Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on July 14, 2014, 09:37:38 PM

Title: The British Open 2014
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2014, 09:37:38 PM
Tips? McDowell in a bit of form.

http://www.oddschecker.com/golf/open-championship/winner
Title: Re: The British Open 2014
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 14, 2014, 09:45:58 PM
I would say Justin Rose is in better form - won his last 2 starts
Post by: beer baron on July 14, 2014, 10:00:07 PM
Kaymer won for me at the U.S open and looked an absolute machine so i'll be doing him as my main bet.
Rickie Fowler's been placed for me at 66's and 80's in the 2 big 1s this year,and has had a similar enough prep again this time so i'll have him too. I'm also tempted to back Mc ilroy as at 16/1 7 places he has a big chance of being in the money if his head's right.Finally i might have a euro e/w on Ryan Moore at a huge price as he's very consistent and should be someway in contention come Sunday although it's hard to see him winning it.
Post by: ziggysego on July 14, 2014, 10:15:42 PM
As long as there's no Fridays, McIlroy.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 14, 2014, 10:32:26 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 14, 2014, 09:45:58 PM
I would say Justin Rose is in better form - won his last 2 starts

how can you NOT start a Golf tournament
Post by: FermGael on July 14, 2014, 10:37:02 PM
What sort of form has cabera been in this year?
Post by: beer baron on July 14, 2014, 10:40:53 PM
Quote from: FermGael on July 14, 2014, 10:37:02 PM
What sort of form has cabera been in this year?

He was pretty  much being a donkey and then went and won a few weeks back.
Post by: Bensars on July 14, 2014, 10:41:50 PM
See betfair doing first 8 for EW (1/4 odds)
Post by: FermGael on July 14, 2014, 10:44:09 PM
He finished top 6 when the open was last there.
Think he might be worth a punt ew especially if he has found a bit of form.
Post by: Orior on July 14, 2014, 10:57:58 PM
O'Neill you're a very naughty boy. Call it The Open, or else Fearon doesnt get free tickets when it comes to Portrush.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2014, 11:19:43 PM
Can't. It reminds me of the qualifications I got on BBC2 during the night.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 14, 2014, 11:38:23 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 14, 2014, 09:37:38 PM

The big puddin' not so big this year.

Will stick with my usual picks - e/w on GMac, Kuchar and Westwood.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2014, 11:52:00 PM
Tempted by the puddin though. If he stays away from the carvery and stout he can put in 2 good rounds.
Post by: Mikhailov on July 15, 2014, 10:18:15 AM
looks a fairly 'open' tournament this year - excuse the pun...

Tiger not himself, lefty not going well, Rory all over the place....

Will go for Mikko Ilonen EW, Rickie Fowler EW, Tomas Bjorn EW
Dustin Johnson and Jordan Spieth to win....

if the wind blows and the weather is poor then may put a bit on Darren Clarke - the bad weather will suit him if he is in the mood.
Post by: Canalman on July 15, 2014, 10:23:21 AM
Dustin Johnson to win . Fowler and Cabrera small e/w bets.
Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2014, 10:58:36 AM
(http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/02974/clarke_2974996b.jpg)

Darren Clarke estimates he has lost four stone since October thanks to a strict diet and gym regime. So will he be giving up Guinness as well? No chance

Darren Clarke has already turned a 41 into a 32 around his waist and now he plans to effect the same radical transformation on the front nine and back nine. Nobody can accuse the Ulsterman of not trying.

Fans will see the 2011 Open champion pounding down the fairways here this week and take a startled double-check. He figures he has lost more than four stone since last October, but it is the size of his trousers which delights him most.

"From 41 inches to 32 inches," Clarke said. "Nine inches, just like that, gone." Except it was not "just like that" and anyone out there who believes that Clarke, 44, has opted for the easy life and drifted off to seed since realising his lifelong dream at Sandwich three years ago, should read on.

If they are still not convinced, they should go to the public gym Clarke will use at Hoylake and witness his intense work-out. It genuinely is tiring to watch.

Since seeing himself on TV during the Dunhill Links at St Andrews last year and thinking "Christ, I'm fat", Clarke has gone to work. He really did not appreciate feeling like the sofa at the Home of Golf. A chance meeting the next week with Jamie Myerscough, who runs the Educogym in Dublin, was all the inspiration he needed. He was sold a regime which a) would still let him drink and b) not require him to spend hour after hour in the gym.

"The first thing I had to do was cut sugar out of my diet," Clarke said, the sweat dripping off him as he warmed down after a gym session. "There's sugar in everything, bread, fruit, carrots everything. So I eat meat and green veg; no carbs, just high protein. I take a load of pills as well, amino acids, fish oils and protein shakes and a mass builder which includes some carbs. You can't do completely without carbs but it's minimal.

"At the start it was hard and despite my diet seeming entirely normal to me now, I still get sugar cravings which I have to satisfy every blue moon. When I met Jamie it was the gym stuff I was more worried about. I'd done a lot of that before and to be honest just found it terribly boring going in there for hour after hour. But with this, it's 25 minutes maximum. No cardio, just lifting heavy weights. Explosive. In and out. It suits me.

"Although, I'm an idiot in the sense that I always have to push it with the weights, always have to try to go heavier and heavier. But that's me. I'll never change in some regards."

Myerscough will email over different exercises which Clarke follows on his smartphone. He does so studiously, promising to locate a gym in Hoylake. "We're in a private house, which won't have all the equipment, but I'll find one – I don't care where it is," he said. "But don't worry, I haven't turned into a total angel. I'm not that mad about it. But like I said, I saw myself at Dunhill and it was not pleasant."

Clarke was in a pub in St Andrews when he caught that life-changing image and, as he is known as the genial Guinness-gobbler, the question has to be asked. "Don't be effing stupid, it's me!" he said, with a huge grin.

"I still go out with my mates and enjoy myself and always will. Yet whereas before I'd have had a dozen pints of Guinness, now I'll have one or two pints... and 10 gin and tonics. So the outcome is still very merry, with much less calories."

The effects are not merely metrical. "I'm twice as strong as I was before and feel much better, not just physically, but mentally," he said. "The only source of frustration is that the golf ball hasn't yet realised all the work I've been doing. My timing has been off, obviously because I've lost all that weight and what have you and my swing has to compensate.

"Recently I've actually been hitting the ball well and scoring terribly. But I've always been driven, way too much so and I can assure you that I wouldn't be doing all this if I didn't think I couldn't still play, didn't think I could still play at the top level. I'm just going to carry on grafting, stand on that range and carry on ripping it, and wait until it turns around on the course."

Perhaps it will this week. There were signs of the renowned links masters at the Scottish Open last week. He is never more comfortable than with sand under his spikes and the sea winds ruffling his hair.

"This is the truest form of the game and it's what I grew up playing," he said. "Because I've been out on Tour so long, you play the same sort of courses week in, week out. Hit it through the air, hit it to a certain number.

"On links you're trying to land it 60, 70 yards short. You've got to use your imagination. And that's what appeals. But it isn't all love. It never is with a professional golfer, whatever they say.

"It's a love-hate relationship between the golfer and golf and at the moment for me there's probably a little bit too much hate. But whatever happens out there, at least I'm not fat any more."
Post by: southdown on July 15, 2014, 12:15:20 PM
Got my tickets sorted for this for Saturday, will be great to see the biggest names in golf in the flesh. 
Post by: Orior on July 15, 2014, 03:16:20 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 14, 2014, 11:38:23 PM

Not a hope in hell
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 15, 2014, 07:25:37 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 15, 2014, 03:16:20 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 14, 2014, 11:38:23 PM

Not a hope in hell
Aye sure I know that but did O'Neill really think Clarke would win it. He owes me one.
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 16, 2014, 03:35:49 PM
Speith
Garcia (I have never backed hin and vowed never to)
Senden
Dejonge
Boo Weekly (for the sheer hell of it)

Post by: southdown on July 16, 2014, 04:18:53 PM
Big Phil or Rose for me.
Post by: screenexile on July 16, 2014, 04:19:01 PM
Gmac
Donald
Mickelson

All E/W... at least one of those three has to finish in the Top 7!

It gives a hairy day on Friday which will make things interesting!!!
Post by: muppet on July 16, 2014, 05:15:43 PM
Keegan
Na
Dubuisson

All E/W
Post by: ONeill on July 16, 2014, 05:22:30 PM
Stenson
Fowler
Johnson
Matsuyama

Walker
Todd
Reed

Most of those
Post by: glens abu on July 16, 2014, 06:48:29 PM
Stenson
gmac
Kaymar
dubulssson
Scott
lowery
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2014, 09:49:44 AM
Nice double bogey from the puddin. Poor start for Tiger too.
Post by: ziggy90 on July 17, 2014, 09:56:44 AM
Is Miguel Angel playing? Sergio's started well.
Post by: laoislad on July 17, 2014, 10:00:17 AM
Bad start for Tiger.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 17, 2014, 11:39:03 AM
Rory going well. -3 after 6!
Post by: WT4E on July 17, 2014, 12:02:24 PM
Didn't do much research so picked 3 e/w small bets:

G Mac 25/1
Fowler 33/1
E Molinari 200/1

So I'm happy with the way things are goin so far!  ::)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 17, 2014, 12:10:50 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 17, 2014, 11:39:03 AM

It's tomorrow that he has to worry about lol
Post by: muppet on July 17, 2014, 12:40:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 17, 2014, 12:10:50 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 17, 2014, 11:39:03 AM

It's tomorrow that he has to worry about lol

Bad weather forecast for tomorrow, get on him!
Post by: stephenite on July 17, 2014, 12:52:29 PM
Anyone got any live stream option?
Post by: laoislad on July 17, 2014, 12:54:29 PM
Quote from: stephenite on July 17, 2014, 12:52:29 PM
Anyone got any live stream option?

https://www.filmon.com/group/uk-live-tv

Just select BBC 2 on that page.
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2014, 01:32:15 PM
Rory enjoying himself
Post by: screenexile on July 17, 2014, 01:46:40 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 17, 2014, 12:27:16 PM
Tiger beginning to roar...

Rors is roring!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 17, 2014, 03:03:29 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 17, 2014, 01:46:40 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 17, 2014, 12:27:16 PM
Tiger beginning to roar...

Rors is roring!

