http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=238285 (http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=238285)
Gerry McEntee has refuted claims made by former Tyrone manager Art McRory that the Meath team of the 1990s indulged in sledging.
In a strongly-worded letter to the Sunday Independent, the legendary midfielder and well-known surgeon hit back at claims made by McRory in last week's edition of the newspaper that Meath had a simple target of "targeting the top player on the other team and everyone within 20 metres of him would hit him with everything they had".
McEntee wrote: "It is not only factually incorrect, but an insult to the intelligence and integrity of Sean Boylan, a man that I never once heard encourage any form of physical or verbal intimidation in the 10 years I had the privilege of playing under his guidance.
"I can guarantee that all the players under his stewardship at national and international level could put their hands on their heart and say likewise."
The Nobber man added: "It seems that Art has never got over Tyrone's 1996 All-Ireland semi-final defeat on his watch, and the late tackle that John McDermott put in on Peter Canavan which was exactly that, a late tackle, but was dealt with by the referee at the time as he saw fit.
"I am sure that there are a number of teams or individuals who 'suffered' at the hands of Tyrone during their hard-earned and well deserved three All-Irelands, but I hope they will have got over it 20 years later.
"As for his view that he knows 'of no manager who would . . . tolerate it' (sledging), let's wait and see how the Tyrone minor management, which includes Ryan McMenamin, a self-proclaimed 'sledger', deal with the claim by Donegal's Declan Bonner that their captain Michael Carroll was subjected to vile verbal abuse by two Tyrone minor players. . . That's the second allegation of verbal abuse made against a Tyrone underage team in the past month."
That Meath team played tough and in turn took some tough stuff without complaining! They were no Angels and did what ever they had to do to win. They had some fabulous players and no matter how much they were accused of the Dark Arts they would not have won what they did without skill, guile and determination. But to make Boylan look like an innocent bystander is a bit of a Joke. He played the media well (holding the kids in his arms after controversial games) and fair play to him. Mayo players will tell you of various personal comments that were said to them in the 2 games in 1996. One thing for sure the Meath researchers had done their homework. There is no rules against what Meath did and to be fair Mayo showed their weakness taking the Bate and ultimately paid the price (both as losing the final and looking bad losers afterwards).
There you go. McEntee has 'proven' Meath in the 90s weren't a dirty shower... ::)
When did meath become a shower of whingers?
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 31, 2015, 03:20:22 PM
That Meath team played tough and in turn took some tough stuff without complaining! They were no Angels and did what ever they had to do to win. They had some fabulous players and no matter how much they were accused of the Dark Arts they would not have won what they did without skill, guile and determination. But to make Boylan look like an innocent bystander is a bit of a Joke. He played the media well (holding the kids in his arms after controversial games) and fair play to him. Mayo players will tell you of various personal comments that were said to them in the 2 games in 1996. One thing for sure the Meath researchers had done their homework. There is no rules against what Meath did and to be fair Mayo showed their weakness taking the Bate and ultimately paid the price (both as losing the final and looking bad losers afterwards).
Some of them will also tell you that the things which were supposed to have been said to them were never said to them at all.
Again, lads on barstools doing the damage.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 31, 2015, 03:32:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 31, 2015, 03:20:22 PM
Some of them will also tell you that the things which were supposed to have been said to them were never said to them at all.
Again, lads on barstools doing the damage.
Probably, as Hitler said the greater the lie the more people are willing to believe it! But there is no smoke without fire. Meath had a habit of ruffling a lot of feathers during that period. Every team they came up against can't be telling lies? Can they? Or are Meath the only ones telling the truth? We'll never know. Either way it is sort of character for a former Meath player to get involved in this sort of stuff.
Art McCrory is adopting the usual Tyrone defence of 'Meath and other teams were too rough, therefore nobody should say anything to us about being sly, dishonourable mouthpieces'.
Derry played Meath alot through the 90`s, nearly all their games were hard, but never an insult was spoken, the Meath team of the late 80`straight through the 90`s was a very hard team, i never thought them dirty.
Meath were some outfit.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 31, 2015, 03:50:26 PM
Derry played Meath alot through the 90`s, nearly all their games were hard, but never an insult was spoken, the Meath team of the late 80`straight through the 90`s was a very hard team, i never thought them dirty.
For the life of me, I can't think of a big game between Derry and Meath during this period! And I presume they met as both were top teams at the time!
Top teams, G you got to the final in 1996 and 1997 and the Derry team of that time was away better team by a considerable distance than that Mayo team, couldn't get out of Ulster and hadn't the fall back of the back door at the time.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 31, 2015, 04:12:09 PM
Top teams, G you got to the final in 1996 and 1997 and the Derry team of that time was away better team by a considerable distance than that Mayo team, couldn't get out of Ulster and hadn't the fall back of the back door at the time.
Yes as i said Derry were a top team. Just they never (to my recollection) met Meath in a Big game and if so it's hard for to have any gripe against them!
I've always liked the way Derry go about their business.
True gaels.
87 meath met derry?? Anything else would have been league.
AISF 1987 Meath v. Derry. League Final 2000 (two games) Meath v. Derry. No whinging, moaning or indeed lying from Derry. A proper football county.
Fair play to McEntee. Meath were a hardy bunch of hoors and we would have modelled much of our game plan on them. We had Boylan, O Rourke and Dowd up a number of times, O Rourke in particular was on the sideline when we won the first club AI. The funny thing is that he told us the complete opposite of sledging. He said say absolutely nothing to the opposition, he said that they would try it on us as we were from the north and they would try to get a rise out of us (which they did try). He said say nothing but wait your chance and take half a slower step and give the man the deadener on the refs blind side. See what they would say then he said!!! Boylan was s gentleman on and off the field. All he demanded was commitment, 100%, the rest fell into place.
all there league meeting would have been played with hard hitting intensity, i remember Brian McGilligan thumping Geraghty in Celtic park, outright upper cut, the meath man just got up and played on, no lying down trying to get a man sent off or mouthing. though Lockhart and Murphy would had abit of rough and tumble
Funny that both teams couldn't win a game of any note these days....
Funny how bad the golf is today. Anyone else got any pertinent views?
Quote from: Jinxy on May 31, 2015, 04:44:51 PM
I've always liked the way Derry go about their business.
True gaels.
