Pat Gilroy has quit the Dubs
Jim Gavin to replace him maybe?
Jason Ryan if they go for an outsider?
Micko ?
It isn't a major surprise. He wasn't certain that he would carry on last year after the All Ireland win due to his work commitments, so I didn't think there was much chance he would give it another lash next year. He done a great job with the Dubs.
Jim Gavin is suppose to be the fav to get it, with Dessie Farrell taking over the u21's. I wonder will Gavin have them training at 7 in the morning aswell..
As expected. Gilroy owes the Dubs nothing did his time & deserves a break. Jim Gavin looks odds on to replace him but with another good U21 team next year they will need a good replacement maybe Dessie Farrell?
Banty....... ::)
The Dubs should get Paddy O'Rourke.
Thanks for the efforts Pat, four years is a lifetime in IC mgt now for anyone who isn't a teacher.
Jim Gavin will be the next man if he is able to take it work-wise.
Quote from: heffo on September 05, 2012, 09:05:30 PM
Thanks for the efforts Pat, four years is a lifetime in IC mgt now for anyone who isn't a teacher.
Jim Gavin will be the next man if he is able to take it work-wise.
Work wise, I dont think it will work for him
Im feeling it maybe Dessie ......................................................... Geezer might be seen sniffing around ;)
Jedward
What's Jim Gavin like? Surely anyone they take in will be a step down from Gilroy?
Fair play to Gilroy he did a great job whilst at the helm, however this year was poor, torrid league and lost Sundays game on the line....................Mickey Whelan was sorely missed this year
Personally I thought big Pat was brilliant with the Dubs.
He reached the holy grail last year and made Dublin a team that were notoriously hard to beat.
Any time I seen him or heard him, he was an absolute gentleman.
Yes. Gilroy was good for the Dubs. Got rid of that Pillar bollixoligy of Dubs marching on the hill and all that soccer type shite. I'd imagine he couldn't do the juggle anymore and decided that he had enough and that it would be impolite to outstay the welcome.
Like all big counties I am sure that there was all sorts of shenningans going on in the background since the exit on Sunday with lads lining up to sharpen the knives.
Cannot say who will take the hotseat - I cannot see Dubs looking beyond the county. But for sheer divvilment I'd love to see Banty turn up in Parnell Park with a bag-of-balls and a CV under the oxter.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 05, 2012, 09:32:14 PM
Yes. Gilroy was good for the Dubs. Got rid of that Pillar bollixoligy of Dubs marching on the hill and all that soccer type shite. I'd imagine he couldn't do the juggle anymore and decided that he had enough and that it would be impolite to outstay the welcome.
Like all big counties I am sure that there was all sorts of shenningans going on in the background since the exit on Sunday with lads lining up to sharpen the knives.
Cannot say who will take the hotseat - I cannot see Dubs looking beyond the county. But for sheer divvilment I'd love to see Banty turn up in Parnell Park with a bag-of-balls and a CV under the oxter.
Now that photograph would command a big price. ;) :)
He did all he could do with them and the all-Ireland was well deserved.
Kenny Dalglish is free and there are no south americans to manage.
Quote from: orangeman on September 05, 2012, 09:26:41 PM
Personally I thought big Pat was brilliant with the Dubs.
He reached the holy grail last year and made Dublin a team that were notoriously hard to beat.
Any time I seen him or heard him, he was an absolute gentleman.
Successful man on and off the field and always came across as an intelligent polite guy in the media. He can leave with his head held high.
When you consider the mess Dublin were in after getting hidings in 2008 and 2009 Gilroy did a great job of getting to 3 AI semi-finals and winning Sam last year.
Dublins success, a bit like Donegal was built more on perspiration than inspiration.It would be hard for Gilroy to have went to the well for another year.
Dublin seem to have a conveyor belt of talent coming through so the next manager will have plenty to work with over the next few years.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 05, 2012, 09:32:14 PM
No sharpening of knives - County mgt to a man would've loved him to stay on.
I'd love to see Banty getting his chance to do for Dublin what he did for us.
I'd love to see Banty get the job and absolutely tank Mead in a Leinster final, f**k it would be some laugh.
Pat Gilroy came accross as a top person during his term as Dublin manager. He conducted himself very professionally any time I saw him doing interviews etc.
