Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on July 25, 2016, 07:00:47 PM

Title: Commemorating a significant anniversary
Post by: T Fearon on July 25, 2016, 07:00:47 PM
This Board and its various incarnations will soon be 20 years old.My first encounter was on 18/3/1997 the day after Crossmaglen's first All Ireland win.In fact it was the day I lost my internet virginity! First time I ever actively discovered the World Wide Web!

As far as I know Hardy is the only other original member still around,though I stand to be corrected.

Surely this momentous anniversary must not be allowed to pass without ceremony?
Title: Re: Commemorating a significant anniversary
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 25, 2016, 07:30:29 PM
....... "internet" virginity .......
Post by: theticklemister on July 25, 2016, 07:47:48 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 25, 2016, 07:30:29 PM
....... "internet" virginity .......

You have made up for losing your virginity by riding the internet ever since
Post by: T Fearon on July 25, 2016, 07:51:54 PM
It's not about me! It's about the Board becoming 20 years of age!
Post by: bennydorano on July 25, 2016, 10:19:34 PM
Think I discovered this board in 2001 or 2002.
Post by: 02 on July 25, 2016, 10:26:38 PM
I've been a long time lurker and joined around the same time as "Pints of Guinness". Remember there used to be a chatroom on one of the old boards.
Post by: laoislad on July 25, 2016, 10:38:10 PM
Ziggy was here before anyone. He is the creator.
High King Mod 1.
Post by: ziggysego on July 25, 2016, 10:38:46 PM
I came across the board in 2002.
Post by: laoislad on July 25, 2016, 10:41:48 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 25, 2016, 10:38:46 PM
I came across the board in 2002.
Dirty fcuker. Was it the mucksavages thread that set you off?
Post by: T Fearon on July 25, 2016, 10:49:26 PM
For long enough I was the only Northern representative.I remember Jimbo (from Dublin,and an ex AI minor winner) who I used to drive up the walls,Vicky (an American lady who was instrumental in reviving the Board at a time round the late 90s when it might have disappeared completely),a few Mayo lads (Ruaile Buaile),Meath Avenger,Deiseach and Bud Wiser came along pretty early too.

They used to have "gatherings" where many posters would meet up for a night's craic in Dublin (or communal Blind Dates as I used to call them!).
Post by: Minder on July 25, 2016, 11:08:52 PM
Where is Deiseach these days ?
Post by: ONeill on July 25, 2016, 11:27:40 PM
I thought I joined in 2002 but looking at this  - http://web.archive.org/web/20011004010645/www.gaaboard.com/board/index.html - I was on it in Sept 2001. So maybe 2000 then.  Not sure atall.
Post by: seafoid on July 25, 2016, 11:33:57 PM
Doesn't time fly? It was impossible to imagine in 1997 that the cats would win 10 all Irelands in short order.
Post by: ONeill on July 25, 2016, 11:47:27 PM
Another oul burd - http://web.archive.org/web/20021217191919/http://pub128.ezboard.com/bgaadiscussionboard
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 26, 2016, 12:01:03 AM
So was Bummer Malachi Cush? Did Bummer become Fintona or Gaffer?
Post by: ONeill on July 26, 2016, 12:14:47 AM
I think Bummer became Fintona.
Post by: seafoid on July 26, 2016, 03:19:48 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 25, 2016, 11:47:27 PM
Another oul burd - http://web.archive.org/web/20021217191919/http://pub128.ezboard.com/bgaadiscussionboard
Nobody knew then that Amagh would win Sam or that Tyrone would win 3 and do a Down on Kerry.
Post by: dec on July 26, 2016, 04:19:57 AM
It started as the guestbook on the gaa.ie website before the original owner handed it over to the GAA

https://web.archive.org/web/19970127050631/http://www.gaa.ie/guestbook/beforejuly.html
Post by: seafoid on July 26, 2016, 08:03:37 AM
Quote from: dec on July 26, 2016, 04:19:57 AM
It started as the guestbook on the gaa.ie website before the original owner handed it over to the GAA