I suppose opposites attract! ;)
No they weren't. Derry were a fine league team. If they were as good as all that they would have got out of Ulster.
What happened after they got out in 97? ;)
Anyway back to the substantive issue; McEntee is some chancer coming out to bat for the choirboys. Fine player but constantly gobbing on the field is my memory of him. Sheesh, even Liam Hayes has written about the verbals they carried on with in games. One in particular where McEntee wrecked Declan Bolger's head until he was substituted. It was planned and systematic.
Mind you Hayes was at the receiving end of one of the most vile bit of sledging I heard of.
Telling your opponent that the manager is warming up a sub for him (which is what McEntee did with Bolger) is not 'sledging'.
Telling him he's going to miss a free is not 'sledging'.
Can people genuinely not tell the difference between the two?
QuoteI've always liked the way Derry go about their business.
True gaels.
Are you Gregory Campbell's boyfriend?
Quote from: Jinxy on May 31, 2015, 05:39:16 PM
Telling your opponent that the manager is warming up a sub for him (which is what McEntee did with Bolger) is not 'sledging'.
You are correct, that just goes into the bad gamesmanship category!
Drawing a line between that and Tyrone's typical carry-on is a bit like comparing the ebola virus with the common cold.
I've spoken to lots of Dublin players from that period and they've never mentioned Meath 'Sledging'
Did Art not once tell a Tyrone player,he had dropped from the panel,and later tried to convince Art that he had made a mistake,citing his score of 1-10 in a club match against the Rock, "The next time Tyrone are playing the Rock I'll give you a shout?" Is that not sledging?
That's pretty funny actually. ;D
And its actually True!
Meath didn't sledge. They rarely said a word other than cursing and blinding. They'd punch you in the gob, but they wouldn't lie down if you did the same to them. Hard, tough, but not sly and sneaky.
No sledging in Mayo. We haven't the snow for it.
Sledging is inherently unmanly.
This is the only thing that big Art said about Meath.
"I can go back to the '90s when Meath were in the ascendancy and their tactics were very simple: the top player on the other team was targeted and everyone within 20 metres of him went in and hit him with everything they had."
Pretty spot on from what I can recall about that Meath team. Don't know what McEntee is whinging about!
Quote from: moysider on May 31, 2015, 05:30:13 PM
No they weren't. Derry were a fine league team. If they were as good as all that they would have got out of Ulster.
What happened after they got out in 97? ;)
They changed their colours to blue and white, their name to Cavan and lost to Kerry.
Quote from: Rodman on May 31, 2015, 10:06:30 PM
"I can go back to the '90s when Meath were in the ascendancy and their tactics were very simple: the top player on the other team was targeted and everyone within 20 metres of him went in and hit him with everything they had."
Pretty spot on from what I can recall about that Meath team. Don't know what McEntee is whinging about!
Mind your manners when you're talking about Gerry.
He cuts people for a living.
I thought any kind of such mouthing was 'sledging'
Also have been told some cracking running verbal battles in the field between Meath and several other counties. Some started by cork and Dublin players, others started and finished by Meath players.
Sources were a young player on the team who used to have us roaring with laughter at some of the things said. Another source direct from ex team mate and former Meath all Ireland winning captain.
He and a prev mentioned Meath player giving a Dublin penalty taker serious verbals before he too and after he missed a penalty in the championship v Meath in croker.
IMO all this mouthing is'sledging'. Should be saying f**king nothing and concentrating on playing football. But some of it was quite funny. Esp Kevin foley to Ciaran duff.
Gerry McEntee actually sat down and wrote a letter to the Sunday Independent about this??
Sledging is the personal stuff, like the following:
"You are fat"
"Your Mam is fat"
"Your Sister is fat"
"I still rode the both of them" etc.
I m struggling to see the difference. But maybe that s just me?
How about this one that happened in the mid 90s. A player has an opponent compliment his mother on her driving ability. This woman had been killed in a road traffic accident shortly before the game. The expression used ' I hear your mother is a great driver' suggests that this lad is a real manly man. And exceptionally witty as well ::) His mother would be real proud no doubt. I m sure he still really puffs out his chest when he remembers that line and polishes his Celtic Cross.
No more than the man that thought a 'good day for a hanging' was a good line to get an edge.
Of course all that was not sledging at all. Couldn t have been because Tyrone were not around to blame. Tyrone was not taken seriously back then so, obviously, we can only back-date anything bad in the game until Tyrone won an AI.
Back then sledging was an Aussie cricket thing. Regretful that the expression has been adopted in our football. But we don't deserve to use that expression. The sad thing is, while the Aussies pros. jibed opponents about 'riding their girlfriends/wives' and were often very witty, our amateur lads resort to road accidents, suicide and cancer as subject matter.
An example of proper sledging is from Rod Marsh to Ian Botham:
"So, how's your wife and my kids?" Botham replied: "The wife's fine, but the kids are retarded.
Two old pros; one started it and the other finished it and they both knew it was just banter. Those cricket lads must be pissed off our crude and, lets call a spade a spade', vicious remarks are compared to what they do. There is no way the expression 'sledging' should be used to describe the shite that happens in our football.
We re dealing with a different scenario altogether. It should not be called sledging for a start. It s too Neanderthal to be called sledging - and in apologies to Neanderthals, they probably had more class.
Quote from: moysider on June 01, 2015, 01:12:38 AM
I m struggling to see the difference. But maybe that s just me?
How about this one that happened in the mid 90s. A player has an opponent compliment his mother on her driving ability. This woman had been killed in a road traffic accident shortly before the game. The expression used ' I hear your mother is a great driver' suggests that this lad is a real manly man. And exceptionally witty as well ::) His mother would be real proud no doubt. I m sure he still really puffs out his chest when he remembers that line and polishes his Celtic Cross.
No more than the man that thought a 'good day for a hanging' was a good line to get an edge.
Of course all that was not sledging at all. Couldn t have been because Tyrone were not around to blame. Tyrone was not taken seriously back then so, obviously, we can only back-date anything bad in the game until Tyrone won an AI.
Back then sledging was an Aussie cricket thing. Regretful that the expression has been adopted in our football. But we don't deserve to use that expression. The sad thing is, while the Aussies pros. jibed opponents about 'riding their girlfriends/wives' and were often very witty, our amateur lads resort to road accidents, suicide and cancer as subject matter.
