Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Denn Forever on March 09, 2020, 04:48:24 PM

Title: St. Patrick's. Does it really add to the year?
Post by: Denn Forever on March 09, 2020, 04:48:24 PM
Bank holiday - Good.

It's for the children really.
Title: Re: St. Patrick's. Does it really add to the year?
Post by: GetOverTheBar on March 09, 2020, 04:55:12 PM
Overrated. I'll take the day off though.

Actually hated it since my first year at Uni in Belfast. I'm all for a bit of craic but it was shambolic.
Post by: trailer on March 09, 2020, 05:07:08 PM
Few pints, bit of parade action. Kids love it. All good. Possible improvements? Move it to June. Warm the thing up.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 09, 2020, 06:01:37 PM
Always struck me as a bit forced, TBH.
Post by: BennyCake on March 09, 2020, 06:26:27 PM
Can't stand it.

Irish people wearing leprechaun hats and getting pissed. Sweet f**k. Never understood the attraction of the parades either, to be honest.

If you're religious, then you could wear shamrock and go to mass. That's what it's about. I don't believe the St Patrick story so I do nothing. Used to enjoy the club finals, and now the backstards have taken that away from me!!
Post by: clarshack on March 09, 2020, 06:31:14 PM
Used to like it but now can't be bothered especially with no club finals.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 09, 2020, 06:40:37 PM
I'm for new york. What's people's thoughts with this virus?
Post by: Dag Dog on March 09, 2020, 06:59:33 PM
I'm not pushed. It's a big day out for the plastics. I'm talking about the ones in Ireland btw.
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on March 09, 2020, 07:03:15 PM
West brits the lot of yas
Post by: lurganblue on March 09, 2020, 07:10:33 PM
Haven't had a pint on it in years. No parade in Lurgan now either. Not assed.

When I was about 20 it was my favourite day of the year. Obviously getting old
Post by: J70 on March 09, 2020, 07:12:40 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 09, 2020, 06:40:37 PM

Its just starting to ramp up here in NYC and given the cheek-to-jowel existence, the numbers will climb fairly rapidly. I wouldn't rule out the parade being cancelled yet.
Post by: Rossfan on March 09, 2020, 07:13:28 PM
 Not much heed on it since the babies grew up and stopped being amazed by the parade.
I'm Irish every day of the year.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 09, 2020, 07:20:27 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 09, 2020, 07:12:40 PM

Its just starting to ramp up here in NYC and given the cheek-to-jowel existence, the numbers will climb fairly rapidly. I wouldn't rule out the parade being cancelled yet.
Would be shocked if it wasn't cancelled especially as Dublin has binned it.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 09, 2020, 07:23:54 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 09, 2020, 07:20:27 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 09, 2020, 07:12:40 PM

Would be shocked if it wasn't cancelled especially as Dublin has binned it.

That's my thinking. I'm for Conlon fight too
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 09, 2020, 07:24:05 PM
Seems to be a day for those with Irish ancestry abroad to celebrate or have more interest in than the Irish people living in the island of Ireland do?
Post by: Last Caress on March 09, 2020, 07:37:30 PM
Wee ones are still young enough to enjoy the parade otherwise I wouldn't be doing anything to celebrate.  I cant see parades in the north taking place cause of the corona. So  that's me sorted...
Post by: Rois on March 09, 2020, 07:43:49 PM
Ah jeez Bah Humbug the lot of you.

Shamrocks, mass, a blast of "Hail Glorious St Patrick", break lent and do something special that marks the day. Doesn't have to involve alcohol.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 09, 2020, 07:49:25 PM
Last time I went to mass on St Paddy's Day the priest was giving out for people treating it as a patriotic national festival instead of being pious Christians about it.
Post by: Itchy on March 10, 2020, 08:42:28 AM
I like the parade for the kids sake, havent gone out drinking on St Patricks days in probably 10 years - its too messy, too many eejits starting too early and making a show of themselves. Mine was always the parade and watch the club finals afterwards. As I get older generally doing much less drinking anyway.
Post by: Last Caress on March 10, 2020, 03:52:01 PM
With Parades being cancelled are we all heading to the Holy Lands in Belfast instead ?
Post by: imtommygunn on March 10, 2020, 03:53:35 PM
The best part of the day was the club finals :(

Haven't been to a parade in years though but the drinking has gone a bit out of control in Belfast so I avoid a lot of places.
Post by: dublin7 on March 10, 2020, 07:46:58 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 09, 2020, 07:24:05 PM
Seems to be a day for those with Irish ancestry abroad to celebrate or have more interest in than the Irish people living in the island of Ireland do?

Enjoyed it far more when living in Australia than I do in Ireland. Normally go to club finals in Croker depending on who's playing.

Stay away from the city centre given the levels of drunkeness. The amount of drunk teenagers around town that day is depressing
Post by: sensethetone on March 11, 2020, 11:36:59 AM
Does Bundoran still get crowds on St. Patricks day?
Post by: bannside on March 14, 2021, 08:02:20 AM
https://www.tourismireland.com/Press-Releases/2021/March/Tourism-Ireland-announces-Global-Greening-line-1

We do like to put ourselves down at times, but there genuinely does seem to be a lot of goodwill out there for Ireland.
Post by: An Watcher on March 14, 2021, 09:26:25 AM
Flip me there's alot of moaning on here, if you don't like parades - don't go, if you don't like alcohol - don't drink, if you want to get shit faced - get shit faced. Paddy's day means different things to different people. There's no harm in it. Personally I used to love the club finals especially if there were ulster sides involved. Haven't drank on Paddy's day in years though. More for the kids and a bit of craic. What's not to like about a day off work too.
Post by: Itchy on March 14, 2021, 09:39:18 AM
Its a day for kids to get involved in the parades in their home town/village and for the parents to walk with them. I haven't gone out on st Patrick's evening in years, too many plastered clowns about so i'd go home after parade and watch the football / hurling and leave it at that. Its just a day off work this yr
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 14, 2021, 09:53:32 AM
The GAA in their thrust for change have ruined it (for me anyways) with the removal of club finals on Paddy's day, it was a day to meet up with club mates and watch the games, discuss the season ahead and generally have great banter, I generally was finished up by 6 once the wife came and picked me up!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 14, 2021, 10:38:07 AM
Lightweight. Ive a dozen pints in me by then on me way for a pastie supper before i start round two 👀👀
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 14, 2021, 11:55:20 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 14, 2021, 10:38:07 AM
Lightweight. Ive a dozen pints in me by then on me way for a pastie supper before i start round two 👀👀

Completely, I've tried to sit up and have a few more but I'm sleeping in settee, they even fooled me one year and said it was midnight and time for bed, off I went, they stayed down to watch a film, it was 7.30!

10 pints is plenty for me, it's the last one that does it, the I'm on my way pint!