Option 2: Klopp
votes: 12
Option 3: Simeone
votes: 7
Option 4: Giggs
votes: 12
Option 5: None of above
votes: 27
If, as expected, David Moyes is dismissed as manager, who is the manager best placed to bring United back to where they belong? If you vote for ''none of the above'', tell us who you suggest.
I would love to say Klopp as I think he is brilliant but after the year United have gone through I would have to say Van Gaal. Cant afford this one to go wrong. Downside is that he is not available until after WC and that would make me nervous about new signings. However, I have no doubt Van Gaal would have Uniteds current squad in the top 4 at very least. Also he would get RVPs head sorted out.
Not convinced on Van Gaal. The right man is already taken - Mourinho.
Mourinho would have won trophies by the bucket load with United alright. Mightn't have been pretty but he would have been successful for a while.
(http://www.balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/staunton-latelate06.jpg)
Les Reed
Steve Stuanton
Paul Jewell
Avram Grant
Steve Kean
Iain Dowey
Steve Wigley
Rafa in.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 22, 2014, 12:18:41 AM
Les Reed
Steve Stuanton
Paul Jewell
Avram Grant
Steve Kean
Iain Dowey
Steve Wigley
Is Andrew Wridgeley up to much these days? He would do! ;D
Bryan Robson
Quote from: BennyCake on April 22, 2014, 12:27:19 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 22, 2014, 12:18:41 AM
Les Reed
Steve Stuanton
Paul Jewell
Avram Grant
Steve Kean
Iain Dowey
Steve Wigley
Is Andrew Wridgeley up to much these days? He would do! ;D
If he got sacked next year would that be a double Whammy
What about Martinez? he might consider this to early in his career yet. Harry Redknapp? he has proved he can buy good players and has taken Spurs to the champions league twice. I dont understand this choice Klopp, I would be more inclined to try another manager who has managed in the premier league, but then Im a pool supporter maybe I still want to see them fail lol.
Roy Keane has to be the man for the job at this stage, look what he has done with previous relegation strugglers. He would also run Whisky Nose out of town.
Bertie Ahern
All reports would indicate that Klopp doesn't fancy the job, so Van Gaal is definitely in pole position.
Fabio Capello will be a contender surely? Whoever they appoint this time will have a proven track record, experience of successfully managing a top side etc so the claims of the Giggs & Nevilles of this world can be disregarded.
Bit awkward for the glazers. They don't want a thoroughbred.
Cash is more important.
On SkySportsNews:
Carragher recommends Klopp
Yorke recommends Giggs
Quote from: seafoid on April 22, 2014, 10:21:39 AM
Bit awkward for the glazers. They don't want a thoroughbred.
Cash is more important.
Yes, cash is the only consideration for them so they have had to do this. I think most other owners would have jetisoned Moyes a lot earlier.
Had to laugh at a tweet I saw in an article on thescore.ie yesterday. It was along the lins of..."In fairness we should give credit to the Glazers for getting rid of Moyes. Well done....ye pricks!"
So Giggs is taking over first team affairs.
In fairness he does know a thing or two about them....
Hopefully Roddy Collins
What about pochettino?
Quote from: laoislad on April 22, 2014, 11:27:10 AM
And Stevie G would be whiter than white in that department.
Brilliant
Quote from: haveaharp on April 22, 2014, 11:54:57 AM
Pretty sure he has never shagged his brother's wife!! I don't think he even has a brother. You have some information you want to share with us??
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on April 22, 2014, 12:06:26 PM
Pretty sure he has never shagged his brother's wife!! I don't think he even has a brother. You have some information you want to share with us??
Did he not get Ronnie Whelan's daughter pregnant? :P
Have heard a name emerge in the last hour that we are all familiar with.. Carlos Querioz, currently in Iran. He did 2 stints as Fergie's assistant and Fergie described him in his recent autobiography as the best No.2 he has worked with. But it's one thing being a great no.2, does he have what it takes to be top dog?
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 22, 2014, 12:13:25 PM
Have heard a name emerge in the last hour that we are all familiar with.. Carlos Querioz, currently in Iran. He did 2 stints as Fergie's assistant and Fergie described him in his recent autobiography as the best No.2 he has worked with. But it's one thing being a great no.2, does he have what it takes to be top dog?
Currently in Iran.......that should answer your question.
Quote from: thebigfella on April 22, 2014, 12:10:15 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on April 22, 2014, 12:06:26 PM
Did he not get Ronnie Whelan's daughter pregnant? :P
No, it was Ray Clemence.
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 22, 2014, 12:13:25 PM
Please say that's not true.
Say hello to your new manager
(http://cdn4.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/columnists/steven-beacom/article29851705.ece/f5c23/ALTERNATES/h342/David+Jeffrey.JPG)
I think these two lads as partnership would be the best, they have the man utd kit already and everything..........
