Just announced on Radio Ulster.Apparently collided with a goalpost in club championship game last night,played on, but delayed reaction.Desperately sad and worrying news
I thought he'd hung them up a while ago? Let's hope for a full and speedy recovery!
Has been playing club football.Said he was serious but stable.Hope he pulls through.
Hope he is ok. Great player, sound lad.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/gaelic-games/33947769
Proper full forward - absolutely vital for Armagh back in the day. Hope he recovers speedily and fully.
Jaysus, I hope he'll be ok.
Jaysus anyone can collide with a post. Hopefully he pulls through.
I hope he gets through this ok. Only recently married.
Terrible news! What a great player! Really hope he recovers fully from this! Best wishes!
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 15, 2015, 06:46:59 PM
Terrible news! What a great player! Really hope he recovers fully from this! Best wishes!
Prayers said for Ronan and his family. Dreadful news.
Hopefully he's back on track soon. Always enjoyed watching him play and seems like a great fella.
Making significant improvement according to GL
Hopefully there will be further improvement and full recovery . Best wishes and prayers for Ronan and his family. An outstanding footballer and an absolute gentleman , who has contributed massively to the GAA on many levels.
Jaysus, terrible news, great player, plagued by injury at county level.
Hopefully he makes a speedy recovery
Quote from: BennyCake on August 15, 2015, 08:35:01 PM
Making significant improvement according to GL
That is great news.
Hopefully Ronan makes a full and speedy recovery. The poor lad has had little luck with injuries so i think he deserves some with this situation.
Hope he makes a full and speedy recovery.
Just seen from GL that he had regained consciousness.
Good luck to him in recovery
I hope he makes a speedy and full recovery. Head injuries are brutal - even the lower scale ones from my experience. He's done his bit for club and county. His recovery is all that matters now.
Quote from: moysider on August 16, 2015, 12:40:16 AM
I hope he makes a speedy and full recovery. Head injuries are brutal - even the lower scale ones from my experience. He's done his bit for club and county. His recovery is all that matters now.
I have had one on that nearly killed me, it was the hardest thing I ever dealt with, you get frustrated beyond belief, you get angry, depressed and you change for a while until acceptance kicks in.
I agree 100% Moysider, as long as he recovers, he will always have the memories of playing and winning a County fianal and starring in our only AI win in 02.
I hope if he does not play again that he considers managing the Ogs in some capacity, it is lads like this that make the GAA what it is.
Quote from: stew on August 16, 2015, 01:18:45 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 16, 2015, 12:40:16 AM
I have had one on that nearly killed me, it was the hardest thing I ever dealt with, you get frustrated beyond belief, you get angry, depressed and you change for a while until acceptance kicks in.
I agree 100% Moysider, as long as he recovers, he will always have the memories of playing and winning a County fianal and starring in our only AI win in 02.
I hope if he does not play again that he considers managing the Ogs in some capacity, it is lads like this that make the GAA what it is.
Didnt know that wish you all the best stew. hope Ronan has a speedy recovery. Fantastic player.
Get well soon Ronan. Showed so much promise at an early age but has had a nightmare career since.
Had he be been fit in 05 it could have been 2-2 and not 1-3 to Tyrone in AI titles.
Just heard this, awful to hear. Great player on his day. Wish him all the best in recovering.
Hitting a goal post is one of those risks that are part of the game. Although I had a close shave with a concrete dugout one time. Had I been a step to the left I'd probably be dead or seriously injured.
Terrible news. Glad to hear he's showing signs of improvement. Hopefully he'll be back to himself before long.
Best of luck Ronan. Hopefully the news continues to be good.
Progress is only gradual.
http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/we-are-just-living-hour-by-hour-says-dad-of-gaa-star-31458545.html
Best wishes Ronan, hope you pull out of it.
Brilliant player, hope he pulls through and makes a full recovery.
Was at the game and had left just after the collision, nothing seemed untoward at the time but it just goes to show how these things pan out. Ronan had actually looked to gone over on his ankle earlier in the first half and you just expected the worst but he got up and played away. He has been so unlucky throughout his career with injuries, hope he is back on his feet in no time.
A super player. Very unlucky with injuries. Injuries like this put a lot of things in perspective. Best of luck Ronan and hopefully a speedy recovery
Best wishes to Ronan. Brutal when you see freak incidents like this. Hopefully he makes a quick and full recovery.
Quote from: general_lee on August 18, 2015, 10:38:24 AM
Was at the game and had left just after the collision, nothing seemed untoward at the time but it just goes to show how these things pan out.
I'd have to disagree with you on that - I thought he was clearly unsteady on his feet and the Maghery players and the umpires clearly signaled to the line for urgent assistance. I was very surprised he remained on the field thereafter.
