votes: 0
Option 19: John Galvin (Limerick)
votes: 3
Option 20: Ciaran McManus (Offaly)
votes: 0
Option 21: Niall Buckley (Kildare)
votes: 1
Lets go.
Forgive me if I missed a few names, put them down and i'll add to the voting list.
The voting system will be similar to the one the Shinners used in the 80s; you can vote three times.
I have every confidence that the demographics of this board, coupled with the inherently bias-free disposition of the membership, will deliver a definitive result.
Kevin Staunton ;)
Has to be Big Tohill.
John Quane was better than John Galvin.
The best midfield partnership of the last 20 years I reckon were those 2. Pity they weren't at their peak together. When Quane was at his peak, Galvin was still wet around the ears while when Galvin was at his peak Quane was past his best.
Went for these three, John McDermott (1996,1999) Anthony Tohill (1993) Kevin Walsh (1998,2001) without those guys i don't think Derry,Galway,Meath would have won their All Irelands those years.
Tohill was an all rounder, O'Se a great fielder and Cavanagh probably just shades it from "PJ" McGrane. Paul McGrane was decent too. Don't know why he wasn't included!
Quote from: BennyCake on May 07, 2013, 06:17:28 PM
Tohill was an all rounder, O'Se a great fielder and Cavanagh probably just shades it from "PJ" McGrane. Paul McGrane was decent too.
Was he originally not called PJ?
Quote from: theticklemister on May 07, 2013, 06:19:28 PM
Tohill was an all rounder, O'Se a great fielder and Cavanagh probably just shades it from "PJ" McGrane. Paul McGrane was decent too.
Maybe his mother called him that, but I've never heard him called PJ.
Quote from: BennyCake on May 07, 2013, 06:22:02 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 07, 2013, 06:19:28 PM
Maybe his mother called him that, but I've never heard him called PJ.
In the earlier match day programs lad. He was called PJ.
Niall Buckley?
done
Quote from: theticklemister on May 07, 2013, 06:29:21 PM
How early are you talking here?
Quote from: BennyCake on May 07, 2013, 06:40:21 PM
If i recall well, 1999 game against Derry in ulster semi-final
The one major advantage Tohill had over his peers was the ability to kick scores off the ground. As great a players as O'Se and Cavanagh were/are neither could do this. I think Aidan Walsh has the potential to be the best midfielder in the country over the next few years. Classy player!!
For me O'Se, that subtle balance of brute force and footballing brilliance marked him out in a distinct category who could achieve it. Keavney, Frank McGuigan being other examples.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OzI8j657vLA (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OzI8j657vLA) Epitomised at 2:20 in this video
Seen O`Se against McGilligan, yes he was young and the big man near the end of the line but the brute force was all coming from the ginger haired man that day. Best midfielder was Tohill the 5yrs between 1997 and 2001 he was on powerful form, i thought tohill was even on better form than previous yrs (1992-96) but the derry team started to fade badly with alot of good players dropping away. Only bad game i seen him play was in 2003 replay against tyrone, the legs had gone and he couldnt run anymore but was hitting 32 at that stage. Was the first midfielder that had to be man marked and i think that says alot about him
I think tohill provided the attacking edge and free kicks to allow that fairly negative Derry 93 outfit to operate. It allowed Colman to play the most defensive 3/4 line in the history of the game albeit their role was to strangle the life out of their opponents. To hills long range kick allowed that set up. So it's big Anthony for me but particularly in the early days
Tohill provided the dynaism that no other midfielder has provided since. His salmon like leaps and catches were a sight to behold with the supporters at the game stood in awe at this excellent piece of skill. He could then solo he ball and throw off challenges as if they weren't there. He could rough it and also play with finess.
For the record Cavanagh was my no.2 and O'Se was my number 3.
McHale dominated them all: O'Sé, Walsh and McDermott and going back he caught everything in 1989 against Shea Fahy & Teddy McCarthy too. O'Sé & Walsh had better days later on. The problem is without a silver cross you won't be taken seriously.
