GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Orchardman on August 29, 2013, 06:29:07 PM

Title: Antrim yaps- under 21 hurling final
Post by: Orchardman on August 29, 2013, 06:29:07 PM
Ok, I know this is hurling but their is nothing in the hurling board about it and it deserves to be here as its taking up a lot of main GAA news this week.

The decision was taken 3 years ago, did antrim kick up about it then? fair enough its a long journey but thurles is the place to play. But my main point is that antrim are talking about an ulster venue to promote the game?! are they having a laugh. They didn't train properly for this game, only 12 lads turning up, the board didn't give it any respect at all. To be honest, even though i'm delighted for genuine antrim hurling guys who have been pushing for years, I feel wexford deserved this much more.

Clare will bring a huge crowd to thurles, if it was in ulster would they even get 5,000? no
Title: Re: Antrim yaps- under 21 hurling final
Post by: INDIANA on August 29, 2013, 06:42:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 29, 2013, 06:32:55 PM
I agree with your main point but how the fcuk do Wexford deserve it more? We fcukin beat them!!!

I agree. totally.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 29, 2013, 09:34:11 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on August 29, 2013, 06:29:07 PM
Ok, I know this is hurling but their is nothing in the hurling board about it and it deserves to be here as its taking up a lot of main GAA news this week.

The decision was taken 3 years ago, did antrim kick up about it then? fair enough its a long journey but thurles is the place to play. But my main point is that antrim are talking about an ulster venue to promote the game?! are they having a laugh. They didn't train properly for this game, only 12 lads turning up, the board didn't give it any respect at all. To be honest, even though i'm delighted for genuine antrim hurling guys who have been pushing for years, I feel wexford deserved this much more.

Clare will bring a huge crowd to thurles, if it was in ulster would they even get 5,000? no

Yeah that makes no sense at all
Post by: rodney trotter on August 29, 2013, 09:40:03 PM
How hard were Wexford training if they couldn't beat a team that weren't getting good numbers at training. But it's the result that matters at the end of the day.
Post by: INDIANA on August 29, 2013, 10:42:21 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on August 29, 2013, 09:40:03 PM
How hard were Wexford training if they couldn't beat a team that weren't getting good numbers at training. It's the result that matters at the end of the day.

Poor leinster championship Rodney. Weakest kilkenny and dublin teams for a while. Kilkenny team was a good minor side but have imploded since.

Post by: Farrandeelin on August 29, 2013, 11:25:50 PM
Antrim are damn right to complain imo. Game should be played in the midlands I reckon.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 30, 2013, 12:54:04 AM
As we speak, clubs from around the USA are making six hour flights  and some are making ten-hour road trips to get to Cleveland for the North American GAA finals.

Just sayin'
Post by: DuffleKing on August 30, 2013, 07:56:57 AM

Clare ain't
Post by: Zulu on August 30, 2013, 08:30:33 AM
Why did the GAA make a decision to play every U21 final in Thurles anyway? Why create a potential problem when there is little need to do so? In saying that, the decision was made and I don't think Antrim have much grounds for complaint, it's an All Ireland final so just go play it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 30, 2013, 09:59:36 AM
Quote from: Zulu on August 30, 2013, 08:30:33 AM
Why did the GAA make a decision to play every U21 final in Thurles anyway? Why create a potential problem when there is little need to do so? In saying that, the decision was made and I don't think Antrim have much grounds for complaint, it's an All Ireland final so just go play it.

I'm with ya, and I'll be looking forward to going down to support our team in Thurles, great venue great atmosphere, having been there for a Munster final I'll be looking forward to seeing 2 lads from my club (one who I've managed when he was 10) march out on to the pitch. Jackson McGreevey from my club will captain the team so we are proud as punch, we will be up against it, this Clare team is very good and have had no real problems in getting to the final.

We have beaten the best out of Leinster (some posters rubbishing it already) and I hope they give it a lash for Antrim and Ulster hurling, christ knows we need a lift
Post by: johnneycool on August 30, 2013, 11:09:34 AM
Never got to play in Thurles myself (was a sub there once so got to warm up on the pitch), but as you say been to a good few Munster finals there and after Croke park its the place any hurler would love to play at.

Has anyone bothered to ask the Antrim players their thoughts on it?
Post by: rodney trotter on August 30, 2013, 11:56:31 AM
Thurles was chosen 3 years ago to host U21 All Ireland hurling finals on a permanent basis. Best ground for Hurling anyway.
Post by: deiseach on August 30, 2013, 12:08:18 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on August 30, 2013, 11:56:31 AM
Thurles was chosen 3 years ago to host U21 All Ireland hurling finals on a permanent basis. Best ground for Hurling anyway.

It is?
Post by: rodney trotter on August 30, 2013, 12:17:06 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 30, 2013, 12:08:18 PM

It is?

Apart from Croke Park obviously.. Gaelic Grounds is impressive too. Nowlan Park, Pairc Ui Caoimih.
Thurles would probably top those though all the same.

Your own Counties stadium would be well off, Fraher Field.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 30, 2013, 12:21:22 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on August 30, 2013, 12:17:06 PM

It is?

Apart from Croke Park obviously.. Gaelic Grounds is impressive too. Nowlan Park, Pairc Ui Caoimih.
Thurles would probably those though all the same.

In terms of history, maybe not the best playing surface, would be hard to compete with Casement if I was being fair. But it would be second home of hurling. It played out All Ireland finals when Croke wasn't used so if the GAA think that highly of it then.......
Post by: deiseach on August 30, 2013, 12:29:21 PM

It is?

Thurles would probably those though all the same.

Dungarvan has staged three All-Ireland finals in its time, that's as many as Thurles. Truly a venue of legends. Anyway, it seems we're talking about impressiveness here, not what is the best ground for hurling. What about the best ground for the Under-21 final? The football final isn't played in the same venue each year, why must that be the case in hurling?

