GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on June 10, 2014, 03:05:51 PM

Title: Derry v Longford AIQs 1A - Sat 21 Jun 2014 at 5pm Celtic Park
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 10, 2014, 03:05:51 PM
Well.

This is as bad as it can get for Longford.

A team going nowhere at best but most likely backwards against a team on the up (despite their setbacks v Dublin and Donegal).

All we can hope is that Derry would look on this as an easy one and not prepare properly and we could spring a major surprise. However, given that Derry feel they owe us one from the Qualifiers a few years back then, well, I can't even hang any hope on this.

As this game is on the same day as Horslips in Dunluce I will make it. I've never been to Celtic Park so if some of the Derry lads here have any tips on finding the ground and where to park etc. I can, of course, rely on Sat Nav etc.

There is a chance that I could be one of less than 50 supporters there  :-\
Title: Re: Derry v Longford AIQs 1A - Sat 21 Jun 2014 at 5pm Celtic Park
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 10, 2014, 04:30:36 PM
you will prob come up via monaghan, omagh, strabane
take the left (west ) over /under the blue bridge over the Foyle park in the foyleside centre and get up onto the Derry walls looking over the western side and you will see where the pitch is

then walk through 'the diamond' down the hollow an up to the pitch
will take you about 15 mins walk
Post by: screenexile on June 10, 2014, 04:33:15 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 10, 2014, 03:05:51 PM
Well.

A team going nowhere at best but most likely backwards against a team on the up (despite their setbacks v Dublin and Donegal).

All we can hope is that Derry would look on this as an easy one and not prepare properly and we could spring a major surprise. However, given that Derry feel they owe us one from the Qualifiers a few years back then, well, I can't even hang any hope on this.

As this game is on the same day as Horslips in Dunluce I will make it. I've never been to Celtic Park so if some of the Derry lads here have any tips on finding the ground and where to park etc. I can, of course, rely on Sat Nav etc.

Ah you're being generous . . .  I doubt we'll have that many supporters at the match!!!
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 10, 2014, 04:38:05 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 10, 2014, 04:33:15 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 10, 2014, 03:05:51 PM
Well.

Ah you're being generous . . .  I doubt we'll have that many supporters at the match!!!
was thinking we might have about that many each !!
Post by: Fuzzman on June 10, 2014, 04:39:02 PM
https://www.google.ie/maps/@54.993522,-7.3312855,16z (https://www.google.ie/maps/@54.993522,-7.3312855,16z)
Would it not be better to send him on the lower deck blue bridge and then he can turn left out the Foyle Road.

Don't worry SS. We never win there either
Post by: J OGorman on June 10, 2014, 04:50:22 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 10, 2014, 04:39:02 PM
https://www.google.ie/maps/@54.993522,-7.3312855,16z (https://www.google.ie/maps/@54.993522,-7.3312855,16z)
Would it not be better to send him on the lower deck blue bridge and then he can turn left out the Foyle Road.

aye, she's sign posted (GAA stadium) on the lower deck of the Craigavon Br turning left onto the old Letterkenny Rd (Foyle Rd). Drive out there about a mile to you get to a wee roundabout. Turn right and stright up to the Theatre of Jeans. Arrive an hour before hand and parking will be OK

Derry for Sam
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 10, 2014, 08:04:25 PM

Either way across the bridge he can get parking in foyleside

This is handy enough if not familiar with Derry City!

If you get lost up one of the streets and miss Celtic park you could end up past creggan or rosemount and need an interpreter to understand directions from one of the locals !
Post by: J OGorman on June 10, 2014, 08:24:45 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 10, 2014, 08:04:25 PM

Either way across the bridge he can get parking in foyleside

This is handy enough if not familiar with Derry City!

If you get lost up one of the streets and miss Celtic park you could end up past creggan or rosemount and need an interpreter to understand directions from one of the locals !

put down the window and follow the smell of the economy burgers frying in the chip van
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 10, 2014, 09:33:37 PM
with me still smarting from the qualifier loss to Longford 2 years ago i expect Derry to go at this game full till and show Longford little mercy, they not be over complacent given Longford beat them 2 years ago, on another note its a pity McIvor doesn't revisit the Bradley's issue, nothing worst seeing 2 lads clock scores up for their club in the paper ever week and they never be considered while starting players are not showing the same scoring from for their clubs.
Post by: Real Talk on June 10, 2014, 10:07:00 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 10, 2014, 09:33:37 PM
with me still smarting from the qualifier loss to Longford 2 years ago i expect Derry to go at this game full till and show Longford little mercy, they not be over complacent given Longford beat them 2 years ago, on another note its a pity McIvor doesn't revisit the Bradley's issue, nothing worst seeing 2 lads clock scores up for their club in the paper ever week and they never be considered while starting players are not showing the same scoring from for their clubs.

Nothing worst than flogging a 'dead horse(s)'
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 10, 2014, 11:08:10 PM
dead horses maybe but you should play the best players on form, who's showing this through the league, u made it well clear u dislike of the Bradley's on previous posts on the Derry forum
Post by: rodney trotter on June 10, 2014, 11:17:03 PM
Eoin Bradley is flying off to Boston, be hard for McIvor to call him up http://www.hoganstand.com/Derry/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=218032
Paddy Bradley is involved with the Antrim set up,and coaching along side Kevin Cassidy with his home club in Donegal, he probaly has enough on his plate.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 11, 2014, 10:12:49 AM
Will there be a parade?

Should we get the Longford bize het up and ready to scrap?

Or are Derry more civilised than the Cavan and Armagh hooligans and will march like gentlemen?
Post by: Rossfan on June 11, 2014, 01:10:34 PM
Will the Parades Commission have to get involved?
Post by: Real Talk on June 11, 2014, 11:26:07 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 10, 2014, 11:08:10 PM
dead horses maybe but you should play the best players on form, who's showing this through the league, u made it well clear u dislike of the Bradley's on previous posts on the Derry forum

That's an inaccurate comment.  I deal with the present and the options available to Brian McIvor.
Post by: panc56 on June 12, 2014, 11:17:41 PM
I reckon the stats show it's 2-2 in the championship v the oak leafies. Now for the Larries that's probably one of our best strike rates against any county.

I will be one of the 50. Never been to Celtic Park either , but I did venture to Ballinascreen for an NFL game.
Post by: Rawhide on June 13, 2014, 09:14:49 AM

Anyone who promotes Paddy Bradley for the county team at this stage simply has not got a clue, the less said the better. Eoin was asked back, but couldn't fully commit due to his other sporting interests.
Post by: J OGorman on June 13, 2014, 09:24:14 AM
Quote from: Rawhide on June 13, 2014, 09:14:49 AM

Anyone who promotes Paddy Bradley for the county team at this stage simply has not got a clue, the less said the better. Eoin was asked back, but couldn't fully commit due to his other sporting interests.

If the brothers Bradley were not coaching / playing foreign sports, Id have both them in the panel surely. Both more to offer. But its yesterdays news. Nothing to see here.

Looking forward to getting the rollercoaster that is the qualifiers up and running. Who knows where it may take us? Will certainly bring a few of the younger players on even more which bodes well.

Any Longfordians looking for a place to eat / drink pre or post match (or both if yer thirsty hooers), ask away and we can point you in the right direction
Post by: southderryman on June 17, 2014, 12:08:15 PM
What sort of game can we expect on Saturday?

The 3 or 4 times we've met in championship in pearse park have generally been good open games with a bit of drama thrown in.