(http://pogmogoal.com/wp-content/uploads/fr-ted-football.jpg)
Quote from: theticklemister on April 22, 2014, 01:01:40 PM
I think these two lads as partnership would be the best, they have the man utd kit already and everything..........
(http://pogmogoal.com/wp-content/uploads/fr-ted-football.jpg)
The grey-haired fella will obviously watch the games in the stand though. Waaaayyyyyy up in the stands.
Jupp heynckes or Felix mag ath
the man u job after fergie was always going to be a poison chalice- esp as the squad were aging and mostly sihte
fergie did brilliantly to get them to compete at all let alone win the epl
I think a lot of shrewd men who coveted the job just didn't want to take it when moyes was asked
id say the likes of these would be interested now
Mourinho
MON
Keane
benitez
hiddink
van gaal
etc
most are in positions they prob feel they cant get out of to take the role though
still think that man u acted stupidly to fire moyes after just one season
if that rule was applied to fergie for each of his first few seasons at man u - he have been sacked 4 or 5 times
Are you seriously linking Martin O'Neill and Roy Keane to the United job? I might throw my hat into the ring as well then.
Quote from: Kidder81 on April 22, 2014, 04:43:09 PM
Are you seriously linking Martin O'Neill and Roy Keane to the United job? I might throw my hat into the ring as well then.
don't understand your rationale here?
MON has always wanted the man u job
he prob cant go for it now as he knows he would risk his reputation - but he is a very selfish guy so it wouldn't really surprise me
keane is a big man u fan and obv would want the job too
by all means throw your hat in the ring, not sure if you have international caps or several years managing top level soccer teams to back up your application !!
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 22, 2014, 03:57:19 PM
the man u job after fergie was always going to be a poison chalice- esp as the squad were aging and mostly sihte
I think a lot of shrewd men who coveted the job just didn't want to take it when moyes was asked
Mourinho
MON
Keane
benitez
hiddink
van gaal
etc
most are in positions they prob feel they cant get out of to take the role though
if that rule was applied to fergie for each of his first few seasons at man u - he have been sacked 4 or 5 times
I think you have to look at it in context. When AF took over, Utd were a third rate club performance wise. Everton, Liverpool, Arsenal, even Villa and Forest were more successful than them, so Ferguson could be afforded time, because there was not much quality there in the first place.
Compare this to what Moyes walked in on - the most successful club in League history and one of the top three biggest clubs in the world. No other top team, from Barca to Bayern would have accepted the results and performances that Utd served up this season.
In terms of top quality teams producing first class football, he was lucky to last as long as he did.
I am happy for him in a way because his mind was made up for him.
His interviews the past couple of weeks was a bit like watching Rory McIlroy at the 2011 US Masters. Someone who just didn't want to be there, and at no time did he sound like he could complete the job.
Wullie Frazer
Mourinho
MON
Keane
benitez
hiddink
van gaal
etc
I'm sorry but that's just wrong and I'm seeing it so many times it is irritating me. Ferguson took over a club that hadn't won the league in almost 20 years. The team were in the in the lower reaches of the league and there was a heavily ingrained drinking culture at the club, led by the best players. While you might think the squad Moyes took over was "aging" and "mostly shite" they had won 5 of the previous 7 league titles. A world of difference to what Ferguson took over.
Also, in Ferguson's first full season (1987/88 I think), United had a good late run to finish 2nd and it looked like they were set up to challenge again. 1988/89 was bad (1-5 to pre oil powered Man City) and 1989/90 ended with a nerve jangling cup win and the rest is history.
Bottom line is Moyes was completely out of his depth from day 0. The squad needs a bit of an overhaul (Moyes seems to get a free pass for his ineptitude in the transfer market last summer for some reason???) and the players didn't cover themselves in glory with their efforts at times (again, some seem to think this is not at least partially Moyes fault????) but there's no sense saying "Moyes needed/deserved more time". It was never going to get better. all the ABU's knew that - that's why they wanted him to stay.
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on April 22, 2014, 05:02:07 PM
Mourinho
MON
Keane
benitez
hiddink
van gaal
etc
I think you have to look at it in context. When AF took over, Utd were a third rate club performance wise. Everton, Liverpool, Arsenal, even Villa and Forest were more successful than them, so Ferguson could be afforded time, because there was not much quality there in the first place.
Compare this to what Moyes walked in on - the most successful club in League history and one of the top three biggest clubs in the world. No other top team, from Barca to Bayern would have accepted the results and performances that Utd served up this season.
In terms of top quality teams producing first class football, he was lucky to last as long as he did.
His interviews the past couple of weeks was a bit like watching Rory McIlroy at the 2011 US Masters. Someone who just didn't want to be there, and at no time did he sound like he could complete the job.
