Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Dougal Maguire on May 08, 2013, 08:11:35 AM

Title: Alex Ferguson
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 08, 2013, 08:11:35 AM
Is he about to leave?
Title: Re: Sir Alex Ferguson
Post by: johnneycool on May 08, 2013, 09:01:28 AM
Clearing his desk at Carrington as we speak.
Post by: Orior on May 08, 2013, 09:16:30 AM
Change the thread title to Alex Ferguson please
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 08, 2013, 09:22:19 AM
Nah.

The speculation is that he is to sign a 40 year contract.
Post by: moysider on May 08, 2013, 09:30:11 AM

It s on the news now.
Post by: Olly on May 08, 2013, 09:49:40 AM
Thoughts are with his family and friends at this sad time.
Post by: mouview on May 08, 2013, 10:02:21 AM
Christmas Day once again for Sky TV.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 10:05:11 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 08, 2013, 09:16:30 AM

Why?
Post by: Billys Boots on May 08, 2013, 10:15:45 AM
Say what you will about the oul divil but it will be a different world (for those interested in any kind of sport) without him.
Post by: ranch on May 08, 2013, 10:21:33 AM

Post by: nrico2006 on May 08, 2013, 10:40:55 AM
There will never be another wind up merchant like him managing in the Premier League.

Post by: screenexile on May 08, 2013, 10:41:40 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 08, 2013, 10:40:55 AM
There will never be another wind up merchant like him managing in the Premier League.

Jose Mourinho?!
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 08, 2013, 10:43:04 AM
It's the ref's fault..
Post by: Billys Boots on May 08, 2013, 10:47:51 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 08, 2013, 10:43:04 AM
It's the ref's fault..

Did you hear him giving out about Howard Webb on Sunday - it was hilarious. 
Post by: laoislad on May 08, 2013, 10:50:29 AM
EC  Unique and ross4life haven't been this upset since Brian left Westlife.
Post by: johnneycool on May 08, 2013, 10:52:56 AM
Quote from: laoislad on May 08, 2013, 10:50:29 AM

There'd be no point in getting him a new watch for his retirement present as we all know he's already got a good one by the number of times he has shown it off on the sidelines. He also loved to show it to the fourth officials especially near the end of games they were losing.
Post by: screenexile on May 08, 2013, 11:08:13 AM
Quote from: laoislad on May 08, 2013, 10:48:50 AM

Slur Alex would even be OK in my book!
Post by: EC Unique on May 08, 2013, 11:48:59 AM
Quote from: laoislad on May 08, 2013, 10:50:29 AM

Brian has left?

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooo :'(
Post by: seafoid on May 08, 2013, 11:58:14 AM
Quote from: Olly on May 08, 2013, 09:49:40 AM
Apparently he needs new jaws on the NHS and Wrigleys shares have taken a hammering in London.
Post by: CC1 on May 08, 2013, 12:02:53 PM
Stop being so childish.
Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2013, 12:03:00 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 08, 2013, 11:58:14 AM
Quote from: Olly on May 08, 2013, 09:49:40 AM
Apparently he needs new jaws on the NHS and Wrigleys shares have taken a hammering in London.

The Cubs will be staying put then.
Post by: ONeill on May 08, 2013, 12:23:32 PM
He's had some career. Always reminded me of Neighbours. Sort of been hanging around the TV since the early 80s. Really hope Neighbours doesn't follow his lead.
Post by: trileacman on May 08, 2013, 01:24:56 PM
Good riddance.
Post by: bennydorano on May 08, 2013, 01:36:51 PM
And talk of Pepe Reina goin for £8m, doing the lotto tonite.
Post by: babarino on May 08, 2013, 02:20:06 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 10:05:11 AM

Why?

Because it's sycophantic. Unless of course you salivate using royal titles like some working in RTE.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 02:25:33 PM
Quote from: babarino on May 08, 2013, 02:20:06 PM

Why?

Because it's sycophantic. Unless of course you salivate using royal titles like some working in RTE.

It annoys you, I can tell.
Post by: Syferus on May 08, 2013, 02:48:39 PM

Why?

Jaysus. We're not at that craic down south. A hard day's labour in the bog will bate that stuff out of the system.

I thought DAME Helen Mirren was excellent in the The QUEEN, though.
Post by: babarino on May 08, 2013, 03:03:25 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 02:25:33 PM

Why?

You're perceptive if nothing else. Brown nosers are an annoying breed.