An example of proper sledging is from Rod Marsh to Ian Botham:
"So, how's your wife and my kids?" Botham replied: "The wife's fine, but the kids are retarded.
Two old pros; one started it and the other finished it and they both knew it was just banter. Those cricket lads must be pissed off our crude and, lets call a spade a spade', vicious remarks are compared to what they do. There is no way the expression 'sledging' should be used to describe the shite that happens in our football.
We re dealing with a different scenario altogether. It should not be called sledging for a start. It s too Neanderthal to be called sledging - and in apologies to Neanderthals, they probably had more class.
I was told the about the "I heard your mother is a great driver" line from a clubmate of the player it was said to.
Hard to fathom that someone would actually stoop so low in order to gain an advantage against an opponent-if it was in fact ever said!
The slightly upsetting truth is that Meath in that era were just a very good football team. The Canavan injury might have been more relevant were it not for the fact that Meath played Tyrone off the pitch.
Quote from: Rodman on May 31, 2015, 10:06:30 PM
In that first half they took out all of tyrone key men with late tackles or off the ball stuff. Canavan Cush mc bride cavlan never mind dooher all were systematically assaulted. Aside from that point mc entee is overly sensitive perhaps a paranoia typical of those protecting their own mythology. Boylans regime was brutal and effective and they were prepared to turn croke park into a slaughterhouse. They were despised at the time but we all secretly admired them, but time forgets.
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on June 01, 2015, 02:42:51 AM
The slightly upsetting truth is that Meath in that era were just a very good football team. The Canavan injury might have been more relevant were it not for the fact that Meath played Tyrone off the pitch.
Never mind the fact that in the first half Tyrone were very much in the game until a few of our better forwards were 'targeted'. Meath had some great players in that era but if they weren't coached into systematically targeting the oppositions better players, then they unusually had a bunch of players who all had the same instinct in that regard.
But sure Martin O'Connell is a lovely fella, your honour, he'd never do anything like that which we can clearly see on tape before our very eyes.
That game had a direct impact on the Tyrone psyche for when we re-emerged a few years later. So we do actually owe Meath a bit of gratitude for showing us the way to our 3 All Ireland's. They are the grandfathers of puke football and we are eternally grateful.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 31, 2015, 05:00:58 PM
all there league meeting would have been played with hard hitting intensity, i remember Brian McGilligan thumping Geraghty in Celtic park, outright upper cut, the meath man just got up and played on, no lying down trying to get a man sent off or mouthing. though Lockhart and Murphy would had abit of rough and tumble
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 31, 2015, 07:42:37 PM
Meath didn't sledge. They rarely said a word other than cursing and blinding. They'd punch you in the gob, but they wouldn't lie down if you did the same to them. Hard, tough, but not sly and sneaky.
Jesus, I could laugh at how it is seen as ok or 'manly' for someone to cowardly hit someone a punch in the face as opposed to it being the worst crime in the world to be seen to slabber at someone - I know what I would take every day of the week - a few wee words as opposed to potentially a broken jaw/brain damage and a stay in hospital. How is punching someone in the gob 'hard and tough' and not 'sly and sneaky'.
As for differentiating between what players slabber at others, it doesn't change the fact that it is still 'sledging' as people like to call it. Using verbals to put someone off his game is no different no matter what is used as the ammunition.
Because they'd do it to your face no matter who was looking at them. No sneakiness. And as I said, if you hit them back there'd be no rolling around. I would prefer that attitude to the one where I will keep yapping and taunting you until you lash out, and then I'll go down like a puppet with cut strings to get you sent off.
One is borderline dirty, but straightforward. The other is just as dirty, but sneaky as shit.
But is anyone really prepared for a punch? On the football/hurling field, rows and pushing/shoving happen all the time, I don't think anybody is really ready for someone to swing their fist at their face therefore it in my eyes is cowardly, dirty and sneaky.
A serious amount of crap talked here lads. Firstly look at what Art said. No mention of sledging. He is just saying what was obvious to see, Meath targeted oppositions best players for treatment.
Secondly, for anyone to say that they would prefer a punch to a bit of mouthing is ridiculous. I know a young fella got his jaw broke by a dirty action on the pitch in a club game a few weeks ago. Will miss the rest of the summer football, will be drinking his food for the next few weeks etc etc. Now what sort of clowns are saying they'd prefer to see a man hitting another man rather that talking to him.
Catch urselves on lads... seriously
Quote from: Jinxy on June 01, 2015, 12:14:21 AM
Sledging is the personal stuff, like the following:
"You are fat"
"Your Mam is fat"
"Your Sister is fat"
"I still rode the both of them" etc.
I'd have said it was more than that IMO
But Kevin foleys 'tell your mother to stop changing her lipstick .... Because my dicks like a f**king rainbow ' to Ciaran duff - falls into that category then...
Meath were the better side on the day anyway- Tyrone were doing well to stop them IMO.
I was at the game.
That's before the injuries or targeting or whatever you want to call it. Tyrone just never got going.
The worst sledging I've heard was about opponents mocking Liam hays about his brother hanging himself from the crossbar in the local pitch.
Scumbags saying anything like that on a football pitch
All shite talk should be discouraged by coaches and mouthing getting a yellow or indeed red card.
We need to act on this kind of thing IMO.
It was bad but getting worse.
You should only ever talk to your team mates on the pitch.
Some good points raised above about striking vs sledging. Striking on a football pitch is a very cowardly act, but the consequences can be much worse than with sledging. If someone wants to show his manliness, or he just enjoys fighting, there are lots of places where he can do that with like minded people. He can step into a ring where he can have a fair, one-on-one fight until someone looses. He can even choose his preferred discipline. Of course that wouldn't suit a coward very well because there's no team mates to back him up, no referee to send off his opponent if he retaliates, no context for to him to disguise his hits as something else, and nothing to distract everyone's attention while he lines up a hit. Although brawls do happen on the football pitch the coward who strikes knows that the chances of a fair, one-on-one fight breaking out are slim to nil. There are plenty of opportunities to show genuine bravery on a football pitch, the guys who strike and go in with dirty/reckless challenges show the opposite.
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 01, 2015, 12:34:57 PM
Meath were the better side on the day anyway- Tyrone were doing well to stop them IMO.
I was at the game.
