GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 05:43:02 PM

Title: Laois v Meath
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 05:43:02 PM
Can Meath bounce back?

Laois very much under the radar, saw them against Carlow and while they poor they still moved through the gears when they had and closed out the game comfortably. Some big boys, have some tidy forwards and have a bench that can make an impact. Think Laois will win this.
Title: Re: Laois v Meath
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2012, 05:44:40 PM
Six day turnaround may help Laois however Meath should be able win.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 05:53:11 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2012, 05:44:40 PM

I don't know, if you look at the graph of these teams since 2010 when it took a replay to separate them you can argue Laois has been on a slighly upward curve whereas Meath, one performance aside, have been on the wane.

Momentum and the 6 day turnaround as you state favours Laois, they have a good defensive structure too and I think that's enough especially if the start Tierney as his free taking could be invaluable.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2012, 05:56:08 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2012, 05:44:40 PM

Ah the GAA, we are a few years into this back door craic and they still punish Provincial finalists with having to get things together in six days!
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2012, 05:59:18 PM
Laois struggled over a poor Leitrim team (Eamonn O'Hara wasn't being all that unfair when he was calling it their third string team) and Meath were a kick of the ball off the AI champions. Would favour the Trimmers even with a 6-day turnaround - today shouldn't have been mentally destructive for them.
Post by: Gazzler on July 22, 2012, 06:03:59 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2012, 05:59:18 PM
Laois struggled over a poor Leitrim team (Eamonn O'Hara wasn't being all that unfair when he was calling it their third string team) and Meath were a kick of the ball off the AI champions. Would favour the Trimmers even with a 6-day turnaround - today shouldn't have been mentally destructive for them.

And on the flip side Meath needed a replay to beat Carlow and Laois had a good win over Monaghan.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2012, 06:07:13 PM
Quote from: Gazzler on July 22, 2012, 06:03:59 PM

And on the flip side Meath needed a replay to beat Carlow and Laois had a good win over Monaghan.
Wouldn't read much into that. Offaly had a good win over Monaghan last year.
Post by: Gazzler on July 22, 2012, 06:16:26 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2012, 06:07:13 PM

Wouldn't read much into that. Offaly had a good win over Monaghan last year.

That's kinda my point.
I wouldn't be reading too much into previous matches of either team.
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2012, 06:17:37 PM

I wouldn't be shocked by a Laois win, in terms of talent there's not much between them. It just seems like Meath could come in the game running hot after today. It's a great chance for both to make the quarter-finals.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 06:49:12 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2012, 06:17:37 PM

I wouldn't be shocked by a Laois win, in terms of talent there's not much between them. It just seems like Meath could come in the game running hot after today. It's a great chance for both to make the quarter-finals.

Meath were very poor today I thought plus Kevin Reilly gone for next week's game, reoccurance of Achilles problem.
Post by: Dont Matter on July 22, 2012, 07:20:02 PM
Meath beat Laois by 10 points last time they met. They would have gained a lot from today's game. Coming close to the All Ireland champs. Leitrim should have beaten Laois plus they picked up some injuries and a good few on the squad aren't happy with McNulty. There can only be one winner.
Who do Meath hope they draw in the quarter finals?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2012, 07:23:34 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on July 22, 2012, 07:20:02 PM
Meath beat Laois by 10 points last time they met. They would have gained a lot from today's game. Coming close to the All Ireland champs. Leitrim should have beaten Laois plus they picked up some injuries and a good few on the squad aren't happy with McNulty. There can only be one winner.
Who do Meath hope they draw in the quarter finals?

Mayo of course. They are the softest draw by a mile.
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2012, 07:34:43 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 06:49:12 PM

Meath were very poor today I thought plus Kevin Reilly gone for next week's game, reoccurance of Achilles problem.

They were plenty poor but the fact they wasted so many chances and still almost over-hauled a 10 point deficit against the AI champions means they should have plenty of belief for Laois.

It was a game most in Meath would have expected to lose so it's hardly going to be a devastating blow for them to have been within a kick of the Dubs. If it had been tight throughout or it was a blow-out I'd wonder about their ability to perform next weekend but today was as perfect a loss as you could get.
Post by: Jinxy on July 22, 2012, 07:37:31 PM
With 10 mins to go I would have said we could forget about next week but that late rally will help from a psychological perspective.
Where will it be on?
Post by: thejuice on July 23, 2012, 09:33:57 AM
We might win, we might lose, not a whole lot between these teams I think.

Trevor Giles will be busy this week in the physio room putting some of the lads back together. Anyone know a good welder who can put Kevin Reilly back together properly.

Probably won't have Reilly or Bray.

Team might well be:

Gallagher,

Keoghan,
Menton,
Harrington,

D Tobin
McAnarney,
Burke,

G Reilly,
C Gillespie;

A Forde/D Carroll
J Sheridan,
P Byrne

S Bray/M Collins
C Ward
J Queeney

Hard to analyze Laois. You look at them  on paper and you expect them to be a lot better than they seem to show.
Post by: seafoid on July 23, 2012, 10:07:40 AM
Is Jinxy aware of this match ? 
Post by: thejuice on July 23, 2012, 10:13:30 AM
Do you mean Hardy?
Post by: agorm on July 23, 2012, 10:13:41 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 06:49:12 PM

if Meath were "very poor" then what does that leave Dublin? Meath were poor in certain aspects of the game, i.e. holding onto possession and passing mistakes. However, they showed a lot of very good characteristics in how they took on the Dubs and didnt allow many of the Dubs players to settle. The sequence that resulted in the 2 goals was a direct result from a poor hand pass. However, they showed a lot of character in how they came back into it. Of course the Dubs were not at the level they were last year but I still thought that Meath gave a good account of themselves.
For a division 3 team and where they were att the start of the season, I was not overly disappointed at the performance. Calling them very poor is relative and you are probably comparing to the great meath teams which are not there anymore. If it was kildare playing Dublin I think the Dubs would have still won by a similar margin.

For the Laois game I would like to see Banty freshening it up a bit with possibly the following team (assuming that Reilly is out and Bray in).

Gallagher,

Keoghan,
Menton,
Harrington,

D Tobin
McAnarney,
Burke,

T Walsh/ J. Sheridan,
C Gillespie;

A.Forde
D. Carroll
G Reilly

B. Farrell
J Queeney,
S Bray

The position I am just not sure about is centrefield pairing. Whether to keep Joe up there with Gillespie or to try out Tom Walsh. Either way, Joe has to come out of the square and Queeney given a chance. Joe did ok when he came out but is maybe not the player for the position for the full 70 minutes.

Post by: thejuice on July 23, 2012, 10:22:15 AM
We need to get Joe an extra pair of legs to stop him falling over. Surely that sort of science exists today.
Post by: agorm on July 23, 2012, 10:35:17 AM
Quote from: thejuice on July 23, 2012, 09:33:57 AM
We might win, we might lose, not a whole lot between these teams I think.

Trevor Giles will be busy this week in the physio room putting some of the lads back together. Anyone know a good welder who can put Kevin Reilly back together properly.

Probably won't have Reilly or Bray.

Team might well be:

Gallagher,

Keoghan,
Menton,
Harrington,

D Tobin
McAnarney,
Burke,

G Reilly,
C Gillespie;

A Forde/D Carroll
J Sheridan,
P Byrne

S Bray/M Collins
C Ward
J Queeney

Hard to analyze Laois. You look at them  on paper and you expect them to be a lot better than they seem to show.
Would you drop Farrell because of yesterdays game? Also take Carroll out of the CHF position and possibly drop him after the progress he has made and put Joe Sheridan in :)

I dont think Cian Ward did enough yesterday to be brought back in as the focus of the attack and main freetaker ahead of Farrell. I admit that Farrell was poor  yesterday (and was a bit windy at times) but Cian Ward did some pretty stuff but not much else.

