Clarke hoping to sign for New York Red Bulls
[/b]
Former Armagh ace Jamie Clarke is keeping himself fit on his travels by training with Major League Soccer club New York Red Bulls.
The 27-year-old Crossmaglen star is rubbing shoulders with the likes of former Manchester City winger Shaun Wright-Phillips and The Irish News reports that he hopes to earn a contract with the club where French icon Thierry Henry finished his playing career.
The talented all-rounder has also been playing for Longford GAA club in New York and it is understood he will find out in November if he has a future with the MLS side.
http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=260300 (http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=260300)
Has Tony been informed of this outrage ?
Heard about this.No chance. He'd miss the big games due to his nomadic tendencies.
It's all McGeeneys fault.
I am not impressed with Oisin Mc Conville's disparaging comments about my home club Tir Na Nog who Crossmaglen meet in the next round of the Championship.😠😠😠
Sure Jamie has already played for Cartwheel United, this is no bigger.
QuoteI am not impressed with Oisin Mc Conville's disparaging comments about my home club Tir Na Nog who Crossmaglen meet in the next round of the Championsh
Sure didn't Oisin used to live in Tír na nÓg until he fell from a horse.
😁😁😁 V Good! You are a contender for the title of Second Best Wittiest Poster on this Board
Second best indeed. but I'll never beat Olly.
Quote from: armaghniac on August 31, 2016, 09:30:28 PM
Sure Jamie has already played for Cartwheel United, this is no bigger.
QuoteI am not impressed with Oisin Mc Conville's disparaging comments about my home club Tir Na Nog who Crossmaglen meet in the next round of the Championsh
Sure didn't Oisin used to live in Tír na nÓg until he fell from a horse.
He was horsing into a blonde called Niamh
Quote from: T Fearon on August 31, 2016, 08:04:50 PM
I am not impressed with Oisin Mc Conville's disparaging comments about my home club Tir Na Nog who Crossmaglen meet in the next round of the Championship.😠😠😠
They weren't disparaging they were on the money and respectful, any way O'Hanlons are your home club.
Saying it will be hard to lift the players in effect because TNN are shite is extremely disrespectful.Also my home club is and always will be TNN
Well its all true. TNN are shite and haven't a prayer against Cross. Whats the issue?
If you think the opposite you should take advantage of the odds on offer and stick a few pound on TNN to win, saying youre a great one for the value bets.
Quote from: T Fearon on September 01, 2016, 12:26:18 PM
Saying it will be hard to lift the players in effect because TNN are shite is extremely disrespectful.Also my home club is and always will be TNN
Tony, you don't let the truth hold you back. What he actually said was:"
and it's trying to get the boys up for it. We'll be expected to win, as we normally are, but in this case we will be especially expected to win as Tir Na Nog haven't a great record. There in lies the problem, it's getting motivated for the game..." To me that's a statement of fact, in no way disrespectful and if anything is critical also of Cross players. Also I'd have thought as a GAA traditionalist living in Poyntzpass you'd support your parish club.
Was there any need for him to say that?
Also by your logic as I live in Down that should be who I support.
Quote from: T Fearon on September 01, 2016, 01:20:15 PM
Was there any need for him to say that?
Also by your logic as I live in Down that should be who I support.
Its an opinion piece it is the truth so why shouldn't he? It is not disrespectful as you suggested and he does not use the word shite anywhere, that was your description. Also feel free to support the red and black, they need all the help they can get.
I cannot imagine him saying that about any other club.He should remember its not that long ago that TNN beat Crossmaglen in a league fixture.
It probably still keeps him awake at night in fairness.
I can just picture the Bulls manager and supporters commenting when Jamie misses a big game to go travelling that "Ah sure he owes us nothing" It's his life" "Fair play to the lad,he's only young once" etc🙄
Quote from: T Fearon on September 04, 2016, 12:43:04 AM
I can just picture the Bulls manager and supporters commenting when Jamie misses a big game to go travelling that "Ah sure he owes us nothing" It's his life" "Fair play to the lad,he's only young once" etc🙄
He couldn't do that Tony, that would be a breach of contract.
The RB's would just stop his money.
Jamie could learn a thing or two about dedication and commitment from Robbie Keane if he does get involved in US soccer
Quote from: T Fearon on September 04, 2016, 08:21:12 AM
Jamie could learn a thing or two about dedication and commitment from Robbie Keane if he does get involved in US soccer
Correct, although I hope you are not suggesting that Jamie would not honour a contract ??