That's before the injuries or targeting or whatever you want to call it. Tyrone just never got going.
The worst sledging I've heard was about opponents mocking Liam hays about his brother hanging himself from the crossbar in the local pitch.
All shite talk should be discouraged by coaches and mouthing getting a yellow or indeed red card.
I was at the game too and have watched it many times on tape since and the first 20 - 25 mins of that game, in my opinion, was as good as I'd seen from any Tyrone team up to that point. Probably one of the few games when Cush, Canavan and Cavlan where all firing, at the same time. The injury to Dooher and McBride caused problems but the injury to Canavan was a crushing blow to the confidence of the team that they never recovered from - at that stage we had become far, far too reliant on him. But ultimately some crazy decisions by Big Art himself were as crucial in us losing that game as anything Meath did. For example, leaving Canavan on the pitch for far too long, putting Fergal Logan on Geraghty and leaving Paul Donnelly on the bench for the whole game, when if ever there was a game crying out for him, this was it.
Theres very little difference in players then and now, and how manly they are etc. The difference is in the game. Back then you could bury someone and as long as it wasn't a straight punch to the jaw right in front of the ref, you weren't going to get sent off. Now you'd be sent off, banned etc for much smaller indiscretions. So other ways to intimidate/put off the game have come into play - its an unfortunate natural evolution.
Also, I can understand the 'its all just words' attitude, and I would have been largely of that opinion myself, (I've certainly never really got why anyone gets upset at 'i rid your ma' jokes'), but it seems I've been a bit too innocent in terms of some of the vitriol - if anyone said to me anything about my mothers death in an accident, my brothers suicide, or my sisters murder (thats the three separate worst incidents I've seen mentioned by the way, I'm not the unluckiest man in Ireland), I would honestly do all I could to batter them, and I can't imagine I'd be able to wait until the final whistle to do so.
Quote from: haranguerer on June 01, 2015, 01:11:35 PM
Theres very little difference in players then and now, and how manly they are etc. The difference is in the game. Back then you could bury someone and as long as it wasn't a straight punch to the jaw right in front of the ref, you weren't going to get sent off. Now you'd be sent off, banned etc for much smaller indiscretions. So other ways to intimidate/put off the game have come into play - its an unfortunate natural evolution.
Also, I can understand the 'its all just words' attitude, and I would have been largely of that opinion myself, (I've certainly never really got why anyone gets upset at 'i rid your ma' jokes'), but it seems I've been a bit too innocent in terms of some of the vitriol - if anyone said to me anything about my mothers death in an accident, my brothers suicide, or my sisters murder (thats the three separate worst incidents I've seen mentioned by the way, I'm not the unluckiest man in Ireland), I would honestly do all I could to batter them, and I can't imagine I'd be able to wait until the final whistle to do so.
Good post. Sums it up well. Anyone taunting another player about a personal tragedy deserves everything they get and then some.
Quote from: haranguerer on June 01, 2015, 01:11:35 PM
Also, I can understand the 'its all just words' attitude, and I would have been largely of that opinion myself, (I've certainly never really got why anyone gets upset at 'i rid your ma' jokes'), but it seems I've been a bit too innocent in terms of some of the vitriol - if anyone said to me anything about my mothers death in an accident, my brothers suicide, or my sisters murder (that's the three separate worst incidents I've seen mentioned by the way, I'm not the unluckiest man in Ireland), I would honestly do all I could to batter them, and I can't imagine I'd be able to wait until the final whistle to do so.
Couldn't agree more.
Anyone who says things like that to someone on a football pitch or anywhere else for that matter is a complete sc**bag.
All teams have lads who walk a fine line with there behaviour. My own included, but i can honestly say if i had heard a team mate coming out with the type of poison quoted above I think i would have hit him myself.
P.S - A man telling you he rid your girlfriend/wife/sister/ma should only piss you off if its true.
If its true he shouldn't be saying it.
I was at the game.
That kind of shite should be publicized every time! I wouldn't care if it was a player from my own county. If you are going to stoop that low in trying to get some kind of edge, you should have no right to be representing your county.
The "I rode your sister last night" type of stuff is harmless and cliched and its doubtful if anyone really reacts to it. While giving grief about missing frees or whatever might put someone off, I don't see much of a problem with it. Deal with it! Its when it gets calculated and malicious and personal such as that comment to Hayes or the one mentioned earlier about the player's mother dying in a car crash that there should be no tolerance for it.
Quote from: J70 on June 01, 2015, 03:39:40 PM
I was at the game.
That kind of shite should be publicized every time! I wouldn't care if it was a player from my own county. If you are going to stoop that low in trying to get some kind of edge, you should have no right to be representing your county.
The "I rode your sister last night" type of stuff is harmless and cliched and its doubtful if anyone really reacts to it. While giving grief about missing frees or whatever might put someone off, I don't see much of a problem with it. Deal with it! Its when it gets calculated and malicious and personal such as that comment to Hayes or the one mentioned earlier about the player's mother dying in a car crash that there should be no tolerance for it.
You can't get a little bit pregnant. You either have a rule or you don't. And it's no sledging or sledging.
Quote from: INDIANA on June 01, 2015, 04:02:52 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 01, 2015, 03:39:40 PM
I was at the game.
You can't get a little bit pregnant. You either have a rule or you don't. And it's no sledging or sledging.
True, but given that there is zero disciplinary action taken currently, if players made it clear what was beyond acceptable, it might at least discourage the more nasty stuff. Of course then you get into "he said this"/"No I didn't! "!
Well said Gerry McEntee.
So Ricey McMenamin was in the Tyrone minor back room team this year? Mmmm now it's all making sense.
Some of the lines you hear on the pitch are great tho. When Mossie Quinn and the rest of the Dublin team were having a 'mare v Tyrone in 2008, Dublin got the usual handy free. One of the Tyrone players says "Here Mossie, you do know that if you miss this one Pillar will pull ye off for sure!"
Quote from: Over the Bar on June 01, 2015, 08:07:35 PM
Some of the lines you hear on the pitch are great tho. When Mossie Quinn and the rest of the Dublin team were having a 'mare v Tyrone in 2008, Dublin got the usual handy free. One of the Tyrone players says "Here Mossie, you do know that if you miss this one Pillar will pull ye off for sure!"
