Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: brokencrossbar1 on April 30, 2013, 11:30:11 AM

Title: Fundraising for Suicide Prevention Group
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 30, 2013, 11:30:11 AM
I have asked the moderators to allow me to create this thread as it is something that means an awful lot to me.  I know many others run/abseil/cycle/whatever for charity but this is more than just fundraising for me.  Some posters on here know what has happened to me in recent months, some don't, but I would ask you all to please donate as this is a very serious issue. 
Suicide is something that seemingly is becoming more and more common place in recent years.  We all know someone who has taken their own lives and it is terrible to see the aftermath of this.  Only a few weeks ago a young girl from round the corner from me did it, a young one with her whole life in front of her, Supersub will know who I mean.  My family and I have been affected very badly by suicide and not just recently.  Over 20 years ago my sister's boyfriend shot himself.  It was the second time in one year that someone I knew had killed themselves.  A young lad from Belfast that had been in Rannafast with us had taken his own life at the age of 14. 
The next time it happened to us was in June of 2011 when my father-in-law's long term partner took her own life.  This was very traumatic as he is over 70 years of age and had been with her for close to 20 years.  It happened in a very small rural area and the shock that was felt in the whole place was unreal. 
The most heart breaking though was in November of last year.  My mum had been suffering with mental health issues for some time and had gradually going deeper and deeper into the hole.  She had been living with my sister of the time and my sister had tried everything to try to help her but it wasn't working.  We got as much medical help as possible for her and she seemed to be improving.  The unfortunate thing about depression is that as there are no physical signs it is very hard to really see if things are improving.  As it turned out she had made her mind up and maybe this meant that she was settled in her mind and that is why she was happy with what she was doing.  Anyway, she took her own life on 6th November of last year.  The last few months have been terrible and the questions have been constant but through it all PIPS in Newry have been there for me.  I want to help them to help other families by raising money and I am running the Newry Marathon on the 26th May.   They provide support to so many people and if I can help a few more families in the future then I feel that some good will come out of what has happened.  Please donate at the link below

Please Donate Here! (https://www.justgiving.com/gavin-cumiskey/)

Title: Re: Fundraising for Suicide Prevention Group
Post by: AZOffaly on April 30, 2013, 12:29:29 PM
Well done BC. Best of luck on the run and the fundraising. Not easy to tell your story here either, but the less it's kept secret maybe the better.
Post by: heffo on April 30, 2013, 12:36:29 PM
Best of luck with it BC
Post by: Declan on April 30, 2013, 03:32:45 PM
QuoteWell done BC. Best of luck on the run and the fundraising. Not easy to tell your story here either, but the less it's kept secret maybe the better.
Agree 100%. Best of luck
Post by: stew on April 30, 2013, 08:06:50 PM
Wow BC, I wish you and yours all the best with your campaign and all the best with the marathon.

I will do what I can for you.

Stew.
Post by: Bud Wiser on April 30, 2013, 09:09:31 PM
Wish you the best of luck BC, I have put it on my FB page as well so hopefully some of my friends will support you too.
Title: Has everyone read bcb1's fundraising post at the top of the page?
Post by: theskull1 on May 01, 2013, 03:46:44 PM
Wondering if it has went unnoticed by many? I know I caught it by pure fluke yesterday as it was the latest post, but normally look past the sticky's at the top of the page and wouldn't have spotted it.

So I'm posting this just to double check. There may very well be forum members who would gladly add their support if they knew about it

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=23126.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=23126.0)
Title: Re: Has everyone read bcb1's fundraising post at the top of the page?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 01, 2013, 05:14:36 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on May 01, 2013, 03:46:44 PM
Wondering if it has went unnoticed by many? I know I caught it by pure fluke yesterday as it was the latest post, but normally look past the sticky's at the top of the page and wouldn't have spotted it.

So I'm posting this just to double check. There may very well be forum members who would gladly add their support if they knew about it

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=23126.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=23126.0)

Thanks Skull,I was in 2 minds about having it as a sticky. I think I will leave it but will keep bumping this one up!