Quote from: The Subbie on September 04, 2016, 09:13:54 AM
Correct, although I hope you are not suggesting that Jamie would not honour a contract ??
What bullshit. How committed would robbie have been for all those years had he been amateur. Commitment is easy if your earning 50000 a week.
Quote from: snoopdog on September 04, 2016, 09:49:14 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on September 04, 2016, 09:13:54 AM
What bullshit. How committed would robbie have been for all those years had he been amateur. Commitment is easy if your earning 50000 a week.
Correct. Jamie Clarke , if he signs for the RB's can be held to the same standards that Robbie Keane etc is held to, as a paid professional athlete.
Jamie Clarke as an amateur footballer, amateur chess player, amateur anything can do whatever the f**k he wants to do.
Can't believe some of you are taking this seriously. The clue to this story is in my name on here.
If Robbie Keane was motivated by money and contracts he would have retired years ago.He certainly didn't traipse over from LA for the last few years to play for Ireland for money.He is motivated by the love of the game, acknowledging his privileged position and determination to make it last for as long as possible.
He'll be next for canonisation I presume ::)
Quote from: T Fearon on September 04, 2016, 11:55:26 AM
If Robbie Keane was motivated by money and contracts he would have retired years ago.He certainly didn't traipse over from LA for the last few years to play for Ireland for money.He is motivated by the love of the game, acknowledging his privileged position and determination to make it last for as long as possible.
You are saying that "if Robbie Keane was motivated by money and contracts he would have retired years ago" and not pursued more money and contracts like he has done?? ??? ;D
I don't doubt he loves the game, as I'd imagine the vast majority of footballers do. However, he's extending his earning years by being a big fish in the tiny pond of MLS and earning several magnitudes more than some of his LA Galaxy teammates. Out of a total of 16 million in total base wages split among 27 players, Keane takes 3.5.
Poor "Cashley" Cole has had to accept less than 10% of Keane's salary due to Gerrard and Keane hogging all the cash! :P
Comparing Keane to Jamie Clarke is just ludicrous and I suspect, as most do, that this is just another of your attention whore threads. Gives us something to talk about, I suppose.
2016 LA GALAXY PLAYER SALARIES
NAME 2016 BASE SALARY 2016 GUARANTEED COMPENSATION
TOTALS $16,110,500 $18,101,275
GORDON, ALAN $170,000 $170,000
COLE, ASHLEY $300,000 $327,625
DELAGARZA, AJ $225,000 227,500
LASSITER, ARIEL $51,500 $51,500
HUSIDIC, BAGGIO $150,000 $150,000
JAMIESON, BRADFORD $63,000 $63,000
ROWE, BRIAN $80,000 $80,000
DIOP, CLEMENT $62,500 $62,500
KENNDEY, DAN $180,000 $195,400
ROMNEY, DAVE $63,000 $63,000
STERES, DANIEL $62,500 $62,500
BOATENG, EMMANUEL $100,000 $100,000
DOS SANTOS, GIOVANI $2,500,000 $4,250,000
ZARDES, GYASI $472,500 472,500
LARENTOWICZ, JEFF $175,000 $175,000
VAN DAMME, JELLE $425,000 $468,750
VILLARREAL, JOSE $90,000 $90,000
LEONARDO $160,000 $165,000
MAGEE, MIKE $250,000 $250,000
DE JONG, NIGEL $500,000 $500,000
SORTO, OSCAR $63,000 $63,000
GARCIA, RAFAEL $75,000 $75,000
KEANE, ROBBIE $3,500,000 $3,500,000
MENDIOLA, RAUL $62,500 $62,500
ROGERS, ROBBIE $220,000 $228,500
GERRARD, STEVEN $6,000,000 $6,132,500
LLETGET, SEBASTIAN $110,000 $115,500
If Robbie Keane was so 'commited' he wouldn't have jumped from one club to the next as soon as they flashed their knickers at him! He went off to make easy money in the MSL when he still had plenty left in the tank to challenge himself at the highest level. Shows him up a bit as someone who loves the easy life!!
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 04, 2016, 02:25:49 PM
If Robbie Keane was so 'commited' he wouldn't have jumped from one club to the next as soon as they flashed their knickers at him! He went off to make easy money in the MSL when he still had plenty left in the tank to challenge himself at the highest level. Shows him up a bit as someone who loves the easy life!!
