GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on April 03, 2012, 01:55:07 PM

Title: Meath Mightily Migrate from Mediocrity, Maybe.
Post by: thejuice on April 03, 2012, 01:55:07 PM
If things on the field weren't bad enough the rot off the field continues

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/boylan-quits-royal-role-3068619.html

QuoteSean Boylan has stepped down from the director of football role he was appointed to in Meath last September.

Boylan has confirmed he is no longer in the position to which he was appointed on the same night as Seamus McEnaney got the green light to see out the second year of his three-year term as Meath manager.

Boylan admitted yesterday that "it hadn't worked out" but was diplomatic about the reasons behind the decision.

"I informed the county board of my decision some weeks ago," he said.

Boylan's appointment was announced to some fanfare, but the former manager is understood to be frustrated at the slow progress in implementing any of the ideas he had.

"For whatever reasons we just didn't get sitting down and talking about matters relevant to it," said Boylan.

The four time All-Ireland winning manager admitted he never saw himself as a director of football in the strictest sense of the term in the first place, but stressed that he would always be willing to give advice and help to any coach or official in the county who wanted it.

"That has always been the way with me and it always will be. People know where I am. I would like to think that I have never let my county down in any way and never will," he said.

On the night of his appointment, a five-point plan was unveiled around which he was to work, which included participating in and making recommendations to the Meath County Board on the appointment of managers to all inter-county teams in the county and carrying out reviews on the performances of managers to ensure goals were being met.

If Joe Sheridans departure or Nigel Crawfords retirement wasn't a sign of the state of things, not to mention our selectors walking away last year, this is a real sign of how bad things are. If Sean Boylan isn't even being heeded in a role he was given by the same county board then what does that say about us.

We might not even have a stadium to play in with PT no longer meeting H&S regulations. We've a terrible record at under-age, having gone 5 years without 1 win at U-21 level, U-18 being a mixed bag. While under-age success doesn't guarantee senior success the absolute lack of it doesn't hold any promise what so ever.

While the county board may leave a lot to be desired the men who probably could make a big difference have seemed always reluctant to put their heads above the parapet. If we are going to see change in the way things are going we need those who can make a difference to put themselves forward and those who want change need to demand they be put in place to take action.
Title: Re: Meaths Slide continues; Seán Boylan - Steps Down,
Post by: Zulu on April 03, 2012, 05:08:41 PM
This is where I think the GAA really falls down, why has a pasionate Meath man like Sean boylan walked away? Why did Mayo not endorse the strategic plan that they were recommended, why does a county like Cork have so few GDO's? And more importantly why doesn't Croke Park have a say in the endorsing or rejection of strategic plans in each county? I can see the absolute waste of money being spent on games development where I am and though I've said this to top level officials, and they say they agree, they have no intention of changing it. I often think we are a ship with no captain and every village idiot has as much say as qualified professionals when it comes to decision making.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 04, 2012, 02:43:11 PM
An absolute disgrace. Shame on the County Board.
Post by: Hardy on April 04, 2012, 03:42:44 PM
I don't know what to say, to be honest. I think we're at rock bottom if Seán Boylan can't find a way to contribute or the county board can't facilitate him and find a way to use his talents, whichever is the case. Imagine the bending over backwards other counties would be prepared to do if they could have Seán as director of football.
Post by: seafoid on April 04, 2012, 04:33:58 PM
That M3 motorway sure upset the fairies
Post by: bhgmk on April 04, 2012, 05:47:22 PM
Don't know if it's all to do with the fairies - some of these problems were there before the M3 arrived!!!

If you could have a wish-list county board executive, who would it be?

Chairman
Vice Chair
Secretary
Ass Secretary
Treasurer
PRO
Director(s) of Games (football & hurling)

I don't pretend to know all the movers & shakers in the County but I reckon John Kavanagh from St. Ultan's has the energy and enthusiasm to successfully fill one of the leading roles. Maybe the Tormey man in Ashbourne (can't think of his first name)? And Ted Murtagh from Trim - hurling director? So far a bit of a spread around the county. John McNamee from Oldcastle might be good in the finance area. What about our representatives at Leinster & Central Council?

Is there anybody in the current set-up that you can see as leading the county board next season? Can we come up with the 'Dream Team' - and would they take it on???
Post by: muppet on April 04, 2012, 07:51:50 PM
Quote from: bhgmk on April 04, 2012, 05:47:22 PM
Don't know if it's all to do with the fairies - some of these problems were there before the M3 arrived!!!

Chairman
Vice Chair
Secretary
Ass Secretary
Treasurer
PRO

I don't pretend to know all the movers & shakers in the County but I reckon John Kavanagh from St. Ultan's has the energy and enthusiasm to successfully fill one of the leading roles. Maybe the Tormey man in Ashbourne (can't think of his first name)? And Ted Murtagh from Trim - hurling director? So far a bit of a spread around the county. John McNamee from Oldcastle might be good in the finance area. What about our representatives at Leinster & Central Council?

Is there anybody in the current set-up that you can see as leading the county board next season? Can we come up with the 'Dream Team' - and would they take it on???

Mmmmmust resist! Aarrggghh.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 04, 2012, 09:10:27 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 04, 2012, 07:51:50 PM
Quote from: bhgmk on April 04, 2012, 05:47:22 PM

Chairman
Vice Chair
Secretary
Ass Secretary
Treasurer
PRO

Mmmmmust resist! Aarrggghh.

I used to work for the St John of God Association and on my bank statement it used to to say i was paid by St John of God Ass

:o
Post by: muppet on April 04, 2012, 09:20:26 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 04, 2012, 09:10:27 PM

I used to work for the St John of God Association and on my bank statement it used to to say i was paid by St John of God Ass

You must admit Ass Secretary conjures up a better image.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 04, 2012, 09:32:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 04, 2012, 09:20:26 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 04, 2012, 09:10:27 PM

You must admit Ass Secretary conjures up a better image.

Fair point.
Post by: highorlow on April 05, 2012, 09:19:25 AM
Great News. Keep sliding and good riddance.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 05, 2012, 11:56:03 AM
Quote from: highorlow on April 05, 2012, 09:19:25 AM
Great News. Keep sliding and good riddance.

Ach is é a deirimse libh, bíodh grá agaibh do bhur naimhde agus guígí ar son bhur ngéarleantóirí - Matha 5:44
Post by: Declan on April 05, 2012, 12:13:55 PM
Not good signs alright - On the good news front this is Barney Allen's last year
Post by: ONeill on April 05, 2012, 12:44:43 PM
Meath/Rangers/Paisley/Thatcher
Post by: bhgmk on April 05, 2012, 03:17:37 PM
Got to admit lads, my editing skills need brushing up - tho there are times the word Ass could be applied to the executive in general  :)
Post by: The Claw on April 06, 2012, 12:49:05 AM
Meath football has a great tradition, and the club structure is strong in most areas, but this is the only thing keeping the county team afloat in my opinion. The lack of underage structures in the county and in particular in hurling is a disgrace. We were successful years ago because every county relied on good club structures, but now other counties have moved in to investing time bringing the good players together and making them better, which we haven't done.

I know Meath don't have the resources that Dublin have, but there were Easter camps all over Dublin the past week and not a sign of a camp in massively populated towns like Dunshaughlin, Dunboyne, Ashbourne or Ratoath. Just a small part of the problem.
Post by: Declan on April 06, 2012, 08:57:09 AM
Quotemassively populated towns like Dunshaughlin

5674 - in the 2011 census hardly constitutes massive population - We had a minor league match last night and could only get 17 players out and that included 5 u16s - plenty of good work being down at underage /nursery level but agree re the structures
Post by: bhgmk on April 06, 2012, 03:08:06 PM
Couldn't agree more lads, loads of interest at the younger age groups but very difficult to keep the interest going at Minor and on to adult teams.

And that's before you add hurling to the mix.  And a county board that punishes clubs that are trying to improve players - Kiltale lost the BHG lads this year because the Co Board wouldn't let them amalgamate again after playing together the previous 2 years - that's the way to encourage young lads alright.  We have lost one of the lads to hurling for good now. Great progress.   :-[
Post by: The Claw on April 06, 2012, 10:17:38 PM
Quote from: Declan on April 06, 2012, 08:57:09 AM

5674 - in the 2011 census hardly constitutes massive population - We had a minor league match last night and could only get 17 players out and that included 5 u16s - plenty of good work being down at underage /nursery level but agree re the structures
OK, I may have gotten carried away. What I should have said is that these "satellite" towns contain a young population, usually with young couples with young children, and these are where the camps should be, and where work should be done in schools. There are loads of primary schools in these towns and I doubt any hurling goes on in them.

As for the turnout - maybe this is product of the lack of work being done in the schools and efforts to attract new kids to our national games - rather than the lack of a massive population...
Post by: Jinxy on April 06, 2012, 11:23:15 PM
We're like the housing market.
We have to hit the bottom before we can recover.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 06, 2012, 11:53:10 PM

That's a big population if it's for one club.
Post by: Lone Shark on April 07, 2012, 08:32:13 AM

That is absolutely massive for one club. Maybe that's the problem? I'd say only Tullamore and Birr have bigger population bases than that, and they'd have plenty of elderly which a satellite town like Dunshaughlin wouldn't have. Most clubs would be picking off a third of that or less.

I'm not saying satellite towns don't have different problems to rural clubs, of course you'll never get the same level of interest, but don't hide behind numbers.
Post by: thejuice on April 08, 2012, 03:18:11 PM
Louth 1-12
Meath 0-03

Div 3 here we come. Banty, I think we've seen enough. That said we have bigger problems.
Post by: The Claw on April 09, 2012, 02:12:07 AM
Quote from: thejuice on April 08, 2012, 03:18:11 PM
Louth 1-12
Meath 0-03

Div 3 here we come. Banty, I think we've seen enough. That said we have bigger problems.
Banty has lost the team. I'm writing this year off now. Now to look to 2013 with a new manager...
Post by: haranguerer on April 09, 2012, 10:32:09 AM
Quote from: The Claw on April 06, 2012, 12:49:05 AM
Meath football has a great tradition, and the club structure is strong in most areas, but this is the only thing keeping the county team afloat in my opinion.

I see theres no confused smiley on the new  board, just this one  :o which looks like hes just been given it up the arse, but can you just take it from me the above sentence has me confusticated?
Post by: thejuice on April 09, 2012, 10:33:38 AM
So. Whose to come in.  Gerry Mcentee? Sean Kelly?

In regards county board members. I'd like to see sean boylan and o,Rourke on vit atleast. It's been 25 years since 1987 and I'd like to see some of those men from that era or even younger lads from the 90's make some contribution.
Post by: thejuice on April 10, 2012, 10:07:11 AM
Some choice quotes from Liam Harnan in Sundays Independent:

QuoteSince that infamous Leinster final neither county has kicked on or fulfilled their promise. Meath have ditched their management team, gone outside the county in a break from tradition, and already that group is under pressure, having seen two selectors walk out before last year's championship. On the field, after a bright start to the league, their form has slumped with four straight defeats. Internally there is more conflict with the godfather of Meath football Seán Boylan vacating his role as director of football clearly unhappy with the way the project was panning out.

Liam Harnan, who played centre-back for Meath that day, withdrew from the senior management heading into last year's championship along with fellow selector Barry Callaghan. He had previously stepped down as county under 16 manager, citing a lack of support from the minor board. One of his reasons for severing ties with Seamus McEnaney was frustration over his lack of input.

Harnan was initially considered a candidate to succeed the deposed Eamonn O'Brien, manager when Meath won the controversial 2010 Leinster final, and his decision to make way for McEnaney and then join him as a selector was seen as crucial in securing support for an outsider. Harnan has managed the under 21s for the last two years and seen at first hand the poverty of Meath's performances at underage level. Louth went farther at under 21 level this year, Meath were out at the first hurdle to Offaly in February. They made an equally swift exit last year.

Harnan will not be in Navan today although he continues to attend club matches, and county games at all other grades except senior. "I haven't been to a Meath (senior) match since the last game of the league last year. I don't go to Meath games," he says. "I just wouldn't be comfortable going to them. I don't like what I see. I don't like the set-up so I don't go. I go to club games. I am not ashamed, I am not hiding from people. I just don't have an interest in seeing what is happening at senior level."

After leaving the senior management and the under 16s, he outlined the reasons to the county board executive. He also wrote letters so that his views would be put on the record. "I found it very frustrating and I would feel that there are a lot of people who would genuinely like to get involved with football in Meath but it just seems to be hard to get anything done."

Harnan is still interested in working with Meath teams. "End of the day it is my county, I played for the county, I live in the county, I will always be a Meath man. We had a forum about two years ago where there was a lot of talking done. Ned Quinn came from Kilkenny and someone from Club Tyrone and Michael Dempsey spoke; it was a meeting for people with a genuine interest in Meath football. I don't know what has happened since then. Or, whether it is a matter of saying one thing and doing another -- or doing nothing."

The odd events surrounding Boylan's departure as director of football hardly help to adjust the dampened mood of expectation in the county -- he confirmed it at an event on Monday last but the chairman of the county board, Barney Allen, later denied any knowledge of his decision. Allen did not return calls last week. While Boylan is believed to have had some meetings as part of the new role, there clearly was a lot less to the job than he anticipated.

"I think the county board is not good and our county executive has some very hard questions it needs to start asking itself," states Harnan. "And I think there are a certain number of people on the executive who are not pulling their weight. They certainly don't seem united, there seems to be a lot of bitching going on, there are personalities involved and it just doesn't seem to be good.

"Someone has to steer the ship whether at adult level or underage level and I would say that the chairman and his executive, I think they are coming up short. They mightn't like me saying it but they lack a bit of foresight and cohesion in there. They seem more sparky than constructive."

Both teams have been hit by emigration since the 2010 final. The 'villain' of the piece, Joe Sheridan, is now in Boston, having left after the league game against Galway. Leaving Ireland in its present economic state is hardly a headline-maker but Sheridan had trained hard over the winter and his departure came as a surprise. He was not getting starts and theories circulate of him not being happy with his game-time. If he was enjoying his football people find it hard to see how he would leave at this time.

It shows how quickly the joy of reaching a first Leinster final in 50 years has been replaced by poor performances, internal feuding and parties pulling in different directions. Meath are favourites to win today but they can't be said to be coping much better. On and off the field, they have been unstable. Meath could survive even if they lose today's match but that will be a hollow prize in the circumstances. Whatever about the counties' respective conditions, you can't say the backdrop to the match isn't interesting.

