This is a pity. I'd say Teddy lost the rag a bit, but is there no-one there in Croke Park that could say 'Jaysus this is the only lad that won both medals, would ye let him in?'
CorporateGAA
http://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/they-were-treating-me-like-a-bowzy-in-a-nightclub-teddy-mccarthy-refused-entry-for-cork-jubilee-celebrations/40750?utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=Promoted+Post&utm_campaign=SportsJOE_Sep15 (http://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/they-were-treating-me-like-a-bowzy-in-a-nightclub-teddy-mccarthy-refused-entry-for-cork-jubilee-celebrations/40750?utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=Promoted+Post&utm_campaign=SportsJOE_Sep15)
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 21, 2015, 02:08:24 PM
This is a pity. I'd say Teddy lost the rag a bit, but is there no-one there in Croke Park that could say 'Jaysus this is the only lad that won both medals, would ye let him in?'
CorporateGAA
http://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/they-were-treating-me-like-a-bowzy-in-a-nightclub-teddy-mccarthy-refused-entry-for-cork-jubilee-celebrations/40750?utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=Promoted+Post&utm_campaign=SportsJOE_Sep15 (http://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/they-were-treating-me-like-a-bowzy-in-a-nightclub-teddy-mccarthy-refused-entry-for-cork-jubilee-celebrations/40750?utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=Promoted+Post&utm_campaign=SportsJOE_Sep15)
I thought it was strange why teddy mccarthy was represented by billy morgan. Usually, it'd be a family member if the person couldn't be there, for whatever reason. This obviously explains it.
A shame he wasn't on the pitch, but it sounds like Teddy might have been as much to blame as the security?
In fairness it sounds like Teddy was getting thrown from pillar to post, and got fed up of it. Then a jobsworth security guy obviously pissed him off even more.
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 21, 2015, 03:08:36 PM
In fairness it sounds like Teddy was getting thrown from pillar to post, and got fed up of it. Then a jobsworth security guy obviously pissed him off even more.
Teddy should have just appealed it.
Obviously, I have no idea of the details of what happened.
But I'll put it like this, if it was me that was being honoured at some function for whatever reason, I'd make sure to go in!!
I wouldn't sit in my car and start driving home 3 hours before the event!
That's not to say the security personnel are blameless either.
Where the f**k was Frank Murphy? He'd have had the whole day cancelled, and Sam Maguire awarded to Cork, and lifted by Teddy.
Clowns at security should know Teddy is...
Teddy causing a row, I wonder did he drive home?
Apparently he did. It was around noon time, I doubt he had much soup taken if that's what you mean. He was there for the hurling 2 weeks ago after all.
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 21, 2015, 02:08:24 PM
CorporateGAA
Considering the lad obviously got in two weeks prior with the hurlers there's a good chance he went to the same entrance and for some reason got turned back.
No wonder he was pissed off after getting the run around by lads in hi-viz jackets!
I had the misfortune of entering Croker by the wrong entrance one time (despite checking with security) and I was sent from Billy to Jack until eventually I gave up and went back to the place I started. I was quite thick but eventually got to where I was supposed to get. Wasted about and hour though, good job I had gone in early.
Quote from: longballin on September 21, 2015, 03:32:32 PM
Clowns at security should know Teddy is...
Good chance some of the lads on security weren't Irish.....and if they were Irish then they'd be too young to know Teddy I'd say.
I'm sure Teddy told them who he was :)
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 21, 2015, 04:20:37 PM
I'm sure Teddy told them who he was :)
He probably did an Indiana!
Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh was looking on as it happened...
"Teddy looks at the bouncer, the bouncer looks at Teddy."
Corporate GAA.
No way to treat patrons all the same.
Like to see the full facts here before commenting tbh.
Quote from: ashman on September 21, 2015, 04:30:05 PM
None of that sort of talk!
I'm surprised Teddy didn't just head to the bar across the road for the day.
McKenna is to blame
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on September 21, 2015, 08:40:30 PM
McKenna is to blame
He is, he is the boss. This is well out of order. If you have invited guests then any personnel should send them, even escort them, to the correct entrance if they happen to have gone to the other one. If that requires a master list of the different types of invitations/tickets and entrances then it that should have been provided and it is McKenna's role to organise this kind of thing.
