GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: babarino on May 11, 2016, 10:55:23 PM

Title: Muineacháin v An Dún 5ú Meitheamh Ulster GAA Football Senior Championship
Post by: babarino on May 11, 2016, 10:55:23 PM
A few weeks out...Monaghan will be favourites but the Aristocrats will be going to Clones thinking that they'll upset the odds. The league game showed there's is no gulf in class between the two sides. The Down attack caused the Monaghan defence a lot of problems and Down won most of the primary possession in midfield.

Monaghan will need to be on top of their game to win this.
Title: Re: Muineacháin v An Dún 5ú Meitheamh Ulster GAA Football Senior Championship
Post by: armaghniac on May 11, 2016, 11:25:02 PM
Quote from: babarino on May 11, 2016, 10:55:23 PM
Monaghan will need to be on top of their game turn up to win this.

Fixed that for you.
Title: Re: Muineacháin v An Dún 5ú Meitheamh Ulster GAA Football Senior Championship
Post by: seafoid on May 12, 2016, 07:24:22 AM
22 years since an Dun won Ulster. Very long time.
6 other counties have won it in the meantime.

Monaghan have 16 Ulsters. Down have 12.  But Monaghan have no Sams.
And they only have one forward.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 12, 2016, 07:32:44 AM
It's as low an ebb as I can ever remember Down football, the quality players from years gone by have called it a day, their other good players who can still offer a bit are not putting themselves forward, they've been a rabble at underage over the past 10 years, a host of withdrawals leading up to the Championship, a pitiful league campaign.

Hard to see past anything other than a Monaghan win.
Post by: seafoid on May 12, 2016, 08:00:29 AM
What is the problem in down anyway ? There was a decent team a few years ago
Is there anything happening underage ?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 12, 2016, 11:38:08 AM
Who the f**k had to go and start this thread to remind everyone else how sh!te we are at present.
Monaghan with a comfortable win.
Post by: Mourne Rover on May 12, 2016, 03:16:38 PM
Il Bomber Destro may think that Down have been a `rabble' at underage level over the last ten years but we actually won back to back Ulster u21 championships in 2008 and 2009. The 2009 side included many of the players who won the All Ireland minor title four years previously and only lost out to a goal with practically the last kick of the game when two points up in injury time against Cork in the u21 final. Down minors also made the All Ireland semi final in 2009. We are well aware how far off the pace we have been in recent seasons but our decline has taken place much more recently than suggested in the earlier post.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 12, 2016, 03:41:53 PM
sooooooooooo, we haven't been shite for the last 10 years, rather only shite for the last 8 years.
Well that changes everything.
Monaghan wont have a look-in.
Post by: ardtole on May 12, 2016, 03:48:46 PM
We were in an all ireland final six years ago.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 12, 2016, 04:20:08 PM
A freak season admittedly where things clicked and key personnel performed.
So we have been shite for 7 of the last 8 years. Happy?
Post by: Mourne Rover on May 12, 2016, 11:01:14 PM
Wrong again Brick. We made the final qualifying round in 2008, beating the eventual AI champions Tyrone on the way, and got to the AI final in 2010. We were in a final qualifier in 2011, an Ulster final and an AI quarter final in 2012, drew away to Tyrone in in 2014 and got promotion to D1 just over a year ago. For a number of well documented reasons, we have been in freefall for the last 12 months. However, claiming that we have been useless for almost a decade ignores the solid record of some decent sides and and provides a completely confused view of what we need to do next.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 12, 2016, 11:16:47 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on May 12, 2016, 11:01:14 PM
Wrong again Brick. We made the final qualifying round in 2008, beating the eventual AI champions Tyrone on the way, and got to the AI final in 2010. We were in a final qualifier in 2011, an Ulster final and an AI quarter final in 2012, drew away to Tyrone in in 2014 and got promotion to D1 just over a year ago. For a number of well documented reasons, we have been in freefall for the last 12 months. However, claiming that we have been useless for almost a decade ignores the solid record of some decent sides and and provides a completely confused view of what we need to do next.

Dunno who you are Mourne Rover but you have summed up what has been in my head...to be fair I couldn't be arsed posting it. Fair play. Pretty good summary. I too think we will give the Farney a good rattle.
Post by: thewobbler on May 13, 2016, 07:30:41 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 12, 2016, 11:16:47 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on May 12, 2016, 11:01:14 PM

Dunno who you are Mourne Rover but you have summed up what has been in my head...to be fair I couldn't be arsed posting it. Fair play. Pretty good summary. I too think we will give the Farney a good rattle.

I too reckon we could put out 15 players that give Monaghan their fill of it.