Anyroad I couldn't give a toss if he retires or not. I'll leave you to your tributes.
Post by: ross4life on May 08, 2013, 03:18:39 PM
When even some haters respect him it confirms what living legend he is. Won't be the same without him but all good things must come to a end. I hope he remains healthy during his retirement & hopefully he gets the chance to see some more success for Man United.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 03:32:28 PM
Quote from: babarino on May 08, 2013, 03:03:25 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 02:25:33 PM

Why?

You're perceptive if nothing else. Brown nosers are an annoying breed.

Anyroad I couldn't give a toss if he retires or not. I'll leave you to your tributes.

Brill, purple nose more like. Couldn't give a toss but will have an opinion on whether he's called Sir or just Alex?? hmmmmmm. I have also paid no tributes to him, lazy posters are an annoying breed
Post by: imtommygunn on May 08, 2013, 03:34:35 PM
Personally speaking I did not like the man at all.

To me he was a bully. He bullied referees, he bullied the FA, he bullied journalists and the list goes on. Every media interview he gave his answers were loaded to put pressure on others. 

If that's what it takes to be successful then fair enough. I respect that he was successful but I did not respect the way he did it.

Mourinho is of similar ilk.

People like Guardiola can be hugely successful without having to resort to how the previous two I mentioned conduct themselves.

No I'm not a Liverpool fan.

Post by: laoislad on May 08, 2013, 03:36:11 PM
If United don't lose either of their last two games the last man to have beaten Fergie will be Rafa..
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 03:39:52 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 08, 2013, 03:34:35 PM

To me he was a bully. He bullied referees, he bullied the FA, he bullied journalists and the list goes on. Every media interview he gave his answers were loaded to put pressure on others. 

If that's what it takes to be successful then fair enough. I respect that he was successful but I did not respect the way he did it.

People like Guardiola can be hugely successful without having to resort to how the previous two I mentioned conduct themselves.

How many successful bosses (in any walk of life) are genuine nice people? Winners are hateful fcukers in most jobs, Fergie when working for Utd was the same, I'm sure he's a nice fella away from work
Post by: trileacman on May 08, 2013, 03:43:25 PM

I feel exactly the same, successful but a vile character beneath it all.

Added to that there is a huge degree of hypocrisy at home when it comes to "Sir" Alex. Lads who would shove all the republican claptrap of the day down your throat are falling over themselves to declare the brilliance of a hardened Unionist. He's entitled to a political opinion of course but the hypocrisy of his fan-boys is nauseating.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 08, 2013, 03:44:51 PM
I'm not a big believer in the theory that you can be a **** in one part of your life and be the nicest guy in the world in others. Single mindedness, determination etc are fair enough. Tramping on others is not in my view.

Each to their own!

To get above a certain "status" in life you need that ruthlessness in you and I know that but why did people like Guardiola and guys like that not have to do that yet Mourinho / Fergie did.

Anyway, just my opinion.

I think the job is too big for MOyes as well. He's a motivator and a manager of a solid side. United job different kettle of fish altogether.
Post by: trileacman on May 08, 2013, 03:46:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 03:39:52 PM

How many successful bosses (in any walk of life) are genuine nice people? Winners are hateful fcukers in most jobs, Fergie when working for Utd was the same, I'm sure he's a nice fella away from work

What difference does that statement make? You've just compounded the fact that he was very unlikable and used his position to bully alot of people. As you said "a hateful f**ker" when doing his job.
Post by: ballinaman on May 08, 2013, 03:48:56 PM
Quote from: trileacman on May 08, 2013, 03:43:25 PM

Added to that there is a huge degree of hypocrisy at home when it comes to "Sir" Alex. Lads who would shove all the republican claptrap of the day down your throat are falling over themselves to declare the brilliance of a hardened Unionist. He's entitled to a political opinion of course but the hypocrisy of his fan-boys is nauseating.
Bit harsh. Met the man 3 times and he came across a sound guy.
Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2013, 03:50:18 PM
This thread is approaching the event horizon of Godwin's Law.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 03:53:21 PM

Keep bringing poltics into sport, won't be long before he's put into the same category of Thatcher and Hitler. What is his political opinion? Sir Bob would be in the same bracket then?

I wouldn't be a big Utd fan, my dad was mad on them and I went to a lot of games years ago, even when Liverpool were winning championships but the times I met him (even during a game) he came across well, even signed autograph books of kids who were sitting beside us during the game.