That's a great one alright
Quote from: Over the Bar on June 01, 2015, 08:07:35 PM
oh matron
I'm not sure I explained myself very well earlier on, was on a phone. Obviously I wouldn't prefer a broken jaw over some lad telling me shite. What I am trying to say is I have more time for the sort of fella that will hit hard , mano a mano, for an hour and sometimes lose his cool and get himself sent off for trying to have a row, over the sneaky lad that tries to goad or taunt an opponent, using physical or verbal intimidation with the sole purpose of going down like a bag of spuds to get him sent off.
But lest there be any doubt, below both of these I would place the cowardly f**ker that dough bars a lad from behind or unexpectedly. I don't think Meath had too many of those.
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 01, 2015, 09:07:47 PM
I'm not sure I explained myself very well earlier on, was on a phone. Obviously I wouldn't prefer a broken jaw over some lad telling me shite. What I am trying to say is I have more time for the sort of fella that will hit hard , mano a mano, for an hour and sometimes lose his cool and get himself sent off for trying to have a row, over the sneaky lad that tries to goad or taunt an opponent, using physical or verbal intimidation with the sole purpose of going down like a bag of spuds to get him sent off.
But lest there be any doubt, below both of these I would place the cowardly f**ker that dough bars a lad from behind or unexpectedly. I don't think Meath had too many of those.
??? WTF is that? I thought I had seen the lot :o
I'd rather not know to be honest.
Crow bar ?
Either that or a bagette
A hilarious thread, Meath (when they were successful) all indignant about the hint of an aspersion being cast upon their pristine purity and angelic innocence on the field of play... truly hilarious!* :D :D
* Never forgetting to be ever so grateful of course for Meath kicking the winning of All-Irelands into ourselves, to be sure.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 05, 2015, 01:24:00 AM
A hilarious thread, Meath (when they were successful) all indignant about the hint of an aspersion being cast upon their pristine purity and angelic innocence on the field of play... truly hilarious!* :D :D
* Never forgetting to be ever so grateful of course for Meath kicking the winning of All-Irelands into ourselves, to be sure.
To be honest I would say the other team mates would be a tad embarrassed at the whitewashing of their teams activities. For years they revelled in it and in an era where brutality brought is reward.
Lads, there's no hiding the truth with bluster. Everyone hates a whinger. They hate a sneak even more. A trash-talking little bastard who is prepared to make fun of another person's grief is off the revulsion scale altogether. That's why people bemoan the ascendency of diving, cheating, trash-talking cornerboy football and lament the passing of the days when men gave as good as they got and played a man's game like men.
Quote from: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 11:03:19 AM
Lads, there's no hiding the truth with bluster. Everyone hates a whinger. They hate a sneak even more. A trash-talking little b**tard who is prepared to make fun of another person's grief is off the revulsion scale altogether. That's why people bemoan the ascendency of diving, cheating, trash-talking cornerboy football and lament the passing of the days when men gave as good as they got and played a man's game like men.
If that '96 Meath team was brought to the year 2015 via a time machine, and they ended up playing Tyrone in an All-Ireland semi-final, who would the neutral GAA fan would be up for?
Quote from: Jinxy on June 05, 2015, 01:05:01 PM
If that '96 Meath team was brought to the year 2015 via a time machine, and they ended up playing Tyrone in an All-Ireland semi-final, who would the neutral GAA fan would be up for?
Always had a lot of respect for the Meath team they played the game hard but fair on the majority of occasions and from my memory they never started it but by God they could finish it . . . Cavanagh would be on the back pages first thing Monday morning complaining about big John McDermott tackling him too hard or some nonsense!!
Like I said, the hilarity of it all, those Meath paragons of playing virtue and guardians of sporting sanctity! :D :D
The problem for you lads, Fear, is that it's true on a sporting level that Tyrone, Rumsfeld like, doesn't even know it doesn't know. :)
Quote from: Hardy on June 05, 2015, 06:43:38 PM
The problem for you lads, Fear, is that it's true on a sporting level that Tyrone, Rumsfeld like, doesn't even know it doesn't know. :)
And you pretend not to know what you do know! It's the way things work! :)
I don't know about that!
Quote from: screenexile on June 05, 2015, 01:25:31 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 05, 2015, 01:05:01 PM
Always had a lot of respect for the Meath team they played the game hard but fair on the majority of occasions and from my memory they never started it but by God they could finish it . . . Cavanagh would be on the back pages first thing Monday morning complaining about big John McDermott tackling him too hard or some nonsense!!
Dinky McBride springs to mind!
Only catching up on this thread now and it really is rich you've got Meath of all teams calling the pot black.
As Fear said Tyrone learnt a lot more about the unspoken methods that day about how you have to earn the right to play football. Kerry for years have been able to mix the nasty stuff to bully teams to earn the right to play the nice stuff.
Tyrone had a few good players back in 96 and Dinky McBride had been a menace in the Ulster championship that year and was the sort of tall ball winning forward that Canavan could benefit from playing alongside.
Of course it was just coincidence that McBride, Dooher and Canavan got targeted by usually Clean players and Tyrone used totally over the top bandages rather than a small sticky plaster. Bad losers like Tipperary lads this year but just without the big bandages and their best player injured for the year ahead.
Anyway enuf of the crap talk.
I think there is a link between players no longer throwing punches and now use other tactics like neck pinching and sledging.
I've said it before I would prefer if Mickey Harte would make a stand and tell his players that anyone saw sledging will be taken off and not play again.
Players might be doing it off their own bat but it has already gone too far and they need to realise it is setting standards and other teams, clubs and underage players will copy it.
Just cos Donegal do it isn't a good enough reason.
I'd like to see the CCCC call a meeting with all county managers and talk about the lack if respect between players at ALL levels. The GAA have this Give Respect Get Respect bullshit campaign but nothing is actually being done about it.
In fairness lots of other teams don't partake in this nonsense but in some parts of Ulster it is rife and something needs to change.
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 07, 2015, 09:36:47 AM
Only catching up on this thread now and it really is rich you've got Meath of all teams calling the pot black.
As Fear said Tyrone learnt a lot more about the unspoken methods that day about how you have to earn the right to play football. Kerry for years have been able to mix the nasty stuff to bully teams to earn the right to play the nice stuff.
Tyrone had a few good players back in 96 and Dinky McBride had been a menace in the Ulster championship that year and was the sort of tall ball winning forward that Canavan could benefit from playing alongside.