But, the past few seasons at minor, 21 and senior level all point to a common trend, that when our heads go down, it usually results in utter capitulation. When opponents go up a gear, we go into reverse. As such, the most likely result for Down is a tanking. That's not being disloyal, that's just looking at the numbers.

---

Likely involvement in both 2010 AI final and 2016 SFC: Kevin McKernan, Mark Poland.

Likely involvement in both 2009 u21 final and 2016 SFC: Joe Murphy, Conor Maginn, Paul Devlin.

2009 minor team and 2016 SFC: Darragh O'Hanlon, maybe David McKibbin if he's on the panel.

Not much pushing on from the noughties, unfortunately.
Post by: Boycey on May 30, 2016, 12:59:05 PM
This thread was on the 3rd page with no comments for over a fortnight is the interest in this game that bad?

Monaghan seem to have a full bill of health although having been at the club game where McGinn got injured a couple of weeks back I'd be surprised if he was in contention.
Post by: Orior on May 30, 2016, 01:09:17 PM
What are the chances of Down meeting Armagh in the qualifiers?
Post by: Aristo 60 on May 30, 2016, 01:27:25 PM
Much better now that Armagh are in the qualifiers.
Post by: armaghniac on May 30, 2016, 03:07:30 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 30, 2016, 01:09:17 PM
What are the chances of Down meeting Armagh in the qualifiers?

As Armagh are in A and Down in B, the chances are about the same as Arlene Foster getting scuttered after  night's drinking in Cullyhanna.
Post by: thewobbler on May 30, 2016, 04:11:44 PM
Rearing a squad of wains for the past 5 years has put me out of touch with such things. But the pay on the day price of €30 for a seat in the stand raised an eyebrow. When did we start getting charged day-out-in-croker prices for 1st round Championship matches?

The Association has lost the run of itself.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 31, 2016, 07:31:14 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 30, 2016, 04:11:44 PM
Rearing a squad of wains for the past 5 years has put me out of touch with such things. But the pay on the day price of €30 for a seat in the stand raised an eyebrow. When did we start getting charged day-out-in-croker prices for 1st round Championship matches?

The advance purchase prices for 2016 are the same as the prices in 2010. 7 years without a price rise is unheard of for just about anything. I think it's great value for money. No excuse for not buying in advance.

The only thing that I don't understand is the vast difference between the price to sit and stand. It's also an issue that a covered seat and an uncovered seat cost the same, especially if the weather is bad.
Post by: Boycey on May 31, 2016, 09:16:56 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 31, 2016, 07:31:14 PM

The advance purchase prices for 2016 are the same as the prices in 2010. 7 years without a price rise is unheard of for just about anything. I think it's great value for money. No excuse for not buying in advance.

The only thing that I don't understand is the vast difference between the price to sit and stand. It's also an issue that a covered seat and an uncovered seat cost the same, especially if the weather is bad.

€25/€30 for any 1st round Ulster Championship match is poor enough value in my book..
Post by: snoopdog on May 31, 2016, 09:35:54 PM
Quote from: Boycey on May 31, 2016, 09:16:56 PM

€25/€30 for any 1st round Ulster Championship match is poor enough value in my book..
Totally agree. To pay that amount of money into a bog standard ground is ridiculous I usually go to terrace for championship as travel costs enough also. While on prices Newry charge the same for covered stand as terrace for league. Now that's a disgrace are all league games the same?  I haven't been to any away last few years bar navan and can't remember prices there.
Post by: OgraAnDun on May 31, 2016, 09:53:36 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 31, 2016, 09:35:54 PM

Totally agree. To pay that amount of money into a bog standard ground is ridiculous I usually go to terrace for championship as travel costs enough also. While on prices Newry charge the same for covered stand as terrace for league. Now that's a disgrace are all league games the same?  I haven't been to any away last few years bar navan and can't remember prices there.

To be fair that is because the stand is basically never full for a league match, and so the people choosing to stand in the terraces do so because they prefer to stand. Still a bit ridiculous though.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 31, 2016, 09:57:13 PM
In fairness, league matches are great value - my brother in law goes to Leinster league games and I think he said it's around €40 in
Post by: Maguire01 on May 31, 2016, 09:58:03 PM

So stand for €15/£12 then.
Post by: armaghniac on May 31, 2016, 10:10:14 PM

Inflation is negligible since 2010 and now you have the hassle of buying in advance.
The same pricing of seats, covered and uncovered, is endemic in the GAA and makes no sense.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 31, 2016, 10:37:26 PM
Expecting nothing less than a comfortable Monaghan victory.