Haters no doubt out tomorrow once Rory drops as per Friday form goes ;)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 17, 2014, 03:09:31 PM
He should pull a sickie and show up Saturday morning
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 01:00:27 PM
Rory will struggle with the conditions today, Adam Scott could be a player that will be in the mix at the end, playing steady enough considering the wind has picked up
Post by: Geoff Tipps on July 18, 2014, 01:06:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 01:00:27 PM
Rory will struggle with the conditions today, Adam Scott could be a player that will be in the mix at the end, playing steady enough considering the wind has picked up

That would be world number one ranked golfer Adam Scott! You're really going out on a limb there  :D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 01:11:32 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on July 18, 2014, 01:06:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 01:00:27 PM

That would be world number one ranked golfer Adam Scott! You're really going out on a limb there  :D

Plenty of no.1's over the years have missed the cut!
Post by: Christmas Lights on July 18, 2014, 02:35:16 PM
Incredible move by Rors to get rid of that Danish woman.  She was holding him back.
He's been a revelation since he dumped her ass.
Post by: Kidder81 on July 18, 2014, 02:45:12 PM
Bogey at the first for Rory
Post by: AQMP on July 18, 2014, 02:46:24 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 18, 2014, 02:45:12 PM
Bogey at the first for Rory

6, 5 start for Woods
Post by: ONeill on July 18, 2014, 02:50:39 PM
Middle-sized Darren on the march. The lure of the egg salad will put his head away on the back 9 though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 03:20:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 18, 2014, 02:50:39 PM
Middle-sized Darren on the march. The lure of the egg salad will put his head away on the back 9 though.

He really looks in good shape.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2014, 04:06:03 PM
Anyone see AZ today?   ;D

http://balls.ie/golf/the-bbc-has-just-annoyed-the-whole-of-offaly/

Rory with back to back birdies - 2 ahead now
Post by: Mikhailov on July 18, 2014, 04:27:42 PM

Very good - in fairness he doing ok. Must have are some salads to lose 4 stone.

Read somewhere that it has messed with his co-ordination for the back swing but no doubt when he gets that sorted he will pile the pounds on again and it will be a fecked up again !!!!
Post by: deiseach on July 18, 2014, 04:30:32 PM
Am I a bad person for hoping this might be Sergio's year, even at Rory's expense? The same would be true even if it were any of the other Irish lads.
Post by: ONeill on July 18, 2014, 05:27:15 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on July 18, 2014, 04:27:42 PM

Very good - in fairness he doing ok. Must have are some salads to lose 4 stone.

Read somewhere that it has messed with his co-ordination for the back swing but no doubt when he gets that sorted he will pile the pounds on again and it will be a fecked up again !!!!

3 bogeys in the last 4. When his head goes, it goes.
Post by: laoislad on July 18, 2014, 05:30:24 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 18, 2014, 04:30:32 PM
Am I a bad person for hoping this might be Sergio's year, even at Rory's expense? The same would be true even if it were any of the other Irish lads.
If it's down to Sergio and McIlroy on the back 9 on Sunday I'll be shouting for Sergio.
Post by: sans pessimism on July 18, 2014, 05:35:01 PM
sergio will be havin the tae at the airport when Rors is on the back nine Sunday
Post by: Muck Savage on July 18, 2014, 05:46:17 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2014, 04:06:03 PM
Anyone see AZ today?   ;D

http://balls.ie/golf/the-bbc-has-just-annoyed-the-whole-of-offaly/

Rory with back to back birdies - 2 ahead now

I heard the same here in the US on ESPN a few weeks ago and got my back up, meant to send them a note to get their crap together. At least they didn't say he was from Westmeath or Leix 
Post by: Mikhailov on July 18, 2014, 06:49:58 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 18, 2014, 05:30:24 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 18, 2014, 04:30:32 PM
If it's down to Sergio and McIlroy on the back 9 on Sunday I'll be shouting for Sergio.

McIlroy would romp it - Sergio is a big a choker as there is on tour and I have backed the fecker loads of times. Rory would eat him alive!!!!!

Sergio devours the weaker players on your but can't handle Tiger or other big players on the back 9. Tiger scares his lights out .....
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2014, 07:28:56 PM
Great to see an Irish man top of the leaderboard

5 clear of Dustin Johnson
Post by: heganboy on July 18, 2014, 07:36:53 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 18, 2014, 07:28:56 PM
* 4 clear
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 09:08:41 PM
Quote from: heganboy on July 18, 2014, 07:36:53 PM
* 4 clear

Either way its great to see an Irishman top of the leaderboard. Bring on the haters. Rory could feck it all up tomorrow but he's given himself and his Irish supporters something to cheer about
Post by: beer baron on July 18, 2014, 09:12:49 PM
Come on ya boy ya Rory,you're playing a stormer kid.
Post by: glens abu on July 18, 2014, 09:34:29 PM
Good man Rory,mad now didn't have faith and stick a few pence on him. >:(
Post by: Kidder81 on July 18, 2014, 09:47:56 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 09:08:41 PM
* 4 clear

Either way its great to see an Irishman top of the leaderboard. Bring on the haters. Rory could feck it all up tomorrow but he's given himself and his Irish supporters something to cheer about

You love the haters, you wouldn't be happy if everyone was right behind him.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 10:08:48 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 18, 2014, 09:47:56 PM
* 4 clear

You'll only be happy when he fecks up, sad really. Now if he had a tricolour wrapped round him you'd be hanging out of his arse.
Post by: highorlow on July 18, 2014, 10:19:16 PM
I did the full 10hours today. Sore back from my recliner. Rory is obviously the one to beat but i wouldnt rule out charl swartzel or louis ozthazen. They are my outside tips at the halfway stage.

Thunder and wind forecast. Shooting off in 2 groups tomorrow starting on 1 and 10, anything can happen. Feckit i cant do the sit in tomorrow!
Post by: Kidder81 on July 18, 2014, 10:29:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 10:08:48 PM
* 4 clear

You'll only be happy when he fecks up, sad really. Now if he had a tricolour wrapped round him you'd be hanging out of his arse.

Proved my point
Post by: laoislad on July 18, 2014, 10:35:42 PM
* 4 clear

He has a point MR2...
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2014, 10:39:30 PM
He's absolutely right. The haters make it so much more satisfying for the rest of us.
Post by: Kidder81 on July 18, 2014, 10:53:21 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2014, 10:39:30 PM
He's absolutely right. The haters make it so much more satisfying for the rest of us.

Who are "the haters" ?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 10:57:24 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 18, 2014, 10:35:42 PM
* 4 clear

He has a point MR2...

I don't hate anyone, I find it strange why there is a lot of abuse thrown at Rory.
Post by: laoislad on July 18, 2014, 11:02:08 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 10:57:24 PM
* 4 clear

He has a point MR2...

I don't hate anyone, I find it strange why there is a lot of abuse thrown at Rory.
You are a bit obsessed with anyone who doesn't cream themselves over him.
I don't hate him but there are other golfers I'd like to see win instead of him.
Post by: Kidder81 on July 18, 2014, 11:05:19 PM
* 4 clear

He has a point MR2...

So when did I throw abuse at him ?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 11:16:55 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 18, 2014, 11:05:19 PM
* 4 clear

He has a point MR2...

Did I say you? I've highlighted the part I've said, just in case

Quote from: laoislad on July 18, 2014, 11:02:08 PM
* 4 clear

He has a point MR2...

I don't hate him but there are other golfers I'd like to see win instead of him.

Obsessed? I've already said I have no problems with anyone from these shores who do well and will cheer them on over players from outside of these shores (within reason) So when Darren Clarke won Gmac and Harrington all got their big ones I was chuffed. I'm not even a golf man, haven't even a set of clubs, but it's hard not to like a lad like Rory or the rest. What I don't like is the reaction over his will he won't he or the fleg issue, for me this is the main reason for some to have a go at him, though they won't actually say it
Post by: Kidder81 on July 18, 2014, 11:19:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 11:16:55 PM
* 4 clear

He has a point MR2...

* 4 clear

He has a point MR2...

Obsessed? I've already said I have no problems with anyone from these shores who do well and will cheer them on over players from outside of these shores (within reason) So when Darren Clarke won Gmac and Harrington all got their big ones I was chuffed. I'm not even a golf man, haven't even a set of clubs, but it's hard not to like a lad like Rory or the rest. What I don't like is the reaction over his will he won't he or the fleg issue, for me this is the main reason for some to have a go at him, though they won't actually say it

You said and I will quote you, if you don't mind - "You'll only be happy when he fecks up, sad really. Now if he had a tricolour wrapped round him you'd be hanging out of his arse."
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 11:24:57 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 18, 2014, 11:19:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 11:16:55 PM
* 4 clear

He has a point MR2...

* 4 clear

He has a point MR2...

You said and I will quote you, if you don't mind - "You'll only be happy when he fecks up, sad really. Now if he had a tricolour wrapped round him you'd be hanging out of his arse."

So in that quote I said you hated him?
Post by: Kidder81 on July 18, 2014, 11:27:39 PM
No dunno what gave me that idea
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2014, 11:36:14 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 18, 2014, 11:27:39 PM
No dunno what gave me that idea

So I'll ask the question, do you like Rory and if you don't what are the main reasons why you dislike him
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 19, 2014, 12:15:46 AM
agree 100% with you MR - not a massive Golf man who doesn't even have clubs but these men are easy liked

Major winners
Rory - Twice
Padraig - Three times
Darren and GMAC

All from here and whether it this is side or down below who gives a f**k

Rory Abu !!
Post by: maddog on July 19, 2014, 11:24:57 AM
Plenty of movement on the leaderboard this morning. It's not over!
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 19, 2014, 11:33:06 AM
All the haters will be hating now.  ;D
Post by: Kidder81 on July 19, 2014, 12:22:42 PM
Lowry going well
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 01:13:40 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 19, 2014, 12:22:42 PM
Lowry going well

Would love to see Shane pull off a big win, has been very steady, Darren doing well also
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2014, 01:15:54 PM
Darren Clarke -5 through 15!
Post by: ONeill on July 19, 2014, 01:46:45 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 19, 2014, 01:15:54 PM
Darren Clarke -5 through 15!

He likes slapping about in the rain and wind. Bit like Dooher.
Post by: Kidder81 on July 19, 2014, 01:51:34 PM
Fowler only 1 behind
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 19, 2014, 02:08:20 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 19, 2014, 01:51:34 PM
Fowler only 1 behind
MR must be dunging himself now. Come on Rors all of Northern Ireland are behind you.
Post by: muppet on July 19, 2014, 02:12:38 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on July 19, 2014, 12:15:46 AM
agree 100% with you MR - not a massive Golf man who doesn't even have clubs but these men are easy liked

Major winners
Rory - Twice
Padraig - Three times
Darren and GMAC

Rory Abu !!

Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2014, 02:17:29 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 19, 2014, 02:12:38 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on July 19, 2014, 12:15:46 AM

Major winners
Rory - Twice
Padraig - Three times
Darren and GMAC

Rory Abu !!