Robbie left at the right time. Well done to him. Our mistake was carrying him on the senior squad the last two campaigns.
Quote from: Applesisapples on September 01, 2016, 11:32:35 AM
They weren't disparaging they were on the money and respectful, any way O'Hanlons are your home club.
Nope, he failed the interview. And as he lives in County Down, then Glen or Ballyvarley are welcome to him!
Quote from: Orior on September 04, 2016, 08:35:35 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on September 01, 2016, 11:32:35 AM
Nope, he failed the interview. And as he lives in County Down, then Glen or Ballyvarley are welcome to him!
LOL can't see a queue forming.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 04, 2016, 02:25:49 PM
Thats unfair Robbie Keane only ever left a club to move to his boyhood favorites lol
Longford played Cavan in the New York Intermediate final last 'night' in Gaelic Park.
Cavan won, but interestingly one 'Jamie Clarke' lined out at left half forward for Longford.
Even more interesingly same Jamie Clarke was red carded after 10 feckin minutes.
Wonder is this the Armagh lost sheep............. ::)
Playing soccer is one thing, playing for Longford isn't really on.
Quote from: armaghniac on September 05, 2016, 01:19:39 PM
Playing soccer is one thing, playing for Longford isn't really on.
Well it looks like he didn't!
sent off after 10 min. for throwing an elbow.The huge investment by Longford to win the intermediate up in smoke
Quote from: maigheo on September 05, 2016, 03:26:41 PM
sent off after 10 min. for throwing an elbow.The huge investment by Longford to win the intermediate up in smoke
Now that's pathetic. Another reason to hold a grudge agin all things Armagh (apart for one or two decent posters that I know outside of GAABoard)
Is he still making coffee?
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 05, 2016, 04:10:15 PM
Quote from: maigheo on September 05, 2016, 03:26:41 PM
Now that's pathetic. Another reason to hold a grudge agin all things Armagh (apart for one or two decent posters that I know outside of GAABoard)
Would I be one of those?
I see the Bould Jamie has signed up with a New York semi pro outfit , NY Shamrocks, coached by an Irish fella, Kevin Grogan, ex Man Utd youth player.
Does Tony grant his blessing to this I wonder ;)
Quote from: The Subbie on September 08, 2016, 10:49:55 AM
I see the Bould Jamie has signed up with a New York semi pro outfit , NY Shamrocks, coached by an Irish fella, Kevin Grogan, ex Man Utd youth player.
Does Tony grant his blessing to this I wonder ;)
Ohh FFS don't get him started...he's a bit quiet atm...think he's saving all his powers up for if Rangers get anything from Celtic on Sat
Never heard of NY Shamrocks (but have heard of Newry Shamrocks) or Grogan.He'll not be getting a call up for NI anytime soon.
(https://nyshamrocksc.files.wordpress.com/2016/09/kevin-grogan-and-jamie-clarke.jpg?w=584)
Cartwheel would beat them
Does that bloke with him look like a young Benny from Crossroads?
Quote from: T Fearon on September 08, 2016, 02:49:55 PM
Does that bloke with him look like a young Benny from Crossroads?
No.
Quote from: T Fearon on September 08, 2016, 12:52:42 PM
Never heard of NY Shamrocks (but have heard of Newry Shamrocks) or Grogan.He'll not be getting a call up for NI anytime soon.
I'd say Tony unlike your good self Jamie wouldn't be that fussed on OWC.
Is this the same Grogan who was at United at one point? I remember him from my college days when he played for UCD.
Unless things have changed dramatically since I last played outdoor soccer in NYC in the 90s, I hope Jamie enjoys bumpy, rutted pitches with little grass! Randall's Island, where Shamrocks play, was especially bad.
Quote from: J70 on September 08, 2016, 09:13:26 PM
Is this the same Grogan who was at United at one point? I remember him from my college days when he played for UCD.
Unless things have changed dramatically since I last played outdoor soccer in NYC in the 90s, I hope Jamie enjoys bumpy, rutted pitches with little grass! Randall's Island, where Shamrocks play, was especially bad.
Same fella, played with Milwall as well I think, injuries ruined him I believe.
Twittersphere has it Jamie is homeward bound & ready to commit to Armagh again.
Cross will be going all out to take back what is theirs !