Oh, and Páirc Uí Chaomih is, how can I put this politely, a fuck1ng dump.
Post by: rodney trotter on August 30, 2013, 12:39:28 PM
Not sure tbh. Maybe Liam O Neill views Thurles as the home of Hurling. Thurles is cleary a better arena then Dungarven. Oh and btw. Thurles is the second largest pitch in the County.

The newly developed Pairc Ui Chaoimih should look alright.
Post by: theskull1 on August 30, 2013, 02:18:52 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on August 29, 2013, 09:40:03 PM
How hard were Wexford training if they couldn't beat a team that weren't getting good numbers at training. It's the result that matters at the end of the day.

Needs to be said that most of these lads have been knocking their pans in training for their clubs (just my opinion but more clubs in Antrim a preparing their teams better) ahead of the Senior Championships, so they all were going to be in good enough condition and have been hurling plenty. Something to be learned from this in regards to preparing county teams IMO
Post by: Orchardman on August 30, 2013, 06:37:03 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 29, 2013, 06:42:19 PM
I agree with your main point but how the fcuk do Wexford deserve it more? We fcukin beat them!!!

I agree. totally.

lets not stray from the main point. I just meant wexford and clare would have gave us a proper final, wexford are one of the hurling counties I would like to see back at the top table. But yes, I assume antrim deserved their win last weekend as i didn't see the game, but the scoreboard doesn't lie. I think they will get stuffed by clare, but I will be delighted for them as an ulster team to win the All Ireland.

At the end of the day, antrim are calling out for fair play and respect. I find this disgusting from a board who have showed the competition no respect by having no manager til last month, their defeats by  a total of 50 points over the last 2 years show their preparation
Post by: rodney trotter on August 30, 2013, 08:04:02 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 30, 2013, 12:29:21 PM

It is?

Dungarvan has staged three All-Ireland finals in its time, that's as many as Thurles. Truly a venue of legends. Anyway, it seems we're talking about impressiveness here, not what is the best ground for hurling. What about the best ground for the Under-21 final? The football final isn't played in the same venue each year, why must that be the case in hurling?

Oh, and Páirc Uí Chaomih is, how can I put this politely, a fuck1ng dump.

Another reason, is, there is fewer teams at top level Hurling. And those that are at the top level are from South Leinster or Munster. Dublin would be the exception & Galway in the Whest. Thurles is a suitable venue for those teams. Obviously not Antrim but it was a huge upset that Antrim made it to the All Ireland final.
Post by: Orior on August 30, 2013, 09:48:59 PM
What is the date and time of the match?
Post by: Minder on August 30, 2013, 09:51:54 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 30, 2013, 09:48:59 PM
What is the date and time of the match?

September 14th 5.00pm
Post by: CD on August 31, 2013, 09:47:39 AM
The biggest disappointment for Antrim is the manner in which the board and management have addressed the issue. The decision to play at Thurles has been made and they just have to get on with it  - even if we all agree it would make far more logistical sense to play in the midlands. But they should have made their objections through the correct channels with one spokesperson representing their views. As it is, the whining has gone on all week and turned many fans against them. As an Antrim resident, I know how hard it is to get young men out to play Gaelic Games on a regular basis and I would have liked the Antrim board to have had a more mature approach than 'We're not playing then!'. Both hurling and football squads have been blighted over the years by internal squabbling and by players storming off and refusing to play when things aren't going their way. Hardly surprising when this is the attitude of management.
Just my thoughts!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 31, 2013, 10:56:26 AM
I think most people are in agreement in their view of the Antrim county board. However don't let this get in the way of the panel of lads going to Hurl on the 14 th. the buzz about the county is tremendous at the moment. Thurles here we come.......
Post by: CD on August 31, 2013, 03:58:35 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on August 31, 2013, 10:56:26 AM
I think most people are in agreement in their view of the Antrim county board. However don't let this get in the way of the panel of lads going to Hurl on the 14 th. the buzz about the county is tremendous at the moment. Thurles here we come.......

It's a shame that the fantastic achievement of the u21 hurlers has been somewhat overshadowed by this! Just about every newsfeed I see about it begins with the fixture issue rather than celebrating the achievement
Post by: Canalman on August 31, 2013, 04:09:20 PM
Of all teams to get in the final Clare are a county who would tend not to hammer a team when a hammering was possible.
For what it is worth I think Clare will beat Antrim by whatever scoreline they want and now think that a hiding is what Antrim will get as a result of all this hoohah.

Cannnot believe this is still rumbling on.

Post by: johnneycool on September 02, 2013, 03:01:31 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on August 30, 2013, 06:37:03 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 29, 2013, 06:42:19 PM

I agree. totally.

lets not stray from the main point. I just meant wexford and clare would have gave us a proper final, wexford are one of the hurling counties I would like to see back at the top table. But yes, I assume antrim deserved their win last weekend as i didn't see the game, but the scoreboard doesn't lie. I think they will get stuffed by clare, but I will be delighted for them as an ulster team to win the All Ireland.

At the end of the day, antrim are calling out for fair play and respect. I find this disgusting from a board who have showed the competition no respect by having no manager til last month, their defeats by  a total of 50 points over the last 2 years show their preparation

Where's the logic in that?

Antrim beat Wexford well, and lead most of the second half by 6 or 7 points, Wexford got a late goal to take the bad look off it.

Clare are a very good outfit at this level, handed Tipp and Galway a thumping on the way, so if Antrim do take a hiding there's no shame in it as Wexford would possibly and logically take as big or not bigger hiding.

How the county board have whined about the venue is just plan stupid at this stage.
Post by: neilthemac on September 02, 2013, 03:29:56 PM
Ok.
lets say it was Limerick vs Derry in a football under 21 final.
Where would the game be fixed?
Longford probably, which is almost half way.
Thurles doesn't make sense when that logic is used for other games.