However as I expected Derry and Armagh to put it up to Tyrone and Cavan respectively this may fit in with that trend and Down giving Monaghan a surprisingly closer battle than expected.

The one plus point for Down to take coming into this game is that their own weakest point is also Monaghan's own weakest point - size, particularly the middle of the pitch.
Post by: Boycey on May 31, 2016, 10:45:13 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 31, 2016, 09:58:03 PM

I will stand but not on account of the price rather that I prefer to stand at a match... For what it's worth that's also poor value at €15 or €18 at the gate.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 31, 2016, 10:50:51 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 31, 2016, 10:10:14 PM

Inflation is negligible since 2010 and now you have the hassle of buying in advance.
The same pricing of seats, covered and uncovered, is endemic in the GAA and makes no sense.

Buying in advance from Supervalue saves you money. Where's the hassle?
Post by: armaghniac on June 01, 2016, 01:29:02 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 31, 2016, 10:50:51 PM

maybe the time taken to find the nearest Supervalu that actually sells tickets?
Post by: westbound on June 01, 2016, 09:20:55 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 01, 2016, 01:29:02 AM

Advance purchase price tickets can be bought on tickets.ie as well.

You'd have them purchased online in the length of time it'd take to read a few posts on this thread!!!  ;) ;)
Post by: DownFanatic on June 01, 2016, 10:55:50 AM
Very low key build up to this game from a Down perspective.
Can see us sticking with Monaghan for about three quarters of the game.
I would worry about us at midfield and the containment process of McManus.
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 01, 2016, 11:53:08 AM
When was the last time we won a championship game in clones against any county?

Post by: OgraAnDun on June 01, 2016, 12:56:33 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on June 01, 2016, 11:53:08 AM
When was the last time we won a championship game in clones against any county?

Was the semi final in 2012 v Monaghan in Clones?
Post by: A man from Down on June 01, 2016, 01:10:19 PM
No the Athletic Grounds in Armagh
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 01, 2016, 03:37:57 PM
We beat Fermanagh at Clones in the USC semi final of 2003, 2-10 to 0-11. It was the game in which big Paddy sent on Shane King as a sub against his former county, and then quietly introduced wee James while the Fermanagh players were queuing up to jostle King. James inevitably got the decisive goal, which got us through to the drawn final when Gregory McCartan was the victim of an outrageous red card against Tyrone. We will draw a veil over the replay.
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 01, 2016, 03:40:39 PM
Quote from: A man from Down on June 01, 2016, 01:10:19 PM

That's right. The escape from Armagh.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 01, 2016, 04:23:40 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on June 01, 2016, 10:55:50 AM
Very low key build up to this game from a Down perspective.
Can see us sticking with Monaghan for about three quarters of the game.
I would worry about us at midfield and the containment process of McManus.

Hardly a surprise given the league campaign - the record of team's relegated from Division 1 tends to be very poor in that year's championship and if anyone is going to buck that trend I'd say Cork have a far better chance as they did get 3 wins but 7 losses from 7 is just abysmal form heading into the championship.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 01, 2016, 05:37:45 PM
Don't remind me!
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 01, 2016, 05:39:39 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on June 01, 2016, 03:40:39 PM

That was a sore day from a Monaghan perspective, ye were 9 points down at half-time if I remember correctly.. Laverty was absolutely everywhere and on fire!

It was also Eamonn McEnaney's last Ulster Championship game as manager, which wasn't a bad thing in most peoples opinion..

Post by: Maguire01 on June 01, 2016, 05:40:22 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 01, 2016, 01:29:02 AM

Have they been hidden?
Post by: Maguire01 on June 01, 2016, 05:41:46 PM
Quote from: Boycey on May 31, 2016, 10:45:13 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 31, 2016, 09:58:03 PM

I will stand but not on account of the price rather that I prefer to stand at a match... For what it's worth that's also poor value at €15 or €18 at the gate.
Compares very favourably with other sports.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 01, 2016, 05:43:36 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 01, 2016, 05:39:39 PM

That was a sore day from a Monaghan perspective, ye were 9 points down at half-time if I remember correctly.. Laverty was absolutely everywhere and on fire!