Not allowed in? Surely that's not factual.Simple case of the three guys he encountered, probably under enormous pressure to not put a foot wrong,were unsure as to where he should be directed.Not the first Cork midfielder to desert his team mates in a big sporting occasion due to a childish tantrum :(
Sounds more like teddy is the one at fault. Where were his old team mates? You'd think they would be hanging around together for a pint beforehand anyhow.
had a run in with the stewards on the premium level myself this year, i actually think they are stupid and don't be aware of ticket locations. Teddy McCarthy done something special 25yrs when he won hurling and football all-stars in the same year. I thought it be surpassed it hasn't, if he had the right pass and the steward knew this function was on there was hardly no need to sent him from pillar to Post, i been pissed off too!
LOL you'll learn :D
Ah ffs he wasn't recognised,and the stewards were unsure where he should go on the biggest day of the year when there was loads of functions on.Big deal.I remember Colm Mc Kinstry, the Armagh midfielder,turning up at the All Stars do in 1980, and feeling isolated,he was alone and was sure some of his fellow All Stars didn't even know who he was,and Kerry midfielder Sean Walsh read the situation and went over to set him at ease,for which he was very grateful.
Very childish from Mc Carthy,I have to say.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 21, 2015, 11:18:45 PM
LOL you'll learn :D
True . The Internet is no place for reasoned consideration of facts.
Quote from: T Fearon on September 21, 2015, 11:28:42 PM
Ah ffs he wasn't recognised,and the stewards were unsure where he should go on the biggest day of the year when there was loads of functions on.Big deal.I remember Colm Mc Kinstry, the Armagh midfielder,turning up at the All Stars do in 1980, and feeling isolated,he was alone and was sure some of his fellow All Stars didn't even know who he was,and Kerry midfielder Sean Walsh read the situation and went over to set him at ease,for which he was very grateful.
Very childish from Mc Carthy,I have to say.
Ah for Gods sake - everybody knew who Colm McKinstry was back in '80. Are you suggesting Armagh should have had a second All-Star to keep him company :D. Imagine poor Joe McGrath goin up there in '79 on his own :'( Don't know how he managed. The 3 Rossies would have blanked him anyway ;) and sure nobody else would have a clue who he was. I doubt he was ever on the telly.
But you re right. Teddy lost it for some reason and reading between the lines I suspect that he knows he did.
But its the Corks birth-right to throw tantrums. Roy Keane, Stephen Ireland, Dónal Óg e.g.
I had an experience in CP earlier this year. Printed out tickets and print was small. One of the kids got in on an adult ticket by mistake and the missus was stranded with a kid ticket. A couple of mobile calls and stewards arrived at our seats and we sorted the tickets out and the boss was in in no time.
Did Teddy have a bit of 'do you not know who I am' syndrome. If he did he needs to cop on. I saw Jack O Connor in the Cusack restaurant at ht in senior match and I swear some of the Kerry fans didn t give him a second glance.
I doubt Teddy had an ego about him. He had his tickets and all. We re all human and sometimes we get in a strop and another day we wouldn t let similar circumstances annoy us. Being moved from Billy to Jack and back to Billy is annoying. But usually you put up with it. It seems Teddy got annoyed and said a few things and went away in a huff. It can happen.
I think in Mc Kinstry's case it was more a case of regular All Stars sticking together,that made him feel out on a limb.
Teddy Mc Carthy's behaviour is unforgivable.Not only abusing the privilege of free access at the highest level to the prime event in the GAA calendar,but he must surely have known that his absence from the parade would have been noticed and the reasons why explored.
While we are all capable of strops most of us calm down and put things in perspective.Mc Carthy's failure to do so,in response even to an Ex President's appeal to him to return,doesn't say much for him I'm afraid.
Quote from: T Fearon on September 22, 2015, 05:07:24 AM
I think in Mc Kinstry's case it was more a case of regular All Stars sticking together,that made him feel out on a limb.
Teddy Mc Carthy's behaviour is unforgivable.Not only abusing the privilege of free access at the highest level to the prime event in the GAA calendar,but he must surely have known that his absence from the parade would have been noticed and the reasons why explored.
On the contrary, his actions will expose the shoddy organisation at Croke Park that treats with contempt those it purports to honour. The public nature of this makes it likely that something will be done to rectify this.
I disagree.I would imagine Croke Park on All Ireland Final day is mayhem,and inevitably things occur on the day to increase the mayhem.Way over the top over reaction to a fairly innocuous misunderstanding, and worst of all the failure to calm down and wise up afterwards,beggars belief.
Quote from: T Fearon on September 22, 2015, 07:15:46 AM
I disagree.I would imagine Croke Park on All Ireland Final day is mayhem,and inevitably things occur on the day to increase the mayhem.Way over the top over reaction to a fairly innocuous misunderstanding, and worst of all the failure to calm down and wise up afterwards,beggars belief.