You'd be left with little doubt as to why Liam Harnan wasn't given the managers role. He rocks too many boats in the county board I'd say. Anyway people I think need to focus squarely on the county board now and not mind the senior manager for now. A coup d'état in the royal county might well be at hand. The Royal spring might be here.
Post by: Hardy on April 10, 2012, 12:12:59 PM
Harnan's comments just confirm what we all know. There's a bunch of superannuated, time-serving incompetents running the show. But where is the coup d'etat going to come from? Who will stand up and say it's time to do things right and here's how I'd propose to do it and here's who I'd like to join me to make it happen? And even if someone did come forward, would he get the support from the clubs to overthrow the current fat, dumb and happy regime?
Post by: thejuice on April 10, 2012, 12:56:12 PM
QuoteOn RTE radio last night, Bernard Flynn spoke of his "guilt" as a former player at what has happened and called for cultural change and responsibility to be claimed. "People have to put their hands up now," he said.

I hope he is speaking for himself too.

That's the trouble, those who can make a positive difference need to stand up and make their voices heard.

I know the clubs don't want the boat rocked either, remember Curragha's proposals to change the club championship to a similar structure to Kerry's.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 10, 2012, 02:11:31 PM
Banty unlikely to be removed

While there is plenty of pressure on Meath manager Seamus McEnaney, it is thought unlikely that he will be relieved of his duties prior to the championship.

Meath were relegated to Division 3 of the Allianz FL after Sunday's nine point reversal at the hands of Louth in Pairc Tailteann, in a fifth successive league defeat after they had topped the division after two rounds.

As the county's first outside manager, McEnaney is under severe pressure and the team's performances this year were raised by club delegates at the last county committee meeting seven days ago.

There is much anger among Meath supporters but sources within the county do not expect that there will be a heave against McEnaney.

"It is embarrassing dropping to Division 3, but people must remember that when the leagues were split into Division 1A and 1B, and two second divisions, Meath were often outside the top 16 teams under Sean Boylan and we were also relegated under Eamonn Barry," said a Meath source this morning.

"There's more annoyance at the last three performances, but there is no appetite for change before we play Wicklow. The players back him so where would we be if we do that (remove McEnaney)?"

-Hoganstand - http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=166223 (http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=166223)
Post by: eviemonkey on April 10, 2012, 02:24:03 PM
I'd be slow enough as a Cork man to draw too much on the subject of Meath's apparent demise as they have been our footballing masters on the pitch in the past and could well do so again in the future. Whatever about Banty and his management regime the one thing that sticks out for me is Meath seem to be falling behind now at underage level within the province, particularly at under-21 level with no provincial title, or even a final appearance since 2001. Cork have been doing well in these grades in more recent times but in my opinion it is more by accident than design that we have managed to do so. It is largely the result of a number of clubs themselves and a couple of key coaches excelling rather than any progressive blue-print initiative from the top table at County Board level.

From reading Liam Harnan's piece and the views of one or two Meath posters here, whatever about footballing blue-prints we know plenty about county board level incompetence in Cork. Some of our playing squads took the nuclear option in the recent past and the fall-out from it was divisive within the county and hugely unpopular outside it. The net outcome of these actions led to some incremental positive change but it is not a course of action that is going to lead to any long-term sustainable change that can only come from the clubs themselves.

More often than not though from my experience a lot of club delegates are concerned with their own clubs welfare first and foremost and the fortunes of the inter-county team may not figure too high on the agenda of priorities. If you replicate this mind-set across too many clubs though it can lead to a lazy period of stagnation where everyone assumes the county will be ok because they were so in the past and ultimately nobody steps forward to assume the responsibility to implement  the key changes that are needed to compete at the highest level.

For me Meath are kind of caught in no man's land at the minute. They are competitive enough to reach a couple of All Ireland Semi-Finals and Quarter-Finals during the last five years, which can satisfy some within the County Board that all is ok and they just need to keep things ticking over. But at the same time they were never really a realistic contender to win an All Ireland in any of those years, and that ultimately should be the aspiration for a county like Meath.

Where the key change comes from ultimately, I couldn't tell you. One or two fresh appointments in key positions in the footballing set-up within the county could make an appreciable difference if they were provided with the right support and goodwill. If such an outcome comes to pass, who knows I can easily see myself trudging out of Croke Park again after losing yet another All Ireland Final to the Royals.  :-X
Post by: thejuice on April 10, 2012, 02:33:05 PM
What, Cork back in another All-Ireland final?

You're mad.  ;)
Post by: Hardy on April 10, 2012, 04:49:53 PM
Quote from: eviemonkey on April 10, 2012, 02:24:03 PM

More often than not though from my experience a lot of club delegates are concerned with their own clubs welfare first and foremost and the fortunes of the inter-county team may not figure too high on the agenda of priorities. If you replicate this mind-set across too many clubs though it can lead to a lazy period of stagnation where everyone assumes the county will be ok because they were so in the past and ultimately nobody steps forward to assume the responsibility to implement  the key changes that are needed to compete at the highest level.

For me Meath are kind of caught in no man's land at the minute. They are competitive enough to reach a couple of All Ireland Semi-Finals and Quarter-Finals during the last five years, which can satisfy some within the County Board that all is ok and they just need to keep things ticking over. But at the same time they were never really a realistic contender to win an All Ireland in any of those years, and that ultimately should be the aspiration for a county like Meath.

Good post and I think these two points are spot on.
Post by: Declan on April 10, 2012, 06:12:35 PM
QuoteMore often than not though from my experience a lot of club delegates are concerned with their own clubs welfare first and foremost and the fortunes of the inter-county team may not figure too high on the agenda of priorities

Agree 100% -
Post by: Lántosach on April 12, 2012, 12:44:26 AM
There were ructions tonight in Navan. Expect more fallout this week and next
Post by: highorlow on April 12, 2012, 08:59:20 AM
QuoteThere were ructions tonight in Navan. Expect more fallout this week and next

Great news from Meath. Keep up the infighting. Couldn't be happening to a nicer bunch.
Post by: thejuice on April 12, 2012, 09:59:23 AM
I'm glad you're still bitter about 1996.
Post by: Hardy on April 12, 2012, 11:14:54 AM
Good  news. Any shakeup is better than no shakeup because the only possible direction from where we are now is up.
Post by: Jinxy on April 12, 2012, 12:47:08 PM
A complete purge is required.
The clubs need to step up now.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 12, 2012, 12:49:32 PM
Agreed - a complete purge of meath people is required.
Post by: Jinxy on April 12, 2012, 12:54:51 PM
Would ye take Banty Myles?
Post by: thejuice on April 12, 2012, 02:00:10 PM
Rumour is that the County Board have told Banty where the door is but they aren't going to ask him to walk through it. He can leave of his own accord or stay.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 12, 2012, 02:08:57 PM
Also rumoured that a former manager would step in as a temporary replacement - possibly Seán Boylan or Colm Coyle.
Post by: thejuice on April 12, 2012, 02:21:36 PM
Wouldn't mind Coyle coming back. Despite what happened against Limerick in 2008 I thought his departure was a bit pre-mature. Sean is always welcome back but it would almost seems wrong to ask him to drag us out of the mess we're in. I'd rather see him on the county board.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 12, 2012, 02:30:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 12, 2012, 12:54:51 PM

Where would I take him?
Post by: magpie seanie on April 12, 2012, 02:34:56 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 12, 2012, 02:30:11 PM

Where would I take him?

To a Sligo Rovers match!
Post by: thejuice on April 12, 2012, 03:17:07 PM
24 hours for Seamus to make a decision on whether he stays or goes.
Post by: Hardy on April 12, 2012, 03:20:50 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 12, 2012, 02:21:36 PM
Wouldn't mind Coyle coming back. Despite what happened against Limerick in 2008 I thought his departure was a bit pre-mature.

Agreed.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 12, 2012, 03:22:50 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 12, 2012, 02:34:56 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 12, 2012, 02:30:11 PM

Where would I take him?

I wouldn't even know how to find the pitch, maybe you could bring him instead,

To a Sligo Rovers match!
Post by: Royalranter on April 12, 2012, 03:26:07 PM
Big rumours going around. I've heard from a 'reliable soure' (an ex meath manager) that Banty was given 24 hours to quit or else he will be fired and also that Boylan has already been approached to lead them for the rest of the year. No word on what Boylans response was.
Post by: meathie on April 12, 2012, 03:34:45 PM
I dont think the Co Board told him at all that he'd be fired if he didnt step down . I think they suggested he might consider opting out after all the backlash from fans etc but it is entirely his choice. He seems kinda stubborn so I wouldnt be surprised if he chose to remain despite this. Also heard it was NOT Sean Boylan, esp after he quit his other position just recently, either Coyle or O'Brien have been asked but it will probably not come to that. all of this is of course hearsay
Post by: Jinxy on April 12, 2012, 03:44:07 PM
It's curiouser and curiouser it gets.
Post by: bhgmk on April 12, 2012, 03:48:30 PM
lots of rumours alright, interesting to see what happens. 

I've heard that the players are still backing him despite all that has gone on, so it might not be as straightforward as some might wish.
Post by: Jinxy on April 12, 2012, 03:59:54 PM
I really don't care what the players want at this stage.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 12, 2012, 04:15:24 PM
Meath should just give up football at this stage.
I'm sure ye lads would feel right at home in something like Highland games,where your fellow big, fat, loud-mouthed funny-looking,weirdo bogmen engage in throwing stones and other implements around the place.
Post by: Hardy on April 12, 2012, 04:33:46 PM
f**k me! It's a talking bog-elf.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 12, 2012, 04:43:27 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 12, 2012, 04:33:46 PM
f**k me! It's a talking bog-elf.

I know its hard for someone likes yourself to accept such ineptitude  as you have witnessed some Meath sucesses ,starting with Meath winning Sam in 1949 when you were a teenager.
Unfortunately it's now time to bite the bullet and accept that Meath's time is up.
Ye should try and find something else that you can maybe compete in and be successful.
I was just trying to be helpful with my suggestion.
Post by: thejuice on April 12, 2012, 05:10:58 PM
If we ever get as bad as Cavan we might consider it.
Post by: Hardy on April 12, 2012, 05:23:59 PM
Thanks BM. I'm at a bit of a loss, okay as to where we should look for an outlet for our talents. We look up the road and realise there's never a guarantee you'll be heard of again for 60 years or more. I think we'll just have to concentrate on areas where we're at least sure not to come last, so next year we're entering in the "at least we're not Cavan" round-robin handicap series.

I was considering taking an interest in competitive animal husbandry but then somebody showed me the state of the art as exemplified by the Cavan Academy of Agricultural Science (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjq3OZzA_nI) and completely disheartened me.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 12, 2012, 05:27:42 PM
Players to come out in support of the Banty...
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 12, 2012, 05:28:50 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 12, 2012, 05:23:59 PM
Thanks BM. I'm at a bit of a loss, okay as to where we should look for an outlet for our talents. We look up the road and realise there's never a guarantee you'll be heard of again for 60 years or more. I think we'll just have to concentrate on areas where we're at least sure not to come last, so next year we're entering in the "at least we're not Cavan" round-robin handicap series.

I was considering taking an interest in competitive animal husbandry but then somebody showed me the state of the art as exemplified by the Cavan Academy of Agricultural Science (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjq3OZzA_nI) and completely disheartened me.

I never get tired of watching that video Hardy .  ;D
Anyway i'll stop hijacking your thread now.
Who do ye lads reckon the possible permanent replacement will be ?
I'm guessing ye won't be looking outside the county again for a while!
Post by: Hardy on April 12, 2012, 05:36:24 PM
I have no idea. We have to get the garlic and the wooden stake out and deal with Banty first.

I'd like to see Seán back. I know of no other potential candidate with four All-Ireland's on his CV. Failing that, Coyle. I liked the way we were going under him and his resignation was an understandable but extreme reaction to a one-off debacle. Harnan, O'Rourke, McEntee - someone who knows first-hand the requirements for success at the top level and would command the respect of the players - with a steel toecap, if necessary.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 12, 2012, 05:41:46 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 12, 2012, 05:36:24 PM
I have no idea. We have to get the garlic and the wooden stake out and deal with Banty first.

I'd like to see Seán back. I know of no other potential candidate with four All-Ireland's on his CV. Failing that, Coyle. I liked the way we were going under him and his resignation was an understandable but extreme reaction to a one-off debacle. Harnan, O'Rourke, McEntee - someone who knows first-hand the requirements for success at the top level and would command the respect of the players - with a steel toecap, if necessary.

It will be interesting to see if O Rourke would  take the job "this time" if he were to be offered it.
Post by: Jinxy on April 12, 2012, 05:51:53 PM
You're an agitatin bastard Ballyhaise man.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 12, 2012, 06:04:56 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 12, 2012, 05:51:53 PM
You're an agitatin b**tard Ballyhaise man.

Post by: Farrandeelin on April 12, 2012, 06:59:56 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 12, 2012, 05:10:58 PM
If we ever get as bad as Cavan we might consider it.

Next year's Division 3 sounds intriguing, even at this early stage!!
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 12, 2012, 07:31:45 PM
Jaysus BHM, a few well chosen words and you have Hardy trawling through the net looking for ammo.  :D
Post by: Hardy on April 12, 2012, 07:37:47 PM
No trawling needed Myles. That's Cavan's complete internet repertoire.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 12, 2012, 07:38:44 PM
Colm O'Rourke said Dublin winning the All Ireland would be good for football he didn't know it would make Meath even worse.
Post by: Jinxy on April 12, 2012, 11:28:23 PM
(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/bannnty.jpg)

Is that Barney Allens dog?
Title: Re: Meath Slithering Slowly; Seán Boylan - Steps In,
Post by: thejuice on April 13, 2012, 09:26:15 AM
http://hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=166409

QuoteMeath county board has called a board meeting where club delegates will be asked to remove Séamus McEnaney as manager and replace him with Sean Boylan.

The four time All-Ireland winning manager will in effect return as a White Knight in order to assist the fortunes ot the Royals.

McEnaney had been given the opportunity to resign on his own terms but chose to fight on and hoped that the backing of his players might save him. However, the move by the county board to confirm that Boylan will return ends any hopes that McEnaney might privately have held.

In a statement this morning the county board confirmed the news which was well known throughout the county: "It has been decided by Coiste Bainistí to recommend to the next meeting of Coiste na Mí C.L.G. (Wednesday 18th April) that Seamus McEnaney's term as Meath Senior Football Team Manager be terminated.