But when dealing with the haters he in turn played the bully, a winner basically, like Roy Keane

Post by: Captain Obvious on May 08, 2013, 03:58:56 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 08, 2013, 10:15:45 AM
Say what you will about the oul divil but it will be a different world (for those interested in any kind of sport) without him.

Love or hate him he was one hell of character the sport will be lesser place without him.
Post by: Hound on May 08, 2013, 03:59:23 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 08, 2013, 03:36:11 PM
If United don't lose either of their last two games the last man to have beaten Fergie will be Rafa..
Rafa beat him 4 times of out of the last 5.
No wonder he retired.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 08, 2013, 04:02:30 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 03:53:21 PM

Keep bringing poltics into sport, won't be long before he's put into the same category of Thatcher and Hitler. What is his political opinion? Sir Bob would be in the same bracket then?

I wouldn't be a big Utd fan, my dad was mad on them and I went to a lot of games years ago, even when Liverpool were winning championships but the times I met him (even during a game) he came across well, even signed autograph books of kids who were sitting beside us during the game.

But when dealing with the haters he in turn played the bully, a winner basically, like Roy Keane

I know feck all about soccer but I met Ferguson at the Curragh about fifteen years ago and he was a gentleman. He spent well over an hour after the last race had finished signing racecards, posing for photographs and chatting with the public.
Post by: trileacman on May 08, 2013, 04:15:20 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 03:53:21 PM

I've no issue with his politics, I said that already. It's the hypocrisy of some lads I know who would piss on Linfield or Hearts for being "Rangers lite" and have no time for Snow Patrol/Rory McIlroy/or that presenter on MOTD because of their "perceived" politic persuasion but fawn incessantly over Sir Alex.

I don't see your problem here you're just agreeing with what I wrote, that he was successful bully.
Post by: trileacman on May 08, 2013, 04:23:27 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 08, 2013, 03:44:51 PM
I'm not a big believer in the theory that you can be a **** in one part of your life and be the nicest guy in the world in others. Single mindedness, determination etc are fair enough. Tramping on others is not in my view.

Each to their own!

To get above a certain "status" in life you need that ruthlessness in you and I know that but why did people like Guardiola and guys like that not have to do that yet Mourinho / Fergie did.

Anyway, just my opinion.

I think the job is too big for MOyes as well. He's a motivator and a manager of a solid side. United job different kettle of fish altogether.

I'd agree with that too, as you go down the football league you'd see managers that sit in one group or the other.

Neil Warnock is a bully and acts in a very self-absorbed way, you could compare that to guys like Steve Coppell, Steve Bruce or Mike Jewell who all showed a bit of decency. Phil Brown would have been a case similar to the latter, if not as bad as Neil Warnock.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 08, 2013, 04:52:09 PM
Quote from: trileacman on May 08, 2013, 04:23:27 PM

Each to their own!

Anyway, just my opinion.

I'd agree with that too, as you go down the football league you'd see managers that sit in one group or the other.

Neil Warnock is a bully and acts in a very self-absorbed way, you could compare that to guys like Steve Coppell, Steve Bruce or Mike Jewell who all showed a bit of decency. Phil Brown would have been a case similar to the latter, if not as bad as Neil Warnock.

Maybe that is why Pep is a level below Mourinho and Sir Alex.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 08, 2013, 04:54:24 PM
That would make sense if he was actually below them.
Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2013, 04:59:55 PM
Imagine the success Matt Busby would have had if he had been an asshole.
Post by: ONeill on May 08, 2013, 05:00:02 PM
Ding Dong the watch is dead.
Post by: screenexile on May 08, 2013, 05:07:53 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 08, 2013, 04:52:09 PM

Each to their own!

Anyway, just my opinion.

Brilliant!!! In his paltry 4 years as a first team manager he won 14 trophies as well as matching the 2 Champions Leagues Whiskeynose has.

If he continues in that vein he'll surpass Fergies Man Utd total in another 4 years and there's no way he's not going to win another Champions League. He well deserves to be up there!
Post by: qubdub on May 08, 2013, 05:25:00 PM

Firstly, have you actually met him? I haven't; but a friend of mine has and his opinion of him matches that of the other posters on this thread, i.e. that he is an absolute gentleman.