Post by: spuds on May 01, 2013, 05:37:54 PM
Like many have had my life touched by people I know who have lived with depression and a friend who commited suicide. That is an honourable and brave post BCB1. Will be delighted to help. Fair play.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 01, 2013, 07:12:11 PM
Jesus thanks for pointing that out.  I never look at the stickies.
Post by: laoislad on May 01, 2013, 07:59:18 PM
Fair play BC1, best of luck to you.
Brave post.
Post by: Itchy on May 01, 2013, 08:45:57 PM
My condolences to you bcb, I was not aware of any of this. My extended family and friends have also been effected by suicide also. I would be delighted to support you on this and wish you all the best with it.
Post by: LeoMc on May 02, 2013, 09:39:02 AM
Bump.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 02, 2013, 11:47:38 AM
Thank you so much to everyone for keeping this up here, the response has been unreal and the donations have been fantastic!
Post by: Syferus on May 02, 2013, 01:50:15 PM
It's probably done more harm than good sticking it - this thread has 334 views while the actual one has 370. Good luck with it, boss.
Post by: balladmaker on May 02, 2013, 02:58:40 PM
Fair play BC, admire your openess about what you've been through and I wish you all the best.  The more this subject is talked about the better.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on May 03, 2013, 02:56:35 AM
Fair play bcb. Can't be an easy thing to talk about, especially so soon after and especially in such a public forum, but as someone has said above, the more the topic of mental health and depression are brought to the fore, the better.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on May 03, 2013, 03:04:30 AM
Great shout. I had scrolled past the stickies but spotted this thread
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 03, 2013, 03:35:39 PM
bump
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 03, 2013, 03:45:49 PM
I was just about to bump it myself!!  The response has been amazing.  My target of £1000 was a bit high, or so I thought!  It is now sitting at £958.14 and if I was able to get it to the target by the weekend that would be great.  Soooooo.... if you haven't dug deep, dig deep and donate!!!

Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 03, 2013, 03:50:07 PM
Done and done.

Good luck.
Post by: Puckoon on May 03, 2013, 03:54:39 PM
Good luck BCB, you are over due some flat road moving forward.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 03, 2013, 04:02:36 PM
Thanks lads, getting closer!
Post by: theskull1 on May 03, 2013, 09:53:59 PM
Great collective support from the board so far.....and there's still 3 weeks before the race so plenty of time for more members to get behind it.

Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on May 04, 2013, 09:18:08 AM
Removed as sticky and merged with Skulls thread...
Post by: Denn Forever on May 04, 2013, 09:43:13 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on May 03, 2013, 09:53:59 PM
Great collective support from the board so far.....and there's still 3 weeks before the race so plenty of time for more members to get behind it.

Any predictions/hopes of a time BC1? 
Post by: ONeill on May 04, 2013, 09:52:49 AM
Won't be too hard to spot the Crossmaglen man. Elbows will see a few casualties in the last mile.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 04, 2013, 10:43:44 AM

Great support is right skull.  Over £500 that I know of has been donated directly by board members and there are a good few names on the list of people that I actually have no idea who they are!!! Reaching £1000 was brilliant and anything more now is bonus stuff.  Thanks again to everyone. 

Quote from: Denn Forever on May 04, 2013, 09:43:13 AM

Any predictions/hopes of a time BC1? 

I was built for the short stuff Denn so I will simply be hoping to finish it in one piece!!!!  I have a time in my head that I would like to get but will keep it to myself in case I bomb out completely.

Quote from: ONeill on May 04, 2013, 09:52:49 AM
Won't be too hard to spot the Crossmaglen man. Elbows will see a few casualties in the last mile.

It will be the first few miles I hit them Shane, I like to get my retaliation in first!
Post by: thewobbler on May 04, 2013, 12:01:55 PM
Haha, marathon runners only thought they knew about tactics in their sport. The Crossmaglen men will take it to a whole new level.
Post by: ziggysego on May 04, 2013, 12:52:41 PM
Good Luck BCB, fair play to you.
Post by: theskull1 on May 04, 2013, 02:52:03 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 04, 2013, 12:01:55 PM
Haha, marathon runners only thought they knew about tactics in their sport. The Crossmaglen men will take it to a whole new level.

;D ..yeah ..fully expect him to go fast out of the traps then after 10 minutes turns it into a pure dog fight where he just about gets over the line ...he'll beat the majority of them this way :)
Post by: Count 10 on May 04, 2013, 04:23:37 PM
Best of luck BCB, hope you reach your target and more.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 06, 2013, 06:47:52 AM
Get back up there
Post by: LeoMc on May 07, 2013, 12:49:56 PM
Post by: orangeman on May 07, 2013, 12:58:39 PM
Keep her lit BC1.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 07, 2013, 01:16:00 PM
Once again thanks everyone.  We have hit £1200 online as well as a few pound off line.  I would like to see if I can reach the £1500 mark so if you haven't donated yet don't be shy Please Donate Here! (https://www.justgiving.com/gavin-cumiskey/)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 07, 2013, 05:17:50 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 07, 2013, 01:16:00 PM
Once again thanks everyone.  We have hit £1200 online as well as a few pound off line.  I would like to see if I can reach the £1500 mark so if you haven't donated yet don't be shy Please Donate Here! (https://www.justgiving.com/gavin-cumiskey/)

