After taking one Ulster scalp time to move up and take another.
100% record in Clones in the championship against Monaghan. Great win back in 2004 (ish) when it went to extra time.
Longford hammered Meath in a challenge game the other evening so that bodes well.
See ye Farney boys in Clones next Saturday.
More chance of Longford Town winning the Champions League!
Some craic if Longford won ;D
Quote from: T Fearon on July 03, 2016, 12:34:12 PM
So Longford Town are 5/1 chance of winning the Champions league?
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 03, 2016, 10:45:08 AM
100% record in Clones in the championship against Monaghan. Great win back in 2004 (ish) when it went to extra time.
Longford hammered Meath in a challenge game the other evening so that bodes well.
Big Sheridan gave us a rough time that day.
Perhaps Tony - but at least we still are in it!
True Schtike. Big Niall troubled many a defence back in the day. Nothing like him has been seen in Inter County football since!
Quote from: Rossfan on July 03, 2016, 12:37:11 PM
Some craic if Longford won ;D
Wouldn't rule Longford out with their good qualifier record but I suppose it all depends if Monaghan have fully recovered from last nights narrow defeat.
Good opening salvo from Shamrock Shore. Like Longford's attitude. Looking forward to Saturday's game.
I think this will be closer than people think...
Just as a reminder here is the bauld Niall doing a bit of Dub worrying:
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF143/147124.jpg)
All we can do is give a good account of ourselves. The bookies will righly have Monaghan as red hot favourites but stranger things have happened.
Lovely to see a Longford thread in July
Quote from: seafoid on July 04, 2016, 06:09:43 PM
Lovely to see a Longford thread in July
Oh to see one in August ;D
Looked online for tickets. Only unreserved seating available at 20 Euro per ticket. Is the hill not opened?
Quote from: timmyot501 on July 05, 2016, 02:30:02 PM
Looked online for tickets. Only unreserved seating available at 20 Euro per ticket. Is the hill not opened?
I would be extremely surprised if the hill (or any area) wasn't.. Perhaps the it's pay at the gate only.
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on July 06, 2016, 11:24:36 AM
Quote from: timmyot501 on July 05, 2016, 02:30:02 PM
I would be extremely surprised if the hill (or any area) wasn't.. Perhaps the it's pay at the gate only.
What would the expected attendance be? 5/6k max? The terracing wasn't open for any of Monaghans league games as far as I recall so wouldn't surprise me if it was seated areas only. Hope not though...
Longford have some record in the qualifiers they beat Down in 2002 in a shock ...hammered Monaghan in 2004 in a shock got to round 4 in 2006 beating Derry and offaly on the way...Before giving kerry a game in fitzgerald stadium
Kerry only beat them with a last min goal in round 3 in 2009
Beat Mayo in 2010 ...
Hammered Cavan in 2011 in breffini before loosing narrowly to Tyrone
Hammered Derry in 2012
Beat Derry again in 2014
Beat Clare away in 2015
for a county that nearly looses its first game in Leinster every year they have some impressive results....
I predict an upset.....
Quote from: Unlaoised on July 06, 2016, 04:44:08 PM
Longford have some record in the qualifiers they beat Down in 2002 in a shock ...hammered Monaghan in 2004 in a shock got to round 4 in 2006 beating Derry and offaly on the way...Before giving kerry a game in fitzgerald stadium
Beat Mayo in 2010 ...
Hammered Derry in 2012
Beat Derry again in 2014
Beat Clare away in 2015
for a county that nearly looses its first game in Leinster every year they have some impressive results....
I predict an upset.....
Hmmm.. most Monaghan folk will tell you that Monaghan have started slowly in both league and championship games so far this year. If they do that again they could be in trouble, as trying to recover a 4/5 point margin is not easy..
If however, they show the form the are capable of, Longford will do well to stick with them..
I predict a Monaghan win.....
