Could anyone confirm where the South and East Terraces are in MacCumhaill Park? I'm looking for tickets in the terrace opposite the main stand and I'm not sure what its called.
The east terrace is the one opposite the stand. South is the one behind the goals at the town end.
Thanks for the clarification.
On paper you'd think Donegal should be winning this game pretty easily, however Fermanagh have a good record against Donegal and will go into the game as underdogs, just the tag Fermanagh enjoy.
I think Fermanagh might have a slight edge at midfield with Eoin Donnelly probably being the best midfielder in Ulster at the moment. I worry if Fermanagh will get enough scores. Quigley will probably roam out the field leaving Tomas Corrigan inside but he'll be a well marked man.
Should be a pretty close game all considered. Fermanagh were competitive in the league and are now well used to playing stronger teams so they'll fancy their chances of causing an upset.
Donegal are a bit of an unknown quantity at the moment. They've been poor and lost their last five games, albeit two of them being Dublin, and the others Kerry, Riscommon and Monaghan. With the exception of the Ros game, those would all have been games Donegal would have been expected to lose and there wouldn't have been too many eyebrows raised had the same league results (3 wins, 5 losses) been achieved in a different sequence. However, they did squander a seven point lead against Monaghan and got involved in a spiteful, petty series of incidents against Kerry.
We still have some top drawer players such as Murphy, Neil McGee, Ryan McHugh and very decent supporting players such as McBrearty, MacNiallais, McLoone, McGlynn, McGrath, Mark McHugh etc. However, the rest are a bunch of lads edging over the hill (Lacey, Eamonn McGee, Kavanagh, Toye Colm McFadden etc.) and unproven (Eoin McHugh, O'Connor, Hugh McFadden, Eamon Doherty) or average players at this level ( McElhinney etc)
Midfield is a huge concern. The loss of Durcan is massive. We struggled massively on kick outs in the league and he was arguably the best around along with Cluxton. That Rory Kavanagh was brought out of retirement to slot straight into midfield tells a lot. Neil Gallagher has hardly kicked a ball for Donegal this year and may not be fit at all for this game ( Murohy got injured recently too, but there's been little word, so presumably he will be fit).
This reminds me of 2000: upcoming Fernanagh team traveling up to play aging Donegal side, albeit your superstar forward is now on the Donegal line. But Quigley looks well capable of rattling off a large score like Rory used to, although it's obviously a little more difficult these days with blanket defenses. But I'm very nervous about this one - have absolutely no idea what to expect, except that Fermanagh will be coming with a spring in their step. What I don't want to see is the same old older players dominating the line-out. We've had a few decent underage teams recently - time to introduce a few of them to championship football. If that means via the qualifiers, so be it.
Our superstar forward who is now on the line ?
Sure that fellas a cavan man ....... ;)
I hope that this game is a tight game, as the championship needs it. All the other games that were televised so far have been damp squibs. It should be, because Fermanagh have a game under their belts already, however Donegal will be favourites for being in Division 1 earlier in the year.
Quote from: J70 on May 31, 2016, 04:54:51 PM
Donegal are a bit of an unknown quantity at the moment. They've been poor and lost their last five games, albeit two of them being Dublin, and the others Kerry, Riscommon and Monaghan. With the exception of the Ros game, those would all have been games Donegal would have been expected to lose and there wouldn't have been too many eyebrows raised had the same league results (3 wins, 5 losses) been achieved in a different sequence. However, they did squander a seven point lead against Monaghan and got involved in a spiteful, petty series of incidents against Kerry.
We still have some top drawer players such as Murphy, Neil McGee, Ryan McHugh and very decent supporting players such as McBrearty, MacNiallais, McLoone, McGlynn, McGrath, Mark McHugh etc. However, the rest are a bunch of lads edging over the hill (Lacey, Eamonn McGee, Kavanagh, Toye Colm McFadden etc.) and unproven (Eoin McHugh, O'Connor, Hugh McFadden, Eamon Doherty) or average players at this level ( McElhinney etc)
Midfield is a huge concern. The loss of Durcan is massive. We struggled massively on kick outs in the league and he was arguably the best around along with Cluxton. That Rory Kavanagh was brought out of retirement to slot straight into midfield tells a lot. Neil Gallagher has hardly kicked a ball for Donegal this year and may not be fit at all for this game ( Murohy got injured recently too, but there's been little word, so presumably he will be fit).
This reminds me of 2000: upcoming Fernanagh team traveling up to play aging Donegal side, albeit your superstar forward is now on the Donegal line. But Quigley looks well capable of rattling off a large score like Rory used to, although it's obviously a little more difficult these days with blanket defenses. But I'm very nervous about this one - have absolutely no idea what to expect, except that Fermanagh will be coming with a spring in their step. What I don't want to see is the same old older players dominating the line-out. We've had a few decent underage teams recently - time to introduce a few of them to championship football. If that means via the qualifiers, so be it.
It's a sad day when a Donegal buck is saying they're expected to be losing to Monaghan.
Donegal as good a chance as any of the four contenders in Ulster. Difference is Donegal the only ones who won't have the luxury of a turkey shoot before the semi-finals.
