GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: armaghranger12 on February 13, 2012, 02:19:54 PM

Title: All Ireland Club Senior Semi-Finals
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 13, 2012, 02:19:54 PM
Just taught id start this as where only 5 day away from the games..

In the 1st game I fancy St.Brigid's experience and individual brilliants to be too much for the local neighbours Garrycastle. It's an interesting game as first cousin will be pitting there wits against each other.  With S Kilbride at full-forward they have a real mach winner.

The 2nd game is the one that really catches my eye.  It's a battle of two of the best corner forwards the game has at the minute. The sheer brilliance of the Gooch and the goal getting and eye for a pass of Jamie Clarke.  However don't forget about the Mc Conville and O'Leary on their day also lethal forwards.

I do fancy a repeat of last years final, but wouldn't see it as any upset if it wasn't to occur.

What's the taughts people???? 
Title: Re: All Ireland Club Senior Semi-Finals
Post by: Rossfan on February 13, 2012, 02:32:28 PM
I think some spelling lessons first  :D
Post by: Keane on February 13, 2012, 04:51:57 PM
Looking forward to it. Don't really pay as much attention to the latter stages of this competition as I should usually as Kerry teams are rarely involved but can't wait to see Crokes match up against the mighty Crossmaglen.
Post by: ross4life on February 13, 2012, 05:03:33 PM
Two intriguing semi finals disappointing i can't watch both live but that's the GAA for you  ::) I have a feeling we'll get a shock in one of the games, Garrycastle has been the really fairy tale story of this seasons club championship not many would have given them a chance to win leinster but they did beating some fine teams along the way they won't fear there local neighbours i just hope our lads have enough experience to get over the line.

The break probably came at a wrong time for Cross? arguably they look better than last years winning team with more scoring forwards now,Dr Crokes like most kerry sides are a team on a mission would be foolish to write them off.
Post by: bennydorano on February 13, 2012, 05:14:44 PM
Cross keep raising the bar, their change of style to a far more attack minded style of play does mean they could in theory be more porous at the back - no team has got even close to testing out that theory this year however.  I doubt Crokes will be as intimidated by Cross as all the Ulster teams, who seemed to be paralysed this year.  Still hard to see Cross being downed.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2012, 05:49:07 PM
No major injuries and no rows for me to make up :P. The big factor I feel for our boys may be that it has been a very long 2 years for this team both on and off the field and it is hard to know if they can go to the reserves again. Crokes have improved game on game and have been playing competitve football up to a few weeks ago so will be match sharp. We have been sluggish and lethargic after Christmas and I don't think we will win. Also fucked off big time as I am ruled out from travelling, BC jnr has a basketball 1/4 final on Saturday morning and I can't see us making it in time. Hopefully get something sorted but aint looking good. Crokes by 3  :'(
Post by: yellowcard on February 13, 2012, 05:51:55 PM
Fancy Brigids to edge their game and Crossmaglen to win convincingly.
Post by: Onlooker on February 13, 2012, 08:55:07 PM
I am going for a Garrycastle v. Crossmaglen final.
Post by: ardchieftain on February 13, 2012, 09:17:09 PM
Cross will be stuffed. Sure, they're over rated and we all know that Armagh teams never beat the mighty kingdom men.   Cross will have no motivation either, sure there's no segregation now
Jamie has been on the piss for months and Oisin must be near 50.
Crokes by 27

that good enough bcb?
Post by: johnpower on February 13, 2012, 11:03:06 PM
Cross as defending champs will be favoured I assume hard to know about the other game .
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 14, 2012, 04:43:46 AM
Is the Crokes/Cross match going to be televised?

If not any website streaming it online/radio?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 14, 2012, 09:13:10 AM
Quote from: ross4life on February 13, 2012, 05:03:33 PM
Two intriguing semi finals disappointing i can't watch both live but that's the GAA for you  ::) I have a feeling we'll get a shock in one of the games, Garrycastle has been the really fairy tale story of this seasons club championship not many would have given them a chance to win leinster but they did beating some fine teams along the way they won't fear there local neighbours i just hope our lads have enough experience to get over the line.

The break probably came at a wrong time for Cross? arguably they look better than last years winning team with more scoring forwards now,Dr Crokes like most kerry sides are a team on a mission would be foolish to write them off.

They were up there with the favourites r4l, and with Brigids and Portlaoise on the other side of the draw they were tipped to make the final at least. They have been there or thereabouts for the last three years so not a major surprise.

I fear Brigids experience at this level will tip it for them as I don't see much in it. Not looking likely I'll get to go to this. f**king. Raging.
Post by: Magicsponge on February 14, 2012, 09:26:05 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on February 14, 2012, 04:43:46 AM
Is the Crokes/Cross match going to be televised?

If not any website streaming it online/radio?

I think it is on TG4, coverage starts at half one and match at 2. I think the Crossmaglen V Dr Crokes match is on live and the Garrycastle V St Brigid's match is deferred
Post by: regal on February 14, 2012, 09:38:21 AM
It will be interesting to see who Cross pick to mark (not literally) the gooch - either pkernan or jmorgan I presume? I would love to see jmorgan given the job to see how he gets on. Cross should be too strong with jclarke being the difference.
Post by: sheamy on February 14, 2012, 09:50:00 AM
Cross v Crokes game being shown deferred, not live  :D :D :D
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 14, 2012, 09:55:25 AM
Really looking forward to the Crokes v Cross game. It could and probably will be of a better standard than many inter county games. Real contrast in styles between the 2 teams aswell, although both can mix it up a bit too. I was impressed with Cross in the Ballinderry game in particular..didn't panic even when the comeback was mounted and still kicked on to win the game. I think they will try to slow Crokes down on the ball and get the ball to Jamie Clarke first and foremost themselves. I don't know who Cross will put on Gooch (along with covering in front of him I'm guessing) but neither of the Crokes corner backs are top class, so Clarke could cause some difficulty for them if a lot of ball is going in.
Bookies have Cross 4/7 basis and I may have to back Crokes for sheer potential value as it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if they kncoked in a few goals which proved match-winners. Overall though, all things considered, I think Cross will possibly come through by 1-3 points.
Post by: regal on February 14, 2012, 10:09:19 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 14, 2012, 09:55:25 AM
Really looking forward to the Crokes v Cross game. It could and probably will be of a better standard than many inter county games. Real contrast in styles between the 2 teams aswell, although both can mix it up a bit too. I was impressed with Cross in the Ballinderry game in particular..didn't panic even when the comeback was mounted and still kicked on to win the game. I think they will try to slow Crokes down on the ball and get the ball to Jamie Clarke first and foremost themselves. I don't know who Cross will put on Gooch (along with covering in front of him I'm guessing) but neither of the Crokes corner backs are top class, so Clarke could cause some difficulty for them if a lot of ball is going in.
Bookies have Cross 4/7 basis and I may have to back Crokes for sheer potential value as it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if they kncoked in a few goals which proved match-winners. Overall though, all things considered, I think Cross will possibly come through by 1-3 points.