This is how to deal with the throw in:
(http://www.crokepark.ie/getmedia/8f0df525-83d1-499f-a6f9-883dd1bb0c77/AIFF-1996---throw-in.jpg?width=350&height=578&ext=.jpg)
Quote from: theticklemister on May 07, 2013, 06:55:12 PM
memory must be playing tricks on you , lad dug out a few old programmes He was Paul in 1996 programme (Derry v Armagh )and was also Paul in sigerson programme of 93
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on May 07, 2013, 09:07:27 PM
memory must be playing tricks on you , lad dug out a few old programmes He was Paul in 1996 programme (Derry v Armagh )and was also Paul in sigerson programme of 93
someone help me out here!!!!!!!!!!!!!i'm sure I seen his name down as PJ before it was Paul. Drici will be the man to help me here ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)
Quote from: muppet on May 07, 2013, 09:05:07 PM
McHale dominated them all: O'Sé, Walsh and McDermott and going back he caught everything in 1989 against Shea Fahy & Teddy McCarthy too. O'Sé & Walsh had better days later on. The problem is without a silver cross you won't be taken seriously.
(http://www.crokepark.ie/getmedia/8f0df525-83d1-499f-a6f9-883dd1bb0c77/AIFF-1996---throw-in.jpg?width=350&height=578&ext=.jpg)
The best performer on his day in that picture is McEneney!!
Tohill - 9
O'Se - 8
Done.
That's a free.
Ticklemonster, I've never known McGrane referred to as PJ.
Quote from: BennyCake on May 07, 2013, 10:07:35 PM
Haha good word play.
Must be mistaken, if I was back home I would be going through the programmes up in my room now!!!
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 07, 2013, 05:54:43 PM
Kevin Staunton ;)
Very good club footballer, had a few decent games for the county. Played against him once, big lad.
Brian Stynes should be on that list.
Way too many Ulster representatives.
Without doubt O Shea.
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on May 07, 2013, 09:07:27 PM
I played club football with Paul McGrane, don't know where the PJ came from, first i've ever heard of it!
I seem to recall that Darragh O'Se stated that his toughest ever opponent was Paul McGrane.
Anthony Tohill would be up there with the above pair.
Just looking at the irish independemts 125 best footballers which they commissioned a few years ago. Big Tohill comes in at 80, cavanagh at 43 and o se at 23.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 07, 2013, 10:11:00 PM
Have to try and split their vote somehow.
The midfield role has changed over the last few years. For example, Sean Cavanagh is a fine player, plays in midfield alot but wouldn't be renowned for his high fielding.
The best fielder of that lot was Darragh O'Se. The best all-rounder was definitely Anthony Tohill.
Did Tohill and O'Se ever play directly against each other? Can't think any championship meeting between Kerry and Derry but their paths must have crossed in a league game at some point?
Both cavanafh and o se had more influence than to hill however I can't mark down the big man. Pj was a good one and whilst mc Dermot near finished canavans career in 96 he was a serious athlete.
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 07, 2013, 11:29:08 PM
Did Tohill and O'Se ever play directly against each other? Can't think any championship meeting between Kerry and Derry but their paths must have crossed in a league game at some point?
Never met in championship in those early years. We played them in an all ireland semi and a couple of nfl finals in the late 00s but Tohill was retired then.
O se is winning the duel here!!!
Quote from: rrhf on May 07, 2013, 11:34:55 PM
Both cavanafh and o se had more influence than to hill however I can't mark down the big man. Pj was a good one and whilst mc Dermot near finished canavans career in 96 he was a serious athlete.
Either you can't handle the predictive rrhf or you're pissed?
As he retired early due to injury he only just squeezes into the last twenty years but the best midfielder I ever saw play was Mark Grimley. Of those listed I would definitely go for Tohill.
Tohill. Best player i ever seen during years 97-2002
Catching was unmatched.
What other player catches a ball a metre over a crossbar?
Broke our hearts but i loved him
Sure none of these pretenders would have had a hope against Seamie O'Neill.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 07, 2013, 10:47:51 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 07, 2013, 10:11:00 PM
Have to try and split their vote somehow.