Quote from: Syferus on June 05, 2016, 11:02:24 PM
It's a sad day when a Donegal buck is saying they're expected to be losing to Monaghan.
Donegal as good a chance as any of the four contenders in Ulster. Difference is Donegal the only ones who won't have the luxury of a turkey shoot before the semi-finals.
Sad perhaps, but utterly based in reality. We've a horrible record against Monaghan. Not saying they are (or more correctly, have been) a better team - our overall records over the past five years prove we have been the better team in recent times. However, they're a very awkward match-up for Donegal (and traditionally have been - e.g. 1995 meeting when, after we'd beaten AI champions Down in the preliminary round, Monaghan hammered us in Ballybofey before disappearing off the face of the earth again). It happens in sports. Same as when they repeatedly lose to Tyrone, even when they've probably been the superior team overall. In the championship, we've beaten Tyrone four out of four times since 2011. Tyrone have beaten Monaghan (I think) three out of four times in the same period, when Monaghan have two Ulster titles and Tyrone none. Monaghan have beaten us two out of three meetings in that time. Its all about match-ups. And our side is only getting older.
Yea, I have relations in Donegal and they said to me once that Monaghan always best us. I never paid much attention to it at the time, but as J70 points out, Monaghan are Donegal's bogey team. That happens in sport.
Quote from: Syferus on June 05, 2016, 11:02:24 PM
Unlikely to have a turkey shoot, but who knows? And whether a turkey shoot is a luxury is debatable. A good challenge is likely to be much more beneficial ahead of a semi-final.
So it's confirmed that Big Neil Gallagher is out for Sunday. I really doubt we'll see much from Neil all year. He's hardly kicked a ball in 2016 for club or county.
So to Sunday.
The best thing to come out of Belleek since the road to Fundoran gets a chance to put one over his native county.
I think we have a definite advantage around the middle but there is no way Donegal are going to kick the ball down Donnelly's throat.
Its imperative that Fermanagh get the match ups right.
I wonder with Gallagher now being out will Donegal play Murphy out around the middle?
I hope they do because a full forward line of him and McBrearty would be hard to handle.
Quigley has been excellent all year as a target man and a play maker. Quite a few teams have played sweepers against us this year and Quigley has occupied the sweeper leaving room for Corrigan inside. But then again I except Donegal to play several sweepers and run from deep.
I except Tomas Corrigan to get one of the Magee's for company which means he might not get as much change as he got against the Antrim full back line.
Defensively we have been excellent but we face a totally different challenge on Sunday. We will be defensively set up I would say and will try and hit Donegal on the counter.
We have a bench this year and it will be needed on Sunday.
Ballybofey has been a happy hunting ground for Fermanagh teams in the past
Hopefully we can provide the first big shock of the year.
Then again we might just get hammered
Lads is Gallagher under any pressure up there?
Donegal will obviously be a force in Ballybofey but I feel this will be the first Championship match of the year to be in the melting pot with 10 minutes to go. Fermanagh have a settled side with everyone knowing what their job is and guaranteed to give 100%. We have 3/4 genuinely top quality footballers who if on form will make us a match for Donegal.
It is very hard to gauge where Donegal are at based on the league performances. Very poor towards the end of the campaign which could mean their legs are going/hunger is no longer there or it could simply just mean they had achieved the goal of maintaing Division one status and turned attention to the championship.
Midfield could be an area Fermanagh have success with if we can put the squeeze on the kickouts and force them to kick long as much as possible. As FermGael mentioned, it would be a bonus if Murphy is deployed in midfield as it would take away from their scoring threat.
Hopefully the rain stays away and we have a free flowing match with plenty of scores but I feel it is more likely to be a tight and cagey affair.
If I was Fermanagh, I would push up on the Donegal kick out and makes us go long, especially with Big Neil out. We were horrible on the kick out and in midfield during the league. Doubt if that could be sorted so quickly.
I think Fermanagh will find this game a lot tougher than they imagine. Donegal might not have the youth and energy of 3 or 4 years ago but they still have a very well oiled system which if you remember last year beat Tyrone with a bit to spare. In their own back yard they are still a formidable side with some new young lads coming through from U21s. I think that they had no interest in doing well in the national league as they didn't want the extra matches against Dublin and Kerry.
I think we are seeing more and more this year that the teams who have been playing this brand of defensive football were they suck you in and then break at pace is beating teams who would normally put up a decent showing. Donegal have been at this since McGuinness's days and so they are much further down the line at it than Fermanagh are. I think Fermanagh v Cavan would be a much more close affair but Donegal will have too many scoring threats who are used to beating a defensive system.
I would imagine with the miles they have on the clock they were happy to lie in the long grass waiting for June & July to come along but should they lose they might even prefer a run in the qualifiers as a semi final v Monaghan and a final v Tyrone will be tough matches before an AI quarterfinal.
Fermanagh know this is going to be a tough game fuzzman.
No doubt about that and that's the reason we are 4/1.
I just don't think we have the baggage that Tyrone would have in playing Domegal.
