GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: drici on October 04, 2012, 12:55:32 AM

Title: Championship Draws RTÉ2 7-30pm
Post by: drici on October 04, 2012, 12:55:32 AM
The Irish Times - Thursday, October 4, 2012

Focus shifts to next year with tonight's championship draw

IT SEEMS Donegal are only wrapping up their All Ireland homecoming, and Kilkenny are only in the midst of theirs, and yet with this evening's draw for the 2013 Championship comes the sudden if not inevitable shift in focus towards next year.

All four Provinces will be staging their respective draws at GAA headquarters (live on RTÉ 2, from 7.30pm), although the first headline is likely to come from Ulster, and who will first face-off against the defending All Ireland Football Champions Donegal.

What is certain is manager Jim McGuinness would rather not be drawn in the Preliminary Round for the third successive year, not that it did Donegal any harm: this year they become the first County to successfully defend their Ulster title despite playing in the Preliminary Round on both occasions, beating Antrim in 2011 and Cavan this year.

Ulster doesn't seed Counties, which means anyone can be drawn to play in the Preliminary Round.

In Leinster, Dublin will be one of four seeded counties as defending Provincial football Champions, along with Kildare, Wexford, and Meath – and will thus go straight into the Quarter Finals.

However, having surrendered their Leinster Hurling title to Galway, Kilkenny won't be the seeded team in the 2012 Leinster Hurling Championship, which will see Galway go straight into the Semi Finals.

But despite some enduring calls for a change in the Championship format, there won't be a whole lot different about what is drawn up in Croke Park this evening.

"It is essentially the same format as recent years," explained the GAA's director of communications, Lisa Clancy. "We'll have each of the Provincial secretaries in Croke Park, and there'll be six draws, the four Provincial Football Championships, and the Munster and Leinster Provincial Hurling Championships.

"Once the draw is done that sets in motion the process of agreeing the dates and venues, plus the television coverage, which all makes up the master fixture list, which should be completed by the end of the month."

One of the alterations to the process agreed last year is that before the provincial councils set their schedules, the TV rights holders will first state their preferred live matches, thereby reducing the likelihood of having some of the bigger games conflicting with each other.

But the GAA's Central Council still face the unenviable task of bringing together the master fixture list, which includes the football and hurling league fixtures, plus the various underage competitions.

In Munster, defending Football Champions Cork may or may not face old rivals Kerry before the provincial final: there was speculation the Munster Council would revert to the seeded draw, effectively keeping Cork and Kerry apart until the Provincial football final.

The seeded option appeared to have the backing of Munster council chairman Seán Walsh, although this failed to get the support from other counties.

Speculation, too, that Laois would opt out of the Liam MacCarthy Cup next year and play in the second tier Christy Ring Cup instead never materialised.

IAN O'RIORDAN
Title: Re: Championship Draws RTÉ2 7-30pm
Post by: Syferus on October 04, 2012, 01:53:11 AM
I just wish we were in Ulster for a year so we could brutalise Armagh again.
Post by: DuffleKing on October 04, 2012, 08:05:31 AM
Jamie Clarke wishes that too so he can be guaranteed his all star nominee every year
Post by: Onion Bag on October 04, 2012, 08:31:01 AM
Quote from: Syferus on October 04, 2012, 01:53:11 AM

Hard to believe that the Rossies are still living off a win like this in the qualifiers
Post by: Onlooker on October 04, 2012, 11:10:23 AM
After being drawn against Kerry in the 1st Round for the last 3 years, it would be nice if Tipp could avoid Kerry (& Cork) in their first game this year.  Surely, we won't get Kerry again.
Post by: AQMP on October 04, 2012, 12:07:48 PM

We'll take your place in Connacht to take care of Galway!!
Post by: J OGorman on October 04, 2012, 12:26:08 PM
fingers crossed for a home tie. Away to Donegal again and I'll hit the whiskey (much like the Donegal team)...home te Tyrone would be nice, put some manners in them ;-)...for god and Ulster
Post by: Rossfan on October 04, 2012, 03:14:54 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 04, 2012, 08:31:01 AM

Hard to believe that the Rossies are still living off a win like this in the qualifiers
Nobody is except Sillyferus (who is noted for nonsense on this and other forums  ;D ::)).
Meanwhile the rest of us know where we're at and we await a new management team to see if we can start the long road of maximising our return from recent good under age teams , which won't be easy in present economic circumstances especially in a poor County like ours.
As for the draw it's us/Herrins/Mwr in Round 1 with 1 team getting a bye to the Semi. Meanwhile Sligo and Laythrum go globetrotting.
Post by: armaghniac on October 04, 2012, 03:21:45 PM