-12, I thought.
Post by: Kidder81 on July 19, 2014, 02:18:57 PM
The sides are level
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 02:33:29 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 19, 2014, 02:08:20 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 19, 2014, 01:51:34 PM
Fowler only 1 behind
MR must be dunging himself now. Come on Rors all of Northern Ireland are behind you.

Lets get something clear, It makes no difference to me who wins a game of golf, I've absoultley no interest in golf other than watching it if there is nothing else on. I would watch the final day and if there is some player from Ireland in with a shout I'll cheer him on. If there was a camog game on tg4 I'd rather watch that.

As for Rory, no one has given me a good (honest) reason for not liking him or for not wishing him well
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 02:40:04 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 01:13:40 PM
Lowry going well

Would love to see Shane pull off a big win,

Yeah it be nice to see one of the Irish fellas do well..
How's Harrington doing?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 02:42:35 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 02:40:04 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 01:13:40 PM
Lowry going well

Would love to see Shane pull off a big win,

Yeah it be nice to see one of the Irish fellas do well..
How's Harrington doing?

Shit, the free staters aren't doing well at all ;D 
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 19, 2014, 02:44:18 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 02:40:04 PMfellas do well..
How's Harrington doing?

He's at home shopping in Dunnes Stores

2 shot swing on 14

The boy Rory!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 02:54:21 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 19, 2014, 02:44:18 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 02:40:04 PMfellas do well..
How's Harrington doing?

He's at home shopping in Dunnes Stores

2 shot swing on 14

The boy Rory!

Fowler in diffs
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 19, 2014, 03:06:57 PM
Could be 5 clear now

Edit: he is
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 03:10:43 PM
Peter Alliss is a sickening arsehole.
Miltown probably loves him.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2014, 03:12:02 PM
Shoo, Ricky!
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 19, 2014, 03:12:37 PM
Gmac did a survey during the week of Aliss  love him or loathe him..........80% were love him
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:12:55 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 03:10:43 PM

You've some obsession with me lad, you concentrate on your heart rate you'll need it after about 20 miles if ya finish it lol
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 03:15:13 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:12:55 PM

You've some obsession with me lad, you concentrate on your heart rate you'll need it after about 20 miles if ya finish it lol
I'll finish it don't you worry...
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:16:30 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 03:15:13 PM

Might even head down to watch or maybe just run past you lol
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 03:20:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:16:30 PM

You talk a big game....for a little fella.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:29:48 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 03:20:54 PM

Beat you all ends up when it comes to running and you know it, but keep it up we always need someone to pass  :P
Post by: Boycey on July 19, 2014, 03:32:52 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on July 19, 2014, 03:12:37 PM
Gmac did a survey during the week of Aliss  love him or loathe him..........80% were love him

I used to enjoy him but have definitely have swayed towards the loathe side in the last few years. Time to put him out to pasture.

He has just spent 5 minutes berating a man whos leading The Open by 5 shots for daring to go for a pin.
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 03:36:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:29:48 PM

Beat you all ends up when it comes to running and you know it, but keep it up we always need someone to pass  :P
Never said you wouldn't. Good to know your true colors coming through now though... All the good will on the running thread must be killing you!!
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 03:38:02 PM
Great bunker shot from Fowler. Shame it didn't go in for eagle.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:42:42 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 03:36:07 PM

Never said you wouldn't. Good to know your true colors coming through now though... All the good will on the running thread must be killing you!!

You obviously don't know the difference between someone taking the piss and someone being serious, if you can't take it don't give it, all's fair in love and war ;) 

Anyway back to the golf, some cracking shot out of the bunker by Fowler. Should be a decent finish tomorrow. Rory hasn't had his bad day yet, could be tomorrow
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 03:45:14 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:42:42 PM

You obviously don't know the difference between someone taking the piss and someone being serious, if you can't take it don't give it, all's fair in love and war
or maybe it's you that doesn't...
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 03:48:00 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on July 19, 2014, 03:12:37 PM
Yeah I know I voted in it..!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 19, 2014, 03:51:32 PM
6 clear now. Will take some stopping
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:51:49 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 03:45:14 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:42:42 PM

You obviously don't know the difference between someone taking the piss and someone being serious, if you can't take it don't give it, all's fair in love and war
or maybe it's you that doesn't...

Or maybe it's you?  This could go on for a while..... 

Chill out I've no axe to grind with anyone, I don't agree with a lot of people over things but will give a reason as to why, I'm open to debate it but as my long suffering wife would say, you're a stubborn fecker. 

Well done Rory great finish 6 ahead.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:53:34 PM
Did Darren Clarke get the best score of the day 67?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 19, 2014, 03:57:27 PM
Speith shot a -5 round as well
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:58:32 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 19, 2014, 03:57:27 PM

If Clarke has another 67 tomorrow, ya never know.
Post by: leaveherinsir on July 19, 2014, 04:04:30 PM
Stunningly good finish by McIlroy there. Was looking forward to watching it this afternoon tho. Only caught last 3 holes there. Ive Sergio Dustin and Scott all done e/w so should make tomorrow interesting viewing even if Rory runs way with it.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 19, 2014, 04:06:38 PM
Rory,  G-Mac and Clarke all in the top 20
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 04:07:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:58:32 PM

He's 11 shots behind..not a hope he will catch up.
Post by: Kidder81 on July 19, 2014, 04:08:42 PM
McIlroy -11 on the par 5s
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 04:29:30 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 19, 2014, 04:07:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2014, 03:58:32 PM

He's 11 shots behind..not a hope he will catch up.

My point is Rory fecked up a few years ago going into the final day with 4/5 shots up and lost by 6/7 shots I think, wasn't there some French player a load of years ago who also blew a large lead on the final day? Not uncommon and certainly happens to the best players.

All he's done has put himself into a great position, he's off to the gym, some difference to years ago when they went off to the pub!!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 19, 2014, 07:48:10 PM
i guess shagging Caroline didnt agree with our Rory
Post by: Kidder81 on July 19, 2014, 08:31:42 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on July 19, 2014, 07:48:10 PM
i guess shagging Caroline didnt agree with our Rory

When his driver is on he has a massive advantage, when he is hitting his second shots on par 5s with a 5 iron 260yds high and softly into the green. Much the way Tiger was in his prime.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on July 19, 2014, 10:28:59 PM
If Rory wins his dad wins.......

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/golf-devil-ball-golf/rory-mcilroy-s-dad-could-cash-in-huge-on-a-10-year-old-bet-170932690.html
Post by: Kidder81 on July 19, 2014, 11:22:01 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on July 19, 2014, 10:28:59 PM
If Rory wins his dad wins.......

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/golf-devil-ball-golf/rory-mcilroy-s-dad-could-cash-in-huge-on-a-10-year-old-bet-170932690.html

£50k would be pocket change these days for his Da I would have thought. Nice for the other fellas.
Post by: Sidney on July 20, 2014, 09:39:08 AM
Fred Daly became the first Irish winner of the Open at Hoylake in 1947.

Sadly, unless Graeme McDowell or Darren Clarke can pull off a miracle, there won't be an Irish winner at the Merseyside venue today, although with Shane Lowry also there on -3, it's been a respectable performance from our players this week.

Rickie Fowler will become as big a Merseyside hero as Robbie Fowler if he can catch Pubehead. It would be truly beautiful to see another Augusta-style collapse. If he wins, it won't particularly bother me as I'm not really that interested in golf anyway.

Good luck, Rickie. Ireland is behind you.
Post by: bridgegael on July 20, 2014, 10:27:12 AM
hopefully rory can keep his form today in wat should be another proud day for Irish sport.
Post by: Kidder81 on July 20, 2014, 10:45:48 AM
I don't really feel much affinity to any Irish golfer, it's very much an individual game. I was a big fan of Seve back in the day, and didn't follow any players just because they were Irish.

And no Milltown I don't "hate" McIlroy  :D
Post by: laoislad on July 20, 2014, 12:05:03 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 20, 2014, 10:45:48 AM
I don't really feel much affinity to any Irish golfer, it's very much an individual game. I was a big fan of Seve back in the day, and didn't follow any players just because they were Irish.

Pity he's so far ahead. Makes it boring now instead of an exciting finish to an Open.
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2014, 12:05:26 PM
Quote from: Sidney on July 20, 2014, 09:39:08 AM

Sadly, unless Graeme McDowell or Darren Clarke can pull off a miracle, there won't be an Irish winner at the Merseyside venue today, although with Shane Lowry also there on -3, it's been a respectable performance from our players this week.

Rickie Fowler will become as big a Merseyside hero as Robbie Fowler if he can catch Pubehead. It would be truly beautiful to see another Augusta-style collapse. If he wins, it won't particularly bother me as I'm not really that interested in golf anyway.

Idiot.
Post by: beer baron on July 20, 2014, 12:19:45 PM
Pay no heed it's exactly what he was looking for.

Anyone know what happens with bets if (unlikely as it seems) 2 players end up level and they go to a playoff? Will it be settled as a dead heat or does the winner of the playoff get paid out as the winner?
Post by: laoislad on July 20, 2014, 12:24:08 PM
Quote from: beer baron on July 20, 2014, 12:19:45 PM
Pay no heed it's exactly what he was looking for.

Anyone know what happens with bets if (unlikely as it seems) 2 players end up level and they go to a playoff? Will it be settled as a dead heat or does the winner of the playoff get paid out as the winner?
They will still pay out. I won when Garcia won the Players via a playoff.
Post by: beer baron on July 20, 2014, 12:29:02 PM
Cheers but I meant more for the lad beat in the play off would it be settled as a 2nd place or as a deadheated winner?  ???

It'd be some sickener to lose a playoff and not have a lad backed e/w :P Mind you i doubt anyone backs golf not e/w
Post by: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 12:31:50 PM
Quote from: beer baron on July 20, 2014, 12:29:02 PM
Cheers but I meant more for the lad beat in the play off would it be settled as a 2nd place or as a deadheated winner?  ???

It'd be some sickener to lose a playoff and not have a lad backed e/w :P Mind you i doubt anyone backs golf not e/w

This won't be going to a playoff, do you mean if he is tied with someone, as in tied third or whatever ?
Post by: laoislad on July 20, 2014, 12:32:00 PM
Quote from: beer baron on July 20, 2014, 12:29:02 PM

If you backed the person who comes second to win and not done it each way then I'm pretty sure you'll win nothing.
Post by: beer baron on July 20, 2014, 12:40:17 PM
Yeah i can't see anything other than a Mc Ilroy win myself,was just a question out of interest for future reference really. I have all my lads done e/w anyway and not looking too bad at the minute fingers crossed  :-X
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 01:33:56 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 20, 2014, 10:45:48 AM

I didn't say you did, you really need to learn how to read, though you haven't give me a reason as to why you dislike him
Post by: EC Unique on July 20, 2014, 01:44:36 PM
Great to see Rory doing well. An Irish great.  :)
Post by: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 01:55:57 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 20, 2014, 01:44:36 PM

Absolutely

(http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/02363/rory-mcilroy_2363558b.jpg)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 02:19:26 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 01:55:57 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 20, 2014, 01:44:36 PM

Absolutely

(http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/02363/rory-mcilroy_2363558b.jpg)

Could do this all day. What's your point?