I know the league game in Celtic Park last March Longford were very defensive that night. I haven't seen them play this year......are they still under the same management and playing the same way as last year or do we have a chance of an open game?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 17, 2014, 01:19:39 PM
Open game!! Open game is it!

Jesus - it will be so open it will make something very open look very shut.

Longford won't play a defensive game.......tbh it will be lucky if we play any sort of game  :'(

Expect Derry to score in excess of 3-10.

Post by: Rossfan on June 17, 2014, 02:08:01 PM
Hope ye can keep it under 7-13 anyway Shoreen. :-[
Post by: Syferus on June 17, 2014, 02:12:23 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 17, 2014, 02:08:01 PM
Hope ye can keep it under 7-13 anyway Shoreen. :-[

Derry are no Leitrim minor team so there's no worries about that.
Post by: southderryman on June 17, 2014, 03:03:37 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 17, 2014, 01:19:39 PM
Open game!! Open game is it!

Jesus - it will be so open it will make something very open look very shut.

Longford won't play a defensive game.......tbh it will be lucky if we play any sort of game  :'(

Expect Derry to score in excess of 3-10.

Every time we've played in the qualifiers in recent years it's always been a tough game. What's the reason for the pessimism?  Have Longford had much of a turnover in players since you beat us 2 years ago??

Post by: panc56 on June 17, 2014, 11:31:01 PM
Derry at evens -7 the bet of the weekend 8)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 17, 2014, 11:38:30 PM
Longford might not have a turn over of players but Derry probbaly be going with only 5 from that nite, one of the few down at the game that nite
Post by: southderryman on June 18, 2014, 11:20:56 AM
Quote from: panc56 on June 17, 2014, 11:31:01 PM
Derry at evens -7 the bet of the weekend 8)

Depends on how many players we are missing imo. There's rumours about a few injuries. Would wait and see the starting 15 before placing a bet on that
Post by: southderryman on June 18, 2014, 11:24:44 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 17, 2014, 11:38:30 PM
Longford might not have a turn over of ppalyers but Derry probbaly be going with only 5 from that nite, one of the few down at the game that nite
a

Was there myself, our support was pitiful

From he starting team in 2012 only McKaigue,  Sean Leo, patsy, lynch and mcguckin would be likely starters on Saturday with mark Craig on the bench. The other 9 are no longer on the panel.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 18, 2014, 09:25:25 PM
Derry always go well league wise to we get a run of club games and pick up a ton of injuries, i cant understand how we such a injury rate at club level for county men compared to other counties, u barely ever hear of a alot of Dublin men getting injured.
Hard to know what Derry team we field this week if the injury reports are to be believed
Post by: southderryman on June 18, 2014, 09:48:18 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 18, 2014, 09:25:25 PM
Derry always go well league wise to we get a run of club games and pick up a ton of injuries, i cant understand how we such a injury rate at club level for county men compared to other counties, u barely ever hear of a alot of Dublin men getting injured.
How to know what Derry team we field this week if the injury reports are to be believed

Same story most years unfortunately

Hard to know what team will line out on Saturday. Doc, bradley, McBride, O'Kane are all doubtful from what I've been told. Not sure who else is. In terms of the panel, obviously mullan and o'boyle have left, carlus mcwilliams also out for a long period. Hopefully get Saturday over us and get a few more back for the next round.
Post by: southderryman on June 19, 2014, 09:31:58 PM
Not a strong derry team imo, would not be touching that -7 bet. In fact I'd be happy with any sort of a win. We will struggle for scores based on that line up.

The Derry team to play Longford in Round 1A of the All-Ireland Senior Football Qualifiers on Saturday at Celtic Park (5pm) is as follows:

1. Thomas Mallon (An Lúb)
2. Oisín Duffy (Forghleann)
3. Chrissy McKaigue (Leacht Néill)
4. Aidan McAlynn (An Lúb)
5. Gareth McKinless (Baile an Doire)
6. Mark Craig (Dún Geimhin)
7. Sean Leo McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua)
8. Mark Lynch (Beannchar) (Captain)
9. Kevin Johnston (Dún Geimhin)
10. Aaron Devlin (Baile an Doire)
11. Emmet Bradley (Gleann)
12. Enda Lynn (Grainlocha)
13. James Kielt (Cill Ria)
14. Terence O'Brien (An Lúb)
15. Ciarán McFaul (Gleann)

16. Eoin McNicholl (Gleann an Iolair)
17. Conor McAtamney (Suaitreach)
18. Gerard O'Kane (Gleann an Iolair)
19. James Kearney (Suaitreach)
20. Dermot McGuckin (Baile an Doire)
21. Niall Holly (Eoghan Rua)
22. Niall McFeely (Forghleann)
23. Daniel McKinless (Baile an Doire)
24. Benny Heron (Baile na Scrine)
25. Ryan Bell (Baile an Doire)
26. Ciaran McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua)
27. Conor Murphy (Dún Geimhin)
Post by: Qwerty28 on June 19, 2014, 10:25:56 PM
Who can play the poor mouth the best!? Looks like Derry folk arent too optimistic but having seen Longford in both their championship outings I don't think there's much to fear unfortunately. We don't have confidence or momentum of 2012 and just hope we put up a decent fight on Saturday in what could be a last hurrah for a few extremely loyal servants
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 19, 2014, 10:28:38 PM
That seriously cant be the Derry football team for this weekend!!
Post by: J OGorman on June 19, 2014, 10:34:05 PM
There will a couple of changes by the time throw in arrives, but with the injury crisis and the 2 Bucko's jumping ship, I like the look of the team. Plenty of speed and mobility and plenty of fine young footballers. Matches like this will be the making of them.
Benny should be starting and I'd say Sukie will have a big say on Sat 
Post by: southderryman on June 19, 2014, 10:36:12 PM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on June 19, 2014, 10:25:56 PM
Who can play the poor mouth the best!? Looks like Derry folk arent too optimistic but having seen Longford in both their championship outings I don't think there's much to fear unfortunately. We don't have confidence or momentum of 2012 and just hope we put up a decent fight on Saturday in what could be a last hurrah for a few extremely loyal servants

It's hardly playing the poor mouth, it's just being realistic. That's not a strong derry team by any stretch. One thing it does have though is plenty of pace. Hopefully some of the young lads grasp this opportunity and Do well. I've no idea how good/bad Longford are as I've not seen them since 2012. Hopefully we can get over this game and get a few of the injured lads back.
Post by: southderryman on June 19, 2014, 10:37:02 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 19, 2014, 10:28:38 PM

It'll not be far away. Lots of injuries at the minute.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on June 19, 2014, 10:44:56 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 19, 2014, 10:28:38 PM

All Derry fans heading for Celtic Park have been asked to bring their boots.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 19, 2014, 11:14:40 PM
young Johnstone has done well this year but I cant see him as an intercounty midfielder ( ,Is that Plunkett Murphy's son named on the sub's ?)
Post by: southderryman on June 19, 2014, 11:18:49 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on June 19, 2014, 11:14:40 PM
young Johnstone has done well this year but I cant see him as an intercounty midfielder ( ,Is that Plunkett Murphy's son named on the sub's ?)
]
He plays midfield for Dungiven. Agree though that it is a big  step up. We're just short on options there with doc patsy and PJ all out.

