Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on May 09, 2017, 10:40:17 PM

Title: HRH Prince Charles visiting the Free State tomorrow.
Post by: T Fearon on May 09, 2017, 10:40:17 PM
Get ready for another fawning cringe fest.
Title: Re: HRH Prince Charles visiting the Free State tomorrow.
Post by: Orior on May 09, 2017, 10:46:23 PM
(http://www.benzworld.org/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=1275122&stc=1&d=1420654026)
Post by: Avondhu star on May 09, 2017, 10:54:48 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 09, 2017, 10:40:17 PM

They must miss getting the handshake from McGuinness that Mummy got from republican Martin
Post by: StGallsGAA on May 09, 2017, 10:58:07 PM
Fawning cringe fest?  Like referring to him as HRH??? ::)
Post by: Rossfan on May 10, 2017, 12:07:16 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on May 09, 2017, 10:58:07 PM
Fawning cringe fest?  Like referring to him as HRH??? ::)

+1.
Absolutely disgraceful from an Irish Nationalist.

A fair oul bit of fawning over Cathal Uinsor i nDoire inniú😈
Post by: Syferus on May 10, 2017, 12:09:04 AM
Charles seems a decent sort. Glad we're a bit more civilised​ down south than some begrudgers here.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 10, 2017, 12:12:39 AM
This from a man who hasn't the balls to say no to a poppy seller
Post by: Avondhu star on May 10, 2017, 08:28:14 AM
You don't return the banknotes with picture of the Queen of England you get from Welfare
Post by: Orior on May 10, 2017, 08:37:26 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on May 10, 2017, 08:28:14 AM
You don't return the banknotes with picture of the Queen of England you get from Welfare

What???
Post by: seafoid on May 10, 2017, 08:41:53 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 10, 2017, 12:09:04 AM
Charles seems a decent sort. Glad we're a bit more civilised​ down south than some begrudgers here.

HRT. His royal tamponness

http://www.newstalk.com/Tampongate-and-six-other-British-royal-family-scandals
Post by: seafoid on May 11, 2017, 04:32:33 PM
http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/prince-charles-shows-off-hurling-skills-during-visit-to-kilkenny-and-cody-is-impressed-35704107.html :)
Post by: red hander on May 11, 2017, 04:38:45 PM

You can f**king keep them, then
Post by: foxcommander on May 11, 2017, 06:01:52 PM

So good to hear that that the people of the south have taken the Colonel-in-Chief of the Parachute Regiment to their hearts.

Feck the nordie begrudgers what what.
Post by: seafoid on May 11, 2017, 06:23:23 PM
I dare you to go down to Kilkenny and say that to Cody's face
Post by: BennyCake on May 11, 2017, 06:30:05 PM
He visits the North and he visits the South. Who gives a feck?

What does it mean for ordinary Joe at the end of the day?
Post by: MoChara on May 12, 2017, 08:15:46 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 11, 2017, 06:30:05 PM

Means the tax payer put out half a million euro for security on the Kilkenny visit alone, for someone of absolutely no importance or ability to benefit the Irish people.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 12, 2017, 08:34:36 PM
Hurling away in Kilkenny
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 12, 2017, 08:59:15 PM
Quote from: MoChara on May 12, 2017, 08:15:46 AM

Means the tax payer put out half a million euro for security on the Kilkenny visit alone, for someone of absolutely no importance or ability to benefit the Irish people.
Not necessarily. I understand Sligo and Mullaghmore saw a significant increase in UK tourist numbers after his last visit there.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 12, 2017, 10:07:47 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 12, 2017, 08:59:15 PM

Not necessarily. I understand Sligo and Mullaghmore saw a significant increase in UK tourist numbers after his last visit there.
Significant increase?? Any figures to back that up?
Post by: BennyCake on May 12, 2017, 10:25:40 PM

Spoke to a few English folk last summer in Mullaghmore. Presumably came because Cathal was there. Never really asked them.
Post by: StGallsGAA on May 12, 2017, 10:31:37 PM

Usually means a sell out is on the way!   ;D
Post by: foxcommander on May 12, 2017, 10:46:28 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on May 12, 2017, 10:31:37 PM

It means freestaters are trying to cozy up and play on both sides of the fence with EU and the brits.
I've said it before, they'd sell their granny down the river in a heartbeat for for a couple of quid.
Post by: StGallsGAA on May 12, 2017, 11:14:57 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 12, 2017, 10:46:28 PM

It means freestaters are trying to cozy up and play on both sides of the fence with EU and the brits.
I've said it before, they'd sell their granny down the river in a heartbeat for for a couple of quid.