10 out of 21 options ::)
Probably representative of the era. Only for the fact big tohill never managed to outfield Jody Gormley he would be out front. Given the sheer volume of dara se s performances in cp ill give the nod to dara se. Both class
Paul McGrane - Armagh's best ever player imo (an opinion i've had & expressed for a long time), superb midfielder, not the straightest of feet tho.
Quote from: rrhf on May 08, 2013, 08:06:15 AM
Probably representative of the era. Only for the fact big tohill never managed to outfield Jody Gormley he would be out front. Given the sheer volume of dara se s performances in cp ill give the nod to dara se. Both class
Growing up a Tyrone fan, Tohill was the boy who put the fear into me when watching Tyrone Derry matches. His runs through the middle were unreal. He could catch, run and score. Darragh O'Se was a brilliant fielder, but couldn't score or cover the ground as well as Tohill. Cavanagh would be the weakest fielder, but he is better at scoring and running with the ball than O'Se and it would be a tight call between him and Tohill. But I suppose if you were asked the question as to who you would want in your team today, a prime Tohill would be ahead of a prime Cavanagh.
Good man muppet. Had to be said. Btw the picture reminds me of that hindu goddess with all the arms wearing the Mayo sari.
http://www.worldofstock.com/slides/PCU2137.jpg
God be with the days when every player wore black puma kings.
Has to be Darragh Ó Sé for me.
Was much more of a box-to-box player than people give him credit.
In his early to mid-30s he gave up the box-to-box stuff but before that he really covered a phenomenal amount of ground during games.
He won All-Irelands and was a dominant midfielder in the era of two men allowed space to jump (and land) for kickouts and also in the era of midfield being like Times Square during rush hour for kickouts.
Well able to kick a point with left and right.
Great playmaker, very hard to dispossess.
Only 6 feet tall, but beat fellas 6'4", 6'5" and 6'6" regularly in the air due to incredible timing.
It never failed to amaze me when Darragh jumped for a kickout battling against Nicholas Murphy and Pearse O'Neill (6'5" and 6'6" respectively); between height and arm span, Darragh's hands would usually be a foot below the Murphy's and O'Neill's in the air but more often than not, Darragh would be the one landing with the ball in his hands.
Quote from: theticklemister on May 07, 2013, 10:09:57 PM
Haha good word play.
Must be mistaken, if I was back home I would be going through the programmes up in my room now!!!
Took a look at programmes. The first time he appears in any of them is i bPáirc an Iúir at 2-00pm on Sunday 9th June 1991 at number 12 in the Ulster Minor Football Championship 1st Round against Down.
He appears in that and all subsequent programmes as Paul McGrane - not a J in sight. There is a programme against Wexford in Lurgan on Sunday 21st November 1993 which is signed by Barry O'Hagan, Diarmuid Marsden, Kieran McGeeney, Dessie Mackin, Paul Cardwell and Paul McGrane - written in full - no PJ or Paul J.
In the Derry v Armagh Ulster Championship programme on Sunday 2nd June 1996, Paul McGrane's Club is given as Downpatrick.
Would have to throw gregory mcartan from down and nigel crawford from meath
We didn't appreciate Cindy enough while we had him.
Quote from: drici on May 08, 2013, 08:16:35 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 07, 2013, 10:09:57 PM
Haha good word play.
Took a look at programmes. The first time he appears in any of them is i bPáirc an Iúir at 2-00pm on Sunday 9th June 1991 at number 12 in the Ulster Minor Football Championship 1st Round against Down.
He appears in that and all subsequent programmes as Paul McGrane - not a J in sight. There is a programme against Wexford in Lurgan on Sunday 21st November 1993 which is signed by Barry O'Hagan, Diarmuid Marsden, Kieran McGeeney, Dessie Mackin, Paul Cardwell and Paul McGrane - written in full - no PJ or Paul J.
In the Derry v Armagh Ulster Championship programme on Sunday 2nd June 1996, Paul McGrane's Club is given as Downpatrick.
Thanks anyway drici! Love going through old programmes; especially looking at the respective minor teams to see who made it to senior and such.