Secondly, his politics. I've never known this to be in the public domain, all I know is that he's a Protestant from Glasgow who had a stint with Rangers. He also had a Catholic grandparent/married a Catholic, not the sort of characteristics one associates with a 'hardened Unionist', maybe you could elaborate on that one. (I have read his autobiography and the impression I got was that he wasn't fussed either way - if anything he wasn't too happy with some of the treatment he got at Rangers)

As for you being nauseated by Republicans referring to him as Sir Alex, you're easily wound up.
Post by: Apparently so on May 08, 2013, 05:30:05 PM
Anyone that calls him "sir" is a f**king arsehole

Anyway, all the best to him. One of the finest managers the world has seen even though he`s a p***k
Post by: qubdub on May 08, 2013, 05:37:33 PM
Quote from: Apparently so on May 08, 2013, 05:30:05 PM
Anyone that calls him "sir" is a f**king arsehole

Anyway, all the best to him. One of the finest managers the world has seen even though he`s a p***k
Why? Are you really that much of an anglophobe?
Post by: Apparently so on May 08, 2013, 05:45:45 PM
Its just sad calling another person sir before his full name

Brit lovers
Post by: qubdub on May 08, 2013, 05:52:28 PM
Quote from: Apparently so on May 08, 2013, 05:45:45 PM

Brit lovers
Wow, you're such a Republican.
Post by: Puckoon on May 08, 2013, 05:55:18 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 08, 2013, 03:50:18 PM
This thread is approaching the event horizon of Godwin's Law.

Took one more post and 3 minutes.  :)
Title: Re: Alex Ferguson
Post by: laoislad on May 08, 2013, 06:28:50 PM

@Luis16saurez: A legend of English football will retire at the end of the season. Thanks for all the memories JAMIE CARRAGHER.
Post by: ranch on May 08, 2013, 06:37:40 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 08, 2013, 06:28:50 PM

@Luis16saurez: A legend of English football will retire at the end of the season. Thanks for all the memories JAMIE CARRAGHER.

Carragher a legend of English football? A Liverpool legend of course, but English football, really?  :-\
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 09:14:16 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 08, 2013, 04:59:55 PM
Imagine the success Matt Busby would have had if he had been an asshole.

Being a bully didn't help Souness in fairness so it cant work all the time
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 08, 2013, 09:19:19 PM
Ah, I read a page of this and  now I remember why I couldnt give a shite about any English team. Carry on.
Post by: Rossfan on May 08, 2013, 09:37:22 PM

Why?
It really sickens my hole to hear the people of a Republic continually refer to this oul git by the Feudal medieval "title" given him by an unelected foreign Head of State.
Post by: Apparently so on May 08, 2013, 09:39:02 PM
Quote from: qubdub on May 08, 2013, 05:52:28 PM

Brit lovers

West Brit w**ker
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 09:45:49 PM
Quote from: Apparently so on May 08, 2013, 09:39:02 PM

Brit lovers

West Brit w**ker

You really are a bitter wee man. Carry on
Post by: qubdub on May 08, 2013, 09:47:53 PM

Brit lovers

West Brit w**ker
If only you knew lad! Bed time soon run along  :-*
Post by: ranch on May 08, 2013, 10:03:44 PM

Each to their own!

Anyway, just my opinion.

People are talking like Guardiola's some sort of saint. Anybody remember how he ignored Cristiano Ronaldo only a few months ago when he went to shake his hand?
Post by: ross4life on May 08, 2013, 10:10:36 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 08, 2013, 09:37:22 PM

Why?
It really sickens my hole to hear the people of a Republic continually refer to this oul git by the Feudal medieval "title" given him by an unelected foreign Head of State.

I always thought Elphin people had bit more respect about sporting legends  :D

Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 08, 2013, 09:19:19 PM
Ah, I read a page of this and  now I remember why I couldnt give a shite about any English team. Carry on.
Myles you shouldn't have to read page to remember. I couldn't give a shite about a lot topics on here especially those about religion or politics.
Post by: Apparently so on May 08, 2013, 10:12:58 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 09:45:49 PM

Brit lovers

West Brit w**ker

"wee"  :D
Post by: snoopdog on May 08, 2013, 10:36:32 PM
Sir Alex thanks for the memories and an endless line of trophies. the greatest ever. Sir isn't good enough, her majesty should give you her job.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 10:37:26 PM
Quote from: Apparently so on May 08, 2013, 10:12:58 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2013, 09:45:49 PM

Brit lovers

West Brit w**ker

"wee"  :D

It's not a term used that's based on height, but you'd know that :P
Post by: laoislad on May 08, 2013, 10:43:28 PM
Quote from: ranch on May 08, 2013, 10:03:44 PM

Each to their own!

