The only non televised game this year in Ulster.
Can't see their being anymore than 5000 at the game.
Fermanagh will go into the game as strong favourites but that was the same as last year and we got caught cold.
Fermanagh never deal with being favourites well and I expect this game will be a lot closer then people predict.
Fermanagh seem to have a clean bill of health with the exception of Fermanagh captain and midfielder Eoin Donnelly who I would think at this stage will not play.
Antrim arguably had a better league campaign than last year and were right in the promotion equation until the last game.
CJ has been scoring heavy but they have also had a few withdrawals from the panel as well.
Fermanagh should win this but then again I thought that last year.
We have had a good year so far and we need to win on Sunday.
It's been a while since we won an ulster championship game.
Eamon Sweeney had a piece in the Indo yesterday about Unionist MP Tom Elliott refusing a invite to the game. He should be ashamed of himself after all the efforts to keep the peace on our little island this b----x wants to go back down the same old road again. Would it kill me to go to the game. This kind of thing really annoys me after all the progress we have made.
Quote from: hardstation on May 25, 2015, 03:21:15 PM
We go in hope. I'm optimistic we can grab a win.
If you are beat Ye still have the Ulster hurling championship to look forward to
No more than 5000 at the game? I work in Fermanagh from time to time and I can tell you that there is a buzz there at the moment. Pete McGrath has done a great job. They're a different side to this time last year.
Antrim meanwhile continue to be a shambles. They do more talking off the pitch than on it. Fermanagh by 6 or 7 points.
Yes I'd say there will be more than 5K at it ck. Fermanagh should win this going on league form, but they weren't too impressive in the Division 3 final. Antrim people are downbeat enough on the Antrim football thread, but that could be just from having a horrible spring. Hardstation is optimistic, so why can't all the other Antrim people be?
Is there deferred coverage on BBC?
Would agree that there is a feeling in Fermanagh that we are going in the right direction. League was encouraging for most part and flop in final may have been a good reality check at right time. History has taught us to fear everyone though, God knows what will happen.
Can't see Antrim doing much here. Whilst it's relatively easy to look good in Division 3, Fermanagh are a good bit ahead of Antrim and i'd expect them to win comfortably.
How many, if any, McGourtys will be togging out?
2 Conor and Kieran. Arguably the most talented Kevin will be at the bar
I'd say there's more chance of Tom Elliott getting an All star than Antrim winning this one.Fermanagh to qualify for a training session with Monaghan in the semis.
Quote from: ExiledGael on May 25, 2015, 05:04:23 PM
Is there deferred coverage on BBC?
Would agree that there is a feeling in Fermanagh that we are going in the right direction. League was encouraging for most part and flop in final may have been a good reality check at right time. History has taught us to fear everyone though, God knows what will happen.
Yes, extended highlights at 7pm.
Antrim are an embarrasment to themselves, nobody in the history of Gaelic games has done less with more.
On a scale 1-10 how hard has Kevin mccourty hit the drink. Was sum talent alright
He still plays club for St.Galls when he can be arsed. Few screws loose but that's what made part of his game. I Remember him emptying Sean Cavanagh one day at Casement as soon as he came on, he wasnt overawed by anyone unlike a few other Antrim players.
Redzone,
That's a pretty tasteless post, think about removing it.
See Antrim against Derry a few weeks, ago thought they looked alright but again that was in a friendly
yeah sorry about that,somebody mrntioned it to me one yime and didnt know if it was true or not.sorry again
I saw Kevin playing last week and he was going well. On that showing he still has game time in him for St Galls seniors. Some character alright with no back doors. I'd say he would be some craic to be on the lash with.
Quote from: redzone on May 25, 2015, 10:55:30 PM
yeah sorry about that,somebody mrntioned it to me one yime and didnt know if it was true or not.sorry again
Must have been really bad form, if it was considered tasteless by Antrim standards.
I'll definitely watch the game live on rte. I like these type of competitive championship games.
Quote from: SaffronHeart on May 25, 2015, 10:12:20 PM
He still plays club for St.Galls when he can be arsed. Few screws loose but that's what made part of his game. I Remember him emptying Sean Cavanagh one day at Casement as soon as he came on, he wasnt overawed by anyone unlike a few other Antrim players.
So to prove why he was overawed he emptied some fella. Well done him.