I honestly don't know anything about Conor Murphy
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 20, 2014, 10:58:39 AM
Longford team to play Derry

1.Damien Sheridan
2.Dermot Brady
3.Barry Gilleran
4.Fergal Battrim
5.Colm P. Smith
6.Enda Williams
7.Shane Mulligan
8.John Keegan
9.Kevin Diffley
10.Michael Quinn
11.Francis McGee
12.Paul Barden
13.Aidan Rowan
14.Brian Kavanagh
15.Sean McCormack

Post by: southderryman on June 20, 2014, 11:25:09 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 20, 2014, 10:58:39 AM
Longford team to play Derry

1.Damien Sheridan
2.Dermot Brady
3.Barry Gilleran
4.Fergal Battrim
5.Colm P. Smith
6.Enda Williams
7.Shane Mulligan
8.John Keegan
9.Kevin Diffley
10.Michael Quinn
11.Francis McGee
12.Paul Barden
13.Aidan Rowan
14.Brian Kavanagh
15.Sean McCormack

Would this be possible Longford at full strength?

To be the honest the only players I am familiar with are Barden, Kavanagh and McCormack; all 3 have caused us plenty of problems in previous meetings
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 20, 2014, 12:09:29 PM
I would have Mark Hughes in for Aidan Rowan. Other than that that's as good as we can get. Nobody fecked off the panel after Wexford defeat or, natch, not counting lads out injured like Deccie Reilly.

No doubt, though, within ten minutes Foy will be brought on  :-\

Post by: southderryman on June 20, 2014, 01:05:09 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 20, 2014, 12:09:29 PM
I would have Mark Hughes in for Aidan Rowan. Other than that that's as good as we can get. Nobody fecked off the panel after Wexford defeat or, natch, not counting lads out injured like Deccie Reilly.

No doubt, though, within ten minutes Foy will be brought on  :-\

Nearly full strength then, and you only narrowly lost to Wexford in leinster. Should be a tight enough game I reckon. Hope the young lads do themselves justice and we can edge it by a few points.

Who's the ref for this? Have ye's brought Michael Collins out of retirement? ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 20, 2014, 01:12:29 PM
QuoteHave ye's brought Michael Collins out of retirement?

That brought a hearty laugh from me. Jazes, he rode ye rotten that day in 2006.

I know a fellow that was a mentor that day, yellow jacket an all. Collins has history with Longford in the past - he was doing the line at Kerry v Longford in Killarney in 2005(?) and when Paul Barden got pasted into the fencing by a Kerry heveril with a push, Collins did nothing. To our disgust.

So when the game v Derry in Longford was over and Derry bize were hopping, having lost by a point, the mentor calmly takes off yellow bib.

"Why are you taking that off" says someone to him.

"I'm taking it off so I won't have to go in and protect that cnut!" sez the mentor, referring to Collins.

No - it's some Fermanagh ref. I'd love to see Gerry Kinneavy back for this one.
Post by: southderryman on June 20, 2014, 01:22:28 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 20, 2014, 01:12:29 PM
QuoteHave ye's brought Michael Collins out of retirement?

That brought a hearty laugh from me. Jazes, he rode ye rotten that day in 2006.

I know a fellow that was a mentor that day, yellow jacket an all. Collins has history with Longford in the past - he was doing the line at Kerry v Longford in Killarney in 2005(?) and when Paul Barden got pasted into the fencing by a Kerry heveril with a push, Collins did nothing. To our disgust.

So when the game v Derry in Longford was over and Derry bize were hopping, having lost by a point, the mentor calmly takes off yellow bib.

"Why are you taking that off" says someone to him.

"I'm taking it off so I won't have to go in and protect that cnut!" sez the mentor, referring to Collins.

No - it's some Fermanagh ref. I'd love to see Gerry Kinneavy back for this one.
brilliant! ;D

I though you's played kerry in next round after you beat us?

he gave us a very soft penalty at the end of the first half, Longford crowd gave have serious abuse at half time and in the second half he gave us absolutely nothing...was a very surreal experience.

Fierce heat that day too and game was played at a very fast pace. Barden destroyed us.

I'd forgotten about Kinneavy!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 20, 2014, 02:10:43 PM
You may be right - we may have played Kerry after that year.

But Collins had rode us before at some stage - so he was still at it in Killarney as well as the first half. It's slowly coming back.

Of course Gerry Kinneavy later become Gearoid O'Cionnamha to try and cod us.

I'd have him in the Top 5 worst referees ever...along with Joe Woods......Seamus Aldridge............Michael Collins.........and a few local yokes that never made it to inter county.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 20, 2014, 02:19:44 PM
You can't have a top 5 worst without that Duffy boy from Sligo in there...
Post by: southderryman on June 20, 2014, 02:38:03 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 20, 2014, 02:19:44 PM
You can't have a top 5 worst without that Duffy boy from Sligo in there...
which one? Both of them are clowns.

Would be seriously hard to pick he top 5, there have been some horrendous referees
Post by: southderryman on June 20, 2014, 02:40:41 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 20, 2014, 02:10:43 PM

But Collins had rode us before at some stage - so he was still at it in Killarney as well as the first half. It's slowly coming back.

I'd have him in the Top 5 worst referees ever...along with Joe Woods......Seamus Aldridge............Michael Collins.........and a few local yokes that never made it to inter county.
I remember the name change alright, remember seeing it on a live game on rte and taking a while to catch on it was him until they showed a close up of him

Mr Coleman god rest him, would probably request you add John banning to your list  :)
Post by: imtommygunn on June 20, 2014, 02:42:27 PM
Marty I think? The one who continues to f**k everything up yet continues to get a load of big games.

Interesting game now. That Derry team seems a bit out there and if they're not at their game Longford could sneak a win here... Not sure where Longford are at but they've a few handy enough footballers there.
Post by: southderryman on June 20, 2014, 02:49:55 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 20, 2014, 02:42:27 PM
Marty I think? The one who continues to f**k everything up yet continues to get a load of big games.

Interesting game now. That Derry team seems a bit out there and if they're not at their game Longford could sneak a win here... Not sure where Longford are at but they've a few handy enough footballers there.
Marty is a clown, Michael not much better imo.

Will be a fairly tight game imo. Longford have caused us trouble in the past so i wouldn't be confident. Hopefully we can shade it.
Post by: southderryman on June 20, 2014, 02:56:04 PM
Boyle sports offering 20/1 on the draw.

The previous 2 games between these sides have both been settled in injury time. If derry don't click then I wouldn't rule out a draw. Hopefully won't come to that though
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 21, 2014, 10:04:43 AM
Draw at 18 or 20-1 could be a punt. Don't put widows and orphans funds on it.

Longford have lost 2 of the panel. Means that only 2 subs now that aren't connected to the juniors in Leinster final v Cavan next week. If a "junior" is brought on then he is ruled out of the Leinster final. Could be a conundrum for Sheedy if it's tight with 10-15 minutes to go.

Feck it - we'll travel with hope. What was it that John Cleese said in 'Clockwise'.............."It's not the despair, Laura. I can take the despair. It's the hope I can't stand"
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 21, 2014, 01:39:07 PM
Expect to win even with the strange line-up, but fear latter rounds
Post by: Rossfan on June 21, 2014, 03:06:20 PM
]Marty is a clown, Michael not much better imo.

Will be a fairly tight game imo. Longford have caused us trouble in the past so i wouldn't be confident. Hopefully we can shade it.
Michael has been dropped from the Inter Co list for the Championship.
Best of luck to our nicest neighbours.
Post by: Syferus on June 21, 2014, 03:10:41 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 21, 2014, 03:06:20 PM
Michael has been dropped from the Inter Co list for the Championship.
Best of luck to our nicest neighbours.