I don't disagree but if you want to put any context into anything, man u have a rubbish side and squad.
only de gea, vidic, rvp, rooney could have been considered as good enough. Now they have mata.
In order to win, you need a good enough team (and squad) and any casual observer can see that man u were poor to rubbish. I have been saying that on paper this past few years they have been over achieving.
it takes a manager a while to replace a side.
certainly a year is not enough.
did I mis-hear things at the start of the year when the club said moyes would be given time to rebuild?
A year aint nearly enough. their league position accurately reflects the talent of the side imo.
I don't particularly like fergie- but credit is due to him for delivering with what he had. he stayed on two years too long imo.
im not a man u fan either but don't like seeing them in disarray or the treatment metted out to moyes.
capello another good shout - not sure van gaal is the man for the job, but woul dbe interesting to see - any man given time and a bit of money...
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 22, 2014, 05:16:31 PM
Mourinho
MON
Keane
benitez
hiddink
van gaal
etc
I don't disagree but if you want to put any context into anything, man u have a rubbish side and squad.
only de gea, vidic, rvp, rooney could have been considered as good enough. Now they have mata.
In order to win, you need a good enough team (and squad) and any casual observer can see that man u were poor to rubbish. I have been saying that on paper this past few years they have been over achieving.
did I mis-hear things at the start of the year when the club said moyes would be given time to rebuild?
A year aint nearly enough. their league position accurately reflects the talent of the side imo.
I don't particularly like fergie- but credit is due to him for delivering with what he had. he stayed on two years too long imo.
im not a man u fan either but don't like seeing them in disarray or the treatment metted out to moyes.
capello another good shout - not sure van gaal is the man for the job, but woul dbe interesting to see - any man given time and a bit of money...
Compare the United team to Chelsea - 2nd in league and CL Semi finalists.
How many of the first team would you put in a Utd starting eleven?
Maybe the two full backs and Willian, but I seriously believe that Utd have a better attacking team than Chelsea.
The difference? Jose Mourinho
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 22, 2014, 05:10:08 PM
Mourinho
MON
Keane
benitez
hiddink
van gaal
etc
I'm sorry but that's just wrong and I'm seeing it so many times it is irritating me. Ferguson took over a club that hadn't won the league in almost 20 years. The team were in the in the lower reaches of the league and there was a heavily ingrained drinking culture at the club, led by the best players. While you might think the squad Moyes took over was "aging" and "mostly shite" they had won 5 of the previous 7 league titles. A world of difference to what Ferguson took over.
Also, in Ferguson's first full season (1987/88 I think), United had a good late run to finish 2nd and it looked like they were set up to challenge again. 1988/89 was bad (1-5 to pre oil powered Man City) and 1989/90 ended with a nerve jangling cup win and the rest is history.
Bottom line is Moyes was completely out of his depth from day 0. The squad needs a bit of an overhaul (Moyes seems to get a free pass for his ineptitude in the transfer market last summer for some reason???) and the players didn't cover themselves in glory with their efforts at times (again, some seem to think this is not at least partially Moyes fault????) but there's no sense saying "Moyes needed/deserved more time". It was never going to get better. all the ABU's knew that - that's why they wanted him to stay.
its my opinion and recollection of that time Seanie.
I was a Liverpool fan back then and did laugh at the messing that was going on at old Trafford at that time - mostly to annoy my man u fan friends
there were no big money men behind teams so it was Liverpool, leeds , man u and possibly Newcastle and arsenal in competition annually.
but mostly Liverpool and man u.
it was laughable at the time with fergie abjectly failing week in week out. maybe there was a problem with the drinking culture at man u- but it was the same at all clubs.
I recall the big joke one year - when terry waite (archbishop of Canterbury's envoy) was captured in beriut while on a mediation mission and held hostage for a few months- the joke was that terry waite had been offered the man u manager job, but had turned it down saying he'd rather stay where he was.
the situation at man u at that time was far more grave than recently. ok maybe expectations are higher then now, and they have been more successful recently, but as I said, fergie got 250% out of the team he had. moyes couldn't get 35% out of them and agreed, he didn't do well in the transfer market, so he has to shoulder a good portion of the blame.
but I feel that he should have been given time.
though it is possibly quite true that he was the wrong man for the job anyway!
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on April 22, 2014, 05:23:07 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 22, 2014, 05:16:31 PM
Mourinho
MON
Keane
benitez
hiddink
van gaal
etc
Compare the United team to Chelsea - 2nd in league and CL Semi finalists.
How many of the first team would you put in a Utd starting eleven?
Maybe the two full backs and Willian, but I seriously believe that Utd have a better attacking team than Chelsea.