Then again, other sports fix the venues for finals months in advance - rugby, soccer etc and the fans travel irrespective of the venue
Post by: highorlow on September 02, 2013, 03:50:00 PM
If Antrim really put their minds to it and reduce the numbers at training this week to 1 or 2 players I would give them a good chance agin Clare.
Post by: johnneycool on September 02, 2013, 04:06:10 PM
Quote from: highorlow on September 02, 2013, 03:50:00 PM
If Antrim really put their minds to it and reduce the numbers at training this week to 1 or 2 players I would give them a good chance agin Clare.

Thats right, as the Antrim lads are all sitting on their holes every night of the week as there is no GAA outside of the intercounty stuff that we see on TV.
Post by: Orchardman on September 02, 2013, 04:30:34 PM
Quote from: Canalman on August 31, 2013, 04:09:20 PM
Of all teams to get in the final Clare are a county who would tend not to hammer a team when a hammering was possible.
For what it is worth I think Clare will beat Antrim by whatever scoreline they want and now think that a hiding is what Antrim will get as a result of all this hoohah.

Cannnot believe this is still rumbling on.

was it not clare who stuffed them by 25 points last year
Post by: pullhard on September 02, 2013, 05:04:02 PM
Will the game be on telly?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 02, 2013, 10:16:13 PM
if Antrim did win this game, and i hope they do, surely it be seen as the greatest underdog achievement as they were branded no-hopers and Wexford were 1/33 ON to win the semi
Post by: Minder on September 02, 2013, 10:41:01 PM
Quote from: pullhard on September 02, 2013, 05:04:02 PM

live on TG4
Post by: pullhard on September 03, 2013, 09:34:51 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 02, 2013, 10:16:13 PM
if Antrim did win this game, and i hope they do, surely it be seen as the greatest underdog achievement as they were branded no-hopers and Wexford were 1/33 ON to win the semi

Wexford were shorter that that before throw in...
What price are bookies giving Antrim?

TG4 Great stuff!
Post by: AQMP on September 03, 2013, 10:19:30 AM
Quote from: pullhard on September 03, 2013, 09:34:51 AM

TG4 Great stuff!

Paddy Power has Clare 1/66, Antrim 11/1 with the draw at 33/1.
Post by: pullhard on September 03, 2013, 11:08:56 AM
Quote from: AQMP on September 03, 2013, 10:19:30 AM

TG4 Great stuff!

Thats crazy odds, hope they can do it again. Draw isn't a bad bet considering what the dodgy ref done last day.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 03, 2013, 02:30:37 PM
Quote from: pullhard on September 03, 2013, 11:08:56 AM

TG4 Great stuff!

Thats crazy odds, hope they can do it again. Draw isn't a bad bet considering what the dodgy ref done last day.

If one team is 1/66 the other team should be at least 20/1 ffs. Hopefully Clare will win the Senior grade and go on the lash in every town in Clare (and why wouldn't ya) it might bring their performance down a grade at least when the under 21's play the following Sat
Post by: Minder on September 03, 2013, 08:15:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 03, 2013, 02:30:37 PM

TG4 Great stuff!

If one team is 1/66 the other team should be at least 20/1 ffs. Hopefully Clare will win the Senior grade and go on the lash in every town in Clare (and why wouldn't ya) it might bring their performance down a grade at least when the under 21's play the following Sat

It didn't happen in 2010 when Tipp won senior All Ireland, then hammered Galway the next week in U-21 final (in Thurles !)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 03, 2013, 10:23:28 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 03, 2013, 08:15:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 03, 2013, 02:30:37 PM

TG4 Great stuff!

It didn't happen in 2010 when Tipp won senior All Ireland, then hammered Galway the next week in U-21 final (in Thurles !)

That was some Tipp team they hammered us by 35 points that year, I bought a new car of the back of............... oops  ;)
Post by: clareman on September 04, 2013, 12:18:51 AM
There is no value in any of that betting. Clare will win this game pulling up. Great achievement by Antrim beating Wexford but Clare will be a totally different ball game for them.
Post by: CD on September 07, 2013, 03:01:28 PM
Quote from: pullhard on September 02, 2013, 05:04:02 PM

If that game's live on telly there's a real danger the Antrim management and Co Board will stay in Belfast to watch it. Maybe even a couple of the players. Why would they go to Thurles when it's on the telly? ;)
Post by: Onion Bag on September 07, 2013, 04:14:22 PM
Who is the Antrim u21 manager?
Also anyone the back room  team?
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 14, 2013, 07:34:18 PM
That final went as expected or did Antrim supporters expect a bigger defeat?
Post by: Sidney on September 14, 2013, 11:43:10 PM
They shouldn't have been in it. The under-21 system needs changing - Galway and Antrim should be in Leinster. Clare could have won by 40 if they'd really wanted, which they didn't.
Post by: Sidney on September 15, 2013, 12:29:32 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 14, 2013, 11:46:12 PM
Quote from: Sidney on September 14, 2013, 11:43:10 PM
They shouldn't have been in it. The under-21 system needs changing - Galway and Antrim should be in Leinster. Clare could have won by 40 if they'd really wanted, which they didn't.
Ha!

Didn't Antrim beat the pick of Leinster?
Fair play to them, but let's see how they do in Leinster, rather than catching a team on the hop.

Were Antrim even in the top, say, eight under-21 teams this year? Really?
Post by: Sidney on September 15, 2013, 12:44:52 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 15, 2013, 12:38:23 AM
If a team can't come out of Leinster and beat Antrim, they have no hope of giving Clare a game.

Clare would have beaten Wexford by a similar score.
They would likely have beaten them by double figures alright but I don't believe it would have have turned into what was effectively a training session for Clare, who were clearly taking it easy on Antrim from a long way out.
Post by: Sidney on September 15, 2013, 01:09:18 AM
Wexford beat Kilkenny in extra-time a great Leinster final but clearly didn't take Antrim seriously and they paid the price.