It is only mayhem if it is not organised. All that was required was for the first person to say, "I'm sorry Sir, you need to go to X" where x is the correct gate. Not difficult. He eventually spoke to the Head of Security who told him to go away, rather than bringing him to the lunch or whatever needed to be done. It is useful that arrogance and incompetence is exposed, although I'm sure nothing will be done about it, as usual.
Openly admits he lost the rag. Security asked him to leave and return km an hour. Manys a door man has told me likewise (without good reason) so I can empathise a bit. Moral of the story don't be a dick head around door staff cos then they definitely won't let you in.
Teddy has had his demons - was some player. Is how I like to remember him. Tony and a few happy to stick the boot in now.
Fault on both sides I'm sure. Croke Park staff are under pressure and encounter a lot of people who are lost, in the wrong place, trying to wrangle a seating upgrade, or God knows what. A lot of staff wouldn't be necessarily GAA people either, whether they be drawn from the local community or non-nationals. Unfortunately players and past legends can often be a lesser consideration for those in charge of stadium logistics.
Last year Tomas O Se wrote about Peter McKenna:
"I know stadium director Peter McKenna is brilliant at what he does, but his brief isn't the promotion of the GAA. His brief is to drive the commercial side of the Association and I applaud him for it. He's clearly a very shrewd operator.
But I remember walking down a corridor of Croke Park after winning the All-Ireland in '09, being stopped by him and asked where I was going. He didn't know who I was from Adam. I explained that I was a player, just trying to get down to meet some friends.
I'll admit I was lost and I'm pretty sure that, technically, I shouldn't have been where I found myself. But, at that moment, I might as well have been an intruder caught climbing down out of an air-vent. Look he's a busy guy and I know he's doing a fantastic job."
Also, Teddy McCarthy overreacted too. We've all been in similar situations. Imagine how Teddy would react if he had to ring tech support for UPC or Eircom? It would be youtube gold I'm sure. After you've been sent from pillar to post a couple of times, surely you either ask to be let in the entrance you're at, or ask the person to escort you to the correct location, or else ask to see their supervisor.
Exactly.
On the one hand I've seen the engagement of Croke Park personnel, from top to bottom, with their paying customers and their default approach is that of a pig. With a dose of piles and a superior attitude.
On the other hand I've now had a couple of decades' experience of how Cork GAA people approach a problem, difficulty or misunderstanding. And Teddy's approach seems to have been straight from the text book.
The most salient comment I've seen:
Quote from: moysider on September 22, 2015, 12:13:30 AM
its the Corks birth-right to throw tantrums
Could he not have contacted Frank Murphy?
That would have fixed everyrhing :)
I'm sorry, but why is it Teddy's fault??
This seems to be a clear case of incompetent staff, an incompetent/ arrogant manager, and a frustrated guest!!!
He turns up with the right tickets, and the paid staff, not only were not able to help him get in, but were hindering him to get in.
If he loses his temper, the paid security security staff should have acted professionally, cooled the situation and got him to where he was meant to be. It's called good service.
But to be told to come back in an hour, by that time he would have missed a major part of the get together is a disgrace.
The head of security should get fired for this, and CP owe Teddy a hugh apology. (The silence from CP is also a disgrace)
Also, to people who are criticizing his "thick" personality trait, it was this same personality trait of not taking any BS during games that lead him to be a duel All Ireland winner....
Quote from: armaghniac on September 22, 2015, 05:10:14 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 22, 2015, 05:07:24 AM
While we are all capable of strops most of us calm down and put things in perspective.Mc Carthy's failure to do so,in response even to an Ex President's appeal to him to return,doesn't say much for him I'm afraid.
On the contrary, his actions will expose the shoddy organisation at Croke Park that treats with contempt those it purports to honour. The public nature of this makes it likely that something will be done to rectify this.
I think Tony is outraged on 2 fronts here.
1. Someone else got the free tickets
2. There awa a lack of unquestioning obedience to soemone in Authority
Given that Teddy went through the same process exactly two weeks previous he should of had some clue where he was supposed to go etc??
Quote from: Boycey on September 22, 2015, 10:56:49 AM
Given that Teddy went through the same process exactly two weeks previous he should of had some clue where he was supposed to go etc??
Red card >:( >:( >:(
Teddy says that himself. I think he was in the right place first off, and the fact he was sent back there at the end would suggest the same.
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 22, 2015, 11:00:32 AM
Teddy says that himself. I think he was in the right place first off, and the fact he was sent back there at the end would suggest the same.