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 07, 2016, 02:51:33 PM
I think Fermanagh will find this game a lot tougher than they imagine. Donegal might not have the youth and energy of 3 or 4 years ago but they still have a very well oiled system which if you remember last year beat Tyrone with a bit to spare. In their own back yard they are still a formidable side with some new young lads coming through from U21s. I think that they had no interest in doing well in the national league as they didn't want the extra matches against Dublin and Kerry.
I think we are seeing more and more this year that the teams who have been playing this brand of defensive football were they suck you in and then break at pace is beating teams who would normally put up a decent showing. Donegal have been at this since McGuinness's days and so they are much further down the line at it than Fermanagh are. I think Fermanagh v Cavan would be a much more close affair but Donegal will have too many scoring threats who are used to beating a defensive system.
I would imagine with the miles they have on the clock they were happy to lie in the long grass waiting for June & July to come along but should they lose they might even prefer a run in the qualifiers as a semi final v Monaghan and a final v Tyrone will be tough matches before an AI quarterfinal.
Hadn't realised that Tyrone had already qualified for ulster final Fuzzman
Quote from: Emmett on June 07, 2016, 12:20:48 PM
Donegal will obviously be a force in Ballybofey but I feel this will be the first Championship match of the year to be in the melting pot with 10 minutes to go.
NY vs Roscommon was tight enough right to the end!
Fermanagh won't get within 6 points of Donegal.Last year's flash in the pan is irrelvant
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 08, 2016, 11:15:41 PM
Quote from: Emmett on June 07, 2016, 12:20:48 PM
Donegal will obviously be a force in Ballybofey but I feel this will be the first Championship match of the year to be in the melting pot with 10 minutes to go.
NY vs Roscommon was tight enough right to the end!
We were 6 up with 10 to go
Anyone heard any talk Michael Murphy isn't 100%?
If he doesn't feature or is a good way off fitness, it increases Fermanagh's chances substantially imo.
No Durcan in goal and a lack of decent options midfield could mean Donegal might be in a bit of bother as regards kickouts.
Donegal's have lost the last 5 games in a row, albeit against Division 1 opposition. Fermanagh have drawn their last 2 games (against Tyrone and Galway) and were mixed enough in their other league games 2 wins over Meath and Laois and loses to Derry, Armagh and Cavan so their form isn't exactly anything to write home about.
I think Donegal will win but it will be a fair bit tighter than folk are expecting.
I think most Donegal people ARE expecting a tight game.
There have been rumours all right about Murphy, but I think Rory Gallagher said he was looking all right and it was just a minor ankle strain. But maybe he had a setback.
If there's going to be a surprise in Ulster, this game will most likely give it.
Donegal come through and there'll all narrow favourites/underdogs.
Quote from: J70 on June 09, 2016, 09:26:49 PM
I think most Donegal people ARE expecting a tight game.
There have been rumours all right about Murphy, but I think Rory Gallagher said he was looking all right and it was just a minor ankle strain. But maybe he had a setback.
Yeah I think Donegal folk are realistic about this but I think that a lot outside Donegal are taking Fermanagh a bit for granted.
Donegal Team
1. McGinley
2. Paddy McGrath
3. Neil McGee
4. Karl Lacey
5. Ryan McHugh
6. Frank McGlynn
7. Tony Thompson
8. Rory Kavanagh
9. Hugh McFadden
10. Leo McLoone
11. Martin McElhinney
12. Odhran MacNiallais
13. Paddy McBrearty
14. Michael Murphy
15. Marty O'Reilly
Fermanagh team:
1 Christopher Snow (St Joseph's)
2 Mickey Jones (Derrygonnelly)
3 Che Cullen (Belnaleck)
4 Marty O'Brien (Devenish)
5 Declan McCusker (St Joseph's)
6 James McMahon (Roslea)
7 Barry Mulrone (Devenish)
8 Eoin Donnelly (Coa)
9 Aidan Breen (Tempo)
10 Paul McCusker (St Joseph's)
11 Ryan Jones (Derrygonnelly)
12 Richard O'Callaghan (Enniskillen Gaels)
13 Ruairí Corrigan (Kinawley)
14 Sean Quigley (Roslea)
15 Tomás Corrigan (Kinawley)
Quote from: StephenC on June 10, 2016, 03:49:01 PM
Donegal Team
1. McGinley
2. Paddy McGrath
3. Neil McGee
4. Karl Lacey
5. Ryan McHugh
6. Frank McGlynn
7. Tony Thompson
8. Rory Kavanagh
9. Hugh McFadden
10. Leo McLoone
11. Martin McElhinney
12. Odhran MacNiallais
13. Paddy McBrearty
14. Michael Murphy
15. Marty O'Reilly
With the exception of Eamon McGee missing out and McElhinney starting, predictable enough. Hugh McFadden was widely expected to replace Neil Gallagher.
Doubt if Lacey will start corner back on a man-marking job though at his age. And its been six years since he played that role at intercounty level. Perhaps Eamon will be drafted in after all?