I don't think Cross will alter their tactics because of gooch. They will go man to man in defense whilst trying to limit the ball going into him. James morgan is an exceptional talent and will hopefully start on gooch. Does the gooch spend much time in the half forwards for his club?
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 14, 2012, 10:16:06 AM
Quote from: regal on February 14, 2012, 10:09:19 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 14, 2012, 09:55:25 AM

I don't think Cross will alter their tactics because of gooch. They will go man to man in defense whilst trying to limit the ball going into him. James morgan is an exceptional talent and will hopefully start on gooch. Does the gooch spend much time in the half forwards for his club?

They can vary it and bring him out yeah...O'Leary and Doolin are natural corner-forwards aswell, so they don't mind that...and whatever about County level, but O'Leary is a potential match winner at this level. Gooch has a great understanding with him. Its all very well saying you'll stick with man to man and limit the ball coming in, but if Gooch is left 1 on 1, it means trouble so i would expect there to be a Cross man outside him at least 75% of the time he makes his first turn, if you know what i mean.
Post by: rrhf on February 14, 2012, 10:28:20 AM
Did the Crokes manage to get a seperate area for their supporters or what way did that pan out?
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 14, 2012, 10:30:40 AM
You must not spend much time watching Cross play. I have been watching them for many a year and I can't remember a game where they played with a sweeper and I don't think that they will change for this game and rightly so.  They will go man to man and if the defenders are not fit to do the job they were giving they will be taking off and a new defender in. I agree that O'Leary is a potential match winner but if the Cross midfielders and half Forwards put the pressure on their player like they have done all during Ulster and Last year the ball going into them players will be poor.

At the other end do the Crokes have good enough defenders to look after Clarke and Mc Conville?   
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 14, 2012, 11:10:20 AM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 14, 2012, 10:30:40 AM
You must not spend much time watching Cross play. I have been watching them for many a year and I can't remember a game where they played with a sweeper and I don't think that they will change for this game and rightly so.  They will go man to man and if the defenders are not fit to do the job they were giving they will be taking off and a new defender in. I agree that O'Leary is a potential match winner but if the Cross midfielders and half Forwards put the pressure on their player like they have done all during Ulster and Last year the ball going into them players will be poor.

At the other end do the Crokes have good enough defenders to look after Clarke and Mc Conville?

Hasn't been too many defenders that have managed Clarke. So picking up McConville who i think links up a lot of play is the main man to mark.

It's who has best prepared over the break that usually wins. Cross have been doing it right for so many years they will be properly prepared no matter what BC1 says here. If Crokes have prepared properly and geared their training around playing Cross and trying to work on their weakness (Ha Cross having weaknesses) then they might have a shot. If they are bullish to think 'we'll concentrate on our game' then they will get beat.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2012, 11:12:02 AM
How many All Irelands have Cross won, and how many Ulsters?

Edit, just went to their website to check. 5 and 8 respectively. That's a fair strike rate coming out of Ulster in fairness. I remember Portlaoise beat them, who else beat them?
Post by: armaghniac on February 14, 2012, 11:21:46 AM
I think Cross' have only been beaten in the AI series by Leinster teams. Portlaoise ( a surprise perhaps) and the Dublin mega clubs Kilmacud and Vincents. Time for Munster to strike a blow!
This game has several of the best forwards in Ireland on show, it should be great to watch. 
Post by: sheamy on February 14, 2012, 11:53:24 AM
TG4 have changed what they originally announced. Cross game is live now. Good stuff.

[Correction: It was the GAA press release which was wrong. TG4 were consistent]
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2012, 12:18:54 PM
I look forward to an in-depth gaaboard analysis of every single incident in the Cross-Crokes game.
Please support your conclusions with blurry photographs and slow-motion youtube clips.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2012, 12:25:37 PM
I might go and bring a camcorder. I'll have it focussed on poor Gooch. I expect to have to rate it '18' for extreme violence and, possibly, intimate scenes.
Post by: DuffleKing on February 14, 2012, 12:30:19 PM

Cross have regularly employed francie as a sweeper in latter years. In tony mc / gon's first year in charge they used this tactic in virtually every championship game
Post by: sheamy on February 14, 2012, 12:31:53 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 14, 2012, 12:18:54 PM
I look forward to an in-depth gaaboard analysis of every single incident in the Cross-Crokes game.
Please support your conclusions with blurry photographs and slow-motion youtube clips.

not forgetting the motto 'he who edits and uploads [to youtube] fastest, wins...'

'Mmmmm, Cross by 5 methinks'

(http://www.finfacts.ie/artman/uploads/2/Joe-Duffy_RTE_Feb012009.jpg)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 14, 2012, 12:34:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 14, 2012, 12:25:37 PM
I might go and bring a camcorder. I'll have it focussed on poor Gooch. I expect to have to rate it '18' for extreme violence and, possibly, intimate scenes.

Do really think Gooch will stoop that low, I alwasy thought he'd focus generally on his football.

We used a sweeper last year in a number of games but not once this year.  It is very much man for man and players have their own job to do. 
Post by: Canalman on February 14, 2012, 12:35:09 PM
They played a sweeper against KC last year in the AISF. 2 sweepers even after the sending off of Nolan.
Post by: LeoMc on February 14, 2012, 12:36:07 PM
Remember it is not the winning that counts but the PR battle fro hearts and minds afterwards.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 14, 2012, 12:37:08 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on February 14, 2012, 12:36:07 PM
Remember it is not the winning that counts but the PR battle fro hearts and minds afterwards.

Suck me hole, it's all about winning!
Post by: LeoMc on February 14, 2012, 12:53:45 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 14, 2012, 12:37:08 PM

And that is why they want ye in cages. ;D

Good luck on Sunday.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 14, 2012, 12:55:05 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on February 14, 2012, 12:53:45 PM

Good luck on Sunday.