There were some moans about him not giving Mayo any credit after the match on Sunday - but the reality is that the emphasis was always going to be on Dublin losing, especially among the Dubs - and Gilroy was bracing for the onslaught and getting a bit of a stance in. As others have said he can walk with dignity.
I suspect he got a few things wrong alright - even from this distance and not being overly interested in the Dublin scene.
There s one thing I didn t get - and not just this year or last. What is the story with McManamon? Even last year he was just an impact sub but to a neutral he looks the scariest Dublin forward about. The Brogans might have more craft and style but this fella can run through brick walls. Connolly just gets upset by any body within a considerable body space. that lesson was learned in the league. Cullen probably needs to get a bit harder on himself and go back to 6 and look at old McGeeney games.
Best of luck to Pat. Apparently he s done well for himself and he got Dublin over the line last year.
Quote from: James Gatz on September 05, 2012, 09:21:41 PM
What's Jim Gavin like?
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF821/599888.jpg)
Quote from: moysider on September 05, 2012, 11:35:32 PM
Pat Gilroy came accross as a top person during his term as Dublin manager. He conducted himself very professionally any time I saw him doing interviews etc.
There were some moans about him not giving Mayo any credit after the match on Sunday - but the reality is that the emphasis was always going to be on Dublin losing, especially among the Dubs - and Gilroy was bracing for the onslaught and getting a bit of a stance in. As others have said he can walk with dignity.
I suspect he got a few things wrong alright - even from this distance and not being overly interested in the Dublin scene.
There s one thing I didn t get - and not just this year or last. What is the story with McManamon? Even last year he was just an impact sub but to a neutral he looks the scariest Dublin forward about. The Brogans might have more craft and style but this fella can run through brick walls. Connolly just gets upset by any body within a considerable body space. that lesson was learned in the league. Cullen probably needs to get a bit harder on himself and go back to 6 and look at old McGeeney games.
Best of luck to Pat. Apparently he s done well for himself and he got Dublin over the line last year.
Agree Moysider. Could never understand that myself. Unless it's a case that he doesn't have the stamina for a full match or something...
You really have admire Dublin GAA - we can moan about their unfair advantages but it's how they utilise those advantages that you have to respect, Gilroy has put in fantastic senior structures and to compliment that their County Board have succession planning down to a tee and the underage age structures are second to none in the country. Pat Gilroy did a great job for Dublin but his legacy is what he leaves the next manager with, 95 and 83 were titles won at the beginning of the end of a cycle, it's hard not to think the 2011 was only the end of the beginning for this Dublin set-up.
I must admit I think its a phenomenal loss to Dublin football - I thought he was a greta man altogether, and i agree there may be more all irelands in Dublin but can anyone else see O Gara or bastich as typical multiple all ireland winners.
Fair play too him he did a great job and was never afraid to take any player off no matter who he was.
I see a lot of people saying he is succesful on and off the field, what does he do for a living?
Quote from: Up The Middle on September 06, 2012, 02:03:47 PM
Fair play too him he did a great job and was never afraid to take any player off no matter who he was.
I see a lot of people saying he is succesful on and off the field, what does he do for a living?
Luas driver i think.
Quote from: Up The Middle on September 06, 2012, 02:03:47 PM
CEO of Dalkia
Jimmy's winning matches?
Md of one of Ireland's top companies.
Done deal with the new man
Dessie Bedtime story voice
Gavin overlooked?
No Gavin has it, Farrell pulled out last Friday, though was never really in it.
Quote from: heffo on September 12, 2012, 08:36:26 AM
never over until the fat lady sings etc
last time out Gilroy was second choice - the man they wanted (and offered it to) had to decline.
Actually Gilroy was third choice and a compromise !
Gavin might bring a few more of that u21 team in and maybe he might play some of them in their correct (best) positions !
Quote from: camanchero on September 12, 2012, 11:56:12 AM
last time out Gilroy was second choice - the man they wanted (and offered it to) had to decline.
Gavin might bring a few more of that u21 team in and maybe he might play some of them in their correct (best) positions !
Gilroy was indeed 3rd choice last time, but there won't be any hiccups this time. Gavin will be formally appointed on 1st October.
QuoteGilroy was indeed 3rd choice last time
Who, pray tell, were ahead of Gilroy 4 years ago? I cannot recall the events at time, being a Jazesin culchie blow-in.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 12, 2012, 03:08:28 PM
QuoteGilroy was indeed 3rd choice last time
Who, pray tell, were ahead of Gilroy 4 years ago? I cannot recall the events at time, being a Jazesin culchie blow-in.