"Coiste Bainistí is also recommending that Sean Boylan be appointed as Meath Senior Football Team Manager."

Post by: DuffleKing on April 13, 2012, 09:36:15 AM

Seamus McEnaney has refused a request from the county board executive to "step aside" as Meath manager with immediate effect.

The executive are now expected to press ahead with a full county board meeting on Wednesday night, at which a motion of 'no confidence' in McEnaney will be tabled.

It follows a series of poor results in Division 2 throughout March, culminating in last weekend's embarrassing nine-point defeat to Louth that sent Meath plummeting into Division 3.

Meath boss Seamus McEnaney

A snap executive meeting was called on Tuesday night to discuss the management issue, and it was decided to offer McEnaney the opportunity to resign.

County board chairman Barney Allen met McEnaney yesterday, when he conveyed the consensus of the previous night's meeting, but it is understood that McEnaney stood defiant and did not accede to the request.

That refusal was effectively an invitation to sack him instead, and the executive met again last night to put the process in place to remove him.

McEnaney is understood to have repeated his position yesterday that he has never walked away from a fight in his life and wasn't going to do so now.

McEnaney may also believe that he has strong dressing-room support, but what that amounts to in the coming days remains to be seen.

Some Meath players met with county board officers in advance of Wednesday night's meeting, when they made it known that they were very supportive of McEnaney continuing and accepted their responsibility for recent performances. A player revolt over his potential removal seems unlikely at this stage.

Intriguingly, Meath appear to have lined up Sean Boylan as a dramatic replacement and the indications are that the four-time All-Ireland winning manager is ready to come back on a temporary basis.

Talks have taken place between Boylan and Meath officers in recent days over his departure from the director of football role that he agreed to take on the same night McEnaney got the green light for a second year in charge.

At that meeting, the proposition of managing Meath again is understood to have been raised if a vacancy does arise in the coming days.

The prospect of Boylan stepping into the role if and when there is a vacancy appears to be strong.

Boylan's return could help calm the stormy waters that have developed in recent weeks.

Independent

Post by: magpie seanie on April 13, 2012, 09:42:15 AM
Better late than never.
Post by: Hardy on April 13, 2012, 10:23:38 AM
I'm as happy as a happy thing on its birthday.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on April 13, 2012, 10:32:44 AM
Hope Boylan steps in here for the Meath buckos........................ great impetus for the lads heading into the championship, and on their day they can beat anyone..................live contender for leinster if this comes to fruition..............................ah the joys of a bearded kevin reilly knocking seanie johnston over the sideline with an axe of a shoulder and into mcgeeney  ;)
Post by: Main Street on April 13, 2012, 11:41:40 AM
All the Meath board have to do is ask Banty to put forward his name for a renomination process to select the manager for the rest of the season.
Banty is in principle averse to submitting his name under such circumstances, overriding his other principle of 'not quitting'.

Post by: camanchero on April 13, 2012, 12:38:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 12, 2012, 05:36:24 PM

I dont think O'rourke and harnan are quite good enough for this (yet).

Sean Kelly might be a good solution
Right now I'd go for McEntee and McEntee.
If the could get on , I think the best option for Meath football would be Gerry and Andy McEntee.

Gerry has added a couple more years and hardened his ways in management and is now a far better option for the job than when first touted a few seasons ago.
His brother Andy is a ruthless manager (far more so than Gerry) and if they could get on (as each of them are single minded) I believe the combination would caapult meath county football back into punching above its weight like it was in the mid/late 90's.

These two lads havent worked as a team before so as a football management unit - thsy are untested.
But as brothers and as two lads that have played together on the great meath teams of the late 80's and early 90's - they should have a dynamic that others wont.

Dont know if Gerry would take the gig though.

Post by: Dont Matter on April 13, 2012, 01:31:45 PM
Boylan back? Meath for Leinster is 10/1. You might feel dirty picking up your winnings but it will soften the blow in having to watch them win again.  >:(
Post by: haranguerer on April 13, 2012, 01:41:01 PM

He mightnt, but I know a lad who would!!  :D (from the nfl 2 thread)

Quote from: Maguire01 on March 25, 2012, 04:34:24 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 25, 2012, 04:25:42 PM
Ask Meath there and I'd say they'll be happy enough to give yis the banty back...
And I'd be more than happy to have him back. I predicted disaster when he was ousted and that's what it has been. Unless there was some super high-profile manager in the wings, there was absolutely no reason to get rid of him.

Post by: thejuice on April 13, 2012, 02:26:57 PM
It's only a temporary solution and as must respect I have for Seán, it would be beyond his powers to turn us into Leinster champions given the time and talent at his disposal. We might improve somewhat but the problems with the county board and underage structures are the real problem and must be resolved if we want meaningful long lasting improvements. 
Post by: magpie seanie on April 13, 2012, 02:44:31 PM
Bunty should have walked and gone back to the comics.
Post by: Louth Exile on April 13, 2012, 03:13:28 PM
Apologies if it has already been posted up on another thread!
(http://www.balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/581112_10150714787777906_621107905_9280543_842959737_n.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on April 13, 2012, 04:43:55 PM
If they won't play for Seán, let them f**k off altogether.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 13, 2012, 05:15:59 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on April 13, 2012, 01:41:01 PM

He mightnt, but I know a lad who would!!  :D (from the nfl 2 thread)

Quote from: Maguire01 on March 25, 2012, 04:34:24 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 25, 2012, 04:25:42 PM
Ask Meath there and I'd say they'll be happy enough to give yis the banty back...
And I'd be more than happy to have him back. I predicted disaster when he was ousted and that's what it has been. Unless there was some super high-profile manager in the wings, there was absolutely no reason to get rid of him.
You quote me as if my opinion is 'off the wall'! Poll a decent amount of Monaghan supporters and i'd imagine a healthy majority would swap the current management team for Banty.
Post by: haranguerer on April 13, 2012, 05:30:32 PM
Well, it is a pretty off-the-wall place...  :P
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 08:26:25 PM
I get the attraction in giving the reins to an old hand who the supporters lionise, but the decay that Banty inherited all happened under Boylan's watch. He was a decidedly average to poor manager in the later years of his tenure. I'd as soon find a young gun who wants a shot to earn the job permannently than returning to that well again.

No that I'm complaining,  I've already penciled in our match agaisnt Meath as our tie of the division next year and I wouldn't want the Royals too set.  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on April 13, 2012, 08:34:20 PM
We'll be dragged to Kiltoom for that one I suppose.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 13, 2012, 08:35:09 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 08:26:25 PM
I get the attraction in giving the reins to an old hand who the supporters lionise, but the decay that Banty inherited all happened under Boylan's watch. He was a decidedly average to poor manager in the later years of his tenure. I'd as soon find a young gun who wants a shot to earn the job permannently than returning to that well again.

No that I'm complaining,  I've already penciled in our match agaisnt Meath as our tie of the division next year and I wouldn't want the Royals too set.  ;)

Meath, Roscommon, Cavan, counties with great football traditions, all in division 3 next year, but spare a thought for Offaly who will find themselves in division 4 next year.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 13, 2012, 08:38:48 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 13, 2012, 08:34:20 PM

Ballinlough  ;)
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 10:26:09 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 13, 2012, 08:38:48 PM

Ballinlough  ;)

Jinxy can sit in the tree so he can see the match over all the tall Ros buckos.

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v602/Syferus/treeofglaveys.jpg)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 13, 2012, 10:30:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 10:26:09 PM

Ballinlough  ;)

I love the way, they built the stand around the tree, it gives the stand a unique character.
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 10:58:30 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 13, 2012, 10:30:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 10:26:09 PM

Ballinlough  ;)

I love the way, they built the stand around the tree, it gives the stand a unique character.

Absoluely. I remember the day they opened the new stand in 2000 when we played Donegal in a challenge, us trotting out in Galway jerseys (how they got 15 of them is still beyond me) and Big Jim storming off after Donegal had lost as if he'd just played an All-Ireland final. Poor laddie.
Post by: moysider on April 14, 2012, 12:16:53 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 13, 2012, 04:43:55 PM

I m confused by this Jinxy.

I thought intercounty players played for their county, the jersey etc. Yeah the manager/ coach/ whatever is impotant - especially if he s a bollicks. But he selects these players and the next fella might not even want some of them so..... why would players not try?

But you seem to suggest that players Mr. McEn. selected to play for their county did not play for him. It doesn t add up to be honest. Alright I could never understand why he was dragged in but what did anybody expect when he was? And why would players he preferred not try?

Who are the 'theys' that might not play for Seán? Why would they try harder for Seán than the so-called Banty. Is he scarier?

Did likes of McEntee, O Rourke, Cassells, Lyons etc achieve so much because they were playing for Seán  or afraid of Sean! or because they had ambition to achieve for themselves (which is always the most important motive) for the county jersey and he gave them a structure they could work around.
If Seán takes it on good look to him. I wish him well. When he got the job early 80s Meath were in a very similar situation to where they are now. The only thing is he is much older and even a lot of his own team would now be considered old to get involved in management. Is O Rourke goin to do a Liam Sammon and wait until he retires his job to coach his county? Apart from Coyle and Hayes below in Carlow ( was Terry Ferguson involved somewhere?) few of those old veterans have been seen to do a bit after. Now I m sure that s unfair and they have been doing stuff but from an outsiders point of view .......... Why go for Banty when you ve had natives with a recent tradition of winning stuff - often against the odds?
Post by: rrhf on April 14, 2012, 10:39:35 AM
Quote from: Hardy on April 13, 2012, 10:23:38 AM
I'm as happy as a happy thing on its birthday.
I'm happy for you.  It would be great to see Boylan back!
Post by: Jinxy on April 14, 2012, 12:56:43 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 14, 2012, 12:16:53 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 13, 2012, 04:43:55 PM

I m confused by this Jinxy.

I thought intercounty players played for their county, the jersey etc. Yeah the manager/ coach/ whatever is impotant - especially if he s a bollicks. But he selects these players and the next fella might not even want some of them so..... why would players not try?

But you seem to suggest that players Mr. McEn. selected to play for their county did not play for him. It doesn t add up to be honest. Alright I could never understand why he was dragged in but what did anybody expect when he was? And why would players he preferred not try?

Who are the 'theys' that might not play for Seán? Why would they try harder for Seán than the so-called Banty. Is he scarier?

Did likes of McEntee, O Rourke, Cassells, Lyons etc achieve so much because they were playing for Seán  or afraid of Sean! or because they had ambition to achieve for themselves (which is always the most important motive) for the county jersey and he gave them a structure they could work around.
If Seán takes it on good look to him. I wish him well. When he got the job early 80s Meath were in a very similar situation to where they are now. The only thing is he is much older and even a lot of his own team would now be considered old to get involved in management. Is O Rourke goin to do a Liam Sammon and wait until he retires his job to coach his county? Apart from Coyle and Hayes below in Carlow ( was Terry Ferguson involved somewhere?) few of those old veterans have been seen to do a bit after. Now I m sure that s unfair and they have been doing stuff but from an outsiders point of view .......... Why go for Banty when you ve had natives with a recent tradition of winning stuff - often against the odds?

When I say 'play' I'm talking about getting out there on the field and lowering the blade.
Putting your body between the other fella and the ball.
If you lose you lose, the shame is in not putting the effort in to try and win.
Seán isn't taking this job to big himself up, he doesn't need the hassle at this stage of his life.
He's doing it for his county.
The players better react accordingly.
Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 01:19:00 PM
What he's doing is pretty dirty, honestly. He's coming out in public saying he'll do it while there's another guy in the job. It stinks of personal dislike of Banty and ego as much as it does of 'rowing in'. It certainly doesn't look good.

Boylan won't be getting many Christmas cards from other managers.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 14, 2012, 01:24:47 PM

Where has boylan come out and said anything?

Can u post up the quotes there?
Post by: armaghniac on April 14, 2012, 01:26:13 PM
The Green Tea mimics have addressed the issue just now on RTE. "Boylan is too oul...."
Post by: demusicman on April 14, 2012, 01:28:17 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on April 13, 2012, 03:13:28 PM
Apologies if it has already been posted up on another thread!
(http://www.balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/581112_10150714787777906_621107905_9280543_842959737_n.jpg)

http://youtu.be/rgvui7yPphE
"Barneys style is Simple"
Anybody remember Robert Emmet?
Post by: Hardy on April 14, 2012, 01:54:03 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 01:19:00 PM
What he's doing is pretty dirty, honestly. He's coming out in public saying he'll do it while there's another guy in the job. It stinks of personal dislike of Banty and ego as much as it does of 'rowing in'. It certainly doesn't look good.

Clown! You've already established something of a track record of idiotic posts but now you're turning nasty. Making up stuff about what people "said in public" when it never happened and then pronouncing it "dirty" is stuff that would get you a slap in the mouth in the real world.
Post by: Jinxy on April 14, 2012, 02:16:58 PM
Burst him Hardy!
Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 02:32:36 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 14, 2012, 01:54:03 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 01:19:00 PM

Clown! You've already established something of a track record of idiotic posts but now you're turning nasty. Making up stuff about what people "said in public" when it never happened and then pronouncing it "dirty" is stuff that would get you a slap in the mouth in the real world.

Ah Jayus, now you're just faltering me! I'll pray to my Sean Boylan-themed Child of Prague tonight as penance for my indiscretions.
Post by: Hardy on April 14, 2012, 03:11:13 PM
"Faltering me". Idiot.
Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 03:16:33 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 14, 2012, 03:11:13 PM
"Faltering me". Idiot.

It's called autocorrect, bromie!
Post by: whiskeysteve on April 14, 2012, 03:43:03 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 14, 2012, 02:16:58 PM
Burst him Hardy!

Sure yous meath boys are too soft for that kind of caper these days
*hides behind McHugh*
Post by: DuffleKing on April 14, 2012, 03:48:58 PM

You found those quotes yet Syferus?

Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 03:51:57 PM
Just in case ye lads were to question the veracity of my statements in future:

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v602/Syferus/seanthechild.jpg)

He has the dual advantage of both improving the weather and the fortunes of the Principality of Greater Meath's second best intercounty team.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 14, 2012, 04:04:19 PM

Any luck with those quotes yet Syferus?
Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 04:06:05 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 14, 2012, 03:48:58 PM

You found those quotes yet Syferus?

