@Killeavy13
After 13 years of playing county football with Armagh I have decided that the time is right for me to retire at this level and move on.
I want to thank all the managers and players that I played alongside and made some great friendships along the way. I also want to thank all
the supporters from Armagh that supported throughout and also supporters from all over Ireland that respected what Armagh done in this time.
Don't blame me if this is a spoof account. It looks real enough to me.
That's a real account alright. Super forward.
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 12, 2012, 08:43:39 PM
That's a real account alright. Super forward.
Fantastic player, unmarkable on an average day, dynamite on a good day.
Simply the best.
I had heard such an announcement was imminent. Our greatest forward of the last twenty years and probably in our top two / three ever. My favourite ever Armagh match was the 2003 Championship defeat of Dublin when Stevie took over the free-kick duties from Oisin who was injured, and strode the pitch like a colossus.
Thanks for all the memories Stevie - legend.
p.s. I wonder was that Championship goal he scored against Armagh Harps in 1998 still the highlight of his career? :P
On his day not many better forwards happy retirement Steven.
Huge loss! Here was me dreaming of the full forward line of--
Jamie Clarke Stevie Ronan Clarke
Thanks for everything Stevie!!
Very disappointed with this news and the timing of it to be honest. Read an article last year about how he wanted to walk away a couple of years ago but that POR had persuaded him back and had helped him get his appetite back thought that might have continued for this year. Not ideal though for us to have gone through the league not knowing but as a man who has given soo much to Armagh I think he was entitled to time to decide. Still would have plenty to give at IC level in a position that we are sorely lacking, his involvement would have at least helped bring on the new crop of players
Disappointed, as he seemed to look after himself well, but probably dosent see 2 years in him and a big year in Armagh this year. An absolute corker of s footballer and a superb servant to Armagh football, he has earned the right to make that decision in his own time, another great man from our special rivalry gone. In 03 he came so close to stealing an aill deserved all ireland for Armagh, He was the one reason why Ill not begrudge Armagh the 05 Ulster title, his late goal the first day was thrilling, it was defiant, and he had no say that there was going to be a clift appointed to referee the replay.
One of the besht over the last decade. Great to watch. we didn't play Armagh much but he was always a forward i feared us having to come up against - big, strong and accurate.
Well done on your glittering sporting career Stevie from Killeavy - top GAA man
Hoped he would have given it another summer. I remember his league performance against Wicklow in Aughrim in 2002 as though it were yesterday. It was a dank oul day and coming after the Galway game in the previous Championship and the departure of the Brians we weren't expecting much. Wicklow were a big team then and bossed us about for the first 20 minutes or so, until Stevie bagged two goals in quick succession and then we were on our way towards a magical 3 or 4 year journey.
All the best Stevie, thanks for the memories...
Great player and showed against Aussies that he still had it. Killeavy have a couple of good young players coming through and with Stevie's guidance his influence on inter county football may not be over. Good luck in retirement.
Broke me heart in 2002 but always had serious respect for him, great footballer and played it the right way. Great forward to win dirty ball and fantastic in the air, excellent finisher aswell, ruthless, pretty much ticks all the boxes. As a neutral mostly thanks for the entertainment over yrs and enjoy your retirement..
A serious player, best of luck to him
One of my favourite players, big strong and classy. He owes armagh nothing, all the best to him.
Glad to hear this. He was the one player who put the shivers up me any time Tyrone and Armagh met. For me he was the best player of that 00-08 period in an Armagh shirt. Brilliant at finding the net when it mattered. The goal that stands out for me was his effort in the All-Ireland semi in 2005. Squeezed one in he never should have been attempting. Fantastic player and will torture club defenders for the next few years.
I got the impression he struggled to motivate himself fully when the great team was slowly dismantling. Did he score Armagh's final point in 2002?
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 12, 2012, 10:20:59 PM
One of my favourite players, big strong and classy. He owes armagh nothing, all the best to him.
A great tribute debt paid in full
Disappointed to hear this, especially coming so late in the season, though the signals he was sending out over the past few months suggested he had pretty much decided. A great player. Was a real gem of a find in the league in 99/2000, scoring points for fun that winter, and gave us a real extra forward threat that year to add to the previous year's McConville and Marsden axis. Will remember his goal in the Ulster final in 2000 that proved the decisive score in that game, and of course the winning point in the AI final of 02, which was poetry in motion. 2003 was probably his best year, pretty much unmarkable that year. Thanks for the memories Stevie - an Armagh legend!
That was the other thing - his ability to win ball in the air against a much taller CB or FB, turn and back of the net. That's why he also was a terrific compromise rules player for Ireland.