The difference? Jose Mourinho
I agree about mourinho, I think he is brilliant.
however, id only pick three out of the man u side
vidic, rvp, rooney and cech for me would shade de gea
just my opinion though
Moyes at everton was renowned for being a very conservative manager - playing 4 5 1 and winning games by 1 or max 2 goals. He also was very set in his ways and was always reluctant to give young players a go - e.g. Coleman struggled to break into team under him and is now everton's best player, barkley struggled too, gosling left due to him (i think) and rodwell got limited time considering where he was. Actually even rooney in his day.
He built a team round a solid defense, a holding midfielder, pretty much flooding midifield and playing one up and they weren't always necessarily a striker.
He did a great job of getting everton from mediocrity of low in table to challenging for europe but he really could not have done any more with them given the football he played. Martinez has brought them to a different level.
Based on all the above i think he was very much the wrong man. I think he can organise and get the most of players who are not quite the top level but above that is a struggle.
I really do feel sorry for the guy. The pressure in that job is a big pressure - fans, media and the "evil empire" of the glazers. The pressure has got to him too - any half decent manager will not criticise their players publicly and he did that. When you do things like that you lose the players.
It's all very unfortunate and don't know where he goes from here but at least he got a bit of money in the process if nothing works out again. One of few genuines in football.
No idea if these have been posted already but some of them are very good. The best jokes from Twitter about Moyes' sacking.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/the-best-jokes-on-twitter-after-manchester-united-sack-manager-moyes-30208257.html
It's just been reported that Moyes has a new job with Sky already.
He fits his first dish tomorrow....
Owen Roes GFC @OwenRoes 12h
Official Statement: Owen Roes GAA Club have this morning refused permission to Manchester Utd FC to speak to Club mgr Gerard Porter.
Details
Jurgen Klopp has ruled himself out of the Man Utd job but did suggest his brother Klipity might be interested.
I'll get my coat! :-[
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 22, 2014, 08:57:24 PM
Jurgen Klopp has ruled himself out of the Man Utd job but did suggest his brother Klipity might be interested.
I'll get my coat! :-[
Van Nistlerooy?
Hearing that United have drawn up a shortlist of three to replace Moyes. The list is led by Carlo Ancellotti and also includes Louis van Gaal and Diego Simeone. Also, Sir Alex will have a major say in who will be new manager, but not the sole say like last time..Moyes arrived at Carrington this morning at 4.30am to beat the media gathering there.
Does anyone else think that Mourinho wants the United job now. His body language last night in Madrid suggested something is not right. Several times, the cameras showed him just sitting there, looking like he was there in body, but not in spirit. His mind seemed elsewhere. He seemed sombre during and after the game. Was surprised at his after match comnents about wanting to rest most of his team at Anfield, but must do what he's told by Roman and the club, and that he works for them. He was acting strangely last night.
Van Gaal won't get the job now so.
Louis van Gaal wants Roy Keane as his assistant at Manchester United, if he is given the job at Old Trafford, according to reports.
Dutch manager van Gaal is the favourite to take over at Manchester United after the sacking of David Moyes yesterday morning.
He is said to be considering Republic of Ireland assistant manager Keane as his new number two should he win the race to replace Moyes and sees the former United captain as someone who is familiar with the club and is not afraid to speak his mind.
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 23, 2014, 07:53:17 AM
Does anyone else think that Mourinho wants the United job now. His body language last night in Madrid suggested something is not right. Several times, the cameras showed him just sitting there, looking like he was there in body, but not in spirit. His mind seemed elsewhere. He seemed sombre during and after the game. Was surprised at his after match comnents about wanting to rest most of his team at Anfield, but must do what he's told by Roman and the club, and that he works for them. He was acting strangely last night.
Looked like the same moany twat he always is. His post match comments are a feeble attempt to get his excuses in early.
When/if they vacate both competitions he can blame the premier league for the fixture list and not accommodating Chelsea by
moving the Liverpool game.
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on April 23, 2014, 09:51:08 AM
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 23, 2014, 07:53:17 AM
Looked like the same moany t**t he always is. His post match comments are a feeble attempt to get his excuses in early.
When/if they vacate both competitions he can blame the premier league for the fixture list and not accommodating Chelsea by
moving the Liverpool game.
He forgot to mention the fact that Athletico also play on sunday!
It was just a way of getting the mind games started and to get in his comment about playing a second choice team on sunday.
Ye're probably right lads. It's me reading too much into it, because i would be delighted if he was our next manager..WHY?..For the simple reason that the man is a winner.
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 23, 2014, 11:14:37 AM
Ye're probably right lads. It's me reading too much into it, because i would be delighted if he was our next manager..WHY?..For the simple reason that the man is a winner.
Would you be happy with how his teams play?
Mourinho would be brilliant, his teams always score goals but for some reason he is lambasted for not playing careless football and having a rock solid defence and spine through the middle of the team.
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 23, 2014, 12:15:01 PM
Mourinho would be brilliant, his teams always score goals but for some reason he is lambasted for not playing careless football and having a rock solid defence and spine through the middle of the team.