(http://www.ybig.ie/forum/uploads/627/McIlroy-Tricolor.jpg)
Post by: Muck Savage on July 20, 2014, 02:37:32 PM
Great front 9 by Lowry. Would be great to finish in the top 3 or 4.
Post by: laoislad on July 20, 2014, 03:46:57 PM
Sergio playing well and only 4 behind. Still has a lot to do but would love to see him win.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 03:49:30 PM
Massive round so far from Sergio, plenty of twists and turns to go yet. Bit of a bump with Rory, I wonder how that will affect his game
Post by: AQMP on July 20, 2014, 04:05:41 PM
Shane Lowry with a putt for a 65 to finish up -10
Post by: AQMP on July 20, 2014, 04:07:38 PM
...Lowry leader in the clubhouse on -10
Post by: laoislad on July 20, 2014, 04:11:58 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 20, 2014, 04:07:38 PM
...Lowry leader in the clubhouse on -10
A bit far behind unfortunately but what a brilliant round of golf from him.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 04:23:16 PM
Fair fcuks to Shane, great interview too seems a decent down to earth fella, -10  a score of 65 is unreal
Post by: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 04:34:42 PM
Garcia on the charge
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 04:37:11 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 04:34:42 PM
Garcia on the charge

Not answer my post then?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2014, 04:37:41 PM
Sergio asking the questions today. Will be impressed if McIlroy sees this through.

Par 5s are no challenge to the modern player in good weather.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 04:46:09 PM
Rory my crumble with the pressure Sergio is putting on.

Watch a bit of the football there, pure dung golf is slow but at least its providing attacking of some sort, Monaghan had one player up front ffs!!
Post by: laoislad on July 20, 2014, 05:32:45 PM
Costly bogey from Sergio. That's probably the end of his race.
Pity.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 05:35:51 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 20, 2014, 05:32:45 PM
Pity.

Time yet, he's been great today and I'd be well pleased if he won, having been around for so long and not win one it would certainly be well applauded by everyone
Post by: EC Unique on July 20, 2014, 06:15:29 PM
Delighted for him.  8)
Post by: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 06:20:31 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 20, 2014, 06:15:29 PM
Delighted for him.  8)

Hope he remembers to take his British passport so he can get back to Florida
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 06:25:46 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 06:20:31 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 20, 2014, 06:15:29 PM
Delighted for him.  8)

Hope he remembers to take his British passport so he can get back to Florida

No reply to question? no didn't think so you are as bad as the thon eegits at Twaddell Avenue
Post by: beer baron on July 20, 2014, 06:29:51 PM
Good man Rory. And good man Rickie too. This golf craic's some way to make money   :D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 06:31:19 PM
Quote from: Sidney on July 20, 2014, 09:39:08 AM

Your some craic, along with your Liverpool predictions you could make a lot of money lol
Post by: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 06:35:40 PM
McIlroy pushing away a young fan looking for an autograph, no class.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 06:37:52 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 06:35:40 PM

No? still not replying I see.

Well done Rory anyways, the haters must be ripping it. Fantastic achievement considering the size of this wee country ;)
Post by: Boycey on July 20, 2014, 06:39:22 PM

You're trying hard I'll give you that. ;D

Well done young Rory! We have a superstar in our midst. Now that he's got the new clubs under control it's onwards and upwards from here.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 20, 2014, 06:42:48 PM

+1. It would have been an nice touch to sign the gosson's programme. Great golfer and congratulations on the win but I can't warm to him. (and before anyone else says it....yes I'm sure he's devastated ::))
Post by: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 06:44:26 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 20, 2014, 06:42:48 PM

+1. It would have been an nice touch to sign the gosson's programme. Great golfer and congratulations on the win but I can't warm to him. (and before anyone else says it....yes I'm sure he's devastated ::))

You will have Milltown Row at your door tomorrow
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 06:47:02 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 06:44:26 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 20, 2014, 06:42:48 PM

You will have Milltown Row at your door tomorrow

On my way
Post by: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 06:52:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 06:37:52 PM

Well done Rory anyways, the haters must be ripping it. Fantastic achievement considering the size of this wee country ;)

Yep only 1.8m people here in the North and 5 of the last 19 major winners
Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2014, 06:56:45 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 06:52:34 PM

Oh, I see how it is. When we win something we're a 32 county peoples' republic but when ye do it's isn't Norn Iron great >:(
Post by: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 07:00:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 20, 2014, 06:56:45 PM

Oh, I see how it is. When we win something we're a 32 county peoples' republic but when ye do it's isn't Norn Iron great >:(

He is a British passport holder, he's ours.
Post by: red hander on July 20, 2014, 07:04:27 PM

Sure ye know them Antrim boys are a bunch of partitionists! How long before Holly crawls out to try and resurrect her media career?
Post by: Muck Savage on July 20, 2014, 07:17:16 PM
Well done Rory! No matter what flag people try to put over his name he's from this Island. He's always done his best to stay away from the 6 counties/32 counties muck there's always a few C#nts out there as proven here.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 07:17:41 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 20, 2014, 07:04:27 PM

Sure ye know them Antrim boys are a bunch of partitionists! How long before Holly crawls out to try and resurrect her media career?

She probably is crawling, think she's due soon
Post by: Muck Savage on July 20, 2014, 07:23:08 PM
Well done GMc and Lowry also, got 112 grand each also for 9 th.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 07:32:58 PM
Quote from: Muck Savage on July 20, 2014, 07:23:08 PM
Well done GMc and Lowry also, got 112 grand each also for 9 th.

An outrageous 65 from Lowry, well done. Some money, not bad for a weekends work
Post by: muppet on July 20, 2014, 08:18:16 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 16, 2014, 05:15:43 PM
Keegan
Na
Dubuisson

All E/W

My new policy of NOT backing golfers from this island will be reviewed with immediate effect.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2014, 08:41:35 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 20, 2014, 08:18:16 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 16, 2014, 05:15:43 PM
Keegan
Na
Dubuisson

All E/W

My new policy of NOT backing golfers from this island will be reviewed with immediate effect.
Milltown has already alerted his people to find your address.

Post by: dec on July 20, 2014, 08:54:22 PM
The ex had a good day as well

http://espn.go.com/tennis/story/_/id/11238684/caroline-wozniacki-defeats-roberta-vinci-win-istanbul-cup-title
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2014, 08:56:13 PM
I did not think Rory pushed the kid away - I thought it was a handler. I would have given the cheeky bollix a kick in the hoop.

Would I be reading too much into the fact that his Mum and Dad were never together?

Anyway great job Rory. Just the Masters to get now and anything else this year is a bonus. I do hope that Sergio gets a major soon.

Finally, what did the clown in the crowd shout that made Rory get him evicted?
Post by: leaveherinsir on July 20, 2014, 08:56:36 PM
Never mind Rory's flag of allegiance Dustin Johnston is some tool to have money on!! Although having  Sergio and A.Scott done e/w has left me in small profit!!
In fairness to Rory he held it together well. Very difficult position to be in with such a large lead. Many golfers fail with big leads esp when someone goes on a run at them a la Garcia. Fowler also looks like he is maturing into a potential major winner also.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2014, 09:17:01 PM
Quote from: leaveherinsir on July 20, 2014, 08:56:36 PM
Never mind Rory's flag of allegiance Dustin Johnston is some tool to have money on!! Although having  Sergio and A.Scott done e/w has left me in small profit!!
In fairness to Rory he held it together well. Very difficult position to be in with such a large lead. Many golfers fail with big leads esp when someone goes on a run at them a la Garcia. Fowler also looks like he is maturing into a potential major winner also.
I think Sergio might push on but can only see him winning from behind as it seems only the really top playrrs can hold on for the final 18.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 09:17:45 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 20, 2014, 08:47:54 PM
Milltown has gotten a name for himself on here.

I think an "I love prods the most" comp is needed.

I do love prods
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2014, 09:18:20 PM

Jeez don't be calling Ruairi a prod now  ???
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 09:19:47 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 20, 2014, 08:56:13 PM
I did not think Rory pushed the kid away - I thought it was a handler. I would have given the cheeky bollix a kick in the hoop.

Would I be reading too much into the fact that his Mum and Dad were never together?

Anyway great job Rory. Just the Masters to get now and anything else this year is a bonus. I do hope that Sergio gets a major soon.

That was either Kidder, Laoislad or Saffrongael
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 09:21:10 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2014, 09:18:20 PM

Jeez don't be calling Ruairi a prod now  ???

Always comes do to this in then end lol
Post by: laoislad on July 20, 2014, 09:27:08 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 09:19:47 PM

That makes you the little fella he ignored who just wanted a high 5
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 09:29:19 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 20, 2014, 09:27:08 PM

Hey pretty shit to get beat by a little fella lol ;)   The next thing you'll hear is he beat the lad up ffs, move on get out for a run and relax
Post by: Windmill abu on July 20, 2014, 09:29:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 05:35:51 PM
Pity.

Time yet, he's been great today and I'd be well pleased if he won, having been around for so long and not win one it would certainly be well applauded by everyone

Maybe not everyone. The Fried Chicken suppliers may want him to win, but the keep racism out of sport supporters may not have his backing,
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 09:32:41 PM
Quote from: Windmill abu on July 20, 2014, 09:29:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 05:35:51 PM
Pity.

Maybe not everyone. The Fried Chicken suppliers may want him to win, but the keep racism out of sport supporters may not have his backing,

Now now, he was well respected among the great and the good on here, and they know a thing or two about golf and the good guys lol
Post by: laoislad on July 20, 2014, 09:38:41 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 09:29:19 PM

Hey pretty shit to get beat by a little fella lol ;)   The next thing you'll hear is he beat the lad up ffs, move on get out for a run and relax
Nah I'm having too much fun watching you get wound up by Kidder and Saffrongael
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 09:41:50 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 20, 2014, 09:38:41 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2014, 09:29:19 PM

Nah I'm having too much fun watching you get wound up by Kidder and Saffrongael

I would say it would have been better fun had Garcia won but it wasn't meant to be ;), he really needs to work on his game.

I've no time to worry over bigots anyways, they live in a very small world, pity really hate is an terrible thing ;D
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2014, 10:27:19 PM
Bad form Rory kicking that young lad in the teeth
Post by: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 10:28:56 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 20, 2014, 10:27:19 PM
Bad form Rory kicking that young lad in the teeth

He heard the kid was a taig
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2014, 10:32:10 PM
What a bastard.
Post by: Saffrongael on July 20, 2014, 10:33:14 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 20, 2014, 10:32:10 PM
What a b**tard.

