Excluding SF,and assuming you could vote? Personally I don't see any material difference between any of them and they all look as nondescript as ours at Stormont.
Excluding SF it would have to be AAA/PBP and then the Social Democrats.
Fine Gael.
Think Fianna Fáil ruined the country with a property bubble as plain as the nose on your face.
Independents have some nice ideas but they'll hold no power and only lead to a more fractured dail.
Labour are useless, I personally hate Eamon Gilmore and his ilk.
Sinn Fein are plowing the same populist shite Fianna Fáil sold the south, cut your tax, fix the hse, no water charges, no property tax, golden roads for all etc. Oh and we'll not go to government with any party so we can make all the f**king promises we Like and never have to keep them.
Exclude Enda for a moment and there's a solid bunch of people around that top table at fg now that shatter and Reilly are ousted. Noonan, Coveney, Fitzgerald and Varadkar are all reasonably sound politicians, in the grand sample of Irish politicians it's about as good as you'd get. And look at the international alternatives, you could be voting for the likes of Cameron, trump, Jeb bush, hilary, merkel, osbourne, Nesbit, foster, abbot or tspras. None of whom or their parties I'd vote for in a fit.
In the ideal world we'd be ruled by a cabinet of jfk, John Hume, Tony Ryan and Gandhi. That's not reality though and you take the best of what you can get.
Quote from: trileacman on February 23, 2016, 11:05:55 PM
Fine Gael.
Think Fianna Fáil ruined the country with a property bubble as plain as the nose on your face.
Independents have some nice ideas but they'll hold no power and only lead to a more fractured dail.
Sinn Fein are plowing the same populist shite Fianna Fáil sold the south, cut your tax, fix the hse, no water charges, no property tax, golden roads for all etc. Oh and we'll not go to government with any party so we can make all the f**king promises we Like and never have to keep them.
Exclude Enda for a moment and there's a solid bunch of people around that top table at fg now that shatter and Reilly are ousted. Noonan, Coveney, Fitzgerald and Varadkar are all reasonably sound politicians, in the grand sample of Irish politicians it's about as good as you'd get. And look at the international alternatives, you could be voting for the likes of Cameron, trump, Jeb bush, hilary, merkel, osbourne, Nesbit, foster, abbot or tspras. None of whom or their parties I'd vote for in a fit.
In the ideal world we'd be ruled by a cabinet of jfk, John Hume, Tony Ryan and Gandhi. That's not reality though and you take the best of what you can get.
Good post.
Are SF not the party with the most modest tax cuts? I thought FF and FG were claiming bigger cuts.
SF who aren't putting up enough candidates to form a Govt have in their fairytale the abolition of property tax and the charge for public water and sewerage.
All the big 4's manifestos are fairy tales of tax cuts and spending increases and better public services.
Mammy O'Rourke pointed out last weekend that none of them could hope to implement their promises as we won't see 5 years of 3% growth rates.
Quote from: OgraAnDun on February 23, 2016, 10:26:34 PM
I would put a bullet in my head before voting for the blueshirts, who are pure evil. Any blueshirt voter I've ever encountered has been a vile piece of work.
The AAA/PBP and SF are not fit to be in the government of an independent country. Their carry on in relation to water charges makes them so. They can propose not charging for water if they wish, although their reasons for doing so are self serving. But their calling on people not to pay and offering an amnesty for these evaders if they get elected puts them outside the pale. For opposition parties to propose amnesties for their supporters as a means of getting elected undermines the State. If these parties were in power they would be incandescent if FF or FG said to their supporters "ignore this tax or charge, we'll sort you when we get back".
Quote from: armaghniac on February 24, 2016, 12:24:48 AM
The AAA/PBP and SF are not fit to be in the government of an independent country. Their carry on in relation to water charges makes them so. They can propose not charging for water if they wish, although their reasons for doing so are self serving. But their calling on people not to pay and offering an amnesty for these evaders if they get elected puts them outside the pale. For opposition parties to propose amnesties for their supporters as a means of getting elected undermines the State. If these parties were in power they would be incandescent if FF or FG said to their supporters "ignore this tax or charge, we'll sort you when we get back".
Did you oppose the civil rights movement?
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on February 24, 2016, 12:34:08 AM
What an immature comment. I'd say you weren't around when there was a civil rights movements.
The civil rights movement was not about a refusal to pay for services, it was a noble movement not one of freeloaders.
Quote from: armaghniac on February 24, 2016, 12:42:36 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on February 24, 2016, 12:34:08 AM
What an immature comment. I'd say you weren't around when there was a civil rights movements.
The civil rights movement was not about a refusal to pay for services, it was a noble movement not one of freeloaders.