Anyway, just my opinion.

People are talking like Guardiola's some sort of saint. Anybody remember how he ignored Cristiano Ronaldo only a few months ago when he went to shake his hand?
Post by: rodney trotter on May 08, 2013, 10:47:02 PM
Quote from: ross4life on May 08, 2013, 10:10:36 PM

Why?

Myles you shouldn't have to read page to remember. I couldn't give a shite about a lot topics on here especially those about religion or politics.

Post by: our_fella on May 08, 2013, 11:08:26 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/22454547

Great show men on bbc sport now
Post by: laoislad on May 08, 2013, 11:38:29 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BJxe0NXCcAIMznj.jpg)
Post by: ranch on May 09, 2013, 12:44:31 AM
Quote from: laoislad on May 08, 2013, 10:43:28 PM

Each to their own!

Anyway, just my opinion.

What?
Post by: rrhf on May 09, 2013, 07:34:53 AM
I have to laugh at the shaking of the hand thing in soccer as if there's some level of decorum and standard in such a corrupt shabby sport/ enterprise.
Post by: ballinaman on May 09, 2013, 07:48:03 AM

His vile character here was something else, this guy broke his foot in a game V United and look what the he a the cheek to send to him....
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BJxqbnNCUAALziX.jpg)
Post by: The Gs Man on May 09, 2013, 08:13:17 AM
Lads, lads. A nicer man you'll never meet. I'm a bit biased because my granny practically reared him when he was growing up in Govan (we're distant cousins), but haters will always hate. As for questioning his politics, catch a f**king grip. As someone mentioned earlier, married a catholic, and he's from a mixed marriage. Just because he played for Rangers doesn't mean shit. Sure look at Mo Johnston.
Post by: CC1 on May 09, 2013, 08:30:36 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 09, 2013, 07:48:03 AM

His vile character here was something else, this guy broke his foot in a game V United and look what the he a the cheek to send to him....
What is vile is you putting lies onto the internet about Ferguson. When did United play Standard Leige in the 2009 season? YOU have some cheek.

http://www.goal.com/en/news/1716/champions-league/2009/09/14/1499994/steven-defour-injury-blow-for-standard-liege
Post by: BenDover on May 09, 2013, 08:36:24 AM
Quote from: ranch on May 09, 2013, 12:44:31 AM

Each to their own!

Anyway, just my opinion.

What?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iphu65q3NrI
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2013, 08:52:55 AM
Quote from: CC1 on May 09, 2013, 08:30:36 AM

What is vile is you putting lies onto the internet about Ferguson. When did United play Standard Leige in the 2009 season? YOU have some cheek.

http://www.goal.com/en/news/1716/champions-league/2009/09/14/1499994/steven-defour-injury-blow-for-standard-liege

Read the letter again, then you might have read what he said, I believe he said, I heard you got an injury in one of YOUR games he did say in a game against us you dipshit, but carry on with what you believe. Fergie got a letter from a fan and asked him to write to him.

READ BEFORE YOU POST
Post by: ballinaman on May 09, 2013, 08:53:30 AM
Aye, that makes him a sounder chap even that it wasn't in a game against United and still took the time to write that. Thanks for pointing that out. ;)
Post by: nrico2006 on May 09, 2013, 09:05:13 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 09, 2013, 08:53:30 AM
Aye, that makes him a sounder chap even that it wasn't in a game against United and still took the time to write that. Thanks for pointing that out. ;)

I think Fergie was after Defour for a while, hence the letter.  A bit reminiscent of the RVN chase.  Still, nice of him to do it.
Post by: CC1 on May 09, 2013, 09:18:22 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2013, 08:52:55 AM

Read the letter again, then you might have read what he said, I believe he said, I heard you got an injury in one of YOUR games he did say in a game against us you dipshit, but carry on with what you believe. Fergie got a letter from a fan and asked him to write to him.

READ BEFORE YOU POST
Not quite sure why you're quoting me on this...  :o
Post by: CC1 on May 09, 2013, 09:19:56 AM
No problem.  :P
Post by: deiseach on May 09, 2013, 09:34:03 AM
I was acquainted with Leo Varadker in college and found him to be perfectly nice fella. So if you think, based on his public persona, that he's a pompous hard-faced right-wing jerk, you're wrong.
Post by: Bingo on May 09, 2013, 10:04:12 AM

Wasn't this lad the next big thing at the time and this letter was widely hyped as a Fergie trick to get him to United should he recover?