He's not lambasted for anything of the sort - he is mildly criticised for 'parking the bus' on occasion, which is very different to what you describe.
Quote from: Billys Boots on April 23, 2014, 12:19:16 PM
He's not lambasted for anything of the sort - he is mildly criticised for 'parking the bus' on occasion, which is very different to what you describe.
He should be lambasted for being a hypocrite. He derides other teams(with vastly inferior budgets) who park the bus against his team but it's ok for him to do it. The notion that a club with the resources of Chelsea should even need to park the bus
is laughable. If I were a United fan I wouldn't like to see him managing my team.
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on April 23, 2014, 12:25:16 PM
He should be lambasted for being a hypocrite. He derides other teams(with vastly inferior budgets) who park the bus against his team but it's ok for him to do it. The notion that a club with the resources of Chelsea should even need to park the bus
is laughable. If I were a United fan I wouldn't like to see him managing my team.
I take it then you are not, so why are you crying about it. Dry them ffs.
Quote from: Black Card on April 23, 2014, 01:14:56 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on April 23, 2014, 12:25:16 PM
I take it then you are not, so why are you crying about it. Dry them ffs.
Does anybody actually believe that Mourinho is unintentionally being a hypocrite? He is a wind up merchant/mind game player or whatever you want to call it. There is nothing he says that hasn't got motive behind it. In most cases his antics work out for him.
I wouldn't have MON anywhere near the United job. Over rated manager.
Quote from: southdown on April 23, 2014, 02:00:49 PM
I wouldn't have MON anywhere near the United job. Over rated manager.
+1.
Will go with a long shot, and he will never get it, but my original preference for a replacement for AF was Brian Laudrup and I would love to see him at the helm.
Out of Giggs, Scholes and Butt, I would only opt for Scholes. Giggs is a legend by default. Scholes is the true red in that group.
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on April 24, 2014, 08:50:54 PM
Will go with a long shot, and he will never get it, but my original preference for a replacement for AF was Brian Laudrup and I would love to see him at the helm.
Out of Giggs, Scholes and Butt, I would only opt for Scholes. Giggs is a legend by default. Scholes is the true red in that group.
Bit of an odd comment?
I do think Scholes would make the best manager out of the three but it's just pure guesswork.
Has Brian Laurdrup ever managed? Would love to see Gary Neville back behind the scenes.
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 25, 2014, 10:07:53 AM
Bit of an odd comment?
I do think Scholes would make the best manager out of the three but it's just pure guesswork.
I always thought Scholes was an Oldham fan and took his kids there to watch matches!
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 25, 2014, 10:39:45 AM
Has Brian Laurdrup ever managed? Would love to see Gary Neville back behind the scenes.
I assumed he meant Michael Laudrup.
If you need a "true red" Mick Hucknall is your only man for the job
Michael Laudrup hasn't done enough to even be considered. Sacked recently by Swansea says it all. Klopp is another non runner as he hasn't the experience yet for the role.
Antonio Conte
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 25, 2014, 11:02:45 AM
Michael Laudrup hasn't done enough to even be considered. Sacked recently by Swansea says it all. Klopp is another non runner as he hasn't the experience yet for the role.
Brendan Rodgers was sacked by Reading, as for Klopp, United should be begging him to take the job.
Honestly think minimum requirement for the gig is to have managed a team to win the CL or WC. Not too many of them around though.
Quote from: Canalman on April 25, 2014, 11:19:27 AM
Honestly think minimum requirement for the gig is to have managed a team to win the CL or WC. Not too many of them around though.
(http://i4.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article1449008.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/AP-DO-NOT-USE-Rafa-Benitez-1449008.jpg)
Thats a fact.
Quote from: deiseach on April 25, 2014, 11:27:17 AM
Quote from: Canalman on April 25, 2014, 11:19:27 AM
(http://i4.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article1449008.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/AP-DO-NOT-USE-Rafa-Benitez-1449008.jpg)
Unless he continued the hatchet job that would be a step too far!
I honestly can't believe that some Man Utd fans want Giggs, Scholes, Neville, Butt or some combination of all of them as managers of Man Utd. In my opinion it is a completely romantic notion that is totally flawed. Very few top class players make great managers. Guardiola and Ancelotti are 2 notable exceptions but Guardiola is a well cultured individual whose appetite for self learning is almost limitless. He is a complete obsessive about the game. The likes of Giggs, Neville, Scholes etc were very good players but aren't well cultured players (typical of English players in general) and have had a very cocooned footballing career spent in one single environment. Look at the likes of Rodgers and Martinez, two of the best young managers in the English game and of similar age to Giggs. They have spent years working in different coaching and managerial environments and travelled around the continent to help develop and form their ideas. If Man Utd were to take a gamble on a younger manager (which I don't think they can afford this time) then they could do much worse than Martinez. But Giggs? Most certainly not. Even the likes of Hughes, Keane, Bruce etc would be much better equipped to take the job since they have managerial experience with differing degrees of success.
