Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: armaghniac on February 07, 2022, 11:29:23 PM

Title: Great spakes of GAAboard.
Post by: armaghniac on February 07, 2022, 11:29:23 PM
I propose a thread to keep some of the best retorts, comebacks and general smart alec comments on GAABaord.
You can't nominate yourself, best if someone you have put down does it.
Title: Re: Great spakes of GAAboard.
Post by: armaghniac on February 07, 2022, 11:30:29 PM
As an Armagh man I can propose this from discussion of Gough's red cards.

Quote from: BennyHarp on February 06, 2022, 03:58:02 PM
Ref hadn't a clue what to do so just decided to allocate red cards based on All Ireland titles.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on February 08, 2022, 12:07:37 AM
5ive Times to Pints of Guinness: Pints, if I ever find out who you are, I'll see that you're never fit to work a computer again.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on February 08, 2022, 06:19:12 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on February 08, 2022, 12:07:37 AM
5ive Times to Pints of Guinness: Pints, if I ever find out who you are, I'll see that you're never fit to work a computer again.
memory is hazy. Did he turn up at his workplace? Or was that Fearon?
Post by: RedHand88 on February 08, 2022, 06:35:03 AM
Tyrone being described as calves let loose after winter when they get to Croke Park. Seafoid I think.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on February 08, 2022, 09:10:38 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on February 08, 2022, 06:19:12 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on February 08, 2022, 12:07:37 AM
memory is hazy. Did he turn up at his workplace? Or was that Fearon?

Think Fearon got a visit. I dont advocate violence but if he had got one cuff round the lugs would it have been the worst thing ever 😃
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 08, 2022, 09:31:17 AM
Maybe not a single retort but the whole Booking the Hotel for the wrong day by Fearon was classic
Post by: laoislad on February 08, 2022, 09:36:00 AM
The 0 3 Arena
Post by: Never beat the deeler on February 08, 2022, 10:11:14 AM
Quote from: laoislad on February 08, 2022, 09:36:00 AM
The 0 3 Arena

link?
Post by: seafoid on February 08, 2022, 10:18:14 AM
Gaaboardmod3
•   Global Moderator
Some time in 2014

« Reply #64 on: Today at 02:14:51 PM »
•   Nobody was banned, or has ever been banned, for disagreeing with a moderator. Tony was banned because he had been warned, and he still persisted in posting comments which he knows, and everyone else knows, are designed to provoke a negative reaction.
That particular topic (Hillsborough/Munich/Heysel)  has been out of bounds on this board for many years. This is not new. And as I mentioned, Tony had been warned.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on February 08, 2022, 10:48:19 AM
The 0 3 Arena

😂😂
That was so bad a poster had to leave in shame and then reincarnate himself. Kudos to bcb1 i believe for that one. But anyway, this thread isnt about point scoring 😉😃
Post by: Denn Forever on February 08, 2022, 10:56:59 AM

Think Fearon got a visit. I dont advocate violence but if he had got one cuff round the lugs would it have been the worst thing ever 😃
[/quote]dd

I thought Tony was visited  when he wrote about the OWC?

Post by: Farrandeelin on February 08, 2022, 10:57:09 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on February 08, 2022, 10:48:19 AM
The 0 3 Arena

😂😂
That was so bad a poster had to leave in shame and then reincarnate himself. Kudos to bcb1 i believe for that one. But anyway, this thread isnt about point scoring 😉😃

What poster?
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 08, 2022, 11:02:20 AM
Syferus had many a funny post here.
Post by: APM on February 08, 2022, 11:12:21 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 08, 2022, 09:31:17 AM
Maybe not a single retort but the whole Booking the Hotel for the wrong day by Fearon was classic

You're wrong there BCB.  Easytiger's retort on the hotel booking fiasco was easily the best post ever on the GAABoard.  It was basically a satirical skit, featuring Gene Hackman as Fearon booking the wrong date, blathering on pompously about Armagh, speaking over the receptionist who eventually had to give up on correcting him on the date.  It then featured Krusty the Clown as Fearon calling back (in vain) to change dates.

20 years ago and I still remember it clearly!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on February 08, 2022, 11:22:11 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 08, 2022, 10:57:09 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on February 08, 2022, 10:48:19 AM
The 0 3 Arena

😂😂

What poster?