That's the Brits for you
Post by: Myles Na G. on July 20, 2014, 10:56:55 PM
Well done Rory. Irish sporting legend, despite what the bigots say. ('oh but he doesn't wrap himself in the tricolour...oh but he doesn't cross himself before he sinks a putt...oh but he doesn't speak Irish...oh but he's never mentioned Bobby Sands...oh but, oh but, oh but, oh but...'
:o :o :o
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2014, 10:58:01 PM
Poulter cleared this up on Twitter. They are forbidden from signing autographs until they have submitted their scorecards. #RulesIsRules

Bit rough of him to pish over the tricolour behind the scoring hut though. Bad form.
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2014, 10:59:08 PM
What a bastard
Post by: muppet on July 20, 2014, 11:02:32 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2014, 10:58:01 PM
Poulter cleared this up on Twitter. They are forbidden from signing autographs until they have submitted their scorecards. #RulesIsRules

Bit rough of him to pish over the tricolour behind the scoring hut though. Bad form.

Em....that wasn't pishing.........
Post by: muppet on July 20, 2014, 11:09:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 20, 2014, 11:04:52 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on July 20, 2014, 10:56:55 PM
Well done Rory. Irish sporting legend, despite what the bigots say. ('oh but he doesn't wrap himself in the tricolour...oh but he doesn't cross himself before he sinks a putt...oh but he doesn't speak Irish...oh but he's never mentioned Bobby Sands...oh but, oh but, oh but, oh but...'
Word is that he loves the Ra?

Course he does.

They makes the rules, don't they?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2014, 11:16:40 PM
Myles has it nailed on there. One of the main complaints about McIlroy is the reluctance to say a decade of the rosary before each shot and PIRA tatooed on his knuckles. Might explain that glove he always wears!
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2014, 11:19:13 PM
 Refuses the young lad's request for a signature, kicks him in the teeth, pishes on the tricolour.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2014, 11:21:31 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 20, 2014, 11:19:13 PM
Refuses the young lad's request for a signature, kicks him in the teeth, pishes on the tricolour.
Takes the shine off his win when the see it laid out in black and white like that.
Post by: Syferus on July 21, 2014, 02:28:04 AM
I heard Rory Mcllroy was the one who framed the Birmingham Six.
Post by: Sidney on July 21, 2014, 02:45:29 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 21, 2014, 02:28:04 AM
I heard Rory Mcllroy was the one who framed the Birmingham Six.
I'll always have happier memories of his Augusta Eight in 2011.
Post by: johnneycool on July 21, 2014, 08:30:03 AM

Well his swing coach played minor hurling for Ballycran, so whilst I wouldn't say he was in the Ra, he has republican sympathies.

8)  8)  8)  8)  8)  8)  8)
Post by: Applesisapples on July 21, 2014, 08:58:07 AM
He's not an Irish sporting legend, he's a British sporting Legend.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 21, 2014, 09:00:25 AM
Perhaps we can get back to the golf for a second??

If he had won Augusta would he have been the youngest to complete all 4 majors?

Can he still do that next year?
Post by: Orior on July 21, 2014, 09:20:23 AM
I hope he does it. There will be that extra pressure plus there is so much luck involved
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2014, 09:41:53 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 21, 2014, 09:00:25 AM

I think I heard yesterday that only Woods and Nicholson completed the career grandslam by the same age as Rory.  He won't be on his own but it isn't bad company to be in!

Quote from: johnneycool on July 21, 2014, 08:30:03 AM

Well his swing coach played minor hurling for Ballycran, so whilst I wouldn't say he was in the Ra, he has republican sympathies.

Maybe he and Caroline would have survived if he hadn't insisted in being a Ballycran swinger!!!
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on July 21, 2014, 09:51:57 AM
On the autograph thing - https://twitter.com/IanJamesPoulter/status/490968947928600576
Post by: johnneycool on July 21, 2014, 09:59:58 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2014, 09:41:53 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 21, 2014, 09:00:25 AM

I think I heard yesterday that only Woods and Nicholson completed the career grandslam by the same age as Rory.  He won't be on his own but it isn't bad company to be in!

Quote from: johnneycool on July 21, 2014, 08:30:03 AM

Maybe he and Caroline would have survived if he hadn't insisted in being a Ballycran swinger!!!

Caroline wouldn't have gotten her place on the Ballycran Camogs team, hence the reason for the split IMHO...

Post by: nrico2006 on July 21, 2014, 10:00:41 AM
Great to see him win, I was worried for a while about the new club situation but over the past few months it seems he has got hisgame back to the level it was at before the switch.

How do so many here know what passport he has?  Not that it matters, but a lot of catholics in Northern Ireland would have British passports. 
Post by: Saffrongael on July 21, 2014, 10:56:51 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 21, 2014, 10:00:41 AM
Great to see him win, I was worried for a while about the new club situation but over the past few months it seems he has got hisgame back to the level it was at before the switch.

How do so many here know what passport he has?  Not that it matters, but a lot of catholics in Northern Ireland would have British passports.

Because he has said he has a British passport -

"I'm Northern Irish, I hold a British passport, so there you go"
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 10:59:02 AM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 21, 2014, 10:56:51 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 21, 2014, 10:00:41 AM

Because he has said he has a British passport -

"I'm Northern Irish, I hold a British passport, so there you go"

Another hanging offence, Jesus wept
Post by: Myles Na G. on July 21, 2014, 11:00:58 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on July 21, 2014, 08:58:07 AM
He's not an Irish sporting legend, he's a British sporting Legend.
He's not from the island called Great Britain, he's from the island called Ireland. That makes him Irish, whatever brand of travel document he carries.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2014, 11:14:52 AM
Lads I currently have an Irish passport,  before that I had a British passport as I was able to get it quicker one time when I needed it in a hurry!!!  Get the f**k over it!!!
Post by: NAG1 on July 21, 2014, 11:15:43 AM
FFS can we give this bullshit a rest. He is a young lad and a great golfer can we not just appreciate that and leave all the bullshit politics and cheap shots out of it for once.
Post by: haveaharp on July 21, 2014, 11:16:21 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on July 21, 2014, 11:15:43 AM
FFS can we give this bullshit a rest. He is a young lad and a great golfer can we not just appreciate that and leave all the bullshit politics and cheap shots out of it for once.

Amen to that. Leave the lad alone FFS
Post by: laoislad on July 21, 2014, 11:17:56 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2014, 11:14:52 AM
Lads I currently have an Irish passport,  before that I had a British passport as I was able to get it quicker one time when I needed it in a hurry!!!  Get the f**k over it!!!

Britboy.
Post by: EC Unique on July 21, 2014, 11:23:19 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on July 21, 2014, 11:16:21 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on July 21, 2014, 11:15:43 AM

Amen to that. Leave the lad alone FFS

This.
Post by: beer baron on July 21, 2014, 11:24:30 AM
I reckon he's Mexican.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2014, 11:25:14 AM
Quote from: laoislad on July 21, 2014, 11:17:56 AM

Britboy.

Says the baldy boy from Queen's County!!!! :P
Post by: Christmas Lights on July 21, 2014, 11:26:12 AM
How much pussy will Rors get after this?  Great move of him to get shot of that Caroline Wozanaki, she was bad for him, holding him back, now hes winning majors and golf tournaments and will be getting so much poontang, he wont know what to do with himself.

Fair play Rors, fair play.   
Post by: laoislad on July 21, 2014, 11:28:19 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2014, 11:25:14 AM

Britboy.

Be careful now or I'll set Billy Sheehan loose on ye again.. ;D
GSTQ...!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2014, 11:34:23 AM
Quote from: laoislad on July 21, 2014, 11:28:19 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2014, 11:25:14 AM

Britboy.

Be careful now or I'll set Billy Sheehan loose on ye again.. ;D
GSTQ...!

We're safe enough from Billy Boy this year anyway!!!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 11:39:16 AM
Possible sports personality of the year
Post by: Christmas Lights on July 21, 2014, 11:44:02 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 11:39:16 AM
Possible sports personality of the year

Destroyed his chances by doing this:

(http://giant.gfycat.com/ThunderousIllJenny.gif)
Post by: Hardy on July 21, 2014, 11:52:19 AM
Excellent. Every hoor that shouts "get in the hole" should get the same treatment.
Post by: NAG1 on July 21, 2014, 11:53:04 AM
The guy shouted mid swing on one of the most important shots of his career, so he was well within his rights to point out.

IMO any of those fools that shout, get in the hole or some other equally stupid remark should be ejected for the simple stupidity of it.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 21, 2014, 11:54:59 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on July 21, 2014, 11:53:04 AM
The guy shouted mid swing on one of the most important shots of his career, so he was well within his rights to point out.

IMO any of those fools that shout, get in the hole or some other equally stupid remark should be ejected for the simple stupidity of it.

Agusta is particularly bad for this, does my head in
Post by: haveaharp on July 21, 2014, 11:57:26 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 21, 2014, 11:54:59 AM

especially from the tee on a par of 5. How the f**k can it "get in the hole" from 500 yards away
Post by: NAG1 on July 21, 2014, 11:59:56 AM

Yeah I think it was the final round before I heard some fool shout it at this year's Open. The Yanks are woeful for it.
Post by: beer baron on July 21, 2014, 12:06:40 PM
If Mo Farah wins the 5 or 10k at the commonwealth games i'd say he's a shoe-in for sports personality of the year. They love the man and he hasn't received it yet and has had a tough year trying the Marathons and not quite making the grade,so it'd be a perfect opportunity. Mc Ilroy will probably get in the top 3 though. Not something he's overly fussed about i'd say anyway.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 12:07:52 PM
Quote from: beer baron on July 21, 2014, 12:06:40 PM
If Mo Farah wins the 5 or 10k at the commonwealth games i'd say he's a shoe-in for sports personality of the year. They love the man and he hasn't received it yet and has had a tough year trying the Marathons and not quite making the grade,so it'd be a perfect opportunity. Mc Ilroy will probably get in the top 3 though. Not something he's overly fussed about i'd say anyway.

Aye Mo seems a great fella to  boot, but would the CG be a big enough tournament to warrant that?
Post by: imtommygunn on July 21, 2014, 12:09:32 PM
CG too small I'd expect though Kenya are in it so it's a decent enough standard. He actually may not win them both as he's been struggling with illness and it was touch and go if he'd make it... He'd need to be winning the double at least.
Post by: beer baron on July 21, 2014, 12:15:48 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 12:07:52 PM

Aye Mo seems a great fella to  boot, but would the CG be a big enough tournament to warrant that?