I did remark during the game that he was Ogs' main threat - the legs may have slowed but some of his movement and score taking showed the greatness of old - a class act.
Quote from: Fuzzman on August 16, 2015, 07:14:30 AM
Get well soon Ronan. Showed so much promise at an early age but has had a nightmare career since. Had he be been fit in 05 it could have been 2-2 and not 1-3 to Tyrone in AI titles.
Generosity such as this is a very rare visitor to the pages of this forum. Respect.
Great player before a spate of injuries. When I remember that 2002 AI winning team, one of the first players who springs to mind is Ronan. Here's to a full recovery. Up the Ogs.
poor fella - just got married a few weeks back too. Think he is on the mend but those head injuries are scary - praying he makes a full recovery
Can I just say Ronan is making great strides and is improving by the hour . It's great to see his improvement and things are really going well. Thanks to all those in the greater GAA family for their support. It really brings home to you that sense of belonging.
Quote from: rionach 4 on August 19, 2015, 01:03:26 AM
Can I just say Ronan is making great strides and is improving by the hour . It's great to see his improvement and things are really going well. Thanks to all those in the greater GAA family for their support. It really brings home to you that sense of belonging.
Great to hear it.
That's great to hear. The whole GAA family wishes him well I'm sure.
Great to hear.
Excellent news and thanks for the update.
That is great to hear. Good luck and a speedy full recovery Ronan.
That's great news.
Great to hear that. Thanks for the update.
Excellent news, thanks for the update.
Glad to hear he's coming round and wish him all the best.
Think Clarke played alongside Sean Cavanagh in a winning MacRory team in 01 maybe? Serious operator then and his performance in the 02 final vs Moynihan was something else for a 19 year old. Absolutely no luck with injuries since - I believe it was doubtful he'd even get back playing club football at a stage. Hopefully he can make it back out onto the pitch for the Ogs again soon.
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on August 18, 2015, 02:39:35 PM
Quote from: general_lee on August 18, 2015, 10:38:24 AM
Was at the game and had left just after the collision, nothing seemed untoward at the time but it just goes to show how these things pan out.
I'd have to disagree with you on that - I thought he was clearly unsteady on his feet and the Maghery players and the umpires clearly signaled to the line for urgent assistance. I was very surprised he remained on the field thereafter.
I did remark during the game that he was Ogs' main threat - the legs may have slowed but some of his movement and score taking showed the greatness of old - a class act.
Quote from: Fuzzman on August 16, 2015, 07:14:30 AM
Get well soon Ronan. Showed so much promise at an early age but has had a nightmare career since. Had he be been fit in 05 it could have been 2-2 and not 1-3 to Tyrone in AI titles.
Generosity such as this is a very rare visitor to the pages of this forum. Respect.
It's heartening to see how county rivalries are put to one side when worrying incidents like this happen. Thrilled to hear that Ronan is improving. Best wishes to him from the Rossies.
He's out of Intensive Care now, according to the sports news at 1:40.
That's great to hear. In no time at all we'll be able to go back to insulting him and everyone belonging to him :)
Heard on LMFM there that he's out of danger and improving well. Good luck to him, hadn't heard of him in a few years.
To Armagh lads would he not be close to the county panel still??
Really glad to hear he is in the men's. Regarding the macrory team he and cavanagh played in I think that was 2000
Best wishes to ronan in his recovery.
A magnificent footballer, undoubtedly one the very finest to ever wear an Armagh Jersey.
Always played the game in the right spirit
Relieved to hear this. He's had a tortuous time through football injuries all his career really, dating back to 2002/03 but especially since 2009 and before those major achilles injuries when he led his club to the Armagh championship. It seems an awful long time since he lined out for Armagh, his county career effectively over at 26, which has been a very big source of regret for Armagh supporters. Would have been very interesting to see how himself and Jamie Clarke would have done together. Hard not to like and admire the guy.
Quote from: Armamike on August 19, 2015, 09:15:02 PM
Relieved to hear this. He's had a tortuous time through football injuries all his career really, dating back to 2002/03 but especially since 2009 and before those major achilles injuries when he led his club to the Armagh championship. It seems an awful long time since he lined out for Armagh, his county career effectively over at 26, which has been a very big source of regret for Armagh supporters. Would have been very interesting to see how himself and Jamie Clarke would have done together. Hard not to like and admire the guy.
I agree about Clarke and Clark being a partnership that we never saw which might have been great. Ronan setup Henderson's 4 goals against Wexford in 2009 and with a player of Jamie's calibre playing off him it could have been a formidable combination.