Fergie loves a letter though, Craig Brown was talking about him on Today FM yesterday evening and he was talking about a long letter that he received from his good friend Fergie a few months back.
Post by: wildrover on May 09, 2013, 10:50:12 AM
Massive Ferguson Fan. Very sorry to see him go. Always had a sense that no matter what happened around the club, from take-over bids, stock-market floatation, star players departures, rival clubs periodic successes, he was in control of things (or at least gave the impression that he was, which at a club the size of Man Utd was just as important)...

Alongside the departures of David Gill (who has been outstanding in his role) and Wayne Rooney (who has consistently been in the top 3-4 players in each of his 10 years at the club, barring perhaps the last 2) these are uncertain times for the club. It is imperative that whoever comes in to fill all 3 positions be given time to find their feet and that the fans stay loyal and patient. It wont be an easy ride as you can be guaranteed that every blip along the way will be magnified 10-fold by a sensationalist media, but if anything is to be learned from Ferguson's tenure at the club it is that stability is key.

Impossible to predict future fortunes of the clubs success but very hopeful that with such a strong board of directors in place Man Utd have every chance of going on to enjoy continued success that it 'needs'. I say 'needs' because the economic situation the club is in demands it...anything less would be catastrophic!

On a side-note regarding the letter to Defour above I am fairly appalled at Ferguson's PA that they didn't proof-read his letter. From the manager of an institution the size of Man Utd, you would expect a level of professionalism to cover at the very least basic grammar and punctuation. Perhaps the whisky was in!!!
Post by: johnneycool on May 09, 2013, 11:05:28 AM

Did Alf Inge Haaland get a letter as well I wonder?

Ulterior motives there from Sur Alex, he's no dozer.
Post by: deiseach on May 09, 2013, 11:12:57 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 09, 2013, 09:58:54 AM
Quote from: deiseach on May 09, 2013, 09:34:03 AM
I was acquainted with Leo Varadker in college and found him to be perfectly nice fella. So if you think, based on his public persona, that he's a pompous hard-faced right-wing jerk, you're wrong.
I met Mickey Harte before and he seemed a nice fella.

I know, however, that he is a hateful bollix because he manages a team that is better at football than the team I support.

That's a daft attitude to have.
Post by: ranch on May 09, 2013, 12:55:34 PM
Quote from: BenDover on May 09, 2013, 08:36:24 AM
Quote from: ranch on May 09, 2013, 12:44:31 AM

Each to their own!

Anyway, just my opinion.

What?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iphu65q3NrI

I was saying 'what?' in response to LaoisLad's  rather bizarre smiley face...strange!
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 09, 2013, 01:43:57 PM

Fergie was obviously tapping him up. Plain to see.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 09, 2013, 01:51:59 PM
It would be churlish to fail to acknowledge his accomplishments. He seems to have been a fantastic man manager, a great motivator and a brilliantly driven club man. Obviously as a Liverpool fan, I rolled my eyes or got annoyed with some of the raméis he came out with regarding referees, or excuses for the rare defeats but if I were a Man United fan I'd probably think he was an absolute hero.

I felt his only real shortfall, especially in the earlier European adventures, was on the tactical side. I think he out-clevered himself in his attempt to conquer Europe in the early days, when simply playing the sort of stuff that won them the premierships would have been more than good enough I think. I know the foreigners rule impacted there, but even at that I think he tried to play a radically different game in Europe.

He will be missed I think, by all soccer fans, because whether you loved or hated him, he was certainly a character in the game, and as he polarised opinion he generated interest all by himself. A great manager and a great club man.

As a Liverpool fan, I hope United come back to earth, naturally, and if they are not careful with this appointment there might be a fallow period ahead, with all the Glazer questions appearing back on the radar. I think one of the fantastic things Ferguson did as a manager was make the fans forget what the Glazers were doing. A period of relatively poor seasons and suddenly that might become a much bigger issue.

