Hopefully I get plenty of opinions on this - we are trying to book a wedding venue in the next few weeks, we have set a range of somewhere within an hour's drive of Armagh, all advice welcome! Also, is there a reason why most weddings tend to be south of the border? Are there 'black' places worth avoiding?
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=3034.0
Hard to beat Lusty Beg near Kesh and the Killy Hevlin just outside enniskillen. Good photo opportunities. Harvey's Point near donegal town is also some spot
Quotewe are trying to book a wedding venue in the next few weeks
Is this because you have time on your hands after fixing Rufus' computer?? :P
Ballymascanlon - couldn't beat it.
See your Ballymac and raise you a Harvey's Point.
Was at a few different venues last year, here's my opinion on a few of them (as a guest...)
Four Seasons, Monaghan, Brilliant! – Spacious, bar at each side of the dance floor. Food was great & Service too!
Westenra Arms, Monahan, Nice. – But the pillars at the side kind of splits the party a bit. – Not much room to maneuver!
The Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, - Lovely gardens if you get a nice day. Food is great, but the dungeon late on is a bit tight!
Galgorm Manor, Ballymena, - Fantastic spot! – Liked everything about it!
The Corrick House, Clougher, - Lovely grounds....wedding party will split up a bit though!
Glenavon, Cookstown, - Not my favourite!
Greenvale, Cookstown, - Better than the G'avon!
For you Mac...Monahan is handy – so go for the four seasons!
Have been to the Four Seasons recently Mac, it is a good spot.
But personally it is hard to go past the Canal Court in Newry
The Four Seasons ticks all of the boxes alright but like Galgorm Manor and the La Mon I've always found it a bit stuffy or something. The best weddings I've ever attended have all been at the Carrickdale. Have been to a few functions at the new hotel in Carlingford (Four Seasons?) and they've also been very good – handy as well for those who want to nip away for a few quick ones or for a dander down the pier to get the head showered.
Had our wedding in Cabra Castle last year. Would highly recommend it. Lovely setting, the staff are excellent, the service is top class and the food was the best I've had. It's between Carrickmacross and Kingscourt and although it may be a wee bit of drive, it is worth. I often find it's good to get away, staying over at a wedding is half the craic. I have to say I've been to quite a few weddings in the Canal Court, Newry and while the food and service is great, it really falls down on the setting for me. Not great for photos and nowhere to go for a wee dander after the meal. The Four Seasons in Carlingford is new enough, but they're starting to get into their stride now and the setting is hard to beat. Good luck with it anyway.
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on June 05, 2007, 10:57:52 AM
Hopefully I get plenty of opinions on this - we are trying to book a wedding venue in the next few weeks, we have set a range of somewhere within an hour's drive of Armagh, all advice welcome! Also, is there a reason why most weddings tend to be south of the border? Are there 'black' places worth avoiding?
You should go for Rome Mac Eoghain. It'll save you a fortune on the guestlist.
Got done in Cabra Castle myself and I couldn't level one complaint at the place. Good luck to you getting a date in there for the next two years though.In my opinion it's a much nicer place to get married than new-fangled hotels like the Nuremore and Canal Court. Top class service and grub in those, but not the same atmosphere.
I've been at a few weddings in the Hillgrove and though its' improved to be of a similar quality to the Nuremore and CC, it suffers from the same problem os being a bit stuffy. It's a concrete jungle outside it.
Was in Darver Castle last week (between Dundalk and Ardee) and thought it was superb as well, although there is a serious lack of accommodation onsite.
The Bernish Suite in the Carrickdale for some reason does produce a great atmosphere for a wedding.
The Ballymac should be much better when the extension opens. It's a fine place, but the main room was too small and full of pillars.
I sit in a small office with (believe it or not 3 brides to be) so im an expert on this stuff now!!!
Cavan Crystal - food class, unique romantic....
the newmore hotel carrickmacross - beautiful surroundings, classy place
f**king hell its getting worse. i come on here to get away from this kinda talk!