In my opinion we have to be careful that we dont throw out some of the good facets to our game in earlier games. We do need to freshen things up but we have to be careful not to throw out some of the parts of our game that has improved this year.
Post by: thejuice on July 23, 2012, 10:45:20 AM
Perhaps,

Maybe Queeney, Farrell and Bray in the FF line. I think Peadar needs to start too.
Post by: agorm on July 23, 2012, 11:28:27 AM
I do think that Peader is best as an impact sub as he may not be at the level of fitness as the others but you could be right there, we might need him from the off vs Laois.
Post by: laoislad on July 23, 2012, 01:26:45 PM
Tullamore 3.30pm Saturday.
Post by: Jinxy on July 23, 2012, 02:58:33 PM
Glad it's in Tullamore.
Great little stadium.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2012, 03:06:04 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 23, 2012, 02:58:33 PM
Glad it's in Tullamore.
Great little stadium.

Except it's in Offaly <shudder>
Post by: agorm on July 23, 2012, 03:20:02 PM
Glad it's in Tullamore.
Great little stadium.

Time is $hitty, very early. Afternoon and evening gone and weather is only just getting better regarding getting things done around the place.

I dont agree with the TV dictating the times like this if that is the reason for the early start.

Post by: Jinxy on July 23, 2012, 03:36:51 PM
Quote from: agorm on July 23, 2012, 03:20:02 PM
Glad it's in Tullamore.
Great little stadium.

Time is $hitty, very early. Afternoon and evening gone and weather is only just getting better regarding getting things done around the place.

I dont agree with the TV dictating the times like this if that is the reason for the early start.

Are you making silage?
Post by: agorm on July 23, 2012, 04:05:22 PM
Nah, not in that game. Lots of other stuff on though.

i will be there of course, just think that a later slot would be (a lot) better for many people including people working on a Saturday.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 23, 2012, 05:58:09 PM
The amount of rubbish analysis in the GAA is ridiculous! If you win, you're a great fella, if you lose, you're shite. It used to be only the odd old man on the sideline who could be ignored, but now the very best GAA fans are falling prey to this nonsense. I was actually, though I seem to be in the minority here, impressed with our team yesterday. We were every bit as good as the Dubs, up to the 37th Minute. After that, we fell flat for a while, being 8 points down, that's understandable. They then showed great heart and determination to come back, and given another 5 mins, could have drawn level or won! If Meath were playing Dublin again next week, I'd be very confident we could beat them. What's more, I take more from the game against Dublin than the game against Kildare. There is a spirit in the team that hasn't been there for years, and I have every confidence that this team is going places.

I don't mean to dismiss Laois at all, (if we play badly we can lose to anyone) but if we are on form we should beat them 10-12 points. And I think we will be on form.
Post by: thejuice on July 24, 2012, 11:45:34 AM
Eamon Ryan seems to share your more optimistic view.

I felt the Dubs lost their way after their subs came on and eased up a bit.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 12:29:24 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on July 23, 2012, 05:58:09 PM
The amount of rubbish analysis in the GAA is ridiculous! If you win, you're a great fella, if you lose, you're shite. It used to be only the odd old man on the sideline who could be ignored, but now the very best GAA fans are falling prey to this nonsense. I was actually, though I seem to be in the minority here, impressed with our team yesterday. We were every bit as good as the Dubs, up to the 37th Minute. After that, we fell flat for a while, being 8 points down, that's understandable. They then showed great heart and determination to come back, and given another 5 mins, could have drawn level or won! If Meath were playing Dublin again next week, I'd be very confident we could beat them. What's more, I take more from the game against Dublin than the game against Kildare. There is a spirit in the team that hasn't been there for years, and I have every confidence that this team is going places.

I don't mean to dismiss Laois at all, (if we play badly we can lose to anyone) but if we are on form we should beat them 10-12 points. And I think we will be on form.

A delusion only you believe.
Post by: heffo on July 24, 2012, 12:38:36 PM

You actually went ten points down.
Post by: agorm on July 24, 2012, 02:16:58 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 12:29:24 PM

A delusion only you believe.

I think that considering where we were coming from earlier in the season then Ard-Rí is certainly justified in a relative sense of satisfaction at the outcome. However, we were always going to raise our game for certain stages of the game and, it is true, that Dublin were superior on the day. They were probably worth a 6 or 7 points win.
Personally, I was a little happier coming out of Croker than 2 years ago when we actually won the Leinster (on the scoreboards anyway!).
dublin have made huge developments in recent years at underage level, look at their minors last sunday for instance. Meath need to confirm their position ahead of Kildare and push on and develop the rivalry again like in the late eighties/ early nineties. Dublin will probably win the majority of clashes between the teams but, if we start putting it up to them, their confidence may erode a little. Also, they rely on the Brogans a lot so any injuries etc to them will probably reduce their potency though, as I said, their underage talent is to be admired and feared.
Post by: rrhf on July 24, 2012, 10:16:34 PM
Where does Banty need to go to get his third year.  Would a win here suffice?
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2012, 10:52:17 PM
He's secured it already. The analysis by all the pundits I've read and heard is that Sunday's comeback has somehow defined this year as successful and some sort of copper-fastening of the notion that Meath are back and Banty is the hero who saw off all his detractors.  Just as last year, which saw our competitive success rate more than halved from the year before, was somehow defined as a year of progress.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 24, 2012, 11:01:56 PM
Meath do appear to be on the up and they might not be that far off being a force in the future. They were well beaten on Sunday but competed for long periods. And have the potential to improve over the next year or 2. I'm sure a lot of the younger players have learned a good bit this year particularly Carroll. Would like to see them win this to see how they got on in a quarter final.
Post by: rrhf on July 24, 2012, 11:14:15 PM
Have Meath played Kerry since 1986?
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 24, 2012, 11:18:53 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 24, 2012, 11:14:15 PM
Have Meath played Kerry since 1986?

2001, we won
& 2009, they won.
Post by: royals12 on July 25, 2012, 02:53:14 AM
id love to see that 2001 semi final again, would anyone have a copy of it somewhere?
Post by: Hardy on July 25, 2012, 10:31:49 AM
I have it on VHS. If that's any good to you, you can have a loan of it. 
Post by: Royalranter on July 25, 2012, 03:34:50 PM
Quote from: royals12 on July 25, 2012, 02:53:14 AM
id love to see that 2001 semi final again, would anyone have a copy of it somewhere?

I've searched the internet looking for any clips of this match or anywhere that you can buy it so if u find it, let me know
Post by: meathie on July 25, 2012, 03:58:22 PM
Yea I have it too on VHS.Im slightly reluctant to ever lend again to anyone though as 2 of my favourite videos have never been returned. One which was the Meath team in 97 telethon singing, and the other a programme after the 96 all ireland about gaa and brawls and violence. Will always remember Anthony Finnerty spouting on about the row like he was this angel and that butter wouldnt melt in his mouth. cringe Anthony cringe!!! Oh to see Maughans face again in that video too, classy stuff!
Post by: The Boy Wonder on July 25, 2012, 11:57:01 PM
Have Meath picked their umpires for Saturday ?
It's a worry that there's no big screen in Tullamore.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2012, 11:18:42 AM
How's Hughie Emerson going?
Post by: heffo on July 26, 2012, 11:35:36 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 26, 2012, 11:18:42 AM

Struggling with a tight hamstring - might not be as mobile as normal
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2012, 11:45:56 AM
Quote from: heffo on July 26, 2012, 11:35:36 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 26, 2012, 11:18:42 AM

Struggling with a tight hamstring - might not be as mobile as normal

Still plugging away playing rugby with Portarlington RFC.
Post by: thejuice on July 26, 2012, 04:24:18 PM
http://hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=174084

Banty plans to bust 'six day' myth

QuoteSeamus McEnaney is confident that his Meath team can become the second side to in the history of the backdoor system to win a qualifier game six days after losing a provincial final.

History doesn't favour the Royals in Saturday's round 4 SFC qualifier against Laois as in eleven years of the qualifier system, only one county has managed to navigate a qualifier game six days after losing a provincial final.

That side was Tommy Carr's Dublin in 2001, when they edged out Sligo at Croke Park having lost to Meath in the Leinster final six days earlier.

The Royals and Down, who face Tipperary on Saturday, have the chance to end that 11-year run and Banty believes his side can buck the trend.