On paper Monaghan should win by 5 - 10 points. They are a decent side and merit being in division 1.(though are just about top 8) Down have their inner struggles and they would probably tell you themselves they didn't deserve to be. Down on this years form are a division 3 side hence why Longford beat them.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 03, 2016, 10:45:08 AM
Ye didn't scalp us. Ye were merely the gust that removed our wig.
Monaghan by 6 to 9 points
They are a professional bunch who 6 day turns around won't effect in the slightest.
Monaghan should win this handily if they're up for it.
If ever Longford GAA need a spindocter I think even I couldn't surpass what Unlaoised did there.
Some liberal usage of the terms "hammered" and "losing narrowly"
Well done for not mentioning dark times in the AIQs like being savaged last year by an awful Kildare side (look what Kerry did to them) and Tipp the previous year when our cunning 1-14-0 formation kinda backfired.
It's usually feast or famine for Longford. And none of us are too fat on the feasting.
TBH if we beat Monaghan it will be an astonishing win.
With respect to Longford, I'd be extremely disappointed if we didn't win this one. Quick turnaround, but I don't think the heads will be down as much as they would have been at this stage a few years.
Most of of those players have a couple of Ulster medals, and while the goal was of course to retain it, another focus was to be playing football into August again and start winning in Croke Park. Despite the tough side of the draw we still have that opportunity, and we should get back to winning ways here.
With the quick turnaround this game is a chance to make a couple of changes and freshen the team up a bit. I'd give starts to Boyle, McCarthy and McCarron. And if he's fit again I'd like to see McGinn at some point, but I've a notion he's still out.
Mcginn named on the bench. Think its danial mckenna who misses out on the 26.
Quote from: timmyot501 on July 09, 2016, 08:32:54 AM
Mcginn named on the bench. Think its danial mckenna who misses out on the 26.
Through injury, according to HS: http://www.hoganstand.com/monaghan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=257831 (http://www.hoganstand.com/monaghan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=257831)
They have the players, both on the pitch and on the bench. It's an improvement in form we need in my opinion. I can't see Longford coming at them like Donegal did so I'd be confident our defence will hold strong. Donegal worryingly opened them up a few times (in both games) and it is this area I would like to see most improved if we have any ambitions of going anywhere. We could sell scoring forwards on eBay, they just need the ball..
It's that simple.. :o
Good to hear McGinn is in the squad, hopefully he'll see 15-20 minutes anyway.
Irish Times describes today's game as "shooting practice" for Monaghan.
Dems fighting words >:(
There's only one answer for that.
Anyone have a spare copy of the programme from the 2004 in Clones available let me know!
Perhaps playing the game on a cold wet windy evening in hostile Longford might not have suited our pampered lads, but Clones as a venue will keep things civilized.
Longford isn't that hostile.
I've driven through it at speed plenty of times.
Jazes lad!
Quote from: Main Street on July 09, 2016, 01:01:58 PM
Perhaps playing the game on a cold wet windy evening in hostile Longford might not have suited our pampered lads, but Clones as a venue will keep things civilized.
It's not Iraq ye'd be playing in if the balls came out differently.
Several changes to the named team.
Boyle, McAdam, Malone, Kerr, McCarron in.
R Wylie, K Hughes, Duffy x 2, Carey out.
Longford 1-03
Monaghan 0-02
Ref riding us FFS >:(
Longford 1-04
Monaghan 0-02
C'mon Longford, do it for the province.
On telly?
Big wind advantage for Longford in this 1st half I presume?
Monaghan three ahead with the wind at their backs second half.
Wind is all over the shop!
Ref is an out-and-out hoor. Brannigan from Down.
Down.
Go figure
Half time, Monaghan 1-9 Longford 1-6.
Harsh on Longford who have been the better team so far. Longford had us rattled early on, but when we hit the purple patch we made it count. McCarthy and McCarron making a good impact up front. We still need to up the performance though because Longford have the wind second half.
1-10 apiece now
Longford two in front a shock on the cards?