Quote from: bannside on May 25, 2015, 11:56:15 PM
I saw Kevin playing last week and he was going well. On that showing he still has game time in him for St Galls seniors. Some character alright with no back doors. I'd say he would be some craic to be on the lash with.
I think he ran the belfast marathon in a respectable enough time so must be looking after himself.
Hard to see antrim win this one but the same could have been said at this time last year so who knows.
I haven't seen much of Antrim this year but can't see past Fermanagh for this one. PMcG has them playing with confidence and belief.. E Donnelly will definitely be a miss but I still fancy Fermanagh by 4/5 points.
Quote from: Main Street on May 25, 2015, 11:57:55 PM
Must have been really bad form, if it was considered tasteless by Antrim standards.
I'll definitely watch the game live on rte. I like these type of competitive championship games.
I don't think it's on RTE is it?
Quote from: DennistheMenace on May 26, 2015, 09:27:34 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 25, 2015, 11:57:55 PM
I don't think it's on RTE is it?
It would appear not: http://www.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/national-fixtures/gaa-football-all-ireland-senior-championship/ulster/ (http://www.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/national-fixtures/gaa-football-all-ireland-senior-championship/ulster/)
Taken from the BBC NI website: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/gaelic-games/32612140 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/gaelic-games/32612140)
"Fermanagh's game with Antrim will have a deferred showing on 31 May before the live TV matches resume with Derry's tussle with Down on 7 June."
On the subject of Tom Elliott,it was nice to see UUP leader Mike Nesbitt at the charity GAA game in Newcastle on Monday night.He is a frequent attender and he pointed out to Caral Ni Chuilin recently that he has been at 3 All Ireland Finals while asking her how many she's been at! ;D
Hypothetical question but if Antrim had home advantage where would this game be played?
I don't think we have a ground capable of holding a championship game :(
It would either have to be neutral or we'd lose home advantage.
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 28, 2015, 10:17:18 AM
I don't think we have a ground capable of holding a championship game :(
It would either have to be neutral or we'd lose home advantage.
Well its to be shit weather (no surprise) on Sunday so it might at least for Antrim's sake keep the score down, sure if nothing else the Antrim lads can look forward to something nice to eat on the way back home eh!!
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on May 28, 2015, 10:16:02 AM
Hypothetical question but if Antrim had home advantage where would this game be played?
A question worth consideration. If the game finishes level it should be replayed at an Antrim venue which I would assume in the current circumstances means that Antrim forfeit a home match and the game will be played at a neutral venue?
This isn't the battle for the wooden spoon. Tyrone lost the preliminary round match, and are the only team in Ulster not to make the quarter-finals.
Yes that may be but the reality is that Tyrone B team would beat Antrim and Fermanagh combined. Two worst teams in Ulster by a long way IMO
Quote from: ck on May 28, 2015, 01:29:36 PM
Yes that may be but the reality is that Tyrone B team would beat Antrim and Fermanagh combined. Two worst teams in Ulster by a long way IMO
That's irrelevant. Tyrone have this sewn up. Best of luck to Antrim and Fermanagh, who can play without the humiliation of the wooden spoon hanging over them.
By the end of Sunday one of these teams will still be in the Ulster C'ship?
Quote from: ck on May 28, 2015, 01:29:36 PM
Wonder would Antrim bring the Tommy Murphy cup down and we could play off for that instead?
Have we not got it already?
Fermanagh will win this comfortably enough I imagine as in 4 or 5 points.
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on May 28, 2015, 01:58:51 PM
I think that's the way it works yeah.
Maybe two...
Quote from: BluestackBoy on May 28, 2015, 03:55:03 PM
I think that's the way it works yeah.
Meaning Tyrone 'B' Team wont be or A for that matter
Antrim Team named
c.kerr
r.johnson
s.mcveigh
c.burke
j.crozier
t.scullion
n.delargy
c.murray
m.sweeney
j.laverty
o.gallacher
p.mcbride
cj.mcgourty
m.pollock
r.murray
subs:
g.walls
d.lynch
p.mcaleer
j.dowling
b.hasson
k.mcgourty
n.oneill
d.mcaleese
r.mcgrady
c.duffin
m.armstrong
Murray and Sweeney doesn't look like an overly physical midfield. McVeigh vs Quigley could be interesting!
I just got tickets for the John Vesey stand. Will they be strict about the actual seat numbers or can you move about once you're in the stand?