"Listen, there's a myth out there about the six day turnaround and I can tell you one thing - this group of players is going to test the six day turnaround," said a fired up Meath manager.

"There is serious spirit in the dressing room. I can tell you now we are going to fight tooth and nail to be back in Croke Park in two weeks time. Take that from me we will fight.

"Anyone who wants to travel to our game next Saturday will get some fight from me."

Thems fightin' words!

Post by: DuffleKing on July 26, 2012, 04:40:44 PM
Banty has become a parody of his recognized persona
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2012, 06:38:41 PM
I'm embarrassed to have bullshit like that spewed about in the name of my team.
Post by: rrhf on July 26, 2012, 07:53:33 PM
There hasn't been that much fightin talk since 96. Brave heart Banty!
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2012, 09:13:54 PM
There was no talk in '96 either. On the other hand, I can understand how you would have forgotten. After all you hardly ever mention it.
Post by: thejuice on July 26, 2012, 10:51:36 PM
Meath (SFC v Laois) :
David Gallagher

Donal Keogan, Kevin Reilly, Mickey Burke,
Donnacha Tobin, Shane McAnarney, Bryan Menton,

Connor Gillespie, Brian Meade,

Alan Forde, Damien Carroll, Graham Reilly,
Brian Farrell, Joe Sheridan, Cian Ward
Post by: DuffleKing on July 26, 2012, 10:57:16 PM

Bray out?
Post by: rrhf on July 27, 2012, 01:15:09 AM
Hardy where Meath to win the all Ireland , would you bury the hatchet with Banty or would you still empty the tank on him?
Post by: thejuice on July 27, 2012, 01:47:53 AM
Brays ankle flared up last week and was replaced by Cian Ward. Ward gets his spot this week.

I'm surprised to see Kevin Reilly starting. I feared we lost him for the year.

Would have like to see Jamie Queeney get a start. It's rare he's come on and failed to score. And he does it in the big games too.
Post by: heffo on July 27, 2012, 08:18:18 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 26, 2012, 06:38:41 PM

Maybe I'm reading it wrong but I think he's played a blinder here. Too many managers give the impression they're already beaten before the 6 day turnaround - fair play to him for having some balls.
Post by: Hound on July 27, 2012, 08:37:25 AM
Quote from: heffo on July 27, 2012, 08:18:18 AM

Maybe I'm reading it wrong but I think he's played a blinder here. Too many managers give the impression they're already beaten before the 6 day turnaround - fair play to him for having some balls.
Absolutely, really sick of the usual crap from weak-minded crybabies about the 6 day turnaround. "How are we supposed to get over a defeat in just 6 days?" FFS

A team with any kind of bottle, should improve after a defeat.

If Meath or Down do lose to Laois or Tipp, it'll be nothing to do with the 6 day turnaround, it'll be because Laois or Tipp are better. But I expect both Meath and Down to pull through, in closely fought games.
Post by: agorm on July 27, 2012, 10:32:48 AM
Quote from: heffo on July 27, 2012, 08:18:18 AM

I agree.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2012, 10:40:54 AM
I'd be surprised if Meath don't win this one regardless of the six day turnaround.
Post by: bcarrier on July 27, 2012, 10:57:48 AM
Quote from: thejuice on July 26, 2012, 04:24:18 PM

QuoteSeamus McEnaney is confident that his Meath team can become the second side to in the history of the backdoor system to win a qualifier game six days after losing a provincial final.

History doesn't favour the Royals in Saturday's round 4 SFC qualifier against Laois as in eleven years of the qualifier system, only one county has managed to navigate a qualifier game six days after losing a provincial final.

That side was Tommy Carr's Dublin in 2001, when they edged out Sligo at Croke Park having lost to Meath in the Leinster final six days earlier.

The Royals and Down, who face Tipperary on Saturday, have the chance to end that 11-year run and Banty believes his side can buck the trend.

"Listen, there's a myth out there about the six day turnaround and I can tell you one thing - this group of players is going to test the six day turnaround," said a fired up Meath manager.

"There is serious spirit in the dressing room. I can tell you now we are going to fight tooth and nail to be back in Croke Park in two weeks time. Take that from me we will fight.

"Anyone who wants to travel to our game next Saturday will get some fight from me."

Thems fightin' words!

:D "I can tell you one thing" sounds a bit Oliver Brady.  Is it a big Monaghan spake  ..
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2012, 11:08:08 AM
Quote from: bcarrier on July 27, 2012, 10:57:48 AM
Quote from: thejuice on July 26, 2012, 04:24:18 PM

Thems fightin' words!

:D "I can tell you one thing" sounds a bit Oliver Brady.  Is it a big Monaghan spake  ..

"Ballybay for drinking tay....."
Post by: agorm on July 27, 2012, 11:16:07 AM

Hardy,
Are you letting your dislike of Banty colour your view on every issue that crops up in relation to the team? My initial reaction to Banty's interview was not one of embarrassment - I see it as part of the effort to get the team turned around for next week.

I agree with Heffo. He asked for an extension but didnt dwell on it and is getting the team and the supporters jizzed up for. Sometimes a manager needs to show some emotion. Also, by being as vociferous as this he might get the supporters jizzed up for it and make people realise that they do have a battle on their hands and it will hopefully translate over to the players. After all, complacency in the county will translate over to the players.
So full marks to Banty on this and I am saying that in advance of the game.

On the negative side, I think that he should have made a couple of changes in the team. Kevin Reilly can t be fully fit. He would be better off starting Harrington instead. Also Joe has been ineffective to date at full forward and Queeney deserves a chance with oe, perhaps, replacing Brian Meade at midfield. Joe might end up having a stormer and get a few goals but, based on the recent games, changes are needed in my opinion. One positive in relation tom Banty however is that he is much quicker than Boylan in latter years at making early changes when they are necessary.
Post by: Keane on July 27, 2012, 11:54:35 AM
Joe Sheridan doesn't seem to think much of the 6 day turnaround either going by this:

http://www.livegaelic.com/the-joe-show/the-myth-of-the-6-day-turnaround/
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2012, 12:09:29 PM
Pretty stupid to call it a myth, 11 years since a team has done it,12 teams have tried since Dublin in 2001 and 12 teams have failed.

Post by: Keane on July 27, 2012, 12:14:01 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2012, 12:09:29 PM
Pretty stupid to call it a myth, 11 years since a team has done it,12 teams have tried since Dublin in 2001 and 12 teams have failed.

12 is still not a massive sample size, and if you look at the teams included in that list a lot of them like Limerick and Antrim wouldn't necessarily have been favourites next time out in any case.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2012, 01:51:35 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2012, 12:09:29 PM

Kildare were seconds away from doing it in 2003.
Post by: thejuice on July 27, 2012, 03:35:46 PM
Will have to work through this. Will have to make do with the radio.  :(

Post by: Hardy on July 27, 2012, 07:20:29 PM
Quote from: agorm on July 27, 2012, 11:16:07 AM

Hardy,
Are you letting your dislike of Banty colour your view on every issue that crops up in relation to the team?

I don't know. But it doesn't apply in this case anyway, because I didn't comment on an issue in relation to the team. I commented on my personal reaction to a statement by the  manager.

I'm only giving my opinion here like everybody else. Don't worry too much about it. Embarrassment is a feeling. Nobody can help their feelings. We can choose whether to express them and I chose to do so on this occasion, whether wisely or otherwise you can let me know. But I'm not going to stop saying what I think of Banty or giving my opinion on his sayings or doings just because the bandwagon has set off in a different direction.

I just see this as another bout of bantyspoof. It's always about Banty. "Anyone who wants to travel to our game next Saturday will get some fight from me." What does that even mean? How exactly is Banty going to fight and who cares?

But, as I say, I could be wrong and Banty may truly be the saviour of Meath football. Sure that'll be great if if so.
Post by: rrhf on July 27, 2012, 11:55:57 PM
Hardy fair fcuks to ye.
Post by: agorm on July 28, 2012, 12:25:19 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 27, 2012, 07:20:29 PM
Quote from: agorm on July 27, 2012, 11:16:07 AM

Hardy,
Are you letting your dislike of Banty colour your view on every issue that crops up in relation to the team?