The I'm ready thing might have done it
Quote from: bennydorano on November 29, 2016, 09:33:01 AM
If true that would be great. that said I don't think he would be trusted by McGeeney.
Fearon booked him the flight home, there was some problem with the dates/times but they got it sorted in the end
Looks like Santy got little Tony Fearon's letters.
Quote from: stew on November 29, 2016, 11:18:17 AM
If true that would be great. that said I don't think he would be trusted by McGeeney.
Why would that be, he signalled his intention to go well in advance and did not mislead anyone?
2 former play of the year dubs can travel the world, and yet some Armagh people think they can own Jamie Clarke year in year out.
If Jamie wants to settle in the Moy, the lads can take care of the paperwork...and the grief.
Quote from: rrhf on November 29, 2016, 12:29:19 PM
If Jamie wants to settle in the Moy, the lads can take care of the paperwork...and the grief.
With the world at his feet, he's hardly going to go to Tyrone, FFS. Sure the only coffee there comes from the likes of this.
(https://centra.ie/thumbnail/400x300/var/files/products/Ambient-Staple/maxwellHouseMildBlend100g.png)
Quote from: armaghniac on November 29, 2016, 11:40:14 AM
Why would that be, he signalled his intention to go well in advance and did not mislead anyone?
[/quote
I just do not think McGeeney feels he can rely on him, I hope I am wrong and I have n issue with whatever the lad decides to do, its his life.
Quote from: stew on November 29, 2016, 02:46:20 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 29, 2016, 11:40:14 AM
[/quote
I just do not think McGeeney feels he can rely on him, I hope I am wrong and I have n issue with whatever the lad decides to do, its his life.
McGeeney's not the only one. Jamie has proven to be unreliable with his availability. But that is his prerogative.
This has made zero impact in terms of Paddypower's odds of Armagh winning Division 3 - were 2/1 (along with Tipp) a week ago and are the same today.
Myself I'd be favouring Tipp.
Who gives a f**k
Irrelevant gossip. We'll be doing feck all next year, with or without Clarke.
Jamie may well be the only one with a bit of common sense treating this like the amateur game it is
Quote from: heganboy on November 29, 2016, 05:58:55 PM
Jamie may well be the only one with a bit of common sense treating this like the amateur game it is
He is giving the game what he thinks his time is worth, he is correct in doing so for him, if it were me I would have given anything to be as good as him back in the day, nowadays, not so much.
I think,Jamie Clarke is his own man and I admire his ability to make his own decisions no matter how unfair the emotional Armagh fan in me feels, the man has a right to do his own thing and in my view he is wise beyond his years.
It's worth noting that Straffan is the coffee capital of Kildare.
Stevie McDonnell digging at Jamie today in Irish News.
I think Stevie was obsessed with his football. Jamie obviously isn't. Nothing wrong with that.
Jamie has always been up front about this stuff. He's never led people on. If he decides to come back it will be because he wants to and Armagh will be a lot better off with a Jamie Clarke who's looking forward to the season ahead rather than wishing he was abroad.
As Stevie says he's 27,time to wise up.He has a maximum of 5 years left.Time to confiscate his passport and suntan lotion,and for him to give his all for his County for the next five years.
Over 90 called to Armagh trails - 45 turned up - squad 45, says it all - no one wants to play for McGeeney - Jamie shouldn't go near it, McGeeney should stick to UFC!
Quote from: T Fearon on December 02, 2016, 06:25:42 AM
As Stevie says he's 27,time to wise up.He has a maximum of 5 years left.Time to confiscate his passport and suntan lotion,and for him to give his all for his County for the next five years.
But that's like forcing him to do something he doesn't want to do. Telling him he should put his life on hold for 5 years, running his shite out, living like a monk, would be enough for some players to say...you know what, shove your football up yer hole! I have a life to live.
While I'd like to see Jamie line out for Armagh, I think he has a positive outlook to football in this ultra-competitive, all-consuming era of the game.
He needs to work on his grappling.
if Armagh don't want Jamie, could he not declare for Monaghan, probably his spiritual home?
There's so much negativity and hostility towards the talented, free spirited Jamie who merely wanted to explore and experience life outside the narrow minded box.
We understand and respect the free spirit, the pioneer spirit, the spirit of a man who yearned for freedom, to escape from the darkness.
Quote from: Main Street on December 02, 2016, 11:32:11 AM
if Armagh don't want Jamie, could he not declare for Monaghan, probably his spiritual home?
