Dia dhaoibh.
I have noticed that on another thread pepople are complaining about the big games being on TG4 and not being able to understand the Irish...
This is a thread to help yous along, and to help ye understand a few words and phrases!!!!
We are open to suggestions as to where to start...................................
Micheal o Se who does the minor matches:
'An caid fachta aige i lar na pairce'
Kerry irish for 'he received the football in the middle of the field'
'Cad e mar scor' (Brian Tyers)
What a score.
'oh dia is muire'
when a mayo forward kicks yet another wide!
'tharais an trasnan'
when a kerry man kicks the ball anywhere near the goals
sneachta - snow
Irish phrases I have learnt from TG4:
An rasper = decent shot
An Blond Bombshell = K Mc Donald
Cul de sac = a run by Conor Mortimor
Quote from: passedit on May 03, 2007, 03:55:29 PM
Irish phrases I have learnt from TG4:
Cul de sac = a run by Conor Mortimor
;D ;D ;D ;D
Its easy to follow games when Coman Goggins is commentating. Uses more english than irish! By the way did anyone think when they were a nipper that there was a fella playing in the minor match on All-Ireland Sunday whos name was Joe Na Cearnóige? A savage amount of ball used to go into him! Not saying I thought this, it was ehhhhh...........a friend. :-[
"Buailte go h-ard agus ... BUAILTE GO CRINN!" is one of Mícheál Ó Sé's classics, go maire sé an céad.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 03, 2007, 04:00:07 PM
Its easy to follow games when Coman Goggins is commentating. Uses more english than irish! By the way did anyone think when they were a nipper that there was a fella playing in the minor match on All-Ireland Sunday whos name was Joe Na Cearnóige? A savage amount of ball used to go into him! Not saying I thought this, it was ehhhhh...........a friend. :-[
Who is he? Anyone ever used one of those CDs for the car to help you learn/relearn Irish/
".......isteach i dtreo na cearnóige"
"Gan doubt" - start of every second sentence during TG4s Waterford/KK match
maor uisce beatha lads what does this mean? I presumed bath water steward but 5 times has refered me here for correction therapy. What could it mean as gaeilge?
Commonly used words.... feel free to add to the list.
Uisce Beatha - Water of Life... also known as whiskey...for the benefit of Neutral.
Maor - Official....not the Stickie variety but a wee man who wears a yellow flourescent tanktop and gets into games for nothing.
Leann Dubh - Stout...as in the drink variety not the Fearon kind.
Ceapaire pl. Ceapairí - Sangwiches usually of the Hang variety.
Teach Tabhairne - Pub
Amadán - Fool....of the Fearon variety.
Ciotóg - A person who uses his or her left hand or foot for whatever purpose.
Ciotach - An awkward person (see Ciotóg above for explanation ::)
Beidh cupla focal eile ann amárach.
Slán
Im trying to improve my Irish as much as I can, its been seven years since i did my leaving, but even then i only leanrt it to jump that hurdle, and didnt really help me understand the language. I was hoping to return home(i Seasnach anois) and start a course in Irish.
Sadly theres not many jobs going for me at home whereas theres loads accross the water, so looks like i'll be in exile for a few years (ill keep up the GAA dont you worry). So anyone recommend a way to keep "an cupla focail" while im away. any books or websites?
I have to say, I'd be quite happy that if the car broke down in the middle of a gaeltacht somewhere in the wilds of Kerry I'd be able to communicate with the locals pretty well. A lot of that is due to the number of games I watch on TG4. I also watch Fíorscéal every week. It's surprising how quickly you pick up stuff again. Those CD's that came with the Indo recently, with basic everyday phrases as gaeilge were a good idea. I honestly think there is the beginnings of a resurgence in the use of spoken Irish. It's very fashionable nowadays to send young Fiachra or Sneachta to a gaelscoil (almost as fashionable as giving them quare Irish names to begin with).
I was watching TG4 last nite and even with my very poor Irish i noticed their translation was terrible they said something like
Their is a lot of historical stuff around here - in Irish and the translation was Look at all the artefacts . How is that helpful?
Also with Sky + and the likes now shouldn't they run some Irish courses at night starting at 10 1 hour beginners programs ,intermediate for the hour after etc and repeat the course every 10 weeks.
Also the minster for education was on saying their is a large number of teachers who are dedicated to teach forgien nationals English and that with in a school year for this program the majority of kids have caught up to their Irish peers .
Now this is a great idea but i have to ask why the same cant be applied to Irish and a dedicated class time be set a side in which the class is thought in Irish ?
An Scor Ar Fad.....usually heard when Down are playing
To my lifelong shame I know very little of the native tongue. That tg4 idea. a programme dedicated to beginners irish which is taken at a very slow pace would be a great idea. then a series of very basic programmes in the tongue which could be its practical appication before a fainne awarding session in some galetacht (piss up/ hooring session in Irish) CAll it Irish for Gaelic Games.
Ceacht a dó ( lesson two)
Cic saor - free kick
rófhada - too long
ag snámh in aghaidh easa - swimming against the current ( going no where)
leath ama - half time
aráis i ndiaidh na bhfograí - back after the adverts
ceann millteacht ard - fierce high kick
o a Dhía - oh God ( holy sweet fu** what his he playing at)
As asked before there are the cds / dvds any use for learning or would it be strongly recommended to go to an actual course?
