasties but Im never buying.
Post by: Donagh on June 12, 2007, 09:38:06 AM
Wheaten farls outside Lurgan?
Post by: SammyG on June 12, 2007, 09:40:59 AM
Quote from: Donagh on June 12, 2007, 09:38:06 AM
Wheaten farls outside Lurgan?

Split them down the middle, toast the inside bit, spread on half a pound of butter, food of the gods.  :) :) :)
Post by: An Fear Rua on June 12, 2007, 09:55:02 AM
Quote from: rrhf on June 12, 2007, 09:33:57 AM
the "mate roll" is indeed a Dungannon phenomenon,  in Dungannon they say its better than sex,  in Belfast they try to serve me pasties but Im never buying.

One Ferrari driving family who used to operate in Irish Street in Dungannon, used to try and pass off battered burgers as meat rolls, it was never gonna work, no disrespect to the battered burger, but its was no meat roll
Post by: aontroim abu on June 12, 2007, 10:15:40 AM
True its no veggie roll - but a battered burger out o fthe Village chippy in Coolock on a Friday night certainly soaks up the drink
Post by: rrhf on June 12, 2007, 10:19:00 AM
we must be careful here not to let Dungannon towns most marketable asset and best kept secret ie Meat roll half chip and brown sauce escape to rivals on the www  Next Harry ramsden will be downsizing his fish operation in favour of the humbkle veggie roll.
Post by: An Fear Rua on June 12, 2007, 10:35:27 AM
Its called a Meat Roll supper- 2 x meat rolls and the rest of the bag filled with chips.

Real men dont put sauce on it, just salt and vinegar.

Its up there with other Dungannon classics of years gone by like the "Cowboy Supper", "Chip pea onion gravy" from Terrys chinky in Perry Street (I heard a rumour its now closed) and then fantastic "Special Chip" from the now Defunct Pips Place , also on Perry Street, no one ever knew what the sauce was, but it was a bit like a chicken gravy, and the whispers at school had us convinced that it was made from chicken feet smuggled out of Moy Park. RoystonmVasey eat your heart out.

The finest vendor of deep fried food, is Pagnis cafe at the top of Irish Street, its been there for god knows how many years, the current spot isnt the original, it used to be directly across the road, but moved after the DunOwen was "redecorated"- its an institution.
Post by: Spiritof98 on June 12, 2007, 10:35:47 AM
Have to say the veggie roll gives me awful heart burn but I still buy the Keady loaf at taylors in armagh (accross from St Malachys Chapel), lovely with a bowl of soup.
Post by: rrhf on June 12, 2007, 10:51:23 AM
the same institution now brings us the "deadly burger" i kid you not.  Elvis could only handle one a week of these babies.
Post by: An Fear Rua on June 12, 2007, 10:57:31 AM
Nice on, I'll be home in a couple of weeks, and will sample said delight. I'll bet they are still using the same crockery they had in the 70's!
Post by: Great Leap Forward on June 12, 2007, 11:06:47 AM
Boys, I thought I had died and gone to heaven when I saw a thread on the old vegetable roll. I have a wild charge of drink over the weekend and the only thing that got me out of bed yesterday afternoon was the thought of a plate of the good stuff.

I have to admit to using the George Foreman to cook it as there in inordinate amount of grease in the stuff.

I have never tried the Dungannon 'Mate Roll' despite my frequent visits to the fast food houses up there. I would be a fan of the Dolphin's beef cutlets though.
Post by: Abble on June 12, 2007, 12:14:07 PM
whenever i do my shop its sometimes a 50/50 between the sausages and the vegetable rolls.....as I hear there's all sorts goes in to making a sausage i'll opt mostly for the vegetable rolls...ok, the vegetable rolls are no healthier but for taste there's nothing like them...lovely in a slice of thick white pan with a right spread of real butter, bit of brown too.
Post by: rrhf on June 12, 2007, 01:55:00 PM
Just had a mate roll  there.  frig it was nice. 
Post by: stiffler on June 12, 2007, 01:57:23 PM
theres a butchers in dromore co.down, Quails, if anyone is ever in the vicinity try the chicken and broccoli bake or the chicken pie. Unreal.
Post by: Great Leap Forward on June 12, 2007, 02:08:05 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 12, 2007, 01:55:00 PM
Just had a mate roll  there.  frig it was nice. 