Teddy was de facto tried, found guilty and sanctioned by security, as evidenced by the 'go away and come back in an hour' statement.
If security was anyway important they would hire staff from further along the evolutionary chain, but they don't.
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2015, 11:11:00 AM
Teddy was de facto tried, found guilty and sanctioned by security, as evidenced by the 'go away and come back in an hour' statement.
If security was anyway important they would hire staff from further along the evolutionary chain, but they don't.
Sounds to me like you have tried and found guilty the security without knowing all of the facts...
Some people are just unreasonable, sounds like there were a few involved in this instance. Was up the premium for the hurling final a few years ago and called down to chat to the aul lad who was in a different section. Was standing out of the way at the back chatting away when a steward asked where was I sitting. Told him I was up the way and would be gone in a minute. Fella nearby overheard and said the seat beside him was free as his wife had left the ticket at home (she was probably from Cork :P) and wouldn't be coming. So I hopped in beside him and your man went away. He must have thought about this for 10 minutes as he arrived back and proceeded to make a hoo ha that I had to be in the exact seat on my ticket and the fire officer would be enforcing it. Some people. ::)
I'd hold off hanging the security men just yet until the full facts emerge
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 22, 2015, 12:52:46 PM
Some people are just unreasonable, sounds like there were a few involved in this instance. Was up the premium for the hurling final a few years ago and called down to chat to the aul lad who was in a different section. Was standing out of the way at the back chatting away when a steward asked where was I sitting. Told him I was up the way and would be gone in a minute. Fella nearby overheard and said the seat beside him was free as his wife had left the ticket at home (she was probably from Cork :P) and wouldn't be coming. So I hopped in beside him and your man went away. He must have thought about this for 10 minutes as he arrived back and proceeded to make a hoo ha that I had to be in the exact seat on my ticket and the fire officer would be enforcing it. Some people. ::)
Think I told this story on here before but a few years ago I went to a game on my own(think it was Laois v Wexford as part of a Dublin double header) and sat in the seat that was on my ticket.
It started to rain and I moved back under cover to where there was loads of empty seats. A steward saw me moving and same thing happened like yourself he came over and asked me to move back to my seat.
I told him to go fcuk himself as you do and he went off in a huff muttering something about getting a Guard.
Anyway back he came with a Garda in tow and pointed at me and said that's him.
I took one look at the Guard and burst out laughing,and so did the Guard. The steward hadn't a clue what was going on.
The Guard he brought back was my brother.!
Anyway I didn't move and the brother told the steward to stop wasting his time.
Quote from: Boycey on September 22, 2015, 11:29:43 AM
Sounds to me like you have tried and found guilty the security without knowing all of the facts...
I know they refused him entry. I know they sent him away. I know they told him to come back again when he had cooled down. They are the facts as we have them.
So no I haven't tried them, no I haven't found them guilty and I notice you left out the bit about sentencing.
I would be happy to see more facts, but they sanctioned him, no matter how you look at it.
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2015, 01:15:49 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 22, 2015, 11:29:43 AM
I know they refused him entry. I know they sent him away. I know they told him to come back again when he had cooled down. They are the facts as we have them.
Quote from: heffo on September 22, 2015, 12:56:34 PM
Yes. I'd imagine there are a few "facts" Teddy has omitted from his version of events.
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on September 22, 2015, 01:25:24 PM
Yes. I'd imagine there are a few "facts" Teddy has omitted from his version of events.
So is the GAA are going to blame Teddy McCarthy?
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2015, 01:28:53 PM
Given what happened for the sake of all concerned, I'd say they'll leave it at that
The have refused to comment.
This is a prime example of a storm in a teacup. Teddy said in the article he was obviously hacked off and asked them who was running the zoo. He also snatched the ticket from the hand of the security man so you can see why the security staff got riled in return. Both parties to blame and Teddy didn't need to huff and go home - very childish. I would have went anyway and stuck the boot in when talking to one of the HQ bigwigs.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 22, 2015, 01:32:34 PM
This is a prime example of a storm in a teacup. Teddy said in the article he was obviously hacked off and asked them who was running the zoo. He also snatched the ticket from the hand of the security man so you can see why the security staff got riled in return. Both parties to blame and Teddy didn't need to huff and go home - very childish. I would have went anyway and stuck the boot in when talking to one of the HQ bigwigs.
I disagree.
McCarthy was a guest.
The GAA needs to see this as a customer service issue and NOT a security issue. I see this as extremely embarrassing for the GAA.
Depends how much shit he was getting. Those security events guys are ignorant f**kers a lot of the time, it has to be said. And not just in Croke Park.