Quote from: J70 on June 10, 2016, 08:14:10 PM
Quote from: StephenC on June 10, 2016, 03:49:01 PM
Donegal Team
1. McGinley
2. Paddy McGrath
3. Neil McGee
4. Karl Lacey
5. Ryan McHugh
6. Frank McGlynn
7. Tony Thompson
8. Rory Kavanagh
9. Hugh McFadden
10. Leo McLoone
11. Martin McElhinney
12. Odhran MacNiallais
13. Paddy McBrearty
14. Michael Murphy
15. Marty O'Reilly
With the exception of Eamon McGee missing out and McElhinney starting, predictable enough. Hugh McFadden was widely expected to replace Neil Gallagher.
Doubt if Lacey will start corner back on a man-marking job though at his age. And its been six years since he played that role at intercounty level. Perhaps Eamon will be drafted in after all?
Predictable enough all right. Has an air of Paddy at FF on his own.
Wonder has Eamon a knock or just dropped? If Karl isn't fit for a HB role I'm not sure he should be in the 15 at all.
Quote from: J70 on June 10, 2016, 08:11:22 PM
Fermanagh team:
1 Christopher Snow (St Joseph's)
2 Mickey Jones (Derrygonnelly)
3 Che Cullen (Belnaleck)
4 Marty O'Brien (Devenish)
5 Declan McCusker (St Joseph's)
6 James McMahon (Roslea)
7 Barry Mulrone (Devenish)
8 Eoin Donnelly (Coa)
9 Aidan Breen (Tempo)
10 Paul McCusker (St Joseph's)
11 Ryan Jones (Derrygonnelly)
12 Richard O'Callaghan (Enniskillen Gaels)
13 Ruairí Corrigan (Kinawley)
14 Sean Quigley (Roslea)
15 Tomás Corrigan (Kinawley)
Fermanagh are probably lining out as expected.
Should have a bit more physicality around the middle and another good option for kickouts.
Feel it is vital that we put pressure on the Donegal kickout
Good range of options on the bench as well.
4 forwards named so I would say the Fermanagh tactics are fairly obvious.
Fermanagh 5/1 on PP worth a few quid, 12/1 for the draw
Surprised (and disappointed) not to see one or two more young lads named. Eoin McHugh was almost ever-present in the league while Ciaran Gillespie and Ciaran Thompson should be pushing to get on at some point. Apparently Eamon McGee has a baby due in the next fews days, which explains his omission.
Quote from: J70 on June 11, 2016, 01:00:57 PM
Surprised (and disappointed) not to see one or two more young lads named. Eoin McHugh was almost ever-present in the league while Ciaran Gillespie and Ciaran Thompson should be pushing to get on at some point. Apparently Eamon McGee has a baby due in the next fews days, which explains his omission.
yeah it all looks very predictable/verging into stale-ish looking.
Doubt anyone would be a bit surprised if Gallagher made some pre-throw in changes.
Gallagher as manager is the biggest doubt I have about Donegal this summer. Fermanaghs big improvement is mostly down to the organisation under Pete McGrath. Interesting game tomorrow has the potential to produce a shock result however Donegal should have enough experience to get over the line.
Hugh McFadden is the key selection in this team.
He hasn't impressed up to now but Donegal really need him to develop into a ball winning midfielder to allow Murphy spend more time in front of goal.
Sadly it looks as if Neil's best days are behind him, we really need McFadden to produce.
I think people are too fast to talk about Donegal's demise.
I expecting a good win for them today with McBrearty on fire.
Donegal have done poorly against Fermanagh before, in 2004 they changed the course of the championship when Fermanagh beat them in the qualifiers. Fermanagh went on to beat Armagh who were complacent on the day. Armagh might have won the AI if Donegal had won that day, as they would not have been playing Donegal and would not have been at all complacent against other opponents like Dublin.
Oh great, wee Aaron is drinking from the same "ah sure there was no malice in it" cup as Martin Carney. Memo to all telly commentators: You have NO IDEA if a high tackle was intentional or not, or if there was malice in it. Only the player himself does.
Definite red for me.
Well deserved red card, that McGee Bollocks dirty as hell
Quote from: Beffs on June 12, 2016, 02:10:05 PM
Oh great, wee Aaron is drinking from the same "ah sure there was no malice in it" cup as Martin Carney. Memo to all telly commentators: You have NO IDEA if a high tackle was intentional or not, or if there was malice in it. Only the player himself does.
Correct, just what we need Martin light
Correct call. Donegal not going well Murphy doesn't look interested at all!
Great save in fairness.
What was mcgee thinking. No need for that at all and if donegal get through he'll be a big miss.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 12, 2016, 02:39:44 PM
not today or yesterday we knew that-playing on the edge is one thing, but a mile over it has always been his way.......and to think Kiernan thought it was ok???where the f**k do RTEdig them outta
Very stupid by McGee
Quote from: sans pessimism on June 12, 2016, 02:46:18 PM
not today or yesterday we knew that-playing on the edge is one thing, but a mile over it has always been his way.......and to think Kiernan thought it was ok???where the f**k do RTEdig them outta
He's a bit like skrtel. A disaster waiting to happen.
