GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 10:11:18 AM

Title: Oisin Mc Conville
Post by: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 10:11:18 AM
On player opt outs,in his newspaper column to day. Read this word for word extract carefully and absorb.

"While players will proffer various reasons-or perhaps none- for their departure,there is generally one reservation that is left unspoken.And this is that they feel their county has little or no chance of success"

In other words life choices etc, my arse. I rest my case.
Title: Re: Oisin Mc Conville
Post by: thebar on June 05, 2016, 10:19:13 AM
Childish immature pointless post... move on.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 05, 2016, 11:13:07 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 10:11:18 AM
On player opt outs,in his newspaper column to day. Read this word for word extract carefully and absorb.

"While players will proffer various reasons-or perhaps none- for their departure,there is generally one reservation that is left unspoken.And this is that they feel their county has little or no chance of success"

It gives me a nice glow inside to be reminded on a consistent basis on these pages  that Armagh has fans like you Tony. Keep battering your own people fella, I'm sure Armagh GAA will be all the better for your efforts.
Post by: Esmarelda on June 05, 2016, 11:41:12 AM

Lionel Hutz eat your heart out.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 05, 2016, 11:59:52 AM

So why have players opted out of the Dublin panel this year? I guess they must just quit now as Dublin obviously have no chance of winning this year.
Post by: LilySavage on June 05, 2016, 12:54:07 PM
Deep down, Rory and Jack must realise the Dubs are finished. There is no other possible explanation for their departures.
Post by: armaghniac on June 05, 2016, 01:02:03 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 05, 2016, 11:59:52 AM

So why have players opted out of the Dublin panel this year? I guess they must just quit now as Dublin obviously have no chance of winning this year.

I would suggest that the value of a second or third medal may be less than the first one. especially if you think you can come back and still get a medal or two in subsequent years.
Post by: heffo on June 05, 2016, 02:20:16 PM

How do you reconcile that argument with Rory O'Carroll & Jack McCaffrey travelling this summer?
Post by: J70 on June 05, 2016, 02:25:40 PM
Is Jamie Clarke getting paid by the Armagh GAA supporters?

If not, then why the sense of entitlement on your behalf Tony? He doesn't owe you or anyone else a god damned thing.

Even if the reason he opts out is because Armagh are currently shite, so what? If he finds the grind of intercounty training and subsequent defeats and suffocating defences, which afford him little opportunity to showcase his talent,dispiriting, that's his business. Life is too short to waste doing stuff that just gets you down.

Fair f**ks to him for being his own man and doing what works for him. f**k the begrudgers.
Post by: heffo on June 05, 2016, 02:30:42 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 05, 2016, 02:25:40 PM
Is Jamie Clarke getting paid by the Armagh GAA supporters?

If not, then why the sense of entitlement on your behalf Tony? He doesn't owe you or anyone else a god damned thing.

Even if the reason he opts out is because Armagh are currently shite, so what? If he finds the grind of intercounty training and subsequent defeats and suffocating defences, which afford him little opportunity to showcase his talent,dispiriting, that's his business. Life is too short to waste doing stuff that just gets you down.

Fair f**ks to him for being his own man and doing what works for him. f**k the begrudgers.

Cmon. Tony has bought a season ticket and wants an explanation. The statement last week just didn't cut it for him.
Post by: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 03:04:35 PM
Excuse me.I didn't mention any names.Merely reproduced what an Armagh legend said in his weekly column about players who opt out.After all,he should know.
Post by: muppet on June 05, 2016, 03:32:41 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 03:04:35 PM
Excuse me.I didn't mention any names.Merely reproduced what an Armagh legend said in his weekly column about players who opt out.After all,he should know.

Clarke opted out of his club season as well. Presumably he thinks Cross haven't a hope in Armagh, Ulster or AI.

Any chance of a link to McConville's article? You'll have to forgive me if I suspect you might be twisting things ever so slightly to suit your own eminent argument.
Post by: Beffs on June 05, 2016, 03:36:18 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 03:04:35 PM

Legend or not. He knows sweet fcuk all about what goes on inside peoples heads, unless he is talking about his own.
Post by: BennyCake on June 05, 2016, 04:10:49 PM
Two Dublin players have went abroad and they're AI champions.
Post by: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 06:41:00 PM
So a guy who has won All Ireland medals at County and Club level,and also All Star Awards,doesn't know what he's talking about?
Post by: BennyHarp on June 05, 2016, 06:44:34 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 06:41:00 PM
So a guy who has won All Ireland medals at County and Club level,and also All Star Awards,doesn't know what he's talking about?

Those medals don't qualify him to know what's going on in a mans head though and it also doesn't qualify him to know what's going on in every young footballers private life!
Post by: imtommygunn on June 05, 2016, 06:44:45 PM
Did you not read jamie's personal statement to you ;D

Being successful playing football and knowing what you're talking about do not always go hand in hand.

Plus he is second guessing what someone thinks. I guess as someone has shared your opinion it must be fact though...
Post by: muppet on June 05, 2016, 06:54:58 PM

Jamie Clarke reported accurately to his superior.

