So is there anyone around that knows anything regarding Senior Scor this year.
Limerick county final on march 2 nd tipp county final on march 3 rd clare county final was on last weekend and kerry was on a few weeks back.
Munster semi finals as follows
Cork Tipp Waterford - Sat March 10th
Clare Kerry Limerick - Askeaton County Limerick Sunday March 11th
Munster final - Templemore Co Tipperary Saturday March 31st
Armagh County final was last Saturday night. Killeavy won club of the year and at least one of the dancing categories as well. Carrickcruppen won the recitation with a excellent display - same club won the All Ireland last year with a cousin of this year's entrant and he'd have every chance of going all the way for his club again. Sarsfields won the quiz after a second tiebreak round while St Patrick's Cullyhanna won the Novelty Act and the Ballad Group. Can't remember the rest.
Ulster semi-final involving Armagh, Monaghan and Cavan is on Saturday night somewhere in Cavan, can't quite remember the name of the place. I'm pretty annoyed that its clashing with an Armagh match again this year. Surely it wouldn't be hard to ensure the Scór is scheduled for nights when there are no NFL fixtures.
Heard about Sarsfields winning the quiz.
Isn't Scor held later in the evening? Shouldn't have to be a clash if the match and the Scor are held in the same town or at least close enough together.
Ulster Semi is in Stradone, home of Laragh United on Saturday nite. Head for Dublin out of Cavan town and you take a left just before an Apple Green Filling station that will bring ya straight to it. Cornafean will be very hard bet in Trath na gCeist.
Cornafean - those boys have been unreal over the years. Fair play to them.
Results from Limerick final are as follows
Figure Dancing - Patrickswell
Solo Singing - Eileen Brouder - Fr Casey's - Abbeyfeale
Instrumental Music - Fr Casey's - Abbeyfeale
Recitation - Christy Kelly - Feenagh/Kilmeedy
Ballad Group - Palasgrean
Question Time - Monaleen
Novelty Act - Feenagh/Kilmeedy
The over all club was a 3 way tie between newcomers Fr. Casey's Abbeyfeale and 2 of the most dedicated clubs in Limerick Scor Feenagh/Kilmeedy and Patrickswel
Qualifiers form Muster semi-final in Askeaton Sunday 11th March 2012 for Clare , Kerry and Limerick winners.
Figure Dancing
patrickswell - limerick
spa - kerry
solo singing
fr casey's - limerick
churchill - kerry
instrumental music
glenflesk - kerry
recitation
cratloe - clare
austin stacks - kerry
ballad group
fossa - kerry
palasgrean - limerick
question time
rathmore - kerry
monaleen - limerick
novelty act
sixmilebridge - clare
kilmoyley - kerry
set dancing
lisseycasey - clare
glenflesk - kerry
great day for Kerry qualifying in all 8 competitions for the munster final
limerick qualified in 4
clare qualified in 3
Munster final in Templemore Sat 31st March
Having not entered the Scór for years we finally entered a few sections this year. One of our lads who would be very creative came up with his own piece for the recitation and by all accounts it's an absolute clinker. Unfortunately I can't get over to see the final but it should be a good one!
The Bomber did the business for us tonight fair play to him I heard it was an amazing performance ... Screen Abu!!!!!!
Any other results from last nights ulster final?
Took this from the Scór facebook page:
Ulster results.
Ceili - Tyrone
Solo - Fermanagh
Music - Derry
Recitation - Derry
Ballad - Antrim
Quiz - Cavan
Novelty - tyrone
Set - Monaghan
Munster final in Templemore Saturday 31st March 2012.
Quote from: downgirl on March 25, 2012, 10:31:37 PM
Took this from the Scór facebook page:
Ulster results.
Ceili - Tyrone
Solo - Fermanagh
Music - Derry
Recitation - Derry
Ballad - Antrim
Quiz - Cavan
Novelty - tyrone
Set - Monaghan
Thanks DG. any idea on the clubs?
good spread of representation for ulster it seems.