Fcuk you're not shy  8)

Will donate, and good luck with walking afterwards, calfs burning, knee hurting, thighs starting to hurt also and I only did 3 legs lol
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2013, 11:53:14 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 07, 2013, 05:17:50 PM

Fcuk you're not shy  8)

Will donate, and good luck with walking afterwards, calfs burning, knee hurting, thighs starting to hurt also and I only did 3 legs lol

I am not shy about something that means so much to me.  I will stop bumping when she reaches £1500.
Post by: stew on May 09, 2013, 04:54:37 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 09, 2013, 11:53:14 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 07, 2013, 05:17:50 PM

Fcuk you're not shy  8)

I am not shy about something that means so much to me.  I will stop bumping when she reaches £1500.

Why? keep er lit.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 10, 2013, 11:31:54 AM
Bump
Post by: Bingo on May 14, 2013, 10:49:34 AM
Bump from Page 3.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 15, 2013, 09:50:13 AM
I better bump this baby back up.  Only £80 left before I hot my target of £1500 so if you haven't donated yet because you have forgotten etc please do.  A fiver out of any mans life won't buy a pack of cigarettes or a round of drink but will go a very long way to helping save a life or help rebuild a life. 

Post by: Denn Forever on May 15, 2013, 10:22:05 AM
Something for the ipod to keep you focused.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZvEnIkz82A0
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 15, 2013, 10:25:58 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on May 15, 2013, 10:22:05 AM
Something for the ipod to keep you focused.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZvEnIkz82A0

Good man Denn, don't worry I have her ready and raring to go, a wee bit of Eye of the Tiger as well and Al Pacino to pull me over the line :P
Post by: stew on May 15, 2013, 04:32:52 PM
Donation just sent in, all you need to get ready is think of poor Declan Moffat, don't make the same mistake he made and listen to the ace of Spades and thunderstruck over and over again, you will be done in 2 hours flat.  :)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 15, 2013, 08:52:41 PM
Thanks lad, it hit the £1500 target today.  The response from the Board has been outstanding and I reckon half of the total at least has come from here.  I won't actively bump this from here on but if anyone else does I won't object ;D  Thanks and hopefull you will all give me a wee bit of a push mentally in 10 days time!
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 15, 2013, 09:25:17 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 15, 2013, 08:52:41 PM
Thanks lad, it hit the £1500 target today.  The response from the Board has been outstanding and I reckon half of the total at least has come from here.  I won't actively bump this from here on but if anyone else does I won't object ;D  Thanks and hopefull you will all give me a wee bit of a push mentally in 10 days time!
Fcuk me I only donated to get you over £1500 so you would stop bumping this  ;D
Post by: Oraisteach on May 16, 2013, 02:35:45 PM
Well, Gavin, I think I've donated.  Wanted to leave a message, but I fear I've exceeded my allotted 150 characters.

So, you're doing a marathon--somewhat unnecessary given the quality of public transportation, don't you think?

Stay hydrated, and remember that the last 25 miles are the hardest.

Fantastic cause, and do all of us GAABoard armchair athletes proud.  Oh, and up the Ogs!
Post by: stew on May 16, 2013, 02:58:14 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on May 16, 2013, 02:35:45 PM
Well, Gavin, I think I've donated.  Wanted to leave a message, but I fear I've exceeded my allotted 150 characters.

So, you're doing a marathon--somewhat unnecessary given the quality of public transportation, don't you think?

Stay hydrated, and remember that the last 25 miles are the hardest.

Fantastic cause, and do all of us GAABoard armchair athletes proud.  Oh, and up the Ogs!

Orais......................... Right up them!  ;)
Post by: Count 10 on May 16, 2013, 06:07:11 PM
Fair play BCB and well done, hope all goes well with the marathon.
Post by: Oraisteach on May 18, 2013, 10:53:26 PM
Let's move BCB to the front of the pack again. 
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2013, 01:04:47 AM
Hope this goes great!

(Paudi Hughes was still the wrong choice, though  ;))
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 23, 2013, 09:16:33 AM
So I'm now officially shitting myself that I'm going to end up in a crumpled heap on the Poyntzpass Road somewhere and I don't even have Orior to cheer me on this time round (Marathon Stalker :D).  Just bumpity bumping this baby up in case any of you good folk have not had a chance yet to donate!  Please Donate Here! (https://www.justgiving.com/gavin-cumiskey/)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 26, 2013, 07:46:32 AM
Getting ready to hit the road, all going well I will be back for the Donegal Tyrone game!!!!!  See you all  on the other side!!!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 26, 2013, 08:44:56 AM
Best of luck sir. Let us know tomorrow (when you finish( how you got on  :D
Post by: Denn Forever on May 26, 2013, 10:24:36 AM
The 2nd lap is the hardest so pace yourself.
Post by: Bingo on May 26, 2013, 03:27:59 PM
Expecting update soon from BC1.