I was waiting for the story to be put up on their website because I thought anyone with eyes and ears could tell Boylan was being very open about being available for the job, but here goes, today's Indo, backpage:

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v602/Syferus/seanboylantodaysindo.jpg)

Apologies accepted in the form of emoticons only.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 14, 2012, 04:13:09 PM
Seems syferus was right, sneaky stuff by boylan.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 14, 2012, 04:13:28 PM
Nothing whatsoever out of order saying that he will help meath out if he's needed
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 14, 2012, 04:18:54 PM
No? Not even after quiting his role last week? Very sly stuff.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 14, 2012, 04:31:30 PM
(http://img2.imagesbn.com/images/102540000/102543882.jpg)
Post by: muppet on April 14, 2012, 04:46:02 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 14, 2012, 04:18:54 PM

Banty has been offered the Cavan job with Seanie Johnson as Selector/player/realtor.
Post by: Jinxy on April 14, 2012, 05:14:04 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on April 14, 2012, 03:43:03 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 14, 2012, 02:16:58 PM
Burst him Hardy!

Sure yous meath boys are too soft for that kind of caper these days
*hides behind McHugh*

That poison dwarf will get his comeuppance too.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 14, 2012, 05:38:51 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 14, 2012, 04:46:02 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 14, 2012, 04:18:54 PM

Banty has been offered the Cavan job with Seanie Johnson as Selector/player/realtor.

Thats nice, but you should probably post it in the relevant thread. This one is about sneaky sly Sean Boylan and the meath muck-savages.
Post by: Main Street on April 15, 2012, 01:36:06 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 04:06:05 PM

Apologies accepted in the form of emoticons only.
An apology from a Meathman would be the 2 finger emoticon.

However, quote me a post where a Meath man apologised and I'll take that back.
Post by: Declan on April 15, 2012, 11:19:40 AM
Sunday April 15 2012
Football affairs in Meath are beginning to resemble the film Groundhog Day, where the same thing happens over and over again. When all else fails, the solution is to sack the manager.

This is the fourth in rapid succession and maybe next year this article could be dusted off and reprinted to describe another season of turmoil. If the same mistakes are made on an ongoing basis, then the outcome will not be any different.

Whether Seamus McEnaney stays or goes is immaterial in many ways, in the same way as Eamonn Barry, Colm Coyle or Eamonn O'Brien. They are not the problem. There are structural difficulties with Meath football which need careful analysis, policy formation and, most importantly of all, implementation.

Whether this is possible in the present circumstances is questionable and the really big problem is the lack of direction, leadership and, maybe of even greater concern, accountability. Until these aspects are tackled then the drift towards bitterness and recrimination, which has been taking place for a long time, will continue. The end result is that a lot of good and talented people are keeping their heads down and don't want to get involved at county board level -- a great untapped resource just waiting to be released.

Of course, the county board is a properly working democracy and the work done by all who serve is phenomenal, so anyone who criticises this operation can put themselves forward in the same way as all the others. Yet even with all of this there is a need for specialists in areas who are simply not there at the moment.

There is a need for someone to coordinate a different layer of workers and in the past I have advocated a full-time official whose most important role would be policy and planning -- and ensuring things get done.

The recent Meath record in underage football is one of the worst in the country. I was involved at under 21 level myself recently and was not very successful at doing anything about it, so the first question to be examined is what is happening at underage and are quality players being lost or are they not there at all?

From what I see every day at school, there is huge potential and yet it just seems to disappear. If it is coaching or games development then they should be easily tackled, even if the frequency of games has improved a lot over the last couple of years. The GAA must be able to replicate what is happening in both soccer and rugby: a regular pattern of games which are known well in advance. At the moment, football matches come up and managers are busy trying to avoid clashes with other games which are scheduled for weeks ahead.

Then, on top of that, there is a huge gap for someone to monitor talented players at all ages and to have specialist coaching available to them. There is a huge pool of ex-inter-county players who would be quite willing to help in this regard. Nutrition, weights programmes and so on are the natural extension of that process. This should lead on to better standards at club level too.

The idea is that this whole process will end up with a core of top-class players at senior level, which is not happening at the moment. It should be. Meath has seen huge growth over the last 20 years and now has a population of around 180,000. Off the back of that, with proper systems in place, Meath should be a contender for the All-Ireland every year, not once every 20 or 30 years as has been happening up to now.

Football is the big game in Meath, there is a very good club structure and while there is no big soccer or rugby club, the influence of those games is beginning to take a firm hold in schools. This is an area which needs much greater attention -- where else could you have a captive audience of thousands of young people each day?

From the beginning of this article I made little mention of Seamus McEnaney or the current players, as the fundamentals of any organisation must be right before success is a possibility. This is something which is very evident in being principal of a big school. I have no doubt that the players who are being heavily criticised at the moment, and who are being accused of having no passion or pride, are just as committed as the many teams I played on.

Over my 20-year career with Meath, I played on teams which performed just as badly, or maybe even worse, than what is happening now. And I have seen managers in the same position as McEnaney too.

When he took on this job I had absolutely no opposition to the appointment of an outside manager. It has not worked out for him. This is certainly nothing to do with the level of organisation which the players would still say is very good. So they are willing to accept as much or even more of the responsibility for current results. They are feeling very miserable about the current turn of events.

Yet when McEnaney lost local selectors Liam Harnan and Barry Callaghan last year, the odds were stacked against him unless he delivered a major championship win. That looks a long way off now.

A number of years ago, I went for the Meath job armed with a ten-point plan for overall improvement. I did not get the manager's job and none of what I wanted was ever implemented. It doesn't mean that everything I sought was right, but there were plenty of things which would have improved Meath football fairly quickly.

The next time I go for an interview I will be bringing the same points in another showing of Groundhog Day.

After last Sunday, I hoped that Seamus McEnaney would walk away for his personal dignity. It cannot be any fun and there is the pressure and stress of families to consider. There is nothing wrong with saying that things have not worked out the way he hoped and the best position for everyone is to start again. After all, defeat in the championship was end game anyway.

Nobody doubts his hard work, passion and commitment and that of all his management team who only want the same as every supporter. Now the whole thing has turned messy and very personal. It means Meath won't be looking for another outsider any day soon and recent experience shows that locals are shafted just as quickly anyway.

Managing a county team should carry a health warning and these last few weeks have demonstrated in many counties that there is just as little loyalty to managers in football or hurling as in other sports.

It is a fairly sad situation to be writing this about my own county where I am convinced that there is more potential than we are seeing right now. Enoch Powell once famously said that all political careers end in failure and it is true of nearly every manager.

In Meath now it is a case of changing the riders on the merry-go-round again. Unless and until the right people are put in charge of the areas of key responsibility with clear targets and accountability, then it is only a question of how long it takes the merry-go-round to stop next time.
Post by: blast05 on April 16, 2012, 12:15:34 AM
Come on Hardy, step up and apologies to Syrefus - underhanded and dirty by Boylan.

And incidentally, why did Boylan recently appear on the Saturday night show with Brendan O'Connor when he had absolutely nothing to say other than 'i'm alive and i sell all these types of interesting herbs that are good for you' - i guess that business not recession proof either ...... so would be interesting to see if he looks for the same expenses that Banty is on (is that the motivation for the underhanded and dirty play he has made?)............

And by the by ..... if the players are serious about their loyalty to McEneaney then why don't threaten to withdraw their services if Banty is replaced. Yes - a lot will say 'good riddance' to them but would serve to focus minds on the bigger picture rather than the quick and easy solution of shafting Banty
Post by: blast05 on April 16, 2012, 11:24:29 PM
So, is there now a reluctant acceptance among out Meath friends that Boylans approach and interest in this is not for the good of Meath football - purely his own ?
Post by: Syferus on April 17, 2012, 12:08:21 AM
Meath's rise is far from assured. They over-preformed in recent years at senior inter-county level, all that's happened now is that the inter-county team is levelling off with the other grades. It'll take some real work for Meath to be a stable power again.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 17, 2012, 07:35:24 AM
@sportsdes: The Irish Sun reports that the #Meath footballers will today release a statement in support of Seamus McEnaney remaining on as manager. #gaa
Post by: Hardy on April 17, 2012, 08:25:41 AM
Have a group of players anywhere ever got together and come up with anything sensible? They support Banty. So the disastrous slide into mediocrity and Division 3 had nothing to do with him? Fine. Who does that leave?
Post by: heffo on April 17, 2012, 09:04:55 AM
Quote from: Hardy on April 17, 2012, 08:25:41 AM
So the disastrous slide into mediocrity and Division 3 had nothing to do with him? Fine. Who does that leave?

Have the players not already said that the blame for their performances should rest with them?
Post by: sheamy on April 17, 2012, 09:23:19 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 17, 2012, 07:35:24 AM
@sportsdes: The Irish Sun reports that the #Meath footballers will today release a statement in support of Seamus McEnaney remaining on as manager. #gaa

What a mess...haven't followed the ins and outs of this. What is the story?

It strikes me as strange that Boylan steps down from his oversight kinda role when it seems to me that is exactly what is needed in Meath.

Meath aren't going to win a Leinster or All-Ireland with these players so why are there moves to get Banty out before the end of the year?

Cavan are at the same madness but at least there looks to be some kinda plan there involving continuity of personnel from the minor and u21s (and they are Cavan men too which is good).

It's all getting 'very premiership' with the movement of managers. Sad to see.
Post by: Declan on April 17, 2012, 09:24:02 AM
Interestingly a lot of people I've spoken to don't think Boylan should take the job. They feel he's had his time and that if there's to be a change of manager it should be one of the many lads around whose names are well known - Harnan, McEntee, O'Rourke, O'Brien etc. All agree that the biggest problem is the board and the underlying structures but when I say that it'd take a good 5/10 year strategic plan etc they don't seem to be willing to go that route i.e. accept that it could take that long before they are consistently performing at the top level again.
Hardy - I did think the players were taking their portion of the blame alright. I've watched a couple of the championship matches and frankly the standard is brutal is I think it's a long haul for the Royals.   
Post by: sheamy on April 17, 2012, 09:29:21 AM
Still, at least noone got Cancer...go on the Banty ya mad hure...
Post by: Bingo on April 17, 2012, 09:31:01 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 17, 2012, 07:35:24 AM

Banty does love a players statement.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 17, 2012, 10:17:27 AM

He's engineered a few in his time!
Post by: Declan on April 17, 2012, 10:57:39 AM
Grimley: Meath needs less talk, more action
By John Fogarty
Tuesday, April 17, 2012
Former Meath selector, Paul Grimley, fully expects Seamus McEnaney to be axed as manager tomorrow night but insists he would act just as defiantly as Banty.
Monaghan native McEnaney informed his 2011 right-hand man Grimley last week he had refused a county board request to step down from the position after the team were relegated to Division 3 last Sunday week.

Despite the threat of a no confidence motion hanging over his head, McEnaney has carried on his duties, attending club games and took in Meath's Leinster first-round opponents Wicklow's league fixture with Clare on Sunday.

Grimley has given him his full backing but admits with Seán Boylan standing by as a readymade replacement, things look bleak for McEnaney.

"Banty and myself are very good friends. Banty is a tough nut. He'll stick by something until he gets it right. We survived in Division 2 by the skin of our teeth last year and now this year results have suddenly gone pear-shaped.

"The biggest problem hanging over him now is that Seán is sitting ready to go in. Seán is obviously a man with credentials and high integrity and the fact he is a Meath man means Seamus is second favourite. It's not in Banty's grain to step down. I'd do the same myself if I felt I could the job and turn things around. There's no doubt he can improve this team, given the time.

"Meath have had a lot of managers (four) since Seán Boylan quit. When you change things around so much, players get confused. It's become like soccer and this need to do something within two years or you're out. Supporters can have different agendas but managers have to stick to the plans they make.

"There's been a lot of venom shown to him in the county too, whether it's because he's an outsider or other candidates were overlooked, I'm not sure."

Grimley feels Boylan's intentions are honourable and he has only put forward his name because "he sees Meath slipping and wants to help". The current Armagh coach believes the Meath players have been affected by the incessant questioning of McEnaney.

"Although Meath are down to Division 3, he's comes in for a lot of pressure from past players and people in the press which has been unfair and unwarranted. They were saying he wasn't the right man from the job and then shouting from behind couches 'get rid of him'.

"Banty is very analytical. Hisattention to detail is fantastic. He works at everything he can to make the team right. But his role really stops once they run out past that white line. When players go off form, you can't do an awful lot about it. They're a great bunch of boys, talented players but the whole media circus that surrounded Banty's appointment has heaped a lot of pressure on them."

Grimley excludes Trevor Giles and Colm O'Rourke from his attack but points a finger at Bernard Flynn as one ex-Meath player-turned-pundit who should be doing more to aid his county.

"A lot of these guys, like Bernard Flynn, I don't see him stepping in to help. Surely the county board need experienced people to come in? A lot of these past players have opinions but are not prepared to put their shoulder to the wheel. They say what should be done but are they going to do their bit or stand with a megaphone or a pen in their hand?

"If you dare criticise them they're up in arms. They feel because they have a pocketful of All-Ireland medals means they shouldn't be criticised. They feel those medals are a passport to criticise everyone else. They're saying 'this is how Meath should play' but if they've got these ideas why aren't they saying to (county chairman) Barney Allen 'I want to help here?'

"Some of the things that were said about Seamus were an attempt to make a joke out of us. That's one of the problems with management now. You have these people who have a platform to talk complete rubbish about you.

"Kieran McGeeney no longer lives on his playing career. He lives on his management career. Kevin Walsh in Sligo is the same. Jim McGuinness in Donegal is the same. Medals might get you a managerial job buy you've got to show you can do it afterwards.

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/grimley-meath-needs-less-talk-more-action-190812.html#ixzz1sI3aGjW8
Post by: Hardy on April 17, 2012, 11:06:48 AM
Seamus, thanks for all the help. We've had enough help now. Go help someone else. Thanks again.
Post by: Chimley on April 17, 2012, 11:48:50 AM
I live in Meath and I still feel that Eamonn O'Brien was very hard done by in 2010. The team were not world beaters but they were beginning to punch their weight and there were signs of progress to my eyes. I was genuinely shocked that he was replaced by Banty.
Post by: Hardy on April 17, 2012, 12:38:36 PM
(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/foilhat.png)
Post by: Jinxy on April 17, 2012, 01:12:53 PM
Trevor Giles has his say.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/trevor-giles/time-to-get-the-basics-right-190539.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/trevor-giles/time-to-get-the-basics-right-190539.html)
Post by: shawshank on April 17, 2012, 01:23:24 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 17, 2012, 01:12:53 PM
Trevor Giles has his say.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/trevor-giles/time-to-get-the-basics-right-190539.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/trevor-giles/time-to-get-the-basics-right-190539.html)

I have been reading this thread with great interest and especially how some of more exxperienced posters from Meath see their team. And it is refreshing at last to read a piece from a past great player telling it as it is. Great honesty from him, compared to the clap trap I have been reading about it

Post by: HiMucker on April 17, 2012, 01:30:06 PM
+1.  Fair play to Giles.  The facts are there for all to see, but some people dont want to look at them.
Post by: Jinxy on April 17, 2012, 01:32:42 PM
What facts?
Post by: thejuice on April 17, 2012, 01:35:16 PM
Absolutely,

Trevor has it spot on, as does Grimley.