I don't know. But it doesn't apply in this case anyway, because I didn't comment on an issue in relation to the team. I commented on my personal reaction to a statement by the  manager.

I'm only giving my opinion here like everybody else. Don't worry too much about it. Embarrassment is a feeling. Nobody can help their feelings. We can choose whether to express them and I chose to do so on this occasion, whether wisely or otherwise you can let me know. But I'm not going to stop saying what I think of Banty or giving my opinion on his sayings or doings just because the bandwagon has set off in a different direction.

I just see this as another bout of bantyspoof. It's always about Banty. "Anyone who wants to travel to our game next Saturday will get some fight from me." What does that even mean? How exactly is Banty going to fight and who cares?

But, as I say, I could be wrong and Banty may truly be the saviour of Meath football. Sure that'll be great if if so.
Of course you cannot help how you feel about him.
Myself, I dont think he is the best manager we ever had but I dont particularly dislike him either. Overall, irrespective of todays result I would give him, Evans and Giles another go at it next year. Hopefully O Rourke and Kenny will be back to bloster things along with a fully fit Kevin Reilly.
Post by: armaghniac on July 28, 2012, 03:56:32 PM
Laois Meath goalie not having the best day.
Pressure on Meath now, wind or no wind LS 1-07 MH 0-04
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 28, 2012, 04:02:03 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 28, 2012, 03:56:32 PM
Laois goalie not having the best day.
Pressure on Meath now, wind or no wind LS 1-07 MH 0-04

he hasnt done much wrong  ;)
Post by: Tubberman on July 28, 2012, 04:05:37 PM
McQuillan is being far too fussy. That shoulder was slightly off, but never deserved a yellow card.
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 04:11:32 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 28, 2012, 04:05:37 PM
McQuillan is being far too fussy. That shoulder was slightly off, but never deserved a yellow card.

Meath fellas dropping like fairies everytime they are touched.

7 points up at half time hopefully we can keep it going in second half.
Post by: Orchardman on July 28, 2012, 04:12:17 PM
hope meath stuff them bunch of weightlifters
Post by: Rossfan on July 28, 2012, 04:17:45 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 28, 2012, 04:05:37 PM
McQuillan is being far too fussy.
He'd sicken your arse with his whistle and cards.
Munnelly was probably  the only one deserving a card.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2012, 04:29:43 PM
Great start to 2nd half by laois
Post by: maigheo on July 28, 2012, 04:52:17 PM
laois 1.14 Meath 0.10  8 min to go
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 04:53:58 PM
laois 1.14 Meath 0.11  7 min to go
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 04:55:38 PM
laois 1.15 Meath 0.10  5 min to go
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 04:57:10 PM
No matter what you say, Meath teams are never bate!  :P
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2012, 05:00:13 PM
Munnelly might regret that bad wide yet!
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 05:05:20 PM
Enjoyed that, good game!
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 05:05:55 PM
Get in!
Easy enough until the last five minutes.
All Ireland 1/4 Final I'll take that!
I do love a bit of Mayo on my sandwiches.....
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2012, 05:06:08 PM
Laois by 3 and well deserved. I thought they were excellent but meath never gave up.
Post by: Rossfan on July 28, 2012, 05:11:41 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 05:05:55 PM

2006 wasn't it .... :P
Post by: seafoid on July 28, 2012, 05:12:02 PM
Not really surprising. Meath are a good bit off the pace and d3 said something .
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 05:12:36 PM
Two poor performances from Meath in a row. Late goals has consealed, how outclassed they have been two weekends in a row. On a positive note despite being poor, they keep going.
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 05:16:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 28, 2012, 05:11:41 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 05:05:55 PM

2006 wasn't it .... :P
It was.
We should have beaten them the first day.
I see the draw is on the Radio not TV, easier fix it that way I suppose.
Post by: thejuice on July 28, 2012, 05:22:27 PM
Didn't sound great on the radio.

Kildare game aside we have had a poor year it has to be said. Hopefully the core of the Meath support are smart enough not to try and dine out on the kildare win. The state of things were brought into sharp focus after getting relegated. But the kildare put a stop to it all. Unfortunately the 6 day excuse will probably be trotted out.
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 06:33:36 PM

Well I guess ye weren't on form after all.......
Post by: Hardy on July 28, 2012, 06:39:39 PM
How did it go? I was watching the badminton.
Post by: Hardy on July 28, 2012, 06:44:28 PM
Seriously, please tell me the nightmare is over now. Banty, of course, is at it again, trying to sell this year's debacles as progress, to add to last year's progress that saw us win three matches between league and championship. "Listen, we played six championship games this year and that's great for Meath football". Right.

Listen, we lost two championship matches this year and drew one. Against Carlow. And somehow we've turned into Tyrone, with players collapsing and face-clutching. Where did that come from? That was the last positive about Meath football we had to hang on to. Oh, I forgot. "The heart is BACK in Meath football" - S. McEnaney.  Thanks Banty.

Go on Laois.
Post by: emmetryan on July 28, 2012, 06:52:57 PM
Smart game by Laois today, here's my tactical take
http://action81.com/blog/?p=6041
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 28, 2012, 07:21:34 PM
Time for a Meath reboot, like they do to the likes of Spiderman and Bantyman, sorry Batman. Like Longford Meath can now focus on the O'Byrne Cup.

Congrats to Laois in recovering from the defeat in Longford.

Onwards and Upwards
Post by: thejuice on July 28, 2012, 07:30:54 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2012, 05:47:17 PM
Banty didn't hold on to the 6 day excuse. Said it had nothing to do with it.

I wasn't saying banty would but those who would rather keep the head in the sand probably will.
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 07:32:53 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 28, 2012, 07:21:34 PM

Congrats to Laois in recovering from the defeat in Longford.

Onwards and Upwards

Credit to McNulty for keeping the troops together after the defeat to Longford and going on a 4 match run.
Sure these outside managers are great  ;)
Post by: agorm on July 28, 2012, 08:42:04 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 28, 2012, 05:22:27 PM
Didn't sound great on the radio.

Kildare game aside we have had a poor year it has to be said. Hopefully the core of the Meath support are smart enough not to try and dine out on the kildare win. The state of things were brought into sharp focus after getting relegated. But the kildare put a stop to it all. Unfortunately the 6 day excuse will probably be trotted out.

I was at the game. I didnt hear too much of the Meath support that were at the game trying to dine out on the Kildare win.  Most supporters know full well what the problems are and most know that many of the problems predate the arrival of Banty.

Banty made mistakes in his selection for today. Cian Ward shouldnt have started. I am not sure what was going on regarding Kevin Reilly as the change to bring in Bray and bring back Carroll to the back line destabilised the team. Once again silly losses of possession and going into blind alleys cost us as did very por kickouts and a penalty given away from nothing.

That said, Laois built on their previous wins and were fully deserving of their win even though some of their tactics to keep Meath out were a bit cynical in the second half, they seemed to be clever at taking tactical yellow cards and this was mentioned on their local radio a couple of times. Also, Munnelly took Keoghan out of it.........he didnt hold back and succeeded in taking our best player from last week out of the game.

Some of our shot and passing choices were poor. Also, Bray, and Farrell to a lesser extent, should never have gone for a point at the end! Like WHY? Did he not know that the game was almost over??

Post by: agorm on July 28, 2012, 09:04:50 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 28, 2012, 06:44:28 PM
Seriously, please tell me the nightmare is over now. Banty, of course, is at it again, trying to sell this year's debacles as progress, to add to last year's progress that saw us win three matches between league and championship. "Listen, we played six championship games this year and that's great for Meath football". Right.

Listen, we lost two championship matches this year and drew one. Against Carlow. And somehow we've turned into Tyrone, with players collapsing and face-clutching. Where did that come from? That was the last positive about Meath football we had to hang on to. Oh, I forgot. "The heart is BACK in Meath football" - S. McEnaney.  Thanks Banty.

Go on Laois.