It was also Eamonn McEnaney's last Ulster Championship game as manager, which wasn't a bad thing in most peoples opinion..
Yep, if we'd won this we may well have had the same fate as Down in the Ulster Final, which would have been no help. It all worked out!
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 01, 2016, 07:55:52 PM

9 points up after some absolutely criminal refereeing decisions.
Post by: Sheedy on June 01, 2016, 09:01:33 PM
advance tickets also on sale in o'neills store in newry.
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 01, 2016, 09:43:33 PM
Paddy Power's first/last goalscorer odds for Sunday will be based on a combination of research and insider information. They suggest that we will be starting with O'Hare and Barry O'Hagan in the full forward line, with Poland and Murphy behind them, McKernan and Conall McGovern in sweeper roles and Turley and Brown at midfield.  We cannot be certain that they are on the right track, but it is fairly close to the line-up we might have expected. The PP list also includes Carr and O'Hanlon, who were always likely for the half backs. We can be fairly sure that Kane will be in goals, Gerard McGovern and Darren O'Hagan will be in front of him and McArdle should be there somewhere. That leaves one final defensive slot, which could go in a number of directions depending on Howard's fitness. It's all speculation of course and Burns might like to throw in a couple of surprises along the way.
Post by: Schkite on June 01, 2016, 09:55:54 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on June 01, 2016, 09:43:33 PM
Paddy Power's first/last goalscorer odds for Sunday will be based on a combination of research and insider information. They suggest that we will be starting with O'Hare and Barry O'Hagan in the full forward line, with Poland and Murphy behind them, McKernan and Conall McGovern in sweeper roles and Turley and Brown at midfield.  We cannot be certain that they are on the right track, but it is fairly close to the line-up we might have expected. The PP list also includes Carr and O'Hanlon, who were always likely for the half backs. We can be fairly sure that Kane will be in goals, Gerard McGovern and Darren O'Hagan will be in front of him and McArdle should be there somewhere. That leaves one final defensive slot, which could go in a number of directions depending on Howard's fitness. It's all speculation of course and Burns might like to throw in a couple of surprises along the way.

Don't PP just go on the last teamsheet for their goalscorer odds? That seems to be the case for Monaghan anyway. For example I wouldn't be surprised to see Barry McGinn start on Sunday but he's not included in the odds.
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 01, 2016, 10:27:34 PM
The PP list is not based on Down's last league game, as they have included Murphy and O'Hagan, who were previously on the bench, and omitted Mallon and Dornan, who started, so they must have some reason to believe that changes are on the way. However, it is all just guesswork at this stage.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 02, 2016, 12:03:00 AM
Those PP bets are void if the player doesn't start so I wouldn't read too much into them in terms of likely starters
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 02, 2016, 08:39:34 AM
Soooooooooo we are looking at the bookies websites now to try and second guess the starting line-up for sunday.
Really?
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 02, 2016, 09:49:06 AM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on June 01, 2016, 07:55:52 PM

Freeman's 'questionable' goal from the quickly taken free is the only one I can think of, but you'd hardly expect me to remember them..  ;)
Post by: twohands!!! on June 02, 2016, 04:19:42 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 02, 2016, 08:39:34 AM
Soooooooooo we are looking at the bookies websites now to try and second guess the starting line-up for sunday.
Really?

As someone who keeps an eye on GAA markets with Paddypower I definitely wouldn't be relying on them in terms of a likely team.

Pretty sure I saw some player who was out with a long-term injury down among the goal-scorers last year or the year before.
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 02, 2016, 07:06:51 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 02, 2016, 09:49:06 AM

Freeman's 'questionable' goal from the quickly taken free is the only one I can think of, but you'd hardly expect me to remember them..  ;)

I found the highlights on Youtube and going by them you are spot on, I had it in my head that there was more than that though....
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 02, 2016, 10:29:42 PM
Michael Duffy created some kind of record by making three mistakes in the course of a single decision for the Freeman goal. He subsequently apologised for calling McArdle over to caution him and then allowing a free to be taken quickly while the defender was out of position. However, the kick was also taken from the wrong place and then directed to Freeman who was standing too close to the ball. It was all so ludicrous that Down were spurred on to a late comeback win. However, in fairness, Monaghan should have had the game wrapped up long before the Freeman goal. Laverty's brilliance and springing Benny from the bench when he was still recovering from a serious injury turned the match for Down.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=172051
Post by: Schkite on June 02, 2016, 11:12:33 PM
Monaghan team named:

1. Rory Beggan (Scotstown)
2. Colin Walshe (Doohamlet)
3. Drew Wylie (Ballybay)
4. Ryan Wylie (Ballybay)
5. Dessie Mone (Clontibret)
6. Vinny Corey (Clontibret)
7. Karl O’Connell (Tyholland)
8. Neil McAdam (Monaghan Harps)
9. Kieran Hughes (Scotstown)
10. Shane Carey (Scotstown)
11. Dermot Malone (Castleblayney)
12. Ryan McAnespie (Emyvale)
13. Owen Duffy (Latton)
14. Darren Hughes (Scotstown)
15. Conor McManus (Clontibret)