He has pretty much everything you'd want from a forward in Gaelic football. Its always a shame when a great player hangs them up but he's had a great career and never shied from it for his county or country.
Quote from: ONeill on April 12, 2012, 10:37:16 PM
Glad to hear this. He was the one player who put the shivers up me any time Tyrone and Armagh met. For me he was the best player of that 00-08 period in an Armagh shirt. Brilliant at finding the net when it mattered. The goal that stands out for me was his effort in the All-Ireland semi in 2005. Squeezed one in he never should have been attempting. Fantastic player and will torture club defenders for the next few years.
I got the impression he struggled to motivate himself fully when the great team was slowly dismantling. Did he score Armagh's final point in 2002?
The first and the last points of the 2002 All Ireland final. played at an unbelievable level through 2003 in particular.
Too many memories to start listing. Legend.
One of the greatest ever Armagh forwards. Strenge he would quit in April though. He has been made captain of his club this year too. Surely he should hang in there. Can you imagine him as a late impact sub in a c/ship game?
Pretty much unmarkable for the most part. Great to watch when not playing Tyrone. Robbed (cruelly, depending on which side of the Moy you're from) of glory in the dying minutes by Conor Gormley in '03. Two fantastic efforts from two fantastic players - one just got the last word that day. Could have been very different few years.
My kind of footballer. Strangely enough, in the week that's in it, I can't think of a player more like John Egan. And it's hard to decide which of them that's a tribute to.
A real legend,who will be remembered for all the right reasons
Brilliant player. A point he scored in the 03 final will always stick in my mind - first half, caught the ball in the right corner in front of the hill, barely had the ball in his hands 'till he fired it over from an acute angle. I could do nothing but stand and applaud. Good luck to him
QuoteBrilliant player. A point he scored in the 03 final will always stick in my mind - first half, caught the ball in the right corner in front of the hill, barely had the ball in his hands 'till he fired it over from an acute angle. I could do nothing but stand and applaud. Good luck to him
This is one of my best memories also. I was sitting at the edge of the Cusack by the Hill. I remember saying to the Dub beside me that Armagh was in a good chance when we had a man like that on the team, and so it was as he nearly made the difference except for that famous block.
Stevie (and Big Joe) spoke well on RTÉ this morning in the Morning Ireland sport at 8:30.
As Joe said, apart from being a brilliant finisher, he had "hands like a vice grips".
Sort of thought this was coming but still very disappointing....we were very lucky to have Stevie....he carried the Armagh forward line for the last number of years after the glory years of 00 to 06. I remember Gerard Houlahan telling a group of us in 1998 that Armagh's best forward wasn't even on the team that year....Marsden and McConville were starting to show their class at that time and I couldn't believe that we had a forward better than them....whether he was better than them is debatable but we were blessed to have these three.
Thanks Stevie for some wonderful memories...
Best of luck to him in the future. Was always a pleasure to watch. One of the best around in his time.
Quote from: Hardy on April 13, 2012, 01:44:25 AM
My kind of footballer. Strangely enough, in the week that's in it, I can't think of a player more like John Egan. And it's hard to decide which of them that's a tribute to.
That's a very fitting post Hardy, Stevie from Killeavy's class will be missed on the playing fields this summer.
With Marsden and Mcconville the best that Armagh has produced in my life time. Owes us nothing and given the contempt shown to Oisin (and how poor a decision that has proven to be) he has the right to choose his own departure...still on top. Jamie Clarke has big shoes to fill, but we need another Marsden and McConville to go with him. Good luck in retirement Stevie.
I, for one, will not miss his brilliance in the Athletic Grounds on the 10th June this year. A lethal footballing assassin, and a joy to watch, even when turning a Torquemada on your own defence.
Quote from: thejuice on April 12, 2012, 11:17:55 PM
He has pretty much everything you'd want from a forward in Gaelic football. Its always a shame when a great player hangs them up but he's had a great career and never shied from it for his county or country.
+1. That about sums it up for one of the greats of the 21st century!
Sad to hear this one, however all great things must end. Many memories stick in the mind with Stevie, winning point in AIF, that day in the lightning v Limerick (think it was 3-4 he scored), that ball he caught over his shoulder v Donegal in the semi final in 2003 to score a brilliant goal. How much did Armagh ask of him over the years just humping hail mary balls in on top of him when we needed something and how often did he come up with the goods. A class act.
Good man stevie, enjoy the retirement.
Good luck Stevie in your retirement many great memories and great days . Meet Stevie a good few times both through football and other things and never ceased to be a gentleman all the best .