First of all I didnt see the interview as I was on my way back from the game. However I read the interview ion HoganStand and I dont see too much nightmare material in it.

Whats this about turning into Tyrone and face clutching? Did you not see that Laois essentially decided to foul out the field and basically took it in turns to do so to spread out the yellow cards? I am not having a go at Laois in that ....we have had plenty of sinners in our defence over the years.  I didnt see face clutching etc and spoke to about 4 or 5 different suporters afterwards and they had a lot to give out about but not that.

As I said I didnt see an interview but he did say "The future is bright for Meath football". I dont have a problem with that. He does wear his heart on his sleeve and his management team (perhaps not himself) have developed new players this year. To even imply that the source of our problems lie with the manager considering our poor record at underage and leinster club championships is almost delusional imo. That said he DID make several serious errors in selection in my opinion including picking Ward today, causing confusion with Kevin Reilly who could never have been fit & not having an alternative to Gallagher.

I dont want to doing a 1 man defence of Banty but there is a limited number of Meath posters on this forum and there seems to be a definite agenda against him. Of course he made mistakes and I think he made bad calls in todays selections. I am not sure if he will even decide to stay. If it was me deciding I would give him another year as I do think there were positives albeit within a lot of negatives this year. With a bit of luck on the injury front and a new goalie we will have a stronger panel next year.Our biggest problem and Banty's biggest failure is thedivision 3 league position for next year.
Banty is on a tightrope of course but what is our alternative, we have gone through the managerial appointment process several times in recent years and the peoples chioices like O Rourke, McEntee etc have not been interested. More change will mean more instability and I think we have had enough change for changes sake.
Post by: agorm on July 28, 2012, 09:19:42 PM
Also, Banty bust his gut from the sideline today in the spills of rain trying to motivate the players. That isnt obvious from the television.

Every game this year himself and the management team have been discussing what changes can be made, where the problems are from early on. We have archaic structures in the county with a merry go round of a county board and nearly all that is written about on here is Banty!

If Banty decides to fight on and can bring forward the same management team then the county board etc need to specify exactly what management team they propose to replace him with and not just another single name that has to go off and get a team behind him.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2012, 09:22:18 PM
A lot of talk about Meath here but since the bet Kildare I am not going to dance on their grave! However, I think the focus should be on Laois who I thought were outstanding. The obviously made a conscious decision to shoot on site with the wind in the first half and they kicked some outstanding scores. They started the 2nd half with some vital scores and that was critical. I thought they fought really hard and played some great football. Meath, to their credit, never stopped trying but once or twice made poor decisions  and didn't put in enough high balls to their FF line. Are Meath making progress under Banty, doesn't look like it to me. I think they are too obsessed with muscle and so the balance of the team is wrong. I think Laois could run Dublin close.
Post by: Sea The Stars on July 28, 2012, 09:44:55 PM
I would hope Banty would stay on. Been at all Meath's O'Byrne Cup games, five League games, all championship matches plus a couple of challenges and couldn't say I've a problem with management. Few decisions maybe I could find fault with but easy to be smart in hindsight. Banty has done a lot for Meath in his short time here. A good team behind him. And I think he's the right man to captain the ship even if he's not always the brains of all decision. I get the impression that Hardy secretly gets a lot of satisfaction of out of seeing Meath losing today (though I wouldn't expect he'd say so). It gives him the opportunity to have a go again.

Just on the year as a whole - it's clear that Meath have worked very hard.  They are in far better physical shape that any time in the past, and I think there's positives to be taken from the fact that they came back twice from ten points down to almost snatch victory. Maybe that's naive of me but in the past, that wouldn't have happened. We can also be proud of the youngsters plus some very good form shown by some of the older brigade. But Meath's biggest problem in my opinion - and it came to fruitation again today - is nerves. Some comical goalkeeping, and very foolish handpassing. Some players not as comfortable shooting either. The like of Burke, Forde, Meade, Ward are all very conscious of doing something wrong, and are paralysed by their own fears at times. When it sets in, everyone becomes uptight even when giving a basic handpass. That's my biggest complaint. The nerves. It was the same in the Wicklow and Carlow games.

Anyway the last thing we need now is more upheavel. Please let the winter go quietly by and Banty quietly prepare for next year.

Post by: agorm on July 28, 2012, 09:51:24 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2012, 09:22:18 PM
A lot of talk about Meath here but since the bet Kildare I am not going to dance on their grave! However, I think the focus should be on Laois who I thought were outstanding. The obviously made a conscious decision to shoot on site with the wind in the first half and they kicked some outstanding scores. They started the 2nd half with some vital scores and that was critical. I thought they fought really hard and played some great football. Meath, to their credit, never stopped trying but once or twice made poor decisions  and didn't put in enough high balls to their FF line. Are Meath making progress under Banty, doesn't look like it to me. I think they are too obsessed with muscle and so the balance of the team is wrong. I think Laois could run Dublin close.

I agree with you but it is up to Laois posters to focus on them. We, naturally, will focus on our own county.
Post by: thejuice on July 28, 2012, 11:45:11 PM
Quote from: agorm on July 28, 2012, 09:19:42 PM
Also, Banty bust his gut from the sideline today in the spills of rain trying to motivate the players. That isnt obvious from the television.

Every game this year himself and the management team have been discussing what changes can be made, where the problems are from early on. We have archaic structures in the county with a merry go round of a county board and nearly all that is written about on here is Banty!

If Banty decides to fight on and can bring forward the same management team then the county board etc need to specify exactly what management team they propose to replace him with and not just another single name that has to go off and get a team behind him.

That's what I'm getting at. When we got relegated people started to focus on the county board and underage structures. It felt like change was in the air. But with the county team reaching the Leinster final it seems all that is lost and we'll be back to same old story next year. Blaming the senior management is like shooting the messenger.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 29, 2012, 12:18:57 AM
Will McEneaney want to stay on and will there another attempt to get rid of him if he does?
Post by: Syferus on July 29, 2012, 12:57:26 AM
Well I think it's time to burst him, Hardy.
Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 10:23:17 AM
Quote from: agorm on July 28, 2012, 09:04:50 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 28, 2012, 06:44:28 PM

Go on Laois.

First of all I didnt see the interview as I was on my way back from the game. However I read the interview ion HoganStand and I dont see too much nightmare material in it.

The nightmare reference is to McEnaney's term as manager.

Whats this about turning into Tyrone and face clutching? Did you not see that Laois essentially decided to foul out the field and basically took it in turns to do so to spread out the yellow cards? I am not having a go at Laois in that ....we have had plenty of sinners in our defence over the years.  I didnt see face clutching etc and spoke to about 4 or 5 different suporters afterwards and they had a lot to give out about but not that.

What has Laois fouling got to do with Meath players deciding to feign injury? We used to pride ourselves on being above that stuff. By the way, the fact that you didn't see it doesn't mean it didn't happen. It was even commented on in this thread by others.

As I said I didnt see an interview but he did say "The future is bright for Meath football". I dont have a problem with that. He does wear his heart on his sleeve and his management team (perhaps not himself) have developed new players this year.
To even imply that the source of our problems lie with the manager considering our poor record at underage and leinster club championships is almost delusional imo.

It would be. I've been commenting here on the state of affairs in Meath football for a fair while. I wouldn't expect you to be following my ravings, but I've gone on at length about the problems with the County Board and what is laughingly called its leadership. However, the fact that the main problem is at administrative level doesn't mean that there is no problem anywhere else.

I don't want to doing a 1 man defence of Banty but there is a limited number of Meath posters on this forum and there seems to be a definite agenda against him.

You are joking, I presume. I can't think of any poster other than myself who consistently opposes McEnaney's tenure. I should know. I get taken to task enough for it. One lad here today is accusing me of wanting the team to lose. And you think my views are extreme!

The juice is mildly critical of the regime, I think. Others who were sceptical seem to have been won over by the "progress" propaganda and the "listen, we played six championship matches this year" type of guff. Among the support in general, there seems to be a car indicator ("it's working, it isn't") approach based on the latest result.