I have argued a long while now that likes of Flynn and O'Rourke who have had plenty to say needed to get their hands dirty to help to Meath football.

O'Rourke needs to take over from Barney, I'd rather see himself and Sean Boylan there than managing the county team.
Post by: shawshank on April 17, 2012, 01:40:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 17, 2012, 01:32:42 PM
What facts?

Your u21 results, references to big clubs not producing players etc, playing numbers, how no Aussies were looking for your recent underage footballers? OK, or perhaps you would be happier to ignore his comments
Post by: HiMucker on April 17, 2012, 01:42:27 PM
What facts?
The facts that giles laid out in his article!  A man who has been placed better than most to comment.  Not having a pop at any of you Meath posters, but the blame being laid at the senior mangers doorstep is madness.  Should of either got rid of him at the end of last years championship or let him continue with this years.  Sacking him at the end of the league is crazy.  Any of the teams in division two would have been gutted to get relegated, Meath wouldnt have been expected by many outside of Meath to get promoted, so getting relegated from an 8 team league shouldnt come as a massive shock.  Greatly dissapointing, yes, but stinks of an over reaction.
Post by: rrhf on April 17, 2012, 01:55:28 PM
This is fascinating.  First up Im not a fan of Banty and Id prefer Boylan in because he was one of the greatest managers of all time. But Im prepared to defer to opinions of  men like Trevor Giles and Colm O Rourke. Is it that Hardy etc just want a head on a plate rather than address the underlying issues?  Im not being critical bcause If I was in Meath it would have been close to my thoughts also.  But Hardy what do you think of Giles opinions?     
Post by: Hardy on April 17, 2012, 02:18:37 PM
I don't disagree with his analysis. I think I've stated often enough here that the county board is incompetent and that they've squandered the legacy of 20+ years of success that should have had young fellas bursting to get into a Meath jersey. Trevor's experience on the ground confirms that.

However, it's nonsense to suggest that because the county board is to blame, Banty carries no responsibility. They're not mutually exclusive. Banty was full of shite when he arrived about what he was going to "put back into Meath football" and taking responsibility for the expected success. Well, he can't have it both ways and can now take his share of responsibility for the depths to which we've sunk.

His regime has been a total disaster. It's not sacking him now that's the problem - it's having appointed him in the first place.  There was absolutely nothing on his CV that qualified him as the saviour of Meath football. He was a bullshit artist from day one and I said so here, so I'm not saying anything now I wasn't saying in 2010.

Banty is a relentless self-promoter and the clowns with the responsibility for the appointment fell for the hard sell. Then he managed to project a disastrous slump in performance last year as compared to Eamonn O'Brien's results the previous year as "progress". It wasn't progress. It was flim-flam and bullshit. Trevor's insights into the antics that have totally drained the confidence of the team are revealing.

So why would it have made sense to keep him on for the championship? Why wait and waste another six months?

What I don't like about Trevor's article is the defeatism. We're no good, we don't have the players, we can't expect to win anything – live with it for ten years while we work on the system. Nonsense. We were in an All-Ireland semi-final three years ago with substantially the same set of players. One or two good ones have been added since. Our forward line would match any in the country, with a few on the bench that would make most teams.

Yes, we need to start at the bottom and fix things at all levels. But we can still perform to the best of our ability on the field while we're working on it. That we have not been doing for two years.
Post by: agorm on April 17, 2012, 02:20:35 PM
My initial reaction to the thought of boylan coming in was positive when thinking back to the good old days. However, there were quite a few bad days at the end of his tenure. As mentioned above, there is something unappealing about the fact that it is only in the last week that Sean quit his overseeing role and I agree with the sentiment above that it is probably a more important role for the future of Meath football.

Ordinarily I would say that a vote by the players would hold huge sway but this group of players are , rightly or wrongly, not rated in Meath. However, they are the best we have at the moment. Of course there are probably players out there that Banty hasnt called upon and perhaps Joe might not have left if he had been getting more games. But, overall, I think their feelings has to be factored into the vote.

It is a very difficult situation and Banty hasnt covered himself in glory but neither has the county board, players, clubs or even ex players in recent years so I would leave Banty in for the rest of the season as was previously agreed.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 17, 2012, 02:33:27 PM
Good post Hardy, especially this bit:

QuoteThere was absolutely nothing on his CV that qualified him as the saviour of Meath football. He was a bullshit artist from day one

Appointing Bunty to manage Meath was a joke. Yes there are underlying problems and the levels of talent are not there compared to the 80's and 90's but as Hardy said - this team was capable of big results and made a semi final in recent years. They shouldn't have fallen to Division 3. Getting rid of Banty is a case of the sooner the better. Absolutely no value in leaving him there. It's not an appetitsing scenario for a new manager to come in to (mid season, low morale) so having Seán Boylan agree to take them for the championship is a Godsend, a complete no brainer.

I would strongly disagree with people trying to paint Boylan's words as nasty or sneaky - they're anything but. I'm sure he doesn't want the job long term and to be frank if Bunty had any sense he would be long gone by now...
Post by: Declan on April 17, 2012, 02:35:18 PM
QuoteWhat  don't like about Trevor's article is the defeatism. We're no good, we don't have the players, we can't expect to win anything – live with it for ten years while we work on the system. Nonsense. We were in as All-Ireland semi-final three years ago with substantially the same set of players. One or two good ones have been added since. Our forward line would match any in the country, with a few on the bench that would make most teams.

I think that semi final appearance was a flash in the pan Hardy - don't mean to rain on your parade and whilst I would agree that the people available in the forward sector are good and possibly a match for a lot of teams the talent just ain't there to be consistently at the top level. I've watched a lot of football over the last couple of years and the standard is poor  - the county final last year being a case in point - Now I know county champions enjoy themselves after winning but Brigids toyed with Summerhill in Navan in the Leinster championship and it was men against boys.
I'd agree with Giles re the underage structures and I said earlier that we only had 17 for a minor league game last week against Skryne who hammered  us - I dread to think what jenkinstown will do :(

I do think a lot of the clubs are trying from what I see at the younger age groups but when they hit 14/15 it goes awry - I'd like to see O'Rourke get the big job and drive the plan forward and I think if they could get McEntee in with Harnan and I know people will slag me but Dudley Farrell as a mgt team it's be a start.
Forget about Flynn as he's only interested in being a hurler on the ditch.

The other side of me hopes they stay like they are for the next 10 years ;) ;)

Post by: Jinxy on April 17, 2012, 03:12:25 PM
Quote from: shawshank on April 17, 2012, 01:40:07 PM
What facts?

Your u21 results, references to big clubs not producing players etc, playing numbers, how no Aussies were looking for your recent underage footballers? OK, or perhaps you would be happier to ignore his comments

I think if you can be bothered to read back over my comments you'll see that I blamed the county board and the players themselves more than I blamed Banty for the current predicament.
Post by: spuds on April 17, 2012, 03:29:26 PM
Slithering Slowly Sean Steps in. Shame to see such a shambles in Slane, Senchelstown and Simonstown.
Even the once jovial jester Jinxy is jabbering.
Post by: T Toatler on April 17, 2012, 03:52:18 PM
This has been coming for a while now, the demise of Meath. I think most people would agree they have been terrible at dealing with the Management issue even since Sean Boylan left. They are no world beaters in fairness but I think under Eamon O Brien, as stated previously, they were making progress. The Exec of the County Board need to look at themselves. If as it seems they are looking to get rid of Banty they could be defeated by the Club Delegates and then what happens. O Rourke, Harnan, Flynn, Dowd and Eamon Barry cant all be wrong. If there was a change at the top these lads would "get the hands dirty". There is a need for the root and branch review in the County as it appears nothing is coming up through the ages groups and that is were it begins. Leinster and the GAA in general need Meath to be competing.
Post by: ballinaman on April 17, 2012, 03:55:42 PM
I heard Banty was at more club games that he's every been to over the weekend. Looks like he wants to cling on and put it to a vote, can't see how he'll get a 2/3 majority.
Post by: seafoid on April 17, 2012, 04:11:34 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 17, 2012, 02:18:37 PM
I don't disagree with his analysis. I think I've stated often enough here that the county board is incompetent and that they've squandered the legacy of 20+ years of success that should have had young fellas bursting to get into a Meath jersey. Trevor's experience on the ground confirms that.

However, it's nonsense to suggest that because the county board is to blame, Banty carries no responsibility. They're not mutually exclusive. Banty was full of shite when he arrived about what he was going to "put back into Meath football" and taking responsibility for the expected success. Well, he can't have it both ways and can now take his share of responsibility for the depths to which we've sunk.

His regime has been a total disaster. It's not sacking him now that's the problem - it's having appointed him in the first place.  There was absolutely nothing on his CV that qualified him as the saviour of Meath football. He was a bullshit artist from day one and I said so here, so I'm not saying anything now I wasn't saying in 2010.

Banty is a relentless self-promoter and the clowns with the responsibility for the appointment fell for the hard sell. Then he managed to project a disastrous slump in performance last year as compared to Eamonn O'Brien's results the previous year as "progress". It wasn't progress. It was flim-flam and bullshit. Trevor's insights into the antics that have totally drained the confidence of the team are revealing.

So why would it have made sense to keep him on for the championship? Why wait and waste another six months?

What I don't like about Trevor's article is the defeatism. We're no good, we don't have the players, we can't expect to win anything – live with it for ten years while we work on the system. Nonsense. We were in an All-Ireland semi-final three years ago with substantially the same set of players. One or two good ones have been added since. Our forward line would match any in the country, with a few on the bench that would make most teams.

Yes, we need to start at the bottom and fix things at all levels. But we can still perform to the best of our ability on the field while we're working on it. That we have not been doing for two years.

Passionate Hardy but it comes across like  a fella in a suit moaning about ending on skid row to a few tramps.
I wonder how the posters from Division 3 or Division 4 counties would read it.

Post by: Jinxy on April 17, 2012, 04:27:34 PM
Who cares what those freaks think!
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 17, 2012, 04:43:29 PM
Players are not issuing a statement, apparently.
Post by: Hardy on April 17, 2012, 05:53:11 PM
See - little by little, with sensible steps we can make things better. Not making a statement is a small, sensible step.

For a while there we were in danger of turning into Cork.
Post by: Syferus on April 17, 2012, 06:16:57 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 17, 2012, 05:53:11 PM
See - little by little, with sensible steps we can make things better. Not making a statement is a small, sensible step.

The anti-Cork. The players couldn't man up and agree the even release a statement that they wanted Banty to stay - which they should do regardless because their failure on the field is much more to do with their own performances and lack of structures outside of the senior set-up than it is his.

Well done. Sean, you've got your captain's seat back on a sinking ship. Enjoy it.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 17, 2012, 06:52:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 17, 2012, 04:27:34 PM
Who cares what those you freaks think!

Fixed that for you!

:P
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 17, 2012, 07:06:58 PM
Its like the world has turned on its head in here, Meath football in a state of chaos and Meathfolk in a state of delirium. Is this how all those Mayo threads looked to outsiders?
Post by: Hardy on April 17, 2012, 07:10:50 PM
Not really. Not till you start seeing "this is our year" posts.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 17, 2012, 07:47:05 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 17, 2012, 06:16:57 PM

The anti-Cork. The players couldn't man up and agree the even release a statement that they wanted Banty to stay - which they should do regardless because their failure on the field is much more to do with their own performances and lack of structures outside of the senior set-up than it is his.

Well done. Sean, you've got your captain's seat back on  sinking ship. Enjoy it.

It was a sinking ship when he got it the first time.
Post by: Syferus on April 17, 2012, 08:17:14 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on April 17, 2012, 07:47:05 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 17, 2012, 06:16:57 PM

Well done. Sean, you've got your captain's seat back on  sinking ship. Enjoy it.

It was a sinking ship when he got it the first time.

Different worlds. If he's going to do it again he'll have to do alot differently than he did thirty years ago. Does he have the stomach for a 5-7 year project to raise the playing standards in Meath, be it as manager or in an over-arching role?
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 17, 2012, 09:43:44 PM
It'd be a foolish man that would doubt Seán Boylan's commitment to his county.
Post by: Syferus on April 17, 2012, 09:53:51 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on April 17, 2012, 09:43:44 PM

After his antics in the past month I'd safely say it's the one that doesn't question his motives that is foolish.
Post by: Lántosach on April 17, 2012, 10:00:11 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 17, 2012, 03:55:42 PM
I heard Banty was at more club games that he's every been to over the weekend. Looks like he wants to cling on and put it to a vote, can't see how he'll get a 2/3 majority.

He doesn't need a 2/3 majority, those tabling the no-confidence do.
Post by: Orangemac on April 17, 2012, 10:27:25 PM
No one would doubt his commitment but if he wasn't the answer 6/7 years ago why is he the answer now? Kenny Dalglish is committed to Liverpool,doesn't mean he was the right appointment.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 17, 2012, 10:28:20 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 17, 2012, 09:53:51 PM

After his antics in the past month I'd safely say it's the one that doesn't question his motives that is foolish.

"I'll step in if needed", now equals antics.  ::)
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 17, 2012, 10:33:19 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on April 17, 2012, 10:27:25 PM
No one would doubt his commitment but if he wasn't the answer 6/7 years ago why is he the answer now? Kenny Dalglish is committed to Liverpool,doesn't mean he was the right appointment.

He's still not the long term choice. What's needed from Boylan is short term  improvement, not even a Leinster title necessarily, just an improvement. Boylan has a wealth of experience motivating players, and changing how they view wearing the county jersey. In that he has been very successful. Given the attitude displayed against Tyrone and Louth, regardless of talent in the county, the return of that pride has to be  a priority.
Post by: seafoid on April 17, 2012, 10:39:58 PM
Would Boylan not be a sort of Ryle version of Kenny Dalglish ? I mean he won all Irelands and a good few but not recently.
Post by: Syferus on April 17, 2012, 11:04:22 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on April 17, 2012, 10:28:20 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 17, 2012, 09:53:51 PM

"I'll step in if needed", now equals antics.  ::)

He steps down from his 'Director of Football' role (which clearly was a nonsense role with the ease that happened) very recently, then comes out and not only agrees behind the scenes to take over the senior team, but goes all quotable and talks to reporters directly saying he'll take it. While another man is in the job. That's cynical, political manoeuvring of the very highest order, Boylan knows full well what he's doing.