Of course it was just coincidence that McBride, Dooher and Canavan got targeted by usually Clean players and Tyrone used totally over the top bandages rather than a small sticky plaster. Bad losers like Tipperary lads this year but just without the big bandages and their best player injured for the year ahead.
I think there is a link between players no longer throwing punches and now use other tactics like neck pinching and sledging.
I've said it before I would prefer if Mickey Harte would make a stand and tell his players that anyone saw sledging will be taken off and not play again.
Players might be doing it off their own bat but it has already gone too far and they need to realise it is setting standards and other teams, clubs and underage players will copy it.
I'd like to see the CCCC call a meeting with all county managers and talk about the lack if respect between players at ALL levels. The GAA have this Give Respect Get Respect bullshit campaign but nothing is actually being done about it.
In fairness lots of other teams don't partake in this nonsense but in some parts of Ulster it is rife and something needs to change.
Sorry, but I must persist with my theme of myth and legend. Even a level-headed contributor like you, Fuzzman falls into accepting the myth without regard for facts or evidence. You say Tyrone's best players got targeted as if it was a fact. For one thing, you can't know that unless you were in the Meath dressing room.
For a second thing, we had never heard of Dooher or McBride and they were utterly anonymous in this game. Why the hell would we target them?
For a third thing, it was pretty poor targetting, because the target Canavan was missed completely (we have shown that his injury was a twisted ankle - how do you plan to twist somebody's ankle?) and all three were able to play on, Dooher and McBride with no apparent ill effect other than being near-blinded by their extravagant bandaging.
For a fourth thing, from what wild leap of imagination comes the suggestion of a need to target anyone in a game in which we were so superior that we could have taken off five players without substitution and saved them for the final?
For a fifth thing, the rape was only discovered after the cheque bounced twenty-four hours later in Dinky's whingeathon on the Marian Finucane show. Suddenly all of Tyrone was in outrage even though, in the meantime, Tyrone team and management interviewees were in awe of Meath's performance immediately after the match and on the highlights programme. (The pundits on the Sunday game did comment at some length on Tyrone's propensity to fall over – little did they ralise the monster whose birth we were witnessing.)
And ... ah no. Five is enough, but I could go on.
After all that, though, fair play to you, Fuzzman for the rest of your post. You're the first Tyrone contributor to acknowledge the fact that your team has brought this hateful sledging and trash-talking to the game. It's an honest and brave post for that much. This stuff needs to be stamped out and we'd go a long way to achieving that if the rest of those responsible took charge of that responsibility in the way you suggest.
Quote from: Hardy on June 07, 2015, 01:13:23 PM
Sorry, but I must persist with my theme of myth and legend. Even a level-headed contributor like you, Fuzzman falls into accepting the myth without regard for facts or evidence. You say Tyrone's best players got targeted as if it was a fact. For one thing, you can't know that unless you were in the Meath dressing room.
For a second thing, we had never heard of Dooher or McBride and they were utterly anonymous in this game. Why the hell would we target them?
For a third thing, it was pretty poor targetting, because the target Canavan was missed completely (we have shown that his injury was a twisted ankle - how do you plan to twist somebody's ankle?) and all three were able to play on, Dooher and McBride with no apparent ill effect other than being near-blinded by their extravagant bandaging.
For a fourth thing, from what wild leap of imagination comes the suggestion of a need to target anyone in a game in which we were so superior that we could have taken off five players without substitution and saved them for the final?
For a fifth thing, the rape was only discovered after the cheque bounced twenty-four hours later in Dinky's whingeathon on the Marian Finucane show. Suddenly all of Tyrone was in outrage even though, in the meantime, Tyrone team and management interviewees were in awe of Meath's performance immediately after the match and on the highlights programme. (The pundits on the Sunday game did comment at some length on Tyrone's propensity to fall over – little did they ralise the monster whose birth we were witnessing.)
After all that, though, fair play to you, Fuzzman for the rest of your post. You're the first Tyrone contributor to acknowledge the fact that your team has brought this hateful sledging and trash-talking to the game. It's an honest and brave post for that much. This stuff needs to be stamped out and we'd go a long way to achieving that if the rest of those responsible took charge of that responsibility in the way you suggest.
This post made me laugh. ;D 20 years ago it may have irritated me though.
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 07, 2015, 03:46:10 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 07, 2015, 01:13:23 PM
This post made me laugh. ;D 20 years ago it may have irritated me though.
It is comedy gold. Gas how we all look through rose tilted glasses at our our teams misdemeanors.
Excellent rebuttal lads. All five points devastatingly refuted.
(Bunker, my glasses are perfectly horizontal.)
Quote from: Hardy on June 07, 2015, 05:42:56 PM
To be honest Hardy, I did actually start a rebuttal as your points are so utterly ridiculous. But I realised it was 20 years ago and I had things to do. I'll leave you to enjoy your rose tinted garden.
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 07, 2015, 06:07:55 PM
To be honest Hardy, I did actually start a rebuttal as your points are so utterly ridiculous.
OK - you have me there. I never considered that argument. Very convincing.
But I realised it was 20 years ago and I had things to do. I'll leave you to enjoy your rose tinted garden.
You're right - it is nearly twenty years ago, but I didn't bring it up. I only stepped in to correct the errors.
(My garden, unlike my glasses is, in fact, tilted.)
Quote from: Hardy on June 07, 2015, 10:12:22 PM
To be honest Hardy, I did actually start a rebuttal as your points are so utterly ridiculous.
But I realised it was 20 years ago and I had things to do. I'll leave you to enjoy your rose tinted garden.
You're right - it is nearly twenty years ago, but I didn't bring it up. I only stepped in to correct the errors.
Ok, since I have been provoked into a meaningless 20 year old debate;
Point 1: I agree, we won't know as a fact if the Tyrone players were targeted as we weren't in the Meath dressing room. I presume you weren't there either so you can't present your point as fact either. The video evidence of the incidents
could point to a systematic attempt to target certain Tyrone players. Again, I don't know this for a fact, but at least I'm basing it on video evidence of incidents that occurred. Have you any evidence to suggest FOR A FACT that those players weren't targeted?
