http://geoguessr.com/
see a picture on Streeview and guess where it is!
I got 10,123 on the first 5 attempts. Easy enough to identify Australia or Russia, not so easy to say where exactly!
Some places just look the same - 10100
It's pretty addictive.
There are two ways to play.
1 - move round a little, don't use google and see what score you can get
2 - use google and google maps to try to get as close as possible.
Once you start using method 2 it's hard to change :'(
QuoteSome places just look the same - 10100
In big places you could be a vast distance out. I clicked on British Colombia, a reasonable guess, but it was really Alaska 1000km away!
QuoteOnce you start using method 2 it's hard to change
It depends, some of the god forsaken roads in forests I had could anywhere, hard to zoom in on them.
Interesting all the same.
11514 Picked Arizona, but it was Alaska--Ouch! Got some lucky clues--Sugarloaf - happened to know Sugarloaf is in Maine. Got the word "ristorante", so opted for Italy, and had some Cyrillic letters, so went for Russia.
14724. The last one showed a crossroads with two towns named - each 13 km in opposite directions. So I googled and found them in Sweden and was able to get within .225 km - 6700-odd points.
Any fcuker that uses Google is dead inside. This is very important.
Be good to do one in Ireland. Imagine seeing Hardstation in the shellsuit with the sausage bap.
14708... got a handy one got me a few pts, landed at some house, oldest wooden house in Florida, St Augsustine. 3km away haha
21281 Got a crossroads in Australia with road sign clearly visible, within .189 km 6463 points! I then got a French town with a sign anf got within 3km.
QuoteAny fcuker that uses Google is dead inside. This is very important.
Using Google is cheating, I use Bing.
The missus got somewhere outside Banbridge last night, she thought it was somewhere around Newtownhamilton.
Haven't seen any others in Ireland.
I got a class one in Dawson City, Yukon. Main street looked like something from the Wild West (all wooden structures but there was a casino and everything was called "Gold Rush......."
Some parts of the central US are remarkably hick looking, you'd think they were in Mexico or south America.
Great find!
America has yellow lines in the middle of the road and white lines at the edge, in other countries it's the opposite. Sometimes you'll get lucky and see a road sign. You can see what side of the road the cars are on too, which is a good clue. Strange alphabets appear on signs...
Great little exercise. My old high school geography teacher would love this.
You got 17957 points in total - Only one bad guess in Germany when it was alaska - got lucky with two one showed a romanian flag and one was obviously alaska. Great craic
Got a handy wee one, Delamont Country Park outside Dpk.
Keep getting Alaska, Austrailia and Scandinavia; and the first one is almost always in the absolute middle of nowhere!
I will say this much, I'm amazed at how close some of my genuine guesses have been. Great wee game.
28745 although i did use google a bit without google 13555 was my best
Got Moville there, right at the front doors of the Foyle Hotel
Quote from: guy crouchback on May 23, 2013, 09:06:38 AM
28745 although i did use google a bit without google 13555 was my best
Using google is like using a dictionary for a crossword, useless and your score doesn't count
Game finished!
You got 11890 points in total.
Without goggle or other cheats!!
Think of Google as a hard drive for your brain. Not using Google is like trying to name a person you've never seen before from a photo.
QuoteThink of Google as a hard drive for your brain.
It would be an idea if they restricted the time you had for each selection, to prevent exhaustive research/addiction.
In Russia, only the main centres are on Streetview, so you don't get places in the middle of nowhere. Some quite nice places too, that I had never heard of and would never have thought of visiting.
Just a black screen coming up when I try the link!
QuoteJust a black screen coming up when I try the link!
Probably the Australian outback at night, or Finland in December. Pick one or the other, you'll only be few thousand km out.
Why does this game not work on my laptop?
All I see is black boxes, which at first I thought was the Cuban ladies volleyball team changing room, but then I realised it wasnt moving. Is it java based or what?
Quote from: Orior on May 23, 2013, 01:25:53 PM
Why does this game not work on my laptop?
All I see is black boxes, which at first I thought was the Cuban ladies volleyball team changing room, but then I realised it wasnt moving. Is it java based or what?
That all I'm getting too.
No google 13742 points. First one I got was Kilmore Quay! I was .449 off
No google and managed to get
Game finished!
You got 13447 points in total.
First one was Crosskeys out near Ahoghil!! .4 out
I keep getting places in the middle of feckin nowhere the more I play it- Back to work so :D
Played it 5 times and only once or twice was the location not in North America.
Wtf am I supposed to make of this?
(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/geoguessr_zps5b435d40.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/geoguessr_zps5b435d40.png.html)
Jap flag so in and around there?
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2013, 03:01:14 PM
Jap flag so in and around there?
Nah that's a Cork flag, I seen it in Croke Park.
I thought this was the Cork flag:
(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/confederateflag_zps30b86f82.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/confederateflag_zps30b86f82.png.html)
QuoteWtf am I supposed to make of this?
Apparently you can get photos posted on Google as well as Streetview. If you do, you are banjaxed!
Quote from: Smokin Joe on May 22, 2013, 10:01:33 PM
The missus got somewhere outside Banbridge last night, she thought it was somewhere around Newtownhamilton.
Haven't seen any others in Ireland.
I got a class one in Dawson City, Yukon. Main street looked like something from the Wild West (all wooden structures but there was a casino and everything was called "Gold Rush......."
I found a road near Clonmel. Clicked in Waterford, which helped my score of 13000 (approx). Great fun.