I know longford beat momaghan before but this would be a major shock. It would be a massive result for longford.
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 09, 2016, 07:49:46 PM
I know longford beat momaghan before but this would be a major shock. It would be a massive result for longford.
It's in the blood in Longford. They've done this multiple times even in the last five or six years.
Holy feck, goal for Longford!!! They're up by 4!!
Yeah but monaghan are strong now. This would be miles above any of their other wins. Anyway not sure they'll hold on.
What's left?
Bout 6 mins left. McManus misses easy free, sounds like Longford have it!
I said on page one of this thread not to write Longford off with their qualifier record.
This is a dreadful result for Monaghan. Their record outside of Ulster under O'Rourke is really poor.
That sounded like a thoroughly deserved win on all levels for Longford, well done.
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 09, 2016, 08:01:53 PM
This is a dreadful result for Monaghan. Their record outside of Ulster under O'Rourke is really poor.
unreal
How good are Donegal, who laboured to beat Monaghan at the second attempt? ;)
Serious result for longford. That is a far better result than any previous ones.
Teams really are vulnerable with the 6/7 day turn around. Well done Longforrd in taking their chance.
I'm crying on the pitch
That is a horrendous result for Monaghan, will set them back massively. Can O'Rourke stay after that? 14 wides in total.
Nudie Hughes just described this as the greatest shock of the century. Call the passion there, Nudie.
Tony jinxed Monaghan. Well done to Longford probably their best ever qualifier win.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2016, 08:09:13 PM
I'm crying on the pitch
Brilliant result Longford, well done!
I'm crying on the pitch
Fair play to you, great result. Now go and drown your Shamrock up in one of those mighty pubs in the town!
Savage result, well done Longford
Yes indeed.I didn't give Longford a chance against Monaghan but fair play to them,if only other teams could throw off the shackles and show more self belief against so called superior opposition.
Longford are like a speedboat full of somali pirates cruising around the qualifiers ocean looking for super-tankers to hijack.
Great stuff from Longford. Hard on Monaghan with the short turnaround.
Aiden O'Shea will be happy with this result.
They have been described on Twitter as the Iceland of this year's Football Championship!
Why has Mone been on the bench in the Championship all year?
He's surely still one of their best players.
I'm crying on the pitch
Raging not to be there with you SS, over th emon with result...HON LONGFORD!!!! ;D ;D
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 09, 2016, 08:07:45 PM
I'm afraid we've been exposed. :-[
Ulster final is Tyrone's to lose. ;D
Fair fucks to Longford. Outstanding win! 8)
So much for Ulster being the toughest province.
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on July 09, 2016, 08:24:00 PM
The evenly matched nature of the Ulster semi which led to a draw explains a lot about today's result.
Big surprise, not sure why Monaghan changed their team before kick off, Longford a bad habit of catching Ulster Teams, Derry and Down previous, Massive turn around from the 28pt mauling from the Dubs last year, For Monaghan to be beat at home with the team they have bound to be unacceptable to them!!
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on July 09, 2016, 08:24:00 PM
So Dublin, the unanimously acknowledged best team in Ireland, could never get caught out on the day?
Longford looking to join Ulster :-*
Cavan didn't exactly set world alight either.
Some win although if I did think if there was one shock this weekend it would be here. The 6/7 day turnaround is under estimated and its even worse when you consider Monaghan have played the previous 2 weekends and the camp were probably on a low ebb after defeat last Saturday.
Longford have now beaten two Div 1 sides in this years championship, its some going.
Worth remembering that Offaly (who went out today) beat Longford by 9 points in Longford's first game of the championship. :o
6 day turnaround a factor for sure - Dublin and Cavan are the only 2 teams to overcome it in the qualifiers.
Monaghan should have had enough mental resolve at this stage to overcome Longford after a six day turnaround.Ulster football is dire currently.Donegal running on empty and Tyrone very overated.