Louper, it would probably be better going to a course where you can build on it from week to week. The tapes while good, may lead to difficulties, as you might become frustrated by them. I'd definetly advise a night class.
cheers thought that myself somethin i must do yet keep puttin it off, feel ashamed at times! never too old i suppose!
Louper,
You cannot beat immersing yourself in the language in the Gaeltacht. Its the best way to learn. Gael Linn run courses in Donegal. PM Aidan Mallon and he'll tell you all about them. Even the Ulster Council are running courses. See below:
QuoteComhairle Uladh CLG
A dhuine uasail,
I would be grateful if you might inform the clubs in your county of the preliminary arrangements for the Ulster Council Irish Language Course in Downings (Ros Goill) this year.
The course commences on Monday 16th July and concludes on Saturday 21st. July. The course will be held in Downings GAA Centre. Many thanks for your co-operation.Brochures etc will be forwarded in the near future.
Tom Cullen (Secretary)
Bheinn an-bhuíoch díot ach an réamh-eolas seo a chur ar fáil do na clubanna i do chontae. Tosnóidh Cúrsa Samhraidh Comhairle Uladh CLG 'sna na Dúnaibh (Ros Goill) ar an 16ú Iúil agus críochnóidh an cúrsa ar an 21ú lá 2007. Tionólfar an cúrsa In "Ionad Lúthchleas Gael" na nDúnaibh. Gabhaim buíochas leat as do chomh-oibriú le Comhairle Uladh. Cuirfear gach eolas eile chugat chomh luath is atá sé ar fail.
Tomás Ó Cuilinn (Rúnaí)
Quote from: An Cloch Scoilte on May 04, 2007, 02:24:23 PM
Louper, it would probably be better going to a course where you can build on it from week to week. The tapes while good, may lead to difficulties, as you might become frustrated by them. I'd definetly advise a night class.
Scoilte it's a wonder you didn't try and enroll him for your wee night class, not like you to miss an oportunity for the pound, is fear santach thú!!!
An bhfuil se ag dul isteach go dti an leabhair dubh - is his name going inot the black book
Carta bui - yellow card
Carta Dearg - red card
Cic ar forai (not sure of the spelling but a wide or a bad wide, another Michael O'Se term)
And finally what every Kerry kid grows up dreaming about, one that always gets the hair standing on the neck and brings a tear to the eye:
Muintair an Riocht agus a chairde go leir...........ta athas o mo chroi an chorn Sam Maguire a glachadh ar san foireann Ciarrai.
cheers sams! definitely something i want to look into. id know the odd wee phrase here and there, im talkin minimal, but even knowing them does make me feel good so i can imagine the satisfaction from being able to converse in it!
Kerry Mike,
Speaking of hairs on the back of the neck...I think it was Joe Connolly's speech in 1980 which included the line: (paraphrasing)
"Tá daoine ar ais i nGaillimh agus tá gliondar ina gcroí"
Someone should compile all those All Ireland acceptances speeches there were some great ones over the years.
Quote from: realredhandfan on May 04, 2007, 08:48:19 AM
To my lifelong shame I know very little of the native tongue. That tg4 idea. a programme dedicated to beginners irish which is taken at a very slow pace would be a great idea. then a series of very basic programmes in the tongue which could be its practical appication before a fainne awarding session in some galetacht (piss up/ hooring session in Irish) CAll it Irish for Gaelic Games.
thought you were from italy
Quote from: Fíor Gael on May 04, 2007, 02:44:52 PM
Scoilte it's a wonder you didn't try and enroll him for your wee night class, not like you to miss an oportunity for the pound, is fear santach thú!!!
Maith thú Fíor Gael!! Ní chaillíonn tú deis nó seans punt nó dó a dhéanamh duit féin sa Tí tabhairne sin!!!! ;)
[
Maith thú Fíor Gael!! Ní chaillíonn tú deis nó seans punt nó dó a dhéanamh duit féin sa Tí tabhairne sin!!!! ;)
Bíodh ciall agat a mhic. chuala mé rafla go bhfuair tú post bliana thall leis na meiriceanaí, ag teagasc ar dteanga duachais do lucht na yankies agus iad siud gan béarla fiu???
Níl ann ach rafla!!! ;)
Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 04, 2007, 03:43:20 PM
Someone should compile all those All Ireland acceptances speeches there were some great ones over the years.
Yeah esp the one where some poor Dub who hasnt spoken a word of Irish since 3rd class is expected to address the nation :)
QuoteYeah esp the one where some poor Dub who hasnt spoken a word of Irish since 3rd class is expected to address the nation
Fortunately it doesn't happen too often.
Quote from: Gnevin on May 09, 2007, 02:12:09 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 04, 2007, 03:43:20 PM
Yeah esp the one where some poor Dub who hasnt spoken a word of Irish since 3rd class is expected to address the nation :)
Mar shampla...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qyAKzzkPAj4
Great thread I haven't seen before. Have recently started an Irish class in an Chairn in Slaughtneil. Have the very basics but not much else. I want to pass it on to the next generation so they know it rather than me just knowing phrases. Games on tg4 are a great way to start and the cartoons on tv are even useful so anything the gaelgeoirí here can add would be very useful.
Go raibh maith agaibh