Thanks for that but I would prefer good luck wishes for Saturday if it's all the same to you, though I may need luck to deal with any fallout from Saturday!!!
Post by: LeoMc on February 14, 2012, 12:59:42 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 14, 2012, 12:55:05 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on February 14, 2012, 12:53:45 PM

Good luck on Sunday. Saturday

Thanks for that but I would prefer good luck wishes for Saturday if it's all the same to you, though I may need luck to deal with any fallout from Saturday!!!

Doh.
Saturday suits me better so glad to see that.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2012, 01:05:42 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 14, 2012, 12:34:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 14, 2012, 12:25:37 PM

Do really think Gooch will stoop that low, I alwasy thought he'd focus generally on his football.

We used a sweeper last year in a number of games but not once this year.  It is very much man for man and players have their own job to do.

You can't trust the fecker.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 14, 2012, 05:27:45 PM
Quote from: sheamy on February 14, 2012, 11:53:24 AM
TG4 have changed what they originally announced. Cross game is live now. Good stuff.

[Correction: It was the GAA press release which was wrong. TG4 were consistent]

Both games should have been live one on Saturday the other on Sunday or one played following weekend.

Post by: armaghniac on February 14, 2012, 05:33:01 PM
QuoteBoth games should have been live one on Saturday the other on Sunday or one played following weekend.

30 minute game. Can they not play one one place at 2:00pm and the other at 3:30, both live on TV. Grounds have floodlights nowadays, although it wouldn't be too dark a lot of days at 4:45.
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2012, 05:41:16 PM
Who would have the better 'PR machine' of the two teams?
I'd say Dr Crokes machine will be pretty slick but will eventually be bludgeoned into submission by the Cross machine (which runs on green diesel).
Post by: crossfire on February 14, 2012, 08:52:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 14, 2012, 11:12:02 AM
How many All Irelands have Cross won, and how many Ulsters?

Edit, just went to their website to check. 5 and 8 respectively. That's a fair strike rate coming out of Ulster in fairness. I remember Portlaoise beat them, who else beat them?

Cross have won 9 Ulster titles since 1996.
Post by: armaghniac on February 14, 2012, 10:03:45 PM
QuoteCross have won 9 Ulster titles since 1996.

Yes. They only update their website with the various trophies won at the end of the season.
Post by: dundrumite on February 15, 2012, 12:48:10 AM
lads what time is throw in?
Post by: Syferus on February 15, 2012, 12:51:01 AM
Quote from: dundrumite on February 15, 2012, 12:48:10 AM
lads what time is throw in?

2pm!
Post by: LeoMc on February 15, 2012, 12:48:03 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 14, 2012, 10:03:45 PM
QuoteCross have won 9 Ulster titles since 1996.

Yes. They only update their website with the various trophies won at the end of the season.

too much updating otherwise!
Post by: Rossfan on February 15, 2012, 06:42:22 PM
Best of luck to the lads from Kiltoom and Cam as they enter battle with the gang from the "Leinster side".
Hopefully they are experienced enough to cope with the favouriteism that's heaped on them.
However loacalised squabbles like this take on a life of their own so anything is possible.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 16, 2012, 10:32:55 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 15, 2012, 06:42:22 PM
Best of luck to the lads from Kiltoom and Cam as they enter battle with the gang from the "Leinster side".
Hopefully they are experienced enough to cope with the favouriteism that's heaped on them.
However loacalised squabbles like this take on a life of their own so anything is possible.

No sides to Athlone, it's all in Leinster. Any more lip and we'll look to extend the boundary to the Hudson Bay!!!
Post by: Rossfan on February 16, 2012, 11:22:46 AM
Anyone I ever knew from Athlone were always very animated about which "side" people were from.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 16, 2012, 11:36:52 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 16, 2012, 11:22:46 AM
Anyone I ever knew from Athlone were always very animated about which "side" people were from.

They must have been all Westmeath people  :D
Post by: Syferus on February 16, 2012, 12:59:01 PM
Just noticed on the county website that the stand tickets are only available pre-sale and then from the club or one SuperValu in Athlone, neither of which are convient options. The GAA.ie (run by Ticketmaster) site has tickets but postage will take too long. There's an option to 'pick up at the box office' but I'd doubt how possible that would be at Pearse Park. Anyone with any experience on that front?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 16, 2012, 01:12:53 PM
Usually that's fine. It's a caravan that's pulled in beside the ground. You see them at all the games.
Post by: Rossfan on February 16, 2012, 03:07:24 PM
Pearse can hold about 15,000 so I imagine there will be plenty of standing room available on the uncovered side.
Post by: Syferus on February 16, 2012, 04:10:29 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 16, 2012, 03:07:24 PM
Pearse can hold about 15,000 so I imagine there will be plenty of standing room available on the uncovered side.

Which would be the problem! Weather isn't promised terribly bad, but rain is very much possible and there will be noticeable wind.

I'd wonder where the ticket caravan would be given that the stand is all-ticket so there would be no point having it there, I'd guess it'd have to be the terrace side if anywhere? I'd hate to find it, have tickets booked and they stand looking at me dumb-founded without any knowledge of the tickets.
Post by: ross4life on February 16, 2012, 11:37:59 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 16, 2012, 10:32:55 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 15, 2012, 06:42:22 PM

No sides to Athlone, it's all in Leinster. Any more lip and we'll look to extend the boundary to the Hudson Bay!!!
Yeah & all of Carrick on Shannon is in Leitrim.

Post by: rory on February 17, 2012, 12:27:21 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2012, 05:49:07 PM
Also fucked off big time as I am ruled out from travelling, BC jnr has a basketball 1/4 final on Saturday morning and I can't see us making it in time. Hopefully get something sorted but aint looking good. Crokes by 3  :'(

It's the last league game this saturday BC, not a quarter final.  Games at 10, should be over by 11.30, 2 hours down the road you'll make the Cross game :)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 17, 2012, 03:00:09 PM
Quote from: rory on February 17, 2012, 12:27:21 PM
Also fucked off big time as I am ruled out from travelling, BC jnr has a basketball 1/4 final on Saturday morning and I can't see us making it in time. Hopefully get something sorted but aint looking good. Crokes by 3  :'(

It's the last league game this saturday BC, not a quarter final.  Games at 10, should be over by 11.30, 2 hours down the road you'll make the Cross game :)

Jeez where have you been hiding??? I thought the way he was talking it was 1/4 final, shure I may leave him on his own then, it doesn't really count ;). Fast and all as I drive I don't think my old jallopi would make it in one piece nevermind in time!!! May just have to watch it in the pub ;D
Post by: Feckitt on February 17, 2012, 03:48:49 PM
 Is the fella who went AWOL from the British Army still playing for Dr Crokes?