Who does these mate rolls you talk about? Is it the chippy up beside McAleers?
Post by: An Fear Rua on June 12, 2007, 02:13:25 PM
Quote from: stiffler on June 12, 2007, 01:57:23 PM
theres a butchers in dromore co.down, Quails, if anyone is ever in the vicinity try the chicken and broccoli bake or the chicken pie. Unreal.

how the f**k are you gonna hospitalise yourself and get on the sick eating health shite like that?? ;-)

Meat rolls or "Mate Rolls" as they are know locally can be found (Correct me if im wrong as I dont live in FUNgannon anymore)

In
1) what used to be the Dolphin, next to Oneills shop and McALeers
2) The New Dolphin which is down on the road liniking Scotch Street and William Street, opposite where old court house was
3) The chippy on William Street, next to where Macs Bakery was, opposite Brendan Begleys.
Title: Northern bias
Post by: john mcgill on June 12, 2007, 02:28:10 PM
When I started this thread I thought that it might have an All Ireland appeal but it currently seems that its just us "far downers" that have local delicacies. 
Post by: An Fear Rua on June 12, 2007, 02:41:44 PM
Not quite a delicay, but I have fond Memories of Cafolas in Westport and Castlebar, it was always fresh and piping hot, and it was the only time i ever saw my granny eat chips.

Of course it always had to be washed down with an "Ice Cream Soda" - basically a big lump of vanilla Ice cream healed into a glass of coke.

Other include

Macaris Ice cream in armagh, with the associated toppings
Timmoneys in Newry, no stickers, no gimmick, just an old bloke in a white coat , scooping heaven from a cold metal drum.

dont forget
(http://www.harbour.sfu.ca/~hayward/van/glossary/jpgs/parisbun.jpg)
Paris buns

Title: Paris Buns
Post by: john mcgill on June 12, 2007, 03:55:05 PM
An Fear Rua you are a man with taste. I married a woman from a far away parish and wooed her with the promises of Paris buns when we returned to Armagh.  I had been brought up with them from the bread van.  She, unfortunately, couldn't see the attraction.  Makes me wonder
Title: Paris Buns
Post by: 5 Sams on June 12, 2007, 03:57:34 PM
Paris Buns....mmmmmm....we were spoilt cos my da was a breadman and there an endless supply of Paris buns (cut in half with a good lash of real butter), Nutty Krust and slims in our house.
Post by: armagh leg-end on June 12, 2007, 03:58:17 PM
QuoteMacaris Ice cream in armagh, with the associated toppings

lovely
Post by: An Fear Rua on June 12, 2007, 04:08:44 PM
Another thing I miss is that fruit loaf, Veda? or was there another one with a purple wrapper?

Oh can I must also add the fantastic decision to relaunch Wibbly Wobbly Wonders, Loop the loops , freaky feet, Icebergs etc last  BUT does anyone remember the Dracula Ice lollys? Dark ice covered vanilla ice cream with a blood red streak through the middle of it?
Post by: 5 Sams on June 12, 2007, 04:18:17 PM
Jaysus AFR you are really dragging them up from the past.....veda is still v popular over here.....although its the one without the currants and raisins....all my english relatives take a suitcase full of the stuff home with them when they visit.....try it toasted with melted mature cheddar.....gorgeous. I can't remember the name of the one with the fruit in it. Did it begin with S...Soreen or something like that???
Title: Funny what you miss
Post by: john mcgill on June 12, 2007, 05:00:25 PM
I shared a house in the late 70's in the US with some south Armagh men.  A relative was coming out and asked what we wanted brought out. The usual list with sausages, HP sauce, bread, tea and stragely enough salad cream.  The visitor brought out a gallon of salad cream and one Crossmaglen man ate most of it in salad cream sandwiches.
Post by: stew on June 12, 2007, 11:27:03 PM
What is miss (apart from the keady loaf) is sausage rolls, feck me they are to die for with hp on them and you dunk them in beans and fried tomato and then stick them in your gub only to be washed down with a steaming cup of tae. Heaven.