I get it, Meath people revere him as if he were God because of what he did in the past; most everyone else is pretty shocked (and personally I think it's a pretty disgusting breach of the basic code of honour managers should have for one another) by his behaviour.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 18, 2012, 07:58:54 AM

Wow. As someone who has only passing interest in all this I have to wonder why you have so much bile stored up for sean boylan. You had to work hard to present the facts in the light you just did.
Post by: Jinxy on April 18, 2012, 09:02:15 AM
You'd wonder all right.
Post by: Declan on April 18, 2012, 09:04:45 AM
Pressure building alright - Todays Indo

Wednesday April 18 2012
CIVIL war erupted in Meath football last night after former boss Eamonn Barry insisted that the Royals have "lost their decency" with how they have treated Seamus McEnaney ahead of tonight's vote on his future as county manager.

And Barry insisted that it is county chairman Barney Allen who should be under fire instead of the Monaghan man. Allen is in his fifth and final year as Royals chief, having previously served as secretary for many years.

Barry was a member of the county's management committee last year, and he laid the blame for the Royals' predicament squarely at Allen's door and called on the Meath clubs to leave McEnaney in situ until the end of the championship.

"For six months last year, at first hand, I saw how business was conducted by Barney and the Meath county committee, and I stated to a meeting that there was a total lack of open-ness, transparency and accountability.

"And it now appears that we have even lost our decency by the manner in which we have treated Seamus McEnaney."

Barry has had a number of run-ins with the board since his tenure as Meath manager ended in 2006.

At county convention earlier this year, he was barred from standing for the position of coaching officer, a position he had held for 2011, after it was ruled that he wasn't a registered member of the Walterstown club and therefore ineligible.

There was confusion among some clubs yesterday over exactly what format tonight's vote will take.

Meath secretary Cyril Creavin stated that one vote would be taken, with the removal of McEnaney and the appointment of Boylan coming under the same motion -- though a number of clubs are known to have voted on the issues separately.

As the clubs are being asked to over-rule a decision previously made by the county board, a two-thirds majority is required to end McEnaney's tenure.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 18, 2012, 09:35:11 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 17, 2012, 10:39:58 PM
Would Boylan not be a sort of Ryle version of Kenny Dalglish ? I mean he won all Irelands and a good few but not recently.

No - Boylan created two seperate teams from scratch to win multiple Championships. Dalglish inherited a winning team and kept it going for a few years before jumping ship when the slide started. He did manage to construct a championship team from scratch with heavy financial backing at Blackburn but was fierce lucky to win a title with them.
Post by: Bingo on April 18, 2012, 09:50:15 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 18, 2012, 09:35:11 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 17, 2012, 10:39:58 PM

No - Boylan created two seperate teams from scratch to win multiple Championships. Dalglish inherited a winning team and kept it going for a few years before jumping ship when the slide started. He did manage to construct a championship team from scratch with heavy financial backing at Blackburn but was fierce lucky to win a title with them.

Behave.
Post by: Hardy on April 18, 2012, 12:13:55 PM
I'd be prepared to live with a Banty victory tonight as it could mean only one thing - the position of Barney Allen and the board officers would be untenable and a solution of some sort to the first order problem would be forced. Ideally, that would be O'Rourke or some able and respected figure taking over the county administration with a proper plan for turnaround and development.

Putting up with Banty for another few months until our early exit from the Championship, which is inevitable anyway in any scenario, given where we are now, is a price I'm happy to pay for a result like that.
Post by: thejuice on April 18, 2012, 12:15:59 PM
that would be my preferred option Hardy. getting rid of Banty would achieve nothing.
Post by: shawshank on April 18, 2012, 12:18:24 PM
Fair play to Barry, sound slike a throughly principled man. How could a man of Boylans experience allow himself to be exploited like this unless he wanted it. Disappointing.
Post by: Syferus on April 18, 2012, 12:21:33 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 18, 2012, 07:58:54 AM

Wow. As someone who has only passing interest in all this I have to wonder why you have so much bile stored up for sean boylan. You had to work hard to present the facts in the light you just did.

I couldn't have cared less about Boylan before he started up these antics, and just like everyone else remembered him for being a long serving manager with a (mostly) excellent record. What he's done recently is a black eye on that record.
Post by: sheamy on April 18, 2012, 12:22:29 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 18, 2012, 12:13:55 PM
I'd be prepared to live with a Banty victory tonight as it could mean only one thing - the position of Barney Allen and the board officers would be untenable and a solution of some sort to the first order problem would be forced. Ideally, that would be O'Rourke or some able and respected figure taking over the county administration with a proper plan for turnaround and development.

Putting up with Banty for another few months until our early exit from the Championship, which is inevitable anyway in any scenario, given where we are now, is a price I'm happy to pay for a result like that.

Is O'Rouke still teaching? I'd be very surprised if he had the time to be a county chairman. It's basically a full time job these days.
Post by: seafoid on April 18, 2012, 12:42:41 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 18, 2012, 12:15:59 PM
that would be my preferred option Hardy. getting rid of Banty would achieve nothing.
It would turn Meath into  Nobantystan
Post by: agorm on April 18, 2012, 02:04:41 PM
As far as I remember Eamonn Barry voiced a very strong opposition to Banty's appointment in the first place. It kind of indicates how strong his opinion of Barney is. In my opinion, the clubs should reject the county board's motion as it will be a vindication of their position. Banty certainly has not performed particularly well but it is difficult to see what the motion tonight will achieve bar help the county board shift the blame for our problems on to the Monaghan man.
Post by: Jinxy on April 18, 2012, 02:14:59 PM
Banty and Barney are going to have a fair fight in the Aldi car park to decide who goes.
Big Joe Joyce is reffing it.
Post by: Syferus on April 18, 2012, 02:32:04 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 18, 2012, 02:14:59 PM
Banty and Barney are going to have a fair fight in the Aldi car park to decide who goes.
Big Joe Joyce is reffing it.

No biting, break when told to and the fight lasts until someone retires or until mammy has dinner cooked, whichever comes first.
Post by: seafoid on April 18, 2012, 02:52:20 PM
Quote from: agorm on April 18, 2012, 02:04:41 PM
As far as I remember Eamonn Barry voiced a very strong opposition to Banty's appointment in the first place. It kind of indicates how strong his opinion of Barney is. In my opinion, the clubs should reject the county board's motion as it will be a vindication of their position. Banty certainly has not performed particularly well but it is difficult to see what the motion tonight will achieve bar help the county board shift the blame for our problems on to the Monaghan man.

It sounds very like soccer once the Sun turns on the England manager.
Starring Banty as Steve McClaren. The plot is the same -  players won't win anything due to long
festering issues but it's great craic  blaming it on the manager.
Post by: spuds on April 18, 2012, 03:15:26 PM
Ah jaysus Seafoid, am choking on me popcorn here with your sacair references. Plenty of material here without referring to McClaren and them eegits
Post by: Jinxy on April 18, 2012, 04:09:13 PM
I'm now firmly in the pro-Banty, anti-Barney camp.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 18, 2012, 04:33:06 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 18, 2012, 04:09:13 PM

If I were you I'd be anti both of them.

This is the problem with these politicians in the GAA. It's not about improving the county or winning things it's about doing down the feckers that are agin them. A load of bollix and unfortunately very widespread.
Post by: seafoid on April 18, 2012, 04:38:37 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 18, 2012, 04:09:13 PM

I think a compromise candidate will come forward. Noel Dempsey.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 18, 2012, 04:43:38 PM
It's a vote on Banty, on his record, not the county board.
Post by: Syferus on April 18, 2012, 04:52:25 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on April 18, 2012, 04:43:38 PM

Impossible to remove the politics from it. Most of the anti-sacking camp will have equal measures of trouble with Banty's treatment and the county board's arrogance and negligence, those issues are joined at the hip.
Post by: Hardy on April 18, 2012, 04:57:22 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on April 18, 2012, 04:43:38 PM

It is officially, Ard-Rí but it's gone beyond that. It's like one of those referendums where people don't vote on the issue at question but use it as an opportunity to have a go at the government. I'm also anti-both the co. board and McEnaney, but the way it's going a vote to get rid of the manager will be taken as an endorsement of the co. board chairman and officers and I think this may be the only chance for clubs to say "no - Banty is cat, but there's no way we're endorsing your running of things and your attempt to escape your lion's share of the blame. Anyway, he's your Banty - you're responsible for him as well".

If there was a way to get rid of Banty as well, that'd be great, but we may have to come back for him. He'll hang himself anyway on the results of the next few months.

[Edit - removed senseless question]
Post by: GAA_Punter on April 18, 2012, 08:53:22 PM
Live updates from Meath GAA meeting with a huge amount of uncertainty emanating out of the Meath footballing camp, it is hard to know which way tonight's meeting of the county board will go.

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/gaa/101346/

Press F5 or refresh for latest update

20:52pm Lot of people blaming the players and not the management.

20:51pm It seems to be 50-50 on people wanting Banty to say or go.

20:48pm Barney Allen is talking about himself and Cyril Creavin meeting up with the players on two different occasions to discuss the problems within the team.

20:40pm The floor has been opened to delegates to have their say on the matter of "Banty" being in charge. No doubt a lot of people will have thoughts on share. We could be here for hours.

20:30pm There is expected to be a motion put forward to remove current manager Seamus McEnaney from the position and go forward into this summer's All-Ireland campaign with a fresh face in charge.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 18, 2012, 09:28:15 PM
Some great comments from The Insider

"9:14pm Now they are talking about Eamonn O'Brien's sacking, thats going to solve a lot of problems."
Post by: thebandit on April 18, 2012, 09:31:25 PM
Banty stays!!
Post by: Hardy on April 18, 2012, 09:37:08 PM
43-31. What happens now? Hopefully a motion of no confidence in the executive.
Post by: seafoid on April 18, 2012, 09:38:50 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 18, 2012, 09:37:08 PM
Dissolve the legislature and declare a second Meath republic
Post by: agorm on April 18, 2012, 09:39:46 PM
Does anyone know which side got the 43?
Post by: seafoid on April 18, 2012, 09:40:24 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 18, 2012, 09:28:15 PM
Some great comments from The Insider

"9:14pm Now they are talking about Eamonn O'Brien's sacking, thats going to solve a lot of problems."
It must be great fun for everyone connected to  Longford watching this pantomime.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 18, 2012, 09:45:39 PM
We take no pleasure in Meath imploding. Meath and Longford are not natural enemies. I love the politics of it all though. God, I miss the days of the Haughey heaves in the 80s.

I feel that the county board executive should now resign en masse.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 18, 2012, 09:46:08 PM
Quote from: agorm on April 18, 2012, 09:39:46 PM

The Anti-Banty League.
Post by: Jinxy on April 18, 2012, 09:46:42 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 18, 2012, 09:37:08 PM

The county board will not take this lying down.
There'll be tanks on the streets of Navan tonight.
Post by: seafoid on April 18, 2012, 09:47:30 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 18, 2012, 09:45:39 PM
We take no pleasure in Meath imploding. Meath and Longford are not natural enemies. I love the politics of it all though. God, I miss the days of the Haughey heaves in the 80s.

Don't bring religion into it. 
Post by: Jinxy on April 18, 2012, 09:47:52 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 18, 2012, 09:45:39 PM

"Ye can have Banty, but ye can't have the county board!"
Post by: sheamy on April 18, 2012, 10:00:16 PM
Was that the first ever live twitter county board meeting? Absolutely crazy stuff.
Post by: thejuice on April 18, 2012, 10:02:01 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on April 18, 2012, 09:46:08 PM
Quote from: agorm on April 18, 2012, 09:39:46 PM

The Anti-Banty League.

everyone is anti-Banty.

I don't there are many that think he's a good manager. Its a simply a vote against the county board. If they would do the decent thing now then we might start to see an improvement down the line. Replacing Banty would be a meaningless gesture without tackling the other more important issues.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 18, 2012, 10:06:22 PM
What now? Is there a vote being brought against the board? Is the meeting still in session?
Post by: Jinxy on April 18, 2012, 10:16:42 PM
Some craic all the same.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 18, 2012, 10:20:08 PM
This us great auld craic, almost makes cavan look normal. Carry on.
Post by: thejuice on April 18, 2012, 10:20:19 PM
The County board will return to their bunker under the grassy banks in PT and try ride this out till after the championship.
Post by: rrhf on April 18, 2012, 10:28:51 PM
Quote from: sheamy on April 18, 2012, 12:22:29 PM

Is O'Rouke still teaching? I'd be very surprised if he had the time to be a county chairman. It's basically a full time job these days.
Is it teaching or the chairman role that's basically full time?
Post by: Jinxy on April 18, 2012, 10:45:39 PM
The clubs aren't scared of the county board.
This isn't Cork.
Post by: Syferus on April 19, 2012, 02:07:05 AM
I beat Sean is Boylin' right now..
Post by: Hardy on April 19, 2012, 09:53:02 AM
So - that's it? We're left with the worst of both worlds - we're now stuck with Banty AND Barney. This is the direct opposite of what Meath needs, which is neither of them.

Where was the motion of no confidence in the executive when the motion they proposed failed? Have we not even two delegates in the whole county with the cop-on to have this ready to propose and second?

Maybe I misunderstand and such a motion would have had to be on the agenda. In any case, it's now time for men of substance in the county to stand up an do something. There has to be a motion of no confidence for the next board meeting and a set of candidates ready to step up and take at least the two principal positions - chairman and secretary. It's time for respected people to do what needs to be done, prepare their programme and canvass the clubs in advance of the next meeting to ensure the gombeenocracy is removed. My God it was an embarrassment listening to that gom on the radio this morning.