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 09, 2016, 08:49:42 PM
Some win although if I did think if there was one shock this weekend it would be here. The 6/7 day turnaround is under estimated and its even worse when you consider Monaghan have played the previous 2 weekends and the camp were probably on a low ebb after defeat last Saturday.
Longford have now beaten two Div 1 sides in this years championship, its some going.
Not to take from Longfords victory - The week turnaround is a joke. If you are really stuck for time to play games, do away with replays! But the coffers have to be filled!
Well done Longford!
The championship could be started alot earlier to give proper time for the qualfiers
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 09, 2016, 09:19:52 PM
The championship could be started alot earlier to give proper time for the qualfiers
Ah, you're back to the age old argument of teams being out of the championship in May/Early June!
Congratulations to Longford, who previously displayed at Newry against an admittedly struggling Down that they are a capable and well organised side. Monaghan obviously had seven days to recover from their championship defeat and could not manage it. Cavan only had six days, although they would have been expected to beat Carlow at home anyway. Dublin won a qualifier in 2001 seven days after losing a Leinster decider. The only county to have achieved a qualifier success six days after losing a provincial final seems to have been Down against Tipperary in 2012.
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 09, 2016, 09:13:51 PM
Not to take from Longfords victory - The week turnaround is a joke. If you are really stuck for time to play games, do away with replays! But the coffers have to be filled!
Well done Longford!
Playing two weekends in a row isn't a big deal. Particularly when what you've lost isn't even a final. Too many teams are incredibly mentally soft and easily discouraged. Longford have shown up many of their 'betters' in that regards over the years.
Well done Longford!
Tbf, doing away with extra time was proposed and defeated at congress so counties / clubs only have themselves to blame
Monaghan should have been well aware of Longford's reputation.There seems to be a mental weakness in the team or maybe Banty is right when he says without Mc Manus they'd be a Division 3 team.
Longford are single handedly uniting Ireland. They see Ulster teams as beatable and unfrightening as any of the other soft 23 in the buttermilk provinces. No fear and fair play. The Larries are back...
Delighted for Billys and Shamrock. Ye must be over the moon
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2016, 09:37:21 PM
Well done Longford!
Playing two weekends in a row isn't a big deal. Particularly when what you've lost isn't even a final. Too many teams are incredibly mentally soft and easily discouraged. Longford have shown up many of their 'betters' in that regards over the years.
Snowflake Generation?
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 09, 2016, 08:56:45 PM
Worth remembering that Offaly (who went out today) beat Longford by 9 points in Longford's first game of the championship. :o
6 day turnaround a factor for sure - Dublin and Cavan are the only 2 teams to overcome it in the qualifiers.
Down did it in 2012. Dublin's was a seven day turnaround.
Fair play to the Larries, that is just a savage result.
Kildare the qualifier Kings have done it as well.
Quote from: OgraAnDun on July 09, 2016, 10:41:55 PM
Down did it in 2012. Dublin's was a seven day turnaround.
Donegal did it in 2013 against Laois.
Can't remember what the story with the Galway game was last year.
Quote from: Jinxy on July 09, 2016, 08:13:35 PM
Longford are like a speedboat full of somali pirates cruising around the qualifiers ocean looking for super-tankers to hijack.
Now that's brilliant Jinxy. Thanks for all the other good wishes from all of ye.
Not long home. Bonfires burning in Blackrock. Now that's either for our marvellous victory or else 12th July is happening early in So Co Du.
What an occasion. A good start is always welcome and we got that. And then we just kept going. Lost shape at the end of the 1st half which could have been fatal but came out in the second haf with two quick points. Diarmuid 'The Bull' Masterson is some player. And he has cut out his usual 'yellow card in first half' habit which is great.
Monaghan looked shell shocked. Some of their wides in the second half were unforgivable. Did the Monaghan management under estimate Longford? They had to have had with the changes at the beginning.
But hey ho and awayyyyyyyyyyy we go.