A gentleman who pulled Armagh out of many holes over the years. He still has that ice cool confidence that is the trademark of any top footballing assassin. Watching the programme on Oisin last night and thinking about this news todarmagh were to have had such good forwards at the same time. It is a shame that Ronan Clarke wasn't able to stay injury free. If Armagh had him, jamie and Stevie then I wouldn't have had any qualms about putting them near the top of table again. Class act and is as good as we will see for a long time.
Super player and a pity we won't see him play again. Very few Armagh players would have made it onto the Tyrone 03-05 team but McDonnell would be one that stands out.
Quote from: rrhf on April 12, 2012, 10:42:53 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 12, 2012, 10:20:59 PM
A great tribute debt paid in full
Indeed. Lucky f**ker, mines still killing me here.
Now all he has weighing him down is original sin.
Great player who gave great service to Armagh. He'll be missed.
Great player. Took defenses apart single-handedly at times. Two men couldn't mark him at his best.
Quote from: maddog on April 13, 2012, 12:42:50 PM
Sad to hear this one, however all great things must end. Many memories stick in the mind with Stevie, winning point in AIF, that day in the lightning v Limerick (think it was 3-4 he scored), that ball he caught over his shoulder v Donegal in the semi final in 2003 to score a brilliant goal. How much did Armagh ask of him over the years just humping hail mary balls in on top of him when we needed something and how often did he come up with the goods. A class act.
That game in Dr Hyde Park, Roscommon v Limerick... I've never seen a performace like it. He was simply unplayable. I was absolutely soaked & the long wet journey home squeezed into the back seat of my uncles car was well worth it!!
Every year that passes after '02 I think how luck I was to be following Armagh during that generation of footballers.
Quote from: under the bar on April 13, 2012, 01:15:16 PM
Super player and a pity we won't see him play again. Very few Armagh players would have made it onto the Tyrone 03-05 team but McDonnell would be one that stands out.
Your right, very few. Probably just Geezer, McGrane, McConville, Clarke, Marsden, Stevie, and John McEntee would be the certs. That's 7, the rest would be tough calls
Best of luck stevie, really wish you could have gave it one more blast til august though!
Geezer - yes
McGrane - bench at best
McConville - good free taker but why would Tyrone need him when they had Canavan?
Clarke - not between 03 & 05, later perhaps
Marsden - yes
Stevie - yes
John McEntee - another for the bench at best
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on April 13, 2012, 01:45:19 PM
That game in Dr Hyde Park, Roscommon v Limerick... I've never seen a performace like it. He was simply unplayable. I was absolutely soaked & the long wet journey home squeezed into the back seat of my uncles car was well worth it!!
Every year that passes after '02 I think how luck I was to be following Armagh during that generation of footballers.
Was at all those games McDonnell was superb in the heavy rain v Limerick & the goal to beat Donegal was worth the admission fee.
In 2008 he scored 3-6 in a league game v us probably one of his finest displays but TBH he didn't have much to beat that day.
Quote from: Orchardman on April 13, 2012, 01:55:51 PM
Quote from: under the bar on April 13, 2012, 01:15:16 PM
Your right, very few. Probably just Geezer, McGrane, McConville, Clarke, Marsden, Stevie, and John McEntee would be the certs. That's 7, the rest would be tough calls
Best of luck stevie, really wish you could have gave it one more blast til august though!
Don't feed the troll!
QuoteMarsden - yes
Tyrone would be falling over themselves for Marsden.
One of the best forwards I have ever seen. Epitomised everything great about the Armagh team of 99-2005. Will make a great coach/trainer in time Id say! Best of luck Stevie from Killeavy.
Great player. A lot of defenders will sleep easier tonight!
Quote from: under the bar on April 13, 2012, 03:40:24 PM
Geezer - yes
McGrane - bench at best
McConville - good free taker but why would Tyrone need him when they had Canavan?
Clarke - not between 03 & 05, later perhaps
Marsden - yes
Stevie - yes
John McEntee - another for the bench at best
That was a fair enough response, even though i don't agree with them all, so the only one i'l fall out with you over is the mighty Paul McGrane, tyrone have never had a midfielder like him! They made up for this though with an 8 man breaking ball midfield (micky harte said it himself), which worked well for them. As i'm going off topic i won't say anymore on this, maybe a thread
armagh/tyrone 02-06 joint team would be a good idea some day
One of the most complete forwards the game has seen. You name it, he could do it. Good luck on retirement Stevie.
if the down 94 team play the armagh 02 team again this summer in the charity match then stevie and oisin will cause havoc
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on April 13, 2012, 01:45:19 PM
Was at the game, never got soaked like it in my life Great performance, unstoppable that day.