Quote from: armaghniac on June 12, 2016, 01:58:16 PM
Donegal have done poorly against Fermanagh before, in 2004 they changed the course of the championship when Fermanagh beat them in the qualifiers. Fermanagh went on to beat Armagh who were complacent on the day. Armagh might have won the AI if Donegal had won that day, as they would not have been playing Donegal and would not have been at all complacent against other opponents like Dublin.
You Armagh lads have some ego. Has it ever crossed your mind that maybe Fermanagh deserved to beat that Armagh team? Or have you been telling yourself that Armagh were "just complacent on the day" to convince yourself that the greatest Armagh side of all time weren't just a pack of 1 AI wonders?
All them Donegal players around the ref is remiss of a certain Roy Keane and the Utd men round the ref years ago trying to intimidate him
Kernan is full of it. As clear a punch as you will see. Shame Quigley made such a b@lls of the penalty.
Agree totally.
Fermanagh are wasting some chances here and letting Donegal through their 45 too easily at times. Think Donegal will run out winners by 4 or 5, too much experience in the team to lose it.
Score anyone?
1-6 to 0-7 donegal
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 12, 2016, 02:56:23 PM
Score anyone?
1-06 to 0-07 after Fermanagh missed a penalty with the last kick of the 1st half.
Must be very frustrating for Ciaran Whelan on the sunday game.Any time he tries to make a point the 2 shellas interrupt
Being down to 14 men may well energise Donegal more. Won't be the first time its happened.
Square ball for that goal. Already in square before pass.
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 12, 2016, 03:15:49 PM
Couldn't have been more obvious, very poor from Deegan to miss it
Donegal unaffected so far by going down to 14
Thought that myself. Needless too.
Wouldn't be too worried about getting into an argument with McGee if a little dig in the stomach drops him like a sniper's bullet.
Since when could you bear hug a man with 2 arms round him and it not be a free? go figure
Fair play to the umpires for calling MCGee on his dive. Horrible to see a lad take a dive with the sole purpose of getting someone sent off
Not so sure he was when the ball left the hand.
Donegal's new keeper seems a better stopper than Durcan.
Not wearing a gum shield. Are keepers exempt from that requirement ?
Quigley has no gumshield either.
Ffs Had Donegal to win by 6 in Irish News Comp >:(
Them 2 McGee Lads are 2 class acts lol
I thought they changed the rule a few years back where the square ball rule was only in effect from a free or a 45??
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 12, 2016, 02:45:29 PM
What was mcgee thinking. No need for that at all and if donegal get through he'll be a big miss.
Dumb move, and yes we will miss him the next two games.
Good, fairly routine win, except for McGee's stupidity. Was looking bad at half time after Fermanagh dominated the last five minutes of the first half, but the half-forwards and Ryan McHugh the difference with the running and score-taking. A couple of fine saves by McGinley as well, especially from the penalty.
What did McGee do to get the red. I didn't see it.
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 12, 2016, 04:07:46 PM
Forearm smash to the face.
Definite red.
Quote from: BluestackBoy on June 12, 2016, 11:09:25 AM
Hugh McFadden is the key selection in this team.
He hasn't impressed up to now but Donegal really need him to develop into a ball winning midfielder to allow Murphy spend more time in front of goal.
Sadly it looks as if Neil's best days are behind him, we really need McFadden to produce.
Sadly, my fears about McFadden have proved true.
He isn't a county player & that gives us real problems.
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 12, 2016, 04:07:46 PM
(http://cdn-04.independent.ie/incoming/article34793805.ece/9966a/BINARY/mcgee.jpg)
I hope Fermanagh get a good run in the qualifiers
ita good run to wexford first up
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on June 12, 2016, 02:50:37 PM
You Armagh lads have some ego. Has it ever crossed your mind that maybe Fermanagh deserved to beat that Armagh team? Or have you been telling yourself that Armagh were "just complacent on the day" to convince yourself that the greatest Armagh side of all time weren't just a pack of 1 AI wonders?
Funny, Jack O'Se said on more than one occasion in his Sunday Times' column that that defeat cost Armagh the second All Ireland we so desperately craved. On that basis, Jacko has an ego about Armagh!?!? ::)
You'd think after 3 All Irelands and about four thousand National League titles, you'd have got over the bitterness felt after the torpedoing of the good ship Tommy Lyons, but clearly not.
Donegal looked decent, upped it when needed. On another point ryan mc Hugh likes a bit of playacting. Goes down handy and by God he stays down
Very disappointed leaving Ballybofey today because that was a very poor second half display.
We created 3 good goal scoring chances including the penalty and failed to convert any of them. Donegal created two and buried both and that was the difference. We lacked composure on the occasions when the game was still in the mix.
Eoin was outstanding today and at times was taking the game to Donegal on his own. One of the best midfielders in Ireland at the moment.
For me McGee's was a straight red. The referee had no option. We left the sweeper in place after this and it played into the Donegal game plan. They were expecting us to do this. If we would have pushed the sweeper further up the field it might have put more pressure on Donegal. Instead we made it easy for them and basically didn't exploit our extra man.