First city was in Japan. Helps that I lived in the country and recognise specific car types that are not sold outside the country, but it doesn't help that every fekkin Japanese city looks identical (except the cultural centres, that is). Fourth clue was Norseman in WA which I have driven few a few times. :D
Addicted already. ???
Haha, just got the Sandfire Roadhouse between Port Hedland and Broome. I have stopped there a million times.
Played this on my iPad.
First game and I got 8,912 points. I'm away to improve on that.
Quote from: DickyRock on May 22, 2013, 06:40:08 PM
Some places just look the same - 10100
"dicky rock" wonder how long this will last ::)
Got it working using Firefox.
Good wee game!
Didn't know where Dunshauglin was. Thought Sligo.
Quote from: ONeill on May 23, 2013, 10:31:50 PM
Didn't know where Dunshauglin was. Thought Sligo.
Thats Meath, innit?
13550 and no buckin Google
Everywhere I get looms the same - some deserted dusty road. When I choose Australia it is N. Mexico, when I choose southern US it is S. Africa!
10911 1st time. Think i'll bow out now.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 23, 2013, 11:21:16 PM
Everywhere I get looms the same - some deserted dusty road. When I choose Australia it is N. Mexico, when I choose southern US it is S. Africa!
Always pick Keady.
On my first go I got a street in Madeira. Handy - I was on holiday there a few years ago.
Ok, after a string of middle-of-nowheres, I yielded to temptation and resorted to Google. Score-20,913. A slighly different game when you can be a sleuth rather than an educated guesser.
QuoteDidn't know where Dunshauglin was.
You musn't have been paying attention all these years O'Neill ;)
Off to a great start--over 6,000 on first guess (easy-Tyrone-Fermanagh border), but of course the screen froze. Now, I'll be stranded somewhere in Western Australia
I managed over 20,000 without using Google, although with a fair bit of poking around the map provided. Got a place in Sicily to 13m! I've never got a view of anywhere in Ireland or Britain. Mostly Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Alaska, and Russia, last time I got Romania.
Brazil is big also, I found the road number, but it ran for about 2000km!
What's the highest score anyone's recorded? Mine is mid-27s, but I'm sure someone's racked up around 31,000. Really enjoying this. Getting to see parts of the world as they truly are, not embellished by picture-postcard tourist shots.
14000. No google. Takes some (electronic) tramping up and down some roads to find signs.
Well, of course! I introduced my wife to geoguessr, no google help, after she'd spent a day ay the beach, and wouldn't you know it, the first locale was a courthouse about 45 mins from our home that she'd passed on the way to and from the sea, so she nailed both it and me, racking up 14,529 to my patheticv 4k. Yep, pride goeth before the fall.
My best to date, 11776.
One the locations was inside a shopping mall is southern Sweden.
As Oraisteach said, this is getting to see other parts of the world as they really are.
9,466 at my first attempt. Something tells me I'll be wasting more time here than on gaaboard!
Quote from: Oraisteach on May 26, 2013, 09:30:00 PM
Well, of course! I introduced my wife to geoguessr, no google help, after she'd spent a day ay the beach, and wouldn't you know it, the first locale was a courthouse about 45 mins from our home that she'd passed on the way to and from the sea, so she nailed both it and me, racking up 14,529 to my patheticv 4k. Yep, pride goeth before the fall.
A good day then ;)
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 27, 2013, 11:36:27 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on May 26, 2013, 09:30:00 PM
A good day then ;)
Jammy fcuker
Nothing like a game where you have to find the Geo-Spot!
I managed 27,000 without checking offline, just looking at the inset map.
Challenge http://tinyurl.com/armaghniac-geo
Quote from: armaghniac on May 29, 2013, 10:30:33 PM
I think there should be a time limit. I got 10,988 with no more than 1 minute per location.
15,511 Ouch, you laid a Cavan on me. Boy, in places Australia looks like Texas.
How did you offer a challenge?
QuoteI think there should be a time limit. I got 10,988 with no more than 1 minute per location.
I certainly didn't get that score with 1 minute per location. I poked around a fair while. One minute wouldn't be very long, you might France or Spain say, but would not have a region.
QuoteBoy, in places Australia looks like Texas.
I knew it was Australia, but still 1000km out!
QuoteHow did you offer a challenge?
There is a challenge URL at the end of the game, I just copied this into tinyurl.
Don't mock my ignorance, but what's "tinyurl"? I find the abacus hard. Can you challenge particular people? I want to have a go at my wife (there I go again, O'N & TB).
Actually, I may have it.
tinyurl.com is a way of translating a long URL to a... tiny one.
Handy for those who cant cut and paste, or use the editor
Quote from: armaghniac on May 29, 2013, 10:30:33 PM
http://tinyurl.com/NeverBeatTheDeeler
Good man Deeler, if you got that without other research fair douze to you. I picked the wrong road at the Czech border, the road I picked was a lot wider. I was well out in Australia. Places in outer Alaska/BrazilAustralia are hard to locate precisely!
My best yet
Very small URL indeed (http://geoguessr.com/?s=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%3D%3D)
QuoteMy best yet
Very small URL indeed
Orior, you certainly do obscure places. I did beat your score, as I recognised Estonia and it isn't that big so my guess wasn't too far way, but the American locations were pretty hard to get.
OK, lads and lassies, using Google I score 32145 on this one. Anyone want to have a go?
http://geoguessr.com/?s=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%3D%3D
9,500 points and no googling.
Did that guy in the fourth picture have a Tyrone jersy on?