It usually wouldn't be but there's been no standout performers this year and like Giggs a few years ago sentiment can play a big part. Now that i think of it that sentiment could put Johnny Wilkinson in  the running too.
Post by: AQMP on July 21, 2014, 12:23:17 PM

Who's more British...Rory or Mo?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 21, 2014, 12:47:15 PM
(http://i.imgur.com/R5RuMKI.png)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2014, 01:25:49 PM
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2014/07/21/tensions-ease-as-rory-mcilroy-autograph-kid-is-believed-to-be-russian/ (http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2014/07/21/tensions-ease-as-rory-mcilroy-autograph-kid-is-believed-to-be-russian/)

QuoteA MINOR international incident has been averted following fresh revelations which has allowed newly crowned Open champion Rory McIlroy keep his crown and that coveted claret jug.
McIlroy, 25, was widely described as 'worse than Hitler' by the internet following his carefully calculated decision not to award a young fan with an autograph, was said to be close to being stripped of his title yesterday.
Since the incident has occurred WWN can exclusively reveal that the child was in fact Russian, rendering the on-line debate pointless with no further action being sought by the relevant authorities.
Fans of inexplicable hatred for people they've never met were said to be disappointed the child was not from a more useful place such a Gaza, Iraq or Syria.
"Despite the fact we have evidence Rory had been planning this particular autograph snub for over 12 years, no action will be taken because the kid is a bloody Russian," explained Randolph Hughes Craddock Boddington, a member of the R & A.
Not all golf fans are happy with the news that McIlroy will face no jail time for his crimes against autograph hunters.
"He's an ambassador for UNICEF Ireland and does a hell of a lot more charity work than me but when he made a decision in a split second not to sign an autograph I decided he's gotta be a right bastard. Which he is by the way, that's a scientific fact," explained avid watcher of things put up on the internet just to get a reaction from you, John Dillane.
John was not alone in his condemnation of the golfing superstar.
"If I can boil down someone's life to one benign incident which lasted .00034 of a second and judge them mercilessly I will f**king do it and you can't stop me," explained fellow internet user Cormac Treacy, "a p***k is a is p***k, is a p***k.
I've never ever done anything in my life that if circulated on the internet would see me criticised so I feel a bit of an authority on the whole thing. It's just a shame the kid is Russian, we could have got Nike to drop Rory and then see him descend into a life of poverty. It would have been great to watch".
The majority of fans of men wearing chequered pants who hit balls with sticks were said to be unmoved by this latest incident much to the chagrin of the media.
Post by: mouview on July 21, 2014, 01:29:55 PM

Augusta is about the only course in the world where you won't hear this. Any perps will be quietly but firmly removed and never allowed back. Very high standards of behaviour expected at the Masters.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 21, 2014, 01:37:25 PM
Does anybody think McIlroy gives a rats ass about winning some meaningless award such as the SPOTY?
Post by: beer baron on July 21, 2014, 01:43:20 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2014, 01:25:49 PM
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2014/07/21/tensions-ease-as-rory-mcilroy-autograph-kid-is-believed-to-be-russian/ (http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2014/07/21/tensions-ease-as-rory-mcilroy-autograph-kid-is-believed-to-be-russian/)

QuoteA MINOR international incident has been averted following fresh revelations which has allowed newly crowned Open champion Rory McIlroy keep his crown and that coveted claret jug.
McIlroy, 25, was widely described as 'worse than Hitler' by the internet following his carefully calculated decision not to award a young fan with an autograph, was said to be close to being stripped of his title yesterday.
Since the incident has occurred WWN can exclusively reveal that the child was in fact Russian, rendering the on-line debate pointless with no further action being sought by the relevant authorities.
Fans of inexplicable hatred for people they've never met were said to be disappointed the child was not from a more useful place such a Gaza, Iraq or Syria.
"Despite the fact we have evidence Rory had been planning this particular autograph snub for over 12 years, no action will be taken because the kid is a bloody Russian," explained Randolph Hughes Craddock Boddington, a member of the R & A.
Not all golf fans are happy with the news that McIlroy will face no jail time for his crimes against autograph hunters.
"He's an ambassador for UNICEF Ireland and does a hell of a lot more charity work than me but when he made a decision in a split second not to sign an autograph I decided he's gotta be a right b**tard. Which he is by the way, that's a scientific fact," explained avid watcher of things put up on the internet just to get a reaction from you, John Dillane.
John was not alone in his condemnation of the golfing superstar.
"If I can boil down someone's life to one benign incident which lasted .00034 of a second and judge them mercilessly I will f**king do it and you can't stop me," explained fellow internet user Cormac Treacy, "a p***k is a is p***k, is a p***k.
I've never ever done anything in my life that if circulated on the internet would see me criticised so I feel a bit of an authority on the whole thing. It's just a shame the kid is Russian, we could have got Nike to drop Rory and then see him descend into a life of poverty. It would have been great to watch".
The majority of fans of men wearing chequered pants who hit balls with sticks were said to be unmoved by this latest incident much to the chagrin of the media.

I like this ;D
Post by: bluenosebandit on July 21, 2014, 01:44:34 PM
Just a quick question for all southern friends.
Was down south for a bit last week and placed a few each way bets on the golf at BoyleSports.
Anyone know how many places they pay out on?
Post by: beer baron on July 21, 2014, 01:47:23 PM
Pretty sure they were 6 places.
Post by: Puckoon on July 21, 2014, 02:03:05 PM
He pointed him out after the swing. Transgression occurred in the downswing. Almost impossible to stop and not hit the ball.

100% proper order by any player, particularly one with 2 very important holes coming up.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 21, 2014, 02:18:37 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on July 21, 2014, 02:03:05 PM
He pointed him out after the swing. Transgression occurred in the downswing. Almost impossible to stop and not hit the ball.

100% proper order by any player, particularly one with 2 very important holes coming up.
How could he point the right guy out? impossible to be certain
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on July 21, 2014, 02:26:34 PM
The guy was heckling him all the way around, the finally had enough of it by the 16th and pointed the guy out. Wonderful the conclusions you can jump to when you only have half the story.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2014, 02:30:09 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on July 21, 2014, 02:26:34 PM
The guy was heckling him all the way around, the finally had enough of it by the 16th and pointed the guy out. Wonderful the conclusions you can jump to when you only have half the story.
Why do these pricks go to golf events to harass golfers? A seriously warped way of getting on. You can slag them here for free  :D
Post by: Boycey on July 21, 2014, 02:30:26 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 21, 2014, 02:18:37 PM

Were you as annoyed with Garcia who actually went into the crowd after a guy who was heckling him, or did you save all your ire for McIlroy?

Post by: cockahoop on July 21, 2014, 02:35:28 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 21, 2014, 02:30:26 PM

Were you as annoyed with Garcia who actually went into the crowd after a guy who was heckling him, or did you save all your ire for McIlroy?

again another case of conclusions and not knowing the facts,he went for a piss!!not to a spectator
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 02:36:15 PM

He was only going in for fried chicken!! But seriously was that on the 17th on the final day? I thought he'd went in for a piss stop
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 02:39:01 PM
But fair play to Garcia, he was there at the end to congratulate him, must be tough on him having been so close before. Loved Fowlers attitude goes for ever shot. Won't be long for him to win a major
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 21, 2014, 02:39:21 PM
Good to see the good old irish begrudgery coming to the fore!

Anyway he probably recognised him as he saw him on telly before, it was this guy!

(http://media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/b2/e3/46/b2e346178973eb7174dac8e7a7393ce0.jpg)
Post by: Boycey on July 21, 2014, 02:42:07 PM
Maureen Madill on BBC tv said he went in after a guy who was heckling him, maybe he decided to kill two birds with one stone?

Actually the BBC commented several times on the poor behaviour of the crowd several times. Scousers behaving like scousers who'd have thought it huh :P
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 21, 2014, 02:42:47 PM
Quote from: mouview on July 21, 2014, 01:29:55 PM

Augusta is about the only course in the world where you won't hear this. Any perps will be quietly but firmly removed and never allowed back. Very high standards of behaviour expected at the Masters.

Yeah i know they throw anyone out caught shouting it, but that doesnt mean it doesnt still happen.
i remember it happening to Tiger last year or the year before.
Maybe its the US open that its more frequent, but either way its idiotic.

I also remember some one shouting  bizarely ' mashed potato'  as woods hit his tee shot!
Post by: cockahoop on July 21, 2014, 02:43:46 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 21, 2014, 02:42:07 PM
Maureen Madill on BBC tv said he went in after a guy who was heckling him, maybe he decided to kill two birds with one stone?

Actually the BBC commented several times on the poor behaviour of the crowd several times. Scousers behaving like scousers who'd have thought it huh :P

she did but then said she was mistaken and that it was only a toilet stop
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on July 21, 2014, 02:44:34 PM
Never ceases to amaze me the begrudgery and general willingness of people to stick the boot into someone else at any opportunity.

On the odd occasion (not this one) it might be deserved but it's not hard to do a bit of homework on something before you post something you believe is the gospel truth.  Was the same crap people slagging him off for not signing that autograph and jumping to all sorts of conclusions about that as well. 
Post by: cockahoop on July 21, 2014, 02:45:15 PM
montgormery got serious abuse at a US open once and it really got to him
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 21, 2014, 02:45:39 PM
Only the Irish or British or Northern Irish slag their own!!
Post by: NAG1 on July 21, 2014, 02:56:33 PM
Quote from: cockahoop on July 21, 2014, 02:45:15 PM

One of the American players who was partnering Monty that day went into the crowd if I am remembering right and chastised a few of those heckling him, was a brave action on their behalf. Cant remember who is was, but Davis Love sticking in my head for some reason.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 21, 2014, 02:59:26 PM
It was Payne Stewart during the 1999 Ryder Cup I believe
Post by: EC Unique on July 21, 2014, 03:03:57 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 21, 2014, 02:42:07 PM

At least Rory got his wee dig in at the end ;)
Post by: AQMP on July 21, 2014, 03:14:20 PM
Quote from: cockahoop on July 21, 2014, 02:35:28 PM

again another case of conclusions and not knowing the facts,he went for a piss!!not to a spectator

I heard McIlroy pissed on a spectator.  A guy who knows him really well was telling me that in a filling station earlier on.
Post by: AQMP on July 21, 2014, 03:21:14 PM
Important question...is Maureen Madill British or Irish??