Ach its nearly not right mentioning names
Ec.unique/GJL 😉
Post by: RedHand88 on February 08, 2022, 11:36:27 AM
Quote from: APM on February 08, 2022, 11:12:21 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 08, 2022, 09:31:17 AM

You're wrong there BCB.  Easytiger's retort on the hotel booking fiasco was easily the best post ever on the GAABoard.  It was basically a satirical skit, featuring Gene Hackman as Fearon booking the wrong date, blathering on pompously about Armagh, speaking over the receptionist who eventually had to give up on correcting him on the date.  It then featured Krusty the Clown as Fearon calling back (in vain) to change dates.

20 years ago and I still remember it clearly!

Please tell me this is still on the board somewhere
Post by: Square Ball on February 08, 2022, 11:55:38 AM
slightly off topic, but some great ones from the Mucksavage thread, one of the greatest threads ever.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 08, 2022, 12:45:11 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 08, 2022, 10:56:59 AM

[/quote]dd

I thought Tony was visited  when he wrote about the OWC?

SBE Mac landed down to warrenpoint credit union one day. Very amicable conversation followed, according to both accounts.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 08, 2022, 01:21:39 PM
Just read the 1st page of the death notices thread
Couple of good ones there
I guess it was started on Holy Thursday
PS  thread still going strong after near 15 years despite it being laughed at
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 08, 2022, 01:31:35 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on February 08, 2022, 01:21:39 PM
;D Heganboy (remember him?) put a touching tribute to Jesus of Nazareth on Page 2. RIP.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 08, 2022, 01:47:53 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on February 08, 2022, 01:21:39 PM

When you read through the first few pages actually it's quite funny
Post by: Rossfan on February 09, 2022, 01:41:24 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 08, 2022, 11:02:20 AM
Syferus had many a funny post here.
We're still getting them on stolensheep ::)
Post by: Tyrdub on February 09, 2022, 03:55:35 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on February 08, 2022, 11:55:38 AM
slightly off topic, but some great ones from the Mucksavage thread, one of the greatest threads ever.

is that thread still knocking about?
Post by: armaghniac on February 09, 2022, 05:17:57 PM
Guys, you are going to have to post these great posts and not just allude to their mythical existence.
Post by: Square Ball on February 09, 2022, 05:46:17 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 09, 2022, 05:17:57 PM
Guys, you are going to have to post these great posts and not just allude to their mythical existence.

Think Ziggy, sorry a mod deleted it as it was getting out of hand. Some great stories on it.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 09, 2022, 06:25:39 PM
I think a link was shared before of that thread, it was off its time and that is the best I could say about it...
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2022, 06:58:45 PM
The last best one that I remember was  One Nail Looney on the trail of acquiring an Irish passport, a tragi-comic tale.
Post by: trileacman on February 09, 2022, 09:26:45 PM
Easytiger's pre-match piece of Meath v Tyrone in Omagh circa 2017 remains one of the finest pieces of comedy I've ever read.
Post by: Rois on February 09, 2022, 09:32:43 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 09, 2022, 06:58:45 PM
The last best one that I remember was  One Nail Looney on the trail of acquiring an Irish passport, a tragi-comic tale.
It was gripping, we were all invested in the journey.
Post by: armaghniac on February 09, 2022, 10:27:37 PM
Posts lads, not memories.
Just to practice what I preach
--------------------------------------
asytiger – Posts: 699 – (11/8/03 17:35)
Reply The Conversation - starring Gene Hackman as Tony Fearon
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Receptionist: "Hello, City West. How can I help you?"

TF: "Yes, hello? Judging by your accent, you are not from Armagh and may not be aware that on the 21st of September, in the Cathedral we call Croke, a new glorious reign will be invoked..."

Receptionist: "I'm sorry sir, but there are other calls on my switchboard."

TF: "...as the Great McGeeney flexes his manly biceps and lifts the sacred cup above his Bryonic brow, surveying the gathered masses, disdainful of the Tyrone hordes put to flight as once again Sam Maguire makes his voyage north, as Ulyssess once set forth for Ithaca..."

Receptionist: "Sam Magure? You mean the football? But is that not on -"

TF: " And as Joe and his Orange Brigade shall be setting up camp, as it were for the weekend in your fine establishment, accompanied no doubt by such flaming celestial stars as Elton John, Rod Stewart, Jarlath Burns and maybe the boys from End to End, with whom I am of course on a first name basis, or should I say they are on a first name basis with me (giggles girlishly) but I digress! As such may I book a room for myself, my fine maiden, but not my mother, she didn't get a ticket, hard lines, she's not a true fan, for the 20th and 21st of the month of September."