Booked into the Nuremore this August for the wedding. Was at a friends wedding there a yr ago and it was very good so hopefully it should tick all the boxes this time around. Was also considering Cabra castle. Both had the distinct advantage is that they only do one wedding at a time, so you're assured of their full attention and you won't be bumping into 2-3 brides in the foyer. Hillgrove, 4 Seasons all cater for more than one wedding and with good staff difficult enought to find, I would worry about their ability to cater for a few weddings and keep the level of service and food high. Whatever venue you decide upon always go to the venue on an actual wedding day and look at the room layout the day of the wedding, see what you like and don;t like about the room, see how many staff they have on.
This may be a touchy area but I tend to like an english speaking person serving me food. Was at a wedding recently in Donegal and a yound Polish lad was serving us and he just couldn't speak english. So when we asked for gravy he just didn't know what we wanted. Eventually one of us had to get up and go to the kitchen to get gravy!!!
Now smoking ban is here, anywhere is good!
phppearce,
Im getting "done" in the nuremore next year myself. Havent been to any there myself but the in laws have and it seems the business.
I also had a look at cabra etc but liked the staff at the nuremore as much as everything else.
Ballymac only do one wedding a day as well.
try the vineyard in Lurgan. offers a spacious environment and the scenary around it is picturesque
Been to a wedding in Cabra Castle myself and can't beat it for surroundings and it's not that big a drive depending where in Armagh you are.
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 05, 2007, 01:49:29 PM
f**king hell its getting worse. i come on here to get away from this kinda talk!
I'm with you (only seven weeks to the high jump myself)
But while I'm here I'll throw in my tupence worth - Ballymac, Darver Castle, Nuremore all good spots, maybe even the park hotel in Dundalk
Bump
Got married in the Slieve Russell a month ago ! Top quality, beats all the other local hotels in my opinion..........
Was in the Slieve Russell a while back too farneyman
Good location & good food
Only issue was the residents bar didnt stay open for too long :-\
Quote from: Square Ball on September 25, 2007, 12:17:19 PM
Bump
good bump squareball i thought i was reading a similiar thread a few weeks ago
been to two weddings at cabra castle - food was dire each time
did any of you who tasted the food eat when you were sober. As I was driving, I wasnt boozing.
I couldnt recommend it.
The other thing I'd say was that from the outside and the name Cabra looks and sounds good.
its shabby enough inside, it reminds me on that way over rated kip - kinnity castle - which I also experienced a poor wedding and bad food at.
think these places rely on their 'castley ' image to get by on and dont then concentrate on the food and interior decor - which imo is far more important.
Didnt think the much heralded food in harveys point was much to look at, though the place itself (while dark) was nice and picture-esque
Nuremore was a superb spot with great food when I was at two diff weddings there.
Ballymac was quite good too.
Slieve Russell was excellent also.
i don't know lads but i think the whole wedding day is overrated. Firstly your a nervous wreck you can't relax untill the speeches are out of the way and you can't spend that long talking to the people that are there, the day just flies buy and next thing you know you have 20grand spent . The next time i get married ;) i'm going to feck off to cyprus or italy with my family and closest friends and have one hell of a party
Recent experience of attending weddings in bothe Cabra and Nuremore and both are top class.
Unlike lynchbhoy, I thought the food was lovely in Cabra and I was sober too.
We got married in Slieve Russell and the service was great and food was lovely. I don't know about any other hotels, but they sent us a voucher for a weekend for two a few weeks before our first anniversary which was a nice touch. The reidents bar was still serving at half 5 so we were very impressed.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 25, 2007, 02:09:02 PM
We got married in Slieve Russell and the service was great and food was lovely. I don't know about any other hotels, but they sent us a voucher for a weekend for two a few weeks before our first anniversary which was a nice touch. The reidents bar was still serving at half 5 so we were very impressed.
Well for you bc
Residents bar stopped around 3.30 - thought it was very early :-\
Not too surprised about the bad press Cabra is getting myself, never attended a wedding there, but delivered Fruit & Veg to it many moons ago, was not impressed with the kitchens!!