Seán Boylan, Colm O'Rourke, Gerry McEntee, Dudley Farrell, Eamonn O'Brien, Coyle, O'Malley, Harnan and anyone else who has a contribution to make - please step forward. Your county needs you.
Post by: Bingo on April 19, 2012, 10:11:31 AM
I can imagine the next meeting with the Team management and the county board will be good craic. Who is the Liaision officer? I'm surprised he hasn't resigned already.
Post by: seafoid on April 19, 2012, 10:17:00 AM
What exactly is the problem in Meath ? Can someone explain it ?
Post by: Declan on April 19, 2012, 10:17:34 AM
Quotewe're now stuck with Banty AND Barney

Barney's 5 year tenure as chairman is up this year but I haven't heard who he's lined up to succeed him
Post by: demusicman on April 19, 2012, 10:44:24 AM
Quote from: Declan on April 19, 2012, 10:17:34 AM

Barney's 5 year tenure as chairman is up this year but I haven't heard who he's lined up to succeed him
As recently caught on camera The Royals entering The Palace
http://youtu.be/PfaLPTqGSYY
Post by: Hardy on April 19, 2012, 11:52:57 AM
Barney finds getting rid of Banty trickier than expected - Barney Bear and Banty Bean (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZwArqYcU4g).
Post by: Lántosach on April 19, 2012, 12:44:54 PM
Quote from: Declan on April 19, 2012, 10:17:34 AM

Musical chairs, unless something drastic happens, Barney will just sit back into the secretary's chair for 5 years and under GAA rules he'll have to leave that. Where does he go then? Reappointed as chairman. It's a gentleman's club. A golf club for lads that don't play golf. Drinking buddies that don't drink.

Barney, Ginnity, Joyce, O'Neill and many more of them. Even if they were voted out they'd still turn up. The whole thing is pure poison
Post by: thejuice on April 19, 2012, 02:01:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 19, 2012, 09:53:02 AM
Maybe I misunderstand and such a motion would have had to be on the agenda. In any case, it's now time for men of substance in the county to stand up an do something. There has to be a motion of no confidence for the next board meeting and a set of candidates ready to step up and take at least the two principal positions - chairman and secretary. It's time for respected people to do what needs to be done, prepare their programme and canvass the clubs in advance of the next meeting to ensure the gombeenocracy is removed. My God it was an embarrassment listening to that gom on the radio this morning.

Seán Boylan, Colm O'Rourke, Gerry McEntee, Dudley Farrell, Eamonn O'Brien, Coyle, O'Malley, Harnan and anyone else who has a contribution to make - please step forward. Your county needs you.

This is the next step. Now how do we go about it?

I guess the men listed need to be contacted and see where they stand. And the clubs need to be brought onside too.

Is there any way to push this through any sooner? There is no point in waiting, we might as well get it done this season since its going down the poo-chute anyway. Better to just jeoprodise one season and not next years as well by trying to do everything in the winter.
Post by: Syferus on April 19, 2012, 02:54:23 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 19, 2012, 02:01:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 19, 2012, 09:53:02 AM

This is the next step. Now how do we go about it?

I guess the men listed need to be contacted and see where they stand. And the clubs need to be brought onside too.

Is there any way to push this through any sooner? There is no point in waiting, we might as well get it done this season since its going down the poo-chute anyway. Better to just jeoprodise one season and not next years as well by trying to do everything in the winter.

Meath feckers playing the ultimate long grass tactic, I'll not fall for your tricks..
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 19, 2012, 04:38:19 PM

Hardly, sure they are off for Christmas, Easter, June, July, August and countless bank holidays, religious days and teacher training days.
Post by: sheamy on April 19, 2012, 05:00:01 PM
that joke was done already...  :)
Post by: INDIANA on April 19, 2012, 05:02:03 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 19, 2012, 04:38:19 PM

Hardly, sure they are off for Christmas, Easter, June, July, August and countless bank holidays, religious days and teacher training days.

O Rourke has other concerns off the pitch . So I doubt he can give the time.
Post by: Jinxy on April 19, 2012, 07:39:04 PM
For gods sake keep Barney away from the national media.
Just heard him on Newstalk and I can picture him chewing a stalk of grass as he's talking.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 23, 2012, 08:18:09 PM
Word is that Joe's coming back, possibly before the end of the week.
Post by: Jinxy on April 23, 2012, 08:35:53 PM
Is he taking over as Director of football?
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 23, 2012, 08:46:56 PM
Player/Selector/Chairman.
Post by: thejuice on April 23, 2012, 10:34:57 PM
How are they hoping to persuade him to come back? Hired goons?
Post by: rrhf on April 23, 2012, 10:45:05 PM
a royal pardon
Post by: Jinxy on April 23, 2012, 11:26:48 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 23, 2012, 10:34:57 PM
How are they hoping to persuade him to come back? Hired goons?

The same way they persuaded King Kong to go to New York.
I hope he doesn't climb up on top of St Marys church or else Barney and the lads will have to get the biplanes.
Post by: Declan on April 24, 2012, 08:02:10 AM
Yep heard that last night as well - Though as a pal of mine said he thought we would have stayed for the NFL draft ;)
Post by: Jinxy on April 24, 2012, 11:22:29 AM
Yeah lads I think the NFL jokes have run their course.
Post by: seafoid on April 24, 2012, 11:33:45 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 24, 2012, 11:22:29 AM
There's plenty more road in the Division 3 jokes, Jinxy.

Why was there such a big deal about JS going to the States anyway ?
Post by: Jinxy on April 24, 2012, 12:19:39 PM
Why are you so obsessed with us anyway?
You stay on your side of the country and we'll stay on ours.
Post by: spuds on April 24, 2012, 01:15:01 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 24, 2012, 11:33:45 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 24, 2012, 11:22:29 AM
There's plenty more road in the Division 3 jokes, Jinxy.

Why was there such a big deal about JS going to the States anyway ?
Has taken lads longer to get home than Joe after being turned back at homeland security. :P
Post by: seafoid on April 24, 2012, 01:27:09 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 24, 2012, 12:19:39 PM
Why are you so obsessed with us anyway?
You stay on your side of the country and we'll stay on ours.
It's a very slow news month, Jinxy, and every time you Meath people get excited it 's all over the board. It's no different really to all the drivers who slow down at the scene of a car accident to see what is going on.
Post by: thejuice on April 25, 2012, 11:14:38 PM
So looking to the Wicklow game, the squad changes.

OUT:
Mark Ward
Shane O'Rourke
David Bray

IN:
Joe Sheridan
Brian Sheridan
Peadar Byrne

any others?
Post by: here comes 6 on April 26, 2012, 12:27:37 PM
Joe turned his back on his county when they were  struggling and now thats its Championship time he running back
Post by: AZOffaly on April 26, 2012, 02:09:31 PM
Is Shane O'Rourke off the squad??? Why so because?
Post by: thejuice on April 26, 2012, 02:37:03 PM
Injured.

Not sure if its his knees again.
Post by: Syferus on April 26, 2012, 07:23:25 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 26, 2012, 02:37:03 PM
Injured.

Those bloody Lay-trum lads, always baulking off!
Post by: muppet on April 26, 2012, 07:25:58 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 26, 2012, 07:23:25 PM
Injured.

998,561 and counting.

I am giddy with excitement at the approach of the 1,000,000th time a Rossie pedals a version of this old classic.  :D
Post by: Syferus on April 26, 2012, 07:42:22 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 26, 2012, 07:25:58 PM
Injured.

998,561 and counting.

I am giddy with excitement at the approach of the 1,000,000th time a Rossie pedals a version of this old classic.  :D

'Twill never equal the one about a Rossie captaining Mayo to national glory at Croke Park. Who knew that was the missing element all these years?
Post by: muppet on April 26, 2012, 08:22:16 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 26, 2012, 07:42:22 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 26, 2012, 07:25:58 PM
Injured.

998,561 and counting.

'Twill never equal the one about a Rossie captaining Mayo to national glory at Croke Park. Who knew that was the missing element all these years?

998,562  :D
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 27, 2012, 01:33:23 PM
Right, back to Meath;

Former Tipperary manager John Evans is going to join Banty's backroom team in Meath.
Post by: sheamy on April 27, 2012, 01:34:21 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on April 27, 2012, 01:33:23 PM
Right, back to Meath;

Former Tipperary manager John Evans is going to join Banty's backroom team in Meath.

and remain as director of football in Tipp?
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 27, 2012, 01:53:25 PM
Quote from: sheamy on April 27, 2012, 01:34:21 PM
Right, back to Meath;

No word on that.

http://hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=167517 (http://hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=167517)
Post by: rrhf on April 27, 2012, 02:10:35 PM
Thats a strong management team for Meath.  Id expect that team to do well. A great appointment. 
Post by: Onlooker on April 27, 2012, 04:16:53 PM
Quote from: sheamy on April 27, 2012, 01:34:21 PM
Right, back to Meath;

Despite what you might read John Evans was never appointed Director of Football in Tipperary, as Croke Park would not allow him to be Director of Football and remain as manager of the Senior Football team.  He was manager of the Tipp Senior and Under 21 teams this year.  The Under 21 team lost to Kerry and he resigned as Senior manager after the League game against Sligo, when Tipp were relegated to Div. 4.   He still lives in Kerry, so it will be a long haul up to Meath, but I could see him being an asset to Meath on the coaching side and he would be a good man to install a positive outlook in players.   Looks like a short term move, but just might work.
Post by: Jinxy on April 27, 2012, 06:28:56 PM
Keep Evans and put him in charge of the minors and u-21's.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 28, 2012, 10:57:46 AM
Giles in also
Post by: Jinxy on April 28, 2012, 12:27:49 PM
It's sounding like we won't see Shane O'Rourke at all this season.
If he has a chronic hip problem, he should knock football on the head.
Quality of life is more important.
Post by: stephenite on April 30, 2012, 12:15:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 28, 2012, 12:27:49 PM

Sorry to hear that, a fantastic talent
Post by: Main Street on May 01, 2012, 09:53:53 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 28, 2012, 12:27:49 PM
What's up with Bray and Ward? why are they also out.
Title: Re: Meath Bumbling Bodaciously; Banty Boldly Bears Brunt.
Post by: Jinxy on May 01, 2012, 11:00:54 AM
Mark Ward has an ankle injury.
Stephen Bray is uninjured as far as I know.
Post by: thejuice on May 01, 2012, 01:52:42 PM
David Bray is out again this year.
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 07, 2012, 07:26:08 PM
We gave Westmeath a skelping for our frustrations today...
Post by: shark on May 07, 2012, 08:32:09 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on May 07, 2012, 07:26:08 PM

I would say 3, maybe 4, of that Westmeath team will play on Sunday week against Louth.
Post by: Ard-Rí on May 07, 2012, 08:37:49 PM
Quote from: shark on May 07, 2012, 08:32:09 PM

I would say 3, maybe 4, of that Westmeath team will play on Sunday week against Louth.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not taking the win seriously, I was just pointing out that Meath did actually win today. For a change.
Post by: seafoid on May 07, 2012, 10:24:57 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on May 07, 2012, 08:37:49 PM

Don't get me wrong, I'm not taking the win seriously, I was just pointing out that Meath did actually win today. For a change.
the Beal bocht doesn't work with Royalty
Post by: Jinxy on May 07, 2012, 11:24:42 PM
Meath4Sam.
Post by: seafoid on May 08, 2012, 09:59:29 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 07, 2012, 11:24:42 PM
Meath4Sam.
MWWSST
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 08, 2012, 02:43:03 PM

Yep, definitely a reserves run out.
Post by: Hardy on July 02, 2012, 04:53:15 PM
Tell you what - you don't lose any sleep worrying about what I deserve and I won't waste another microsecond wondering why an obsessive ... [Edited on mature reflection] ... from some disadvantaged Northern backwater devotes two of his four posts in six months to what I think about McEnaney, the third to what somebody else thinks of him and the fourth to a reference to Meath county board.
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 05:11:37 PM
Burst him Banty!
Post by: Moortown Spuds on July 02, 2012, 05:28:43 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 02, 2012, 04:53:15 PM
Tell you what - you don't lose any sleep worrying about what I deserve and I won't waste another microsecond wondering why an obsessive compulsive t**ser from some disadvantaged Northern backwater devotes two of his four posts in six months to what I think about McEnaney, the third to what somebody else thinks of him and the fourth to a reference to Meath county board.

How do you know he's from Lurgan?
Post by: magpie seanie on July 02, 2012, 05:44:13 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 05:11:37 PM
Burst him Banty!

My money is on Hardy in this one.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 04, 2012, 04:39:47 AM
I sense another "Patsy from Forkhill" moment is fast approaching...
Post by: Syferus on July 04, 2012, 05:42:14 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 04, 2012, 04:39:47 AM
I sense another "Patsy from Forkhill" moment is fast approaching...

Ah Mike, the longest surviving single account troll in the history of the internet! We need to do a tell-all interview some time, you're the Tyrone of the forum dark arts.

Not that you're past your peak, or anything!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 04, 2012, 07:54:20 AM
who is this Syferus chap ?  Apparently he thinks I should notice him...?
Title: Re: Meath Mightily Migrate from Mediocrity, Maybe.
Post by: thejuice on August 01, 2012, 11:42:44 AM
So, how do you go about changing a county board?
Post by: Hardy on August 01, 2012, 12:41:58 PM
Good question. It'd have to be well organised. The status quo has great inertia and needs a strong force to upend it. Hence the re-election of people regardless of performance.

There'd have to be campaign taken to all the clubs, with a plan to install named, respected figures as chairman and secretary and a manifesto for their tenure comprising at least a five-year strategic plan. It could be pulled off if a group of people of substance came together, drew up the manifesto, selected and approached agreed candidates and announced their campaign. 
Post by: thejuice on August 01, 2012, 01:31:33 PM
That's the great unanswered question. Or perhaps the great unasked question. Who has the ideas to move Meath forward and are they willing to do the job.

The just reading the great echo chamber that is hoganstand, they love to talk about which manager should be next or who they want on the county board. They start by applying some wishy washy characteristics to people who for all we know might not even want the job.

It's disappointing that all the talk has focused on the senior team management. The minor match against Dublin told a bigger story. Other telling signs are the "Blue Wave strategies" and the Meath strategy when you compare them. Dunganny unfinished too. Pairc Tailteann being deemed a hazard to public health.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 02, 2012, 08:03:14 PM
And another one bites the dust..
Post by: Declan on August 02, 2012, 08:09:24 PM
Let the games begin!
Post by: agorm on August 02, 2012, 08:41:45 PM
Well, it's back to square one as they say. At least the issue has been settled within a week and Banty must be givn credit for not allowing it to fester which would not be good for Meath football. Personally, I think he did a pretty decent job but a team in transition in a county that expects a lot more than the underage talent would suggest was always going to be very difficult.