Post by: Kernan_is_King on June 13, 2007, 12:37:34 AM
Vegetable roll is rank, and salad cream sandwiches even worse. Steak I say.
Post by: Tyrones own on June 13, 2007, 12:51:10 AM

Forget the steak, just take the horns off him and clean his hole for BIG Joe ;)
   You had me dooling there AFR at the site of that Paris bun, crumbs and all!
   Fcuk it, i need to get home :'(
Title: Re: Funny what you miss
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on June 13, 2007, 10:56:38 AM
Quote from: john mcgill on June 12, 2007, 05:00:25 PM
one Crossmaglen man ate most of it in salad cream sandwiches.

We were brought up on them too. That and plates of custard. No apple tart or nothing. just custard.
Post by: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 10:58:17 AM
Had some toasted Veda last night. Fecking rank...
Post by: Stranworst on June 13, 2007, 10:59:13 AM
That veda stuff makes me sick, well I'm off work today so gonna get down to the butchers get me some veggie rols for later! Gonna be good!
Post by: 5 Sams on June 13, 2007, 11:44:20 AM
Quote from: Stranworst on June 13, 2007, 10:59:13 AM
That veda stuff makes me sick, well I'm off work today so gonna get down to the butchers get me some veggie rols for later! Gonna be good!
Quote from: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 10:58:17 AM
Had some toasted Veda last night. Fecking rank…

Heathens...
Post by: Great Leap Forward on June 13, 2007, 01:39:48 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 13, 2007, 11:44:20 AM
Quote from: Stranworst on June 13, 2007, 10:59:13 AM
Quote from: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 10:58:17 AM
Had some toasted Veda last night. Fecking rank...

Heathens...

It's a disgrace the likes of Veda is still on the market while the greatest product known to mankind is long since gone. Creamola Foam, the taste of my childhood.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 13, 2007, 01:47:07 PM
Veda is a malt loaf and it is the mutts nuts with butter and jam but the thought of it toasted with or without melted cheese makes me feel sick! I must say white bread is yer only man for toast!
Post by: heganboy on June 13, 2007, 03:54:26 PM
this thread has turned into a "food I love but cant get any more" sort of thing, so here goes- I'm in the US so you can get most of these at home:

Bread- the sweet nonsense they try to pass as bread here is awful. I miss potato bread the most, soda farls, wheaten, decent scones, veda, nutty krust, Belfast Baps, Pat the Baker, any decent bread.

Sausages, Sausage rolls, white pudding, black pudding, decent bacon, vegetable roll (I blame my dad for that one) Did I mention Sausage rolls? Flakier the better

Crisps- Americans cant do crisps at all. theres already been a crisps thread, so suffice it to say that I'd like all of the crisps on that thread (especially skips, quavers and Tayto Spring Onion)

Apple Crumble

Pacers- green and white stripey mint chews we used to get what ever happened to them?

Chocolate- for anyone who ever had to eat Hershey's nonsense - awful stuff. How hard can it be to make decent milk chocolate? Dairy Milk, raisin and Biscuit Yorkies, Crunchies Maltesers, frys chocolate cream, flakes

Tae- Liptons while it has its merits is tea- I want cupan tae.

Salad cream- for salad sammidges (to go with cupan tae)

Chinese food- the Irish version of Chinese food is much nicer than the american version of Chinese food.

Pies- although I may have eaten them all- Cottage pie, shepherds pie, cumberland pie its not that hard to make them I know but come on.

Doorsteps sandwiches- probably goes back to the bread discussion, there's a lot of decent sambos here, but you miss a Dantes or a Doorsteps every once in  a while.

Curry Chips/ Gravy Chips/ Mushroom Chip/ Chip pea onion gravy. Enough said.