Don't know how they played in those conditions. A car load of us stripped down to the shorts in the car and had trousers and shirts out the window to dry. Guards had a check point set up and gave us some look LOL
Sad news but not unexpected. Stevie was without doubt one of the greatest forwards i've seen in the last 30 years. Legend
Great player, Glad he's not lining out against us in May.
just brilliant. not many stevies about unfortunately. strength of character, physically strong, and above all a sportsman.
don't know what role he could play in armagh football because you just cant pass on that type of skill...
live long and prosper..
Does this say anything about the current set up? Would have thought Stevie had a year or two at county level yet?
I'll always admire the way he took on the naysayers when o rourke was appointed. Reminded the players they were playing for Armagh.
Dangerous ground there if you don't want the thread off on a tangent...
Quote from: StGallsGAA on April 13, 2012, 11:56:15 PM
Does this say anything about the current set up? Would have thought Stevie had a year or two at county level yet?
I thought it might initially but looking back, I remember reading he had a great friendship with POR and credited him as being a major reason McDonnell was enjoying his football again. That said I still harbour some hope we might see McDonnell with the right manager appointed
McGrane is Armagh's best ever player IMO - ever.
Good luck Stevie.
Quote from: Take Your Points on April 14, 2012, 07:49:30 PM
From today's IN..........
(http://i40.tinypic.com/15fspck.jpg)
Wonder what Oisin's would be.
thanks for everthing steve, class forward, sometimes you would think he had glue on his gloves, class
Armagh may never see his likes again,always scored when the pressure was on.
One of my best/worst memories of him was in the final in 03 when both Cormac and Ricey were double marking him yet he was still able to get a few points from them. Class forward that should have won more
Greatest score I seen him take was 05 semi final v Tyrone. Took on full-back and keeper from an impossible angle and beat them both despite being fouled at the same time. Armagh had their backs to the wall and needed someone to pull something out of the bag, Stevie stepped up. Gotta respect a man for that.
Also got some unreal scores in an aussie rules match in Galway around '07(?). Match was rubbish and going nowhere when he started knocking them over from all angles.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8q3wZZHJAN4
Was a more fluent move in my minds eye! ;D Still though a great score considering the context.
QuoteMcGrane - bench at best
Lol!!! You joker!
Why would Tyrone have needed McGrane when we had Hub Hughes??
Lol. Good one
Stevie was a class act and served the county with distinction - tortured defences all over the place and just when defenders thought he was bate, he still was able to stick her over the bar from some outrageous angle.
He'll be a big miss to Armagh. I thought he'd have given it another go this year, but obviously he's made his mind up.
Enjoy the retirement. You owe Armagh nothing.
Interesting comments from Stevie in the I.N. this morning. Fair play to him in stepping back and giving his club a good year. The only mistake he made with Mone was that he got caught.
Quotehttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8q3wZZHJAN4
On an aside, 40secs into that video was one of the less heralded turning points of the 2005 game. After Stevie's goal Paul McGrane brilliantly intercepted a Tyrone ball and then just stumbled so that the ball went out over the line. Tyrone then got a point instead of the ball going back up the field to follow on from the goal. C'est la vie!
a true great. He will be missed
Quote from: armaghniac on April 17, 2012, 12:11:13 PM
On an aside, 40secs into that video was one of the less heralded turning points of the 2005 game. After Stevie's goal Paul McGrane brilliantly intercepted a Tyrone ball and then just stumbled so that the ball went out over the line. Tyrone then got a point instead of the ball going back up the field to follow on from the goal. C'est la vie!
Never a free either. Cavanagh with the trademark arch of the back and dive which refs never see through. That was some game...probably best I was ever at. Armagh were slightly the best team but Tyrone just finished that wee bit stronger. McDonnell was a class act. Interesting to see him say he didn't have the hunger for the winter training this 4-5 years.
All the best in your retirement Stevie, a true great & a fantastic servant to Armagh... Pure class
Now Armagh fans know how we felt when Canavan retired. Massive loss to Armagh as Canavan was to Tyrone. Both were class acts.
Best wishes to Stevie on his county retirement. Good article in the paper today alright. He may have won 'only' 1 all ireland but he can be proud of how played his football and how he conducted himself on the pitch - always played football in the right spirit.
It is only as the years roll on that I realise how special so many of that team (1999 - 2006) really were.
Quote from: sheamy on April 17, 2012, 12:24:11 PM
Never a free either.
that could have been a classic game but for the refereeing.
and yes the entire county is still bitter over the "incident" but had the shoe been on the other foot I wouldn't have complained...