Ya see I always presumed she might be a far out relative of GMAC and it was Mairin Ni Dhubhghaill making her evidently one of us.  But shockingly it turns out Madill is an old English name by way of France so it appears she's either a Hugenot or worse still, one of themmuns??
Post by: smort on July 21, 2014, 03:31:32 PM
Our Maureen is from near Portrush I think. Strange accent (like Gmac) but I have heard her mention a few times over the years that she was brought up playing at Portrush.
Post by: foxcommander on July 21, 2014, 03:37:45 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 21, 2014, 12:47:15 PM
(http://i.imgur.com/R5RuMKI.png)

Hopefully he'll get back to his day job soon. I particularly liked "shout"

(https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSfnp-8ycc1uPnRaHzlWo9bwu-pPwMGojihWQ8FV7-RLHDsJ2pRyw)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 03:40:06 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 21, 2014, 03:14:20 PM

I heard McIlroy pissed on a spectator.  A guy who knows him really well was telling me that in a filling station earlier on.

Was it a Falls road taxi driver?
Post by: AQMP on July 21, 2014, 03:50:53 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 03:40:06 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 21, 2014, 03:14:20 PM

Was it a Falls road taxi driver?

This guy's best friend's brother is a taxi man.  He knows a guy who used to work with Rory's Da.  Apparently Rory doesn't have an Irish bone in his body and his favourite meal growing up was jellied eels and a pint of mild.  He hates Riverdance, votes for UKIP and is a big fan of Morris Dancing too.  He focuses on driving straight by pretending the ball is Gerry Adams' head.  All true.
Post by: Applesisapples on July 21, 2014, 04:50:30 PM
I'm not a fan of McIlroy, but you cannot begrudge the way he went about winning this title. His speech and conduct afterwards were exemplary. It is a pity that we don't try and celebrate the victories of sports players from this Island without trying to hang a flag on them. What will sicken my guts though over the next few weeks is the likes of OWC Watson creaming himself any time he hears the name Rory and claiming him exclusively for OWCers every where...but that is not McIlroy's fault. I think McIlroy has belatedly seen how GMAC and Clarkie conduct themselves. Good win and I think maybe more to come...Still not a fan though.
Post by: red hander on July 21, 2014, 05:35:44 PM
Quote from: cockahoop on July 21, 2014, 02:45:15 PM

To be fair, you couldn't like 'monty' if you reared him, a nasty piece of work
Post by: michaelg on July 21, 2014, 07:28:48 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on July 21, 2014, 04:50:30 PM
I'm not a fan of McIlroy, but you cannot begrudge the way he went about winning this title. His speech and conduct afterwards were exemplary. It is a pity that we don't try and celebrate the victories of sports players from this Island without trying to hang a flag on them. What will sicken my guts though over the next few weeks is the likes of OWC Watson creaming himself any time he hears the name Rory and claiming him exclusively for OWCers every where...but that is not McIlroy's fault. I think McIlroy has belatedly seen how GMAC and Clarkie conduct themselves. Good win and I think maybe more to come...Still not a fan though.
Get over it - He's from Northern Ireland.  What do you expect the sports guy from BBC Northern Ireland to do?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2014, 09:06:20 PM
I'll give you GMac. By all accounts Clarke is a horrible **** too.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 09:51:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2014, 09:06:20 PM

Like he's worried
Post by: Orior on July 21, 2014, 10:20:39 PM
Are the people who don't like Rorv the same people who didn't like David Beckham?

Rory is an amazing golfer with more talent in his wee finger than all the begrudges put together (fact).

Plus, you do not win majors by being a shrinking violet. I play my best golf when I walk on the course with confidence. Name one good humble professional golfer?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 10:35:24 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 21, 2014, 10:20:39 PM
Are the people who don't like Rorv the same people who didn't like David Beckham?

Rory is an amazing golfer with more talent in his wee finger than all the begrudges put together (fact).

Plus, you do not win majors by being a shrinking violet. I play my best golf when I walk on the course with confidence. Name one good humble professional golfer?

Laoislad?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2014, 10:37:01 PM

Padraig Harrington. Back in your box.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 11:16:17 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 21, 2014, 11:07:31 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 10:35:24 PM

Laoislad?
What is it about me that you like the most? You are completely obsessed.

You started it lol, I'm fecking with ya. On a serious note are you running for a charity and if so open up a charity sponsorship with a link on here and I'm sure the boarders will contribute to it just as we did for BC1, I will donate too, I'm not all bad ;)
Post by: laoislad on July 21, 2014, 11:29:36 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 11:16:17 PM

Laoislad?

You started it lol, I'm fecking with ya. On a serious note are you running for a charity and if so open up a charity sponsorship with a link on here and I'm sure the boarders will contribute to it just as we did for BC1, I will donate too, I'm not all bad ;)
I will be running for charity and I will be setting up a page,but I thought it may be a bit soon yet.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 11:32:15 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 21, 2014, 11:29:36 PM

Laoislad?

I will be running for charity and I will be setting up a page,but I thought it may be a bit soon yet.

It never bothered BC1 and he raised a right few pound, and wasn't afraid to tap into the boards generosity.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on July 22, 2014, 12:00:31 AM
Theres obviously been a fallout with Gmac, the love-in was cringeworthy pre-rors leaving the stable that got him the Nike deal, which incidently was basically Gmacs management. Gmac was gracious in his praise for Rory's play but there was no personal quotes and was very cliche after his victory(dont forget he was 1st to meet him after 2011 US open victory). Clarke was a well known ladies man long before his wife fell ill but he wasn't the 1st and will not be the last to go through that and I thought he handled himself remarkably well in those though times. However he seems to have taken Rory under his wing from the Woziroy split. Theres also lots of talk that Rorys Mum and Dad have split over his dad and his cronies getting involved in the business side of things and this was a tad obvious when Rory was celebrating after the victory.

All of the above is info I've heard but I was 100% behind rory on sunday, I'll admit it I've got green machineitis, anything that is remotely Irish I'm on their side whether it WWE, Big brother, UFC or whatever on TV. I will and always will be like that. I would class myself as Irish republican/nationalist but if Rory had chose team GB it wouldn't have changed my support. I have also followed Man utd from I was 10 and Ive no problem saying I watched the 2012 and cheered on Jessica Ennis (obv) et al, maybe its the british influence finally breaking us nordies down but hay ho
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 22, 2014, 12:23:21 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2014, 11:32:15 PM

Laoislad?

It never bothered BC1 and he raised a right few pound, and wasn't afraid to tap into the boards generosity.

Hey,  you calling me a charity scrounger????
Post by: Orior on July 22, 2014, 08:37:48 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2014, 10:37:01 PM

Besides Harrington dammit.
Post by: AQMP on July 22, 2014, 08:57:11 AM
Quote from: michaelg on July 21, 2014, 07:28:48 PM
Get over it - He's from Northern Ireland.  What do you expect the sports guy from BBC Northern Ireland to do?

Ah come on.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 22, 2014, 09:16:39 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 22, 2014, 12:23:21 AM

Laoislad?

You? Never, think its a brill idea as you can tap into the boards generosity
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 22, 2014, 09:19:06 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 22, 2014, 09:16:39 AM

Laoislad?

I got over £1700 from online donations and over £1000 of it was from here directly.  Brilliant resource!  Facebook, twitter etc are brilliant as well.
Post by: laoislad on July 22, 2014, 09:25:44 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 22, 2014, 09:19:06 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 22, 2014, 09:16:39 AM

Laoislad?

I got over £1700 from online donations and over £1000 of it was from here directly.  Brilliant resource!  Facebook, twitter etc are brilliant as well.
Thats fantastic. Well if posters didn't mind and if it's ok with the mods then I think I will put up a link soon.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2014, 10:13:01 AM
Quote from: Orior on July 22, 2014, 08:37:48 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2014, 10:37:01 PM

Besides Harrington dammit.
Erm.... granted it is a short list  ;D
Post by: deiseach on July 22, 2014, 10:22:50 AM
Never heard Jack Nicklaus and Tom Watson blowing their own trumpets and they are respectively the greatest golfer and the greatest links golfer ever.
Post by: screenexile on July 22, 2014, 10:56:11 AM
Quote from: deiseach on July 22, 2014, 10:22:50 AM
Never heard Jack Nicklaus and Tom Watson blowing their own trumpets and they are respectively the greatest golfer and the greatest links golfer ever.

Mickelson generally doesn't blwo himself up too much either. Always liked the way Adam Scott conducted himself as well even if his caddy is  a complete douchebag!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 22, 2014, 12:04:13 PM
Maybe not in public but Mickelson's nickname on tour is  FIGJAM (f**k I'm good, just ask me)

Post by: Applesisapples on July 22, 2014, 02:18:30 PM
One thing about Mickleson, he takes time to sign. You won't catch him pissing on his fans!
Post by: deiseach on July 22, 2014, 03:00:10 PM
Mickelson gives off the air of the high school jock who fancies himself as being just one of the guys at the same time. It comes across as fake, even though I see very little evidence that he is anything other than sincere.
Post by: gawa316 on July 22, 2014, 04:06:50 PM
Angel Cabrera seems like a likeable big cub. I think I remember him being very gracious in defeat at the Masters that Scott won.
Post by: WT4E on July 22, 2014, 04:54:54 PM
Quote from: WT4E on July 17, 2014, 12:02:24 PM
Didn't do much research so picked 3 e/w small bets:

G Mac 25/1
Fowler 33/1
E Molinari 200/1

So I'm happy with the way things are goin so far!  ::)

Happy enough with my little bets. Done them with PP in shop he was paying 7 places not sure if it was 1/4 or 1/5 of odds.

Gmac nearly sneaked in at the end. Haven't been to lift it yet but I would say they will shorten odds on some as there was 8 people in the top 7 (if you know what I'm saying)

Anyone have any idea how it is calculated?
Post by: beer baron on July 22, 2014, 06:29:33 PM
It was 1/4 the odds with P.P,i had Fowler €10 e/w with them at 40/1 and got €110 back so no deduction there but i'd say Molinari will be settled as a deadheat with Schwartzel(stakes halved) so if you had €10 e/w at 200/1 1/4 odds you'll get €255 back rather than the €510 you would've got if he was placed in 7th by himself.