Quote from: mb80b60 on May 29, 2015, 10:50:59 AM
Murray and Sweeney doesn't look like an overly physical midfield. McVeigh vs Quigley could be interesting!
I just got tickets for the John Vesey stand. Will they be strict about the actual seat numbers or can you move about once you're in the stand?
Stand will proabably be near full especially given the weather forecast.
No movement
Quote from: FermGael on May 29, 2015, 10:52:41 AM
Quote from: mb80b60 on May 29, 2015, 10:50:59 AM
Stand will proabably be near full especially given the weather forecast.
No movement
Ok, so we'll be sitting where our tickets say then? There will be a couple of young children in our group who won't have the patience to sit through the minor game so if they arrive just before the senior game they'll be able to sit with the rest of us?
yeah siting where your tickets say.
Have the children got tickets as well because the stand is all ticket?
Quote from: FermGael on May 29, 2015, 10:56:55 AM
yeah siting where your tickets say.
Have the children got tickets as well because the stand is all ticket?
Yes, they have tickets. Cheers.
Fermanagh team named
Snow
Jones, Cassidy, O'Brien,
D. McCusker, McCluskey, McMahon,
R Jones, O'Callaghan,
P. McCusker, Flaherty, Mulrone,
T. Corrigan, Quigley, R. Corrigan
A Few surprises in that lineout.
Tiernan Daly has played full back for the whole league and does not start. Snow gets the nod in goals over Tracey.
Ulster Championship debuts for James McMahon and Ruairi Corrigan.
Eoin Donnelly will play no part on Sunday as he is not listed on the bench
Quote from: FermGael on May 29, 2015, 10:20:02 PM
Fermanagh team named
Snow
Jones, Cassidy, O'Brien,
D. McCusker, McCluskey, McMahon,
R Jones, O'Callaghan,
P. McCusker, Flaherty, Mulrone,
T. Corrigan, Quigley, R. Corrigan
A Few surprises in that lineout.
Tiernan Daly has played full back for the whole league and does not start. Snow gets the nod in goals over Tracey.
Ulster Championship debuts for James McMahon and Ruairi Corrigan.
Eoin Donnelly will play no part on Sunday as he is not listed on the bench
Donnelly is carrying an injury I heard.
With the disarray Antrim are in Fermanagh should have a comfy enough win - Monaghan in the semi though [insert emoji of choice]
Peter has his say.
Peter Canavan: The politics forced me out of Fermanagh - Donegal got more access to Brewster Park than we did in two years
I must say I am looking forward to tomorrow's Ulster Championship match, and I make no apologies for cheering on this group of Fermanagh players against Antrim.
There is an attachment and a bond with the group which came with my two years there as manager. But ultimately, the politics behind the scenes didn't wash with me at all.
I was asked to take over the county when they were in turmoil and disarray. Pat Spillane had them ranked as 29th out of the counties in his newspaper column after they lost to London in the 2011 qualifiers.
I spoke to Kieran Donnelly, my trainer with Errigal Ciaran and himself a former Fermanagh player. He had belief in them, that things were at a low ebb, but it could be turned around.
There were other former county players who informed me that the county and players were split after a player walkout the previous year. And I was assured that I would never get the county board together again.
So, they were right, at least regarding the county board. I was never able to sort that mess out.
From a players' point of view, we had a serious meeting once we compiled a panel after a series of trials.
A lot of opinions were aired in the Manor House Hotel one Saturday afternoon in early January 2012.
We could not approach men to come back and then brush it under the table. Some had waited a long time to get stuff off their chest, but they wouldn't have been there if it wasn't for their love for Fermanagh.
Whether people felt they were right or wrong, there was only one way of getting it out of their system and that was by showing their commitment on the pitch.
They sorted it out, got on with things and trained as hard as any group of players I have been involved with. That's why I respect them so much.
We had some good nights out with them on weekends away, and the way that they dealt with the tragic death of their fellow player Brian Óg Maguire in an accident in September 2012 was a perfect example of humility and dignity.
The characters – Barry Mulrone, Daniel 'Cecil' Kille, Shane McCabe – I still hear from them and get bad manners yet from some!
Counties with smaller playing populations – and Fermanagh, with only 20 clubs, fall into this bracket – will always struggle with one or two players that they would dearly love to be on board, but prove 'difficult.'
