Des Cahill... what can one say? :-\
It was always something to be avoided. I suppose when I was a kid I had no choice but watch the irritating and pompous Liam Ó Murchú doing up for the final.
Why would anybody want to attend this and why would anybody want to sit down and watch it?
Why does RTE continue to with nonsense like this and other cringe fests like Rose of Tralee, ffs?
Quote from: moysider on September 03, 2016, 11:22:26 PM
It was always something to be avoided. I suppose when I was a kid I had no choice but watch the irritating and pompous Liam Ó Murchú doing up for the final.
Why would anybody want to attend this and why would anybody want to sit down and watch it?
Why does RTE continue to with nonsense like this and other cringe fests like Rose of Tralee, ffs?
Y'know all of our TV signals are broadcast into space? Alpha Centurians are only 4 light years away and were recently commenting that Dublin v Mayo was like a cross between Plasma-ball and Pulsar fighting.
Up for the match is right up their Wormholes.
I guess that people watch each in big numbers . This show and the Rose of Tralee are two examples where the decriers are far more insufferable than the decried .
A harmless ould appetiser for the big day.My only complaint is that I attended in 02 and 03 and the only gift for everyone in the audience was a £10 diesel voucher from Morgan Fuels 😡😡
I hear the programme is being retitled specially for Mayo supporters on the eve of this year's Football Final to "Up for the defeat (again!)" 😂😂😂
I think it is related to the ideology of Light Entertainment in RTE. They set a low bar.
Telly is for everyone and all levels of education. BBC crime programmes often have clues so that everyone can follow the story.
Up For The Match is a national treasure™. It's magnificent Saturday night television and is meant to be watched with a few drinks on board. There's a place for cringe-inducing twee mucksavagery and this is the place. And the more cringe-inducing the better.
You all know you love it, don't deny it.
Roll on another night of self-consciously gormless hooting and hollering in two weeks' time.
Quote from: sid waddell on September 04, 2016, 11:36:50 PM
Up For The Match is a national treasure™. It's magnificent Saturday night television and is meant to be watched with a few drinks on board. There's a place for cringe-inducing twee mucksavagery and this is the place. And the more cringe-inducing the better.
Roll on another night of self-consciously gormless hooting and hollering in two weeks' time.
Ok.
Only thing wrong with Up for the Match is Des Cahill. The rest is harmless stuff that internet warriors get far too worked up about.
Des Cahill always reminds me of Henry Sellers from Father Ted
Quote from: sid waddell on September 04, 2016, 11:36:50 PM
Up for the match, the Angelus , RoT and Garda Patrol (early iterations) have been submitted to UNESCO as part of the world's priceless heritage .
Bring back Mailbag.
I've no issue with the show apart from a change of presenter is required but I can't understand how there isn't a programme on before both AI finals to discuss tactics etc. There was a programme on 3 or 4 years ago similar to this throughout the summer but obviously ratings weren't great.
Quote from: Maroon Manc on September 05, 2016, 02:58:12 PM
I've no issue with the show apart from a change of presenter is required but I can't understand how there isn't a programme on before both AI finals to discuss tactics etc. There was a programme on 3 or 4 years ago similar to this throughout the summer but obviously ratings weren't great.
I like tactical analysis.
But seriously, who the fook is interested in watching a programme about tactics the night before an All-Ireland final.
I like drinking the night before an All-Ireland final, and if I'm at home watching Up For The Match, I like to drink during that too.
Although I do turn something else on when the yawn-inducing, po-faced "Uachtaran Cummann Luthchleas Gael A-gawn O'Fareeeel" is interviewed. But I'll switch back for more cringe-inducing craic once he's toddled off.
My advice to the makers of Up For The Match is: cut Mr. O'Fareeeel and have more interviews with drunken 'oul lads and more features about painted sheep.
Quote from: sid waddell on September 05, 2016, 05:23:02 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on September 05, 2016, 02:58:12 PM
I like tactical analysis.
But seriously, who the fook is interested in watching a programme about tactics the night before an All-Ireland final.
I like drinking the night before an All-Ireland final, and if I'm at home watching Up For The Match, I like to drink during that too.
Although I do turn something else on when the yawn-inducing, po-faced "Uachtaran Cummann Luthchleas Gael A-gawn O'Fareeeel" is interviewed. But I'll switch back for more cringe-inducing craic once he's toddled off.
My advice to the makers of Up For The Match is: cut Mr. O'Fareeeel and have more interviews with drunken 'oul lads and more features about painted sheep.
They should do interviews with the women following the players in the interests of the survival of the fittest. Kilkenny have presumably run out of locals.
My favourite 'Up for the match' moment!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dONChKbYKs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dONChKbYKs)
Them were the days when Liam Ó Murchú as Trom agus Éadrom presented the show!
Mother of God.
So that's where that awful caterwauling yoke started. :-[
Yes, it takes talent to come up with a concoction like that. 😊
No wonder the rest of the country was up for us in '96.
;D Thanks for that FTB. Incredible.
Quote from: Jinxy on September 05, 2016, 10:36:12 PM
No wonder the rest of the country was up for us in '96.
In the football and the fighting.