Yes indeed. Roscommon's last visit to an Armagh venue was indeed brutal.
Post by: blanketattack on October 04, 2012, 03:46:20 PM
Let's face it, the draws have been done already by the GAA behind closed doors, but the charade they do with the hot balls/cold balls still has to be done.
Post by: LeoMc on October 04, 2012, 04:16:32 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on October 04, 2012, 03:46:20 PM
Let's face it, the draws have been done already by the GAA behind closed doors, but the charade they do with the hot balls/cold balls still has to be done.

Do you want to let us in on some of them?
Post by: Aristo 60 on October 04, 2012, 04:22:16 PM

Would they not need a whole range of temperatures to make sure they pick out the correct pairings??

Freezing, Chilly, Cowl, Bit Cold, Nice, Warm, Roasting, Boiling and Burny Burny might represent Ulster teams well enough.

Post by: cadence on October 04, 2012, 04:49:13 PM
i like the fact that ulster isn't seeded. makes it a bit of a lottery, but it all adds to it. 
Post by: Fuzzman on October 04, 2012, 04:50:19 PM
When's the last time Tyrone got into the easy side of the draw
I'd settle for Tyrone/Fermanagh v Cavan/Antrim but I'll bet you we get Funegal in Ballybofey

Seems like the draw is getting earlier and earlier every year.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 05:20:46 PM
Quote from: AQMP on October 04, 2012, 12:07:48 PM

Personally I would love to see Connacht-Ulster Championship and a Munster-Leinster Championship, if the 2 Provinicial winners got a second shot if they lost their next match (or an automatic Semi-Final Place).

It could look something like this

New York V Cavan
Fermanagh V Donegal
         Winner A V B
Tyrone V Antrim
Roscommon V Armagh

Down V Leitrim
Mayo V Derry
         Winner C V D
London V Sligo
Galway V Monaghan

Final Top group v Lower group.

A similar structure in Munster-Leinster might be

Kerry V Wexford
Tipperary V Dublin

Offaly V Laois
Wicklow V Carlow

Kildare V Cork
Westmeath V Louth

Clare V Waterford
Longford V Meath
Post by: Onlooker on October 04, 2012, 06:15:42 PM
FFS.  After meeting Kerry in the 1st Round for 3 years you are now drawing us against Dublin.  Could you have not found someone a little easier to start off with.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 04, 2012, 07:16:46 PM
Anyone but Laois again.

We can't have Dublin, Kildare, Meath or Wexford in the first game so we are left with the pick of

Westmeath
Laois
Carlow
Louth
Wicklow

Prob Westmeath in Mullingar  ???
Post by: laoislad on October 04, 2012, 07:21:35 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 04, 2012, 07:16:46 PM
Anyone but Laois again.

We can't have Dublin, Kildare, Meath or Wexford in the first game so we are left with the pick of

Westmeath
Laois
Carlow
Louth
Wicklow

Prob Westmeath in Mullingar  ???

Sure ye finally beat us,I'd have thought you be wanting us again.
Post by: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 07:31:07 PM
CAN I LISTEN OR WATCH TO THIS IN ENGLAND LADS?? ANY LINKS
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 04, 2012, 07:40:43 PM
youwouldnt get much odds against a Galway/Kilkeeny final there
Post by: laoislad on October 04, 2012, 07:41:37 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 04, 2012, 07:40:43 PM
youwouldnt get much odds against a Galway/Kilkeeny final there

Handy route to the Leinster final for Laois.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 07:44:50 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 07:31:07 PM
CAN I LISTEN OR WATCH TO THIS IN ENGLAND LADS?? ANY LINKS

Live on RTE NOW, available WORLDWIDE at the moment.

I am watching it in England now.

http://www.rte.ie/live/ (http://www.rte.ie/live/)
Post by: lawnseed on October 04, 2012, 07:46:38 PM
why do they even bother calling liam mccarthy the all ireland theres only a half dozen counties out of 32 who can win it
Post by: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 07:48:25 PM
Good man Mayo!!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 04, 2012, 07:49:03 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on October 04, 2012, 07:46:38 PM
why do they even bother calling liam mccarthy the all ireland theres only a half dozen counties out of 32 who can win it

So it's no different to football then?
Post by: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 07:51:15 PM
I thought ye couldnt get RTE on the mainland!!!lol!!