Quote from: heganboy on April 17, 2012, 05:58:43 PM
Never a free either.
and yes the entire county is still bitter over the "incident" but had the shoe been on the other foot I wouldn't have complained...
It was a classic game. Probably the best game in croke park of the last 10-15 years. Defenitly the best I ever was at. Just because the result was not as you wished does not mean it was a bad game.
Quote from: EC Unique on April 17, 2012, 08:27:57 PM
Just because the result was not as you wished does not mean it was a bad game.
ach I hear you but 'tis very hard to view it as a classic when you're on the wrong end of a result in a tight game, no matter how you get there.
Quote from: heganboy on April 17, 2012, 05:58:43 PM
Never a free either.
Stevie was on fire that day, with a bit more support in the scoring stakes we would have won that game. Only Stevie could have scored that goal.
As someone has said it is only when great players are gone that they are truly appreciated.
QuoteNever a free either.
Since when was pulling a players jersey never a free? Get over it, best team in Ireland won the AI so you should have no complaints.
Quote from: Orangemac on April 17, 2012, 10:22:38 PM
Stevie was on fire that day, with a bit more support in the scoring stakes we would have won that game. Only Stevie could have scored that goal.
I agree totally with what you say - but there is a moment in the second half in that match where Stevie run onto a ball at speed, in front of the Tyrone goals about 25 yards out, and under no pressure, blazed the ball wide of the post when going for a point. I remember hearing that he was haunted by that miss for a long time after.
If anyone recorded the Laochra Gael show last week about Oisin, check out Stevie's point in the first half of that match. A long ball is played into him and he is marked by three Tyrone defenders - he wins the ball and under pressure, kicks a left-footed point from 40 yards.
An absolutely heart breaking defeat given that it was so self inflicted.
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on April 17, 2012, 11:11:29 PM
Ah jeez Rufus, I think that we had a wee hand in that infliction too! ;)
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 17, 2012, 11:16:14 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on April 17, 2012, 11:11:29 PM
Ah jeez Rufus, I think that we had a wee hand in that infliction too! ;)
Ah yes - we coughed the ball up and of course it still had to be put over the bar - but we got ourselves into a winning position and made a series of unforced errors.
That was as desolate as I've ever felt after an Armagh match - I must've looked it too, for a Tyrone lad who I didn't know come over to commiserate by saying youse have had a great year - Ulster and NFL Champions. I remember replying that I would willingly swap places and he sort of gave me an, 'aye fair enough' look, before wandering off. :-\
Fair enough, it was a very tough one to have lost, to be sure.
For me getting beaten by Fermanagh in 2004 was worse than the 05 semi defeat. Stevie said in the Irish News article that Armagh played their best football in 2005, I'd agree with that. Always felt that we were a better football team in 2005 than in 2002. We just got that bit of luck in 2002 that wasn't there in 2005. The addition of AK, Ciaran McKeever and Andy Mallon was a big boost to the 05 team.
I'm a bit shocked but happy how well the Tyrone and Armagh fans are getting on in this thread over such a big match which obviously still hurts the Armagh following.
I think Armagh must be fair scunnered with Tyrone's rise to prominence in the noughties.
Having spent from 1999 to 2006 dominating Ulster and regularly getting to the AI quarters, semis and of course final in 2002 & 2003, they must be cursing their luck that their arch enemies and neighbours Tyrone chose a similar period to peak and actually out do their achievements.
With the huge risk of sounding condescending, I think Armagh's downright will to win, single mindedness, positive energy mullarky that they created around themselves certainly meant they were a team that were very difficult to beat. You could see how delighted Kerry were when they beat them in 2006 3.15 to 1.13.
The way they were such a focused serious team I think meant they never really shook off the shackles and played the type of football that would have suited Oisin, Stevie and then Ronan Clarke.
It's interesting to hear Stevie say 2005 was probably their best year as most Tyrone fans would also say the same. Most of us red handers would have to admit Armagh should have won that day in the semifinal as they were the better team. Of course there was an element of just reward for us as we felt hard done by in the Ulster final matches. Especially with karma coming back to punish McKeever for his treatment of Canavan to get him sent off. Sweet indeed that PTG would put over the free that McKeever gave away from a definite foul that might not have been given at different stages during the game.
I am of course biased against Armagh and I particularly don't like a lot of their players during the last 10 years especially Oisin but I have to say Stevie McDonnell was an excellent talented forward who worked hard and played very fair. I don't remember him crying or whinging much without good cause and maybe unlike players like Gooch & Donaghy took the aggro and just got on with it.