Looking forward now to Longford Town winning the Champions League - eh Tony!
And I will stand over my earlier comment about the ref in the first half. He was fairer in the second though.
Kildare did it last year.
Jer the rigger is at 8.38.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l-KewvkR3SM
how good are Throne who couldn't beat Cavan oat the first attempt ? Is Ulster football a Wonderbra? :o
Fair play to longford. Some super scores today and fully deserved their win. I suppose today ended up a case of less wides win games. Longford miss very little all day from all distances and all angles. Monaghan missed scorable frees and even some simple enough attempts from play.
I think most of the changes by monaghan were justifiable enough. Most of those who came in against donegal did enough to get a start and most those dropped played poorly the week before. Too many players though ran out of steam after the break and too many others just ran into trouble.
Good luck to longford in the draw tomorrow and next weekend
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2016, 07:15:09 AM
how good are Throne who couldn't beat Cavan oat the first attempt ? Is Ulster football a Wonderbra? :o
Hard to know about Tyrone they look good going fwd but defence is a worry for them. Prob opposite of last year when they were poor upfront.
Take nothing away from longford I'm sure they thoroughly deserved the win yesterday. I saw them in Newry against Down and they are very good in front of the posts with a few quality players obviously Brian kavanagh and quintessential the obvious ones. They missed very little that day so good luck to them.
Monaghan though serious questions need to be asked. I don't accept the playing 3 weeks in a row excuse unless they are being over trained in that time. They will be very disappointed.
Ulster is what it is, tough to win but I don't think there are any all ireland winners in it although Tyrone could make the final if they win ulster as draw Prob suits them.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2016, 11:46:39 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 09, 2016, 08:13:35 PM
Now that's brilliant Jinxy. Thanks for all the other good wishes from all of ye.
Not long home. Bonfires burning in Blackrock. Now that's either for our marvellous victory or else 12th July is happening early in So Co Du.
What an occasion. A good start is always welcome and we got that. And then we just kept going. Lost shape at the end of the 1st half which could have been fatal but came out in the second haf with two quick points. Diarmuid 'The Bull' Masterson is some player. And he has cut out his usual 'yellow card in first half' habit which is great.
Monaghan looked shell shocked. Some of their wides in the second half were unforgivable. Did the Monaghan management under estimate Longford? They had to have had with the changes at the beginning.
But hey ho and awayyyyyyyyyyy we go.
Looking forward now to Longford Town winning the Champions League - eh Tony!
And I will stand over my earlier comment about the ref in the first half. He was fairer in the second though.
The simple answer is probably that Longford were much the better team on the day and won with space to spare. When one team goes up the field and scores, hit some wonder points and score goals, they will usually beat a team who are wasteful. I doubt that had much to do over confidence. The changes to the starting team were 'organic' and there were plenty of experienced heads on the Monaghan side who should have managed the 2nd half response a lot better.
There was a bit of unintended humour in the half time chat on the Shannonside/Northern Sound joint coverage, when the Shannonside co-commentator said that 'Longford were like a fox caught in the headlights'.
God, Longford kicked some monster points.
Monaghan looked completely flat from those highlights. Drained. Monaghan are best when they are contrary and confrontational and play with high intensity. They seemed to have the fight bet out of them by the Donegal loss. Monaghan not the first team to get caught out like that. The difference between top teams and others shrinks if the higher ranked team goes out feeling a bit sorry for themselves. Longford have put teams out of their misery before. They love their football in Longford fair play to them.
Quote from: seafoid on July 09, 2016, 10:16:55 PM
Delighted for Billys and Shamrock. Ye must be over the moon
Yerra, it's only Monaghan ffs.
Quote from: Unlaoised on July 06, 2016, 04:44:08 PM
Beat Mayo in 2010 ...
Hammered Derry in 2012
Beat Derry again in 2014
Beat Clare away in 2015
I predict an upset.....
maybe people should have listened I made a nice few quid