E Mchugh was excellent for Donegal as was McGlynn and McBreatty and MacNiallais. Murphy was clearly not fit. The main issue for Donegal would be in goals. Although the keeper made some excellent saves, when Fermanagh pushed up on his kickouts he either kicked them over the sideline or straight down the middle. I am sure Monaghan will look to exploit this.
Wexford away on Saturday week awaits. Glad this game is 2 weeks away and not next Saturday. Will be a hard place to go but hopefully we can regroup and get a run going again through the back door.
Logged in to post in this thread, but FermGael has covered most of it already, especially on the kickouts.
Fermanagh's attack was a wee bit shapeless, but I'm not sure that the backs would get away with such poor tackling again.
Good luck in Wexford! They're quite poor at present so I'd magine yous will come through.
Quote from: FermGael on June 12, 2016, 08:45:04 PM
Very disappointed leaving Ballybofey today because that was a very poor second half display.
We created 3 good goal scoring chances including the penalty and failed to convert any of them. Donegal created two and buried both and that was the difference. We lacked composure on the occasions when the game was still in the mix.
Eoin was outstanding today and at times was taking the game to Donegal on his own. One of the best midfielders in Ireland at the moment.
For me McGee's was a straight red. The referee had no option. We left the sweeper in place after this and it played into the Donegal game plan. They were expecting us to do this. If we would have pushed the sweeper further up the field it might have put more pressure on Donegal. Instead we made it easy for them and basically didn't exploit our extra man.
E Mchugh was excellent for Donegal as was McGlynn and McBreatty and MacNiallais. Murphy was clearly not fit. The main issue for Donegal would be in goals. Although the keeper made some excellent saves, when Fermanagh pushed up on his kickouts he either kicked them over the sideline or straight down the middle. I am sure Monaghan will look to exploit this.
Wexford away on Saturday week awaits. Glad this game is 2 weeks away and not next Saturday. Will be a hard place to go but hopefully we can regroup and get a run going again through the back door.
Donegal had two additional excellent goal chances: the one O'Reilly fisted over, and the one the keeper saved from McBrearty.
Agree about our kick out issues.
Quote from: J70 on June 12, 2016, 03:58:57 PM
I thought they changed the rule a few years back where the square ball rule was only in effect from a free or a 45??
Seems most thought that, including refs, umpires, and analysts. From open play changed from can't be in it til ball is in it, to can't be in it til player has hit pass.
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 12, 2016, 08:18:08 PM
Funny, Jack O'Se said on more than one occasion in his Sunday Times' column that that defeat cost Armagh the second All Ireland we so desperately craved. On that basis, Jacko has an ego about Armagh!?!? ::)
You'd think after 3 All Irelands and about four thousand National League titles, you'd have got over the bitterness felt after the torpedoing of the good ship Tommy Lyons, but clearly not.
It was a joke of an initial comment, and southdublinbro right to laugh at it. If your auntie had balls she'd be your uncle.
wee pete mc grath highly critical of donegals gamesmanship during the game
Who was our resident grass watcher from last week?
Thon turf on MacCumhaill Park looked very long.
Fermanagh gave it their best but I sense that Donegal had a lot more gears to go up if needed.
Would love to see a Tyrone v Donegal rematch in the final.
Not much between them and it would be good to get the excitement levels up.
Quote from: winghalfun on June 13, 2016, 10:35:01 AM
Who was our resident grass watcher from last week?
Thon turf on MacCumhaill Park looked very long.
Fermanagh gave it their best but I sense that Donegal had a lot more gears to go up if needed.
Would love to see a Tyrone v Donegal rematch in the final.
Not much between them and it would be good to get the excitement levels up.
I think Tyrone will get past Cavan easier than Donegal will get past Monaghan.
Quote from: haranguerer on June 13, 2016, 08:05:39 AM
It was a joke of an initial comment, and southdublinbro right to laugh at it. If your auntie had balls she'd be your uncle.
There are a couple of joke comments here and the initial one isn't in that set. This is a forum where people talk about the impact on games of players missing, chances missed, referees, even the effect of the wind! Then you always get someone whom the discussion doesn't suit who reckons that the outcome tells all, in which case you wouldn't need a forum.
The same Jack O'Se who described Ciaran Kilkenny as a Junior Footballer?
I know where I'll rank his judgement
I didn't see the game live yesterday and just saw some of the highlights last night.
I see Pete McGrath is giving out a bit about Donegal's gamesmanship and reading this report from the Indo it sounds like Donegal were indeed using all their old tricks that we experienced with them last few years.
Just wondering what did any of ye think who were at the match or watched it live?
After the Tyrone v Donegal game last year there was a lot written about how it was such a bad tempered game and a lot of spite has built up between the teams and a few asking why is it always Tyrone.
The Ulster championship has been quite low key with not much incident this year so far so I was just wondering was it very different yesterday?
With Neil McGee out for the Monaghan match and Murphy looking like he's struggling I wonder will Monaghan see their chance of doing two in a row. You would expect it to be another feisty affair with discipline again to the fore.
by Declan Bogue.
It wasn't quite trickery to rival Houdini, but Donegal left themselves chained into a box at the bottom of River Finn before systematically escaping their binds to comfortably dismiss Fermanagh from the Ulster Championship.