I think Hughes is the best manager of the ex-United players but he has no chance as Ferguson fell out with him.
Quote from: yellowcard on April 25, 2014, 12:54:58 PM
I honestly can't believe that some Man Utd fans want Giggs, Scholes, Neville, Butt or some combination of all of them as managers of Man Utd. In my opinion it is a completely romantic notion that is totally flawed. Very few top class players make great managers. Guardiola and Ancelotti are 2 notable exceptions but Guardiola is a well cultured individual whose appetite for self learning is almost limitless. He is a complete obsessive about the game. The likes of Giggs, Neville, Scholes etc were very good players but aren't well cultured players (typical of English players in general) and have had a very cocooned footballing career spent in one single environment. Look at the likes of Rodgers and Martinez, two of the best young managers in the English game and of similar age to Giggs. They have spent years working in different coaching and managerial environments and travelled around the continent to help develop and form their ideas. If Man Utd were to take a gamble on a younger manager (which I don't think they can afford this time) then they could do much worse than Martinez. But Giggs? Most certainly not. Even the likes of Hughes, Keane, Bruce etc would be much better equipped to take the job since they have managerial experience with differing degrees of success.
I agree but would like to see Gary Neville involved with the new manager (a proven winner like Van Gaal). He is Utd to the core and only wants the best for the club. He obviously understands the game extremely well and also understands the Utd way of playing the game ie attack minded. He dropped many hints during the year that Utd were not playing the way they are used to.
I wouldn't want them as manager, but having them involved in the backroom team would be a good move. Bringing back an experienced head like Rene would also help. As for cultred managers, Giggs hasn't been afforded the luxury to swan around Europe studying coaching as his playing career has been so successful and long. I still have reservations about how good a manager Guardiola is. He inherited an unbelievable Barcelona squad and has done likewise with Munich.
I wonder is the talk of Roy Keane just a big stick being used to scare the laving daylights out of certain current squad members?
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 25, 2014, 11:02:45 AM
Non runner? He would be very much a runner if hadn't signed a new deal last October. You wanted him as Utd manager on the Utd thread, what has changed your mind?
I agree that Neville strikes me as an intelligent man on television and could be a very good sounding board for a new manager. He also has a bit of distance between the players that Giggs doesn't have yet. However the idea that Giggs or Neville can be taken in to work alongside the manager and then take over in 3 or 4 years time is another romantic notion. Firstly, it depends on the success of the new regime and his assocaition with it and secondly he will still never have managed at any level let alone a club of the scale of man Utd.
As for the doubts over Guardiola, what more would he have to achieve to convince? His success at Barcelona was phenomenal and they have never hit the same heights since he left the club. Those years watching Barcelona will go down as a golden era for football. He has won the Budesliga by a country mile and is two games away from doing what no other club has done by retaining the Champions League and 3 games away from winning the treble in his first season in charge.
Quote from: yellowcard on April 25, 2014, 01:42:20 PM
I agree that Neville strikes me as an intelligent man on television and could be a very good sounding board for a new manager. He also has a bit of distance between the players that Giggs doesn't have yet. However the idea that Giggs or Neville can be taken in to work alongside the manager and then take over in 3 or 4 years time is another romantic notion. Firstly, it depends on the success of the new regime and his assocaition with it and secondly he will still never have managed at any level let alone a club of the scale of man Utd.
As for the doubts over Guardiola, what more would he have to achieve to convince? His success at Barcelona was phenomenal and they have never hit the same heights since he left the club. Those years watching Barcelona will go down as a golden era for football. He has won the Budesliga by a country mile and is two games away from doing what no other club has done by retaining the Champions League and 3 games away from winning the treble in his first season in charge.
Guadiola picked up a team that had the majority of the key players that enabled Barcelona to be very successful from 09-12, to say that they haven't been as successful since is more due to the natural progression of a team who have peaked and are now past their best, which could be seen to start in Guardiolas last season. He took over a Munich team that had cleaned up last year so is it that big a surprise that given the addition of a few quality players he has basically done nearly the same with them this year? Lets see how he does with a team that isn't at the pinnacle of European football.
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 25, 2014, 02:01:08 PM
Guadiola picked up a team that had the majority of the key players that enabled Barcelona to be very successful from 09-12, to say that they haven't been as successful since is more due to the natural progression of a team who have peaked and are now past their best, which could be seen to start in Guardiolas last season. He took over a Munich team that had cleaned up last year so is it that big a surprise that given the addition of a few quality players he has basically done nearly the same with them this year? Lets see how he does with a team that isn't at the pinnacle of European football.