As I said, fair play to Antrim for winning that match but tradition matters and Antrim are only any use when there's no expectation on them. Antrim just weren't on the same planet, never mind in the same league, as Clare.

There's no way a Kilkenny team would have allowed that to happen today.
Post by: CitySlicker11 on September 15, 2013, 01:19:17 PM
Kevin Ryan from Mount Sion was Antrim manager and selectors were Neil McManus from Cushendall and Barry McFall from St Johns.
Post by: Orchardman on September 15, 2013, 05:25:09 PM
If a team can't come out of Leinster and beat Antrim, they have no hope of giving Clare a game.

sometimes teams get caught on the hop, it happens. You can't seriously think that one of the proper hurling counties like wexford would have suffered anything more than a 10-12 point beating yesterday? Antrim were a disgrace and yes it is a farce that galway are also straight into an all Ireland semi final. But the difference is galway are usually good enough to win their semi final or even final now and again. 18 points by half time tells the story
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 15, 2013, 05:37:43 PM
Quote from: Sidney on September 15, 2013, 12:29:32 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 14, 2013, 11:46:12 PM
Quote from: Sidney on September 14, 2013, 11:43:10 PM
Ha!

Didn't Antrim beat the pick of Leinster?
Fair play to them, but let's see how they do in Leinster, rather than catching a team on the hop.

Were Antrim even in the top, say, eight under-21 teams this year? Really?

So Croke should and they probably will this year and change the format (like that have done already)to make sure Antrim never get a chance again to reach an All Ireland final. 

Very difficult in hurling to catch a team on the hop, if you're a decent team there is enough time to get back into it. Wexford were the pick of  Leinster, did they catch the teams they played on the hop?
Post by: Kidder81 on September 15, 2013, 07:53:34 PM
Some people saying Clare are excellent u-21 team, and they obviously are, to explain them hammering Antrim yesterday but they only beat Waterford by 4 and Tipp by something similar in Munster.

Antrim were badly out of their depth yesterday.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 15, 2013, 09:25:12 PM
Orchardman antrim were a disgrace?? That comment is a disgrace. Do you know anything about hurling?

There have been years where all ireland finals in any code have turned into hammerings. Waterford kilkenny hurling and mayo kerry football being prime examples.

You beat what is in front of you. Antrim did and clare did.

U21 is a funny grade too. Tipp hockeyed galway too the other year. So what munster was stronger than the rest of ireland. What should they have done - just played munster?

Antrim beat wexford and deserved to be there and i don't buy this on the hop nonsense. That clare team would beat most senior teams and are at a stage in time where they are at their absolute peak with senior prep. Wexford would have suffered the same fate.
Post by: Kidder81 on September 15, 2013, 09:37:09 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 15, 2013, 09:25:12 PM
Orchardman antrim were a disgrace?? That comment is a disgrace. Do you know anything about hurling?

There have been years where all ireland finals in any code have turned into hammerings. Waterford kilkenny hurling and mayo kerry football being prime examples.

U21 is a funny grade too. Tipp hockeyed galway too the other year. So what munster was stronger than the rest of ireland. What should they have done - just played munster?

Antrim beat wexford and deserved to be there and i don't buy this on the hop nonsense. That clare team would beat most senior teams and are at a stage in time where they are at their absolute peak with senior prep. Wexford would have suffered the same fate.

Ridiculous remark.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 15, 2013, 09:39:00 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on September 15, 2013, 09:37:09 PM

Ridiculous remark.

How so? 14 of the ai senior finalists panel. Ok maybe most a slight exaggeration but a hell of a lot of senior teams.
Post by: Sidney on September 15, 2013, 10:25:21 PM
It's pretty simple. The notion that any team should gain automatic entry to an All-Ireland semi-final belongs to the 1950s.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 15, 2013, 10:55:59 PM
You are basing this on your assertion that antrim caught wexford on the hop.

You do not know this.

Leinster teams hammer ulster teams year on year. Why on this occassion did they not?

It would be different if it were early on in the year and players weren't flat out preparing for things like club championships. Also if it were going to be so easy then wexford would have been preparing for the final.

Antrim beat the leinster champions fair and square and got to the final on merit.
Post by: johnneycool on September 16, 2013, 09:25:25 AM
Quote from: Sidney on September 15, 2013, 10:25:21 PM
It's pretty simple. The notion that any team should gain automatic entry to an All-Ireland semi-final belongs to the 1950s.

Why so now? Did you have this thought when Galway have availed of this opportunity in minor and U-21 let alone senior for years and cleaned up at both minor and U-21 for years?
How about an open draw at U-21? Seed it so that the weaker counties get the chance to play their way up to the better opposition? Won't happen, due to the vested interests of the hurling counties in Munster.

Also Antrim U-21's beat Down by 2 points in Casement, should Down also be in Leinster? What about Derry, Armagh, etc, etc?

I'm sick of these elite hurling cúnts pulling the ladder up after themselves and then coming up with some pish scheme or other to develop hurling in the weaker counties.

As for Antrim catching Wexford on the hop, bullshit, Antrim took a six point lead early on, Wexford had enough time for their 'tradition' to come through, but thanks to a soft decision by the referee where they got a goal out of it near the end made the scoreline a lot closer than it should be.

That is an exceptionally good Clare team for U-21, the only tough game they had was in Waterford, they tanked both Tipp and Galway were hanging on for dear life but finally succumbed to them. We'll hear a lot more about some of these lads in the coming years. There's no shame on Antrim for getting beat in the manner they did.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 16, 2013, 09:28:41 AM

So what's your plan? Give losing teams another chance to get to the final? Is this not just a way of making sure teams are not caught on the hop again?