Of course he made mistakes and I think he made bad calls in todays selections. I am not sure if he will even decide to stay. If it was me deciding I would give him another year as I do think there were positives albeit within a lot of negatives this year. With a bit of luck on the injury front and a new goalie we will have a stronger panel next year.Our biggest problem and Banty's biggest failure is thedivision 3 league position for next year.
Banty is on a tightrope of course but what is our alternative, we have gone through the managerial appointment process several times in recent years and the peoples chioices like O Rourke, McEntee etc have not been interested. More change will mean more instability and I think we have had enough change for changes sake.

That's a reasonable argument. I disagree with it. When you're going in the wrong direction, you have to change or you keep on going that way. Change at county board level is not going to happen, it seems, so we're probably only rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic anyway, but another year of "progress" under McEnaney will see us struggling to stay in Division 3. Why should I expect it to be different to the last two years?

What's his plan? I don't see anything that happened this year that was part of some McEnaney master plan. The changes in the management team were forced on him. The much-touted team building seems to have happened by accident. What team building happened in the first year of Bantyism, if team building was the strategy? The players are doing their best, but what game plan are they playing to? Could you see any consistent strategy or discernable tactical plan in the last three matches, never mind across the league and championship season? 
Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 10:55:23 AM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on July 28, 2012, 09:44:55 PM
Banty has done a lot for Meath in his short time here.

Yep. We should be a lot more competitive in Division Three.

I get the impression that Hardy secretly gets a lot of satisfaction of out of seeing Meath losing today (though I wouldn't expect he'd say so). It gives him the opportunity to have a go again.

How does this impression game go? I get the impression that Sea The Stars (secretly) beats his wife. Over to you.

Just on the year as a whole - it's clear that Meath have worked very hard.  They are in far better physical shape that any time in the past,

Are you serious? Did you see us being swatted by Dublin and out-muscled by Laois? Laois. Ross Munnelly and the lads.

and I think there's positives to be taken from the fact that they came back twice from ten points down to almost snatch victory. Maybe that's naive of me but in the past, that wouldn't have happened.

Again, are you serious? When did you start watching Meath football?
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 29, 2012, 11:03:54 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 10:55:23 AM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on July 28, 2012, 09:44:55 PM
Banty has done a lot for Meath in his short time here.

Yep. We should be a lot more competitive in Division Three.

I get the impression that Hardy secretly gets a lot of satisfaction of out of seeing Meath losing today (though I wouldn't expect he'd say so). It gives him the opportunity to have a go again.

How does this impression game go? I get the impression that Sea The Stars (secretly) beats his wife. Over to you.

Just on the year as a whole - it's clear that Meath have worked very hard.  They are in far better physical shape that any time in the past,

Are you serious? Did you see us being swatted by Dublin and out-muscled by Laois? Laois. Ross Munnelly and the lads.

and I think there's positives to be taken from the fact that they came back twice from ten points down to almost snatch victory. Maybe that's naive of me but in the past, that wouldn't have happened.

Again, are you serious? When did you start watching Meath football?

Sea the stars, that post is so ridiculous I find myself agreeing with Hardy!
Post by: Sea The Stars on July 29, 2012, 11:19:17 AM
Hardy I don't even think you go to the games, do you?

I have seen how hard the players have worked, particularly in the face of a lot adversity much of it from within the county. Lesser players would have had rolled over after the League. They have done well to get to this stage of the championship and showed battling qualities in both games. I think - from your last line - you are comparing the current Meath team to past Meath teams. Please it's time for Meath supporters to stop doing that.

Meath are better conditioned than before - that is my point. Dublin and even Laois have further down the road in terms of this. But I am not talking about Laois/Dublin, Meath can only make themselves better. As I say, they have worked hard and have improved. Also shows how much you know when you pass a cowardly challenge by Munnelly off as strength.

Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 12:23:51 PM
I haven't been to games this year, for various reasons, not that I feel any need to compete with you on attendance records. The first championship game I remember missing in my adult life was a qualifier against Antrim a couple of years ago. Why are you asking me this? Do you think your arse on a seat in Tullamore endows you with a unique perspective on the ills of Meath football?

I simply don't understand your arguments. You keep going on about how hard the players have worked. I have no problem with the players - I have ensured to give them credit in my posts here. I have a problem with the manager.

You say we shouldn't compare this Meath team to past teams. Why not? Meath teams should be in the business of winning All-Irelands. What is your criterion for success?

After we contested two All-Ireland semi-finals and won a provincial title in the four years prior to his arrival, McEnaney strutted into the county, spoofing about taking us on from there and putting all sorts of perceived stuff that was missing "back" into Meath football. Now, after two years of this replenishment and replacement, we're in Division Three, have been humiliated by Louth, nearly dumped out of the Championship by Carlow and actually dumped by Laois in a game where not one of our selected forwards scored from play.

So where's this improvement, you talk about? Here it is: In Eamonn O'Brien's two years in charge, our competitive record (League and Championship) was: won 15, drew 3, lost 9. Banty has "improved" that in his two years to 8-2-15.

Rreferring to your last sentence, I'm not even entering in the "what we know" stakes with someone who thinks relegation is progress. To clarify, I was referring to being out-muscled all over the field by Ross Munnelly and his team mates.
Post by: agorm on July 29, 2012, 12:33:44 PM
Hardy, fair enough you may be the only poster here out and out against Banty. It is just that in recent times any time I read anything about most games all that seems to be here is some statement against the manager probably from yourself. there aren't too many Meath posters and your postings probably get more prominence so I apologise to others posters if I was too general in that statement.

What I do have a problem with Hardy is your statement which you repeated again there about the players feigning injury and your attempt to pin that on Banty also. The only comment on the actual game that you made was this comparison with Tyrone and saying that the players were clutching their faces etc. essentially you have accused the Meath players of cheating and that Banty is behind it.

I have the game taped. Can you post here which players and the time in the game that this stuff was going on. I am very interested because no one around me in the stand commented on it and I spoke to 5 or 6 other supporters and it wasn't mentioned. We had plenty to give out about but This wasn't mentioned by anyone.

Regarding the rest of your comments and his lack of a plan, I am not saying he is the messiah. There are many successful managers that a few years previously would not have been perceived to have a plan. I can see progress made this year and, with better luck on the injury front providing an improved midfield and a new goalie I can see a positive direction for the team. If Banty is to be replaced what alternative are you suggesting?
Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 12:52:08 PM
If you have the game taped, go and look at it before you come on here implying that I'm making stuff up. As regards pinning it on Banty, I haven't done that. However, you can't have it both ways. Meath players knew there was a Meath way of playing football that didn't include face-holding and rolling. Banty can't be responsible for anything good that happens without being responsible for the rest of what happens. We can't know and I'm not suggesting he instigated it. But what he is responsible for is ensuring that this doesn't happen again during his tenure as manager, if any. After all, he's the self-proclaimed restorer of all that is good in Meath football.
Post by: Sea The Stars on July 29, 2012, 12:56:13 PM
The reason the players have worked harder is because of the manager and his management team. I think the fightbacks against Dublin and Laois (albeit both were in vain) is one of the biggest indications of a united camp.

I would like to see Meath progress. All-Irelands are unrealistic. We must attain smaller targets before All-Irelands are a priority again. This might not always be in the form of results, but I agree results should be the biggest indication of progress. We can dream but at the end of it all, I think the biggest aim should be to try and improve ourselves.

I was very disappointed with how EOB was treated. I thought he was doing a good job. He should never have been sacked. However, what happened then, happened, and I think it set Meath back a lot. We undid a lot of good work by changing the manager when we did, and Banty was already facing the task of re-doing a lot of the good work that EOB had already done a few months previous.