https://web.archive.org/web/19970127050631/http://www.gaa.ie/guestbook/beforejuly.html
"the cats will be back". That was on the money
Post by: The Gs Man on July 26, 2016, 08:36:03 AM
2003 for me, coincidentally the same year I joined the public sector...
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2016, 09:22:23 AM
I moved to Arizona in 1997, and I think I discovered the GAA Board in either late 1997, or 1998. Either way, it's too long ago.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2016, 09:41:27 AM
2004 when I was in Australia. Still the best GAA discussion in terms of quality and variety. Definitely very little group think.
Post by: The Subbie on July 26, 2016, 10:24:35 AM
Think I first lurked in 2003/2004, joined originally in 2004/2005 then I think the board moved/transferred / something technical happened and I lost my posts/login or something like that & rejoined in 2006.
There was something like that happened or is my memory playing tricks on me?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 26, 2016, 11:31:04 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 25, 2016, 11:27:40 PM
I thought I joined in 2002 but looking at this  - http://web.archive.org/web/20011004010645/www.gaaboard.com/board/index.html - I was on it in Sept 2001. So maybe 2000 then.  Not sure atall.

I am there in my original Board name John Doheny  8)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2016, 11:33:29 AM
This one turned out bollox for the Armagh lads :)

http://web.archive.org/web/20021217191417/http://pub128.ezboard.com/fgaadiscussionboardfrm1.showMessage?topicID=2162.topic (http://web.archive.org/web/20021217191417/http://pub128.ezboard.com/fgaadiscussionboardfrm1.showMessage?topicID=2162.topic)
Post by: passedit on July 26, 2016, 11:40:35 AM
Quoteagorm
(11/28/02 9:59:34 pm)
Reply    armaghirseach Please give it a break. That is from someone who passionately cheered ye on in the All-Ireland. i get the feeling that the Armagh fans on this board (who may not be representative of all) must think that they will never win another All-Ireland. That is why they are getting all their slagging in now because they must feel that they will never get a chance again. The rest of the country is getting sick of it.

(https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS_YIP8I48G8v_RL-JoqAO9c6K7Em3wZHeNAtD5ZLgq_zadbR7LvM6H8Q)
Post by: Orior on July 26, 2016, 12:19:27 PM
I think I joined about 2002. How about celebrating by having a
1) commemoration thread
2) pub outing
3) golf outing
4) bare knuckle fist fight
5) swim suit parade
6) 13-a-side match
7) is there anything to be said for having a mass?
8 ) go-carting
9) ten-pin bowling
10) lovely wives/girlfriends competition
11) something else
12) none of the above
13) crossbow/apple/the real Tony Fearon competition
14) all the above
Post by: Armamike on July 26, 2016, 12:23:40 PM
Joined around 2001.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on July 26, 2016, 12:30:33 PM
I joined in the glorious summer of 2002  :P and I have to say the links above are bringing back many memories. When I joined, the main Armagh people I recall were TF, Maddog and Puskas. Others that I recall were Big Dave Pot Noodle Kid, Bummer, Kerry Mike, Star Spangler, ONeill, Deiseach, Hardyarse, Bud Weiser, Magpie Seanie, 5 Sams, Billys Boots to name but a few.

The emoticons were definitely better back then!!   ???
Post by: muppet on July 26, 2016, 02:13:11 PM
I'm too old to remember when I joined anymore.