Cross
We had that with Seamus Quigley. The first three or four months we were there, he was the first man on the pitch every night and we never had a cross word with him. He won the Ulster GAA Writer's Player of the Month in January for his performances in the McKenna Cup.
Whether it was the pressure of knowing that he was the main man coming up to the summer, whether he felt he couldn't handle it, I don't know. But for whatever reason, he resorted to doing what he had done under other managers – he started missing training and we would have reports back of Seamie partying, and he was absent from a training session the week of our first Championship match against Down.
The great pity is that his kicking ability was as good as anyone in Ulster, without a doubt. If you saw Michael Murphy kicking the late free for Donegal against Tyrone a couple of weeks back, Seamie Quigley would do that nine times out of ten. He has done it and is still doing it for his club Roslea.
Eventually, we had to move on without him.
Then, there was the difficulty in dealing with the divisions in the county board, despite some officers doing their very best for us.
I noticed Rory Gallagher's recent comments when he said that he had to be guaranteed certain structures had to be in place in Donegal before he took over, in order for him to concentrate on the players and preparing them.
This is an area that many more county managers are going to look about nailing down, and something the likes of Eamonn Fitzmaurice does not have to contend with.
In Fermanagh, we had huge difficulty with certain aspects of the county board.
Take something like training on Brewster Park in the lead-up to Championship matches, for example. We arrived there once to find the changing rooms locked. On other occasions we were told we could only train for a short time, or to pack up our cones and get going.
Donegal came to the Lough Erne Resort last year before the All-Ireland final. They actually got more access to that pitch that week than we did in the two years we were managing the county!
Various untruths that were put out there, leading to club delegates questioning everything.
One night, and this comment came back to me, it was asked why this team were training like a Division 1 team, when they were going to end up playing in Division 4?
That was being driven by a few individuals that had nothing to do with getting this management together.
The players embarked on a fundraising project weekend in late November 2012, with a boxing exhibition, bingo and a big Nathan Carter concert.
It was to pay for a training weekend we felt was necessary. They put in an astonishing amount of work, having to balance it with a tough pre-season.
Yet there was negative vibes about that, disputes over money. It was a non-stop knocking at the team and even the players.
So it gets to the stage where you are asking yourself, 'what am I doing here, doing my best for a county, when others don't want you there?'
Cagey
Anyway! Back to this weekend, and it will be two cagey teams in Brewster Park.
A lot of the time, your tactical approach is shaped by the players at your disposal.
You can't go man for man. Fermanagh are not in a position to go hell for leather; their emphasis is on defence and hitting teams on the counter.
In the meantime, they are fortunate that they have someone like Pete McGrath, who is football to the core and appreciates what is required.
I have no doubt that the players will give him the response he deserves tomorrow, with Fermanagh winning with something to spare.
Bitter or just annoyed?? Whose CB is worse ??
I would say a combination of the two Milltown.
Fermanagh county board are notorious for being dinosaurs.
Same people rotating the top jobs for the last 25 years.
The quote about a county board official saying hey were a division 4 team would not have been far of the mark. Would sum them up.
But the story's about his expenses also did not help. That was a a major issue for some.
You also look at the Fermanagh team that McGrath has playing today.
I would say we have at 7 least players started who wouldn't have made Canavans first 15 and a few who were not even on the panel.
Canavan kept faith with the older players who had been great servants to Fermanagh but at the expense of some good young players who are now showing what they are capable off.
As for which county board is worse that's easy. Antrims.
As someone who works in a secondary school in West Belfast that's an easy call.
Fermanagh county board are not the greatest but at least they try a bit.
Quote from: FermGael on May 31, 2015, 08:47:28 AM
I would say a combination of the two Milltown.
Fermanagh county board are notorious for being dinosaurs.
Same people rotating the top jobs for the last 25 years.
The quote about a county board official saying hey were a division 4 team would not have been far of the mark. Would sum them up.
But the story's about his expenses also did not help. That was a a major issue for some.
You also look at the Fermanagh team that McGrath has playing today.
I would say we have at 7 least players started who wouldn't have made Canavans first 15 and a few who were not even on the panel.
Canavan kept faith with the older players who had been great servants to Fermanagh but at the expense of some good young players who are now showing what they are capable off.
As for which county board is worse that's easy. Antrims.
As someone who works in a secondary school in West Belfast that's an easy call.
Fermanagh county board are not the greatest but at least they try a bit.