Receptionist: "(to herself) For f**ks sake. (smartening up) Of course sir, we have a fine room for a great rate of €100 for that weekend."

TF: "Splendid! Expect my arrival forthwith! Now I must not tarry as there is a table quiz on in the local hostelry tonight, the prize being an epic trip to historic Bunratty Castle for two nights, breakfast included -"

Receptionist: "(hanging up) I'm not paid enough to listen to that shite. I hope I'm off that weekend."

The Conversation 2 - starring Krusty the Klown as Tony Fearon

Receptionist: "Hello City West?"

TF:" Due to the machinations of a GAA administration that is too far removed from the grassroots that sustain it i.e. me, the All Ireland Final has been rescheduled a week later than promised, almost as if the very thought of good, honest Armagh men cavorting with Sam was too hard for the faceless grey suits to bear-"

Receptionist: "Sir, you got the dates wrong and now you want to change your reservation to the following week, is that right sir? And tell the truth."

TF: "...yes."

Receptionist: "We have no rooms available for that weekend and we do not refund on cancellations. Is that alright sir?"

Receptionist: "Goodbye sir.(hangs up) Plank."
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 09, 2022, 10:31:05 PM
Quality!
Post by: APM on February 10, 2022, 11:04:14 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 09, 2022, 10:27:37 PM
Posts lads, not memories.
Just to practice what I preach
--------------------------------------
asytiger – Posts: 699 – (11/8/03 17:35)
Reply The Conversation - starring Gene Hackman as Tony Fearon
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Receptionist: "Hello, City West. How can I help you?"

TF: "Yes, hello? Judging by your accent, you are not from Armagh and may not be aware that on the 21st of September, in the Cathedral we call Croke, a new glorious reign will be invoked..."

Receptionist: "I'm sorry sir, but there are other calls on my switchboard."

TF: "...as the Great McGeeney flexes his manly biceps and lifts the sacred cup above his Bryonic brow, surveying the gathered masses, disdainful of the Tyrone hordes put to flight as once again Sam Maguire makes his voyage north, as Ulyssess once set forth for Ithaca..."

Receptionist: "Sam Magure? You mean the football? But is that not on -"

TF: " And as Joe and his Orange Brigade shall be setting up camp, as it were for the weekend in your fine establishment, accompanied no doubt by such flaming celestial stars as Elton John, Rod Stewart, Jarlath Burns and maybe the boys from End to End, with whom I am of course on a first name basis, or should I say they are on a first name basis with me (giggles girlishly) but I digress! As such may I book a room for myself, my fine maiden, but not my mother, she didn't get a ticket, hard lines, she's not a true fan, for the 20th and 21st of the month of September."

Receptionist: "(to herself) For f**ks sake. (smartening up) Of course sir, we have a fine room for a great rate of €100 for that weekend."

TF: "Splendid! Expect my arrival forthwith! Now I must not tarry as there is a table quiz on in the local hostelry tonight, the prize being an epic trip to historic Bunratty Castle for two nights, breakfast included -"

Receptionist: "(hanging up) I'm not paid enough to listen to that shite. I hope I'm off that weekend."

The Conversation 2 - starring Krusty the Klown as Tony Fearon

Receptionist: "Hello City West?"

TF:" Due to the machinations of a GAA administration that is too far removed from the grassroots that sustain it i.e. me, the All Ireland Final has been rescheduled a week later than promised, almost as if the very thought of good, honest Armagh men cavorting with Sam was too hard for the faceless grey suits to bear-"

Receptionist: "Sir, you got the dates wrong and now you want to change your reservation to the following week, is that right sir? And tell the truth."

Receptionist: "We have no rooms available for that weekend and we do not refund on cancellations. Is that alright sir?"

Receptionist: "Goodbye sir.(hangs up) Plank."

That's the one I was talking about.  Where did you find it?
There was a stroke of genius about Easytiger
Post by: Main Street on February 10, 2022, 11:44:09 AM
Quote from: Rois on February 09, 2022, 09:32:43 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 09, 2022, 06:58:45 PM
It was gripping, we were all invested in the journey.
It took a good search but here is the thread, from 2008.
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9024.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9024.0)

It starts off
"Cant find my birth certificate and need one by tomorrow!!
How can i get one, and how much?
"
Post by: armaghniac on February 10, 2022, 01:39:27 PM
Quote from: APM on February 10, 2022, 11:04:14 AM
That's the one I was talking about.  Where did you find it?
There was a stroke of genius about Easytiger

I was never any good at football, but I am the Rian O'Neill of Google search.