Ulster Scor Sinsear 2012 Results
Ceili Dancing - Omagh St. Enda's, Co. Tyrone
Solo Singing - Lorena Maguire, Derrygonnelly, Co. Fermanagh
Instrumental Music - Bellaghy, Co. Derry
Recitation - Raymond O'Hagan, Ballinascreen, Co. Derry
Ballad Group, Aghagallon, Co. Antrim
Novelty Act - Errigal Ciaran, Co. Tyrone
Set Dancing - Emyvale, Co. Monaghan
Quiz - Cornafean, Co. Cavan
It was a brilliant nights entertainment, with a very good spread of counties going forward to represent Ulster in the All-Ireland final!! Very good talent on show and a very high standard from Ulster this year again!! :D
Connaught final results
Connacht Scór Sinsear Champions 2012:
Figure: St. Marys, Leitrim
Solo: Niamh Farrell, Sligo
Instrumental: Claregalway
Recitation: Aidan Dockery, Leitrim
Ballad: St. Dominics, Roscommon
Quiz: Bornacoola, Leitrim
Novelty: Mohill, Leitrim
Sean nós: Catherine Hanly, Roscommon
Set: Abbeyknockmoy, Galway
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on March 26, 2012, 10:08:36 PM
What was the novelty act like and who else was competing in that category?
Would like to hear about the novelty act myself, I know all of the cast and hear it is very funny. I have not seen it yet but might head to Kilarney for the rip!!
Does anybody have results from the leinster finals
All I have are Munster:
Munster Scór Results:
Rince Foirne - Spa, Co Kerry,
Amhránaíocht Aonair -Moycarkey/Borris, Co Tipperary,
Ceol Uirlise - Glenflesk, Co Kerry,
Aithriseoireacht - J K Brackens, Co Tipperary,
Bailéad Ghrúpa - Pallasgreen, Co Limerick,
Tráth na gCeist - Monaleen, Co Limerick,
Nuachleas - Millstreet, Co Cork,
Rince Seit - Glenflesk, Co Kerry
Leinster results are as follows
Leinster results.
Ceili Offaly,
solo Westmeath,
music Offaly,
recitation Westmeath,
ballad Offaly,
quiz Offaly,
novelty Westmeath,
set Westmeath.
Only TWO counties won anything, all different clubs tho!!
Quote from: jen83 on April 02, 2012, 12:35:11 AM
Leinster results.
Ceili Offaly,
solo Westmeath,
music Offaly,
recitation Westmeath,
ballad Offaly,
quiz Offaly,
novelty Westmeath,
set Westmeath.
Good see Westmeath and 0offaly recover from their dreadful football league form!!!
Excellent Mnster final in Templemore the other night.
Quaility winners in all categories.
Think Munster will do well at this years All Ireland
Quote from: theticklemister on April 02, 2012, 09:51:44 AM
Quote from: jen83 on April 02, 2012, 12:35:11 AM
Leinster results.
Ceili Offaly,
solo Westmeath,
music Offaly,
recitation Westmeath,
ballad Offaly,
quiz Offaly,
novelty Westmeath,
set Westmeath.
Good see Westmeath and 0offaly recover from their dreadful football league form!!!
Ha ha at least they are good for somthing !! :) ;)
Anyone heading to the final in Killarney .................
Pints, discussion anyone !!!!
All-Ireland Scór Sinsear Champions 2012
Rince Foirne: Spa, Co Kerry
Amhránaíocht Aonair: St Mary's, Co Sligo
Ceol Uirlise: Belllaghy, Co Derry
Aithruseoireacht: Moate All Whites, Co Westmeath
Bailéad Ghrúpa: Clara, Co Offaly
Tráth na gCeisteanna: Bornacoola, Co Leitrim
Nuachleas: Errigal Ciaran, Co Tyrone
Rince Seit: Glenflesk, Co Kerry
well done Glenflesk and Spa
Congratulations to all the winners and commiserations to the other competitors. Amazing talent on display and a great spectacle. There must have been some very close calls in the judging.
Great day very good all irleand even though I had only 2 of the 8 winners picked.and that was the 2 kerry dancing teams spa in the figure and glenflesk in the set.
Had you lad from tipp or the girl from westmeath picked in the singing
Had Kerry picked in the music (although I had bllaghy next)
Had tipp in the recitation (with westmeth second)
Had the Offaly ballad group 4th from the list and the Tyrone novelty act 3rd
Overall though twas a mighty day
Good to see we have won something this year.
I hear she is an excellent singer
I believe there was a bit of controversy with the Trath nagCeist. Rumour has it there was an appeal on the day and another one been taken this week to Croke Park. Anyone hear about this?