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2015, 01:36:07 PM
I disagree.
McCarthy was a guest.
The GAA needs to see this as a customer service issue and NOT a security issue. I see this as extremely embarrassing for the GAA.
How can you disagree that both parties are to blame when the party you are assigning innocence to has admitted to acting the bollocks!
Quote from: laoislad on September 22, 2015, 01:08:40 PM
Think I told this story on here before but a few years ago I went to a game on my own(think it was Laois v Wexford as part of a Dublin double header) and sat in the seat that was on my ticket.
It started to rain and I moved back under cover to where there was loads of empty seats. A steward saw me moving and same thing happened like yourself he came over and asked me to move back to my seat.
I told him to go fcuk himself as you do and he went off in a huff muttering something about getting a Guard.
I took one look at the Guard and burst out laughing,and so did the Guard. The steward hadn't a clue what was going on.
That's brilliant LL!!!!
Teddy did act the bollocks, but I find it incredible that he would have encountered several people and NOT ONE said "hang on, you're Teddy McCarthy! Give us a second, I'll find someone who can get you to where you need to go". You see it all the time in daily life, a member of staff willing to go the extra yard to sort out a customer in distress. That no one did this for a bona fide legend of the game, a man with literally a unique place in the pantheon, when he was in distress in what is supposed to be the Pantheon, is dispiriting.
Quote from: deiseach on September 22, 2015, 02:04:25 PM
Teddy did act the bollocks, but I find it incredible that he would have encountered several people and NOT ONE said "hang on, you're Teddy McCarthy! Give us a second, I'll find someone who can get you to where you need to go". You see it all the time in daily life, a member of staff willing to go the extra yard to sort out a customer in distress. That no one did this for a bona fide legend of the game, a man with literally a unique place in the pantheon, when he was in distress in what is supposed to be the Pantheon, is dispiriting.
+1 Obviously he was being thick, but this was a big day and he was an honoured guest. Someone tried to be officious and Teddy being a purebred Cork man, said 'f**k ye all so' like a child, and left.
He should have been managed. In corporate speak, it's called customer service. When you add in the fact that this customer is actually being honoured on the day, it's a bit bizarre to be honest.
I can't believe something like this should happen. I'd imagine all the jubilee team should be put up in the hotel the night before or at the very least meet up for a brunch beforehand and all be fast-tracked through security.
This reflects very badly on the GAA in my view. It shouldn't have happened.
Quote from: heffo on September 22, 2015, 02:06:58 PM
It's a figure of speech, heffo. If it's a bit Penelope Pitstop for you, swap out 'in distress' for 'stressed out'.
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 22, 2015, 02:11:08 PM
I can't believe something like this should happen. I'd imagine all the jubilee team should be put up in the hotel the night before or at the very least meet up for a brunch beforehand and all be fast-tracked through security.
That's a good point. Having a guy turn up under his own steam suggests they're doing it on the cheap, which is bad form.
Tony would advise Teddy to read his Matthew 5:38-42.
Quote from: deiseach on September 22, 2015, 02:11:30 PM
It's a figure of speech, heffo. If it's a bit Penelope Pitstop for you, swap out 'in distress' for 'stressed out'.
I know that, I could think of other adjectives though to describe his state
Quote from: heffo on September 22, 2015, 02:13:53 PM
Tired and emotional? ;)
Quote from: heffo on September 22, 2015, 02:13:53 PM
Tired and emotional??
Yeah heffo are we not allowed to say that he "possibly/allegedly/maybe" had drink on board and that may be the reason there was such a hullaballoo. I have no prior knowledge of McCarthy but that was how I read the story when it first appeared.
I'm not saying the stewards were correct in sending him round the houses but when a fairly routine error occured it sounds like he lost the plot a bit and the security chief thought it might be in everyone's interest if he had an hour of sober reflection and came back it would all be OK?
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 22, 2015, 02:13:39 PM
Tony would advise Teddy to read his Matthew 5:38-42.
Teddy baytes the tar out of people who refer to themselves in the third person.
heffo, even if he was locked, he should have been looked after. And how locked could he be at midday? At the end of the day, a gaa legend, there to be honoured by the association, was not looked after by the security guys. Fecks sake, couldn't the guy in charge just go and get one of the other Cork lads to bring him in. Being told to go away and cool down sounds so condescending, and if he did have a few pints on him, it's no wonder that made him thick.
And he drove to Cork??? Yeah - that was better than letting him into Croker. Well done security!
