GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: laceer on December 24, 2016, 12:55:46 PM

Title: Stephen's Day charity matches cancelled by GAA
Post by: laceer on December 24, 2016, 12:55:46 PM
Just got word through that our Stephen's Day charity match, which we have been playing every year for 30 years, has been cancelled on direction from Croke Park. Not insured apparently. Who the hell do they think they are? Another example of the GAA being completely out of touch with the normal world. Not impressed at all.
Title: Re: Stephen's Day charity matches cancelled by GAA
Post by: lenny on December 24, 2016, 01:32:29 PM
Quote from: laceer on December 24, 2016, 12:55:46 PM
Just got word through that our Stephen's Day charity match, which we have been playing every year for 30 years, has been cancelled on direction from Croke Park. Not insured apparently. Who the hell do they think they are? Another example of the GAA being completely out of touch with the normal world. Not impressed at all.

They can't prevent you going ahead with the games. They just won't be covered insurance wise. 99.9% of the time that won't be an issue.
Post by: muppet on December 24, 2016, 02:06:34 PM

How brainless is that?

That game kickstarted many a good Stephen's Day over the years.
Post by: laceer on December 24, 2016, 04:12:42 PM
Brainless is right. They're turning into a soulless, corporate shower.
Festive cheer my hole.
Post by: Rossfan on December 24, 2016, 05:08:55 PM
Are these games on GAA property or some public park or field?
If the time are on GAA property......
Post by: Boycey on December 24, 2016, 05:41:15 PM
Seems a reasonable enough stance by the GAA to me

QuoteParticipants in charity or fun games such as Married v Singles and Past v Present players have been warned that they will not be covered by the GAA Injury Fund in the event of them incurring an injury.
In a memo issued to clubs via their county boards this week, the GAA has pointed out that Player Injury Fund cover is provided only in respect of official fixtures involving teams that have been registered with the Injury Fund.
It adds that participants in charity or fun games – which are popular at this time of year – take part at their own risk and clubs organising such events need to ensure that they have advised all participants that they are not covered by the GAA Injury Fund in the event of accidental bodily injury.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 24, 2016, 05:42:30 PM
Should go ahead as long as the clubs indemnify the GAA as a whole of any risk if a player breaks a leg and is out of work for an extended period.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on December 24, 2016, 05:46:21 PM
Who's to say it isn't a training session for the coming season??! corporate GAA are gobshites to bother sending this out.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 24, 2016, 05:57:19 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 24, 2016, 05:41:15 PM
Seems a reasonable enough stance by the GAA to me

QuoteParticipants in charity or fun games such as Married v Singles and Past v Present players have been warned that they will not be covered by the GAA Injury Fund in the event of them incurring an injury.
In a memo issued to clubs via their county boards this week, the GAA has pointed out that Player Injury Fund cover is provided only in respect of official fixtures involving teams that have been registered with the Injury Fund.
It adds that participants in charity or fun games – which are popular at this time of year – take part at their own risk and clubs organising such events need to ensure that they have advised all participants that they are not covered by the GAA Injury Fund in the event of accidental bodily injury.

Yup. Nowhere in there does it say the matches have to be cancelled. This thread is an example of sensationalist headline writing that doesn't reflect what has actually happened.
Post by: Rossfan on December 24, 2016, 07:35:21 PM
Indeed. "They" are out to get us etc etc
Post by: mayo.mick on December 24, 2016, 07:49:40 PM

Surprised your're only hearing about this now? Our club was stopped 2 maybe 3 years ago.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on December 24, 2016, 09:57:53 PM
First Masters games

Now charity games

It's grand though, the GPA are getting their €7 million
Post by: ashman on December 24, 2016, 11:27:52 PM
Everything is today's world is being driven by insurance and fear of being sued.
Post by: Ball Hopper on December 24, 2016, 11:53:09 PM
Are parish league games allowed?

Post by: seafoid on December 25, 2016, 08:36:47 AM
I wonder how much the GAA's insurance costs.
They could probably get more extensive coverage if they shopped around.

The ban on pitch invasions probably has nothing to do with insurance.
Post by: sligoman2 on December 25, 2016, 10:04:18 AM
Hypocrisy - they have no problems letting the club championship drag way past Stepnens day...
Basically the message is ye can't enjoy yereselves if there's no money in it for us...
Add this to the club players agenda
Post by: Link on December 25, 2016, 02:36:04 PM
Does this affect the Ulster minor club championship games?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on December 25, 2016, 03:51:39 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 25, 2016, 08:36:47 AM

It's an injury fund, not insurance for players
Post by: seafoid on December 25, 2016, 04:42:01 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on December 25, 2016, 03:51:39 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 25, 2016, 08:36:47 AM