Please say yes !!
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 17, 2012, 04:16:11 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 17, 2012, 03:48:49 PM
Is the fella who went AWOL from the British Army still playing for Dr Crokes?

Please say yes !!
#

whats the story behind this? Sounds amusing?
Post by: Feckitt on February 17, 2012, 04:32:17 PM
Shortly after the 2009 All-Ireland Final between Cross & Dr Crokes, it emerged that a warrant for the arrest of one of the Crokes players was issued in London because he had gone AWOL from the British Army. 
Unfortunately none of the Crossmaglen players were aware that there was a Brit on the opposing team at the time of the final.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 17, 2012, 04:56:15 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 17, 2012, 04:32:17 PM
Shortly after the 2009 All-Ireland Final between Cross & Dr Crokes, it emerged that a warrant for the arrest of one of the Crokes players was issued in London because he had gone AWOL from the British Army. 
Unfortunately none of the Crossmaglen players were aware that there was a Brit on the opposing team at the time of the final.

This is a new one by me anyway! Who is the player do you know?
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 17, 2012, 05:07:54 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 17, 2012, 04:56:15 PM

That a cracking story, any news on who the player was or is that classified ?
Post by: Jinxy on February 17, 2012, 05:34:24 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 17, 2012, 03:00:09 PM
Quote from: rory on February 17, 2012, 12:27:21 PM

Jeez where have you been hiding??? I thought the way he was talking it was 1/4 final, shure I may leave him on his own then, it doesn't really count ;). Fast and all as I drive I don't think my old jallopi would make it in one piece nevermind in time!!! May just have to watch it in the pub ;D

"Sure I'll wait for the final."
Typical Cross arrogance!
Post by: Feckitt on February 17, 2012, 07:20:51 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 17, 2012, 05:07:54 PM

Can't find any link to it on t'internet but it was definitely reported at the time.
Post by: NP 76 on February 17, 2012, 07:23:46 PM
Just would like to wish Cross all the best for tommorrow
Post by: muppet on February 17, 2012, 10:02:40 PM

His name is Johnny McCromwell but Crokes cleverly list him as A. N. Peep O'Day. You can catch him out Great Escape style (or Father Manus Sweeney) by putting out a hand before the throw in and saying 'Jolly good luck old chap'. If he says 'Yerra' followed by incoherent mumbling, he is your man.
Post by: Feckitt on February 17, 2012, 10:05:25 PM
muppet you are such a w**ker
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 17, 2012, 10:16:37 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 17, 2012, 10:02:40 PM

His name is Johnny McCromwell but Crokes cleverly list him as A. N. Peep O'Day. You can catch him out Great Escape style (or Father Manus Sweeney) by putting out a hand before the throw in and saying 'Jolly good luck old chap'. If he says 'Yerra' followed by incoherent mumbling, he is your man.

Post by: muppet on February 17, 2012, 10:18:25 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 17, 2012, 10:05:25 PM
muppet you are such a w**ker

My post was more credible than yours.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 18, 2012, 09:21:27 AM
Just after reading an interview by K.O'Leary in the sun saying that they have been adding physically to their training session so that they can cope with the Cross tactics.  Does he not understand that Cross dont play this Blanket defence as he described it. Even the Kerry great spillane reconigised that Cross has change the face of football by kicking the ball. What a Prat he is.
Post by: dubes on February 18, 2012, 09:30:46 AM
The guy that went AWOL was a fella called MacMahon, a big ginger that used to play center back for them, its a true story...
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 18, 2012, 09:50:10 AM
Quote from: dubes on February 18, 2012, 09:30:46 AM
The guy that went AWOL was a fella called MacMahon, a big ginger that used to play center back for them, its a true story...

its very hard to believe that story. however i was looking out for his name the other day in the Crokes squad and didnt see it so that may make it a tad more realistic.
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2012, 11:40:00 AM
Some say the devil is dead, or playing for Killarney
More say he headed off and joined the British Army

Hoping for a good game today and no need for video evidence.

Post by: ardchieftain on February 18, 2012, 12:30:10 PM
Best of luck to Crossmaglen today
Post by: muppet on February 18, 2012, 01:34:17 PM

Anyway, be telling me, what competition was this "2009 All-Ireland Final between Cross & Dr Crokes"?
Post by: Jinxy on February 18, 2012, 01:36:40 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 18, 2012, 09:21:27 AM
Just after reading an interview by K.O'Leary in the sun saying that they have been adding physically to their training session so that they can cope with the Cross tactics.  Does he not understand that Cross dont play this Blanket defence as he described it. Even the Kerry great spillane reconigised that Cross has change the face of football by kicking the ball. What a Prat he is.

Oh my God.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 18, 2012, 01:37:38 PM
Good luck to Crossmaglen today.
Post by: EC Unique on February 18, 2012, 01:46:47 PM
Good luck cross. I hope you hammer them.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 18, 2012, 01:50:01 PM
I know the match is on TG4 but the streaming won't work here in the states.

Does anyone have a link, like justin tv, that would have the match or even a website for a radio broadcast?

Thanks
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 18, 2012, 01:56:56 PM
http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/35492/1/crossmaglen-vs-dr-crokes---(all-ireland-club-sfc)-live-stream-online.html (http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/35492/1/crossmaglen-vs-dr-crokes---(all-ireland-club-sfc)-live-stream-online.html)
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:07:22 PM
Some start by Crokes - there should be 5 points in it at this stage - goal chance missed by Crokes - Cross giving Crokes too much room surprisingly.