Quote from: Minder on September 05, 2016, 11:18:48 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 05, 2016, 09:08:31 PM
Mother of God.
Indeed, gruesome
Midwest Radio had that song rattling every minute of the day leading up to the match. Torture.
You have to love the enthusiasm of the backing singers.
Quote from: Minder on September 05, 2016, 11:18:48 PM
Mother of God.
Indeed, gruesome
Cringeworthy is not even half strong enough of a description
Good lyrics though
WTF
The only thing missing from that show was a meeting of the Ballymagash town council
Mother of God.
I'm depressed already, again, after watching the first 20 seconds of that.
Is it normal to be depressed 2 weeks before ye lose an AI final?
Quote from: moysider on September 06, 2016, 01:24:11 AM
Mother of God.
I laughed for first 20 seconds and this was quickly replaced by depression after 10 more seconds.
I wonder have their been many requests into Midwest radio for it.
Might call myself just for a laugh
Quote from: joemamas on September 06, 2016, 02:00:52 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 06, 2016, 01:24:11 AM
Mother of God.
I laughed for first 20 seconds and this was quickly replaced by depression after 10 more seconds.
I wonder have their been many requests into Midwest radio for it.
Might call myself just for a laugh
Please don't. :-[
Quote from: Jinxy on September 06, 2016, 12:07:38 AM
You have to love the enthusiasm of the backing singers.
Apart from one lad in the centre ;D
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 05, 2016, 07:44:31 PM
My favourite 'Up for the match' moment!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dONChKbYKs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dONChKbYKs)
Them were the days when Liam Ó Murchú as Trom agus Éadrom presented the show!
the jerseys were much nicer 20 years ago
I have to confess the missis is from Mayo - and one day I was slagging her off (bit 'o' banter, wha'?) about some of the denizens of her native county. To which she replied "You haven't seen the best of it yet" and downloaded that song for me on youtube.
It caused a rift in the courtship, let me tell you. I had a long, dark night of the soul after that.
Yer man who sings it, Tom Tom Denning, is apparently some messer.
This is the type of thing that would go 'viral' worldwide if it came out nowadays.
Did you see the Tipperary Rap one?
No, but I can imagine how awesome it is.
Quote from: Jinxy on September 06, 2016, 10:17:43 AM
No, but I can imagine how awesome it is.
Even worse than that.
Quote from: Jinxy on September 06, 2016, 10:09:24 AM
This is the type of thing that would go 'viral' worldwide if it came out nowadays.
I think it deserves to be a virus.
I think Mick Byrne was there in the hat. He did very well to keep his face off the TV. I'd say they grabbed a few lads at closing time and told them they were in the group.
It's a wonder there hasn't been a dance remix yet.
Farr,
You most likely deserve a Yellow or even a Black card for starting this thread.
Back at work today, could not resist the temptation of once again clicking on the link. Did anybody watch it long enough to see the eegits in the audience waving Mayo flags. Oh btw, I am now humming the ffin thing.
Quote from: Jinxy on September 06, 2016, 03:03:54 PM
It's a wonder there hasn't been a dance remix yet.
(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-Q9YYjS0S7g8/U6HkXPPp7cI/AAAAAAAAFWM/SX5JSp6igVw/s1600/oh+brilliant+idea+10.gif)
Great idea!
Quote from: joemamas on September 06, 2016, 03:37:13 PM
Farr,
You most likely deserve a Yellow or even a Black card for starting this thread.
Back at work today, could not resist the temptation of once again clicking on the link. Did anybody watch it long enough to see the eegits in the audience waving Mayo flags. Oh btw, I am now humming the ffin thing.
It'd make a great ringtone.
Quote from: joemamas on September 06, 2016, 03:37:13 PM
Did anybody watch it long enough to see the eegits in the audience waving Mayo flags. Oh btw, I am now humming the ffin thing.
Spoiler tag please
An absolute classic, one of those songs that has really stood the test of time.
No surprise that some of the uncouth philistines on here don't see the raw beauty and power in such a piece
Did anyone in that audience understand the agony that awaited over the next 20 years ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-sQI0_JVy4&index=3&list=PL0254B15516783B2E
The Mort on RTE repping the Mayo camp, who's there for the Dubs?
Thank you for bringing thread back to life, that link was too good.
Mayhoe, Mayheyheo............
Cora doesn't fear Grainne!
Not enough painted sheep and livestock in jerseys, and Joe Quaid needed to be given free rein to tell his hilarious yarns, but wasn't.
The kids singing "Dreams" was a wow moment.
Up Limerick.
Grainne's near constant laughing was very annoying.
It's as if she laughs every time someone says something, to cover up the fact she doesn't have a clue what they are on about & the girlish giggle is a good substitute for an intelligent comment.
Leave Gráinne alone now.
http://www.derrydaily.net/2018/08/18/rtes-up-for-the-match-coming-to-strabane-next-week/
She managed to stick the knife into monaghan as well
The great Liam O Murchu has never been adequately replaced.
You need a curmudgeony presenter with more hair growing out of his nostrils than his scalp.
Bad start to tonight's proceedings.