Sounds like you are ACTIVELY trying to seek out reasons why he is not a great manager. And Barcelona weren't at the pinnacle of European football when he took them over, he had a split dressing room and a fine collection of under achieving players. It was Guardiola that raised them to that level in the space of his first season. If he became available in the morning, the majority of Man Utd fans would want him at the club in a heartbeat and that says it all really.
Quote from: yellowcard on April 25, 2014, 02:18:49 PM
Sounds like you are ACTIVELY trying to seek out reasons why he is not a great manager. And Barcelona weren't at the pinnacle of European football when he took them over, he had a split dressing room and a fine collection of under achieving players. It was Guardiola that raised them to that level in the space of his first season. If he became available in the morning, the majority of Man Utd fans would want him at the club in a heartbeat and that says it all really.
I just think that the great managers have came in and transformed average to poor teams into great teams. Fergie did it, Mourinho did it but Guardiola hasn't. Messi, Xavi, Iniesta, Puyol etc were at Barcelona when he took over. I'm not saying he didn't improve them or have an influence but he didn't build that team. They had won the Champions League not long before Guardiola took over as well with a team that had a great profile age wise.
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 25, 2014, 02:27:15 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on April 25, 2014, 02:18:49 PM
I just think that the great managers have came in and transformed average to poor teams into great teams. Fergie did it, Mourinho did it but Guardiola hasn't. Messi, Xavi, Iniesta, Puyol etc were at Barcelona when he took over. I'm not saying he didn't improve them or have an influence but he didn't build that team. They had won the Champions League not long before Guardiola took over as well with a team that had a great profile age wise.
2006 Champions League winning line up
Valdés (GK)
Márquez
Puyol (C)
Giuly
Eto'o
Ronaldinho
van Bronckhorst
Edmílson
van Bommel
Deco
Oleguer
2009 Champions League final winning lineup
Valdes
Puyol
Toure Yaya
Pique
Sylvinho
Xavi
Busquets
Iniesta
Messi
Eto'o
Henry
When Guardiola took over in 2008 Barcelona had finished La Liga in third place, 10 points behind Villareal and 18 points behind winners Real Madrid, it's continually baffling why some of you United supporters don't give Guardiola credit for transforming not just a team but a club.
Seen an interview the other day where Guillem Balagué credited Van Gaal for the transformation of Barcelona over the last decade.
Quote from: Minder on April 25, 2014, 04:01:12 PM
Valdes
Puyol
Toure Yaya
Pique
Sylvinho
Xavi
Busquets
Iniesta
Messi
Eto'o
Henry
When Guardiola took over in 2008 Barcelona had finished La Liga in third place, 10 points behind Villareal and 18 points behind winners Real Madrid, it's continually baffling why some of you United supporters don't give Guardiola credit for transforming not just a team but a club.
How did this team line out?
3 at the back?
Quote from: muppet on April 25, 2014, 04:10:51 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 25, 2014, 04:01:12 PM
Valdes
Puyol
Toure Yaya
Pique
Sylvinho
Xavi
Busquets
Iniesta
Messi
Eto'o
Henry
How did this team line out?
3 at the back?
Can't remember but I think Toure played as a centre back ? With Puyol RB.
The point was that Barcelona were there or thereabouts at the top of the pile in Europe when Guardiola took over. The guts of the 2009 team were already at the club when he took over. From the 2006 squad, you had Valdes, Puyol, Sylvinho, Xavi, Iniesta and Eto'o in the 2009 team. Add into that the like of Messi and Busquets who were already at the club in 2006 but were just too young. I honestly don't see why Guardiola is so highly regarded. Until he transforms a team we really don't know how good a manager he is. At the minute I would rate Mourinho as the best in the business.
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 25, 2014, 04:14:45 PM
The point was that Barcelona were there or thereabouts at the top of the pile in Europe when Guardiola took over. The guts of the 2009 team were already at the club when he took over. From the 2006 squad, you had Valdes, Puyol, Sylvinho, Xavi, Iniesta and Eto'o in the 2009 team. Add into that the like of Messi and Busquets who were already at the club in 2006 but were just too young. I honestly don't see why Guardiola is so highly regarded. Until he transforms a team we really don't know how good a manager he is. At the minute I would rate Mourinho as the best in the business.
It's not Championship Manager though, you don't just put the players in position and the rest takes care of itself. Do you reckon with the success he has had Torquay Utd are going to be appointing him and then he can really prove himself ?
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 25, 2014, 04:14:45 PM
Now maybe I'm letting the fact I can't stand Mourinho get in the way but if you have doubts about Guardiola why not Mourinho? Porto was 10 years ago. He has had boatloads of money everywhere else. Mancini had already won Serie A a few times. Real are pretty much guaranteed 2nd place or higher.