I definitely think that there were a few Suss results. Those that would stand out for me were the solo singing, Ballad group & recitation . Solo singing should have sent to girl from Westmeath, I Tought she was miles in front of anyone else there- this seemed to be the general consensus of anyone I spoke with also, same with ballad group- Tought Limerick myself had something special & Tipperary in the recitation. This however is scor where sometimes not necessarily the best act wins, it was overheard in the bar after from a scor official "sure isnt it great every provence got two titles, brilliant to keep an interest but not necessarily fair.
Surely the whole "two titles each" thing is a red herring. Offaly instrumental, antrim ballad group and Galway setts could've won as well imo.
Quote from: jen83 on April 24, 2012, 11:25:05 PM
I definitely think that there were a few Suss results. Those that would stand out for me were the solo singing, Ballad group & recitation . Solo singing should have sent to girl from Westmeath, I Tought she was miles in front of anyone else there- this seemed to be the general consensus of anyone I spoke with also, same with ballad group- Tought Limerick myself had something special & Tipperary in the recitation. This however is scor where sometimes not necessarily the best act wins, it was overheard in the bar after from a scor official "sure isnt it great every provence got two titles, brilliant to keep an interest but not necessarily fair.
yea i noticed that on the day with the 2 titles for every province ......and your man is right a nice even keel for everyone
but have to agree with your synopsis of the above
whilst i would have loved to see the limerick ballaf group win they are exceptionally talented but unfortunately the limerick contingent may have been slightly"bored" with them as we have heard them so often but the majority of the people would not be so familiar with them hence i can see your take on them having something special.
would agree with you on the recitation and solo singing though
but as we always here "sure thats scor"
we'll all be back jawing again next year I am sure
Quote from: Oldira on April 24, 2012, 04:37:38 PM
I believe there was a bit of controversy with the Trath nagCeist. Rumour has it there was an appeal on the day and another one been taken this week to Croke Park. Anyone hear about this?
yes i believe the runners up were quite irate on saturday and indeed intend to put in an objection
havent heard any outcome of that yet though
Anyone have the questions for the Tráth na ngCeist?
Also, any videos available of the finals?
Quote from: qwerty123 on April 27, 2012, 03:28:38 PM
Anyone have the questions for the Tráth na ngCeist?
Also, any videos available of the finals?
Aye anybody have the questions , I would just like to compare to the derry scor questions.
Derry scor committee have don't excellent this year; well done to them all.
Quote from: limerickperson on April 27, 2012, 01:15:30 PM
Quote from: Oldira on April 24, 2012, 04:37:38 PM
yes i believe the runners up were quite irate on saturday and indeed intend to put in an objection
havent heard any outcome of that yet though
But sure what's central council going to do, have never heard of anyone having an appeal rightfully dealt with after an all Ireland. It's very silly. I've witnessed very poor judgements in my time and they have never been upheld. I wasn't in the hall for the question time but heard what went on. I feel so sorry for Cornafean, they def have a case.
What exactly happened in the Question Time? I've heard nothing about it, but from the posts on here it sounds quite controversial.
the best team won the quiz in my opinion. Quizmaster was excepting surnames as answers for the team questions. Bornacoola gave a surname as their first answer to a team question. Without being asked they added an incorrect christian name. First answer is the one that counts and quizmaster accepted it.
Cornafean proved to be poor sports and openly questioned the quizmaster in the tie break. The question was There are three world heritage sites in ireland, bru na boinne and the giants causeway are two, name the third ?
A cornafean member questioned the quizmaster and insisted that the question was wrong, then they proceeded to give two answers to the question, The giants causeway and skellig michael. As Skellig michael was correct and the giants causeway was in the question the answer was accepted. this gave cornafean a 3 3 tie and the two teams progressed to the second tie break round. Bornacoola won this round 2 0 and were declared champions.
cornafean proved to be bad sports and sore loosers in my opinion. ~i was actually at the quiz, unllike many of the previous posters.
Cornafean actually missed four of their last seven questions while bornacoola got 6 from seven. for an experienced team with multiple previous wins cornafean let themselves down badly.
the objection was to the accepting of the Bornacoola answer in the team questions.
As for the comments that the two wins per province was a set up... this is a silly conspiracy theory that holds absolutely no basis. All competitions are judged by different judges. No judge knows the outcome until it is announced at the end of the night. Just because a judge gave a team 1st doesnt mean that they will win... there are four for each competition. The marks are handed to the coordinator after each competition so there is no way the winning teams could be divided in such a way.