At the stroke of half-time, Fermanagh had weathered a scoring blitz by the home side to leave two points between the sides. Running out of ideas in attack, Aidan Breen floated a hopeful ball across the face of goal that Sean Quigley fetched.
Although he was tripped, referee Maurice Deegan passed on the penalty appeal. However, he couldn't ignore the blatant forearm smash by Neil McGee on Ruairi Corrigan, which earned the Gweedore man a straight red card.
This prompted an extended period of faux outrage and appeals. Donegal men surrounded Deegan. While he made his deliberations, goalkeeper Mark Anthony McGinley conducted a close-up conversation with Fermanagh penalty-taker Quigley.
The Roslea man's penalty wasn't hit with conviction or placed well. McGinley batted it away and the ref immediately called for half-time. McGee sprinted on to confront Deegan and Donegal manager Rory Gallagher made his point also with the half-time score Donegal 1-6 Fermanagh 0-7.
Pete McGrath was not happy with several elements of what he termed Donegal's "gamesmanship", and said of Deegan's delay between offence and penalty kick, "For him to allow that amount of time to elapse [more than two minutes] and the penalty being taken, I mean that's unacceptable. It's unacceptable."
Gallagher's take on it was quite different. "I thought I heard a whistle for a free out and Neil is adamant that he heard a whistle for a free out and then he kind of shrugged his man off," he said.
Still, when Eamonn McGee dragged Sean Quigley down by the arm - perilously close to the penalty area - and Tomás Corrigan tapped over, it left one point in the game and McGrath's men up a man.
From then on, they froze. Call it a case of not truly believing in themselves, but when Donegal put together a rapid-fire sequence of handpasses through the excellent and probing Frank McGlynn and Martin McElhinney, they opened up a scoring chance for Martin O'Reilly. Instead of kicking his point, he spotted Odhrán MacNiallais on the edge of the square, slipped it to him and MacNiallais palmed to the net - Fermanagh then crumbled.
That score opened a five-point gap. It was the second goal for MacNiallais. In the first half McGlynn played a quick give-and-go with McElhinney to give the stylish MacNiallais a sight on goal - he went high and hard past Fermanagh goalkeeper Chris Snow.
MacNiallais was the star turn here, followed closely by McGlynn, who operated at centre-forward and showed calmness on the ball. Once the second goal went in, it was time to drain the life from the game. Twenty-one minutes were sandwiched between Corrigan free-kicks - Fermanagh's first and second scores of the half.
From that point on, the game grew more predictable. Fermanagh had failed to take advantage of the great position they had put themselves in. For the last 10 minutes of the first half, they pushed up on the Donegal kickouts, prompting McGinley to put two of them over the sideline.
Asked to explain how they re-jigged things at half-time, McGrath commented, "I think there were too many individual battles lost in certain areas of the field in the second half to make the extra man a benefit.
"Too often in the second half we were on the back foot, and they were winning a lot of individual battles, they were showing composure. They were sucking us towards them and popping the ball and that type of thing and the seminal moment of the second half was the Donegal second goal, which gave them all the energy and all the momentum to keep us on the back foot."
Donegal's familiarity with the confines and their own play was writ large on an impressive second half. They fed Fermanagh attackers Tomás Corrigan and Quigley on very strict rations and showed their mean face on a few occasions.
When Quigley had a long-range free in the first-half, Donegal players surrounded him in a tight semi-circle, employing some mind games. As the second half progressed, players went down easily - "feigning injury", McGrath said - leaving little time to fashion a recovery.
O'Reilly followed the goal with a point that required dogged persistence. The marking was getting looser when Paddy McBrearty posted a point and by McElhinney's solitary score, they had demoralised their opponents.
And all this with a Michael Murphy who was operating at around half of his normal capacity and of course, no Karl Lacey.
"We had seven or eight lads who were not there in 2012 and I suppose there is a wee bit of a transition from that point of view," said Gallagher in the post-match briefing.
"We still feel that we have a really good team and we can be a match for anyone."
After an eight-week lay-off going into this game, they now have a mere 13 days to get themselves ready for a grudge match, an Ulster semi-final against Monaghan, a repeat of the last three Ulster finals, in Kingspan Breffni Park on June 25.
"The recovery process starts now. Bodies will be sore, we picked up a few knocks during the game and a lot of wee, small things went against us," added Gallagher.
bogue not a good judge being a fermanagh man with rose tinted glasses
Did McGrath highlight any specific incidents of supposed play acting?
aye eamon mc gee feigning a little stomach tickle from fermanagh no 24
Quote from: skeog on June 13, 2016, 03:28:39 PM
aye eamon mc gee feigning a little stomach tickle from fermanagh no 24
Ok, one incident which some pundits thought should have produced a card for the Fermanagh man. Is that it?
Quote from: heffo on June 13, 2016, 11:25:52 AM
The same Jack O'Se who described Ciaran Kilkenny as a Junior Footballer?
I know where I'll rank his judgement
Good for you.
When balancing these things out, I'll consider one of the most illustrious careers in Gaelic Football over the evidence provided by one misjudged comment.