It's an injury fund, not insurance for players
Maybe they could insure it and have the premiums invested to get a decent return say 5% and cover stephens day
Post by: laceer on December 26, 2016, 05:56:55 AM
Eammonca and Rossfan - my headline may not be worded correctly but I stand over my point. It's the spirit of the thing- send a note out 2 days before Christmas with the sole intention of stopping people playing a game of football. That's not right.
Post by: rrhf on December 26, 2016, 06:44:23 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 25, 2016, 11:36:25 AM
Yeah, they're very choosy when it comes to insurance cover.
The Kellogs Cul Camp thing is the biggest joke.
What s that 
Post by: AZOffaly on December 26, 2016, 10:37:33 AM
Quote from: laceer on December 26, 2016, 05:56:55 AM
Eammonca and Rossfan - my headline may not be worded correctly but I stand over my point. It's the spirit of the thing- send a note out 2 days before Christmas with the sole intention of stopping people playing a game of football. That's not right.

With the sole intention of advising them they are not covered.  If you play a soccer game are you covered.
Post by: redzone on December 26, 2016, 10:52:37 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 26, 2016, 10:42:16 AM
Quote from: rrhf on December 26, 2016, 06:44:23 AM
What s that
The GAA will not cover clubs for running summer schemes etc unless your club runs a Kellogs Cul Camp in the same year. A feckin racket.

Kellogg's cul camps are the same as our summer camps. Not sure when the gaa started them but we have been running ours since the 90s.
Post by: DuffleKing on December 26, 2016, 01:58:50 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 26, 2016, 11:08:39 AM
Quote from: redzone on December 26, 2016, 10:52:37 AM
What s that
The GAA will not cover clubs for running summer schemes etc unless your club runs a Kellogs Cul Camp in the same year. A feckin racket.

Kellogg's cul camps are the same as our summer camps. Not sure when the gaa started them but we have been running ours since the 90s.
Our club has run one since the 80s. We now have to run a Kellogs Cul Camp in order to run the club one.

Have some imagination HS. You haven't got a club summer camp - it's just that all of your underage teams are training every day for a week...
Post by: naka on December 26, 2016, 08:48:47 PM
Quote from: laceer on December 26, 2016, 05:56:55 AM
Tbf
Is it not the insurance company who are calling the shots
Post by: moysider on December 26, 2016, 10:06:29 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on December 24, 2016, 05:42:30 PM
Should go ahead as long as the clubs indemnify the GAA as a whole of any risk if a player breaks a leg and is out of work for an extended period.

Could go ahead but the organisers would be liable as it would be a private event.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on December 27, 2016, 09:27:21 PM
Quote from: rrhf on December 27, 2016, 08:59:12 PM
What s that
That is a racket alright. Who are the directors of cul camps and how much do they earn?
Sponsors call the shots now

Everything has to be run past them
Post by: rrhf on December 28, 2016, 07:35:41 AM
Still don't get the reasoning for the insurance withdrawal on summer schemes conditional to their participation in local cul camp. Assume that the GAA own cul camps!
Post by: JimStynes on December 28, 2016, 01:09:59 PM
The cul camp one is a joke. We could easily get a load of our own club t-shirts and school bags and get the children to pay for those instead of the cul camp money. At least they would be wearing our own gear around the parish.  Could we run the cul camp at Easter? or does it have to be during the summer?
Post by: illdecide on December 28, 2016, 11:54:57 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on December 28, 2016, 01:09:59 PM
The cul camp one is a joke. We could easily get a load of our own club t-shirts and school bags and get the children to pay for those instead of the cul camp money. At least they would be wearing our own gear around the parish.  Could we run the cul camp at Easter? or does it have to be during the summer?

You can run a camp anytime you want, we always run two every year both at the start of the summer and then a week or two before they start back school. Armagh ran an official Cul camp as well in between sending down a few county players to justify the extortionate prices they charge the children. (think it is £40 or £50 for the week per child)

Summer is usually the best time to run them as it's usually better weather (i say that lightly) and with parents needing their kids minded for a few hours whilst they run for a latte or work for a few hours they'd do anything to get their heads showered for a few hours.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on December 29, 2016, 12:11:52 PM
We refuse to run a Cup camp and just run our own.
We make sure any child who participates is a member of a GAA club.
If not, we stick down their name on our online registration after getting the parent to fill out a membership form.

What sanctions could they possibly throw at us?
Post by: johnneycool on January 03, 2017, 03:01:59 PM
Without going off topic any more than it is already, but how bad are the Cul Camps in some of these places?

Granted they're expensive enough, but in fairness to the ones run at our place by Down CB, they're quite good and the kids love them.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 05, 2017, 10:32:04 AM
Wish our Stephen's Day kick-around was cancelled, was in a heap for days after it.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 05, 2017, 04:01:17 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 05, 2017, 10:32:04 AM
Wish our Stephen's Day kick-around was cancelled, was in a heap for days after it.

Was it from the football or the festivities thereafter???