That's a very immature comment, so people should accept indirect taxes which are not in anyway fair or progressive when the low income workers and underprivileged in Irish society are already being discriminated by penal taxes and living costs by the government. There seems to be an awful lot of hardship in the free state at the minute with homelessness and healthcare. Calling them freeloaders is Tatcheresque?
There is a choice between progressive taxes based on income and wealth, where the burden is scaled on the more you earn the more you contribute and there is a choice that you can place taxes on those who are struggling to mate ends meet for the benefit of those who can afford to pay.
You're a right little Tory, aren't you?
You can advocate a particular type of tax and vote for a party you agree with. If your party doesn't win then you get something different, that is called democracy. Not paying is simple freeloading.
Quote from: armaghniac on February 24, 2016, 01:36:40 AM
You can advocate a particular type of tax and vote for a party you agree with. If your party doesn't win then you get something different, that is called democracy. Not paying is simple freeloading.
Was the civil rights movement freeloaders as they kicked off over the allocation of social housing?
Quote from: Hardy on February 23, 2016, 11:52:02 PM
Fine Gael.
Good post.
That's it in a nutshell for me too.
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on February 24, 2016, 12:14:14 AM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on February 23, 2016, 10:26:34 PM
I would put a bullet in my head before voting for the blueshirts, who are pure evil. Any blueshirt voter I've ever encountered has been a vile piece of work.
Do you know trileacman??
Quote from: armaghniac on February 24, 2016, 01:36:40 AM
Depends on how many of the other costs of the meltdown were dropped on them. Class sizes were increased, medical charges upped, social welfare benefits reduced. Working poor and unemployed took a lot of hits and water wouldn't match them cost wise.
Fair play to them for sticking 2 fingers up to the narrative of success.
I have to admit the badness in me might vote for the Shinners just to annoy Official Ireland, RTE and IN. But in reality at the moment I'd probably vote for some single issue local independent who might ensure that the pothole at the bottom of the road might be filled in at some stage before 2021.
Can people in the south not just vote for the shinners for the craic and see how it goes. Sure they country is being run from Brussels anyway. Would really put the shits up the loyalist & unionist politicians up here in the wee six.
I'd normally align myself with any labour movement but the Irish Labour party are in bad shape. PBP are for opposition only, they couldn't govern shit. The Shinners seem to have better people in the South than North but they need to replace Gerry as leader. Fianna Fail are scum and Fine Gael are too far to the right for me but seem to have the best group of competent people. So like I intend to do here in the north, I would vote Independent or Green.
Fine Gael.
Noonan a sound politician?
The guy is mired in corruption, incompetence, arrogance and cronyism.
What planet are you living on and how sheltered are you to his past.
Leader of Fine Gael when they evaded tax for 9 years.
Point blank refused to investigate child sex abuse allegations.
The Hep C scandal.
He is a heinous individual.
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on February 24, 2016, 10:47:27 AM
Fine Gael.
The Hep C scandal.
Not nearly strong enough. Noonan is a traitor to humanity.
Quote from: AQMP on February 24, 2016, 09:38:47 AM
I have to admit the badness in me might vote for the Shinners just to annoy Official Ireland, RTE and IN. But in reality at the moment I'd probably vote for some single issue local independent who might ensure that the pothole at the bottom of the road might be filled in at some stage before 2021.
This is all very fine, but an election is to elect a government and governments are not as powerless as some people claim. Electing a crowd of loolahs as an "up yours" gesture is dangerous, it is OK to make such points on a discussion board but but this is not reality.
QuoteNot nearly strong enough. Noonan is a traitor to humanity.
I heard he was going to invade Poland.
I'm just mildly surprised someone would admit that they would vote Fine Gael.
I'd probably give SF or the Greens my first preference.
Noonan, Coveney, Fitzgerald and Varadkar are all reasonably sound politicians,
Frances Fitzgerald? Seriously?
Fine Gael.
The Hep C scandal.
Gassed the syrians too.
Quote from: trileacman on February 24, 2016, 01:55:51 PM
Fine Gael.
The Hep C scandal.
Gassed the syrians too.
You think a chap who has had scandals follow him around like a bad smell in every senior political position he has held is a sound politician. Throughout his career he has shown nothing but contempt for the Irish people.
"Sound Politician" Michael Noonan.
http://www.broadsheet.ie/2016/02/24/grace-noonan-and-monageer/
People before Profit are the only other All-Ireland party in the entire country. So for me it would be SF 1, PBP 2
Quote from: Feckitt on February 24, 2016, 02:41:26 PM
People before Profit are the only other All-Ireland party in the entire country. So for me it would be SF 1, PBP 2
While they may be All Ireland parties, these parties are a threat to the hope of a United Ireland becuase the obstacle to a UI is economic and an inability to fund public services and these exacerbate that problem because their entire concern is taking money off one set of people to give it to their supporters rather than improving the country for all.