There needs to be a joined up approach CB need models to work from that are successful in terms of working with managers and development set ups...amd providing there are enough people willing changing county chairmen every 4 years wouldn't be a bad thing either
Who's the ref today?
Anyone have a link for the game?
Can't make it to Brewster unfortunately. I know BBC are showing it later but would love to watch it live.
Any help greatly appreciated!
Pleasantly surprised with the BBC NI coverage of the Fermanagh Antrim game. Is that Thomas Kane commentating? Thought he did well. Clark knows his stuff.
I was in Enniskiilen for the weekend. Went to this match. Absolutely atrocious stuff from both teams. Very poor side beats worse side.
Red card, no complaints think Fermanagh would have won in the end but would have been lot closer... Too many mistakes and no real pace... The Antrim lads played well considering being down a man.. Fermanagh would need to be playing seriously well to put a dent against Monaghan... Good luck yo them
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 31, 2015, 08:47:34 PM
Red card, no complaints think Fermanagh would have won in the end but would have been lot closer... Too many mistakes and no real pace... The Antrim lads played well considering being down a man.. Fermanagh would need to be playing seriously well to put a dent against Monaghan... Good luck yo them
To use a golfing analogy, tee to green Antrim did OK, but once they got inside the Fermanagh 45 they seemed clueless?
Quote from: Pub Bore on May 31, 2015, 08:39:16 PM
I was in Enniskiilen for the weekend. Went to this match. Absolutely atrocious stuff from both teams. Very poor side beats worse side.
Would agree with this. Also as MR2 said,there can be no complaints from Antrim re the sending off.
How did Maggie Farrelly get on reffing the minor game?
Strange game. Felt like a challenge match for large parts of the first half. Their was no real bite in the game and both teams didn't really seem that interested .
Red card was deserved.
Fermanagh seemed happy enough to just get the win and never really put Antrim away until the last 10 minutes when Antrim were out on their feet.
Anyways first ulster championship win in 5 years. Massive improvement needed for monaghan but I think we should be better when in the underdog role.
Defence was solid today. Midfield did well and forwards played well considering quigley was well marshalled.
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 31, 2015, 08:28:34 PM
Pleasantly surprised with the BBC NI coverage of the Fermanagh Antrim game. Is that Thomas Kane commentating? Thought he did well. Clark knows his stuff.
Agree that there was more shown than I thought there would be. BBC probably feel justified now in not showing it live.
It was Thomas Niblock - a few wrong name calls here and there but generally very good and a marked improvement from his professor. Agree re Marty Clarke - pretty much on the money. Makes absolute sense to have someone who played the game as co-commentator.
Real shame with the sending off (deserved) and the players missing/not playing for Antrim but hey ho...
if kevin mcgourty was playing, they would have won
In the end the scoreline was a bit flattering to Fermanagh, but a well deserved win, eventually.
Antrim tried.
As others have said Clarke was very decent.
Hopefully BBC NI use him for more games.
Quote from: hardstation on June 01, 2015, 07:52:36 PM
We've little to laugh about but this is funny.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2knY6LrJXNY
Strange he didn't get a free for that blatant push in the back. There was a similar one just before that where Quigley of Fermanagh hopped the ball and it came off his toe.
Quote from: hardstation on June 01, 2015, 07:52:36 PM
We've little to laugh about but this is funny.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2knY6LrJXNY
Cruel! ;D
Anyone got a link to maddens comments in the IN?
That was a poor game. The only moments of anything resembling class were McGourty's frees.
Antrim had players as good as Fermanagh but lost by double scores. If Antrim had Pete McGrath manage them they'd cause teams bother.
Is Kieran McGourty the lone baldy player (naturally) in 2015?
Kevin Niblock, Kevin O Boyle, Tomas and Michael McCann, Niall McKeever. None of them were available for Antrim.
Antrim always seem to have a few pulling out or not available every year. Those are all top players.
As bad and all as Antrim were in the first game, they could very well beat Fermanagh this time out. I hope Fermanagh's heads don't drop after losing the way they did against Monaghan. They (Fermanagh) played well in the first half according to reports. Antrim will be full of confidence after beating Laois.
Yeah I think this one will be a lot closer than the last time out. Hopefully both teams don't set up as defensively as the last time. It was only in the second half when way behind that Antrim started to play. This should show the management that they can be match teams when they go at the opposition.