Was it Clarke's knee that was his main injury?
It does seem a lifetime ago but he was a joy to watch with those long diagonal balls going into him.
Quote from: DennistheMenace on August 21, 2015, 09:38:30 AM
It does seem a lifetime ago but he was a joy to watch with those long diagonal balls going into him.
Had cruciate injury in 2007 I think. Then got ankle injury in early 2010. It was the main troubl. Thought was he would never play any ball again. Came on as sub in championship for his club a few years later when they were winning by a bagful and got badly injured again. Think this was his other ankle. Back this year and playing fairly well until this incident.
He played in the same school team as Sean Cavanagh and considering the impact he has had with his county we can only wonder how much Armagh have missed Ronan Clarke. Now the only important matter is that he makes a complete recovery.
Quote from: DennistheMenace on August 21, 2015, 09:38:30 AM
Think the main issue was Achilles tendon injuries.
Ronan Clarke and Colm Cooper are the same age. They both played in the 2002 All Ireland final and no one can say that The Gooch was more impressive than Ronan that day.
When we see what the Gooch achieved in the 13 years since it really puts into perspective just what the catalogue of injuries cost Ronan over the years.
And the fact that Gooch played with Kerry!
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 21, 2015, 12:48:25 PM
I've mentioned this elsewhere - if Ronan Clarke had been born a Kerry man and had the luck of an injury free career, we'd be talking an all time great.
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on August 21, 2015, 01:18:01 PM
I've mentioned this elsewhere - if Ronan Clarke had been born a Kerry man and had the luck of an injury free career, we'd be talking an all time great.
Maybe so, but he'll be forever immortalised in Armagh football, along with the rest of the lads from 2002.
Just think what he could have won if he had been born a Tyrone man ;)
I have no doubt whatsoever that this is the case. Even the "born a Kerry man" thing probably wouldn't have been necessary.
Quote from: Keane on August 21, 2015, 02:01:51 PM
I have no doubt whatsoever that this is the case. Even the "born a Kerry man" thing probably wouldn't have been necessary.
Gan dabht. Mind you I suppose lads like Dessie Barry and Kevin O'Brien have even more reason to muse on the vagaries of geography.
http://www.armaghgaa.net/forum/threads/ronan-clarke-%E2%80%9Coverwhelmed%E2%80%9D-by-support.4217/#post-105544
From Armagh official site
Ronan looks well.
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=245331
Has he made a complete recovery? As in be able to play again?
Quote from: omaghjoe on October 10, 2015, 08:07:51 AM
Ronan looks well.
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=245331
Has he made a complete recovery? As in be able to play again?
I think I read that he has now retired.
He must be recovered enough to take on this.
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=246735
Armagh All-Ireland winner Ronan Clarke has been appointed manager of the Orchard County's ladies team.
Clarke will replace James Daly and will be assisted by former Fermanagh manager Lisa Woods.
"Ronan Clarke will bring the same commitment and dedication to this Armagh ladies set up that he had when he played and we wish Ronan all the best for the incoming season of 2016," Ladies chairman Owen Reel said in a statement.
"Having won the Division Two title in 2015 and beaten in an All Ireland semi final Armagh ladies are where they want to be and Ronan Clarke will bring a different edge to this already existing strong panel of players."
Former manager Daly also gave the thumbs up to Clarke's appointment: "Ronan is an excellent footballer himself and will bring this great bunch of girls to the next level, Armagh ladies are a team on the up and Ronan will use his own experience from his playing days and with his coaching element alongside his experience in fitness he will no doubt be just what the set up needs."
Quote from: dec on November 11, 2015, 09:49:09 PM
He must be recovered enough to take on this.
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=246735
Armagh All-Ireland winner Ronan Clarke has been appointed manager of the Orchard County's ladies team.
Clarke will replace James Daly and will be assisted by former Fermanagh manager Lisa Woods.
"Ronan Clarke will bring the same commitment and dedication to this Armagh ladies set up that he had when he played and we wish Ronan all the best for the incoming season of 2016," Ladies chairman Owen Reel said in a statement.
"Having won the Division Two title in 2015 and beaten in an All Ireland semi final Armagh ladies are where they want to be and Ronan Clarke will bring a different edge to this already existing strong panel of players."
Former manager Daly also gave the thumbs up to Clarke's appointment: "Ronan is an excellent footballer himself and will bring this great bunch of girls to the next level, Armagh ladies are a team on the up and Ronan will use his own experience from his playing days and with his coaching element alongside his experience in fitness he will no doubt be just what the set up needs."
He recovered well enough to help junior team Tullysaran win their first ever county title last month - in a coaching capacity.