I wish him well in his retirement, he's well deserved it.
Post by: ballinaman on May 09, 2013, 01:52:10 PM
Hardly constitutes being described as vile is all that I was trying to point out. Met him 3 times in Prenton Park at games over the space of 3 years and he remembered my name each time and was happy to stop and chat each time. Thought he came across very sound.
Post by: deiseach on May 09, 2013, 01:59:44 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 09, 2013, 01:52:10 PM
Hardly constitutes being described as vile is all that I was trying to point out. Met him 3 times in Prenton Park at games over the space of 3 years and he remembered my name each time and was happy to stop and chat each time. Thought he came across very sound.

What games brought you to Prenton Park?
Post by: ballinaman on May 09, 2013, 02:23:38 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 09, 2013, 01:59:44 PM

I'm a Tranmere supporter in my spare time as well for my sins.Family connections with the club. Ferguson was there at a United reserve game, must be around 2000 as far as I can remember. He was with Darren the other two times, watching when he was with Wrexham and then there again when he was manager or Peterborough.
Post by: deiseach on May 09, 2013, 02:41:14 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 09, 2013, 02:23:38 PM

I'm a Tranmere supporter in my spare time as well for my sins.Family connections with the club. Ferguson was there at a United reserve game, must be around 2000 as far as I can remember. He was with Darren the other two times, watching when he was with Wrexham and then there again when he was manager or Peterborough.

Right. Often threatened to go over the water to see Tranmere during my time in Liverpool. Never did make it. Pure lazy.
Post by: johnneycool on May 09, 2013, 03:27:05 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 09, 2013, 02:41:14 PM

Right. Often threatened to go over the water to see Tranmere during my time in Liverpool. Never did make it. Pure lazy.

Everton confirm Moyes has gone and Manu have prematurely welcomed Moyes on their facebook page then taken it down again.

Done and dusted it seems.

Best of Luck to Moyes, he'll take no shíte no matter how big the ego.
Post by: ballinaman on May 09, 2013, 03:33:46 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 09, 2013, 02:41:14 PM

Mersey tunnel toll is a rip off in fairness :D. If you are ever over for a weekend, Friday night games in Prenton are hard to beat.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2013, 03:36:34 PM

Not quite sure why you're quoting me on this...  :o

You claimed in it that Utd played Standard
Post by: deiseach on May 09, 2013, 03:51:52 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 09, 2013, 03:33:46 PM
Mersey tunnel toll is a rip off in fairness :D

It beats the alternatives.
Post by: Rossfan on May 09, 2013, 07:56:19 PM

Only if they are local ones.
Don't recall ever admitting to being one of them ( Elphins not sporting legends  ;D ) though  ;)
Post by: laoislad on May 09, 2013, 08:42:37 PM

Have followed them myself since Aldo joined them.Always keep an eye out for their results, Tranmere and Notts Forest would be my 'other' clubs that I have an interest in, been to both a few times.
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 09, 2013, 09:32:44 PM

Why?

I used to think that when I was 12, then I realised that politics and religion are in control of almost everything.
Post by: snoopdog on May 09, 2013, 09:42:11 PM
i cant believe in this day and age people get so wound up about a man being called Sir. Get a life, thankfully most of the country have moved on from this c.rap.  IS there no sectarian scottish football thread for you guys to go to and discuss Billy McNeills MBE and celtic wearing a poppy on their shirt each november. Sirs.
Post by: ONeill on May 09, 2013, 11:50:20 PM
If I heard a bollocks talk about Sir Alex Ferguson to me I'd be a bit embarrassed.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 10, 2013, 12:27:52 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 09, 2013, 11:50:20 PM
If I heard a bollocks talk about Sir Alex Ferguson to me I'd be a bit embarrassed.

I don't think I've ever used the term when talking about him but if others do so what, it's not a big deal, but when ones start talking political and making a political view point on it then I'm a bit embarrassed about them and their small attitudes. Things like that have dragged us down over the years and will continue to do so. Peace walls down in 2023??? Do me a favour
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 10, 2013, 01:07:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 10, 2013, 12:27:52 PM

I don't think I've ever used the term when talking about him but if others do so what, it's not a big deal, but when ones start talking political and making a political view point on it then I'm a bit embarrassed about them and their small attitudes. Things like that have dragged us down over the years and will continue to do so. Peace walls down in 2023??? Do me a favour

I agree with O'Neill. Sir this, Baroness that, Dame the other makes my skin crawl. It is not an anti-Brit thing, it's an anti-monarchy thing, no matter the country.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 10, 2013, 01:39:45 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 10, 2013, 01:07:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 10, 2013, 12:27:52 PM

I agree with O'Neill. Sir this, Baroness that, Dame the other makes my skin crawl. It is not an anti-Brit thing, it's an anti-monarchy thing, no matter the country.