At the end of the day, it came down a pitiful performance from the team in Navan against Louth at the end of the league. That was one of the most horrendous performances from any team i have ever supported in any capacity. I dont know the reason for it, perhaps Banty had them doing strength training or something and they were aiming for the championship. However, there were 15 players and whatever subs on the pitch that day and, manager or  no manager, the performance was wholly unacceptable and the players have to shoulder the blame for, what looked like, a Sunday afternoon sleepy stroll in the park. There were a couple of other bad performances but, considering the importance of the fixture and the opposition, that was the nadir.

In my mind the championship overall was ok. A bad draw against Carlow but a great win against Kildare and a fair performance against Dublin ending in a relatively poor performance against an underrated Laois.

Overall, I would say thanks to Banty, I dont think he did it for the money but I dont know too much about these things so I am not sure what his core motivations were.
Post by: screenexile on August 02, 2012, 10:33:43 PM
Quote from: agorm on August 02, 2012, 08:41:45 PM
Well, it's back to square one as they say. At least the issue has been settled within a week and Banty must be givn credit for not allowing it to fester which would not be good for Meath football. Personally, I think he did a pretty decent job but a team in transition in a county that expects a lot more than the underage talent would suggest was always going to be very difficult.

At the end of the day, it came down a pitiful performance from the team in Navan against Louth at the end of the league. That was one of the most horrendous performances from any team i have ever supported in any capacity. I dont know the reason for it, perhaps Banty had them doing strength training or something and they were aiming for the championship. However, there were 15 players and whatever subs on the pitch that day and, manager or  no manager, the performance was wholly unacceptable and the players have to shoulder the blame for, what looked like, a Sunday afternoon sleepy stroll in the park. There were a couple of other bad performances but, considering the importance of the fixture and the opposition, that was the nadir.

In my mind the championship overall was ok. A bad draw against Carlow but a great win against Kildare and a fair performance against Dublin ending in a relatively poor performance against an underrated Laois.

Overall, I would say thanks to Banty, I dont think he did it for the money but I dont know too much about these things so I am not sure what his core motivations were.

Indeed! Whether he did it for money or not you can't doubt he gave it his best shot and really that's all you can ask for from a man. I would take him in Derry at least our teams would have a buit of fight in them!!!

Best of luck to him I say!
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 02, 2012, 11:19:19 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 01, 2012, 12:41:58 PM
Good question. It'd have to be well organised. The status quo has great inertia and needs a strong force to upend it. Hence the re-election of people regardless of performance.

There'd have to be campaign taken to all the clubs, with a plan to install named, respected figures as chairman and secretary and a manifesto for their tenure comprising at least a five-year strategic plan. It could be pulled off if a group of people of substance came together, drew up the manifesto, selected and approached agreed candidates and announced their campaign.

Without doubt, you're right but it's easier said than done.
As long as the present CB members remain in place, you won't stand a chance of getting any radical proposals past them
That's presupposing a committee will be appointed to draw up a manifesto in the first instance.
We were in more or less the same mess in Mayo when John O'Mahony departed. A committee was appointed to examine the overall football structure in the county and its remit was to examine all aspects of the game and come back with proposals to address the problems that were plain to be seen.
"Root and branch overhaul" was the buzz term being bandied about as the committee got to work. Liam Horan, the well-known journalist, was the chairman and all the other members were  well-known and respected.
No doubt we had a serious committee going to do some serious work.
We're still waiting for any of their proposals to be implemented.
Sure enough, their report was completed and sent to the CB. Then it was put before a general meeting of club delegates. A time-honoured democratic procedure etc. etc.
As was to be expected, the meeting decided nothing. On the basis that turkeys don't vote for Christmas, there were too many who didn't want their own patches trampled on and the report is probably gathering dust on some shelf in the CB office.
I can't see things working out differently in Meath or any other county either.
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2012, 12:54:37 AM

So Banty has gone. Who s idea was he in Meath ffs!

And he had an appearance tonight with Pat Spillane, Eamonn O Hara, Spillane and Val Andrews.

Christ, but 'winging it', assertive and ignorant all at the same time is a bad mix. Who in Meath ever thought he would be a good idea. When he had to comment on games outside his zone he was embarrassing. That shit tonight was another low for RTE. Only Andrews had a bit of anything about him.

Post by: Ard-Rí on August 03, 2012, 01:00:08 AM
The King is dead, Long live the King.
Post by: ross4life on August 03, 2012, 01:06:30 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 03, 2012, 12:54:37 AM

And he had an appearance tonight with Pat Spillane, Eamonn O Hara, Spillane and Val Andrews.

Christ, but 'winging it', assertive and ignorant all at the same time is a bad mix. Who in Meath ever thought he would be a good idea. When he had to comment on games outside his zone he was embarrassing. That shit tonight was another low for RTE. Only Andrews had a bit of anything about him.

Banty is a strange chap, at the start of tonight's show he complains to Spillane about comments said on the Sunday game then later in the show he said he didn't care what other people had to say as he would always ignore it.

Post by: moysider on August 03, 2012, 01:24:04 AM
Quote from: ross4life on August 03, 2012, 01:06:30 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 03, 2012, 12:54:37 AM

Banty is a strange chap, at the start of tonight's show he complains to Spillane about comments said on the Sunday game then later in the show he said he didn't care what other people had to say as he would always ignore it.

Strange is not the word for it. Never saw him having to join the dots before tonight but that was something. I didn t thing he was exactly compos mentis the last day on the line during the later stages of the Laois match but tonight was different.

He s a f**king conman. There was a lad on here earlier that wants him to manage his county team. MOG.
Post by: rrhf on August 03, 2012, 07:50:07 AM
Meaths loss will be louths gain
Post by: Bingo on August 03, 2012, 10:39:54 AM
Whatever about Banty, one thing he isn't is a "football" manager. He is a manager of players, an organiser, surrounds himself with people in the right areas - coaches, physio's, workers etc etc but tactically and from a football perspective he is limited.

He will bring a team that is at a low level and raise it through fitness, changing attitudes and bringing the players together. But to think he has any kind of cuteness or tactical awareness is away of the mark.

As a club manager, he achieved nothing of note in Monaghan. He got the job in Monaghan on the back of having an experienced team of noted managers as selectors with him, roaded them when pressure came on and went elsewhere for a new team of selectors.

He has his strengths, which would suit certain clubs or counties but like it was shown in Meath, he is not a man for a high profile job looking to go to the top table.
Post by: Hardy on August 03, 2012, 10:43:47 AM
Let's just hope we've learned a lesson. Now if we can get rid of Barney Allen, I'll believe we mean business.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 03, 2012, 10:57:00 AM
Trevor Giles?

Would he be a contender?

Fantastic Player, speaks very well, knows the current squad and with his professional background will embrace sports science, does he have any managerial experience?
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 03, 2012, 11:10:59 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 03, 2012, 10:57:00 AM
Trevor Giles?
Would he be a contender?
Fantastic Player, speaks very well, knows the current squad and with his professional background will embrace sports science, does he have any managerial experience?

You would think so Dinny . What about O'rourke or Hayes them seem to have plenty of opinions about the game have they ever been nominated for the Meath Job ?
Post by: thejuice on August 03, 2012, 11:21:41 AM
Trevor was in charge of the U21's along with Colm O'Rourke for a few years and never won a game as far as I can tell.

I don't think Hayes or O'Rourke are in any hurry to manage the senior team. They know that where they are sitting the fence is far more comfortable.
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 03, 2012, 11:24:58 AM
Quote from: thejuice on August 03, 2012, 11:21:41 AM
Trevor was in charge of the U21's along with Colm O'Rourke for a few years and never won a game as far as I can tell.

I don't think Hayes or O'Rourke are in any hurry to manage the senior team. They know that where they are sitting the fence is far more comfortable.

Yeah got that impression all right
Post by: thejuice on August 03, 2012, 11:25:37 AM
In fact I'd rather O'Rourke replacing Barney Allen than taking the managers seat. Its the county board after all who pick the manager and they've made a hash of it since Boylan left.
Post by: Hardy on August 03, 2012, 11:47:14 AM
Exactly, juice. Or Boylan in the chair and O'Rourke on the sideline.

Trevor would need a bit of experience under his belt before tackling this one. Hayes has proven his inability as a manager. McEntee has gone over to the dark side.

What about Tony Kearney?
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 03, 2012, 11:55:52 AM
Did any off the lads from the Mick Lyons ere get involved in Coaching after they retired .  I know of Hayes and o' Rourke at Club level but anyone else ?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 03, 2012, 12:11:16 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 03, 2012, 11:55:52 AM
Did any off the lads from the Mick Lyons ere get involved in Coaching after they retired .  I know of Hayes and o' Rourke at Club level but anyone else ?

Liam Harnan managed Maynooth, Colm Coyle managed Celbridge and David Beggy managed Leixlip.
Post by: Hardy on August 03, 2012, 12:14:35 PM
More did than didn't, I'd say - Coyle, Harnan, Mickey McQuillan, Tommy Dowd, O'Malley, McEntee off the top of my head. Beggy coached my own former club at Junior level.
Post by: Declan on August 03, 2012, 01:30:13 PM
Gerry McEntee to me is the obvious choice if he could get the right team around him
Post by: AZOffaly on August 03, 2012, 01:36:34 PM
What about John Evans? He came in there towards the end of Banty's reign? Was that a case of Banty being advised to bring him on board, or was it all Banty's idea? If it was the former, maybe Evans was being lined up to replace Banty.
Post by: Hardy on August 03, 2012, 01:41:05 PM
I was thinking about that at the time and I came to the conclusion that Banty wouldn't have been in the mood to accept anything imposed by the county board, flushed as he was with the success of seeing off the attempted heave.

As regards John Evans succeeding Banty, my guess would be that the county board will have learned from Banty's difficulties that an outside manager will struggle to gain acceptance. Though it may be a bit of a reach to expect our county board to learn anything.
Post by: Sea The Stars on August 03, 2012, 11:17:20 PM
Jody Devine fits the profile of a possible Meath manager. Won all-Irelands in the nineties although probably best remembered as an impact sub. He's managed the Meath u21s, the Meath juniors and served as a selector under Eammon Barry. He done well with Kells last year.

Trevor Giles and Graham Geraghty are the two obvious choices though. The likes of Donal Curtis, Ollie Murphy, Darren Fay, Tommy Dowd and Barry Callaghan could all be interested too. So there's lots of potential candidates amongst the nineties generation.
Post by: demusicman on August 04, 2012, 03:06:22 AM
It is only a few months ago since the Meath County Board tried to remove the Manager they appointed for two years Banty.
Who were they proposing to replace him?Sean Boylan
If they felt then, that was for the better for Meath Football ,how can they propose anybody other than Sean Boylan!!!!
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2012, 07:47:59 AM
Jody 'Bloody' Devine - heartbreaker...
Post by: agorm on August 04, 2012, 09:00:41 AM
I have a feeling that it is now or never or Colm O'Rourke and that this is now the time or him to give it a go.
He was part of a group that made some proposals on the structures a few years ago. That needs to be followed up on as well.
Post by: agorm on August 04, 2012, 09:04:09 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 03, 2012, 01:41:05 PM
I was thinking about that at the time and I came to the conclusion that Banty wouldn't have been in the mood to accept anything imposed by the county board, flushed as he was with the success of seeing off the attempted heave.

As regards John Evans succeeding Banty, my guess would be that the county board will have learned from Banty's difficulties that an outside manager will struggle to gain acceptance. Though it may be a bit of a reach to expect our county board to learn anything.

Yes, I agree Hardy. Hard also to see that Co Board having the political savvy to impose Evans with the view to developing him as a successor without the knowledge of Banty.
Post by: Hardy on August 04, 2012, 10:47:05 AM
Quote from: agorm on August 04, 2012, 09:00:41 AM
I have a feeling that it is now or never or Colm O'Rourke and that this is now the time or him to give it a go.
He was part of a group that made some proposals on the structures a few years ago. That needs to be followed up on as well.

I'd like to see O'Rourke take it on as well. But I'd guess he wouldn't do it under the current county board regime and he's probably right. On the other hand, he's one of the few men who could command support in changing/reforming the administration and he doesn't seem inclined to get involved, which leads to the impression that he may not be interested.
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 04, 2012, 10:50:44 AM
O'Rourke made it clear (before Banty arrived) that he wouldn't consider the job as long as Shane was on the county panel.
Post by: Hardy on August 04, 2012, 10:55:01 AM
Yes, I'd forgotten that. I'm not sure it makes a whole lot of sense - lots of managers seem to be able to handle that situation. But it's his own business and probably admirable.
Post by: criostlinn on August 04, 2012, 11:11:08 AM
Its a cope out by O'Rourke. He can continue to spout sh1t on the Sunday Game and in the Independent. As for following up his words with action well O'Rourke will sit on the fence while his county continue to struggle
Post by: Hardy on August 04, 2012, 12:43:27 PM
Wait a minute. I don't think you can gratuitously heap the responsibility to be saviour of the county on one man without even consulting him. Why pick on him? You might as well throw a dart at a list of former players and prominent GAA personalities and condemn whichever one gets skewered.

I think it's all Matty McCabe's fault, myself.
Post by: Jinxy on August 04, 2012, 08:43:40 PM
I enjoyed Banty getting stuck into Spillane on RTE the other night in relation to his comments about McElkennon.
Said it to his face and was 100% right.
Post by: Syferus on August 04, 2012, 10:03:46 PM
So lads, how about your minors against Tyrone tomorrow?
Post by: From the Bunker on August 04, 2012, 10:28:01 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 04, 2012, 10:50:44 AM
O'Rourke made it clear (before Banty arrived) that he wouldn't consider the job as long as Shane was on the county panel.

In fairness, he is making a lot of money with his media work, which happens to be off season to his regular Teaching Job. Who in their right mind would give that up?
Post by: Sea The Stars on August 05, 2012, 10:22:55 AM
It'll be interesting to see what happens next in terms of appointing Banty's successor.

Baryney Allen's five years are up and Cyril Creavin his right hand man and natural successor might not have the enthusiasm to put his name forward for county board chairman - after all the criticism - so now do they:
1) Do everything in their power to find Banty's replacement between now and November
2) Try to delay the appointment as long as possible so as not to risk further ridicule even after their terms of office are up

Bit of a catch-22 I would think. Barney Allen has oversaw three managerial appointments in his role as chairman - I think he'd like to avoid being assiociated with a fourth after the disaster of the previous three.

We were also told in June that the new u21 manager would be names in July. No appointment as of the 5th of August. The next meeting of the county committee is Monday week - where I would hope the u21 manager will be unveiled. And possibly how they intend to find the next senior manager.