Offaly are far kinder to us these days.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 21, 2014, 03:57:25 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 20, 2014, 02:10:43 PM

Woods - that poseur busturd robbed us of a freshers all Ireland final

Add that useless hoor tommy Howard alongside kid Kildare colleague Aldridge

Conor Murphy is indeed plunketts son. Knew he was decent, didn't think he'd make the county panel ( so soon). Undoubtedly quicker and cleaner than plunketts. Not hard to be on either count!
Post by: Rossfan on June 21, 2014, 05:39:15 PM
Come on the Larries - 1-6 to 0-7 at half time  :o
Post by: rodney trotter on June 21, 2014, 05:42:07 PM
Barden with Longfords goal,
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 21, 2014, 05:53:18 PM
I am in the Free Longford section of the stand. Just beside Brolly. Any requests?
Post by: maigheo on June 21, 2014, 06:14:46 PM
Tell him he is only a bo---x if you like
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 21, 2014, 06:33:49 PM
YES
Post by: rodney trotter on June 21, 2014, 06:35:28 PM
Great win for Longford
Post by: Throw ball on June 21, 2014, 06:36:23 PM
Great result for Longford. Yet again Derry flatter to deceive.
Post by: screenexile on June 21, 2014, 06:39:00 PM
Fair play Longford I wasn't able to get over but I had a feeling we would struggle and they are a serious bogey team for us.

You have to wonder why we've had so many injuries from the Donegal game but look we had 15 lads there who were more than capable of getting a result and we didn't do it ... Where to now?
Post by: Club Rossa on June 21, 2014, 06:47:03 PM
And I thought we had it bad in Tyrone...

Needless to say that's a massive blow for Derry.Well done Longford :D
Post by: ross4life on June 21, 2014, 06:47:41 PM
Well done to our neighbours the larries superb result against all the odds.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 21, 2014, 06:49:37 PM
Congrats Shamrock Shore! :)
Post by: Catch and Kick on June 21, 2014, 06:55:37 PM
And the GAA want to move Longford into Connaught!
Post by: Itchy on June 21, 2014, 07:20:06 PM
What a result for longford.
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 21, 2014, 07:31:35 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 21, 2014, 06:49:37 PM

No one saw that one coming.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 21, 2014, 07:38:51 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on June 21, 2014, 07:31:35 PM

Must have had your eyes closed then!

I expected a close tight game and a Longford win ( but hoped otherwise) as they at least had a settled team - that counts for a hell of a lot!

People hear fixtures and think of a team by its history rather than the actual abilities of its team!
Post by: screenexile on June 21, 2014, 07:40:06 PM

Check the Derry thread ... We were far from confident about this one! Local bookies had Longford +8 @ evens and at least half the County was on it!
Post by: Syferus on June 21, 2014, 07:41:33 PM
Well done Longford. Terrible nosedive for Derry to make the league final and then being out of the championship in June.
Post by: north down on June 21, 2014, 07:48:31 PM
Well done Longford. Back to the drawing board for Derry.
Post by: J OGorman on June 21, 2014, 07:58:38 PM
well done Longford. Got chatting to a few supporters and a couple of the players after, all over the moon and rightly so. Showed fierce hunger and deserved it bigtime. Barden, Kavanagh and Mulligan were / are first class players. As regards us, what a feckin disaster.
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 21, 2014, 07:59:37 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 21, 2014, 07:38:51 PM

Must have had your eyes closed then!

I expected a close tight game and a Longford win ( but hoped otherwise) as they at least had a settled team - that counts for a hell of a lot!

People hear fixtures and think of a team by its history rather than the actual abilities of its team!

Nothing to do with history. Derry finished second in Division 1 and then lost the final to one of the best Dublin sides we have seen in many a year. Longford were relegated to Division 4. Maybe the Derry players took Longord +8, but no one outside of Derry would have predicted this.
Post by: Qwerty28 on June 21, 2014, 08:12:56 PM
Kicking myself for not travelling but superb win, fair play to all concerned. Couldn't see us causing an upset based on the previous 2 outings but suppose thats the beauty of sport, you just never know! Saw Derry in league final and their confidence most have taken an awful hammering both from that and from Donegal beating them at home.

Looking forward to your views Shamrock! Fiar play to you for heading up, was there much of  Longford crowd?
Post by: Jinxy on June 21, 2014, 08:14:22 PM
Is this genuinely considered a shock result?
I wasn't shocked when I heard.
Longford always beat Derry.
Post by: Qwerty28 on June 21, 2014, 08:19:15 PM
Longford were 9/1 beforehand with Derry at 1/20 so shows what the bookies know  ;D
Post by: DoireGael on June 21, 2014, 08:40:50 PM
Congrats to the Longford boys.

Tough one to take but I always expected this one to be tight. Your Longford man at 12 was superb, very impressed. Derry really lacked a ruthless edge, a Sean Cavanagh  should have been performed after the Lynch goal. Longford had the shouting boots on and yet again Derry couldn't beat a blanket.

Congrats again.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 21, 2014, 08:41:15 PM
I for one did see this coming and dished out my concerns that the team give out in the week was shocking, i thought a bit of pride in the jersey would pull us over the line, half these lads would kill you in a club league game but not in a county jersey.

All the best to longford, they were the better team and deserved their win, Derry nearly stole it and if they Had it been a travesty. the Derry team were a utter disgrace, and the management i don't expect to be there next year after this.

Derry have only themselves to blames, took Longford for granted showed them no respect, cantered along in 2nd gear most of the 1st half at 7 - 3 up, wouldn't take their points and tried to work goals, that's disrespectful. got cleaned out at midfield, never kicked a ball into the forward line and about 8 players playing out of position, along with injured players playing and injured players on the subs. Derry played the half first half with no sweeper, longford should have scored 2 goals before they actually got 1, No.10 Quinn had a mighty game for Longford and no. 7 Mulligan and No.11 McGee also. Barden and Kavanagh , well played like Barden and Kavanagh.

the end of the day Derry got turned over by a team destined for Division 4, only difference was sometimes pride in a Jersey can over come limitations,
Theres more backbone on a snake or a England team than our lot.

Time for a outside manager and a serious overhaul of Derry football, Minor ,U21 and senior are all a total mess at the minute, there no point going on another year, it will not change, we been on the slide since 2004, pop up once and a while, then get put back in our box by Longford, fermanagh, Monaghan, Cavan etc.
Post by: rodney trotter on June 21, 2014, 08:49:23 PM
Quinn has always been a good player, played a years in the AFL with Essendon,. He was playing Centre back in the last couple of years , playing in the half forward line this year and seems to be doing well there. He is probaly more suited there anyway
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 21, 2014, 08:54:14 PM
Well Rodney he was the best player on the Field the night, i just hope Longford do themselves Justice there no point beating Derry and go out the next day and get turned over, Happy for Jack Sheedy, hear he was getting a hard enough time down there,
Post by: Rossfan on June 21, 2014, 08:59:38 PM
Well done Longford.
Keep it going now. Tipp, Sligo and most likely Antrim and WEXFORD !! are your possible next opponents. I presume ye'll want anyone but effin Wexford. ::)
Post by: Syferus on June 21, 2014, 09:04:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 21, 2014, 08:59:38 PM
Well done Longford.
Keep it going now. Tipp, Sligo and most likely Antrim and WEXFORD !! are your possible next opponents. I presume ye'll want anyone but effin Wexford. ::)

Great chance for Longford to go on a little run.
Post by: Jinxy on June 21, 2014, 09:04:55 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on June 21, 2014, 08:40:50 PM

Tough one to take but I always expected this one to be tight. Your Longford man at 12 was superb, very impressed. Derry really lacked a ruthless edge, a Sean Cavanagh should have been performed after the Lynch goal. Longford had the shouting boots on and yet again Derry couldn't beat a blanket.