QuoteSome people are just unreasonable, sounds like there were a few involved in this instance. Was up the premium for the hurling final a few years ago and called down to chat to the aul lad who was in a different section. Was standing out of the way at the back chatting away when a steward asked where was I sitting. Told him I was up the way and would be gone in a minute. Fella nearby overheard and said the seat beside him was free as his wife had left the ticket at home (she was probably from Cork :P) and wouldn't be coming. So I hopped in beside him and your man went away. He must have thought about this for 10 minutes as he arrived back and proceeded to make a hoo ha that I had to be in the exact seat on my ticket and the fire officer would be enforcing it. Some people.
Was that the Cusack stand side as a matter of interest? They are some right assholes on that side. The Hogan crew are sound, usually.
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 22, 2015, 02:18:38 PM
And he drove to Cork??? Yeah - that was better than letting him into Croker. Well done security!
In fairness they can't be held responsible if he jumped in a car and headed off towards Cork. They can be accountable for how they handled the incident, but not what a grown man decided to do afterwards.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 22, 2015, 01:47:59 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2015, 01:36:07 PM
I disagree.
McCarthy was a guest.
How can you disagree that both parties are to blame when the party you are assigning innocence to has admitted to acting the bollocks!
It doesn't matter (unless he attacked someone).
He was a guest of the Association and they apparently refused him entry, 3 times. I would like to think I wouldn't lose the head in that scenario, but it doesn't matter. Many people would lose the head. That isn't an offence (except maybe to bouncers). But any organisation that views its patrons as guests or customers would be very embarrassed by the whole thing and the way it was handled.
Quote from: highorlow on September 22, 2015, 02:29:33 PM
QuoteSome people are just unreasonable, sounds like there were a few involved in this instance. Was up the premium for the hurling final a few years ago and called down to chat to the aul lad who was in a different section. Was standing out of the way at the back chatting away when a steward asked where was I sitting. Told him I was up the way and would be gone in a minute. Fella nearby overheard and said the seat beside him was free as his wife had left the ticket at home (she was probably from Cork :P) and wouldn't be coming. So I hopped in beside him and your man went away. He must have thought about this for 10 minutes as he arrived back and proceeded to make a hoo ha that I had to be in the exact seat on my ticket and the fire officer would be enforcing it. Some people.
Was that the Cusack stand side as a matter of interest? They are some right assholes on that side. The Hogan crew are sound, usually.
Corner of Hogan and Davin. Was in the Cusack lower for the league finals last year and sat in 306 for the first game. Our tickets weren't that bad but we said we'd chance it for the Dublin game. Every seat apart from 3 beside us was full 5 minutes in when a steward came down asking to see our tickets. We hopped out and were halfway up the steps when they called us back to say 2 of the party weren't coming and we could stay put. Swings and roundabouts.
Quote from: deiseach on September 22, 2015, 02:12:31 PM
That's a good point. Having a guy turn up under his own steam suggests they're doing it on the cheap, which is bad form.
I think that's a bit unfair to suggest it was done on the cheap. Was the whole purpose of having it in Croke Park on the day of the All-Ireland final not sufficient enough? I'm sure inside they where all wined and dined, had good seats, got family in etc. Unless you expect the GAA to send cars for everyone, what more can be done. The event they are attending is in Croke Park, that's the meeting point and amble comfort and quality space in there to be well looked after.
No idea if they get accommodation the night before or what the deal is.
I'm sure there is fault on all sides but I'm sure some common sense on the day would have avoided this. Unfortunately its a quality that is lacking more and more these days.
Quote from: Bingo on September 22, 2015, 03:46:43 PM
I think that's a bit unfair to suggest it was done on the cheap. Was the whole purpose of having it in Croke Park on the day of the All-Ireland final not sufficient enough? I'm sure inside they where all wined and dined, had good seats, got family in etc. Unless you expect the GAA to send cars for everyone, what more can be done. The event they are attending is in Croke Park, that's the meeting point and amble comfort and quality space in there to be well looked after.
I'm sure there is fault on all sides but I'm sure some common sense on the day would have avoided this. Unfortunately its a quality that is lacking more and more these days.
What would it costs to treat these lads correctly? Put them up the night before etc? In a day and age where players are getting their weeks shopping to their front door every week surely you could find a couple of grand so an incident like this couldn't happen.
That's a cracker ;D
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 22, 2015, 04:00:07 PM
[What would it costs to treat these lads correctly? Put them up the night before etc? In a day and age where players are getting their weeks shopping to their front door every week surely you could find a couple of grand so an incident like this couldn't happen.
Can they not find a sponsor for it who I'm sure would love to have their name plastered about Croker while the presentation would be going on? Give them an oul overnight and bus them to Croker.