I'm glad we won't have to worry about your goals against us any more Stevie but thanks for the entertainment you did give us. You were a joy to watch even if ye did often cause us tears.
For any Southies not knowing the word scunnered
[http://www.d1020599.cp.blacknight.com/slang.ie/index.php?county=Antrim&entry=scunnered&letter=S[/url]
Id agree that 2005 was our best year. Ive never yet watched that gam,e again though, how we managed to grasp defeat from the jaws of victory is beyond me
It was a hard one to take. We were the better team that day, though Tyrone were the better side in the 2 Ulster final games. Armagh played some great football in 2005 from the final stages of the league through to the semi final. Our big problem in the semi final was the amount of scoreable chances missed. Loads of possession from kickouts but we couldn't put the ball over the bar. The likes of Brian Mallon, Ronan Clarke, Aaron Kernan all missed scoreable points early or half way through the second half. If even a couple of those were taken we wouldn't have had to worry about a dodgy call for a free in the last minute (from memory it was the only call time in the game the ref made a call for a jersey tug).
Personally i feel gutted at McDonnell retiring, far worse for some reason that i did when the likes of McGeeney, Marsden, McConville went. He's given great service to the county and given the supporters some life long memories.
It's true, i was at all 3 games in croke park in 2005. Tyrone cleaned us the first day in the ulster final, and things really got out of hand in the reply, though it was great the way we finished the game.
But the semi-final, we really did have it, would loved to have seen how we would have done against kerry in a 2005 final, they very well may have beaten us. We were flying that year, remember the league semi against mayo and the final against wexford, stevie was playing some of his best football at that time.
I'm not too sure if we would have beaten Kerry had we got over Tyrone. Tyrone pulled off a great performance to beat them and it needed a great performance to beat that Kerry side.
How the f*** did Fermanagh beat us in 04?
In the 3 matches that year I do feel Armagh played their best football in the semi final. Though I don't agree with a lot of people that they were the better team that day. Tyrone lead for most of the match, Armagh were only briefly in front after the goal and Tyrone showed great character to come back and win the game. Tyrone scored 3 points quite quickly in the second half and looked to be pulling away before the referee gave Armagh 2 or 3 very soft free's which kept them in it. Still it was a great year for football and a great rivalry. Think this years championship match in the Athletic Grounds could be a special one to.
Quote from: Redhand Santa on April 18, 2012, 09:41:54 PM
In the 3 matches that year I do feel Armagh played their best football in the semi final. Though I don't agree with a lot of people that they were the better team that day. Tyrone lead for most of the match, Armagh were only briefly in front after the goal and Tyrone showed great character to come back and win the game. Tyrone scored 3 points quite quickly in the second half and looked to be pulling away before the referee gave Armagh 2 or 3 very soft free's which kept them in it. Still it was a great year for football and a great rivalry. Think this years championship match in the Athletic Grounds could be a special one to.
Armagh went 2 in front when Clarke scored after a turnover with about 6 mins to go. It was the soft penalty that kept Tyrone in the game for long spells (not the foul for the penalty but Mulligan fouling in the lead up to it).
Would have to agree that 2005 was a great year for football. Not just the Armagh Tyrone games but the Dublin v Tyrone games, the final itself etc.Hard to believe it is 7 years ago.
Its a little disappointing when a wonderful who certainly still have something to offer chooses to end his intercounty career a little early but of course Stevie managed more than most players could ever dream of. There a few enough players who have won the Player of the Year award without being on the team that lifted Sam and the fact that Stevie is in that bracket tells you all you need to know about the Killeavy man. Strong, intelligent on the ball, unselfish yet deadly accurate and with a great eye for goal, he was close to the perfect corner forward. The best forward in Ireland in the middle part of the last decade, our best forward of the past 20 years and a man who will live forever in the annals of Armagh football.
Hearty away too?
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 19, 2012, 10:05:57 PM
Hearty away too?
Yes Paul Hearty knocking it on the head after '12 great years'
Quote from: Armamike on April 18, 2012, 09:31:29 PM
I'm not too sure if we would have beaten Kerry had we got over Tyrone. Tyrone pulled off a great performance to beat them and it needed a great performance to beat that Kerry side.
How the f*** did Fermanagh beat us in 04?
Indeed.............................the year of the muscle I thought, mc geeney trained in a dublin gym at the time and at the rate he was going I thought he was training for Mr Olympia ;)
Thought Armagh bulked up as a team to much that year, lost speed and pace
With Stevie and Hearty gone does that leave Ronan Clarke (if he ever returns) as the only link to the 2002 panel??