Congrats again.

You'll have to be more specific, do you mean a cynical dive or a cynical foul?
Post by: Syferus on June 21, 2014, 09:07:54 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 21, 2014, 09:04:55 PM

Tough one to take but I always expected this one to be tight. Your Longford man at 12 was superb, very impressed. Derry really lacked a ruthless edge, a Sean Cavanagh should have been performed after the Lynch goal. Longford had the shouting boots on and yet again Derry couldn't beat a blanket.

Congrats again.

Maybe he meant a beastly run through the heart of a defence?
Post by: Jinxy on June 21, 2014, 09:09:51 PM
Ending up with a cynical dive.
Post by: southderryman on June 21, 2014, 09:16:00 PM
Disappointed but not surprised

Well done to Longford, played much the better football over the piece, kicked some great scores and fully deserved their victory

We almost stole it at the end, but to be honest that would have been a complete injustice on Longford.

In saying that, after lynch's goal, we should never have conceded a goal like we did, suicidal defending.

Hard to take being out of the championship I'm June. Flatter to deceive once again, if ever there was a "league team" it's derry. Plenty to debate about but will save that for the derry thread.

Fair play to Longford, hope you's have a good run.
Post by: thebuzz on June 21, 2014, 10:29:31 PM
Fair play Longford you were the better team.

My brothers and son blamed the referee but Derry made lots of mistakes and Longford took their chances very well and played very well.
Post by: hairyUlsterman on June 21, 2014, 10:30:25 PM
Brian McIver needs to take a leaf out of Eamonn Colemans book, funnily enough Derry got to the AI semi final that year.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/1010850.stm
Post by: The Insider on June 21, 2014, 10:42:11 PM
The biggest crime in the whole football All Stars debates has been the failure of Paul Barden to ever get 1 , has been a magnificent servent to Longford all the way up from U-14 and its galling to see less talented players than him with All Stars because they play 1 good game in September . Seamus Moynihan packed it in after been skinned by him in 06 and he was still one of the best defenders around then. Longford won tonight with only a panel of 17 players !!! as the other 9 listed subs are starting the Leinster junior final on Wednesday night , just a shame that the 2 players who left the panel in the last couple of weeks could/would not buy into the team ethic which reaped dividends tonight . They attacked and defended superbly as a team , with 3 of the backs posting fine scores and it was great to see the players and the 100 odd supporters being allowed to share the glory of the win on the pitch after.Thank you Derry , you have a lovely ground  Hopefully proper highlights of the game will be shown on some station , some brilliant scores from both sides especially Lynch's goal with the home support reaction nearly taking the roof off the stand . Thought Mark Hughes was going to carry the ball over the line for his goal
Post by: J OGorman on June 21, 2014, 10:50:59 PM
Right mods...time to close this thread. Everything that needs to be said has been said. We're going over old ground now
Post by: rrhf on June 21, 2014, 10:57:23 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 21, 2014, 06:39:00 PM
Fair play Longford I wasn't able to get over but I had a feeling we would struggle and they are a serious bogey team for us.

You have to wonder why we've had so many injuries from the Donegal game but look we had 15 lads there who were more than capable of getting a result and we didn't do it ... Where to now?
sort out yer own shit, stop bitching about Tyrone players, and remember the white feather ye showed when ye fielded an under 21 team in the league to put out Tyrone.   These things always come back on ye.  Well done Longford. 
Post by: seafoid on June 21, 2014, 10:58:16 PM
Surely Derry is a bigger scalp than Wexford.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 21, 2014, 11:00:15 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 21, 2014, 10:53:38 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on June 21, 2014, 10:50:59 PM
Right mods...time to close this thread. Everything that needs to be said has been said. We're going over old ground now
Eh, no. Baker for Derry........yeeeeeeoooooo.

You can close it now.

which one - senior or junior ?
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 21, 2014, 11:01:19 PM
Fair play to Longford.

I think they'll still be attractive opposition for some team though.
Post by: J OGorman on June 21, 2014, 11:02:01 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 21, 2014, 10:57:23 PM

sort out yer own shit, stop bitching about Tyrone players, and remember the white feather ye showed when ye fielded an under 21 team in the league to put out Tyrone.   These things always come back on ye.  Well done Longford.

Ah christ
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 21, 2014, 11:02:45 PM

where did he mention Tyrone players - dickhead !
Wait until the Louth game is over before you come over here slabbering
Post by: rrhf on June 21, 2014, 11:13:14 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on June 21, 2014, 11:02:45 PM

where did he mention Tyrone players - d**khead !
Monaghan thread. 
Post by: J OGorman on June 21, 2014, 11:14:44 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 21, 2014, 11:06:53 PM
Yeah, you shower of 'last chance salooners' should be careful what ye say.

Not us, like, we're still in the leading pack.

Antrim for Sam
Post by: laoislad on June 21, 2014, 11:16:53 PM
A bad day for the two Londons.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 21, 2014, 11:25:08 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 21, 2014, 11:13:14 PM

Monaghan thread.

Maybe Screenexile can find a hilarious Despicable Me video to sum up the game?
Post by: J OGorman on June 21, 2014, 11:31:08 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 21, 2014, 11:27:34 PM
Benny you need to get out more son!

Walter, don't bite or they will increase in numbers. Sally's is closing in an hour
Post by: screenexile on June 22, 2014, 12:13:26 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 21, 2014, 11:25:08 PM

Monaghan thread.

None of Derry's players took a dive or conned the referee so it'd be hard to find one!

Ye lads are good craic but you'll not find me slagging the ref or the oppositions players. We weren't good enough plain and simple... If only you inbreds had been as gracious last week...
Post by: north down on June 22, 2014, 12:27:00 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 22, 2014, 12:13:26 AM

Monaghan thread.

None of Derry's players took a dive or conned the referee so it'd be hard to find one!

Ye lads are good craic but you'll not find me slagging the ref or the oppositions players. We weren't good enough plain and simple... If only you inbreds had been as gracious last week...
Screen, how would you know? I thought you weren't at the game.
Post by: screenexile on June 22, 2014, 12:34:25 AM
Quote from: north down on June 22, 2014, 12:27:00 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 22, 2014, 12:13:26 AM

Monaghan thread.

Screen, how would you know? I thought you weren't at the game.

Well I've spoken to numerous people who were at the game and also this thread would be the first place something like that would be talked about so I'd be fairly certain I'm correct.

Apart from that one thing about our lads is they carry themselves well and even without seeing the game or speaking to anyone I'm sure we wouldn't be at that type of play!

Anyhoo I don't see what relevance the lads statements have to do with the Derry Longford match so I'll just stick to the thread topic from now on i reckon.
Post by: hairyUlsterman on June 22, 2014, 01:04:39 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 21, 2014, 11:16:53 PM

Every county was created by the English, yours used to be called Queens County, I will only take comments like that seriously when the Irish republic gets rid of the county system. You make yourself look like a fool.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 22, 2014, 11:19:11 AM
Still on tour here in Norn Iron. Using Free Wifi in Giants Causeway centre. Little else being dpoken of here. Longfords win even got a mention by Barry of Horslips on stage!

My thoughts on game later when i get home!
Post by: DoireGael on June 22, 2014, 01:40:38 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 21, 2014, 09:07:54 PM

Congrats again.