I'm all for change but giving the teams second chances is not one of them, An open draw is the way forward. Once you're out you stay out. With an open draw Antrim could have met all Leinster teams and got to the final only to lose to Clare ;)
Post by: Sidney on September 16, 2013, 10:37:34 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 16, 2013, 09:25:25 AM

Why so now? Did you have this thought when Galway have availed of this opportunity in minor and U-21 let alone senior for years and cleaned up at both minor and U-21 for years?
Yes.
Post by: johnneycool on September 16, 2013, 11:08:44 AM
Quote from: Sidney on September 16, 2013, 10:37:34 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 16, 2013, 09:25:25 AM

Yes.

Ok, show me the post where you put it down in writing?
Post by: blanketattack on September 16, 2013, 11:15:51 AM
Quote from: Kidder81 on September 15, 2013, 09:37:09 PM

Ridiculous remark.

I think it's fair enough comment. I reckon that Clare U21 team would beat all the counties competing in the Ring, Rackard and Meagher competitions along with Antrim, Westmeath, London, Carlow and Laois and give a decent account v Wexford and Offaly.
Post by: Sidney on September 16, 2013, 11:36:12 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 16, 2013, 11:08:44 AM

Well, considering I haven't been posting here that long, I won't be able to give you written proof of what I thought 25 years ago. You'll just have to take my word for it.

Galway got automatic entry to the 1955 and 1958 All-Ireland hurling finals under the provincial rotation system, as Ulster teams didn't compete, and the Leinster champions played the Munster champions in the All-Ireland semi-finals in those years.

Was that a good thing or a bad thng?

Why should Galway and Antrim not compete in Leinster at under-age level, now that they're there at senior level?
Post by: johnneycool on September 16, 2013, 11:57:27 AM
Quote from: Sidney on September 16, 2013, 11:36:12 AM

Well, considering I haven't been posting here that long, I won't be able to give you written proof of what I thought 25 years ago. You'll just have to take my word for it.

Galway got automatic entry to the 1955 and 1958 All-Ireland hurling finals under the provincial rotation system, as Ulster teams didn't compete, and the Leinster champions played the Munster champions in the All-Ireland semi-finals in those years.

Why should Galway and Antrim not compete in Leinster at under-age level, now that they're there at senior level?

Why only Antrim?

Galway also competed in the Munster senior championship for years and never won a game.

For what its worth I think you have a point but the Leinster/Munster thing stunts the potential for growth outside those invited to the top hurling party.

What's next? Club championship hurling?
Post by: clootfromthe21 on September 16, 2013, 12:05:55 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on September 15, 2013, 05:25:09 PM

sometimes teams get caught on the hop, it happens. You can't seriously think that one of the proper hurling counties like wexford would have suffered anything more than a 10-12 point beating yesterday? Antrim were a disgrace and yes it is a farce that galway are also straight into an all Ireland semi final. But the difference is galway are usually good enough to win their semi final or even final now and again. 18 points by half time tells the story

How the hell were Antrim a disgrace????????

They were completely outplayed from the outset by a far superior opposition, does that of itself make them a disgrace? Because apart from that, I cant see any basis whatsoever for your comment. They didn't start swinging sticks when they fell behind and they kept going till the very end. Were Donegal a disgrace this year against Mayo? Waterford against Kilkenny a few years ago?

Should they have not bothered showing up? Maybe let Wexford just take their place??? ("Sorry, lads, we beat you there but yous lads go on anyway . . .")

The only think disgraceful is your comment.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 16, 2013, 12:06:31 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 16, 2013, 11:57:27 AM

Why only Antrim?

Galway also competed in the Munster senior championship for years and never won a game.

For what its worth I think you have a point but the Leinster/Munster thing stunts the potential for growth outside those invited to the top hurling party.

What's next? Club championship hurling?

Aye that be next, the 'elitist' would love that, Though the Down and Antrim champions would account for a right few club teams
Post by: deiseach on September 16, 2013, 12:23:02 PM
I think it's pretty cool that there is still a national hurling title that doffs a cap to the old days when it was winner takes all, Munster and Leinster titles leading to the All-Ireland semi-finals, and all that.
Post by: Sidney on September 16, 2013, 02:42:28 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 16, 2013, 11:57:27 AM

Why only Antrim?

I'm sorry? Did you read my post?

Post by: johnneycool on September 16, 2013, 03:51:42 PM
Ok, Why only Antrim and Galway?
Post by: Orchardman on September 16, 2013, 05:03:01 PM
I can see that my comments haven't been taken too kindly, but some people need to wake up and smell the coffee. Comparing the defeat to Donegal etc is nonsense. This is now the 3rd year in a row ( prob nearly every year actually, but i'm just keeping it recent) that antrim have been beaten by 20-25 points in this comp, if that's not a farce then what is.

Ok, yes they beat wexford fair on the day, they played the better hurling on the day, maybe I didn't make that clear. But if they played them another 5 times who would likely win, who would you antrim lads put ur money on?that's what I meant by 'caught on the hop', no need to be so defensive.

Yes antrim are way ahead of the rest of ulster, good knows how much Armagh would be stuffed by, but it seems to me they are happy to being the big boys in the small ulster pond and then get trimmed down south every year.
Post by: deiseach on September 16, 2013, 05:17:12 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on September 16, 2013, 05:03:01 PM
I can see that my comments haven't been taken too kindly, but some people need to wake up and smell the coffee. Comparing the defeat to Donegal etc is nonsense. This is now the 3rd year in a row ( prob nearly every year actually, but i'm just keeping it recent) that antrim have been beaten by 20-25 points in this comp, if that's not a farce then what is.

Ok, yes they beat wexford fair on the day, they played the better hurling on the day, maybe I didn't make that clear. But if they played them another 5 times who would likely win, who would you antrim lads put ur money on?that's what I meant by 'caught on the hop', no need to be so defensive.