PBP are also complete frauds, Boyd Barrett claimed €12000 in expenses in one year for his car for going from Dun Laoghaire to the Dail. Any credible left wing politician or Green would have gone on the bus or DART. I ran my car for 5 years for €12,000!
When is this Free State election? Are you confusing it with the election in the republic?
I heard he was going to invade Poland.
Comparing Noonan to Hitler?
I suppose one of them used and abused his position of power to further his own devious and immoral gains at the behest of the very people who voted for him while protecting his vested interests and disgracefully treating those he should have been helping.
The other one was Adolf Hitler
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on February 24, 2016, 02:02:01 PM
Fine Gael.
The Hep C scandal.
Gassed the syrians too.
You think a chap who has had scandals follow him around like a bad smell in every senior political position he has held is a sound politician. Throughout his career he has shown nothing but contempt for the Irish people.
Like Gerry Adams?
Quote from: Rossfan on February 24, 2016, 03:36:08 PM
Fine Gael.
The Hep C scandal.
Gassed the syrians too.
Like Gerry Adams?
Gerry Adams has put his life on the line to look after the civil liberties of his people.
What has Michael Noonan ever sacrificed?
When it comes to integrity, Adams has plenty of it and Noonan has none.
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on February 24, 2016, 05:39:01 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 24, 2016, 03:36:08 PM
Fine Gael.
The Hep C scandal.
Gassed the syrians too.
Like Gerry Adams?
Gerry Adams has put his life on the line to look after the civil liberties of his people.
What has Michael Noonan ever sacrificed?
Ah come on
Obviously the Maria Cahill and other similar cover ups have been airbrushed from SF lackeydom.
Quote from: Rossfan on February 24, 2016, 05:48:24 PM
Obviously the Maria Cahill and other similar cover ups have been airbrushed from SF lackeydom.
Dissident Republican Mairia Cahill is it?
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on February 24, 2016, 05:39:01 PM
And sheltering his peado brother, he has a top record on sexual abuse our Gerry.
QuoteQuote from: Rossfan on Today at 05:48:24 PM
Dissident Republican Mairia Cahill is it?
She fairly took the DUP for a ride! Paul Givan's special guest to Stormont!! Lol
Adams will rightly be remembered as one of the greatest political leaders this island has seen.
Quote from: haranguerer on February 25, 2016, 05:34:37 PM
Adams will rightly be remembered as one of the greatest political leaders this island has seen.
He will be remembered, the man who overthrew the Sunningdale agreement and who fought for 2 decades to get it back.
And Adams knowing his brother to be a paedophile and was working in youth clubs in West Belfast
http://news.sky.com/story/1174377/liam-adams-jailed-for-raping-daughter
Aine Adams, who has waived her right to anonymity, told police her mother and uncle Gerry had confronted her father but he denied any wrongdoing. She and her mother reported the abuse but later retracted because they felt police were more interested in the politics of her father and uncle.
It would appear, shock horror, that the police had another agenda
Quote from: haranguerer on February 25, 2016, 06:37:33 PM
Aine Adams, who has waived her right to anonymity, told police her mother and uncle Gerry had confronted her father but he denied any wrongdoing. She and her mother reported the abuse but later retracted because they felt police were more interested in the politics of her father and uncle.
Liam Adams confessed to Gerry Adams in 2000 that he had abused Aine Adams, Adams didn't tell anyone. Liam Adams then got a job as a youth worker in Clonard Youth Club, in West Belfast. And I think there were other youth worker roles working with children.
You cannot spin this.
Quote from: armaghniac on February 25, 2016, 05:44:35 PM
He will be remembered, the man who overthrew the Sunningdale agreement and who fought for 2 decades to get it back.
Was it not the Unionist opposition, loyalist violence and intimidation, and the UWC strike that led to the collapse of Sunningdale??
Quote from: Minder on February 25, 2016, 07:20:44 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 25, 2016, 06:37:33 PM
Liam Adams confessed to Gerry Adams in 2000 that he had abused Aine Adams, Adams didn't tell anyone. Liam Adams then got a job as a youth worker in Clonard Youth Club, in West Belfast. And I think there were other youth worker roles working with children.
You cannot spin this.
I'm not trying to spin anything, I'm pointing out that to say there wasn't a normal policing situation is an understatement, and the course of action you would expect anyone to take clearly wasn't available to the Adams family, as evidenced by the report above.
Did Gerry Adams not give evidence against his brother to see him put behind bars?
A bit of an exaggeration there to say the least ;D
Quote from: AQMP on February 25, 2016, 09:14:04 PM
Was it not the Unionist opposition, loyalist violence and intimidation, and the UWC strike that led to the collapse of Sunningdale??