Let's face the fact. Derry levelled the game and Longford went up the other end of the field and the ball was walked into the net. That ball should have been stopped coming up the field and the pace of the game slowed, that may be cynical, but cynical/ruthless would have won the game, and whoever has sat in a county dressing room has heard it. That for me was the turning point.
Post by: seafoid on June 22, 2014, 02:36:35 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 22, 2014, 11:19:11 AM
Still on tour here in Norn Iron. Using Free Wifi in Giants Causeway centre. Little else being dpoken of here. Longfords win even got a mention by Barry of Horslips on stage!

My thoughts on game later when i get home!
Good man yourself. A great day for wee Longford.
It would justify a marquee in Drumlish.

But what is going on with Derry ? 
Post by: red hander on June 22, 2014, 06:32:04 PM
Come back in, Agent McIver, mission accomplished  ;D
Post by: EC Unique on June 22, 2014, 06:40:50 PM
Jeysus but Derry really have slipped down the ranks when it comes to summer football.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 22, 2014, 06:53:45 PM
They are all too worried about club football, many a supporter prefer the county team out early to get their county players back playing club football, i think they played 2/3 league games since going out to Donegal and picked up alot of injuries, even with that, the team they had had good enough players to win, team positional selection, player attitude, and no gameplan, and not the best players playing for the county brought about this defeat. The minute i seen the team during the week the alarm bells were ringing.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 23, 2014, 09:07:20 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 21, 2014, 10:58:16 PM
Surely Derry is a bigger scalp than Wexford.

Wexford are Longford's Longford, if you catch my drift.  :P
Post by: Billys Boots on June 23, 2014, 09:09:02 AM
Quote from: The Insider on June 21, 2014, 10:42:11 PM
The biggest crime in the whole football All Stars debates has been the failure of Paul Barden to ever get 1 , has been a magnificent servent to Longford all the way up from U-14 and its galling to see less talented players than him with All Stars because they play 1 good game in September . Seamus Moynihan packed it in after been skinned by him in 06 and he was still one of the best defenders around then.

+100
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 23, 2014, 09:23:56 AM
Wow. What can I say. Rumours of our demise beforehand peddled by me were exaggerated.

First of all I must say Derry is a lovely city - last time I was there was pre GFA agreement and the place now has a mighty buzz about it. Did a bit of wall walking and picture taking as I had a bit of time before ambling down to the fantastic set up that is Celtic Park.

I did think, even to throw in, that all Derry had to do was show up. Perhaps Derry thought that too. They raced into a lead but Longford played a rather defensive game with only Kavanagh and the aforemention Barden (I agree that there are players with only half his skill out there with All Stars in their pockets) up front which seemed to work, although it's a rather alien concept to us.

In the second half Mickey Quinn came into his own and exploited the 45 acres of space in the Derry half and was able to cut through the Derry cover like a knife through butter. We thought at half time he was carrying an injury but I was assured by the Longford Co Sec that he was only warming up - like an auld wireless that needed the valves to heat up. His second half performance was majestice, as was Barderns and Francie McGee. Kavanagh has his critics (and God knows I am one of them) but he pulled off some excellent scores. Even our full back got a point as did the legendary Shane Mulligan.

In fairness to Derry (and to slam some earlier comments) there was no diving, no mick-acting. The two auld Derry lads in front of me made sure to let me know that it "was a reserve Derry team" and that "we'd bate ye with our full squad". What can you say....they may be right bu the scoreboard never quantifies that.

Brolly was quiet beside us.. I see on twitter he was disgusted and felt only for Lynch (his goal was top drawer and when it went in I almost calved) Derry would have been beat out the gate.

Longford only used the two subs they could bearing in mind the Leinster Junior final this Wed so Sheedy has a full compliment to chose from. It would have been easy to pull a few lads ashore cos I am sure the heat out there was animals so kudos to Sheedy et al.

In summary, a marvelous occasion, a marvelous win and I was privileged to have been there with the 100 or so other Longfordians.

Headed off then, via the coastal road, to Dunluce to see Horslips at Summer Solstice. The perfect end to a perfect day.
Post by: Jinxy on June 23, 2014, 10:14:53 AM
That's a nice little report SS.
The qualifiers are great fun when you're winning.
Can't beat a long, leisurely drive home after winning a game down/up the country.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 23, 2014, 11:14:23 AM
Quote from: hairyUlsterman on June 22, 2014, 01:04:39 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 21, 2014, 11:16:53 PM

Every county was created by the English, yours used to be called Queens County, I will only take comments like that seriously when the Irish republic gets rid of the county system. You make yourself look like a fool.

I'd say he was commenting in jest.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 23, 2014, 12:00:04 PM
Amazing story SS for us diving Tyronies as I went to school in Stroke City for 7 years and I have yet to taste victory there.

There really is something special about those sunny Sat evening matches where you go to a new place and sample what it has to offer and then win a match and have a great weekend.

A good weekend for the L counties bar London.
Hope Brolly wasn't too upset but sure he's a Dublin fan now anyway

See ya in the next round SS or can we not meet.
Wait we still have to get over the wee county. They shocked us before
Post by: Hardy on June 23, 2014, 12:02:19 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 23, 2014, 12:00:04 PM
Wait we still have to get over the wee county. They shocked us before

They're still shocking.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 23, 2014, 12:30:38 PM
QuoteSee ya in the next round SS or can we not meet.

From another thread I think we face one of Sligo, Antrim, Tipperary or Wex/Dub

Anyone but Wexford.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bqzgw79IAAA0YKw.jpg:large)

Post by: Fuzzman on June 23, 2014, 02:08:50 PM
Did ye beat Derry before down in Longford or meringue?

Ever since ye got Coleman as yer manager ye seem to have some affinity with them Derry wans high
Was Brolly getting any chat or was he on his own?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 23, 2014, 02:35:12 PM
Meringue....?

Anyhoo the previous 3 Qualifiers (Longford 2 wins, Derry 1 win) were in Longford.

Eamon RIP would certainly be looking down on high with a wry smile. I cannot recall exactly but didnt he leave Derry with a bad taste in the mouth? Maybe he is pulling some strings.

Brolly was with the Mrs. He was on the phone a bit tweeting/texting. He was engaged with a few Derry lads behind him. Not with us. The only thing I said to him when he was passing by at the end "Hey Joe, you are now entering Free Longford"

Well, it was funny to me at the time  :-\
Post by: Billys Boots on June 23, 2014, 03:23:42 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 23, 2014, 02:35:12 PM
Meringue....?

Anyhoo the previous 3 Qualifiers (Longford 2 wins, Derry 1 win) were in Longford.

Eamon RIP would certainly be looking down on high with a wry smile. I cannot recall exactly but didnt he leave Derry with a bad taste in the mouth? Maybe he is pulling some strings.

Brolly was with the Mrs. He was on the phone a bit tweeting/texting. He was engaged with a few Derry lads behind him. Not with us. The only thing I said to him when he was passing by at the end "Hey Joe, you are now entering Free Longford"

Well, it was funny to me at the time  :-\

If Mrs Shore hears you've been attempting banter in public you won't be let out again. 
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 23, 2014, 03:32:37 PM
QuoteIf Mrs Shore hears you've been attempting banter in public you won't be let out again. 

Yeah - you are sadly correct  :-[

Didn't see Martin McGuinness there - I thought he was an avid supporter. Perhaps the death of Gerry Conlon (RIP) took him elsewhere. See pic I took after the match!
Is it painted over now, I wonder? It wasnt there on the way to game but was there on the way back.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bqq-uEAIUAATLaS.jpg)
Post by: Main Street on June 24, 2014, 04:24:26 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on June 22, 2014, 01:40:38 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 21, 2014, 09:07:54 PM

Congrats again.