Yes antrim are way ahead of the rest of ulster, good knows how much Armagh would be stuffed by, but it seems to me they are happy to being the big boys in the small ulster pond and then get trimmed down south every year.

'Disgrace' is way too strong. There's a hierarchy of blame here. If the other counties in Ulster are happy to be stuffed by Antrim most years then I don't see why Antrim should say no. And if Antrim are happy to put teams up to be slaughtered most year by Galway (I still recall with some annoyance how we ended up playing Kilkenny in the All-Ireland semi-final in 1994) and the Munster/Leinster champions then the other counties will happily do that. No one is going to force them to represent Ulster and if they ask for a different system then I've no doubt some arrangement would be reached to the mutual (dis)satisfaction of everyone.
Post by: Orchardman on September 16, 2013, 05:20:17 PM
I stand by what I meant by 'disgrace', but i'll take it back on the grounds that other people clearly have a different view of the word  in sporting terms than I have
Post by: deiseach on September 16, 2013, 05:27:17 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on September 16, 2013, 05:20:17 PM
I stand by what I meant by 'disgrace', but i'll take it back on the grounds that other people clearly have a different view of the word  in sporting terms than I have

And I know what you meant. In it's own terms you have to wonder what is to be gained by Antrim hammering Down, Derry et al, then being in turn hammered by those further south. But nobody is forcing anyone to turn up.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 16, 2013, 05:29:57 PM

We know what you mean by caught on the hop Orchardman.

Your use of the word disgrace is an insult to those guys out playing and is what people take issue with. Disgrace means disgrace sporting or otherwise so I don't know where you come up with the idea that it means differently in sporting terms than in any other terms.

How do you know that 5 out of 6 times Wexford would have won? Your argument now is that who would we expect to win? If antrim can compete with them one day they can compete with them the next.

Let me repeat what others have - that Clare team would have done anyone on saturday. People jumping on saying ulster hurling is rubbish etc didn't jump on it before the game and now they're coming in with the I told you sos?

As for your comments about being happy to be the big boys in the small ulster pond it doesn't even make any sense. What are they to do? They have entered Leinster in the seniors. They play national league every year and they play championship every year. If they were so happy doing that sure they'd just win ulster and not bother playing. They're happy to take trimmings you say - but they didn't get trimmed this year.

In addition as JC says they beat Down by 2. So what about them? Ulster wasn't that uncompetitive after all this year.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 16, 2013, 07:25:30 PM
I don't think the normal route to the semi finals is the best or fairest way, again an open draw would solve a lot of problems, you can have your Munster, Ulster and Leinster as a side. We done really well this year I believe down to the fact that these lads were preparing hard for their club championships. As preparation was exactly as Ryan had said, rubbish
Post by: Kidder81 on September 16, 2013, 07:39:33 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 16, 2013, 07:25:30 PM
I don't think the normal route to the semi finals is the best or fairest way, again an open draw would solve a lot of problems, you can have your Munster, Ulster and Leinster as a side. We done really well this year I believe down to the fact that these lads were preparing hard for their club championships. As preparation was exactly as Ryan had said, rubbish

Where they not training hard for clubs the last few years when they were getting hammered in U-21 semis ?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 16, 2013, 07:48:09 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on September 16, 2013, 07:39:33 PM

Where they not training hard for clubs the last few years when they were getting hammered in U-21 semis ?

The dates aren't really set in stone for under 21, there would have been big breaks between leagues games and championship games, various reasons. This year it worked out well
Post by: Kidder81 on September 16, 2013, 08:32:37 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 16, 2013, 07:48:09 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on September 16, 2013, 07:39:33 PM

The dates aren't really set in stone for under 21, there would have been big breaks between leagues games and championship games, various reasons. This year it worked out well

In what way are they not set in stone ? Semis are always end of August.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 16, 2013, 10:44:31 PM
Tipperary 5-22 : 0-12 Galway (All-Ireland final)

Was there much talk of Galway's poorer performance in 2010?
Post by: Orchardman on September 16, 2013, 10:50:44 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 16, 2013, 05:29:57 PM

Your use of the word disgrace is an insult to those guys out playing and is what people take issue with. Disgrace means disgrace sporting or otherwise so I don't know where you come up with the idea that it means differently in sporting terms than in any other terms.

How do you know that 5 out of 6 times Wexford would have won? Your argument now is that who would we expect to win? If antrim can compete with them one day they can compete with them the next.

Let me repeat what others have - that Clare team would have done anyone on saturday. People jumping on saying ulster hurling is rubbish etc didn't jump on it before the game and now they're coming in with the I told you sos?

As for your comments about being happy to be the big boys in the small ulster pond it doesn't even make any sense. What are they to do? They have entered Leinster in the seniors. They play national league every year and they play championship every year. If they were so happy doing that sure they'd just win ulster and not bother playing. They're happy to take trimmings you say - but they didn't get trimmed this year.

In addition as JC says they beat Down by 2. So what about them? Ulster wasn't that uncompetitive after all this year.

Let me explain further. When I talk about 'antrim', im not just talking about the 15 players last weekend. Has everyone forgot the article with the antrim manager ryan before the semi-final?
He said they had liitle or no prep done, had been no panel properly put together, and they were training with 7 players some nights. County board and selfish clubs to blame no doubt, maybe lazy individuals also?

I always like to see an underdog win of course, especially an ulster team, but an underdog that has been knocking on the door and bursting their balls with preparation and treating a competition with respect. This is clearly not the case with antrim, I don't think you can argue with anything I have said in this post.

And yes, like others have said, that clare team would take some stopping no matter who they played.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 16, 2013, 11:00:51 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on September 16, 2013, 10:50:44 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 16, 2013, 05:29:57 PM

Let me explain further. When I talk about 'antrim', im not just talking about the 15 players last weekend. Has everyone forgot the article with the antrim manager ryan before the semi-final?
He said they had liitle or no prep done, had been no panel properly put together, and they were training with 7 players some nights. County board and selfish clubs to blame no doubt, maybe lazy individuals also?