How did the hurling go for Leinster?
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 04, 2012, 07:54:40 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on October 04, 2012, 07:49:03 PM

Five different All Ireland winners in football the last five years it will be while before we see that in Hurling.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 07:54:47 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 07:51:15 PM

I'm sure if you were in France you could get it now too.

Some programmes like the live news are temporarly available. This seems to be been streamed as if its part of the news!!!

Munster Hurling
Limerick V Tipp

Waterford V Clare   V Cork
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 04, 2012, 07:55:21 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 07:51:15 PM

Kilkenny, Dublin, Offaly and Wexford on one side.

Galway and the rest on the other.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 04, 2012, 07:56:02 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on October 04, 2012, 07:54:40 PM

Five different All Ireland winners in football the last five years it will be while before we see that in Hurling.

5 would be less than half a dozen.
Post by: lawnseed on October 04, 2012, 07:56:15 PM
armagh v donegal wait and see
Post by: lawnseed on October 04, 2012, 07:57:40 PM

i think the football teams are all in the one draw ::)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 07:58:08 PM
Munster Football

Clare bye
Waterford bye

Limerick V Cork (v Clare)

Tipp V Kerry  (v Waterford)
Post by: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 07:59:53 PM
Hiliarious................................

Marty morrisey : 'Well, Waterford are mangerless at the minute...... let's see who they get..................................'

Marty they still might be mangerless again come June!!
Post by: lawnseed on October 04, 2012, 08:00:11 PM
when are we going to get an open draw same same in munster
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 04, 2012, 08:01:13 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 07:58:08 PM
Munster Football

Clare bye
Waterford bye

Limerick V Cork (v Clare)

Tipp V Kerry  (v Waterford)

Marty Morrisey  -  "the munster cship will certainly be interesting next year"

How th fcuk will it ?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 04, 2012, 08:02:04 PM
Galway v Mayo in Salthill.
Post by: lawnseed on October 04, 2012, 08:03:32 PM
open draw its the only way no bys in to the provincial finals
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 08:04:09 PM
Connacht

London V Sligo

New York V Leitrim

Galway V Mayo (V Roscommon)

London/Sligo V New York/Leitrim
Post by: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 08:08:03 PM
I think that was the funniest think Colm O'Rourke ever said!!!lol

'The way things are in Ireland at the minute, Leitrim may have a team on the way out to New York, but may not have a team on the way back!'lol
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 04, 2012, 08:08:35 PM
Cavan for the Armagh men
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 04, 2012, 08:09:32 PM
Tyrone v Donegal
Post by: lawnseed on October 04, 2012, 08:10:52 PM
donegal v tyrone.. lovely
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 04, 2012, 08:11:20 PM
Ulster final for Armagh?
Post by: lawnseed on October 04, 2012, 08:13:15 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on October 04, 2012, 08:11:20 PM
Ulster final for Armagh?
no manager
Post by: T Fearon on October 04, 2012, 08:13:43 PM
Can't wait for Senegal Jimmy to rattle off the Tyrone towns and villages!
Post by: armaghniac on October 04, 2012, 08:14:11 PM
Ulster final for Armagh?

no manager if they don't reach Ulster final.
Post by: T Fearon on October 04, 2012, 08:14:49 PM
You would think so
Post by: lawnseed on October 04, 2012, 08:15:32 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 04, 2012, 08:14:11 PM
Ulster final for Armagh?

no manager if they don't reach Ulster final.
hes only plucking pheasants til the...
Post by: Doiregael2 on October 04, 2012, 08:16:07 PM
Ah feck!!  >:(
Post by: laoislad on October 04, 2012, 08:17:49 PM
Handy route to Leinster Final for Laois.
Post by: ross4life on October 04, 2012, 08:18:28 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 08:04:09 PM
Connacht

London V Sligo

New York V Leitrim

Another expected early Connacht championship exit for us & it looks like another Hyde park Connacht final.
Post by: glens abu on October 04, 2012, 08:20:16 PM
Looks like Donegal v Antrim Ulster final ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 04, 2012, 08:20:37 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 04, 2012, 08:18:28 PM
Connacht

London V Sligo

New York V Leitrim

Another expected early Connacht championship exit for us & it looks like another Hyde park Connacht final.

Who's got home advantage when ye play Mayo next?