Let's face the fact. Derry levelled the game and Longford went up the other end of the field and the ball was walked into the net. That ball should have been stopped coming up the field and the pace of the game slowed, that may be cynical, but cynical/ruthless would have won the game, and whoever has sat in a county dressing room has heard it. That for me was the turning point.
Sounds just like the last minute of normal time in Derry's qualifier against Cavan last year when Cavan were allowed to stroll with the ball upfield and score the levelling point. Sometimes a bit of cynicism is appropriate.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 24, 2014, 06:32:27 PM

Maybe because Brolly engaged in so much hysterical wailing and gnashing of teeth over Seán Cav's 'taking one for the team' last year, the Derry lads were petrified of bringing the same kind of unhinged personal abuse on themselves, countymen of Brolly's or not. Poetic justice, if you like!  :D ;)
Post by: Syferus on June 24, 2014, 07:12:45 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 24, 2014, 06:32:27 PM

Maybe because Brolly engaged in so much hysterical wailing and gnashing of teeth over Seán Cav's 'taking one for the team' last year, the Derry lads were petrified of bringing the same kind of unhinged personal abuse on themselves, countymen of Brolly's or not. Poetic justice, if you like!  :D ;)

It certainly hasn't effected Seaneen's approach to the game, so I doubt it.
Post by: LaurelEye on June 24, 2014, 09:57:31 PM
Paddy Heaney displaying typical graciousness in the Irish News today:

QuoteOn Saturday afternoon, a Longford side that was relegated to Division 4 celebrated a brilliant victory over a Derry side that reached the National League Division One final.

For some, Longford's win provides a compelling argument for why the Qualifiers should be retained in their current format. I disagree. Ultimately, Longford's fine win will count for nothing. They are not going to win the Sam Maguire Cup.

For counties like Longford, each round of the Qualifiers is simply a stepping-stone towards a deep pool where they will eventually drown.

I like the use of "brilliant" and "fine" as adjectives there. I suppose it means that we can't accuse Paddy of being bitter at yet another qualifier defeat for his native Derry against Longford.

QuoteOnce a team is knocked out of its provincial competition it would make much more sense for the Qualifiers to be seeded.

Using the National League to dictate rankings, any county in the top 10 could compete for the Sam Maguire Cup.

"Any county in the top 10". Like, presumably, Derry.

QuoteTeams below that level would enter the Michael Cusack Cup.

Know your place.

QuoteThere is plenty of merit in having a third competition for the lowest ranked counties.

"Lowest ranked counties". Like, presumably, Longford. It would at least ensure that they wouldn't embarrass Derry.

QuoteStrangely, the greatest resistance to these new competitions usually comes from the counties who should be competing in them. The Tommy Murphy Cup was a good idea, but the GAA failed to promote the competition properly.

We'll give Paddy a clue here. There was resistance in the weaker counties to having their club programmes further disrupted in the cause of a pointless competition which none of the players cared about and which only served to brand the counties taking part as being of a lower standard. We may be "weaker counties" but the gaps between the counties in football are not as massive as in hurling (as you might just have noticed last Saturday night) and we didn't (and don't) like being patronised by our imagined betters.

QuoteMany weaker counties suffer from a severe dose of inverted snobbery. Instead of competing in a competition that actually suits their players' ability, they'd rather rub shoulders with the bluebloods and lose.

Even worse, they might end up rubbing shoulders with the bluebloods and win. That would never do.

QuoteThe footballers from Longford and Tipperary played like true champions at the weekend. All being fair, they would be playing in a competition that offers them a chance of success.

Of course, it's not all about winning. It's about participation. It's about enjoyment and fulfilment.

It's about patronising shite.

QuoteBut teams have a better chance of achieving those aims when they are competing against opponents of a similar standard.

Unlike Derry.

QuoteAs it stands, Longford and Tipperary are marching towards an inevitable defeat.

At least we're still marching somewhere. Unlike Derry.

QuoteIf they reach Croke Park, they will be cannon fodder for the ruling classes.

Who the f**k does he think we are? Mayo?

QuoteThe really demoralising thing is that a significant number of people in the GAA think that this is an entirely acceptable state of affairs.

Paddy, three words.

Take. Your. Beating.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 24, 2014, 10:11:13 PM
That's shocking!!

Would make beating them all the better!
Post by: panc56 on June 24, 2014, 10:29:56 PM
What a horrible shite. The qualifiers are there to give teams a second chance , some take em some don't. At a very best the target for any team outside the normal group (dub, ker, cor, Mayo,tyr and don) to make the quarters
Post by: LaurelEye on June 24, 2014, 10:34:56 PM
Quote from: panc56 on June 24, 2014, 10:29:56 PM
What a horrible shite.

It's clickbait. I suppose it's worked in that we're talking about it.
Post by: Hardy on June 24, 2014, 11:25:13 PM
Excellent, LaurelEye.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 24, 2014, 11:33:41 PM
What teams are deemed 'acceptable' to beat Derry in Heaney's eyes?

Thanks to Laureleye for posting this load of tosh!
Post by: screenexile on June 24, 2014, 11:50:00 PM
Stupid time for him to write an article like that. In fairness none of the Derry supporters on here have patronised Longford the better team won end of story.

Taking the Derry Longford game out of the equation does he not have a point?

I think a 3 tiered system would work as long as there was still an avenue to get back into the Sam Maguire. Look at Fermanagh at the weekend they put in decent performance but that's for nothing now as their season is over. We need to provide a platform to allow teams to improve at Senior Level and we're not currently doing that.

Post by: imtommygunn on June 24, 2014, 11:56:54 PM
Was it not tried with the tommy murphy cup and pretty much proved to be a failure?

There are a very limited number of teams who'll win an ai in football and hurling.

Just to use this game as an example neither would or will.  What do you do - discard both?

Best way to do it- top x teams in country get a 2nd chance. Based on league positions. Then the league is important for everyone.

That being said it's still clutching at straws...
Post by: muppet on June 25, 2014, 12:06:52 AM
LaurelEye that was a witty and brilliant dissection of an idiotic article.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 25, 2014, 09:00:52 AM
Good man Laureleye, you should get annoyed more often.  :P
Post by: J OGorman on June 25, 2014, 09:05:44 AM
Bar the first 10 mins, Longford were pretty much superior in all areas. Travelling the whole way up to beautiful Derry on the banks of the Foyle and putting in a performance full of hunger for 50 odd travelling fans has to be applauded. Longford have 3/4 players who would walk into most county teams in the country. Imagine they had the money Dublin get ;-)
Looking forward to seeing how they go in Rd 2.
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 25, 2014, 09:40:24 AM
I read that Heaney article and cringed, and I'm from Derry.
I suspect the Fermanagh team that got to the AI semi-final in 2004 would have that anyday over a secondly B trophy.
Post by: laoislad on June 25, 2014, 09:46:36 AM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on June 25, 2014, 09:40:24 AM
I suspect the Fermanagh team that got to the AI semi-final in 2004 would have that anyday over a secondly B trophy.
Ah the Ulster Championship isn't that bad...
Post by: DuffleKing on June 25, 2014, 09:59:51 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 25, 2014, 09:46:36 AM

Fermanagh haven't any Ulster Championships. Not that handy got...
Post by: J OGorman on June 25, 2014, 10:02:28 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 25, 2014, 09:59:51 AM

Ulster can only strive to be as competitive as the Leinster championship...oh wait, Leinster is probably the least competitive competition in the world, in any sport. well, with the exception of the SPL
Post by: babarino on June 25, 2014, 10:05:35 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 24, 2014, 11:50:00 PM
Stupid time for him to write an article like that. In fairness none of the Derry supporters on here have patronised Longford the better team won end of story.