I'm the same. :)
I love reading minor match reports in the old programmes.
There's always some lad in the FF line who was lethal and yet never went on to play senior.
Peter Sullivan for Meath (off the 92 all ireland winning team) was a classic example.
Coulsnt understand what happened that lad Sullivan, him and Marsden were the 2 outstanding minors that yr, he seemed a way better player than Giles who was a yr younger at the time.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 08, 2013, 09:15:06 PM
Coulsnt understand what happened that lad Sullivan, him and Marsden were the 2 outstanding minors that yr, he seemed a way better player than Giles who was a yr younger at the time.
Whatever happened Roscommon's Dermot Washington? He looked a decent minor. Never heard of him after 1992.
Quote from: Mourne man on May 08, 2013, 08:27:36 PM
Would have to throw gregory mcartan from down and nigel crawford from meath
Throw them off what?
Greg McCartan the best midfielder down have had in the past 2oyrs anyway. Some gift to take a free off the ground with either foot, thought that was class
I missed Greg McCartan; my apoligies. He played to about 2000 didn't he?
Jerome Quinn had a good magazine out around 1999/2000, covered Ulster club and county. Think it got threw out but always enjoyed it, was like one big programme for every match that year!
Quote from: hardstation on May 08, 2013, 10:25:42 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 08, 2013, 09:49:50 PM
He threw a ball at Brian McGuigan in 2003.
Fair play.
went done as if he was under sniper fire, thought it was a Man utd player lol
How does one vote?
Find it incredible that Niall Buckley has so little of the vote..thought he was a fantastic player.
Tohill was one of my favourite players growing up..a fantatically skillful player for his size and position.
Darragh has to be no.1 though. No midfielder influenced more big games to the degree he did over such an extended period. A man
I was privileged to share a pitch with (although not so much at the time!) and watch for so long. I always think a picture paints a thousand words so..
(http://www.terracetalk.com/photos/cache/princes-of-pigskin/sportsfile-3.php_570.jpg)
Niall Buckley was a serious player.
I got one fella's name wrong already on this thread hut wasnt buckleys nickname the ' Nuxer'?
Quote from: theticklemister on May 09, 2013, 10:03:34 AM
I got one fella's name wrong already on this thread hut wasnt buckleys nickname the ' Nuxer'?
There was no 'The'
Quote from: heffo on May 09, 2013, 10:14:28 AM
There was no 'The'
Bollix
Quote from: hardstation on May 09, 2013, 10:18:47 AM
I think it's "Sheeny" McQuillan you're looking for too tbh.
Lol. Go away with yourself.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 09, 2013, 09:18:17 AM
Not a great full back, took him for 1-2 one year in a South Leinster Schools senior game 8)
Superb talent and if he had stayed in Ireland himself and Dermot Earley probably would have formed one of the great midfield partnerships of club and indeed county football of all time.
Alas life doesn't always work out the way you want it and Niall found himself having to take the road to America, still in Chicago as far as I know not sure if he's still involved with St Brendan's over there. A fit Nuxer and Glenn might have won that bloody 98 AI for us :'(
He would have made an equally good centre forward I always thought.
With Earley and Willie McCreery midfield and Ryan centre back.
Some diamond.
Nuxer was badly missed in the 2000 semi-final. He would have freed up Martin Lynch to go into the forwards and win a few kickable frees! He was home around the time of the county final last year and he still looked fit enough to tog out.
What we would give now to have just one of Nuxer, Martin Lynch, an injury free Dermot Earley or Willie McCreery to line out at midfield. I see Willie had double at Gowran Park yesterday to add to the winner he trained at the Curragh on Monday so he's a man to follow these days.
Ah martin lynch. Now there was a fine all round footballer. Great talent.
I agree.
Great talent for falling all round the place. :)
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 09, 2013, 11:04:18 AM
Alas life doesn't always work out the way you want it and Niall found himself having to take the road to America, still in Chicago as far as I know not sure if he's still involved with St Brendan's over there.