Super noodles & Pot noodles. sad but true

A big pot of Stew packed before heading down to a match in Clones / Dublin and all hands eating out of cheap tupperware bowls and plastic spoons at the side of the road. Also goes with salad sammidges and cupan tae from Thermos as above.

Guinness doesn't travel.

Pub Grub- a doirty auld Chicken Kiev, a carvery lunch ( my da judges how god a carvery is by the height of the pile on the plate and the lack of disapproving glances if a refill was on the cards) cod and chips, scampi, stuffed steak.

I am getting fierce hungry typing this up...

Title: heganboy
Post by: john mcgill on June 13, 2007, 04:22:06 PM
Next time I'm in NY I'll bring you out a food parcel.  Although I have to be careful as the sniffer dog detected Crunchies the last time and I had a bit of explaining to do.
Post by: Square Ball on June 13, 2007, 07:55:18 PM
Veda is great, fresh out of the Windsor bakery in Belfast, non of that aul shite from the supermarket.
Post by: stew on June 14, 2007, 02:59:20 AM
A cowboy supper with chips cooked in white cap, deadly for the aul ticker but tremendous chips all the same. Split a sausage in half and put between two slices of buttered bread then add some baked beans, a couple of sliced mushroms and chips covered in brown sauce and then eat til full. Now that is some feeding after a night on the batter.
Post by: stephenite on June 14, 2007, 04:29:34 AM
Quote from: stew on June 14, 2007, 02:59:20 AM
A cowboy supper with chips cooked in white cap, deadly for the aul ticker but tremendous chips all the same. Split a sausage in half and put between two slices of buttered bread then add some baked beans, a couple of sliced mushroms and chips covered in brown sauce and then eat til full. Now that is some feeding after a night on the batter.

Quote from: 5iveTimes on June 14, 2007, 04:12:11 AM
Swap red sauce for the brown sauce Stew and you have a proper feed there. The best chippy for a Cowboy Supper is Ned Kellys in Newry, even though he doesnt call it a Cowboy Supper.

Am I missing something ?
Post by: heganboy on June 14, 2007, 05:32:21 AM
QuoteAm I missing something ?

yes
Post by: stephenite on June 14, 2007, 06:35:31 AM
Quote from: heganboy on June 14, 2007, 05:32:21 AM
QuoteAm I missing something ?

yes

Errm , it's been one of those days, that's all I can say :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

The emoticons for taking a redner on this board aren't as good as the old ones
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on June 14, 2007, 08:12:31 AM
Great posting, heganboy.

Must get meself a big apple crumble. We never called them pies or tarts. Just a big apple crumble.
Post by: johnneycool on June 14, 2007, 08:19:35 AM
There's an art to cooking a decent veg roll according to a lad I used to share a house with who used to work in a butchers on a saturday.

When cooking a fry, do the veg roll first with very little oil and before your finished the pan will be floating and then you fry your soda's, potato bread etc in the veg roll fat.
It's the healthier option  ;D
Post by: Great Leap Forward on June 14, 2007, 09:22:07 AM
I tried that technique myself manys a time but the chest pains after it were unbearable. I am not to sure whether it was indigestion or my heart sending out a flare signal.

It does give some kick to the fried egg though.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on September 26, 2007, 07:40:27 AM
Classic was in my days as a waiter in the Europa - watching two americans, who asked if there was "anything vegetarian on the breakfast menu?" being told "Yeah, vegetable roll" and watching them scoff loads of it thinking it was made of soya bean .......
Post by: downredblack on September 26, 2007, 09:47:31 AM
Food related , Is there anywhere in Newry you can get potted herrings ?
Post by: downredblack on September 26, 2007, 12:39:11 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 26, 2007, 12:06:35 PM
Quote from: downredblack on September 26, 2007, 09:47:31 AM
Food related , Is there anywhere in Newry you can get potted herrings ?

Try Omeath on a Thursday or Friday, look out for Morgans van or a stall selling fish.

Give them a call on  0035342-9375128

Fairplay 5times.