Quote from: Midman on April 20, 2012, 10:05:22 AM
With Stevie and Hearty gone does that leave Ronan Clarke (if he ever returns) as the only link to the 2002 panel??
Hearty doesnt count as he was a sub.
Quote from: Orior on April 20, 2012, 12:34:12 PM
its only a 15 man game now Orior? tut tut
Poor post Football is more then a 15 man game course it counts he trained every bit as much as the 15 players that started the game
Another one gone. Thats the last link to 2002. 6 club AIs and 1 senior county AI. Not a bad haul. Best of luck and I hope you make it 7 club AIs in about 11 months time.
QuoteBest of luck and I hope you make it 7 club AIs in about 11 months time.
I suspect Paul Hearty thinks his chances of another club AI is better than that of another county one!
Quote from: armaghranger12 on April 20, 2012, 01:14:50 PM
Poor post Football is more then a 15 man game course it counts he trained every bit as much as the 15 players that started the game
Bad post surely, since the question said PANEL not TEAM. Ronan Clarke is the last team member left, hearty and stevie were the last other panel members. Andy mallon started in 2003, he was next closest. Just thinking about it, the lads around 28-29 in the armagh squad would be the oldest now?
Quote from: Orchardman on April 20, 2012, 11:28:39 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on April 20, 2012, 01:14:50 PM
Bad post surely, since the question said PANEL not TEAM. Ronan Clarke is the last team member left, hearty and stevie were the last other panel members. Andy mallon started in 2003, he was next closest. Just thinking about it, the lads around 28-29 in the armagh squad would be the oldest now?
Agreed. Withdrawn in shame
Another Armagh and Gaelic football icon retires, Stevie was the epitome of all that was good about Gaelic football, he is and was extremely athletic, was a true two footed footballer and he was as good a finisher as the game has seen in the last 20 or 30 years.
Stevie, have a ball in retirement and go knowing that you brought joy to tens of thousands of Armagh fans as well as fans from all over the Country. legend.
A great player he was. Unfortunately, he'll be remembered for this - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDLHctNelXo
Quote from: ONeill on April 29, 2012, 12:58:59 AM
A great player he was. Unfortunately, he'll be remembered for this - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDLHctNelXo
Thats what Gormley will be remembered for. Should have took it with his left foot.
If he had scored that there would have been 3 or 4 Tyrone players remembered for missing easier goal chances in the same game.
If I remember right,gormley should have been sent of way before that in that game. :o
Ancient history now lads, let it go. Stevie will be remembered for much, much more an outstanding footballer of his generation and a gentleman as well.
Much the same way in that Stephen O'Neill is remembered for ending John Toal's career.
Quote from: Etienne Lantier on May 01, 2012, 09:28:37 AM
Much the same way in that Stephen O'Neill is remembered for ending John Toal's career.
a good comeback, though I dont think either should be remembered for these two things
The "ulster full forward line" of the last 20 years
PTG
Mickey Linden
Stevie
?
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on May 01, 2012, 10:18:47 PM
PTG
Mickey Linden
Stevie
?
Canavan
Clarke
Stevie
Quote from: yellowcard on May 01, 2012, 11:15:47 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on May 01, 2012, 10:18:47 PM
PTG
Mickey Linden
Stevie
?
Canavan
Clarke
Stevie
in the last 20 years in Ulster there have been quite a number of marquee forwards,
Mickey Linden
Paddy Bradley
Steven O'Neill
Pete Canavan
Stevie McDonnell
Benny Coulter
Oisin McConville
Tommy Freeman
Ronan Clarke (when he's not injured)
You could pick any 3 out of that for the ulster full forward line of the last 20 years and each would be as good as the other IMO.
Oisin was never a marquee inside forward at county level. played all of his best football in the half forward line.
stevie, Clarke, Canavan for me
Quote from: DuffleKing on May 02, 2012, 10:30:38 AM
Oisin was never a marquee inside forward at county level. played all of his best football in the half forward line.
Probably just about right in terms of consistent performance at the top level.
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 02, 2012, 11:45:35 AM
Don't see how Ronan Clarke can be in there if we are talking about consistent performance at the top level.
You can't leave Micky Linden out. You can't leave McDonnell out and you can't leave Canavan out so you have to go wit that. A good subs bench though.
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 02, 2012, 12:17:47 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 02, 2012, 11:45:35 AM
Don't see how Ronan Clarke can be in there if we are talking about consistent performance at the top level.
Why, he has been consitently brilliant when playing, just hasn't played enough for other reasons.