Point 2: if your manager was unaware of the threat posed by Dooher and McBride then he was not the outstanding manager that I have always believed him to be. McBride offered a foil for Canavan that was exceptionally effective in that Ulster championship, an outlet that wasn't there in 95. Close that avenue down and we may be back to all roads leading to Peter. A much easier task to nullify. And well, Dooher was becoming Dooher. In a game were Tyrone were always going to be second best at midfield Doohers role was becoming vital. Again, just because you were unaware, doesn't mean a manager as astute as Boylan was unaware.
Point 3: Canavan was out, on and off, for nearly 2 years with that injury. I hardly think it was just a twisted ankle? Your knowledge on this is obviously very sketchy. He was never the same player after that incident. Ok I could agree, McDermott did not specifically target his ankle, he most definitely was not thinking of a "twisted" ankle as his primary motive but he saw an opportunity to take out Canavan when he was in a very vulnerable position. Fair play to him, it worked and the rest is history.
Point 4: So Tyrone, the previous years All Ireland finalists, coming out of a province that included 3 of the previous 4 All Ireland winners were playing Meath, team who hadn't won a provincial crown in 5 years. I would say it would take a wild leap of imagination for even the most die hard of Meath fans to consider, at the time of Canavans injury in the first half and the other first half incidents occurred, that Meath were so superior that they could have taken players off to rest them. The rose tinted glasses of 1996 are very powerful.
Point 5: No idea what your are talking about with your rape comment. But I must say that the outrage in Tyrone served to create a mindset that won us the 3 All Ireland titles in future years. Rightly or wrongly, we believed that if we were to win All Ireland titles then we'd have to go and rip them off the traditional strongholds - and so it came to pass. For that I will be eternally grateful.
I write this post in response to your jibes. Let it be known that I bear no animosity to Meath football at all. I have always admired your style of play and was a huge fan of the Team in the late 80s to early 90s and in fact hope to see them rise again to challenge Dublins cake walk in Leinster soon.
God, will you Tyrone lads just let it go.
You're actually worse than that Mayo crowd.
Quote from: Jinxy on June 07, 2015, 11:47:32 PM
God, will you Tyrone lads just let it go.
You're actually worse than that Mayo crowd.
They'll never be worse than us Mayo crowd. That's the one thing we are better than anyone else at! :P
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 07, 2015, 11:17:45 PM
Point 1: I agree, we won't know as a fact if the Tyrone players were targeted as we weren't in the Meath dressing room. I presume you weren't there either so you can't present your point as fact either. The video evidence of the incidents could point to a systematic attempt to target certain Tyrone players. Again, I don't know this for a fact, but at least I'm basing it on video evidence of incidents that occurred. Have you any evidence to suggest FOR A FACT that those players weren't targeted?
Point 2: if your manager was unaware of the threat posed by Dooher and McBride then he was not the outstanding manager that I have always believed him to be. McBride offered a foil for Canavan that was exceptionally effective in that Ulster championship, an outlet that wasn't there in 95. Close that avenue down and we may be back to all roads leading to Peter. A much easier task to nullify. And well, Dooher was becoming Dooher. In a game were Tyrone were always going to be second best at midfield Doohers role was becoming vital. Again, just because you were unaware, doesn't mean a manager as astute as Boylan was unaware.
Point 3: Canavan was out, on and off, for nearly 2 years with that injury. I hardly think it was just a twisted ankle? Your knowledge on this is obviously very sketchy. He was never the same player after that incident. Ok I could agree, McDermott did not specifically target his ankle, he most definitely was not thinking of a "twisted" ankle as his primary motive but he saw an opportunity to take out Canavan when he was in a very vulnerable position. Fair play to him, it worked and the rest is history.
Point 4: So Tyrone, the previous years All Ireland finalists, coming out of a province that included 3 of the previous 4 All Ireland winners were playing Meath, team who hadn't won a provincial crown in 5 years. I would say it would take a wild leap of imagination for even the most die hard of Meath fans to consider, at the time of Canavans injury in the first half and the other first half incidents occurred, that Meath were so superior that they could have taken players off to rest them. The rose tinted glasses of 1996 are very powerful.
Point 5: No idea what your are talking about with your rape comment. But I must say that the outrage in Tyrone served to create a mindset that won us the 3 All Ireland titles in future years. Rightly or wrongly, we believed that if we were to win All Ireland titles then we'd have to go and rip them off the traditional strongholds - and so it came to pass. For that I will be eternally grateful.
I write this post in response to your jibes. Let it be known that I bear no animosity to Meath football at all. I have always admired your style of play and was a huge fan of the Team in the late 80s to early 90s and in fact hope to see them rise again to challenge Dublins cake walk in Leinster soon.
As far as Hardy is concerned on Point 3...McDermot wasn't even involved in the "twisting of the ankle" Peter managed that all on his owny own..... but he sending me a tape of it so that I can examine it
Also Benny I am not grateful and have no respect in the slightest, I hate the Meath hoors, what good was the lesson if we didnt learn to hate them? Their possibly worse than the inbreds which I have been assured by the populace of their neighbouring counties is also an affliction that Meath people suffer from and apparently where the nickname "the Royals" stems from.
Benny – this is your best effort? Really? You have heard of the Argument From Ignorance fallacy?
You targeted our best players.
- How about some evidence?
No. You provide the evidence that you didn't.
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 08, 2015, 06:27:11 AM
I hate the Meath hoors, what good was the lesson if we didnt learn to hate them? Their possibly worse than the inbreds which I have been assured by the populace of their neighbouring counties is also an affliction that Meath people suffer from and apparently where the nickname "the Royals" stems from.
Ah! More cornerboy trash talk. It seems to be endemic among the bushes. And you expect me to go down to the post office and send you a tape?
You lads need to follow Fuzzman's lead. Face your demons. Work to take your trash-talking, cheating, grief-mocking delinquents under control instead of whinging about something that didn't happen twenty years ago.
Point 1: I agree, we won't know as a fact if the Tyrone players were targeted as we weren't in the Meath dressing room. I presume you weren't there either so you can't present your point as fact either. The video evidence of the incidents could point to a systematic attempt to target certain Tyrone players. Again, I don't know this for a fact, but at least I'm basing it on video evidence of incidents that occurred. Have you any evidence to suggest FOR A FACT that those players weren't targeted?
I too bear no animosity against meath. With the ability to forgive comes peace within.