There's so much negativity and hostility towards the talented, free spirited Jamie who merely wanted to explore and experience life outside the narrow minded box.
We understand and respect the free spirit, the pioneer spirit, the spirit of a man who yearned for freedom, to escape from the darkness.
if he wants to play again I will welcome him back with open arms
Quote from: BennyCake on December 02, 2016, 09:48:52 AM
But that's like forcing him to do something he doesn't want to do. Telling him he should put his life on hold for 5 years, running his shite out, living like a monk, would be enough for some players to say...you know what, shove your football up yer hole! I have a life to live.
While I'd like to see Jamie line out for Armagh, I think he has a positive outlook to football in this ultra-competitive, all-consuming era of the game.
Totally agree, and the sooner this era is over the better. Will hopefully put an end to a lot of what's wrong with the game.
you're not near wise
Quote from: Main Street on December 02, 2016, 11:32:11 AM
You already have one scoring forward.
Quote from: No wides on December 02, 2016, 07:55:50 AM
Over 90 called to Armagh trails - 45 turned up - squad 45, says it all - no one wants to play for McGeeney - Jamie shouldn't go near it, McGeeney should stick to UFC!
45 is a decent turn out
A fair few know they have no chance
Hopefully they all get a game in the o faich cup
On Jamie
I for one respect his decisions and am more than happy that he has committed to the orchard this year
Let's get behind the team
Ffs we have that shower across the Clanrye river to play in the first round
That would suggest at least 45 want to play for mcgeeney
That might just leave it the biggest county panel in Ireland. Add in Clarke who is prepared to fly home and sign on the dotted line again for Armagh and you have as much to choose from. as anyone.
Quote from: tonto1888 on December 03, 2016, 09:09:34 AM
And 45 don't, do you think the best 45 turned up?
Quote from: No wides on December 03, 2016, 10:44:23 AM
How many players that didn't show up would make a big difference. Most of the best players seem to be there. Likes of Aaron Keenan would be a good option but he's retired and stated not over mcgeeney.
the Armagh manager role is a bit like a voodoo position. Someone to blame. Go up there you better have a thick skin. I predict an all Ireland semi final for the mc geeney mmen
Quote from: No wides on December 03, 2016, 10:44:23 AM
And 45 showed up and do want to play. Yet you still said nobody wanted to play for McGeeney. You were wrong. As usual
Quote from: rrhf on December 03, 2016, 12:54:31 PM
the Armagh manager role is a bit like a voodoo position. Someone to blame. Go up there you better have a thick skin. I predict an all Ireland semi final for the mc geeney mmen
Armagh don't have a junior team.
Yes Jamie is free to walk away and walk back to club and county football. But that does not stop Armagh supporters from being disappointed that we don't always field our best team. I'm concerned that he might just turn up for the big match against Down, and then walk away when we get Longford in the Qualifiers.
He hasn't done that though. He's been up front about it in advance.
Quote from: Orior on December 04, 2016, 09:56:53 AM
Yes Jamie is free to walk away and walk back to club and county football. But that does not stop Armagh supporters from being disappointed that we don't always field our best team. I'm concerned that he might just turn up for the big match against Down, and then walk away when we get Longford in the Qualifiers.
The dreaded phrase, "It's Longford... in the qualifiers", is a terminal diagnosis for most.
Quote from: Orior on December 04, 2016, 09:56:53 AM
Relax
Down will be playing Longford
Quote from: Syferus on December 03, 2016, 10:13:57 PM
Ahh well done Syphilis...you're so funny. Like you're a funny guy
Quote from: illdecide on December 05, 2016, 12:01:20 PM
It wasn't a joke.
Quote from: Syferus on December 05, 2016, 09:58:10 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 05, 2016, 12:01:20 PM
I know...that's why you're a funny guy
It wasn't a joke.
and I suppose calling someone "syphilis" is funny ::)
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on December 06, 2016, 09:29:14 PM
Sorry predictive text
Quote from: illdecide on December 10, 2016, 12:25:12 PM
Sorry predictive text
You've been writing to your doctor so many times that predictive text just automatically clicks in at any resemblance to the word.
Quote from: Main Street on December 14, 2016, 02:32:23 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 10, 2016, 12:25:12 PM
Sorry predictive text
You've been writing to your doctor so many times that predictive text just automatically clicks in at any resemblance to the word.
Texting my Doctor? That's funny too