Nothing unusual there. But of course there's often a change or two before throw in, I'd like to see someone like McKenna or McGinn(if he's recovered from his injury) in place of Carey.
Post by: ONeill on June 03, 2016, 12:26:27 AM
How many Farneys?
Post by: Sleater on June 03, 2016, 09:46:47 AM
Fintan Kelly getting dropped was on the cards. His league form was mediocre. The surprise will be if the team lines up as named as O'Rourke usually makes at least one change. McGinn not on the squad is disappointing as he's ready made for the centre forward spot but he's probably a week or two of being match ready with his shoulder injury (it's a re occurrence of one he did a couple of years ago).I'd like to see McCarthy starting. Intelligent on the ball, accurate and that rare mix of flair and workrate, McCarthy is ready. Darren hughes should  play out the field, not at FF. The experiment during the league at FF didn't work. It's one thing Hughes being effective there at club level but a different story at county level. Overall it's an experienced team and bench. Jap hopefully to play a part as he's in superb form at the minute, he looks totally revitalised.
Post by: timmyot501 on June 03, 2016, 10:27:52 AM
Its a safety first type of team from O'Rourke by the looks of it.  One decent defender was going to miss out if Dessie wasn't a half forward and looks like Kelly is the one. He had a quiet enough league compared to the last few years but don't be surprised if he is a late inclusion.  I would start Darren at Full Forward.  I still think it might work if he has help up there with him.  Some league games left him totally isolated and when he won the ball he had no options at all.  Keep McManus right up there at all times with him, and play proper ball in and give him a chance to compete for the ball.  Looking forward to it.
Post by: Boycey on June 03, 2016, 11:43:32 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 03, 2016, 12:26:27 AM
How many Farneys?

There's only one Farney man in the 26 named, Gollogly.
Post by: ardtole on June 03, 2016, 11:45:20 AM
I think darren hughes would be a real handful for our fb line, ive a feeling he will start in there and try and put us under pressure from the start.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 03, 2016, 12:25:16 PM
Happy enough with that starting team but also wouldn't be surprised to see a late change or two. The Hughes brothers are interchangeable, I'd expect them to be swapped about in any case, as happens quite a lot with inter-county teams these days.

Strong looking bench too, plenty of experience..

I too would like to see McGinn start, and hope for him that he's not too far off. He was superb in both the U21 Ulster Final and AI semi..

Looking forward to it!

Post by: Schkite on June 03, 2016, 01:05:07 PM
Didn't see the bench last night.

16    Conor Forde
17    Conor Boyle
18    Fintan Kelly   
19    Kieran Duffy
20    Dick Clerkin   
21    Paul  Finlay   
22   Stephen Gollogly
23    Thomas Kerr   
24    Conor Mc Carthy   
25    Daniel Mc Kenna
26    Jack Mc Carron

Good mix of youth and experience there alright. I'd hope to see at least two of McCarthy, McKenna and McCarron over the course of the 70 minutes, as they'd be the main scoring threats off he bench you'd think, and lads like that need experience if we're looking to take the burden off McManus.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 03, 2016, 07:59:44 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 02, 2016, 09:49:06 AM

And Freeman's goal was in the second half - Monaghan were 9 up in the first half.

We had a similar game v Down a few years ago in the league in Newry, throwing away a big lead and in the end lucky to get a draw.
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 04, 2016, 09:00:50 AM
(https://scontent-bru2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13325625_1077949928946716_6802862534277154316_n.jpg?oh=76d5a49eb215d3c180eeaab4f1b8643a&oe=57CE60D6)
Post by: ashman on June 04, 2016, 03:59:49 PM
Am I right that the Monaghan goalie and sub goalie are from Scotstown ??
Post by: Schkite on June 04, 2016, 05:30:34 PM
Quote from: ashman on June 04, 2016, 03:59:49 PM
Am I right that the Monaghan goalie and sub goalie are from Scotstown ??

Yeah, Forde was the u21 keeper this year. There was a different sub goalie last year, also from Scotstown!
Post by: Main Street on June 04, 2016, 08:59:43 PM
This game is live on BBCNI, is it possible to watch  BBCNI content live on the player or do you have to wait until the next day?
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 05, 2016, 09:45:21 AM
Quote from: Main Street on June 04, 2016, 08:59:43 PM
This game is live on BBCNI, is it possible to watch  BBCNI content live on the player or do you have to wait until the next day?