Post by: seafoid on July 26, 2016, 02:22:14 PM
I think I started in 97. I remember the summer of 02 was agony. Tony Fearon was like a child who stayed up too late waiting for Santy. And Armagh won.
Post by: Billys Boots on July 26, 2016, 02:23:02 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 26, 2016, 02:13:11 PM

I was too embarrassed to say that, but as I'm not alone ...
Post by: Rma13 on July 26, 2016, 03:09:01 PM
It looks as though I joined in April 2007, it must have been a slow day in work  ;) 
Post by: Boycey on July 26, 2016, 03:15:09 PM
Quote from: Rma13 on July 26, 2016, 03:09:01 PM
It looks as though I joined in April 2007, it must have been a slow day in work  ;)

You're not exactly a turbo poster are you, roughly 9 per year...
Post by: Rma13 on July 26, 2016, 03:18:15 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 26, 2016, 03:15:09 PM

I read but rarely comment, I'd be more active on my county forum.  Two posts today though so getting close to my yearly quota already!!!!  ;D
Post by: No wides on July 26, 2016, 03:20:31 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 26, 2016, 02:13:11 PM

Yet your thousands upon thousands of posts have been very memorable!
Post by: No wides on July 26, 2016, 03:21:09 PM
Quote from: Rma13 on July 26, 2016, 03:18:15 PM

I read but rarely comment, I'd be more active on my county forum.  Two posts today though so getting close to my yearly quota already!!!!  ;D

I want to know what happened this day!

Most Online Today: 280. Most Online Ever: 779 (January 10, 2011, 05:47:52 PM)
Post by: seafoid on July 26, 2016, 03:25:13 PM
Quote from: No wides on July 26, 2016, 03:21:09 PM

Most Online Today: 280. Most Online Ever: 779 (January 10, 2011,
the day Michaela Harte was murdered
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2016, 03:25:56 PM
Benefit of the doubt lads, before everyone goes bananas.
Post by: No wides on July 26, 2016, 03:32:27 PM
Quote from: Rma13 on July 26, 2016, 03:23:20 PM
Quote from: No wides on July 26, 2016, 03:21:09 PM

Most Online Today: 280. Most Online Ever: 779 (January 10, 2011, 05:47:52 PM)

Is this a serious question?

Yes it was I didn't have that date logged in my memory.
Post by: Orior on July 26, 2016, 03:33:59 PM
Okay, I joined in 2006 but i do remember browsing the board before then and I didn't like the layout.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 26, 2016, 03:39:19 PM
Date Registered: January 26, 2009, 01:59:30 PM

I have to say, its a great way of filling a  slow day at work!
Post by: Mac hinery on July 26, 2016, 07:50:23 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 25, 2016, 10:49:26 PM
For long enough I was the only Northern representative.

I don't think so Tony
Post by: leenie on July 26, 2016, 09:39:12 PM
Here since 2008 ..

It's been good, bad and indifferent

Thought I'd use my 2000th post to say happy anniversary to the board.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on July 26, 2016, 09:47:52 PM
Here since 2000, lurked about for a while (still do every day) and joined I think in 2001 under my first username letmework (couldn't get any work done as I was always reading the board), changed to this name when the board changed its hosting one of those times. Some changes over the years.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 26, 2016, 09:53:53 PM
Has not been the same since Barney left from a Mayo perspective.  Must be gone 10 years now? Used to enjoy his rants. Mayo's loses in 04 and 06 were to much for him and I suppose and he got a life!
Post by: ONeill on July 26, 2016, 11:27:22 PM
Quote from: leenie on July 26, 2016, 09:39:12 PM
Here since 2008 ..

It's been good, bad and indifferent

Thought I'd use my 2000th post to say happy anniversary to the board.

That's a nice post.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 27, 2016, 01:10:54 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 26, 2016, 09:53:53 PM
Has not been the same since Barney left from a Mayo perspective.  Must be gone 10 years now? Used to enjoy his rants. Mayo's loses in 04 and 06 were to much for him and I suppose and he got a life!