The improvement that I see does not come in the form of results. We are mentally stronger under Banty, we are physically better: faster, stronger, more mobile. A lot of new players have been blooded - Gilsenan, Collins, Lenihan, Menton, Keoghan, Tobin, Gillespie, Forde, Carroll. I expect Curran and McConnell will be added to that list next year. So there have been improvements. At the end of the day, it comes down to seventy minutes of championship football. Sometimes it won't work out. We were knocked out of the Leinster championship by the All-Ireland champions and the circumstances contrived against us against Laois. Two bad results. But that's championship football. I don't think two bad results should overshadow the hard work that has been done since the Louth game.
Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 12:59:40 PM
Fair enough. That's a reasonable opinion. I've already stated my opposing one. I'm pessimistic about the outcome, as I think your opinion is in the majority and I'm looking forward sadly to another wasted year and promotion from Div. 3 next year being hailed as justification for yet another year of Bantyism.
Post by: agorm on July 29, 2012, 12:59:51 PM
Where did I say you made it up? I just asked you to back up your accusations against Meath players in your attempt to slag off the manager.

Whether we agree or disagree on Bantys influence on the players actions is irrelevant if we don't agree on whether The players acted like that I the first place.

As I said you made the statements .......back them up.
Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 01:03:37 PM
If you're saying I need to back them up, you're implying they don't stand up. What did you mean by saying that you talked to so many people and none of them saw it, other than to cast doubt on what I'm saying? If you're saying my statements don't stand up, you'd better have a good reason for it. You have the tape. Go and look at it.
Post by: Dont Matter on July 29, 2012, 02:09:58 PM
Wind advantage in the first half proved vital for us. We built up a lead and with the 3 quick points at the start of the second half gave us a big enough lead to hold onto. We were by far the better team on the day though, we messed up a good few goal chances and McQuillan gave Meath everything. A few yellow cards for Laois players in the first half were given for the Meath crowds reaction to strong but fair tackles. As can be seen on the RTE player the Meath players lying down holding their faces helped him award the yellows.
If we won by 10 it would have been more of a fair reflection but it's a good win for us the only problem is we got a bad draw. Dublin should win easy enough. Overall a good year for Laois.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on July 29, 2012, 03:00:00 PM
The wind advantage and the fortunate penalty in the first half were decisive factors plus Meath's loss of Keoghan. It was a bad tackle by Ross Munnelly though the intent was shoulder to shoulder.
Laois could have regretted the missed goal chances in the second half. When Meath got their goal it was heart in the mouth time. Luckily for us they didn't lump a few high balls into the square where they might have snatched an equaliser.
All in all it's a good day whenever you can come out on top against Meath in the championship. Huge task next weekend.

Post by: agorm on July 29, 2012, 03:58:05 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 01:03:37 PM
If you're saying I need to back them up, you're implying they don't stand up. What did you mean by saying that you talked to so many people and none of them saw it, other than to cast doubt on what I'm saying? If you're saying my statements don't stand up, you'd better have a good reason for it. You have the tape. Go and look at it.

Hardy,
It was you that made the statement regarding the players - not me......I said that I didnt see anything in the game to justify what you said. I simply asked you to indicate who was involved and at what stage of the game (even roughly) as to when it happened.

When people make accusations like this be it in print or in the internet be prepared to back them up. The same goes in normal life, work etc.

I looked at our recording last evening but we just focused the main highlights of the game and jumped between those. I am not sure if I could sit watching the whole game, after all I went to the game and most of yesterday afternoon and evening was taken up between travelling there and back etc. Maybe during the week I will play it all but with Olympics on I am not sure if I have the time tbh

Lastly, your statement "If you're saying my statements don't stand up, you'd better have a good reason for it" is a little surprising considering I am not the one making statements and accusations and failing to back them up.
Post by: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 05:56:23 PM
I accept your explanation that you're not questioning my statements. Though I don't know why you then finish with another accusation of "failing to back them up". I haven't failed in any way.

Look at 33 and a half minutes, roughly. 29 and a half minutes a bit dodgy too.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 29, 2012, 08:27:49 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 06:33:36 PM

That's true, we weren't on form. Not at all. But it takes nothing away from Laois' victory. Obviously into the bargain with underestimating ye, ye played a smart game, and played to win. I can only say that I'd love to see Meath doing the same thing, so well done, and the best of luck to ye. The cynical fouling was somewhat irritating as the game wore on, but that's the way most teams choose to play these days (and indeed, always have chosen to play).

From our point of view, we were very flat on saturday, lacking the intensity needed to win a championship match.  The comeback was once again, a nice throwback to days gone by, but we should never have had to. All that was required was to keep Laois to 3 points by half time, and let the wind do the work with the high ball in. We have made progress this year, and I don't accept that Banty has to go on the strength of the league relegation. The younger players will take a couple of years to come through, but I have to question the commitment of a lot of the older lads. Additionally, Brian Meade is not an inter-county midfielder. There's the makings of a good team there, but it needs time, and most of all, stability. That's the primary reason why the new management team of Banty, Giles and Evans must be allowed 3/4 years to develop a proper squad.

A victory against Laois was not going to be great cause for celebration either. I'd hate to see a developing team like this run into Donegal and ship a serious defeat. We have to work on playing to win, and if we do that, I remain very positive about the team's prospects. Obviously, the minute a team lose everyone begins to write the obituary, ala Pat Spillane's style of punditry. It is more sensible however, to accept that in Sport, anything can happen on any given day. That's the beauty of it. So, rather than point fingers, we can just shrug our shoulders and get on with it.

Long term failure is a justification for finger pointing. But this management team is relatively new, and need to be given a fair trial.
Post by: Jinxy on July 29, 2012, 09:47:35 PM
What a horrible day in Tullamore.
I'm watching the same players do the same stupid things for years.
Our problems pre-date Banty and without some tough decisions they will continue long after he's gone.
Go with the young lads, build a new team and pray that Shane O'Rourke is able to make a comeback.
Post by: agorm on July 29, 2012, 09:51:20 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 05:56:23 PM
I accept your explanation that you're not questioning my statements. Though I don't know why you then finish with another accusation of "failing to back them up". I haven't failed in any way.

Will do.....We havent covered ourslelves in glory this year irrespective of our own uindividual interpretations of the various games.

I am certainly in two minds regarding the future for Meath football. There were some awful decisions by management yesterday and that might be enough to swing it against Banty. He has said he will make a statement so he might quit anyway.

It is probably back to drawing board, lets hope some continuity can be maintained with the current management structure. People say that improvements have been made and there has been some. The worry would be that not sufficient improvements have been made to bring us along and if we have any more injuries or fail to identify a decent midfield then it will continue to be barren for a long time.

Oh for the days in which our arguments were about a last minute free to win a final or over tickets for a big game!
Post by: ONeill on July 29, 2012, 09:55:02 PM
Great result for Gazzler all the same.
Post by: laoislad on July 29, 2012, 10:06:33 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on July 29, 2012, 08:27:49 PM

That's true, we weren't on form. Not at all. But it takes nothing away from Laois' victory. Obviously into the bargain with underestimating ye, ye played a smart game, and played to win. I can only say that I'd love to see Meath doing the same thing, so well done, and the best of luck to ye. The cynical fouling was somewhat irritating as the game wore on, but that's the way most teams choose to play these days (and indeed, always have chosen to play).

Cynical fouling?
Meath men dropping to the ground like they were shot and rolling around like Ronaldo more like.
We've been considered a small weak team for a many a year it's about time we showed some fight.
Post by: ross4life on July 29, 2012, 10:32:04 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 29, 2012, 09:55:02 PM
Great result for Gazzler all the same.
Sure was but he won't be too happy drawing the Dubs.
Post by: agorm on July 30, 2012, 09:25:55 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 29, 2012, 05:56:23 PM

Hi Hardy, I looked at those pieces of play. In both cases the player held his head initially but both Peadar Byrne and Graham Reilly got up quite quickly and I dont think it supports your assertion that Meath were indulging in these type of tactics and, by implication, they were influenced to do so. In fact, in the second incident Tony Davis said that it was a bad tackle and that Sheehan was lucky was lucky not to get a yellow.

However, I suppose that we will just have to agree to disagree on this one.

Some pretty stark statistics on the Sunday Game last night. Not one of 18 starting forwards from Meath, Clare and Sligo scored from play and Meath only kicked the ball 27 times. I think Banty will probably call it a day with Meath but you never know.
Post by: agorm on July 30, 2012, 09:34:51 AM
Quote from: laoislad on July 29, 2012, 10:06:33 PM

Cynical fouling?
Meath men dropping to the ground like they were shot and rolling around like Ronaldo more like.
We've been considered a small weak team for a many a year it's about time we showed some fight.