I always like to see an underdog win of course, especially an ulster team, but an underdog that has been knocking on the door and bursting their balls with preparation and treating a competition with respect. This is clearly not the case with antrim, I don't think you can argue with anything I have said in this post.

And yes, like others have said, that clare team would take some stopping no matter who they played.

I don't disagree with your last post at all - just words like disgrace etc in the previous posts...

In no other county would you get club championship games scheduled for the same time as an ai semi final with some of the same players involved!

There is talent in that team. People may think it was a one off to beat wexford but i don't think so.

Post by: johnneycool on September 17, 2013, 09:07:39 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 16, 2013, 10:44:31 PM

2008 AI hurling final;

Kilkenny 3–30 – 1–13    Waterford

Why was there no big furore after this match?

We marveled at such a great performance by Kilkenny, awarded Brian Cody MOTM and gushed at seeing possibly the greatest team seen in hurling at the pinnacle of their sport and rightly so, they were untouchable.

IMO this current bunch of Clare U-21's are something special, the only team to get close to them was Waterford, they brushed aside Tipp (who'd previously stuffed Cork) and then Galway. They'd have won at a canter against Wexford as well, so why the picking on Antrim?

Is it based on Kevin Ryans comments about lack of collective preparation?

If it is then Wexford need to ask serious questions about how well they were preparing collectively if a get together from Antrim beat them well.

Post by: Rossfan on September 17, 2013, 10:53:42 AM

The chances are that over a 10 year spell Galway would beat Tipp as often as Tipp would beat Galway.
Antrim wouldn't.
If ye think the U21 hurling set up is daft - what about the U21B.
Kerry won it by playing ONE FCUKIN GAME.
The sooner this minority stick sport is jettisoned by the GAA the better.( Better put in one of these :P for the pedantic Awlsther bies) so they can concentrate on developing the one truly National sport of football.
And anyway this should all be in the Hurling section.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2013, 11:33:08 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 17, 2013, 10:53:42 AM

The chances are that over a 10 year spell Galway would beat Tipp as often as Tipp would beat Galway.
Antrim wouldn't.
The sooner this minority stick sport is jettisoned by the GAA the better.( Better put in one of these :P for the pedantic Awlsther bies) so they can concentrate on developing the one truly National sport of football.

says the one who has this at the bottom of his posts

Home of the 2013 All Ireland SFC Champions.
Also Double Connacht Champions 2013 (hurling)  ;)

Both codes can go hand in hand ffs, problem being the competitiveness of it all has ensured this won't take place as county boards will throw their eggs in one basket, Cork, Dublin, and Galway can to a certain point have success with both codes. Then we have Laois, Antrim, Kildare, Rosscommon, Carlow and other such counties that won't win either put promote it as best they can but overall fail because they are spreading their resources, frustrating as a supporter
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2013, 03:51:38 PM
Where does Offaly fit into that? And Tipp for that matter?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2013, 04:31:05 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2013, 11:33:08 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 17, 2013, 10:53:42 AM

Antrim wouldn't.

says the one who has this at the bottom of his posts

Home of the 2013 All Ireland SFC Champions.
Also Double Connacht Champions 2013 (hurling)  ;)

Both codes can go hand in hand ffs, problem being the competitiveness of it all has ensured this won't take place as county boards will throw their eggs in one basket, Cork, Dublin, and Galway can to a certain point have success with both codes. Then we have Laois, Antrim, Kildare, Rosscommon, Carlow and other such counties that won't win either put promote it as best they can but overall fail because they are spreading their resources, frustrating as a supporter
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 17, 2013, 03:51:38 PM
Where does Offaly fit into that? And Tipp for that matter?

They will eventually win one every so often, Counties mentioned won't  >:(
Post by: Orchardman on September 17, 2013, 09:34:56 PM

I can't believe someone has mentioned this, can we not see the clear difference!

Galway win loads of minor and u-21, getting the odd stuffing doesn't render them useless
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2013, 09:51:16 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on September 17, 2013, 09:34:56 PM

I can't believe someone has mentioned this, can we not see the clear difference!

Galway win loads of minor and u-21, getting the odd stuffing doesn't render them useless

Yes but the point being that It's not unusual for teams to get a hidding in this comp or any other. In Ulster Antrim knock these out on a regular occurrence to lesser teams, are they less prepared than Antrim when they head south? Yeah most definitely, there happens to be a gulf between teams and this year we managed to close that gap and beat the best of Leinster and get hammered by Clare. They could prepare better and having done very well in Waterford this year (under 14 comp) and with the club teams being very competitive there is so much to be hopefull for but the ability to draw it all together is the key.

For years we beat Dublin in every game, we even knocked them out a couple of years ago when they thought they had a good chance in the All Ireland, difference being now is that the Dubs have great/better structures in place and people who have bought into the plan. We could do what Dublin has done if we all buy into it. Dublin has a thriving club scene and big numbers hurling. Until we do then we will get the odd win every so often and get hammered in the other games.

If Ulster was more competitive then it would bring everyone on. Armagh had made great strides only to go backwards lately. Munster and the rest all have clubs playing in good leagues and Galway don't have to go too far to play tough games, plus the schools have great competitions also.

Having went down to Thurles I was proud to be going to an All Ireland final again as I never thought we'd get there again, the defeat is tough but we have no real complaints other than if there was a collective effort then Antrim could maybe get there again sooner and compete
Post by: Orchardman on September 17, 2013, 11:30:34 PM
Fair enough point, good post
Post by: Rossfan on September 18, 2013, 10:45:46 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2013, 09:51:16 PM
[Having went[/s ] GONE down to Thurles
Ye'll never win an All Ireland till ye get ye're grammar right FFS >:(
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 18, 2013, 11:09:11 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 18, 2013, 10:45:46 AM

I didn't realise you loved the Queens English so much ;)
Post by: Rossfan on September 18, 2013, 11:25:44 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 18, 2013, 11:09:11 AM

God give me patience....... it's Queen's  ::)
You'll find the version of English us lads have is Hiberno English.
Anyway it's time ye lads and Galway entered ALL the Leinster Hurling Championships not just the Senior.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 18, 2013, 11:32:08 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 18, 2013, 11:25:44 AM

Anyway it's time ye lads and Galway entered ALL the Leinster Hurling Championships not just the Senior.