How much £££££ back in the day did those lads bring through the gates?
What would it costs to treat these lads correctly? Put them up the night before etc? In a day and age where players are getting their weeks shopping to their front door every week surely you could find a couple of grand so an incident like this couldn't happen.
I don't honestly see the merit in putting them up the night before, they may well be put up. Its not the main event of the weekend by any stretch of the weekend but its a nice touch and in all the years and with all the players involved this is the first time any sort of incident has occurred. 80k plus made their way into Croke Park at the weekend, many of them with passes for various levels of access and all seem to have found their way in. God knows what happened in this case.
Even if they are put up, whats to stop a few of them doing their own thing anyway and turning up separate from the rest.
Personally I think its a nice wee tradition and the boys involved are in the whole very appreciative of what they get out of it.
One steward not displaying any level of common sense or knowing a past great shouldn't see a whole rethink of the event.
Quote from: HiMucker on September 22, 2015, 04:01:21 PM
That's a cracker ;D
That's hilarious.
What was the accusation, swearing in the rain?
laoislad laughs at the guard, the guard laughs at laoislad. *gets coat...
There is no doubt Teddy got a bit thick on it. It's hard to know where the truth lies here, probably somewhere in between. I can't for the life of me believe that Teddy couldn't have phoned someone from the CB or Croke Park to sort. I'd guess he also was given clear instructions as to the time and the place. That said a little discretion on behalf of the HiViz's wouldn't have hurt.
Remember the apocryphal Teddy McCarthy that used to do the rounds on these forums. Various versions of it generally went along these lines:
In the late 90s Clare fans were in a chipper in Cork after a match, boasting, braying and yahooing to everyone about their all conquering side.
A wizened and wise Cork sage eventually had enough and approached them.
"Yerra, ye've won 2 All Irelands in 83 years and listen to ye. Sure there's a man over there who won 2 All Irelands in 2 weeks" as he pointed over at Teddy McCarthy who was wolfing down the last of a bag of curry chips.
McCarthy looks up, gave the Clare mob the finger and walks off.
*In some versions of the story he stood there minding his own business.
McCarthy could have done with yer man telling the CP bouncers to stand down and show some respect last Sunday.
Quote from: Applesisapples on September 22, 2015, 04:50:39 PM
There is no doubt Teddy got a bit thick on it. It's hard to know where the truth lies here, probably somewhere in between. I can't for the life of me believe that Teddy couldn't have phoned someone from the CB or Croke Park to sort. I'd guess he also was given clear instructions as to the time and the place. That said a little discretion on behalf of the HiViz's wouldn't have hurt.
He managed the clear instructions two weeks ago for the hurling version. He probably managed it last year for the 1989 football version as well.
The curry chips part certainly rings true.
You know yourself; he was there 2 weeks ago, he heads up to the same door in good form, the jobsworth sends him somewhere else and somewhere else sends him back. Anyone might be a bit pissed at this, he may have been a bit wound up but it was the staff that were at fault and it was up to them to apologise at that stage and bring him in. They need a new head of security.
QuoteOne steward not displaying any level of common sense or knowing a past great shouldn't see a whole rethink of the event.
No, but it should lead to a rethink of how they organise stewarding and access generally.
Re. 25 years celebration - it bugs me that RTE can't cut away from their pre-match discussion to show the players being introduced to the crowd - I know they do give it 20 secs. They used to cover it properly some years back.
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on September 22, 2015, 08:18:47 PM
Re. 25 years celebration - it bugs me that RTE can't cut away from their pre-match discussion to show the players being introduced to the crowd - I know they do give it 20 secs. They used to cover it properly some years back.
I agree. I think they only stopped doing the coverage when they lost the rights to the Minor final.
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on September 22, 2015, 08:18:47 PM
No doubt Sky do a great job with this, as they are a saviours of GAA coverage. Perhaps someone could link us to this aspect of their 21st century service.
Quote from: Bingo on September 22, 2015, 04:15:13 PM
I don't honestly see the merit in putting them up the night before, they may well be put up. Its not the main event of the weekend by any stretch of the weekend but its a nice touch and in all the years and with all the players involved this is the first time any sort of incident has occurred. 80k plus made their way into Croke Park at the weekend, many of them with passes for various levels of access and all seem to have found their way in. God knows what happened in this case.
Even if they are put up, whats to stop a few of them doing their own thing anyway and turning up separate from the rest.
Personally I think its a nice wee tradition and the boys involved are in the whole very appreciative of what they get out of it.
One steward not displaying any level of common sense or knowing a past great shouldn't see a whole rethink of the event.