Got hitched back in July and had the reception in the Station House Hotel in Kilmessan, Co Meath and I would have to give it a 10/10
* They can only cater for one wedding a day
* They are wedding specialists and are brilliant at their job
* The food was amazing, we had five course meal with choices for each course and it only cost about €36 per head (we got married on a monday, they give us 30% off the menu cost) The main course was a choice of Beef or Seafood Medley (Salmon, Hake & Sea Bass- Amazing)
* We had 125 at ours, the room is perfect for anyting up to 135, after this it is getting cramped, but for numbers in the low hundreds it is intimate
Seriously couldn't recommend them highly enough
http://www.thestationhousehotel.com/multi/default.asp?itemId=279
I'd say thon wee signal box seen some action over the years ;D
Just when you lot are mentioning the Radisson Cavan there.
I was fortunate enough to be invited to the first weeding to be held there. The place wasn't long finished and amid all the fuss trying to get everything ready on time they forgot to organise a license to sell alcohol. It being the hotel's first wedding they didn't want to lose face so they decided to supply all drink for the wedding free of charge. :P
We looked at Cabra castle, and to be honest the woman who showed us round did my head in which put me off right away.
Thought the inside seemed a bit claustrophobic too, though I know a few who where at a wedding there lately and said it was very good.
Burrendale Hotel and Sleive Donard in Newcastle are on a par with any mentioned here so far. For settings alone they would be the preferred option.
Quote from: downredblack on September 25, 2007, 02:38:48 PM
I'd say thon wee signal box seen some action over the years ;D
Oh yes
Just dont do it.
Have a wedding comin up in next few months in the manor houe hotel in fermanagh.....rooms very pricey so a few of were gona look about a b&b very near hand...anyone know the area well or been to weddin here and done the same????
Also heard the manor house have shalleys (possibly spelt wrong) that can be booked by a group attendin the wedding...this ring a bell with anyone??
thanks
There are chalets in the manor that can be booked BF.
Good job. Not to sure about price though
There is also a very good B and B a mile or 2 up the road from the manor.
suppose to be a grand spot.
Longfields Lodge i think it is called.
There is another called the Cedars but its about 5 mile away.
Not to sure what its like either
Enniskillen is at most £20 away in a taxi.
The belmore court would be cheap and cheerful.
You could always chance the Lodge of Love
Thats the perfect answer fermgael...thanks
looked on manor house website etc about these chalets as friends have told me about them but no sign of prices etc or availability :(
a nice handy b&b would work well....what ever we save on that compared to the hotel will start the kitty the next day sure!!!
Have heard stories about the lodge....need a 7 seater taxi i believe to get them type of women home in....kidding!!
BigFrank a 7 seater!!!!!
You would probably need a tractor and trailer.
As for the chalets, you are probably better ringing the Manor
Quote from: Fear Boirche on June 05, 2007, 12:54:20 PM
Had our wedding in Cabra Castle last year. Would highly recommend it. Lovely setting, the staff are excellent, the service is top class and the food was the best I've had. It's between Carrickmacross and Kingscourt and although it may be a wee bit of drive, it is worth. I often find it's good to get away, staying over at a wedding is half the craic. I have to say I've been to quite a few weddings in the Canal Court, Newry and while the food and service is great, it really falls down on the setting for me. Not great for photos and nowhere to go for a wee dander after the meal. The Four Seasons in Carlingford is new enough, but they're starting to get into their stride now and the setting is hard to beat. Good luck with it anyway.
Agree totally Cabra Castle is fantastic. Staff brilliant, great surroundings.
Food was the best i have ever had at any wedding or restaurant. It specialises in weddings and is the best of them all and i have done about 8 weddings a year for the last few years all diff venues.
Canal court would be good also.
We stayed in the chalets in 2006 or 2007 at a wedding - there was a load of us. Great job and great craic. I dont recall them being too expensive at all to be honest but things could have changed. I cant remember though how we went about booking them - il mention to one of the girls over the weekend do they remember
Headin to a wedding in the killyhevlin hotel in few months...never been at a wedding there before....checked room prices there and they are 80 quid per person sharing so 160 obviously for a couple....seems alot....anyone ever stay close by in B&B etc