I know Galway v Roscommon would be in Salthill.
Post by: ONeill on October 04, 2012, 08:20:43 PM
O'Rourke says Meath need to get out of the Turd Division. Very disrespectful to the other sides in it.
Post by: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 08:22:30 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 04, 2012, 08:20:43 PM
O'Rourke says Meath need to get out of the Turd Division. Very disrespectful to the other sides in it.

He is just saying what everyone else is thinking.

He said something funny for once about Leitrim so leave poor Colm alone
Post by: ross4life on October 04, 2012, 08:22:55 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 04, 2012, 08:20:37 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 04, 2012, 08:18:28 PM
Connacht

London V Sligo

New York V Leitrim

Who's got home advantage when ye play Mayo next?

I know Galway v Roscommon would be in Salthill.

Castlebar last year's Connacht final was in Hyde park..
Post by: CavanCola on October 04, 2012, 08:24:06 PM
Not that it really matters...Cavan in the prelim round again in ulster... Teams should be exempted the following year after being in the prelim round.
Post by: Onion Bag on October 04, 2012, 08:30:48 PM
Anyone got the full draw for ulster?
Post by: joemamas on October 04, 2012, 08:31:24 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 04, 2012, 08:02:04 PM

I thought the last time Mayo played Galway in Connacht was in the final in Salthill . I may be wrong.
Post by: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 08:33:04 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 04, 2012, 08:30:48 PM

donegal/tyrone v derry/down

v

cavan/armagh v fermanagh
antrim v monaghan
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 08:33:25 PM

One side is

Donegal V Tyrone
Derry V Down (pretty sure Derry was drawn out here first)
Post by: Syferus on October 04, 2012, 08:33:59 PM
Time to end the streak, lads.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 08:35:19 PM
To be honest most of the draws for the Hurling and Football look boring as shite.

Time to combine provinces or open draw. Most of this draw was like watching paint dry.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 04, 2012, 08:35:44 PM

cav v armagh in prelim, winners play fermanagh
winners of above to play antrim or monaghan in semi

donegal v tyrone - winners to play derry or down in semi
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 04, 2012, 08:35:52 PM
Quote from: joemamas on October 04, 2012, 08:31:24 PM

I thought the last time Mayo played Galway in Connacht was in the final in Salthill . I may be wrong.

Was pretty sure we had Mayo and Roscommon at home the next time we played them but I could be mistaken. Well on the Mayo one anyway. Roscommon we definitely do.

Didn't Mayo beat Galway in Castlebar on a rainy day last year?
Post by: joemamas on October 04, 2012, 08:36:51 PM
Quote from: joemamas on October 04, 2012, 08:31:24 PM

My bad it was in Castlebar in 2011.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 04, 2012, 08:37:56 PM
We accept the Wicka challenge and then, hopefully with a win under our belts, the challenge of Meath.
Post by: laoislad on October 04, 2012, 08:38:37 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 04, 2012, 08:37:56 PM
We accept the Wicka challenge and then, hopefully with a win under our belts, the challenge of Meath.

Laois v Longford semi final.
Post by: dec on October 04, 2012, 08:38:40 PM
Ulster Football : Cavan/Armagh  /  Fermanagh v Antrim/Monaghan, Donegal/Tyrone v Derry/Down.
Connacht Football : Galway/Mayo v Roscommon, New York/Leitrim v London/Sligo.
Leinster Football : Wicklow/Longford v Meath, Laois/Louth v Wexford, Westmeath/Carlow v Dublin, Offaly v Kildare.
Munster Football : Clare v Limerick/Cork, Waterford v Kerry/Tipperary.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 08:39:10 PM
As much as I would love to Beal Bocht this, but unless at least one other team and hopefully at least 2 other teams in Connacht improve alot, Mayo should walk this.

Alot may change and probably will in the meantime, but as of now I would much rather have Donegal, Tyrone, Dublin, Kerry or Cork in the first round.
Post by: dec on October 04, 2012, 08:44:02 PM
Munster Hurling : Tipperary v Limerick, Cork v Clare/Waterford.
Leinster Hurling : Offaly/Kilkenny v Wexford/Dublin , Galway v Antrim/Westmeath / Laois or Carlow/London.
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 04, 2012, 08:50:02 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 08:39:10 PM
As much as I would love to Beal Bocht this, but unless at least one other team and hopefully at least 2 other teams in Connacht improve alot, Mayo should walk this.

Alot may change and probably will in the meantime, but as of now I would much rather have Donegal, Tyrone, Dublin, Kerry or Cork in the first round.