3-1 to crokes after 6 minutes.
Post by: yellowcard on February 18, 2012, 02:09:42 PM
Crokes players all seem very comfortable on the ball. Cross playing the swarm defence today.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:15:12 PM
Bad blow for Cross - O'Callaghan forced off with injury.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 18, 2012, 02:16:41 PM
Definitely not going to script!
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:17:30 PM
5-1 to Crokes - Cross have the wind.
Post by: yellowcard on February 18, 2012, 02:18:28 PM
Brosnan is like a steam train. Cross can't get good supply into their full forward line.
Post by: thejuice on February 18, 2012, 02:19:27 PM
very blowy out there.

good start by Crokes but the ref is giving them some fairly soft frees.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 18, 2012, 02:20:17 PM
Cross can't get out of their own half with the wind.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:21:17 PM
Crokes 1-5 Cross 0-1 after 20 mins

Cross will do well to recover from this.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 18, 2012, 02:21:55 PM
Goal for croakes, had to be square ball.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 18, 2012, 02:22:30 PM
Now we see what kind of team Cross have, some start from Crokes!
Post by: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 02:22:33 PM
That was coming. Myles - Cross are playing with the wind.
Post by: thejuice on February 18, 2012, 02:22:51 PM
had to be, that stupid f**king rule needs to change.
Post by: Rossie11 on February 18, 2012, 02:23:55 PM
Bridgets 1-3 Garrycastle 0-5
Mannion penalty goal
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 18, 2012, 02:24:04 PM
Coldrick clearly doesn't understand the square ball rule....
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:24:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 18, 2012, 02:22:19 PM
Have seen Cross a number of times this year and thought they would walk the AI. Can't see them winning this....

Cross got off to great starts in their previous games - It's Crokes who have blitzed them this time.

Game on now - 1-5 to 1-2

Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 18, 2012, 02:24:40 PM
What a reply!
Post by: yellowcard on February 18, 2012, 02:25:02 PM
That wind definitely seems to have got stronger, goal for Cross
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 18, 2012, 02:25:57 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 02:22:33 PM

That's what I said!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 18, 2012, 02:26:05 PM
Fecking stream went off! Any other links?
Post by: thejuice on February 18, 2012, 02:26:23 PM
the VIPbox link has gone down for me. any others?
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:28:29 PM
Very open game.

The wind must be very strong. Crokes opting to play a lot of shorts from the frees they're getting.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 18, 2012, 02:30:09 PM
tried refreshing now says "you are missing plug in to play videos" then if you click it goes to a different site.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 18, 2012, 02:31:45 PM
Cross have 3 subs made already, 1-6 to 1-3 to crokes
Post by: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 02:31:52 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 18, 2012, 02:27:24 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 18, 2012, 02:25:57 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 02:22:33 PM

That's what I said!
I picked you up wrong too. I thought you meant that they couldn't get out of their own half because of the wind.
Cavan English.
Post by: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 02:35:10 PM
Coldrick thinks it's 35-minute half, I think.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:35:20 PM
Half time Crokes 1-6 Cross 1-4

Good game - makes for an interesting 2nd half.

Crokes have played most of the football and Crokes having been 7 up, Cross will definitely go in happy enough that they're within touching distance of Crokes.
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 02:37:21 PM
Yeah, Crokes have been by far the better team and looked like pulling away when they got the goal. Cross will be glad to be still in the game.
Interesting to see how both sides handle the wind in the second half.

What's the score in Longford?
Post by: yellowcard on February 18, 2012, 02:38:26 PM
Cross started off far too negative. Playing 10 men behind the ball with the wind is not a good idea. That start could come back to haunt them but write them off at your peril. Dubious enoughoking goal for Crokes, it was borderline square ball. Would like to see the replay.  Crokes have played all the football though.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 18, 2012, 02:39:22 PM
Will be interesting to see if cross have a good enough running game into the wind in the 2nd half.
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2012, 02:41:29 PM
Cross very slow to start. The wind is all over the place, less of a disadvantage to Crokes with their shorter game. Precision long passes a bit tricky for Cross today.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:43:13 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on February 18, 2012, 02:38:26 PM
Cross started off far too negative. Playing 10 men behind the ball with the wind is not a good idea. That start could come back to haunt them but write them off at your peril. Dubious enoughoking goal for Crokes, it was borderline square ball. Would like to see the replay.  Crokes have played all the football though.

It was a definite square ball - he was parked in the square before the ball came in.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 18, 2012, 02:45:09 PM
Cross would need a better performance from Jamie Clarke in the second half, he's had a bit of a shocker so far!
Post by: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 02:46:05 PM
Definitely.

You'd have to imagine playing into that gale won't suit Cross's game.
Post by: blast05 on February 18, 2012, 02:46:17 PM
Bridgids 2 up and will play with a stiff breeze in 2nd half. Either 6 or 7 Garrycastle lads with yellow cards... although Bridgids players falling very very easy. Hard to see anything other than Bridgids by 5 or 6 .... although as I type breeze has eased very significantly!
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 02:47:13 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:43:13 PM

It was a definite square ball - he was parked in the square before the ball came in.

I dunno, I thought that at first, but the camera from behind the goal suggested he ran in. Only saw the replay once though, so would like to see it again.
Post by: yellowcard on February 18, 2012, 02:48:35 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:43:13 PM

Yep, agreed 100% square ball, umpires are like chocolate teapots.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 18, 2012, 02:49:02 PM
Very noticeable that McConville wanted to go closer to goal before hitting that point. I think that wind is swirling about and maybe isn't as much of an advantage as people think.

Still think Cross to take this. Jamie Clarke can't ne so anonymous again.

Crokes giving them their own medicine and bottling them up well though.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 18, 2012, 02:50:13 PM
Crokes goal was the most obvious square ball you will ever see. How the umpires didn't see that is baffling. That said they should probably be further ahead at the break. Missed a lot of good chances.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:53:00 PM
Cross get another goal -

Cross were down by 7 - now up by 2.

Some team.

Should be gane over now.

Have Crokes anything left ?
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 02:53:35 PM
Jesus, that's poor goalkeeping. Got a belt on the head from the post for his troubles as well.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 18, 2012, 02:55:19 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on February 18, 2012, 02:26:05 PM

Carmen did you find anything?
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:55:48 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 02:53:35 PM
Jesus, that's poor goalkeeping. Got a belt on the head from the post for his troubles as well.

To be fair to the keeper the ball came off the inside of the post and in - the keeper got caught out with the first one as well getting beat in the inside.

Cross 3 up now - game over.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on February 18, 2012, 02:56:39 PM
Definately a square ball for the Crokes goal. The umpires aren't able to call a square ball, its only the ref that can call it.

Some turn around for Cross. 7 down to 3 up. They never know whey they are beaten.
Post by: blast05 on February 18, 2012, 02:57:46 PM
Garrycastle 2 up !
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:58:24 PM
Brosnan has had a stormer today.

Clarke pulling the strings now for Cross.

4 in it to Cross. Crokes could go home at this stage.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 18, 2012, 02:58:51 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 18, 2012, 02:58:04 PM
Jamie Clarke is a class act!