I'd be fairly certain that the iPlayer is a catchup service and not a streaming service for this type of content. Therefore it won't be available online till after the event.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 05, 2016, 09:46:46 AM
So who'll be the 'there's been two late changes on the Monaghan team' candidates then?
Post by: passedit on June 05, 2016, 10:21:21 AM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 05, 2016, 09:45:21 AM
Quote from: Main Street on June 04, 2016, 08:59:43 PM

I'd be fairly certain that the iPlayer is a catchup service and not a streaming service for this type of content. Therefore it won't be available online till after the event.

Fairly sure you can but your ip has to be in uk. Also you need your regional settings set to NI.
Post by: Schkite on June 05, 2016, 12:27:46 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 05, 2016, 09:46:46 AM
So who'll be the 'there's been two late changes on the Monaghan team' candidates then?

McKenna and possibly Kelly I think. I'd love to see McCarthy being given a shot, but he's more likely to come off the bench I'd say.
Post by: Schkite on June 05, 2016, 01:47:57 PM
Conor McCarthy in for Eoin Duffy, and Kieran Duffy in for Neil McAdam.

McCarthy 1st goal 10/1, going to stick a few quid on that. He might get a chance if McManus is getting the bulk of the attention.
Post by: BennyCake on June 05, 2016, 01:59:53 PM
Oh sweet Jesus, my ears!
Post by: From the Bunker on June 05, 2016, 02:02:52 PM
Tommy Carr..................................Why?
Post by: Beffs on June 05, 2016, 02:03:26 PM
Horrendous, wasn't it? I'll understand astro physics, before I understand why co boards keep on trotting out the "lovely girls" to sing the anthem. It always sounds bloody brutal.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 05, 2016, 02:24:17 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 05, 2016, 02:05:17 PM
Monaghan point looked wide to me.....sitting many miles away from it.
Looked wide to me as well. Monaghan getting softish frees.
Post by: lenny on June 05, 2016, 02:34:17 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 05, 2016, 02:24:17 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 05, 2016, 02:05:17 PM
Monaghan point looked wide to me.....sitting many miles away from it.
Looked wide to me as well. Monaghan getting softish frees.

Monaghan v poor so far. Down just kicking too many wides
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 05, 2016, 02:39:14 PM
Down the better side in that half but more wides than scores and they find themselves three points behind at the break. Monaghans extra fitness will probably be the difference the longer this game goes on.
Post by: ardtole on June 05, 2016, 02:42:35 PM
Dont know how mckibben got  a yellow there. The game is becoming non contact at this rate. Good first half performance from a very inexperienced side, very soft frees the difference so far.
Post by: Schkite on June 05, 2016, 02:46:39 PM
Strange half that. We were pure shite for the most part and Down deserve to be the team going in 3 pts up. Some awful sloppy mistakes leading to turnovers and loose defending, but Down's poor shooting let us off the hook.

Big improvement needed in the second half. Even as poor as we've been there were a couple of half-chances of goals, hopefully we can take one of those in the second half.
Post by: bennydorano on June 05, 2016, 02:51:39 PM
Down have been impressive enough considering. Brolly watching his own version of the game by the sounds of things. He's getting his pre game thoughts (preconceptions) in and they're not reflecting the game at all imo.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on June 05, 2016, 02:54:22 PM
Conor Lane is the worst ref in the country by far.

His performance in the Derry-Galway game last year was the most disgraceful performance I've seen in a long time and it wasn't down to incompetence either.

He's given Monaghan a nice helping hand today.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 05, 2016, 03:20:12 PM
One way traffic this second half 1-7 to 0-1 to Monaghan. Fifteen  plus point win on the cards unless Down have some fight in them for the last fifteen minutes.
Post by: Syferus on June 05, 2016, 03:32:57 PM
Down a single loss away from going winless in 2016 now.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 05, 2016, 03:34:17 PM
The last division 1 team to do that was Westmeath and look at them now.
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2016, 03:35:56 PM
Very disappointing from Down.
An Dún means the fortress but that was a good while ago
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 05, 2016, 03:39:34 PM
I'd say there are a lot of counties hoping to get Down in the backdoor.
Post by: armaghniac on June 05, 2016, 03:40:07 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 05, 2016, 03:35:56 PM
Very disappointing from Down.
An Dún means the fortress but that was a good while ago

They can always look to their U-21s.
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2016, 04:02:20 PM
 FT Monaghan 2-22 Down 0-09

Post by: BennyCake on June 05, 2016, 04:07:34 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 05, 2016, 03:39:34 PM
I'd say there are a lot of counties hoping to get Down in the backdoor.