I'm all for it, in fact last year they entered the Leinster minor B leagues and won it, so things have been in place already, but keep checking the spelling and forget about the thread. :P
Post by: clootfromthe21 on September 18, 2013, 11:52:01 AM

You'll never win an All Ireland till you get your grammar right FFS

You'll find the version of English we have is Hiberno-English

Anyway, it's time you lads and Galway entered all the Leinster hurling championships, not just the senior.

Sorry, you were saying????
Post by: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 11:54:50 AM

Will Leinster also take in Down, Derry, Armagh and anyone else who wants to compete in hurling?
Post by: Zulu on September 18, 2013, 12:48:41 PM
Do they not compete in a B championship?
Post by: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 01:44:08 PM
Quote from: Zulu on September 18, 2013, 12:48:41 PM

No, in the Ulster championship, minor and U-21.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 18, 2013, 01:52:30 PM

Was just the league
Post by: Rossfan on September 18, 2013, 02:26:08 PM
Quote from: clootfromthe21 on September 18, 2013, 11:52:01 AM

Anyway, it's time you lads and Galway entered all the Leinster hurling championships, not just the senior.

Shtop re writin me Hiberno English into Queen's  :D
A number of Counties compete in an Ulster SHC but only Antrim compete in the Leinster SHC.
The same should be done at U21 and Minor.
Post by: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 02:27:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 18, 2013, 01:52:30 PM

Was just the league

What league?
Post by: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 02:32:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 18, 2013, 02:26:08 PM
Quote from: clootfromthe21 on September 18, 2013, 11:52:01 AM

Shtop re writin me Hiberno English into Queen's  :D
A number of Counties compete in an Ulster SHC but only Antrim compete in the Leinster SHC.
The same should be done at U21 and Minor.

The Ulster SHC is just a sham since its link into the AI proper was removed, at least the remaining counties have the Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard etc, etc, to fill the void.

What would happen at minor and U-21 if Antrim (somehow defacto) were to be moved into Leinster? Would Galway have to go the same way? Would either ever get a home game?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 18, 2013, 02:35:55 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 02:27:54 PM

Was just the league

What league?

There was a winter league set up last year, involved teams like Laois, Kildare, Carlow, while in the bigger section you had Kilkenny, Dublin, Wexford, Offaly. We played in the lower grade and won it, I take it Down were not in it??/
Post by: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 02:38:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 18, 2013, 02:35:55 PM

Was just the league

What league?

There was a winter league set up last year, involved teams like Laois, Kildare, Carlow, while in the bigger section you had Kilkenny, Dublin, Wexford, Offaly. We played in the lower grade and won it, I take it Down were not in it??/

I presume that's minors you're talking about. There was also an Ulster minor league we were in, I think Antrim had an U-17 development squad in it, think Down won it. We weren't in any Leinster Minor B league.
Post by: Rossfan on September 18, 2013, 02:42:27 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 02:32:06 PM

What would happen at minor and U-21 if Antrim (somehow defacto) were to be moved into Leinster? Rest of Ulster pay in the B Competition as is their standard.
Would Galway have to go the same way? Yes
Would either ever get a home game? Why not?
Post by: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 02:53:02 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 18, 2013, 02:42:27 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 02:32:06 PM

What would happen at minor and U-21 if Antrim (somehow defacto) were to be moved into Leinster? Rest of Ulster pay in the B Competition as is their standard.
Would Galway have to go the same way? Yes
Would either ever get a home game? Why not?

Antrim beat Down U-21 by 2 points in Casement, I'd suggest that's a similar standard to Antrim. We won the Ulster minor championship last year. I'll repeat, why just Antrim?

I know you haven't got the first clue about hurling structures as they are now but neither Antrim or Galway get a home fixture when they're in the Leinster championship, but you knew that, right?

Is there a minor B championship?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 18, 2013, 03:29:30 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 02:38:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 18, 2013, 02:35:55 PM

Was just the league

What league?

I presume that's minors you're talking about. There was also an Ulster minor league we were in, I think Antrim had an U-17 development squad in it, think Down won it. We weren't in any Leinster Minor B league.

Yes Johnny we had a under 17 squad in Ulster and the 'better' ones played in Leinster.
Post by: Rossfan on September 18, 2013, 04:10:04 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 02:53:02 PM

I know you haven't got the first clue about hurling structures
I know more than you anyway because there is a Minor B All Ireland played on an open draw while the U21 B is still tied to a ( almost non existent) Provincial structure hence Kerry get a bye to the AI Final as Ulster's gallant reps Tyrone seemingly conceded a walkover.
Post by: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 04:28:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 18, 2013, 04:10:04 PM

I know more than you anyway because there is a Minor B All Ireland played on an open draw while the U21 B is still tied to a ( almost non existent) Provincial structure hence Kerry get a bye to the AI Final as Ulster's gallant reps Tyrone seemingly conceded a walkover.

Strange that you didn't know that both counties 'invited' in the Leinster senior championship had to forfeit home advantage in any games to do so.

Post by: Rossfan on September 18, 2013, 04:51:07 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 18, 2013, 04:28:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 18, 2013, 04:10:04 PM

Strange that you didn't know that both counties 'invited' in the Leinster senior championship had to forfeit home advantage in any games to do so.
Pales into insignificance compared to not knowing there's a minor B Championship ;)