He is - great score!!
Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2012, 02:59:55 PM
Some game. I'd a feeling playing into the wine would suit Cross.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:00:36 PM
A lot of blood spilled today.
Post by: yellowcard on February 18, 2012, 03:01:33 PM
The Cross machine rolls on. Some turnaround. Crokes look a beaten side, Cross have grinded them down like they do. Great score by Clarke.
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:03:07 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 02:58:24 PM
Brosnan has had a stormer today.

Clarke pulling the strings now for Cross.

4 in it to Cross. Crokes could go home at this stage.

Why? Cross aren't that unbeatable. Crokes made them look very ordinary earlier on. Odds against them now, but your dismissive comments are unfair.

Oh, red card!! Things just got interesting!
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:03:41 PM
Seemed a very harsh red card in the replay....
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:05:24 PM
I'm not being dismissive -

It's just that most teams would not be able to recover from being 7 up to 4 down.

And Cross will beat them with 14 men into the bargain.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:06:12 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:03:41 PM
Seemed a very harsh red card in the replay....

I thought it was red card in real time before the replay.
Post by: Midman on February 18, 2012, 03:07:05 PM
what was it for?
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:07:33 PM
Quote from: Midman on February 18, 2012, 03:07:05 PM
what was it for?
[/quote

Strike
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 18, 2012, 03:08:00 PM
Crokes crap playing with the wind.
Post by: blast05 on February 18, 2012, 03:08:26 PM
David Shaughnessey 2nd yellow for Garrycastle ... Castle 2 up ... 11 minutes to go
Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2012, 03:08:40 PM
McKenna can be a clumsy hoor at times.
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:10:03 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:05:24 PM

It's just that most teams would not be able to recover from being 7 up to 4 down.

We'll see  :D ;)
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:10:35 PM
Game on again.

Some substitution.

2-7 a piece now - 8 minutes left.
Post by: seanaglis on February 18, 2012, 03:11:40 PM
Coldrick is trying his best to give this one to the crokes.

Definite square ball for their goal and i dont know what the sending off was for.

Jamie Clarke can win a ball
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:11:55 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:10:03 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:05:24 PM

We'll see  :D ;)

we'll see  :D ;D
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:12:15 PM
Fuckin' hell  :D
Post by: haranguerer on February 18, 2012, 03:12:45 PM
f**k I love Cross - unreal
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 18, 2012, 03:13:28 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on February 18, 2012, 02:55:19 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on February 18, 2012, 02:26:05 PM

Carmen did you find anything?

Nothing, listening to it on Radio Kerry.
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:14:40 PM
Is that Cooper lad playing at all?
Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2012, 03:15:06 PM
Cross have far better footballers and playing into the wind suits their foot-passing game. Unless you're prepared to shoot from distance it's pointless trying to pass accurately into the corners with that wind.
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:16:24 PM
That should be it.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:16:43 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:14:40 PM

It's been a strange game - wind didn't seem to be an advantage.

Gooch has been quiet in this half. Just like Clarke was in the first half.

Game over now - Cross 4 up. 2 minutes left.
Post by: blast05 on February 18, 2012, 03:17:06 PM
Garrycastle hanging on ... 1 up, 2 mins normal tine
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:17:30 PM
Brosnan MOM ???
Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2012, 03:17:54 PM
Oh I'll sing a song,
Of the bravest men
That famous fighting unit from Armagh
They are the men,
From Crossmaglen,
Amongst the bravest Ireland's ever saw

In Crossmaglen,
The fire burns true
The patriotic flame will never die
And when you hear, the battle cry
It will be the fighting men from Crossmaglen
Post by: yellowcard on February 18, 2012, 03:18:19 PM
Is Gooch still on?
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 18, 2012, 03:19:07 PM
I wonder why crokes don't bring cooper out the field a bit to get him involved. They can't get the ball into him.
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:20:02 PM
Another 2 mins
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:21:11 PM
Gooch is human

Jamie Clarke MOM after not getting leather in the first half ?
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on February 18, 2012, 03:21:30 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 18, 2012, 03:11:18 PM
C O Mairtin's Irish wouldn't be deadly either. "In eadan an gaoth".

Oh a couple of years ago I remember this fella continually saying "wis-agat" (an bhfuil is agat?) during some game.. Fair enough saying "you know" at the end of sentence like plenty of people do, but for someone not from a gaeltacht to go translating it!.. And someone must have told him, cause he has stopped it..
Post by: Harold Disgracey on February 18, 2012, 03:21:53 PM
Jamie Clarke MOTM.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 18, 2012, 03:22:00 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:14:40 PM

He always seems to play better for Kerry than he does for Crokes. That said I don't see many Crokes games apart from when they get out of Kerry.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:22:30 PM
Cross are some team.

Losing by 7 points and won by 3. Awesome.

And they played a lot of the 2nd half with 14 men.

Crokes will be sick.
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:22:53 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on February 18, 2012, 03:21:30 PM

Oh a couple of years ago I remember this fella continually saying "wis-agat" (an bhfuil is agat?) during some game.. Fair enough saying "you know" at the end of sentence like plenty of people do, but for someone not from a gaeltacht to go translating it!.. And someone must have told him, cause he has stopped it..
An bhfuil fhios agat.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 18, 2012, 03:23:23 PM
Congratulations to Cross, what a second half performance!!
Post by: blast05 on February 18, 2012, 03:23:51 PM
Garrycastle by 2. Deserved it. Great 2nd half display
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:24:05 PM
Machines, that's what Cross are.
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:25:03 PM
Great second half performance from Crossmaglen, they have complete (and well placed) confidence in their ability to win games.
And they're extremely hard-working.
Post by: shark on February 18, 2012, 03:25:23 PM
Garrycastle. Hats off.
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:25:40 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 18, 2012, 03:24:56 PM
Well done Cross. Some outfit.

Let the Kerry whinging commence......

Don't be a p***k.
Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2012, 03:26:05 PM
All testicles untouched.
Post by: bridgegael on February 18, 2012, 03:26:16 PM
brosnan was by far the best player on the field
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 18, 2012, 03:27:36 PM
Quote from: shark on February 18, 2012, 03:25:23 PM
Garrycastle. Hats off.

Heard they were poor enough in the first half and they had the wind as well. Must have put in a huge second half performance.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on February 18, 2012, 03:28:07 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:22:53 PM

An bhfuil fhios agat.