Fay Devlin's Presbyterian dourness is putting a serious dampener on the mood.
Cheer up, Fay.
It'll never happen, as they say.
Quote from: sid waddell on September 01, 2018, 10:03:16 PM
Bad start to tonight's proceedings.
Fay Devlin's Presbyterian dourness is putting a serious dampener on the mood.
Cheer up, Fay.
It'll never happen, as they say.
It did happen though. In 1995.
I have a confession to make - I enjoy up for the match. Please someone find a cure for me.
Does the TV licence fee keep increasing to keep Des Cahill in hair dye?
Philomena Begley still going strong. The undisputed Queen of Country.
Dublin enjoy themselves. They once got Jim Gavin into an ice bath. Wow. Like Tersea May running through a field of wheat.
I wonder does jim gavin dance like teresa may ;D
Not much solidarity for that Tyrone/RTE boycott, most Tyronies it would appear have true love for RTE, the voice of mother Ireland.
The sketches were very good, Brolly and Brogan.
Very poor renewal of this great tradition.
As listless as the rest of the build up to this final has been.
The only highlight was when Sean Cavanagh said "we love a good ambush in Tyrone" and the Tyrone crowd gave it the big one. Bagatelle at the end wasn't too bad.
Needed more drunk Plunkett Donaghy, Vinnie Murphy, John Lynch, Jimmy Keaveney, Kevin McAleer and Finbarr Furey, more drunken yarns and much less "Uachtaran Cumann Luthchleas Gael".
And less Des. It's time to go. I can't believe I'm saying this, but it may be time for the nuclear option of Hectaaaaarrrr.
Kevin McAleer? Sweet Jaysus ::)
The years have been rough on Vinnie Murphy
Des was woeful. His 'interview' with the wee lad from America was exactly how not to interview a kid, giving him only 'yes' answers, and then one question to his Dad 'you'll be supporting Tyrone?' He'd come from America with his kid who is 8 and still plays football after losing his legs and fingers. Holy Jaysus, a fantastic story and he threw it away through either lack of knowledge/research/interest or just ineptitude.
If 'Up for the Match' was a horse it would have been put down years ago.
Makes Rose of Tralee look good.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 02, 2018, 09:42:52 AM
If 'Up for the Match' was a horse it would have been put down years ago.
Makes Rose of Tralee look good.
And yet RTE still draws a major audience with both to satisfy the advertisers paying top dollar for prime time exposure. The RTE demographic for this type of television ensures it will go on and on.
If you don't like it or want it or are embarrassed by it, then don't tune in and add to the viewing figures that keep it alive.
Quote from: sid waddell on September 01, 2018, 11:58:23 PM
The only highlight was when Sean Cavanagh said "we love a good ambush in Tyrone" and the Tyrone crowd gave it the big one.
Quite edgy for Cavanagh given that it is patently untrue.
I usually enjoy Up for the Match - the hurling final one a few weeks back was decent - but this one was plain awful. Earlier posters have me tioned some of the paint drying/cringe moments: Des interviewing the wee lad from the US, Cavanagh, unnecessarily embarrassing Paddy Christie (who is a legend in my book) and the feigned shock when the hockey player revealed her GAA pedigree.....it was poor.
At least half of counties have not had an up for the match in the last 20 years
I counted 19 - Sligo, Ros, Leitrim, London, Fermanagh, Derry, Cavan, Monaghan, Antrim, Westmeath, Laois, Offaly, Wicklow, Langford and Carlow
These counties deserve the same treatment as everyone else. An evening of music and GAA nonsense with the occasional pearl such as Joe Hayes
https://youtu.be/hFzUFn0L9nA
Every county has its GAA characters.
RTÉ should run an alternative Up for the match with 2 of the excluded counties per year until every county has had a go. There doesn't have to be a match.
Quote from: seafoid on September 03, 2018, 04:46:21 PM
I counted 19 - Sligo, Ros, Leitrim, London, Fermanagh, Derry, Cavan, Monaghan, Antrim, Westmeath, Laois, Offaly, Wicklow, Langford and Carlow
These counties deserve the same treatment as everyone else. An evening of music and GAA nonsense with the occasional pearl such as Joe Hayes
RTÉ should run an alternative Up for the match with 2 of the excluded counties per year until every county has had a go. There doesn't have to be a match.
Offaly were in the hurling final in 2000.
Bagatelle, that was brutal. Have they no trad in Dublin? Or jazz? Or anything?
Is my memory playing tricks or did it used to be called "Up For The Final"??
Quote from: shark on September 03, 2018, 05:16:53 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 03, 2018, 04:46:21 PM
Offaly were in the hurling final in 2000.
Fair enough. Wexford should be included too.
Quote from: AQMP on September 03, 2018, 06:14:31 PM
Is my memory playing tricks or did it used to be called "Up For The Final"??
yes!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Up_for_the_Match (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Up_for_the_Match)
Quote from: BennyCake on September 03, 2018, 05:51:58 PM
Bagatelle, that was brutal. Have they no trad in Dublin? Or jazz? Or anything?
Could have got Bono but apparently his voice is gone.
Philomena Begley produced the best tyrone performance of the weekend on the show