http://eireogseville.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/gaelic-football-invades-la-liga/ (http://eireogseville.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/gaelic-football-invades-la-liga/)
Hope it's a success!
Smart idea by Sevilla.
I think the GAA making a push to invite more minorities to one the big games on the calendar would prove incredibly successful. You see the excitement and joy in people everytime the naturalisation ceremonies are held and what better route to integrating communities than through sport? Talent in the sporting arena destorys prejudices and barriers in ways nothing else can.
The GAA sometimes forgets it was also founded to promote Irish culture and instead falls into simply playing to the choir. Ambition, lads.
Now that is a good news story - thanks Dinny!
I heard of a Galician club recently that has no irish players on the team - all locals. Thought that was pretty class.
Quote from: outinfront on January 24, 2013, 09:54:09 AM
I heard of a Galician club recently that has no irish players on the team - all locals. Thought that was pretty class.
Kinda the opposite of some clubs back home, then.
The marketing department in Croke Park should be on to this and promote it. Great advertising for the GAA.
Similar events to bring immigrants to Croker would be good.
We could start with bullfighting.
Quote from: armaghniac on January 24, 2013, 08:32:14 PM
Similar events to bring immigrants to Croker would be good.
We could start with bullfighting.
I know the Wee County considers itself an oppressed minority since the events of July 2010 but c'mon now.
Credit to everyone involved. A Sligo man set the club up too
Quote from: ck on January 24, 2013, 09:29:39 PM
Credit to everyone involved. A Sligo man set the club up too
Well to be fair the credit is almost entirely Sevilla's, it's not like their minorities initiative was the brainchild of the gaelic club.
Quote from: mayo.mick on January 24, 2013, 08:30:22 PM
The marketing department in Croke Park should be on to this and promote it. Great advertising for the GAA.
GAA Marketing department office
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8oTs6Oz-OW8
Quote from: spuds on January 25, 2013, 12:20:35 AM
Exactly what I ment Spuds!!
I hear that they put 13 men behind the ball in this game
Definitely think that Real Madrid and Barcelona should play an exhibition game at Croker at half time during this year's All Ireland Junior Club Final.Should add at least another 200 on to the attendance.
Any word how this went?
(http://sphotos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/483048_521563657864688_335004023_n.jpg)
Quote from: mayo.mick on January 25, 2013, 02:40:50 PM
Quote from: spuds on January 25, 2013, 12:20:35 AM
Exactly what I ment Spuds!!
Lads I often do wonder what they do in Croker as most of the competition sponsors have their own PR teams to push things too.
That's an aside fair play to the lads! Do ye know in Rennes football is on the NS curriculum and that there are no irish playing on the team.
Na hEurop abu!
HQ had a huge hand in the success of the promotion of the Spring Series. How are the provincial councils going about promoting games?
Hahahahahahahahahaha. Provincial councils and promotion don't seem to go together.