Why would you want early championship exit over a near guaranteed All Ireland quarter final?
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 04, 2012, 08:52:06 PM
Flashbacks of 2005 and 2007 spring to mind.  :o
Post by: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 09:07:36 PM
Quote from: dec on October 04, 2012, 08:44:02 PM
Munster Hurling : Tipperary v Limerick, Cork v Clare/Waterford.
Leinster Hurling : Offaly/Kilkenny v Wexford/Dublin , Galway v Antrim/Westmeath / Laois or Carlow/London.

The Antrim Hurlers might get on tv next year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: rodney trotter on October 04, 2012, 09:08:46 PM
Cavan get the annual preliminary round draw...
Post by: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 09:11:50 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 04, 2012, 09:08:46 PM

Thats the rules........

The team with the most Ulster Championships have to begin in the preliminary round every year, as they are the best and it is only fair to the rest of the other counties ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: ross4life on October 04, 2012, 09:12:44 PM

Yeah like how you walked the last two Connacht finals. Word of warning Alan Mulholland did better in his 2nd year with the Galway minors,U21s.
Post by: rodney trotter on October 04, 2012, 09:15:56 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 09:11:50 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 04, 2012, 09:08:46 PM

Thats the rules........

The team with the most Ulster Championships have to begin in the preliminary round every year, as they are the best and it is only fair to the rest of the other counties ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Ah i wouldn't say that, unless you are living in the Clouds, Donegal won back to back Ulster titles in the last 2 year via the premlinary round. I thought the Rule was, they would come out again and give Cavan another hammering.
Post by: cadence on October 04, 2012, 09:47:52 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 08:33:04 PM

donegal/tyrone v derry/down

v

cavan/armagh v fermanagh
antrim v monaghan

few shillings on monaghan to make the final you'd have to say.
Post by: babarino on October 04, 2012, 10:16:21 PM

Agree, definitely the easy side and Monaghan will learn from the 2nd half collapse in the semi this year.
Post by: rodney trotter on October 04, 2012, 10:22:29 PM
Quote from: babarino on October 04, 2012, 10:16:21 PM

Agree, definitely the easy side and Monaghan will learn from the 2nd half collapse in the semi this year.

Monaghan struggled past Antrim last year, who were without CJ McGourty. Wouldn't think that far ahead.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 04, 2012, 10:32:00 PM
Home draw against Armagh???
Better than the last two draws,but Armagh will fancy their chances  though as despite the Roscommon second half collapse,they have been playing at a far higher standard than us over the last number of years. We will be up against it again.
The Orchard boys will be loving that draw, Cavan, Fermanagh, and one of Monaghan/Antrim to get into an Ulster Final.
Post by: Onlooker on October 04, 2012, 10:40:05 PM
Kerry v. Tipperary - 1st Round for the 4th year in a row.  What did we do to the Munster Council guys that they did that to us again. >:( >:( >:(
Post by: theticklemister on October 04, 2012, 10:43:15 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on October 04, 2012, 10:40:05 PM
Kerry v. Tipperary - 1st Round for the 4th year in a row.  What did we do to the Munster Council guys that they did that to us again. >:( >:( >:(

look at in another way...................yer only one game away from a final!
Post by: moysider on October 04, 2012, 11:13:45 PM

Not sure what you mean by above?

Mayo away to Galway.

A Mayo final with Ros would be in Castlebar.

Only in 97 do I remember Mayo defending Connacht after a loss in an AI final. Hopefully we ll be able to avoid early back door but if we need to go down that road there ll be no excuses.

Hopefully Andy will be back and we should be a better outfit again next year - we could have been better than we were in final 2 weeks ago - and it s unlikely that management will be as indulgent again. Injuries aside, I d expect at least 3 changes from team that started v Donegal to team that will play Galway in next years Championship. And we ll be a better team as a result.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 11:20:34 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 04, 2012, 09:12:44 PM

Yeah like how you walked the last two Connacht finals. Word of warning Alan Mulholland did better in his 2nd year with the Galway minors,U21s.

I hope you are correct, I hope the other Connacht teams are able to give us 3 games where they push us to the very edge but we get over the line. I don't want us to stroll through, I don't want us to go out because of complacency or one of the other teams to actually become better than us. I want the other teams to be as good as any of the top teams but just short of us. Whats wrong with that?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 11:25:14 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 04, 2012, 11:13:45 PM

Mayo away to Galway.

Only in 97 do I remember Mayo defending Connacht after a loss in an AI final. Hopefully we ll be able to avoid early back door but if we need to go down that road there ll be no excuses.