Still over there alright
Quote from: heffo on May 09, 2013, 12:38:52 PM
Alas life doesn't always work out the way you want it and Niall found himself having to take the road to America, still in Chicago as far as I know not sure if he's still involved with St Brendan's over there.
Still over there alright
He was some player alright. He was an unreal minor as well. I met him in Chicago back in 2000 I'd say, himself and Johnny McDonald. We swapped a few war stories and had a couple of pints.
What was the name of the minor full forward or half forward back then, 1991. He played soccer with Edenderry, and I think he was from Carbury? Tom Sullivan or something? He scored a penalty in the Leinster Minor final of 1991 I think.
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 09, 2013, 01:40:50 PM
Still over there alright
He was some player alright. He was an unreal minor as well. I met him in Chicago back in 2000 I'd say, himself and Johnny McDonald. We swapped a few war stories and had a couple of pints.
What was the name of the minor full forward or half forward back then, 1991. He played soccer with Edenderry, and I think he was from Carbury? Tom Sullivan or something? He scored a penalty in the Leinster Minor final of 1991 I think.
Tom Sullivan is a Carbury man alright. He was still playing with their B team last year.
Seamie McQuillan was crap and had an even worse attitude. Shouldn't be within a million miles of that list. Other players who shouldn't be there are Paul Brewster, Brian McGilligan, Dermot McCabe, Fergal Doc and Anthony Molloy.
Also, for the best part of their careers Dermot Early, Cairan McManus and Enda Muldoon were not midfielders.
As for the best. Take your pick between Tohill and O'Sé with an honorable mention to Nicholas Murphy for pure fielding ability and the immovable John McDermott.
Will never forget McDermotts performance against Armagh in 99. Armagh tried to win that game through intimidation but McDermott was having none of it and practically took them all on himself.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 09, 2013, 01:58:02 PM
Still over there alright
Tom Sullivan is a Carbury man alright. He was still playing with their B team last year.
That was a great minor team by Kildare standards, always remember Dom Cribben from Clane breaking lads up for fun, beast of a lad at that age level, think some poor Mayo minor had to be stretchered off in the AI semi.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 09, 2013, 02:39:05 PM
Still over there alright
That was a great minor team by Kildare standards, always remember Dom Cribben from Clane breaking lads up for fun, beast of a lad at that age level, think some poor Mayo minor had to be stretchered off in the AI semi.
Who won the game?
Quote from: stephenite on May 09, 2013, 02:52:04 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 09, 2013, 02:39:05 PM
Still over there alright
Who won the game?
Kildare.
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on May 09, 2013, 12:47:29 AM
How does one vote?
Find it incredible that Niall Buckley has so little of the vote..thought he was a fantastic player.
Tohill was one of my favourite players growing up..a fantatically skillful player for his size and position.
Darragh has to be no.1 though. No midfielder influenced more big games to the degree he did over such an extended period. A man
I was privileged to share a pitch with (although not so much at the time!) and watch for so long. I always think a picture paints a thousand words so..
(http://www.terracetalk.com/photos/cache/princes-of-pigskin/sportsfile-3.php_570.jpg)
This is where he's above all others - I make it 32 Championship games that he played at 1/4 final level or beyond (30 in Croke Park). No other midfielder comes anywhere near those stats. Definitely unsurpassed at the business end of Championship.
Quote from: hardstation on May 08, 2013, 10:25:42 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 08, 2013, 09:49:50 PM
He threw a ball at Brian McGuigan in 2003.
Also did Paddy Logan's cruciate with a sneaky trip while he was attempting to take a free kick.
no only was daragh o sé the best midfielder but was the best gaelic footballer of his Era too,
I remember thinking against Limerick one year as he was pulling ball down from a foot over the bar he probably would have bee the best full bacl or Goalie too if he was asked to.
fitzgerald and canavan were more skillful but daragh was a far more complete player, M donnelan would be the only player to come close
'Most complete player' would be an interesting thread on its own.
The idea being you pick a player you think could have played in multiple positions (or DID play in multiple positions) at the highest level.