Is that a euphemism?
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on June 05, 2016, 04:45:24 PM
No easy games in Ulster. Apart from all the games so far.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 05, 2016, 05:42:19 PM
No gimme games in the Ulster Championship!  :P

Winning the Ulster Championship is a war of attrition!  :P
Post by: ardtole on June 05, 2016, 05:47:31 PM
Poorest ulster championship i remember.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 05, 2016, 06:20:11 PM
The four semi finalists are all division 1 next year so semis should be much closer.
Post by: ardtole on June 05, 2016, 06:21:27 PM
Assuming donegal beat fermanagh.
Post by: FermPundit on June 05, 2016, 07:18:53 PM
Hopefully we'll put it up to Donegal. How did Down get to Division 1? They could follow Westmeath and drop down the divisions
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2016, 07:19:39 PM
Time for financial help for Ulster counties to promote football. ;D
Their champions should be a shop in for Sam going by the logic used here by many to explain all Kerry's AIs.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 05, 2016, 07:23:24 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2016, 07:19:39 PM
Time for financial help for Ulster counties to promote football. ;D
Their champions should be a shop in for Sam going by the logic used here by many to explain all Kerry's AIs.

Which outlet, in particular, might that be?
Post by: Main Street on June 05, 2016, 08:58:03 PM
 I was only able to watch the 2nd half, which by the sounds of it was different from what went on in the first half.  Monaghan had Down in their pocket from the 2nd half throw in, that wasn't down to fitness.
I thought the ref was good, played the advantage well. Great to see Finlay and Clerkin come on, it's a boon that they are intent on making the panel.
Winning gap should have been much wider but I suppose it will do.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 05, 2016, 09:09:29 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 05, 2016, 08:58:03 PM
I was only able to watch the 2nd half, which by the sounds of it was different from what went on in the first half.  Monaghan had Down in their pocket from the 2nd half throw in, that wasn't down to fitness.
I thought the ref was good, played the advantage well. Great to see Finlay and Clerkin come on, it's a boon that they are intent on making the panel.
Winning gap should have been much wider but I suppose it will do.

First half was very even. Down gave away a few silly frees and hit a few bad wides. Could easily have been them 3 up at half time
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 06, 2016, 10:29:03 AM
There's no doubt Down should have been ahead going in at HT. In terms of their scores, some of them were clever in that the likes of Poland/Maginn were able to create space/probe openings. If they had of continued with that more measured approach. However, some of their shot selection in the first half was poor and the Wylies/Duffy managed to keep them out wide and in the corners, forcing them to shoot from difficult angles. Monaghan were sluggish in the first half IMO, and have shown this a few times this year. Bar the frees, McManus hardly touched the ball. Once Monaghan got to grips in MF (due to Down completely fading in this area/Turley black card) it was one way traffic.. I thought Darren Hughes done a mountain of work, he both won and carried a lot of ball. He opened the Down defence several times with his trademark runs. Kieran was a handful in FF also and scored a great goal which finished the game as a contest.

It was a bizarre atmosphere in the sweltering heat. The supporters didn't know which way to look on the way out, both sets..

Monaghan will definitely not get it as handy again, no matter who comes through..

Post by: Maguire01 on June 06, 2016, 11:53:51 AM
Yep, very lucky to be ahead at half time. Down's shooting was awful. We definitely won handy frees, but I thought Down won a share of easy ones too - my bias, or was it that their frees weren't in scorable positions or weren't converted?

It was very clear after 20/25 minutes when Monaghan pushed up and it was 15 on 15 for the kickouts that the game turned. Monaghan cleaned up midfield (and it's not often you see that).

Great to have 11 players on the scoreboard too, and for Finlay and Clerkin to get some game time (and a great reception).

Looking forward to the semi-final now - it would be a phenomenal achievement if Monaghan reached a fourth consecutive provincial final.
Post by: Orior on June 06, 2016, 12:36:20 PM
Down were missing about 5 or 6 first team players all who oped out for very different reasons. Would bringing them in have changed the result?
Post by: The Subbie on June 06, 2016, 01:16:18 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 06, 2016, 12:36:20 PM
Down were missing about 5 or 6 first team players all who oped out for very different reasons. Would bringing them in have changed the result?

Have the explained their absence to Fearon?

Until they do they are not worthy of our time and their silence should dilute them in our eyes...... ::)
Post by: babarino on June 06, 2016, 02:43:00 PM
Went into the game thinking that there wasn't a major gulf in class between the two teams and an upset wasn't far fetched. We've managed to pull it off against teams when we were at a low ebb.

The black card on Turley was when the game was turning. He was the best player in the middle when the sides met in the league. His black card can't be disputed and bore the hallmarks of a player that was running out of steam.