He also got a wife and she put an end to his ranting. :D
Post by: tyrone girl on July 27, 2016, 10:56:49 AM
Here from around 2001/2002 must have changed my name at some point as took a year or two off i think. I remember AZ Offaly (not sure if you remember this) getting me questionnaires for my dissertation and that was around 2003.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 27, 2016, 01:15:12 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on July 27, 2016, 10:56:49 AM
Here from around 2001/2002 must have changed my name at some point as took a year or two off i think. I remember AZ Offaly (not sure if you remember this) getting me questionnaires for my dissertation and that was around 2003.

Should change the name again, to Tyrone woman, considering you did your dissertation back in 2003!  ;)

Went over old threads on the older board... any links to the board before the last one as it only goes back to 2005 I think
Post by: ziggysego on July 27, 2016, 01:37:37 PM
Maybe some of the old old timers of the board can confirm this, but was the original address www.gaa.ie to access the gaaboard?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 27, 2016, 07:40:48 PM
Was around the summer of 2003 that I can on board. Remember the TF hotel thread. Had been reading it for a while. I used to laugh at the Armagh lads as I was pretty open about who I was and some of the comments made their way into our dressing room as I was still playing. Former great Uladh and a few of the Dromintee posters were used as motivation the odd time!!
Post by: dec on July 27, 2016, 07:45:28 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 27, 2016, 01:37:37 PM
Maybe some of the old old timers of the board can confirm this, but was the original address www.gaa.ie to access the gaaboard?

Yep.

Guestbook

Front page from 1996
https://web.archive.org/web/19961226192402/http://www.gaa.ie/

Looks like the switchover happened in 1999
https://web.archive.org/web/19990421194615/http://www.gaa.ie/
Post by: T Fearon on July 27, 2016, 09:14:02 PM
The Board died in late 98 or early 99 but was revived by Vicki in the spring of 1999.
Post by: muppet on July 28, 2016, 09:38:21 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 27, 2016, 01:37:37 PM

Some say you got millions for that Ziggy!
Post by: dec on July 28, 2016, 09:45:43 PM
For a while they tried to migrate it to usenet alt.sports.gaelic-games but that never was popular
Post by: Orior on August 24, 2016, 09:02:25 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 24, 2016, 02:06:33 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 26, 2016, 12:14:47 AM
Correct. Took the Fionntamhnach handle when the board transferred into its current incarnation.
Only a very occasional poster these days but still read it more regularly than that.
Been here since August 2000 as a lone (at the time) Tyrone poster - almost immediately formed an alliance with 5Sams to stand up to the hoards of buckfast gulpers that plagued it at the time.

I still wonder why 5Sams has no ambition.
Post by: T Fearon on August 24, 2016, 06:03:38 PM
Bummer had the privilege of being a Clones steward when the Armagh odyssey began in Ulster in 2002.So enraged was he by Armagh's defeat of Tyrone in the first round that year,he even posted an exhortation on the NITB website appealing to all Fermanagh citizens to travel to Clones for the semi final in 02 to try and stop the Armagh juggernaut,all sadly to no avail as we "walked Fermanagh into the ground!"😂😂😂
Post by: 5 Sams on August 24, 2016, 08:38:13 PM
Correct. Took the Fionntamhnach handle when the board transferred into its current incarnation.
Only a very occasional poster these days but still read it more regularly than that.
Been here since August 2000 as a lone (at the time) Tyrone poster - almost immediately formed an alliance with 5Sams to stand up to the hoards of buckfast gulpers that plagued it at the time.

Mind it well Bummer. The hoors were easy wound up...still are ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 24, 2016, 09:04:37 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 26, 2016, 03:33:59 PM
Okay, I joined in 2006 but i do remember browsing the board before then and I didn't like the layout.
I always thought you were around before that, and it used change before you got to 500 posts? Or was that someone else?
Post by: omaghjoe on August 25, 2016, 06:02:29 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 24, 2016, 08:38:13 PM

Mind it well Bummer. The hoors were easy wound up...still are ;)

This board does seem to have alot of Armagh city dwellers on it, is that where it started?

BTW I was always a bit confused by city people... are they pingpongers, applemunchers or buckfast slurppers??