With Guardiola, Klopp, Ancellotti and Mourinho having now all ruled themselves out, if it's true that Giggs won't be considered, then it looks like there's only Van Gaal left?
I think Mourinho's greatest achievement was winning the CL with Inter. He took a good team that were really no threat to win it and developed them into CL winners by rejuvenating players that no-one else wanted. With Porto it was amazing but there was the surprise element plus I'm still bitter over Scholes perfectly good goal being disallowed before Tim Howard's Packie Bonner esque parry (think Schillaci) with Silvestre looking on nonchalantly let them in for the goal and the famous touchline sprint. That sentence was too long.
12 Julio Cesar
04 Zanetti
06 Lucio
13 Maicon
25 Samuel
26 Chivu (Stankovic 68)
10 Sneijder
19 Cambiasso
09 Eto'o
22 Milito (Materazzi 90+1)
27 Pandev (Muntari 79)
Was a lot of Quality in the side for players that weren't wanted elsewhere. Cesar was a top keeper gone down hill since. Maicon was of the best right backs in the World then. Zanetti was still a top defender. Cambiasso a brilliant midfield player, and Wesley Sneijder. Eto'o won the Cl with Barca 2 years previously.
Militio had a few clubs before joining Inter was outstanding that season
Quote from: Minder on April 23, 2014, 11:41:32 AM
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 23, 2014, 11:14:37 AM
Would you be happy with how his teams play?
End justifies the means is my bottom line in sport.
Anyway it looks like it will be Van Gaal, but there are bound to be more twists to the tale (spun by the media) yet.
Van Gaal wants this job signed and sealed in next week, and wants to bring as many as 5 backroom staff with him. But United want the class of '92 involved. Interesting to see Sky claiming that United still considering other managers.
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 28, 2014, 09:16:00 PM
Van Gaal wants this job signed and sealed in next week, and wants to bring as many as 5 backroom staff with him. But United want the class of '92 involved. Interesting to see Sky claiming that United still considering other managers.
Feck the class of 92, bring back the lads Moyes sacked like Phelan, they were brilliant, know the club intimately and by the way, have the experience and proven pedigree to get the club back on top.
So after their thumping tonight by Real Madrid? Will Bayern be willing to let Pep go?
They should but I wouldnt want to see him at United peddling that boring sbite.
I stand by my comments last week that Guardiola has been lucky in his managerial career so far. Wouldn't want him anywhere near United.
I seen enough negative tactics this year. No thanks to Pep. Would rather have Van Gaal.
Hang on, negative shite? I can see the boring shite comment from Seanie alright, because I sometimes got fed up watching the great Barca and Spain team passing teams into a bored stupor. But negative is not a phrase I'd have used with Pep in fairness. In fact you could say it was daft naivete that got them done last night as they waded into the Real counter attacking plan.
I would call it negative or maybe conservative, as well as boring. Keeping the ball appears to be more important than trying to score.
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 30, 2014, 09:52:55 AM
Hang on, negative shite? I can see the boring shite comment from Seanie alright, because I sometimes got fed up watching the great Barca and Spain team passing teams into a bored stupor. But negative is not a phrase I'd have used with Pep in fairness. In fact you could say it was daft naivete that got them done last night as they waded into the Real counter attacking plan.
I thought Bayern's defence against United over the two legs and against Madrid last night was wojous. Would have been absolutely made for Liverpool, for example, who would score a hatful against them - albeit Bayern's wingers and attacking midfielders would cause Liverpool plenty of problems at the other end.
I think its nonsense to call Guardiola's Bayern either negative or boring. Whether he's a great manager or not is perhaps open to question. How he develops them next year will be interesting. Its a pity that that the 2nd/3rd/4th best teams in Germany still sell their best players to Bayern as it devalues the Bundesliga.
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 30, 2014, 10:01:41 AM
I would call it negative or maybe conservative, as well as boring. Keeping the ball appears to be more important than trying to score.
I don't think it's negative. I think it's patient and probing. Boring I can see. Rodgers had that disease as well last year, kept talking about controlling the possession, but I don't think it's negative. To me negative is setting up to defend deep and take the pressure from the opposing team before trying to hit them on the break, or from a set piece, or a lad falling on his arse controlling a simple sideways f**king pass.
For Bayern and Pep, I would think its a work in progress in terms of his mgt style and what he trying to do.
I would never class his style as boring. For Bayern, I don't think he has near the class of player that he he had at Barca in the final third. The Bayern players are nearer the end of their careers and have been in place for years, harder for them to break that style. I could see him going after a big name forward player in the summer in addition to the Lewandowski.
I also think that Bayern struggled to step up from the standard they faced in German league to the CL this year.
I'd not be too hard on Bayern, its been almost impossible for any team to win back to back CL and they just added to that. They'll not be far off next year.
Real have pace on the counter that the Jamamicans be proud off.