Hopefully Andy will be back and we should be a better outfit again next year - we could have been better than we were in final 2 weeks ago - and it s unlikely that management will be as indulgent again. Injuries aside, I d expect at least 3 changes from team that started v Donegal to team that will play Galway in next years Championship. And we ll be a better team as a result.

With Galway not being anywhere near the equal opponent they used to be, with Roscommon not yet back to that level (but coming) and with Sligo only able to give us a half a game (IMO), would it not be a more useful to get a huge challenge to start with. You have to beat these teams at some stage, why not at the start.

Yes I know form may change, yes I know tactics, training, injuries, new players, retirements will all make next year different from today. I am just basing it on current circumstances.
Post by: Syferus on October 04, 2012, 11:27:46 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 11:20:34 PM

I hope you are correct, I hope the other Connacht teams are able to give us 3 games where they push us to the very edge but we get over the line. I don't want us to stroll through, I don't want us to go out because of complacency or one of the other teams to actually become better than us. I want the other teams to be as good as any of the top teams but just short of us. Whats wrong with that?

The last time Mayo completed a three-in-a-row? 1950.

That's the standard you need to be at to do it, for all the jibes the Connacht championship remains one of the most difficult provincial titles to hold onto for any length of time. For me it feels like we're either going to have a different name on the Nestor Cup in 2013 or Mayo are going to have their most serious stab at the AI since 1996.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 11:31:39 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 04, 2012, 11:27:46 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 11:20:34 PM

The last time Mayo completed a three-in-a-row? 1950.

That's the standard you need to be at to do it, for all the jibes the Connacht championship remains one of the most difficult provincial titles to hold onto for any length of time. For it feels like we're either going to have a different name on the Nestor Cup in 2013 or Mayo are going to have their most serious stab at the AI since 1996.

I don't intend any disrespect to the other Connacht counties when I say what I say. I would love to see a Galway and Roscommon at the top table with us and a Sligo and Leitrim able to be major contenders for Connacht (you have to say based on the draw that is true for Sligo this year). I want London's upward progession to continue and New York to strenghten. I want it to benefit all Connacht teams but especially Mayo and deliver an All-Ireland or two very soon to Mayo and maybe a neighbour thereafter.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 04, 2012, 11:32:08 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 04, 2012, 10:22:29 PM

Monaghan struggled past Antrim last year, who were without CJ McGourty. Wouldn't think that far ahead.
If O'Rourke is as good as some people here seem to think, you'd have to imagine reaching the final is a reasonable target with that draw.
Post by: moysider on October 05, 2012, 12:17:44 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 11:25:14 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 04, 2012, 11:13:45 PM

Mayo away to Galway.

With Galway not being anywhere near the equal opponent they used to be, with Roscommon not yet back to that level (but coming) and with Sligo only able to give us a half a game (IMO), would it not be a more useful to get a huge challenge to start with. You have to beat these teams at some stage, why not at the start.

Yes I know form may change, yes I know tactics, training, injuries, new players, retirements will all make next year different from today. I am just basing it on current circumstances.

I dunno. We came from a very low ebb to an AI semi and final after the disastrous 07 - 10 years. And 10 was the abyss. So, I for one am not going to assume anything. Other teams can push quickly as well.

My biggest concern would be about ourselves.

Why would we want a huge challenge to start with? Believe me Galway will be huge enough.

The ideal route is through the province and do it without bursting oneself - if you re good enough!

We got a test a couple of weeks ago and we weren t ready for it so I wouldn t be looking for a fight in May or June.

If we look at the AI final hard there are a couple of things that need to be sorted before we look to sewing it into our neighbours.

In the AI fina lwe were outfoxed tactically.

Our selection was flawed as early as June but we carried on regardless. We took Higgins out of the game all year ourselves ( in fact his career has been destroyed by successive Mayo managements) - even if he gets an All- Star it has been a waste of talent. There were other glaring personnel problems in the team long before Croke Park but I realise that it is not easy to change winning teams and all that even though there are disasters there about to happen. Andy Moran was a massive loss because his presence took heat off others and when he was gone it was much bigger that losing just 1player and the captain.

Apart from a couple of individuals our fitness was as good as there was about this year.
Post by: The Burner on October 05, 2012, 09:26:21 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 05:20:46 PM

Personally I would love to see Connacht-Ulster Championship and a Munster-Leinster Championship, if the 2 Provinicial winners got a second shot if they lost their next match (or an automatic Semi-Final Place).