Where's the problem?
Post by: BennyCake on June 05, 2016, 06:59:05 PM
Third thread on Jamie Clarke. This is getting ridiculous. The same old shite. Can we lock this one too, and move on.
Post by: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 07:06:34 PM
I have not mentioned anyone's name,but I would presume a former high profile successful county player would know how county players think and why some opt out
Post by: BennyHarp on June 05, 2016, 07:20:18 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 07:06:34 PM
I have not mentioned anyone's name,but I would presume a former high profile successful county player would know how county players think and why some opt out

Yes because they are all the same and they all think in exactly the same way. 🙄
Post by: muppet on June 05, 2016, 07:34:51 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 07:06:34 PM

He reported accurately to his superior. This must thrill you no end.
Post by: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 08:50:26 PM
You would concede that an All Ireland winner and a man who played inter county for over a decade would have a tad greater insight into the thinking of county players than any of us,would you not?
Post by: ned on June 05, 2016, 09:12:03 PM
On The Championship programme today McConville basically said that they had to make exception for Clarke as far as Cross were concerned as they needed him. Seemed to suggest county management should not be so rigid in their treatment of players taking it on a case by case basis.
I think too many people are making comment without having read the full article. One isolated line was quoted and did not seem to be specific to one player.
Post by: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 09:20:24 PM
The quote is pretty clear and cannot be taken out of context.It infers that no player,who has a regular place,will opt out if he feels there is a realistic prospect of success.
Post by: Syferus on June 05, 2016, 09:35:56 PM
Amazing the mod hasn't locked this thread already.
Post by: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 09:48:26 PM
Why? What is wrong with the insight of a top player into why players opt out?
Post by: muppet on June 05, 2016, 10:44:54 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 09:20:24 PM
The quote is pretty clear and cannot be taken out of context.It infers that no player,who has a regular place,will opt out if he feels there is a realistic prospect of success.

Post up the article and stop spoofing.

What you said would look very, very foolish in the face of Rory O'Carroll and Jack McCaffrey's respective breaks. Not to mention Tom Cunniffe.
Post by: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 10:51:33 PM
Only saying what Oisin said.
Post by: muppet on June 05, 2016, 11:12:25 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 05, 2016, 10:51:33 PM
Only saying what Oisin said.

You aren't saying what he said at all. It hasn't appeared anywhere on the thread.

By your own words you representing what 'It infers'. Of course we have no idea what it infers as you won't post it up.

Post by: J70 on June 05, 2016, 11:44:59 PM

If he's talking about winning medals, he obviously knows plenty.

When he's talking about why a specific player would opt out and (at least according to you) claiming that there is a one-size-fits-all thought process into whether or not to make a commitment, he is full of shit.
Post by: ned on June 05, 2016, 11:52:01 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 05, 2016, 11:44:59 PM

If he's talking about winning medals, he obviously knows plenty.

When he's talking about why a specific player would opt out and (at least according to you) claiming that there is a one-size-fits-all thought process into whether or not to make a commitment, he is full of shit.

You know the saying 'Don't shoot the messenger', well in this instance I think it is very much a case of shoot the effin messenger.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 05, 2016, 11:56:22 PM
The article implies. The reader infers. #pethate
Post by: muppet on June 06, 2016, 12:00:22 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 05, 2016, 11:56:22 PM
The article implies. The reader infers. #pethate

What if the article implies, the reader infers & then posts his own understanding of the article, is the reader now implying or inferring?

#ilovethiscrap
Post by: SkillfulBill on June 06, 2016, 12:12:06 AM
I have been on and off this board for years now and the one thing that I find amazing is how the mods on this board allow this guy the oxygen to spout his considerable bile towards individuals associated within the GAA. This guy claims to be a supporter of Armagh and lapped it up when things were going well. To allow this guy the oxygen to attack a young man who for what every the reason has decided to no longer ply his considerable skill within the association is reprehensible of the mods.. Jamie no longer wishes to play football and is within his rights to make that decision for himself without being attacked in the public domain by a p***k like this. The mods closed the last thread by this lunatic stalker and this thread also needs closed. I would suggest that the indivudual also needs to be closed down from this board. Mods show some backbone and spare us from this tube.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on June 06, 2016, 08:01:49 AM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 06, 2016, 12:12:06 AM
I have been on and off this board for years now and the one thing that I find amazing is how the mods on this board allow this guy the oxygen to spout his considerable bile towards individuals associated within the GAA. This guy claims to be a supporter of Armagh and lapped it up when things were going well. To allow this guy the oxygen to attack a young man who for what every the reason has decided to no longer ply his considerable skill within the association is reprehensible of the mods.. Jamie no longer wishes to play football and is within his rights to make that decision for himself without being attacked in the public domain by a p***k like this. The mods closed the last thread by this lunatic stalker and this thread also needs closed. I would suggest that the indivudual also needs to be closed down from this board. Mods show some backbone and spare us from this tube.

In six and a half lines, you have called the OP a 'tube', a 'p***k' and a 'lunatic stalker'. Just to clarify, is it only Tony's posts that you want moderated?
Post by: SkillfulBill on June 06, 2016, 08:37:19 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 06, 2016, 08:01:49 AM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 06, 2016, 12:12:06 AM

In six and a half lines, you have called the OP a 'tube', a 'p***k' and a 'lunatic stalker'. Just to clarify, is it only Tony's posts that you want moderated?

What ever u think yourself mate smaks of defending the indefensible
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on June 06, 2016, 09:04:47 AM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 06, 2016, 08:37:19 AM

Aye, I'd a notion that was going to end up being the sum of the debate.
Post by: SkillfulBill on June 06, 2016, 09:13:23 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 06, 2016, 09:04:47 AM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 06, 2016, 08:37:19 AM

Aye, I'd a notion that was going to end up being the sum of the debate.

No debate to be had. Close it down.