Guess who I'd vote for? ;D
Quote from: rosnarun on May 09, 2013, 03:06:18 PM
no only was daragh o sé the best midfielder but was the best gaelic footballer of his Era too,
I remember thinking against Limerick one year as he was pulling ball down from a foot over the bar he probably would have bee the best full bacl or Goalie too if he was asked to.
fitzgerald and canavan were more skillful but daragh was a far more complete player, M donnelan would be the only player to come close
I remember the Limerick game when O'Se pulled a few from over the bar, but even with my Tyrone bias I there wasn't a fault in Tohills game.
Some strange maybe parocial votes there imo.
john mcdermott - never forget him being thrown around like a rag doll by Tohill in the NFL league final (I think it was) and again in a NFL game in navan.
Cant believe Dermot McCabe didnt get any votes or Fergal Doherty or McGilligan.
feck sake - niall buckley - a decent to good player alright at best - but a lad from our club at u21 destroyed him in the air catching over him all day and scored 7 pts on him. That was the year or the year after buckley had been nominated for an all star.Beat him up a stick any time he marked nuxer. Martin Lynch good player but never a forward where they played him. Tom Sullivan , lovely lad -better at soccer, questionable if not miserable taste in women.
McHale wasnt even the best midfielder in Mayo - Pat Fallon for the short time he was on the team was a farr better player. McHale a good fielder.
some of those other selections are crazy.
apart from McCabe, Doherty or McGilligan - who else out of that list could mark Tohill or O'Se ?
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 09, 2013, 04:23:44 PM
john mcdermott - never forget him being thrown around like a rag doll by Tohill in the NFL league final (I think it was) and again in a NFL game in navan.
feck sake - niall buckley - a decent to good player alright at best - but a lad from our club at u21 destroyed him in the air catching over him all day and scored 7 pts on him. That was the year or the year after buckley had been nominated for an all star.Beat him up a stick any time he marked nuxer. Martin Lynch good player but never a forward where they played him. Tom Sullivan , lovely lad -better at soccer, questionable if not miserable taste in women.
McHale wasnt even the best midfielder in Mayo - Pat Fallon for the short time he was on the team was a farr better player. McHale a good fielder.
apart from McCabe, Doherty or McGilligan - who else out of that list could mark Tohill or O'Se ?
Cavanagh, O'se and Tohill are the top 3.
Kevin Walsh actually did well on both. Was injured in 2000 and came on as a sub in the first AI final and immediately won the next 3 kickouts over O'Se, while playing on one good leg. Helped turn the game around as Galway were getting eaten at midfield before that. Did very well on Tohill too when they met in 98 and 01. Always underrated though was Kevin as you can tell by his paltry 3 votes in the poll.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 09, 2013, 03:23:41 PM
'Most complete player' would be an interesting thread on its own.
The idea being you pick a player you think could have played in multiple positions (or DID play in multiple positions) at the highest level.
Guess who I'd vote for? ;D
Me too.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 09, 2013, 04:57:56 PM
Kevin Walsh actually did well on both. Was injured in 2000 and came on as a sub in the first AI final and immediately won the next 3 kickouts over O'Se, while playing on one good leg. Helped turn the game around as Galway were getting eaten at midfield before that. Did very well on Tohill too when they met in 98 and 01. Always underrated though was Kevin as you can tell by his paltry 3 votes in the poll.
Walsh was a decent midfielder and really came into his own near the end of his career, but he was no Bryan Moylan !
Whatever about Tohill, big John Mc made bits of O'Sé in 2001.
Quotejohn mcdermott - never forget him being thrown around like a rag doll by Tohill in the NFL league final (I think it was) and again in a NFL game in navan.
That final was 2000 if I'm not mistaken.
The other time was earlier than that? 1995? I remember Colm Coyle having a bad game that day but not John Mc. I remember Derry's free taker crucifying us because of the former's ill discipline.
That final was in clones and tohill did a toey tapy kind of goal. Soft techinque from the big man
Quote from: thejuice on May 09, 2013, 05:42:54 PM
Quotejohn mcdermott - never forget him being thrown around like a rag doll by Tohill in the NFL league final (I think it was) and again in a NFL game in navan.