The Down heads dropped showing signs of a team with no confidence. Most teams when they're being outplayed show a bit of aggression to test opposition in another way. Not so Down yesterday.
Post by: Jinxy on June 06, 2016, 03:00:56 PM
A lot of the Down players seemed to have their heads down and their tongues hanging out for much of the 2nd half.
I think the top 6 teams are so comfortable with their systems of play that they use their energy much more efficiently and spread the load.
I think nowadays, when the legs start to go against a well-drilled outfit like Monaghan, then you are liable to concede a cricket-score.
This explains why so many games are even enough up until half-time, and yet they still end up in a hammering by the end.
I don't think it's a massive gulf in quality per se.
More of a gulf in coaching & conditioning.
Post by: seafoid on June 06, 2016, 03:44:48 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 06, 2016, 03:00:56 PM
A lot of the Down players seemed to have their heads down and their tongues hanging out for much of the 2nd half.
I think the top 6 teams are so comfortable with their systems of play that they use their energy much more efficiently and spread the load.
I think nowadays, when the legs start to go against a well-drilled outfit like Monaghan, then you are liable to concede a cricket-score.
This explains why so many games are even enough up until half-time, and yet they still end up in a hammering by the end.
I don't think it's a massive gulf in quality per se.
More of a gulf in coaching & conditioning.
Also a gulf in time teams have been playing together
Monaghan are looking for their 4th ulster final in a row.
But they probably won't win Sam.

Galway, Down, Armagh  and Meath are all in the same boat. 
Post by: armaghniac on June 06, 2016, 04:45:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 06, 2016, 03:44:48 PM

I vote that we throw Down out of the boat.
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 06, 2016, 06:15:39 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 06, 2016, 04:45:11 PM

There's a whale that resembles Joe Brolly waiting to try and overturn the boat and gobble up anything in an orange jersey.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 06, 2016, 08:03:50 PM
Ger Canning said that was Kieran Hughes first championship goal. Is that right? I was sure I saw him score a goal years ago.
Post by: armaghniac on June 06, 2016, 08:24:53 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on June 06, 2016, 06:15:39 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 06, 2016, 04:45:11 PM

There's a whale that resembles Joe Brolly waiting to try and overturn the boat and gobble up anything in an orange jersey.

We'll throw him Tony Fearon, he'll not want more after that.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 06, 2016, 08:38:02 PM
Did anyone else notice that Henry Brown wasn't even mentioned in the player ratings in the Irish News today?
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 06, 2016, 10:11:09 PM
Henry might be happy enough to have been overlooked on this occasion.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 06, 2016, 11:14:03 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on June 06, 2016, 10:11:09 PM
Henry might be happy enough to have been overlooked on this occasion.

Agreed...
Post by: Gold on June 06, 2016, 11:40:49 PM
Noticed that too

Did anyone else think Turkeys black card was wrong? He got the ball but his arm followed through and it looked a possible black, but wasn't

Did turn the game...he's a great player who although hasn't the best feet and isn't the best fielder but he has some heart, battles and puts in serious hits and is physically strong enough to turn ball over...most other Down men weren't
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 06, 2016, 11:53:54 PM
Quote from: Gold on June 06, 2016, 11:40:49 PM
Noticed that too

Did anyone else think Turkeys black card was wrong? He got the ball but his arm followed through and it looked a possible black, but wasn't

Did turn the game...he's a great player who although hasn't the best feet and isn't the best fielder but he has some heart, battles and puts in serious hits and is physically strong enough to turn ball over...most other Down men weren't

On TV it definitely looked like a black card, but from my position on the terraces behind the goal I thought that he dispossessed the man and then the momentum carried him through and took him out. He didn't wrap his arms around him and drag him to ground and I thought it was pretty harsh - but again, watching it on the Sunday Game last night, the TV camera angles with the addition of slow motion made it look like a definite black.

To be fair I think the players didn't give up as badly as some are saying. With 72 minutes on the clock, Down were still taking quick frees and trying to get the ball up the pitch. In fact, one of McManus' two points from play came after Gearard McGovern ran virtually the length of the pitch to attack and couldn't get back on time to stop him around the 67th minute.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 07, 2016, 12:03:50 AM
Quote from: Gold on June 06, 2016, 11:40:49 PM
Noticed that too

Up until the black card he was one of our best players. The man's a machine...the amount of work he gets through is amazing.
Post by: gortnaleck on June 07, 2016, 01:49:44 AM
Is he a son of Paddy Turley who I think played with Abbey CBS
Post by: 5 Sams on June 07, 2016, 02:55:18 PM
Quote from: gortnaleck on June 07, 2016, 01:49:44 AM
Is he a son of Paddy Turley who I think played with Abbey CBS

Not sure. I think Paddy Turley was from Glenn. Peter plays with RGU.