Seriously like...... ::)
Quote from: J70 on June 13, 2016, 03:05:15 PM
Did McGrath highlight any specific incidents of supposed play acting?
OUTRAGED and optimistic would be a neat summation of Pete McGrath's mood after Sunday's seven-point defeat to Donegal.
He was angered by the perceived "gamesmanship" of Fermanagh's opponents - particularly in the second-half – but was confident the Erne men would enjoy another long summer.
Speaking to reporters at pitchside, McGrath repeated a line from last year some people might have privately scoffed at back then - that Fermanagh would still be playing Championship football come August time.
McGrath is of the same mind again. After Sunday, though, the Erne men will take some lifting as another Ulster Championship campaign passed them by. McGrath's immediate feeling was one of pure frustration with how Donegal killed off the game in the second-half.
"Donegal had a lot of gamesmanship out there today, whether you like it or not," said McGrath.
"Let's call a spade a spade. I mean, the number of times Donegal players went down, in some instances feigning injury, just to stop the clock, to break the play up... And the referee fell for it, he fell for it."
McGrath was also miffed by the length of time it took to allow Sean Quigley to take his penalty - which was saved by Mark Anthony McGinley - just before half-time: "For him [referee Maurice Deegan] to allow that amount of time to elapse [over two minutes] and the penalty being taken, I mean, that's unacceptable."
McGrath added: "Let's see what the authorities do about it. I mean, they will do nothing of course because it's Fermanagh. If it was Dublin on the receiving end of it, they might do something about it, but because it's Fermanagh..."
Quigley held his head in his hands when Mark Anthony McGinley dived to his right to make an easy save. Quigley nor Fermanagh recovered from that crucial miss: "Sean has a very good record at taking penalties," said McGrath.
"He is only human like the rest of us. The penalty was missed. We went in two points down at half-time, played very well the last 15 minutes of the first-half, we had momentum, got the first score of the second-half, went toe-to-toe and then the second Donegal goal punched a lot of the life out of us.
"We kept coming, but we had too many pussy-footed shots at goals and lost the ball in the tackle as well. But that's Donegal, they can defend in numbers and that's why they are hard to play against.
"The missed penalty - okay, these things happen - but we couldn't dwell on that. Ruairi [Corrigan] had a chance prior to that that was blocked when the ball was heading towards the net in the first-half.
"The couple of goal chances they created, they took and maybe the goal chances that we should have carved out weren't converted and that had a big bearing. Goals, at the end of the day, give teams energy and sap the energy out of the teams conceding them. They were critical."
Fermanagh will face Wexford in the All-Ireland Qualifiers on June 25 at Wexford Park - and while the dust still hadn't settled on this morale-sapping defeat, McGrath was already sounding a positive note.
"There is no reason why we can't be playing football in August," he said.
"I don't say that blandly. The way we played there for quite extended patches of that game, I think shows me that we can match a lot of teams in the country. Seriously, we can.
"We just have to take a step back, sort a few things out that happened today and a few things that didn't happen today. If we can do that, I would be utterly confident we would go to Wexford to win that game. And let's see then what happens after that. But all our focus now has to turn to Saturday week. And it will."
Last year, Fermanagh went down fighting to Monaghan. And while they weren't as impressive in defeat on Sunday as they were against Monaghan, they were still beaten by a vastly experienced outfit.
"You just have to bear in mind that we were playing today against a highly experienced team, a highly physical team," McGrath added.
"A team that had physique and power in most areas of the pitch. Even coming out of defence, they were very powerful... When you look at the scoreboard, the two goals loom large and you can't shy away from that."
Whilst McGrath makes a number of fair points it has to be remembered that Quigley is hardly a shrinking violet when it comes round to dishing out the verbals......
dont be surprised to see pete take up the challenge in his native county
Quote from: skeog on June 14, 2016, 04:15:16 PM
dont be surprised to see pete take up the challenge in his native county
People will find it hard to believe but Pete isnt rated v highly within down.
Seems to call it as it is, McGrath. Hopefully Fermanagh will be playing in August again this year.
Excellent analysis of the game by ulster gaa.
Excellent read .
http://ulster.gaa.ie/2016/06/donegal-v-fermanagh-statistical-analysis/ (http://ulster.gaa.ie/2016/06/donegal-v-fermanagh-statistical-analysis/)
Quote from: FermGael on June 14, 2016, 08:39:43 PM
Excellent analysis of the game by ulster gaa.
Excellent read .
http://ulster.gaa.ie/2016/06/donegal-v-fermanagh-statistical-analysis/ (http://ulster.gaa.ie/2016/06/donegal-v-fermanagh-statistical-analysis/)
Very good read. Some of it we knew, such as Donegal's problems on the kickout, both in this game and in the league. The really interesting one is the number of shots Fermanagh hit that didn't go dead. Considering their edge in the midfield/kick-out battle, this was a crucial failing, as they likely would have won at least half of those Donegal kick-outs had they even kicked a wide and not got a score (although I do recall at least one scored free from Eamon McGee fouling Quigley on a ball that dropped short, and then they got the penalty from a shot that didn't go dead and forced a great save from McGinley from a shot off the post).