Laoislad, in my opinion that is bull$hit.
If you have facts to back up where players were rolling around Ronaldo like then post the examples here.

Ye played well and deserved your win but dont ruin the good feelings between the supporters with sarcastic comments like above and inaccurate statements calling Meath players cheats like this one.

Meath players were unfairly tagged with a reputation in the 90s way beyond what was appropriate and these reputations start with people firing out accusations without foundation and not being challenged.

Btw, also concentrate on Dublin instead of firing slurs at Meath players.
Post by: laoislad on July 30, 2012, 10:41:01 AM
Quote from: agorm on July 30, 2012, 09:34:51 AM

Cynical fouling?

If you have facts to back up where players were rolling around Ronaldo like then post the examples here.

Ye played well and deserved your win but dont ruin the good feelings between the supporters with sarcastic comments like above and inaccurate statements calling Meath players cheats like this one.

Meath players were unfairly tagged with a reputation in the 90s way beyond what was appropriate and these reputations start with people firing out accusations without foundation and not being challenged.

Btw, also concentrate symbolising Dublin instead of firing slurs at Meath players.

Post of the year!
Excellent stuff agorm you cheered me right up fair play to you.  :D
If yer Meath boys had have had half as much passion on Saturday they won have won handy.
Keep fighting the good fight though Banty agorm.
Post by: agorm on July 30, 2012, 11:59:43 AM
Quote from: laoislad on July 30, 2012, 10:41:01 AM
Quote from: agorm on July 30, 2012, 09:34:51 AM

Cynical fouling?

Btw, also concentrate symbolising Dublin instead of firing slurs at Meath players.

Post of the year!
Excellent stuff agorm you cheered me right up fair play to you.  :D
If yer Meath boys had have had half as much passion on Saturday they won have won handy.
Keep fighting the good fight though Banty agorm.

No we wouldnt have won handy...we were crap. Cleaned out at midfield.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 30, 2012, 09:18:40 PM
Laoislad/Boywonder  don't get dragged into this, keep under the radar. Tell these boys nothing. A Durrow junior football team would have beaten what we were playing around with so far and like I said in another post, and in fairness to the Dub's, Kildare, Laois and Galway along with Dublin are the only football counties now, the rest is basketball.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 30, 2012, 09:35:46 PM
The Dubs are two of the remaining footballing counties left, they're so good.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 30, 2012, 10:06:41 PM
QuoteThe Dubs are two of the remaining footballing counties left, they're so good.

I'll repost for you so as you are a newbie. I type as I talk, sorry.  What I was saying is that Dublin, when they play attacking football are watchable, easy on the eye so to speak.  Probably what I should have said was, "and in fairness to the Dub's,  Dublin, Kildare, Laois and Galway are the only football counties now, the rest is basketball"  Meath beat themselves playing the Shaquill O'Neill game against Dublin and now it seems they, Dublin, are unbeatable -

Until Saturday that is when Cluxton gets frustrated with the ball going over his head every five or six minutes and starts taking short kickouts with the swagger of David Beckham to take the two best midfielders in gaelic football out of the equation and the whole foooking basketball thingy starts all over again.  Jeeze, can't wait to see Clancy pointing at the scoreboard with five minutes left.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 31, 2012, 06:34:33 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 30, 2012, 10:06:41 PM

I'll repost for you so as you are a newbie. I type as I talk, sorry.  What I was saying is that Dublin, when they play attacking football are watchable, easy on the eye so to speak.  Probably what I should have said was, "and in fairness to the Dub's,  Dublin, Kildare, Laois and Galway are the only football counties now, the rest is basketball"  Meath beat themselves playing the Shaquill O'Neill game against Dublin and now it seems they, Dublin, are unbeatable -

Until Saturday that is when Cluxton gets frustrated with the ball going over his head every five or six minutes and starts taking short kickouts with the swagger of David Beckham to take the two best midfielders in gaelic football out of the equation and the whole foooking basketball thingy starts all over again.  Jeeze, can't wait to see Clancy pointing at the scoreboard with five minutes left.

It's funny, I've been on this board about a year, and I'm still a newbie, whereas on other boards with high membership turnover, a year is a very long time indeed to have been around. I guess it just goes to show the longevity of the community here. Anyway, I digress.

I'm all for the catch and kick philosophy, but at the minute the arguments for are being taken to extreme lengths. That is of course, in direct response to the extreme "basketball" philosophy in practice throughout Ireland at the minute. My point being, a moderate solution encompassing both styles is the only natural way to play, and, I would argue, is the way we have always played here in Meath. Relatively recently Banty moved us to a more handpass based play style, which has obviously not been the most successful. But then again, there were mitigating factors in that outcome. It is still a pretty moderate style. Now, to link back with my first statement, I feel it an extreme view to criticise Meath for not kickpassing enough against Laois for example, when the conditions made kicking a near certainty for losing possession, at least in the first half. The are very few "basketball" counties, most counties have moderate styles which move more or less one way or the other depending on the opposition and the conditions. As you say, Cluxton will change the style for Dublin when things are not working out. I don't see that as a necessarily bad thing for Gaelic Football, in fact, it adds a tactical element that is not so obviously present in the one style or the other attitude.
Post by: agorm on July 31, 2012, 07:30:05 PM
QuoteThe Dubs are two of the remaining footballing counties left, they're so good.

What has him being a "newbie" got to do with it? Are you saying that his command of the english language might not be as good as yours? Or are you looking to give a dig and couldnt come up with anything better?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 31, 2012, 08:11:42 PM

This is just ridiculous............................are ya pissed on C Parkinsons farts or something

Post by: heffo on July 31, 2012, 08:31:08 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 31, 2012, 08:11:42 PM

This is just ridiculous............................are ya pissed on C Parkinsons farts or something

Easy squire, your sarcasm-omoter must be broken
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 31, 2012, 09:11:53 PM
Spot on Heffo, I should have engaged the brain before I jumped in there.....................an oul eamo fennell moment  ;)
Post by: laoislad on July 31, 2012, 09:19:56 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 31, 2012, 09:11:53 PM
Spot on Heffo, I should have engaged the brain before I jumped there.

That will be the effects of the methadone....
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 31, 2012, 09:25:23 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 31, 2012, 09:19:56 PM

Unreal, just unreal
Post by: Flutehook on July 31, 2012, 09:56:15 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 31, 2012, 09:25:23 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 31, 2012, 09:19:56 PM

Unreal, just unreal

Indeed Squire; that Laois gear is deadly altogether.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mRoRrU1BxAs (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mRoRrU1BxAs)
Post by: seafoid on July 31, 2012, 10:09:57 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on July 31, 2012, 06:34:33 PM

It's funny, I've been on this board about a year, and I'm still a newbie, whereas on other boards with high membership turnover, a year is a very long time indeed to have been around. I guess it just goes to show the longevity of the community here. Anyway, I digress.

I'm all for the catch and kick philosophy, but at the minute the arguments for are being taken to extreme lengths. That is of course, in direct response to the extreme "basketball" philosophy in practice throughout Ireland at the minute. My point being, a moderate solution encompassing both styles is the only natural way to play, and, I would argue, is the way we have always played here in Meath. Relatively recently Banty moved us to a more handpass based play style, which has obviously not been the most successful. But then again, there were mitigating factors in that outcome. It is still a pretty moderate style. Now, to link back with my first statement, I feel it an extreme view to criticise Meath for not kickpassing enough against Laois for example, when the conditions made kicking a near certainty for losing possession, at least in the first half. The are very few "basketball" counties, most counties have moderate styles which move more or less one way or the other depending on the opposition and the conditions. As you say, Cluxton will change the style for Dublin when things are not working out. I don't see that as a necessarily bad thing for Gaelic Football, in fact, it adds a tactical element that is not so obviously present in the one style or the other attitude.
Is it not moving in the direction of rugby league ?