What interest would you have so being a Jazesin culchie blow-in?
The new man was ahead of him for starters anyway.
QuoteWhat interest would you have so being a Jazesin culchie blow-in
Cos most Jazesin culchie blow ins have an interest in who gets the Dublin manager's job - if only just to show an interest in the GAA affairs of the county in which we live in - taking your jobs/rydin yer wimmin/etc/yada yada
I assume no 'outsider' was ever seriously considered in the past, despite what a few 'yerra' merchants might say in a book.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 12, 2012, 03:52:55 PM
QuoteWhat interest would you have so being a Jazesin culchie blow-in
Cos most Jazesin culchie blow ins have an interest in who gets the Dublin manager's job - if only just to show an interest in the GAA affairs of the county in which we live in - taking your jobs/rydin yer wimmin/etc/yada yada
I assume no 'outsider' was ever seriously considered in the past, despite what a few 'yerra' merchants might say in a book.
Brian Mullins was 1st choice last time around.
According to Micko, the DCB chairman at the time John Bailey, offered him the job pre-Pillar - whether he did or not, he wouldn't have been ratified.
QuoteJohn Bailey
As a voter in Dun Laoghaire I shudder every time that name is mentioned, in any context!
And drop the likes of fennell and mossy quinn off the panel, please god
Is Davy Dalton really part of the new Dubs managment?
Surely someone has got their wires crossed somewhere.
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on September 12, 2012, 08:11:57 PM
And drop the likes of fennell and mossy quinn off the panel, please god
Was Paul Casey still on the Dublin panel this year ?
Yes, Casey was on the panel.
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on October 01, 2012, 10:42:43 PM
I'm out of the country at the mo, but yes he is.
I told someone who was part of Jim's backroom team at U21 that he was going to be involved and he couldn't believe it - there was an issue with one of the other selectors Jim wanted to bring in so Dalton was the compromise.
I'm not sure of the link or how they know one another.
Oh Jimmys winning matches, jimmys winning games, jimmy gavins bring Sam back to Dublinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn again ;)
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on October 01, 2012, 10:42:43 PM
Saw someone on Twitter suggest that it was Davy Byrne (ex keeper)?
I wouldn't be impressed if it was Dalton and like you I have my doubts DH.
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on October 02, 2012, 09:56:45 AM
Oh Jimmys winning matches, jimmys winning games, jimmy gavins bring Sam back to Dublinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn again ;)
Didn't think it was possible to butcher that song any more than Larkin did on Sunday. I was wrong.
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on October 02, 2012, 02:43:23 AM
Beyond me. Why is he kept there, and why would he stay. Fit lad, but not an abundance of football
Quote from: liihb on October 02, 2012, 04:51:46 PM
Beyond me. Why is he kept there, and why would he stay. Fit lad, but not an abundance of football
He was asked by Gilroy to stay on one more year - he'll go now.
Quote from: heffo on October 02, 2012, 07:50:39 PM
Quote from: liihb on October 02, 2012, 04:51:46 PM
He was asked by Gilroy to stay on one more year - he'll go now.
he should, along with mossy, and take fennell while they are at it
Big question for Gavin will be dealing with games where he can't expect the same advantage in terms of scoring chances. His 21s teams were really well drilled and had a great ability to dominate the shot count. They had 11 more than Roscommon in the final alone. Defensively he's really impressed.
Dalton is not part of backroom team - Mick Deegan, Declan Darcy, Michael Kennedy & Shane O'Hanlon
Quote from: heffo on October 04, 2012, 07:21:41 PM
Dalton is not part of backroom team
Was he ever under consideration Heffo or was it just a case of a journalist getting the wrong end of the stick?
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on October 04, 2012, 07:39:57 PM
Quote from: heffo on October 04, 2012, 07:21:41 PM
Dalton is not part of backroom team
Was he ever under consideration Heffo or was it just a case of a journalist getting the wrong end of the stick?
I honestly don't know - am still away - I'd be very surprised if he was
We've got an interview with Jim Gavin up here http://action81.com/blog/?p=6277
Sorry Emmet, love your stuff but I stopped reading after I seen who did the interview with him
first time i've heard gavin and i'm impressed.