Taking the Derry Longford game out of the equation does he not have a point?

I think a 3 tiered system would work as long as there was still an avenue to get back into the Sam Maguire. Look at Fermanagh at the weekend they put in decent performance but that's for nothing now as their season is over. We need to provide a platform to allow teams to improve at Senior Level and we're not currently doing that.

Good post Laurel Eye. Heaney's article is sugar coated sour grapes. It would make you glad to see Derry dumped from the Championship, which is unfortunate, because despite the condescending attitude of Derry commentators, you couldn't meet a more sound bunch than the ordinary supporters. 

Lower division teams have to do much like Derry have done and build up a squad during the League. With time they'll come good. As regards competing in a Micky Mouse cup, as a supporter I'd want nothing to do with it.
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2014, 10:24:33 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on June 25, 2014, 10:02:28 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 25, 2014, 09:59:51 AM

Ulster can only strive to be as competitive as the Leinster championship...oh wait, Leinster is probably the least competitive competition in the world, in any sport. well, with the exception of the SPL

You try competing with the Dubs and their oil money.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 25, 2014, 11:24:02 AM
This fella sounds like Brolly's twin in his condescension!!

Have never read PH or the IN and I won't be making it my business to do so either. The abuse directed at him in another thread on here seems like it may have some sorted of foundation.
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 25, 2014, 12:22:43 PM
As a player the qualifiers do keep the majority interested, being relegated to a secondary competition would mean $ in USA for a lot of players.
Post by: screenexile on June 25, 2014, 12:24:45 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on June 25, 2014, 12:22:43 PM
As a player the qualifiers do keep the majority interested, being relegated to a secondary competition would mean $ in USA for a lot of players.

I think if the secondary competition still got you back into the race for Sam it would hold the interest of the counties still involved!
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2014, 12:35:49 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 25, 2014, 12:24:45 PM

I think if the secondary competition still got you back into the race for Sam it would hold the interest of the counties still involved!

So the goal would be to get exactly what they've got right now. I really see them going for that.
Post by: screenexile on June 25, 2014, 01:09:10 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 25, 2014, 12:35:49 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 25, 2014, 12:24:45 PM

So the goal would be to get exactly what they've got right now. I really see them going for that.

Nope... they'd be playing against teams at their level giving them a better chance of improving and competing when they get to the All Ireland Series!
Post by: DoireGael on June 25, 2014, 05:41:34 PM
After chatting to a couple of the younger fellas from my club after this game on Saturday.

£15 in for any seat/stand in Celtic Park for this game was excessive was there thoughts and it ment a few other young Gaels not traveling up to the city. For a first round qualifier that's a bit steep surely?

Working 3 hours in a part time job to see Derry get the boot.
Post by: Rossfan on June 25, 2014, 07:04:44 PM
Was there no cheaper terrace entry?
No wonder ye're losing games if ye're young lads are too soft to stand up on a good Summer's day. :D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 26, 2014, 09:16:33 AM
It was £13/€15 in.

Small point I know.
Post by: J OGorman on June 26, 2014, 10:15:57 AM
Quote from: DoireGael on June 25, 2014, 05:41:34 PM
After chatting to a couple of the younger fellas from my club after this game on Saturday.

£15 in for any seat/stand in Celtic Park for this game was excessive was there thoughts and it ment a few other young Gaels not traveling up to the city. For a first round qualifier that's a bit steep surely?

Working 3 hours in a part time job to see Derry get the boot.

£13 / £9 concession or the price of a few pints. £80 odd into see the muck Jose serves up at the 'Bridge

I severly doubt the price put too many off (some but not many). Bottom line is, we've a small core following, and if the team goes well, a tonne of well wishers. I mind the tickets being dealt out for the 93 final. Chrsit it was chaos in the local hall with boys who hadnt paid club membership for years and hadnt been to a match in as long coming to fistycuffs.
Post by: southderryman on June 26, 2014, 10:51:21 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 25, 2014, 07:04:44 PM
No wonder ye're losing games if ye're young lads are too soft to stand up on a good Summer's day. :D

No. They charged one price in, first come first served for the stand or access to the terrace

This seems to be a new ploy by he GAA as I notice it's the same set up for the down-leitrim game on Sunday.

Definitely different than last year's qualifiers when it was a separate price for the stand or the terrace  for the games at Celtic Park. (Can't remember what it was for the Sligo game at owenbeg)
Post by: DoireGael on June 26, 2014, 12:05:56 PM
Quote from: southderryman on June 26, 2014, 10:51:21 AM

No. They charged one price in, first come first served for the stand or access to the terrace

This seems to be a new ploy by he GAA as I notice it's the same set up for the down-leitrim game on Sunday.

Definitely different than last year's qualifiers when it was a separate price for the stand or the terrace  for the games at Celtic Park. (Can't remember what it was for the Sligo game at owenbeg)

Yeah, I really think they should be offering a cheaper Terrace ticket, not just €15/£13 across the board.

I don't have much time for comparing a first match qualifier between Derry and Leitrim to a £80 Chelsea game, completely different economics.

I think it was a sly move to give one price.
Post by: J OGorman on June 26, 2014, 12:13:03 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on June 26, 2014, 12:05:56 PM

Yeah, I really think they should be offering a cheaper Terrace ticket, not just €15/£13 across the board.

I don't have much time for comparing a first match qualifier between Derry and Leitrim to a £80 Chelsea game, completely different economics.

for me it boils down to VFM. For me £13 is. I sat for the first half in the usual seat and then headed over to the terrace to grab a bit of vitamin d.
If the tix were £7/8/9 into the terrace, it wouldnt have had much, or any baring on the crowd numbers. And, if the money is filtering down to the clubs etc, then win win
Post by: DoireGael on June 26, 2014, 01:12:12 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on June 26, 2014, 12:13:03 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on June 26, 2014, 12:05:56 PM

for me it boils down to VFM. For me £13 is. I sat for the first half in the usual seat and then headed over to the terrace to grab a bit of vitamin d.
If the tix were £7/8/9 into the terrace, it wouldnt have had much, or any baring on the crowd numbers. And, if the money is filtering down to the clubs etc, then win win

This isn't an issue of crowd numbers for me, I agree it would have made little impact, because people knew very little before they landed that there was a €15 tag for any ticket anywhere.

I think €15 is steep to stand in a terrace watching a first round qualifier (That's an opinion of many younger gaels and I support them in this)

The ticket prices of the terrace went up and the seated tickets went down to get the average. Face it or not, if your going to the stand, your looking to save a few pounds, not to grab the "Vitamin D", that option was not given and there are people within "our" organisation who should be allowed option to watch our games in the terrace at a lower cost. This goes hand in hand with the same ethos that I believe our games should be view-able on TV free of charge.

A pound or two may not matter to some, but others it can make a hell of a difference and I refuse to see our game not appreciating this, I believe this was a slightly elitist move. These lads already are spending coin for club gear, insurance, boots etc

Also €10 a game on GAAGO? Are you wise?
Post by: Rossfan on June 26, 2014, 02:22:27 PM
Weren't the first 2 rounds last year only €10 (and equiv £) general admission??
Post by: DoireGael on June 27, 2014, 09:55:50 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 26, 2014, 02:22:27 PM
Weren't the first 2 rounds last year only €10 (and equiv £) general admission??

From what I remember, yeah that's correct.