Now think about that statement. Should the"Free State" not make maximum benefit from being the only EU country to border Brexiting Brits by making hay with everyone?   Should they instead close the border??   Cosy is the new rebellion  ;) ;D
Post by: foxcommander on May 12, 2017, 11:23:46 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on May 12, 2017, 11:14:57 PM

Now think about that statement. Should the"Free State" not make maximum benefit from being the only EU country to border Brexiting Brits by making hay with everyone?   Should they instead close the border??   Cosy is the new rebellion  ;) ;D

Whatever is convenient at the time and can make them a few bob. Very few principles involved.
Post by: Tubberman on May 13, 2017, 12:29:06 AM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 12, 2017, 11:23:46 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on May 12, 2017, 11:14:57 PM

Whatever is convenient at the time and can make them a few bob. Very few principles involved.

Go on so, what should the "free state" do? Side with the Brits and become even more "west Brit" or side with Europe ND "abandon" the north again?
Or, you know, try to make the best of a bad situation?
You are so unused to normal democracy you can't see its all about compromise.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 13, 2017, 12:36:40 AM
Good to see Chuck in Kildare, that man knows a good thoroughbred when he sees one.
Post by: T Fearon on May 13, 2017, 07:35:39 AM
With Blair in Wicklow yesterday,Leinster status as an integral part of West Britain was confirmed
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2017, 09:19:32 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on May 12, 2017, 10:07:47 PM

Significant increase?? Any figures to back that up?
Oh yes, lots
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 13, 2017, 10:09:43 AM

He sure would.........

(http://i.imgur.com/NsuITcr.jpg)

(http://i.imgur.com/WqIIO5y.jpg)

Adams greets Charles at the UK ambassador's residence
Post by: ashman on May 13, 2017, 10:14:57 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 13, 2017, 07:35:39 AM
With Blair in Wicklow yesterday,Leinster status as an integral part of West Britain was confirmed

Why do you support two quintessentially British soccer teams so ??
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2017, 10:58:38 AM
Aw Jesus, don't engage with the simpleton. If he could get anywhere near any of the royals he'd have his fat face in for a photo before you could say 'wanna buy a poppy'
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 13, 2017, 01:44:22 PM
Brannigan with another Sinn Fein related post. Yawn!
Post by: Franko on May 13, 2017, 01:54:00 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on May 13, 2017, 01:44:22 PM

It does get tiresome after a while.
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2017, 02:28:54 PM
Wouldn't ya think he'd just praise them uncritically all the time  ::)
Post by: Franko on May 13, 2017, 02:46:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2017, 02:28:54 PM
Wouldn't ya think he'd just praise them uncritically all the time  ::)

Yawn
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2017, 04:22:53 PM
Shinnerbots sleepy today.
Must have stayed late ato Charlie Windsor's party ;D
Post by: Franko on May 13, 2017, 04:25:07 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2017, 04:22:53 PM

Ad hominem = weak
Post by: foxcommander on May 13, 2017, 05:09:28 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2017, 04:22:53 PM

Rossfanny is a complete tool. I bet he fawned until he made himself sick
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 13, 2017, 08:55:07 PM
Quote from: Franko on May 13, 2017, 01:54:00 PM

Ad hominem = weak
Post by: Franko on May 14, 2017, 07:56:34 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 13, 2017, 08:55:07 PM

Ad hominem = weak

You'd want to check the meaning of ad hominem there OB.  My comment directly referred to the content of your post(s), not to you.  Fail.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 14, 2017, 11:04:07 AM
Quote from: Franko on May 14, 2017, 07:56:34 AM

Ad hominem = weak

You'd want to check the meaning of ad hominem there OB.  My comment directly referred to the content of your post(s), not to you.  Fail.