And I kept looking at "bhfuil" to see if it was spelt right!  :). Been a while since I put a few Irish words on paper!
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2012, 03:28:16 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on February 18, 2012, 03:26:16 PM
brosnan was by far the best player on the field

Same here.
Post by: EC Unique on February 18, 2012, 03:28:48 PM
Well done cross. Some outfit.  :)
Post by: bennydorano on February 18, 2012, 03:29:46 PM
Congrats to Cross. David Mckenna made all the difference there.
Post by: yellowcard on February 18, 2012, 03:30:40 PM
Would like to see the sending off again, looked like retaliation but not that clear from TV pictures. Cross are some team. Crokes got their tactics all wrong, should have employed Cooper around midfield. Clarke second half and McKenna were very good for Cross, though I thought Brosnan was MOTM. a
Post by: Harold Disgracey on February 18, 2012, 03:32:18 PM
Congrats to Cross, that's St Patrick's Day sorted. I thought Coldrick was very poor.
Post by: Dubh driocht on February 18, 2012, 03:33:21 PM
Tony Mc Entee talked about being brave and strong and asking questions of Crokes. Nobody will ever need to ask questions of Cross- it is a privilege to watch this team. Oisin really steadied the ship ,Clarke is magic but Aaron Kernan was MoM for me-1-3 and the goal was coolness and class personified.James Morgan is the sort of modern defender every team needs. An Ulster treble onSt Patricks day for Armagh,Antrim and Down ;) ;)
Post by: shark on February 18, 2012, 03:33:32 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 18, 2012, 03:27:36 PM
Garrycastle. Hats off.

Heard they were poor enough in the first half and they had the wind as well. Must have put in a huge second half performance.

Unreal. O'Shaughnessy was sent off too and he was lording it at midfield. James Dolan was everywhere.
Post by: Feckitt on February 18, 2012, 03:41:32 PM
Cross won it with class and in the proudest traditions of their club.  They give it and take it, and they don't cry about it.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 18, 2012, 03:45:15 PM
St Patricks Day sorted.  Coldrick a shite ref, sending off completely wrong.  He did all he could to get Crokes through.  Brosnan should have got man of the match.  Semis are for winning and we do that quite well.  The Hands kept them on the Gooch and he shite the load.  The last ball he fiumbled over the endline summed up his whole game.  The King is dead, long live the King!!!
Post by: Hardy on February 18, 2012, 03:45:31 PM
Great stuff.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 18, 2012, 03:49:09 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:25:40 PM

Don't be a p***k.

Why are you getting so upset by this? It's a reasonable comment to make!  :)
Post by: Orchardman on February 18, 2012, 03:55:18 PM
First thing i thought when cross went 7 points down was that they were still definately going to win. I was thinking what the online odds would be but i have never bet on football in my life so didnt bother my hole checking. Might sound easy to say now but that's how many times we have seen them come back from slow starts to go on and win big games, to me it was never in doubt.

For kerry posters: brosnan is a tank, was always a big fan of his in his early days when he ran direct at people from half forward, a hard man to stop. Will be a good addition to kerry again this year
Post by: Orchardman on February 18, 2012, 03:59:38 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:22:53 PM

An bhfuil fhios agat.

kevin cassidy (although reared in glasgow) says it plenty of times, nothing wrong with it.  C O Mairtin is fairly handy to listen to
Post by: bridgegael on February 18, 2012, 04:15:04 PM
it wasnt the seven points down that i was impressed with,  whencrokes got their second goal to level,  ten mins to go, man down, playing against the wind.  they went straight up field and scored one one, many teams would have crumbled then.  great team.
Post by: Smokin Joe on February 18, 2012, 04:20:07 PM
Why did McKenna not start?

Was S Kernan the other midfielder before Titch came on?
Post by: NP 76 on February 18, 2012, 04:21:57 PM
Cross total class all over the field and on the line . Just take whats thrown at them whether its a sending off poor weather conditions or a goal against them they just adapt . Even when Kernan got sent off harshly he just turned and ran off with no yaping at the referee pure class
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 04:26:27 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 18, 2012, 03:49:09 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 03:25:40 PM

Don't be a p***k.

Why are you getting so upset by this? It's a reasonable comment to make!  :)

I'm not upset at all. I just thought it was a crass comment to make when a team had just lost an All-Ireland semi final. But apparently he's a 'character', so that's nothing new.
Post by: Armamike on February 18, 2012, 04:27:56 PM
What do you have to do to beat this team? In Bill Shankly's words, they'll need to send a team from Mars.
Post by: muppet on February 18, 2012, 04:34:31 PM
Great win for Cross coming from behind. They ill be serious favourites over Garrycastle but it doesn't seem to bother them which way it falls.

Terrible shame that the showcase matches of this great competition are played in f**king February.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 18, 2012, 05:09:27 PM
Well done Cross. Great, great club in fairness. This is there second great team, and even down to the big awkward full forward ;)

I think they'll be far too cute and balanced for Garrycastle, but I'll be hoping our neighbours can bring the Merrigan Cup away from Cross. Cross have enough of them :D
Post by: spuds on February 18, 2012, 05:11:27 PM
Quote from: shark on February 18, 2012, 03:33:32 PM
Garrycastle. Hats off.

Unreal. O'Shaughnessy was sent off too and he was lording it at midfield. James Dolan was everywhere.

Great win for them, tough one for Brigids after being on the go so long. Hard to see anything other than a Crossmaglen win in the final, when you compare the subs that they can introduce to the Garrycastle ones it's frightening. Hope Garrycastle give them a right rattle.

Would you guess Shark on odds for final ?
Post by: shark on February 18, 2012, 05:30:54 PM
Quote from: spuds on February 18, 2012, 05:11:27 PM
Garrycastle. Hats off.

Great win for them, tough one for Brigids after being on the go so long. Hard to see anything other than a Crossmaglen win in the final, when you compare the subs that they can introduce to the Garrycastle ones it's frightening. Hope Garrycastle give them a right rattle.

Jeez I'm no bookie, but I'd imagine Garrycastle could be 4 or 5 to 1. Maybe a 5 point handicap, so whatever odds equate to that.
Just watched the 2nd half there after returning home.  Paddy Mulvihill had some game, got through so much dirty work, really not like him.
Post by: spuds on February 18, 2012, 05:35:03 PM
Quote from: shark on February 18, 2012, 05:30:54 PM
Quote from: spuds on February 18, 2012, 05:11:27 PM
Garrycastle. Hats off.