The other time was earlier than that? 1995? I remember Colm Coyle having a bad game that day but not John Mc. I remember Derry's free taker crucifying us because of the former's ill discipline.
From recollection the other incident was later than that league final.
Tohill had no prob with McDermott generally, but on those two occasions his destruction of McDermott was somewhat surprising for me as Anto generally wasn't that physical but he combined his sublime skills with the he-man capabilities of the retired big boot mcgilligan and really made McDermott look like a minor ! I'm not joking when I use the phrase ' threw him around like a rag doll'.
McDermott was tough and game but for me prob wouldn't make my top 3 Meath midfielders in the past 25 years - McEntee , PJ gillic and cassels were better all round with Colm Brady better as the more modern style midfielder ( fecked with his knee inj - great to see him back as Meath trainer)
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 10, 2013, 12:33:37 PM
Tohill had no prob with McDermott generally, but on those two occasions his destruction of McDermott was somewhat surprising for me as Anto generally wasn't that physical but he combined his sublime skills with the he-man capabilities of the retired big boot mcgilligan and really made McDermott look like a minor ! I'm not joking when I use the phrase ' threw him around like a rag doll'.
McDermott was tough and game but for me prob wouldn't make my top 3 Meath midfielders in the past 25 years - McEntee , PJ gillic and cassels were better all round with Colm Brady better as the more modern style midfielder ( fecked with his knee inj - great to see him back as Meath trainer)
I know it's Friday and all but you really shouldn't be drinking before lunch.
You will do well to find a single Mayo supporter to buy that. Pat had a great year for Mayo in 1997. But McHale was the man from 1988 to 1996.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 10, 2013, 08:22:52 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 10, 2013, 12:33:37 PM
I know it's Friday and all but you really shouldn't be drinking before lunch.
its imo and imo all mcdermott had was a great catch. he couldnt kick fackin snow of a rope let alone score many points and he was too often a headless chicken.
His biggest attribute was to bully his opponent if the ref let him away with it or if he was up against the likes of McGilligan, Tohill or walsh in intercounty or Terry Lyons or Gillic in club games.
Mcdermott was over rated and I'd pick McEntee, Gillic and Hayes ahead of mcdermott and in the current game, the clever fast moving fast thinking Brady would run rings around him.
I played against some of these in club football and I am only going by what I saw on the pitch.
You couldnt get near Brady or Gillic. You only had to hang round the middle of the pitch v McDermott (though I couldnt stop him in the air) as he was no threat going forward.
Quote from: muppet on May 10, 2013, 08:49:45 PM
You will do well to find a single Mayo supporter to buy that. Pat had a great year for Mayo in 1997. But McHale was the man from 1988 to 1996.
common consensus amongst the mayo contingent (some ex mayo players) playing for civil service that time Fallon played his heart out in the all Ireland final loss. Maybe it was jealousy against McHale, but fallon was a clever player.
Myself and some mayo pals had supper/breakfast with Pat and his missus in the 'manhatten' after copper face jacks - I am pretty sure it was that night of the loss. a real gentleman.
Sure we've all destroyed county players in club games.
Doesn't mean we'd do it in Croke park
You can only judge a players true quality by what he does in a county jersey.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 10, 2013, 08:53:23 PM
and you dont rate PJ Gillic ?????
if you cant kick a ball in club football, you wont do it in intecounty.
mcdermott wasnt there for that though.
Lynch was a very good Kildare player but he and buckley were forced up front to give kildare a bit of scoring power they were badly lacking. probably affected there games as they were both stand out midfielders. Dublin hated Lynch and thats why i loved him so much, class
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 10, 2013, 08:54:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 10, 2013, 08:53:23 PM
and you dont rate PJ Gillic ?????
if you cant kick a ball in club football, you wont do it in intecounty.
mcdermott wasnt there for that though.
Scored a goal in an All Ireland semi final.
So did Liam Hayes- does that make either prolific scorers or kick passers?
Good at other aspects and as I say IMO and from playing against them and seeing them at first hand, the others were better footballers/skilled - which is what I'd look for when picking a team.
3 All Stars.