Quote from: Hardy on June 08, 2015, 09:16:05 AM
Benny – this is your best effort? Really? You have heard of the Argument From Ignorance fallacy?
You targeted our best players.
- How about some evidence?
No. You provide the evidence that you didn't.
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 08, 2015, 06:27:11 AM
I hate the Meath hoors, what good was the lesson if we didnt learn to hate them? Their possibly worse than the inbreds which I have been assured by the populace of their neighbouring counties is also an affliction that Meath people suffer from and apparently where the nickname "the Royals" stems from.
Ah! More cornerboy trash talk. It seems to be endemic among the bushes. And you expect me to go down to the post office and send you a tape?
You lads need to follow Fuzzman's lead. Face your demons. Work to take your trash-talking, cheating, grief-mocking delinquents under control instead of whinging about something that didn't happen twenty years ago.
I think Benny is pretty reasoned to be honest, OmaghJoe on the other hand.......
Point 5. Rip them off the traditional strongholds.
I didnt realise we, Armagh, were a traditional stronghold. Cheers ;)
The GAA badly needs a strong Meath team to keep the likes of Tyrone in their place.
People gave out about Saddam Hussein for years and now there are plenty who'd take him back in a heartbeat to put manners on those jumped-up ISIS lads.
He was hard but fair.
In summary, Tyrone are worse than ISIS.
Quote from: rrhf on June 08, 2015, 09:48:00 AM
I too bear no animosity against meath. With the ability to forgive comes peace within.
Pious fecker,your fired!You should have been courtmartialed two weeks ago anyhow. ;D
Feck sake.
Imagine if some of the moaney holes here and the internet was around in the 50s, 60s and 70s when football was tough and uncompromising. Jesus, there'd be some discussions.
That Meath team of the 80s/90s were hewn out of old timber. They took no prisioners and I loved that about them. They had style as well in Stafford, Flynn and Beggy.
Ever hear a Dub moaning about the beatings they took from Lyons and Co around that time?
Is it only Tyrone that have the puss on them?
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 08, 2015, 01:38:23 PM
Feck sake.
Imagine if some of the moaney holes here and the internet was around in the 50s, 60s and 70s when football was tough and uncompromising. Jesus, there'd be some discussions.
That Meath team of the 80s/90s were hewn out of old timber. They took no prisioners and I loved that about them. They had style as well in Stafford, Flynn and Beggy.
Ever hear a Dub moaning about the beatings they took from Lyons and Co around that time?
I'd say he wasn't O'Rourke's cup of tea, the rugby playin caaaant. ;D
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 08, 2015, 10:49:13 AM
Point 5. Rip them off the traditional strongholds.
I didnt realise we, Armagh, were a traditional stronghold. Cheers ;)
I was thinking of Kerry in the semi final! :D
Quote from: rrhf on June 08, 2015, 09:48:00 AM
Never heard of inner peace never winnin an All-Ireland
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 08, 2015, 01:38:23 PM
Feck sake.
Ahem! Where have you been for the last 20 years?
Quote from: Jinxy on June 08, 2015, 11:08:40 AM
The GAA badly needs a strong Meath team to keep the likes of Tyrone in their place.
People gave out about Saddam Hussein for years and now there are plenty who'd take him back in a heartbeat to put manners on those jumped-up ISIS lads.
He was hard but fair.
In summary, Tyrone are worse than ISIS.
So you are self proclaiming Meath as the Saddam Hussein of the GAA?
I hate doing quotes on here as I often use my phone to read the board and it kills my finger scrolling so much.
BennyHarps post on page 7 is as good an explanation as I've ever read about that Meath game.
A few years back I read a Meath book (can't recall the title) as they see that victory over Tyrone as a massive performance by them that they kinda hijacked us that day and "nullified" our best players which allowed them to play some amazing football.
It was a weird position for Tyrone to find themselves in as favourites having won two Ulsters in a row for the first time ever I think.
Tyrone management team back then was naive and remind me of how the new boys on the block get treated by a more experienced team or management team who are that bit cuter.
Anyway as most of admit it was a hard lesson learnt and at least PTG got a chance to come back 10 years later to win his 2nd AI.
Sometimes you have to wonder is Brolly picking these fixtures out on RTE to stir up the sh*t!
I wonder will Gerry McEntee make the trip up North. We should do some Art work for him
Gerry & Art will race each other over 30m at half-time to decide once and for all which is the mightiest county.
Quote from Hardy blah blah...After all that, though, fair play to you, Fuzzman for the rest of your post. You're the first Tyrone contributor to acknowledge the fact that your team has brought this hateful sledging and trash-talking to the game. It's an honest and brave post for that much. This stuff needs to be stamped out and we'd go a long way to achieving that if the rest of those responsible took charge of that responsibility in the way you suggest
I must have missed this reply when you wrote it BUT...
I love yer line "Stamping Out" this sort of stuff.
Armagh lads STILL reckon Marsden didn't punch Jordan.
Do you still reckon Martin O'Connell didn't mean to stand on Doohers head?
If Paul Donnelly had of stood on Trevor Giles head would the media have saw it the same way?
AZ, this is where you usually step in with some sense and sensibility.
For those who wonder why we hate Meath so much.
Read the previous pages. Let it go. Meath nearly ended the hopes of an All Ireland for one of the best players to ever play football.
Thankfully Mickey Harte came along with a great squad of young lads 7 years later.
Only really seeing this thread now.
Sorta feel we need to get a few of these Meath lads up to Omagh and ply them with beer and then mill them unguarded. The way Peter was.
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 30, 2015, 01:10:19 AM
Quote from Hardy blah blah...After all that, though, fair play to you, Fuzzman for the rest of your post. You're the first Tyrone contributor to acknowledge the fact that your team has brought this hateful sledging and trash-talking to the game. It's an honest and brave post for that much. This stuff needs to be stamped out and we'd go a long way to achieving that if the rest of those responsible took charge of that responsibility in the way you suggest
If Paul Donnelly had of stood on Trevor Giles head would the media have saw it the same way?
Read the previous pages. Let it go. Meath nearly ended the hopes of an All Ireland for one of the best players to ever play football.
Thankfully Mickey Harte came along with a great squad of young lads 7 years later.
Martin McHugh called, he wants the left half of his brain back.
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 30, 2015, 01:10:19 AM
Was it something I said?