New York V Cavan
Fermanagh V Donegal
         Winner A V B
Tyrone V Antrim
Roscommon V Armagh

Down V Leitrim
Mayo V Derry
         Winner C V D
London V Sligo
Galway V Monaghan

Kerry V Wexford
Tipperary V Dublin

Offaly V Laois
Wicklow V Carlow

Kildare V Cork
Westmeath V Louth

Clare V Waterford
Longford V Meath

What did Limerick ever do to you Mayo?
Post by: Crete Boom on October 05, 2012, 09:55:29 AM
 Well we got us as tough a draw as you can get in Connacht so Breheny & co can't complain about our easy path this year! Some Mayomen don't seem to be too worried but I am. Maybe it's jusy a sour taste from the All Ireland final but stats wise we haven't put three provincial titles together since doing four in a row from 1948-51. Also with Galway up in the first match I just have memories of 1998/2005/2007 stuck in my head which doesn't fill me full of confidence. Also if we beat them then we have the Rossies waiting to put the boot in and in fairness they do owe us a beating at this stage ;). We will just have to seen how the team shapes up during the league which will hopefully be a strong campaign like this year and then take it from there but anyone saying it's a cake walk for us because we are ahead of the rest of the teams out west could be in for a rude awakening!
Post by: rodney trotter on October 05, 2012, 11:06:52 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 04, 2012, 11:32:08 PM

If O'Rourke is as good as some people here seem to think, you'd have to imagine reaching the final is a reasonable target with that draw.

Yeah its a reasonable target, i think Antrim would be feeling the same though. The game is in Belfast so an added edge, They will have a new manager aswell. Its all on the day. If Cavan got past Armagh, be a big ask but they aren't as strong as they were, then they would have a great chance too, See how the league develops.
Post by: anglocelt39 on October 05, 2012, 11:22:00 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 04, 2012, 11:32:08 PM

Leave the cute hoorism to the Kerry boys, Sam has to be the aim for you lot in 2013, especially with an Ulster final appearance guaranteed.
Post by: Lar Naparka on October 05, 2012, 12:55:51 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on October 05, 2012, 09:55:29 AM
Well we got us as tough a draw as you can get in Connacht so Breheny & co can't complain about our easy path this year! Some Mayomen don't seem to be too worried but I am. Maybe it's jusy a sour taste from the All Ireland final but stats wise we haven't put three provincial titles together since doing four in a row from 1948-51. Also with Galway up in the first match I just have memories of 1998/2005/2007 stuck in my head which doesn't fill me full of confidence. Also if we beat them then we have the Rossies waiting to put the boot in and in fairness they do owe us a beating at this stage ;). We will just have to seen how the team shapes up during the league which will hopefully be a strong campaign like this year and then take it from there but anyone saying it's a cake walk for us because we are ahead of the rest of the teams out west could be in for a rude awakening!
I don't think many would consider this a cakewalk but if we are to mount a serious challenge for Sam, Galway will have to be swept aside. That's by no means a certainty.
Don't know what the FBD and the league are going to throw up but right now, I'd say we should be able to handle the heron chokers handily enough.
"There's many a slip twixt cup and lip" and all that.
Unless another Pearse Hanley is unearthed from the u21s, I can't see JH making many changes to his starting fifteen.
Fans can argue all they want but he'll go with the side that lined out against Sligo and Down with one exception if Andy is back to form -- Conroy would be in for Doherty.
Post by: babarino on October 05, 2012, 02:04:48 PM

Leave the cute hoorism to the Kerry boys, Sam has to be the aim for you lot in 2013, especially with an Ulster final appearance guaranteed.

Like your attitude. We're not showing enough ambition.

Mind you I was  looking forward to getting a crack at knocking Donegal off their perch, like we did in '93 in the 1st round. Suppose it'll have to wait until the final in Clones, or Croker, if they don't make it to the Ulster Final.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 05, 2012, 02:50:57 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on October 05, 2012, 12:55:51 PM
I don't think many would consider this a cakewalk but if we are to mount a serious challenge for Sam, Galway will have to be swept aside. That's by no means a certainty.
Don't know what the FBD and the league are going to throw up but right now, I'd say we should be able to handle the heron chokers handily enough.
Unless another Pearse Hanley is unearthed from the u21s, I can't see JH making many changes to his starting fifteen.
Fans can argue all they want but he'll go with the side that lined out against Sligo and Down with one exception if Andy is back to form -- Conroy would be in for Doherty.