If they pay you back the bigger amount don't argue with them though  :P
Post by: Puckoon on July 22, 2014, 10:58:41 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 22, 2014, 03:00:10 PM
Mickelson gives off the air of the high school jock who fancies himself as being just one of the guys at the same time. It comes across as fake, even though I see very little evidence that he is anything other than sincere.

http://www.golfwrx.com/99116/the-day-we-made-phil-mickelson-cry/ (http://www.golfwrx.com/99116/the-day-we-made-phil-mickelson-cry/)

There used to be a junior event in Southern California called The MacGregor Cup Matches. It pitted the best players from all the chapters, and almost 30 years ago there was a clash of the titans. A virtual "Celebrity Death Match" of golf.
It was Phil Mickelson and Harry Rudolph (another great junior player from San Diego who had a similar success on the Web.com Tour that I did) against Bob May (for those who don't remember, he had a great struggle with Tiger at the 2000 PGA) and door No. 4: namely me.
We were teenagers. I was the oldest, but the least accomplished of the four, which was not a disgrace as these were three of the greatest players in the history of junior golf in Southern California. I will just say, Phil was acting like a punk and it started on the very first tee.
"Harry, you don't even have to play, I can beat these guys by myself," he said.
That sounds like a playful boast among competitors, but it was obvious to the three of us, it was not — and that "'tude" continued without relent. By the third or forth hole it was so bad, even Harry was becoming annoyed. We then began discussing a subject that was not golf related.
I won't reveal the subject matter, but let's just say it was something that is at the forefront of the minds of teenage boys and this time, Phil was the least accomplished. OK, fine, it was teenage girls and Phil was a bit of a dork at the time and not likely to be suave with the ladies.
Trying to fit into the discussion, Phil made — how do I put this? — a faux pas. Well, the three of us sensed weakness and jumped on him without remorse and it continued through the turn. By this time, Phil was walking down opposite side the fairway by himself and was crying.
The funniest part was that he was still lighting it up on the scorecard, and despite some exceptional play from Mr. May and myself, we lost.

I did not see Phil after that for about six or seven seven years.
The question begs:
"Monte, why are you telling this story about Phil? Are you trying to make yourself look cool that you had the upper hand on one of the all time greats because you had a little more experience with teenage girls."
No, that is not why. At best it could be said I was just as afraid of girls as he was at the time, but I was just a little funnier and drove a fancier car. I tell this story because I am a huge fan of Phil and have been ever since he has been on Tour and this story is at the heart of why.
A few years ago, athletes of several sports were polled about which athlete in their own sport is the biggest jerk and most hated by his peers. To no one's surprise, Terrell Owens topped the list. It surprised many that Phil was also on the list — the only golfer who made it. He has a nickname on the PGA Tour among many players and caddies who don't care for him, FIGJAM, which stands for "(Expletive) I'm Good, Just Ask Me," and I don't get the animus.
Now back to my experience. Throughout the 90s, I lived at PGA West in La Quinta, where some famous rounds of the Bob Hope were played. One year I was hitting balls on the range because I was getting a sponsor exemption into the Bob Hope (it was later given to Mac O'Grady before the tournament started, but that is a story for another time) and here comes Phil walking right toward me. He was the new star on Tour and the darling of all the fans.

"Monte, how are you?" he asked.
"Good Phil, thanks," I said.

"Congratulations on winning the long drive championship, how's the rest of your game doing? Hoping to see you out here soon," Phil said.

"Thank you, I am hoping to be out here soon too," I said. "Um, Phil, forgive me for saying so, but I am surprised you are talking to me, since the last time I saw you, Bobby, Harry and I weren't very nice to you."

"Nah, I was being a punk and I deserved it, good luck this week," he said.

I saw him a few more times after that and he went out of his way to say hello and encourage my progress to join him on the Tour. It is the opinion of this golfer that Phil is a class act and many of his peers don't like him because he does what he wants and doesn't care what other people think. The number of fans that love and root for him is second only to Tiger.
He is always there for the media, the autograph seekers and pro-am partners. The same cannot be said for many of the other Tour stars. Even though I was a player myself, I am still a fan of golf. And I put Phil's first major victory at Augusta as one of favorite golf moment as a fan.

Read more at http://www.golfwrx.com/99116/the-day-we-made-phil-mickelson-cry/#6FiW6OJeJctcEQO7.99
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2014, 11:12:19 PM
Nice article Puck.

Similar to a story told to me last week by the brother of a former Irish PGA journeyman. He said Harrington came up to the brother not long after he started and couldn't be nicer and offered him tips etc. Said he was a true gentleman and when they bumped into each other a few years ago Harry remembered his name and had a lot of time for him despite one being a multiple major winner and one a club pro. He said the exact opposite is true of Clarke - "a horrible human being" was how he was described!
Post by: Puckoon on July 22, 2014, 11:27:18 PM
The thing I admire the most about Phil is his course persona. It is hard to keep a friendly expression on your chops when you hit a shitty shot, or when you hit a bunch of them in a row! It is hard even within your weekend foursome. Even the boul Rory's body language betrays him when the chips are down, but when you look at Phil when he's playing like Orior in front of thousands - he's still smiling. In my opinion it's a sign that he knows how lucky he is, how hard the game is, and that he's in the public eye as a role model. He hits a strange combination of some of the best and some of the worst shots on tour.
Post by: theskull1 on July 23, 2014, 12:09:24 AM
Maybe hes just a big daftie  :)
Post by: WT4E on July 23, 2014, 10:47:54 AM
Quote from: beer baron on July 22, 2014, 06:29:33 PM
It was 1/4 the odds with P.P,i had Fowler €10 e/w with them at 40/1 and got €110 back so no deduction there but i'd say Molinari will be settled as a deadheat with Schwartzel(stakes halved) so if you had €10 e/w at 200/1 1/4 odds you'll get €255 back rather than the €510 you would've got if he was placed in 7th by himself.

If they pay you back the bigger amount don't argue with them though  :P

Yeah your right they paid out  half the odds after a small argument that it was F Molinari on the slip not E.

Only wish I had the 10 e/w on it you described! lol
Post by: Saffrongael on July 23, 2014, 10:55:52 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2014, 11:12:19 PM
Nice article Puck.

Similar to a story told to me last week by the brother of a former Irish PGA journeyman. He said Harrington came up to the brother not long after he started and couldn't be nicer and offered him tips etc. Said he was a true gentleman and when they bumped into each other a few years ago Harry remembered his name and had a lot of time for him despite one being a multiple major winner and one a club pro. He said the exact opposite is true of Clarke - "a horrible human being" was how he was described!

An alert has just sounded on Milltown Rows phone
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 23, 2014, 11:06:31 AM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 23, 2014, 10:55:52 AM
Nice article Puck.

Personally I don't really care, that's not the reason for my earlier posts, but go right ahead troll ;)
Post by: Orior on July 23, 2014, 01:08:33 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on July 22, 2014, 11:27:18 PM
The thing I admire the most about Phil is his course persona. It is hard to keep a friendly expression on your chops when you hit a shitty shot, or when you hit a bunch of them in a row! It is hard even within your weekend foursome. Even the boul Rory's body language betrays him when the chips are down, but when you look at Phil when he's playing like Orior in front of thousands - he's still smiling. In my opinion it's a sign that he knows how lucky he is, how hard the game is, and that he's in the public eye as a role model. He hits a strange combination of some of the best and some of the worst shots on tour.

Hey bucko, this time last year i was playing of 19. This season i got down to 12, albeit for one week. I'll take ya on anytime
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2014, 02:22:37 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 23, 2014, 11:06:31 AM
Nice article Puck.

Personally I don't really care, that's not the reason for my earlier posts, but go right ahead troll ;)
We know, you love Prods. I'm married to one ffs, it doesn't mean I have to like them all. Or even another one other than her  :D
Post by: laoislad on July 23, 2014, 02:58:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2014, 02:22:37 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 23, 2014, 11:06:31 AM
Nice article Puck.

We know, you love Prods. I'm married to one ffs, it doesn't mean I have to like them all. Or even another one other than her  :D
I'm feel the same about Dubs!!
Post by: deiseach on July 23, 2014, 03:08:51 PM

I hear you, brother. The jury is out on the childer.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 23, 2014, 04:05:55 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 23, 2014, 03:08:51 PM

How many boarders are in a mix marriage/relationship ?
Post by: J OGorman on July 23, 2014, 04:10:18 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 23, 2014, 04:05:55 PM

me. The wife's from Armagh
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 23, 2014, 04:27:03 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on July 23, 2014, 04:10:18 PM

me. The wife's from Armagh

We all have our troubles
Post by: gawa316 on July 23, 2014, 04:27:21 PM

Me. The wife has Italian Mafia blood in her.

Would I be right in saying, growing up you always thought the other religion were sluttier?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 23, 2014, 04:38:34 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on July 23, 2014, 04:27:21 PM

Would I be right in saying, growing up you always thought the other religion were sluttier?

Dangerous!!
Post by: screenexile on July 23, 2014, 04:45:38 PM

Aye ... sure prods didn't have that "no sex before marriage" nonsense!!
Post by: laoislad on July 23, 2014, 05:01:27 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 23, 2014, 04:45:38 PM

I didn't know many Catholic girls that believed in that...!
Post by: laoislad on July 23, 2014, 05:02:33 PM

English girls are by far the sluttiest(in my experience)
Post by: screenexile on July 23, 2014, 05:05:50 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 23, 2014, 05:01:27 PM

They take the Catholicism thing far too literally up here!!
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on July 23, 2014, 05:13:10 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 23, 2014, 05:05:50 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 23, 2014, 05:01:27 PM

They take the Catholicism thing far too literally up here!!

Doubt you were after the wrong ones ;)
Post by: gawa316 on July 23, 2014, 05:30:33 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 23, 2014, 05:02:33 PM

Me too, went to uni in England and they were pure dort!

Maybe we need a need thread
Post by: laoislad on July 23, 2014, 05:34:31 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on July 23, 2014, 05:30:33 PM

Travelled around Australia with one for 7 months... great times.
Post by: gawa316 on July 23, 2014, 05:40:43 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 23, 2014, 05:34:31 PM

Was she a prod as well?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 23, 2014, 05:41:06 PM
LL - off topic - but good job on the radio
Post by: laoislad on July 23, 2014, 10:12:26 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on July 23, 2014, 05:40:43 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 23, 2014, 05:34:31 PM

Was she a prod as well?

She was.. My Ma nearly disowned me when she found out... ;D
Post by: laoislad on July 23, 2014, 10:13:28 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 23, 2014, 05:41:06 PM
LL - off topic - but good job on the radio

Thanks Gab I appreciate that.
I was out of my comfort zone but it went ok in the end.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 24, 2014, 08:49:20 AM

Moi also.
Post by: ONeill on July 25, 2014, 12:32:54 AM

By one account?
Post by: Minder on July 25, 2014, 08:41:02 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 25, 2014, 12:32:54 AM

By one account?

I remember David Walsh or someone in the Times saying he could be very difficult, and kept a black book of anyone that "crossed" him.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 25, 2014, 08:57:06 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 25, 2014, 12:32:54 AM

By one account?
[/quote]No, by many accounts, including his own (he may describe his moods in different terms than I have). Did you think "The  Prince of Darkness" tag was given to him because he was a fan of horror movies?!  ::)
Post by: ONeill on July 25, 2014, 09:14:04 AM
His coach called him Prince of Darkness because he was hard on himself when his golf was shite and became moody. He flushed my friend's head down the toilet at school. But, by all accounts, he has mellowed.