Looking forward to seeing the reception Sir Alex gets at his last OT game.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 10, 2013, 01:47:24 PM
I'd imagine that's going to be very emotional. Definitely end of an era, and even for those of us looking in from outside the Man United tent, it's going to be another reminder of our own mortality. Tempus Fugit.

It's a pity that his last game is not at Old Trafford really, he should step down after the game and let Micky Phelan take the team to West Brom. It will certainly seem like 'after the lord mayor's show' with all that will happen this weekend.
Post by: deiseach on May 10, 2013, 02:00:27 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 10, 2013, 01:39:45 PM

I presume tickets are like David Moyes trophies.
Post by: NAG1 on May 10, 2013, 02:10:47 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 10, 2013, 02:00:27 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 10, 2013, 01:39:45 PM

I presume tickets are like David Moyes trophies.

For now  ;)
Post by: J70 on May 10, 2013, 03:38:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 09, 2013, 01:51:59 PM
It would be churlish to fail to acknowledge his accomplishments. He seems to have been a fantastic man manager, a great motivator and a brilliantly driven club man. Obviously as a Liverpool fan, I rolled my eyes or got annoyed with some of the raméis he came out with regarding referees, or excuses for the rare defeats but if I were a Man United fan I'd probably think he was an absolute hero.

I felt his only real shortfall, especially in the earlier European adventures, was on the tactical side. I think he out-clevered himself in his attempt to conquer Europe in the early days, when simply playing the sort of stuff that won them the premierships would have been more than good enough I think. I know the foreigners rule impacted there, but even at that I think he tried to play a radically different game in Europe.

He will be missed I think, by all soccer fans, because whether you loved or hated him, he was certainly a character in the game, and as he polarised opinion he generated interest all by himself. A great manager and a great club man.

As a Liverpool fan, I hope United come back to earth, naturally, and if they are not careful with this appointment there might be a fallow period ahead, with all the Glazer questions appearing back on the radar. I think one of the fantastic things Ferguson did as a manager was make the fans forget what the Glazers were doing. A period of relatively poor seasons and suddenly that might become a much bigger issue.

I wish him well in his retirement, he's well deserved it.

Well said.
Post by: Gaffer on May 12, 2013, 10:40:14 AM
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=qHeSSb8akHk

Slur Alex.

Someone must have spiked his Wrigleys!!!

Reminds me of that Russian leader boyo!!! 
Post by: orangeman on May 13, 2013, 11:20:03 AM
Ferguson's worst 11.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league/sir-alex-fergusons-worst-ever-xi-at-manchester-united-28729103.html
Post by: From the Bunker on May 13, 2013, 11:33:35 AM
Quote from: orangeman on May 13, 2013, 11:20:03 AM
Ferguson's worst 11.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league/sir-alex-fergusons-worst-ever-xi-at-manchester-united-28729103.html

Only about three bad signings on that list. Really! Most were driftwood or bargain bin purchases for a club like MU. There are other players not on the list like Neil Web, Veron, Poborski and probably Bartez, to name a few.

Post by: NAG1 on May 13, 2013, 11:44:28 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 13, 2013, 11:33:35 AM
Ferguson's worst 11.

Only about three bad signings on that list. Really! Most were driftwood or bargain bin purchases for a club like MU. There are other players not on the list like Neil Web, Veron, Poborski and probably Bartez, to name a few.

Had Forlan shown the form that he has since for club and country whilst at OT there would be no knowing how far he would have went. Even at that time he showed flashes of the talent he had, just couldn't put it together at that time. Shows you not all players mature at the same rate.
Post by: snoopdog on May 13, 2013, 05:07:59 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 13, 2013, 11:33:35 AM
Ferguson's worst 11.

Neil Webb was unlucky with injury. Did forlan get enough of a chance. Bartez was keeper long enough, i wouldnt say he was a failure.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 13, 2013, 08:41:06 PM
Sir Alex has big shoes to fill now that he's up there with Sir Matt Busby in being held in such high esteem.
Post by: The Gs Man on May 13, 2013, 08:58:46 PM
Unfortunate to see my big cousin make that list. He was definitely there at the wrong time, Bruce and Pallister at centre-half.