Miserable HOOR!
Ffs I would say a lot of any County's supporters wouldn't even recognise half the players from 25 years ago,unless they became media pundits or achieved fame in another field.
Quote from: muppet on September 22, 2015, 04:24:37 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on September 22, 2015, 04:01:21 PM
That's a cracker ;D
That's hilarious.
What was the accusation, swearing in the rain?
Hmmmm. I dunno. For lots of event stewards act in a voluntary capacity and events could not go on without them. Runs, cycle races etc. The rule of thumb is that if a steward gets grief they call a guard. Ok that steward was being too fussy but still no need to f**k him out of it. I wonder what would have unfolded if the guard was not the brother?
I heard Sean Kelly ex president rang him to try to convince him to come back but he kept driving for home.
Quote from: twohands!!! on September 23, 2015, 12:01:17 PM
I heard Sean Kelly ex president rang him to try to convince him to come back but he kept driving for home.
they mustn't have wanted him to attend if they got that tube to ring him.
Teddys original story that he headed down the road straight away has changed and he stayed in the area and watched the game in a pub and travelled back to Cork later in the evening. It also emerged that he ripped his ticket up in front of the Croke park steward.
Whole episode wholly un-necessary.
.....Teddy McCarthy goes from gate 1 to gate 2 .....no relation....Teddy McCarthy goes back to gate 1 from gate 2...still no relation...
Quote from: Bingo on September 23, 2015, 02:24:02 PM
Teddys original story that he headed down the road straight away has changed and he stayed in the area and watched the game in a pub and travelled back to Cork later in the evening. It also emerged that he ripped his ticket up in front of the Croke park steward.
I heard he arrived with a ticket for the zoo and that's when all the confusion started.
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 23, 2015, 03:21:46 PM
I heard he arrived with a ticket for the zoo and that's when all the confusion started.
No he arrived at the zoo with a ticket for croke park.....
He asked to be directed to the azoo and they had no idea what he meant. Bloody foreigners.
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 23, 2015, 03:21:46 PM
An easy mistake to make, given all the "f**king animals" that were inside the ground for the day...
To be fair I'd tell him to eff off as well - media-hungry little opportunist that he is.
I assume there was no problem at the hurling final ???
Quote from: ashman on September 23, 2015, 10:16:57 PM
I assume there was no problem at the hurling final ???
Or last year's football final.
RTE to make a documentary about this."F..ked off before the Match!"
Meanwhile Teddy has listed a series of demands to entice him to return to matches at Croker.
1.Red carpet from his car parked in Clonliffe to Croke Park entrance.
2.Artane Band fanfare to mark his arrival.
3.A Teddy Mc Carthy special sign posted trail to direct him to proper destination inside stadium with which every steward must,by formal training,be familiar with.
Quote from: T Fearon on September 24, 2015, 07:12:54 AM
RTE to make a documentary about this."F..ked off before the Match!"
Meanwhile Teddy has listed a series of demands to entice him to return to matches at Croker.
1.Red carpet from his car parked in Clonliffe to Croke Park entrance.
2.Artane Band fanfare to mark his arrival.
3.A Teddy Mc Carthy special sign posted trail to direct him to proper destination inside stadium with which every steward must,by formal training,be familiar with.
Not your best effort, Tony, go back to bed and get up when you are sharper.
Gwan Teddy boy!
(http://www.eveningecho.ie/files/2015/09/42967jpeg-255x325.jpg)
Mighty, Teddy could always fly, best Picture i seen was one of Sean Walsh a mile up in the air trying to catch the ball. Remember one too of Harry McClure years ago too which was a great one.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 25, 2015, 06:10:37 PM
Mighty, Teddy could always fly, best Picture i seen was one of Sean Walsh a mile up in the air trying to catch the ball. Remember one too of Harry McClure years ago too which was a great one.
(http://www.terracetalk.com/photos/cache/princes-of-pigskin/126-seanwalsh_570.jpg)
Willie Joe showing Brian how to do it! One would begin to think that Brian makes these lads look ever better? :)
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B3rwh_eIcAARgva.jpg:large)
Yerra, Willie Joe learned how to do it from a Johnny Stenson masterclass from a few years before.
(http://johnnystensoncycle.ie/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/Sligo_Johnny_Stenson.jpg)
Looks like that pic is from the 1975 connacht final.Was at the game and one of my main memories was Stenson catching ball after ball in the last 15 minutes.
Not taking away from the Teddy thread, but a thread or two on some of these pics over the years would be good. Maybe catches, goals, collisions?