McCluskeys appeal against the red card has been rejected.
He will miss the game which is a massive blow for Fermanagh.
Anybody coming to the match needs to give themselves plenty of time for travelling.
One of the main bridges in Enniskillen beside Brewster park is having work done and it is closed to one lane of traffic.
This has had a massive effect on traffic in the town as there now is only one way in and out of enniskillen. There have been major traffic delays around the town over the last 10 days.
Obviously the Roads Service didn't think there'd be any Championship action in Brewster Pk in July ;)
Quote from: Pub Bore on July 02, 2015, 09:42:37 AM
Obviously the Roads Service didn't think there'd be any Championship action in Brewster Pk in July ;)
For the 6 cars heading down it won't make a pile a difference ;-) Though I and heading down to Kesh on Sunday, late afternoon though do I head into Enniskillen to get to Kesh?
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 02, 2015, 12:56:48 PM
Quote from: Pub Bore on July 02, 2015, 09:42:37 AM
For the 6 cars heading down it won't make a pile a difference ;-) Though I and heading down to Kesh on Sunday, late afternoon though do I head into Enniskillen to get to Kesh?
Nope head through Omagh - Lack - Ederney - Kesh
Two rubbish teams playing each other once again. Fermanagh to win at a canter.
Quote from: ck on July 04, 2015, 11:27:17 PM
It's great the way you keep commenting about antrim fermanagh to say how rubbish the two teams are rubbish. A real valuable contribution ::)
Fermanagh are probably a better side than your lot. Unfortunately we're nit but maybe in a one off game who knows.
I can't make the game today due to a Christening but hopefully I can catch it on the radio. Q101.2 do not appear to be covering it, nor do Radio Ulster. Does anyone have any idea of a radio station that will be broadcasting this? Thanks in advance...
Quigley got 14 points today. Mad stuff. Wee Pete still working his magic.
Absolutely incredible display from Quigley today, scoring from all angles. Was drifting in and out from middle and nobody seemed to be able to get a grip on him. As good a forward display as I've seen from a Fermanagh man since Rory Gallagher's 3-9 v Monaghan.
He will probably never get that kind of freedom again in a inter-county match in his life. Shows what he is capable of when he gets off to a good start though.
Very impressed with the McCuskers and James McMahon also. Looking good, they're working their asses off for McGrath.
Longford/Kildare/Roscommon next up I think. Would rather avoid Roscommon but McCluskey will be back so bring it on.
Tomas Corrigan possible hamstring injury the only bad news today.
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 05, 2015, 08:09:18 AM
It's great the way you keep commenting about antrim fermanagh to say how rubbish the two teams are rubbish. A real valuable contribution ::)
Fermanagh are probably a better side than your lot. Unfortunately we're nit but maybe in a one off game who knows.
"Keep commenting"? Not sure I ever commented before but I simply made a prediction which was spot on. Fermanagh are a very poor collection of players who are well coached, brilliant manager, good county board and good loyal support. They deserve to be still playing in the qualifiers.
Antrim have none of these and deserve nothing! A 2nd half Laois collapse gave them their 5mins of fame but let's face it it's been an embarrassing year, even by Antrim standards.
I know there are good Gaels in Antrim (I'm related to a few of them) but the lack of professional structure, know how, expertise, tradition and player development means they send out teams every year which are a laughing stock.
Quote from: ck on July 05, 2015, 06:27:49 PM
"Keep commenting"? Not sure I ever commented before but I simply made a prediction which was spot on. Fermanagh are a very poor collection of players who are well coached, brilliant manager, good county board and good loyal support. They deserve to be still playing in the qualifiers.
Antrim have none of these and deserve nothing! A 2nd half Laois collapse gave them their 5mins of fame but let's face it it's been an embarrassing year, even by Antrim standards.
I know there are good Gaels in Antrim (I'm related to a few of them) but the lack of professional structure, know how, expertise, tradition and player development means they send out teams every year which are a laughing stock.
Good one
Rubbish
embarrassing
laughing stock
very poor
way to go big guy
You have made those kind of comments several times probably even on this thread. It's ok though as you have relations there ::)
Way to endear yourself to people too... Fermanagh are a very poor collection of players.
What's your benchmark here? Your home county? Boys like eoin donnelly, the quigleys, mccloskey etc aren't poor in anyone's book.