I'd say he feeling good right about now!
Post by: Oraisteach on May 26, 2013, 03:51:13 PM
Are there many Kenyans in the field?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 26, 2013, 06:10:26 PM
Ah jesus, I bloody had to pull up.  Was trotting on nicely tge first half, bang on taget for what I wanted to run around 15 miles I started feeling a knotting in my left calf.  In an effort to keep going I over compensated on the other leg.  I weny on until just before 20 till both calves simply gave up.  I couldn't walk with the pain and I have never experienced the like of it pain wise before.   I have broken ankles, dislocated collarbones but I was in more pain with this. Anyway,  I have not left the couch since I got home. 
Post by: Hardy on May 26, 2013, 06:28:42 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5gvNkOrsl4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5gvNkOrsl4)

A great job of work for PIPS. Take a bow, Sir.
Post by: Count 10 on May 26, 2013, 06:29:12 PM
Fair play to you...I couldn't run a bath ;)
Post by: Oraisteach on May 26, 2013, 06:55:43 PM
Good man, BCB.  Hope you raised a decent amount.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 26, 2013, 07:12:37 PM
Good effort BC1. 19 miles more than I could have done. You'll be back!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 26, 2013, 08:11:50 PM
Well some on getting as far as you did BC. A couple of your old footballing adversaries would have been on the same route! Fantastic achievement to raise as much as you have for a great cause and I think your openness is commendable and hopefully  acts as an inspiration to others to think different about this issue.

And as for the run, it could have been worse;

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=NIBuREwNur4
Post by: Orior on May 26, 2013, 08:54:34 PM
A good effort BCB.

I didnt get down to my folks house until it was all over so I didnt get to offer you encouragement as you trod along the Canal Bank.

Doing 26 mile without proper training is a tough gig, even for a young buck.
Post by: Bingo on May 26, 2013, 09:10:37 PM
When the body says No, there is nothing you can do. Hope the recovery is swift and remember, the easiest way down or up the stairs is backwards!

Fair play for taking on the challenge and the money raised is the big result in this.

The brother was over and done the half, said it was very warm for it, so it wouldn't have helped.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 26, 2013, 09:21:16 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 26, 2013, 06:10:26 PM
Ah jesus, I bloody had to pull up.  Was trotting on nicely tge first half, bang on taget for what I wanted to run around 15 miles I started feeling a knotting in my left calf.  In an effort to keep going I over compensated on the other leg.  I weny on until just before 20 till both calves simply gave up.  I couldn't walk with the pain and I have never experienced the like of it pain wise before.   I have broken ankles, dislocated collarbones but I was in more pain with this. Anyway,  I have not left the couch since I got home.
Fcuk it lad great effort for a great cause. What did u raise in the end?
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on May 26, 2013, 11:05:14 PM
Well Done Horse, brilliant effort
Post by: orangeman on May 27, 2013, 01:00:23 AM
Great effort in getting to 20 mile. Well done. Hope you get well soon.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 27, 2013, 02:27:57 PM
Brilliant stuff, only did 14.5 not so long ago and was wrecked afterwards so I feel your pain. Great work with the rasing of money for a great cause
Post by: illdecide on May 27, 2013, 03:12:39 PM
Just stuck a few quid in there pal...for a good cause. Done a few cycles for PIPS in Lurgan...

Well done on the run and amount raised.

Post by: lynchbhoy on May 27, 2013, 07:15:37 PM
well done BC. heck of a dstance and the important part was raising the money !
Post by: muppet on May 27, 2013, 07:21:29 PM
20 miles, well done BCB.

I still can't do 20 minutes.  :'(
Post by: Declan on May 28, 2013, 07:25:40 AM
Fair play BC - great effort
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 06, 2013, 08:23:03 PM
So after the legs have settled back to normality I am giving it 1 more burst for sponsorship.  There has to be a cut-off point so I am shutting the page down next Monday, the 10th, so if anyone else wants to a donation have a wee look in and spare a few shekels for an old ex footballer!!!

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 07, 2013, 02:07:26 PM
Only seeing this now, don't get the chance to look in here too often nowadays.

Well done BCB1, a great effort for a great cause. We too have been affected by suicide, lost my brother in law to it last year. He had severe mental issues and like you mentioned had started to pick up and help out more but this was just his way of saying goodbye. The first year and the first occasions without them is tough and I wish you strength in getting through them. After that I'm not sure it gets any better but it definitely gets less shit.

Now off to unload some shekels.