I thought we were being kicked out of the FBD this year, we should really consider the McKenna Cup and get a game against Donegal.
Post by: stew on October 05, 2012, 03:36:15 PM
If............and it's a bif if Armagh can beat Monaghan away I think we can make the UF, great draw for Armagh altogather and it is great to see Tyrone and Down having to deal with the AI champions.  ;D

We will see what PG is capable of, hopefully he can bring a strong panel together and the Og's bate Cross in the county final, that way we will have our best players for the national league.
Post by: armaghniac on October 05, 2012, 04:54:27 PM

QuoteWe will see what PG is capable of, hopefully he can bring a strong panel together and the Og's bate Cross in the county final, that way we will have our best players for the national league.

Surely the Ogs will go on to win the AI club this time, having given Galls a handy one last time? How will PG cope  fighting with Ogs instead of Cross?
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 05, 2012, 05:04:22 PM
Quote from: stew on October 05, 2012, 03:36:15 PM
If............and it's a bif if Armagh can beat Monaghan away I think we can make the UF, great draw for Armagh altogather and it is great to see Tyrone and Down having to deal with the AI champions.  ;D

We will see what PG is capable of, hopefully he can bring a strong panel together and the Og's bate Cross in the county final, that way we will have our best players for the national league.
Nippy and S Forker?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 05, 2012, 06:15:16 PM
Quote from: The Burner on October 05, 2012, 09:26:21 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2012, 05:20:46 PM

New York V Cavan
Fermanagh V Donegal
         Winner A V B
Tyrone V Antrim
Roscommon V Armagh

Down V Leitrim
Mayo V Derry
         Winner C V D
London V Sligo
Galway V Monaghan

Kerry V Wexford
Tipperary V Dublin

Offaly V Laois
Wicklow V Carlow

Kildare V Cork
Westmeath V Louth

Clare V Waterford
Longford V Meath

What did Limerick ever do to you Mayo?

I sent them to Nowlan park, but the Kilkenny lads so the bigball and bate them to death with their hurls in a confused frenzy. They don't tolerate difference to the Sliotar mantra in around the Marble City and surrounds.
Post by: moysider on October 05, 2012, 10:13:30 PM
Unless another Pearse Hanley is unearthed from the u21s, I can't see JH making many changes to his starting fifteen. Fans can argue all they want but he'll go with the side that lined out against Sligo and Down with one exception if Andy is back to form -- Conroy would be in for Doherty.

Can t agree. Andy back and at least 2-3 other changes a must. We ve been poor at 6 and 11 all year eg.

Not a lover of the All-Star thingy but it must be some kind of record that a team that reached the AI final doesnt get a nomination for the ff line. A condemning stat that.

We need at least 3 players to come along that are better than lads that were starting this year. According to an insider we need 5!
Post by: Lar Naparka on October 05, 2012, 11:51:34 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 05, 2012, 10:13:30 PM
Unless another Pearse Hanley is unearthed from the u21s, I can't see JH making many changes to his starting fifteen. Fans can argue all they want but he'll go with the side that lined out against Sligo and Down with one exception if Andy is back to form -- Conroy would be in for Doherty.

Can t agree. Andy back and at least 2-3 other changes a must. We ve been poor at 6 and 11 all year eg.

Not a lover of the All-Star thingy but it must be some kind of record that a team that reached the AI final doesnt get a nomination for the ff line. A condemning stat that.

We need at least 3 players to come along that are better than lads that were starting this year. According to an insider we need 5!
I know but I also said:
Fans can argue all they want but he'll go with the side that lined out against Sligo and Down...."
Our James is not for turning when his mind is made up.
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 06, 2012, 02:30:57 PM
Quote from: stew on October 05, 2012, 03:36:15 PM

IF ye get to play Monaghan it will be in the Ulster semi and so should be a neutral venue. First you need to beat Cavan in breffni and fermanagh in armagh.
Post by: armaghniac on October 06, 2012, 06:48:45 PM
If we get Fermanagh in Armagh we'll let them go ahead and then knock in a couple of goals at the end.
Post by: moysider on October 06, 2012, 07:58:27 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on October 05, 2012, 11:51:34 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 05, 2012, 10:13:30 PM

I know but I also said:
Fans can argue all they want but he'll go with the side that lined out against Sligo and Down...."
Our James is not for turning when his mind is made up.

I dunno about that. Losing an AI in the manner we did will have changed his mind about some things. As I ve said elsewhere i believe if he could go back again he would do things a bit different. He had big changes from 2011 to 2012. I expect there ll be more.