Very insightful too - picking the favourites to win ::)
It's actually the second time he has made the poor collection of players comment about Fermanagh.
Obviously an axe to grind. Who knows or cares for that matter?
Can't see Sean Quigley making too many other teams in Ulster. Left foot, right foot and a punched point for good measure. Poor footballer
Fermanagh won the match very comfortably today. The first 10 minutes were competitive and that was about it. Antrim were leading 3-2 and then we kicked 7 points without reply.
We were 6 up at half time and then scored the first 3 points on the second half to put the game to bed. Marty popped up with the goal and we should have had another as well.
Good performance in what could have been a tricky enough game.
Another step in the right direction under Pete and another game in the qualifiers to look forward to.
Should help the development of this young Fermanagh team.
Your performance against monaghan worried me fermgael as you were very good and but for sending off it could have been different. Sure enough you again seem to be a decent side going in the right direction.
Best of luck in rest of championship.
Delighted to see Fermanagh going so well at the minute, always had a soft spot for them. Whatever happened to Charlie Mulgrew? He seems to have disappeared completely from the grid since 2004 after doing a remarkable job with Fermanagh.
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 05, 2015, 07:01:47 PM
You have made those kind of comments several times probably even on this thread. It's ok though as you have relations there ::)
Way to endear yourself to people too... Fermanagh are a very poor collection of players.
What's your benchmark here? Your home county? Boys like eoin donnelly, the quigleys, mccloskey etc aren't poor in anyone's book.
Very insightful too - picking the favourites to win ::)
I picked them to win at a canter, which they did. They are a poor collection of players IMO. What have they done in the championship? Beaten Antrim twice. Hardly anything to be writing home about.
You can pick out their best players if you want and you can do that for any team but collectively they are poor but operating way above themselves due to very good management.
No axe to grind at all lads, just my honest opinion. I work regularly in Fermanagh and take good interest in what's going on and I know many Fermanagh people who would agree with my views. Long may their run in the qualifiers continue. Like Sligo Fermanagh are a small county who do their best.
It's a myth that the Ulster Championship is competitive (I know this was a qualifier) or that any Ulster team could give any other Ulster team a tough game.Donegal and Monaghan are miles ahead of Tyrone,Armagh,Derry,who are a considerable distance ahead of Cavan who are well ahead of Fermanagh and Down who are miles ahead of Antrim.
Tony's obcession with all things fermanagh continues
Quote from: T Fearon on July 05, 2015, 10:32:02 PM
It's a myth that the Ulster Championship is competitive (I know this was a qualifier) or that any Ulster team could give any other Ulster team a tough game.Donegal and Monaghan are miles ahead of Tyrone,Armagh,Derry,who are a considerable distance ahead of Cavan who are well ahead of Fermanagh and Down who are miles ahead of Antrim.
Donegal are certainly miles ahead of Armagh...few would dispute that
On the SG highlights there was a shot of Pete McGrath on the pitch talking intensely with one of his players before kick off, you just knew that his team were going to be fully prepared to meet the challenge and Antrim had a tall order.
Well done to Fermanagh, thoroughly deserved to get through to the next round with plenty to spare and ambitious to get further.
Quote from: Main Street on July 06, 2015, 12:36:10 AM
On the SG highlights there was a shot of Pete McGrath on the pitch talking intensely with one of his players before kick off, you just knew that his team were going to be fully prepared to meet the challenge and Antrim had a tall order.
Holy fcuk.
Quote from: ONeill on July 06, 2015, 12:40:15 AM
Holy fcuk.
Go holy fck yourself, that would be a nice tall order.
So, you're saying that because a manager was 'talking intensely' to one of his players you knew they were fully prepared and that their opponents were in grave danger??
Quote from: ONeill on July 06, 2015, 01:38:44 AM
So, you're saying that because a manager was 'talking intensely' to one of his players you knew they were fully prepared and that their opponents were in grave danger??
No. that's an erroneous extrapolation. Now you can go holy fck off and rattle your empty vessel elsewhere.
Antrim a shambles, their win against Laois was largely a freak result. Normality resumed.
Quote from: Main Street on July 06, 2015, 12:45:32 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 06, 2015, 12:40:15 AM
Wrongest thread title ever.
Enjoy Croke Park and maybe topple the champions elect.
Holy fcuk.
Go holy fck yourself, that would be a nice tall order.