For me it's Canavan, Linden, McDonnell
Mine would be Stevie Mc - Canavan - Ciaran McBride
*Ahem* Larry sees all........
Wee James also was a brilliant corner forward.
Quote from: crossfire on May 02, 2012, 10:14:54 PM
Wee James also was a brilliant corner forward.
+1. I don't actually think he gets the kudos he deserves sometimes. Not that he needs the ego fed mind you :-)
He was absolutely dynamite and unstoppable if he was in the mood. Nowhere near as prolific a scorer and on top of his game for as long as Linden but for sheer talent he has to be up there.
Is there any online videos of Mc Cartan playing Mc Crory finals against Maghera. He was unstoppable and they were great games, both teams loaded with stars. i think Mc Cartan scored a hatrick in one and was beat, many reckoned it was the best game of all time.
Quote from: rrhf on May 03, 2012, 11:52:02 AM
Is there any online videos of Mc Cartan playing Mc Crory finals against Maghera. He was unstoppable and they were great games, both teams loaded with stars. i think Mc Cartan scored a hatrick in one and was beat, many reckoned it was the best game of all time.
He did surely...It was like trying to control a bull with a dog lead. When I think of McCartan I think of those games and also this point from '94
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q65cnTw32K8
heartbreaking but I'd never tire of watching it. Fouled about 6 times in today's application of the rules. No thoughts of diving or pulling the defender over him to get an easy free either. Just brilliant.
How many steps were you allowed back then?
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 03, 2012, 02:04:48 PM
How many steps were you allowed back then?
Thinking that myself but he also overdid the bounces. But still like DJ Carey great forward.
No problem with the bounces.
Quote from: Hardy on May 03, 2012, 02:44:47 PM
Me neither, controlling bounces are allowed if the ball isn't taken into hand. One thing that that does show, McCartan was not a corner forward, my only memory of him was in the half forward line so he should be discounted in this wee discussion.
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 02, 2012, 12:46:39 PM
You can't leave Micky Linden out. You can't leave McDonnell out and you can't leave Canavan out so you have to go wit that. A good subs bench though.
That'd be pretty much it in a nutshell. Ulster has had some great forwards over the last couple of decades but those three are head and shoulders above the rest.
Quote from: rrhf on May 03, 2012, 11:52:02 AM
I was at that final in 89 in Coalisland, 4-10 to 4-09 if memory serves me -fantastic game of football, Wee James was unplayable that day with Maghera trying three different players on him by half time, The big names on the Maghera team being Eamon Burns Big Anthony, Brian McCormack , Dermot Dougan and Karl Diamond, apart from James, St Colmans had Barry Hynes, Marty McEvoy and Garnet McFerran amongst others
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 03, 2012, 03:38:16 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 03, 2012, 02:44:47 PM
Me neither, controlling bounces are allowed if the ball isn't taken into hand. One thing that that does show, McCartan was not a corner forward, my only memory of him was in the half forward line so he should be discounted in this wee discussion.
Where were you in the late 80's /early 90's.?
Yep. McCartan played in the full forward line for Coleman's and Down. He was always marked by Kieran McKeever when they played Derry and he was never one to stray too far from goal.
Highlights of the '91 Ulster semi final show this...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fUelK6iVL7s
Some good scores there. None better than Eamon Burns with outside of the boot. Also, check out the scandalous free given to Down in injury time from which Ross Carr leveled the game. The rest as they say is history...
Quote from: sheamy on May 04, 2012, 12:18:11 PM
Yep. McCartan played in the full forward line for Coleman's and Down. He was always marked by Kieran McKeever when they played Derry and he was never one to stray too far from goal.
Some good scores there. None better than Eamon Burns with outside of the boot. Also, check out the scandalous free given to Down in injury time from which Ross Carr leveled the game. The rest as they say is history...
Derry have a habit of giving away stupid freekicks - I remember Henry downey chopping down paddy mckeever to give away a free in 1999 which proved costly in the ulster semi final
Quote from: regal on May 04, 2012, 12:56:16 PM
Derry have a habit of giving away stupid freekicks - I remember Henry downey chopping down paddy mckeever to give away a free in 1999 which proved costly in the ulster semi final
Regal,
Thats a very big bit of bait on your hook there. Its very hard not to bite. You will go a long way to find a better example of a "shoulder" tackle.
Quote from: oakleafgael on May 04, 2012, 06:15:16 PM
Quote from: regal on May 04, 2012, 12:56:16 PM
Regal,
Thats a very big bit of bait on your hook there. Its very hard not to bite. You will go a long way to find a better example of a "shoulder" tackle.
Yes, only joking. a dubious free kick to say the least.