Well Franko, I have checked the meaning and decided to rely on the Merriam-Webster dictionary definition, although other definitions are available and probably less favourable to you:

Definition of ad hominem

1:  appealing to feelings or prejudices rather than intellect

2:  marked by or being an attack on an opponent's character rather than by an answer to the contentions made made an ad hominem personal attack on his rival

It can be seen that your post in its reply to the previous one relating to me is clearly aimed at my actions in highlighting the cant of previous posters and of those pictured in my post as opposed to critiquing the actual content and message of my post. Hence, I believe that both you and the poster to whom you replied in relation to my post have provided ad hominem arguments.

Unfortunately, ad hominem arguments are all too frequent occurrences on this forum, often used as a first strike, by some posters faced with posts that they find unfavourable, uncomfortable or just plain contrary to their own beliefs and opinions. 

I believe you were correct in pointing out the ad hominem argument to Rossfan, yet for some reason, Foxcommander did not warrant the same reprimand from you when his post was particularly 'argumentum ad hominem'.  I don't expect that you should police such posts but observing which posters warranted your intervention and which did not within a sequence where you intervened in such a manner is enlightening.

BTW, I don't believe that I am being over sensitive in this observation.
Post by: theticklemister on May 14, 2017, 03:40:16 PM
Up Tipp
Post by: Avondhu star on May 14, 2017, 10:55:06 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 14, 2017, 03:40:16 PM
Up Tipp

Also known as the one hit wonders
Post by: Franko on May 15, 2017, 07:19:45 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 14, 2017, 11:04:07 AM
Quote from: Franko on May 14, 2017, 07:56:34 AM

Ad hominem = weak

Well Franko, I have checked the meaning and decided to rely on the Merriam-Webster dictionary definition, although other definitions are available and probably less favourable to you:

Definition of ad hominem

1:  appealing to feelings or prejudices rather than intellect

2:  marked by or being an attack on an opponent's character rather than by an answer to the contentions made made an ad hominem personal attack on his rival

It can be seen that your post in its reply to the previous one relating to me is clearly aimed at my actions in highlighting the cant of previous posters and of those pictured in my post as opposed to critiquing the actual content and message of my post. Hence, I believe that both you and the poster to whom you replied in relation to my post have provided ad hominem arguments.

Unfortunately, ad hominem arguments are all too frequent occurrences on this forum, often used as a first strike, by some posters faced with posts that they find unfavourable, uncomfortable or just plain contrary to their own beliefs and opinions. 

I believe you were correct in pointing out the ad hominem argument to Rossfan, yet for some reason, Foxcommander did not warrant the same reprimand from you when his post was particularly 'argumentum ad hominem'.  I don't expect that you should police such posts but observing which posters warranted your intervention and which did not within a sequence where you intervened in such a manner is enlightening.

BTW, I don't believe that I am being over sensitive in this observation.

Anything I posted was directly dealing with the content of your (repeated) posts and had nothing to do with your character.

The reason I picked up rossfan and not the other one is because rossfan was clearly replying to me whereas the other was not.  Surely that is blindingly obvious to anyone who was reading?  Possibly you should have read a bit more carefully and you may have found yourself being enlightened.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 11:06:43 AM
Did Charley and Cam visit Dublin Castle on this visit?

I noticed on Friday that they have a Palestine flag now flying above City Hall
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/palestinian-flag-to-fly-above-dublin-s-city-hall-1.3076059
Post by: Avondhu star on May 15, 2017, 12:36:25 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 11:06:43 AM

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/palestinian-flag-to-fly-above-dublin-s-city-hall-1.3076059
Flying of the flag voted for by the usual lefties who couldnt find Belfast on the map never mind Palestine
Post by: general_lee on May 15, 2017, 03:17:16 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on May 15, 2017, 12:36:25 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 15, 2017, 11:06:43 AM

Flying of the flag voted for by the usual lefties who couldnt find Belfast on the map never mind Palestine
Another outstanding contribution from the resident west Brit