Yes, but the IRA was going at the time as well. If Republicans had rowed into the agreement and told the British to get on with it, the British might have stood up to the loyalists.
Quote from: armaghniac on February 25, 2016, 11:49:49 PM
Yes, but the IRA was going at the time as well. If Republicans had rowed into the agreement and told the British to get on with it, the British might have stood up to the loyalists.
;D That is utter shite.
I'm not a SF lackey, but Ms Cahill appeared content at one stage to allow the IRA to deal with her abusers and later was associated with dissidents so her airing of the abuse she suffered must be view in this context. That in no way excuses it and it should have been reported at the time to the police. However the community from which she comes would not have had any faith in the RUC, something that seems strangely beyond the comprehension of some in the South of this country. Just as tawdry as the provisional movements original handling of the abuse was the opportunistic way in which parties in the South used it as a political stick to beat SF.
This has to go down as one of the classic posts on the board. Seriously, what feckin planet are you on??
Quote from: Applesisapples on February 26, 2016, 09:14:57 AM
I'm not a SF lackey, but Ms Cahill appeared content at one stage to allow the IRA to deal with her abusers and later was associated with dissidents so her airing of the abuse she suffered must be view in this context. That in no way excuses it and it should have been reported at the time to the police. However the community from which she comes would not have had any faith in the RUC, something that seems strangely beyond the comprehension of some in the South of this country. Just as tawdry as the provisional movements original handling of the abuse was the opportunistic way in which parties in the South used it as a political stick to beat SF.
It's called politics
aAa, PBP or an independent.
Quote from: Saffrongael on February 26, 2016, 10:40:35 AM
It's called politics
No it is beyond politics when it uses someone else's misery or plight.
Quote from: AQMP on February 26, 2016, 09:32:49 AM
This has to go down as one of the classic posts on the board. Seriously, what feckin planet are you on??
Alternative histories are matters of opinion. I said that Adams had opposed Sunningdale and then fought for 20 years to get much the same thing. This remains true whatever you think would have happened if he had supported Sunningdale.
Quote from: Applesisapples on February 26, 2016, 11:03:50 AM
Gee, I can't imagine why SF would like that to be true.
(PS I don't think you are a Shinner lackey.)
Quote from: deiseach on February 26, 2016, 11:16:04 AM
Gee, I can't imagine why SF would like that to be true.
(PS I don't think you are a Shinner lackey.)
As Seamus Brennan I think it was said to the Greens in the negotiations to for a Government in 2007 -
" Ye're playin senior hurlin now lads"
Quote from: armaghniac on February 26, 2016, 11:10:53 AM
Quote from: AQMP on February 26, 2016, 09:32:49 AM
Alternative histories are matters of opinion. I said that Adams had opposed Sunningdale and then fought for 20 years to get much the same thing. This remains true whatever you think would have happened if he had supported Sunningdale.
No, you said he'd be remembered as the man who overthrew the sunningdale agreement. ;D
You'd do well not to parrot Mallons bitter ramblings
I've always thought Seamus Mallon was having a dig at Unionism. That is certainly a better application of the term than to the Provos whose opinion on Sunningdale carried no weight whatsoever.
I agree with you on both counts.
His sunningdale quote would nonetheless seem likely to have been armaghniacs inspiration for his speak
Sunningdale could not have suceeded while the IRA were conducting a war at the time, apart from anything else moderate Protestants would expect peace in return for a settlement. Bombs in England such as the M62 bomb hardly encouraged the British government or military either. Paisley and Adams are two sides of the same coin, they overthrew Sunningdale while working something not vastly different 2000 lives later.
Best just leave it mate
Quote from: Saffrongael on February 26, 2016, 10:40:35 AM
It's called politics
Has every party not used (or at least pretended to) someone else misery or plight?
'the most vulnerable in society'
'victims of British/Loyalist/Republican violence'
'inequality'
'the poverty line'
'the widening gap in society'
'those carrying the tax burden'Surely all politicians fight to be seen on the moral high ground?
Quote from: haranguerer on February 26, 2016, 04:30:48 PM
Best just leave it mate
What is the point of contention here? That Adams wanted to overthrow the Sunningdale agreement or that he is off the hook because similar elements on the other side got there first?
Are you saying that Adams supported the Sunnindale agreeement?
I'm saying you've made a bollocks of yourself here and you should just leave it, as your attempts to claw your way out are more likely to make you look worse than better
Quote from: haranguerer on February 26, 2016, 08:59:40 PM
I'm saying you've made a bollocks of yourself here and you should just leave it, as your attempts to claw your way out are more likely to make you look worse than better
I suppose that's one way to avoid my question, are you saying that Adams supported the Sunnindale agreement?
But you should really have just stared at a spot on the wall and said nothing.