Jeez I'm no bookie, but I'd imagine Garrycastle could be 4 or 5 to 1. Maybe a 5 point handicap, so whatever odds equate to that.
Just watched the 2nd half there after returning home.  Paddy Mulvihill had some game, got through so much dirty work, really not like him.
Have you mixed up with Lone Shark the poster, Mulvihill got MOTM on TG4. Guess odds around 2/1 maybe. Will see soon enough.
Post by: ross4life on February 18, 2012, 08:34:22 PM
Had a feeling one of the favourites would be beaten shame it had to be St Brigid's. Congrats Garrycastle without a shadow of doubt on the day the best team won. Anthony Cunningham (former St.Brigid's manager) did his home work & got his tactics spot on. St. Brigid's downfall was the slow start they have been getting away with the slow starts in the Roscommon championship but it wasn't going to happen v the leinster champions.

Has been a long two years for St Brigid's they proudly flew the Roscommon/Connacht flags & i'm sure they will be back to give it another lash in the years ahead.

P.S well done Crossmaglen the Armagh machine keeps rolling has the makings of a good final.
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 18, 2012, 08:48:03 PM
Both finals Ulster teams v Leinster.
Still 4 weeks away.
Gooch might be back for Down v Kerry in NFL round 3.
Post by: Syferus on February 18, 2012, 09:04:26 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on February 18, 2012, 08:48:03 PM
Both finals Ulster teams v Leinster.
Still 4 weeks away.
Gooch might be back for Down v Kerry in NFL round 3.

Gooch will be having ankle surgery, he won't be playing again until at least the middle of May.
Post by: Rossfan on February 18, 2012, 09:17:56 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 18, 2012, 08:34:22 PM
Had a feeling one of the favourites would be beaten shame it had to be St Brigid's. Congrats Garrycastle without a shadow of doubt on the day the best team won. Anthony Cunningham (former St.Brigid's manager) did his home work & got his tactics spot on. St. Brigid's downfall was the slow start they have been getting away with the slow starts in the Roscommon championship but it wasn't going to happen v the leinster champions.

Has been a long two years for St Brigid's they proudly flew the Roscommon/Connacht flags & i'm sure they will be back to give it another lash in the years ahead.

P.S well done Crossmaglen the Armagh machine keeps rolling has the makings of a good final.
Slow start , missed chances , midfield bet, big names not that influential... maybe a team just gone a biteen past it?
Best of luck to Garrycastle in the Final . I think they're going to need it all.
Post by: theticklemister on February 18, 2012, 09:20:52 PM
In from work about 5 and had the two matches recorded. A fantastic treat lads to watch 2 super semis. Fecking fair fecks to Garrycastle, over the moon for them hi. Thought they blew it but they put in some work and with Dessie up front they look dangerous. There was nothing left on the field, there ye saw a team who emptied the tank and gave it all, just what our great sport is all about.

Nuff said about Cross, an outstanding team.

I thought the two refs were poor enough especially McQuillan, how many Gcastle men did he book??

Is anyone like meself believe that there is a man sent off on average in every game?
Post by: ross4life on February 18, 2012, 09:36:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 18, 2012, 09:17:56 PM

Slow start , missed chances , midfield bet, big names not that influential... maybe a team just gone a biteen past it?
Who knows maybe your crowd Elphin will fly the Roscommon flag next year.
Post by: Rossfan on February 18, 2012, 09:43:27 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 18, 2012, 09:36:48 PM

Who knows maybe your crowd Elphin will fly the Roscommon flag next year.
Doubt it. :(
If Elphin did manage a County title I suspect there might be difficulty focusing on the Connacht Club championship ( ... or anything else for that matter  8) ;D)
Post by: Syferus on February 18, 2012, 09:46:42 PM

Best of luck to Garrycastle in the Final . I think they're going to need it all.

Age profile and underage success says differently. No need to over-react - they're easily the best club in the county and will be a good bet for another county title this year. In Connacht they'll have a huge battle to put together three Connacht titltes but it's not like any team in the providence will be able to out-class Brigids. The possibility of an All-Ireland is very much still there.
Post by: theticklemister on February 18, 2012, 09:48:43 PM
I think Kilbride was dangerous when he had ball but Frankie did not see the ball often enough and Karl Mannion did not get into the game.
Post by: theticklemister on February 18, 2012, 09:52:36 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 18, 2012, 09:46:42 PM

Age profile and underage success says differently. No need to over-react - they're easily the best club in the county and will be a good bet for another county title this year. In Connacht they'll have a huge battle to put together three Connacht titltes but it's not like any team in the providence will be able to out-class Brigids. The possibility of an All-Ireland is very much still there.

They were very lucky in connaught final when the ref gave them everything................ THANK ECK cause I was waiting on them for a bet!!!!!!!
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 18, 2012, 10:09:45 PM
To win after seven points and down a man Cross showed their class again today just have to finish the job on March 17th now.
Post by: Tubberman on February 18, 2012, 10:20:12 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 18, 2012, 10:09:45 PM
To win after seven points and down a man Cross showed their class again today just have to finish the job on March 17th now.

They'll be strong favourites, and rightly so - they're a model club. But I will be probably be cheering for Garrycastle - 9 times out of 10 I'll go for the underdog.
Post by: mountainboii on February 18, 2012, 10:41:24 PM
Congrats to Cross, obstinate as usual. Whatever about Clarke & McConville up front and their lauded backline, it was their midfield efforts that dictated the flow of today's game. Before McKenna's introduction they were overrun in this sector. He got them competing and they had enough class elsewhere to finish off the job. Johnny Hanratty put in a good shift too, he's a big player in this next generation Cross team. Can't see anything other than a sixth title on St. Patrick's Day. This team will push past Nemo's record by the time they're done.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 18, 2012, 10:45:21 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 18, 2012, 10:41:24 PM
Congrats to Cross, obstinate as usual. Whatever about Clarke & McConville up front and their lauded backline, it was their midfield efforts that dictated the flow of today's game. Before McKenna's introduction they were overrun in this sector. He got them competing and they had enough class elsewhere to finish off the job. Johnny Hanratty put in a good shift too, he's a big player in this next generation Cross team. Can't see anything other than a sixth title on St. Patrick's Day. This team will push past Nemo's record by the time they're done.

Do ye think? ;)  Johnny Waah and Titch were great in the second half.  I would have had Aaron Cunningham off on the first half display but he put in some serious work in the second half and his point was special.  They are all special footballers and all played their part.  It was also refreshing to see management make big calls early out, not waiting till the game was half over before making changes. Roll on Paddy's Day!
Post by: mountainboii on February 18, 2012, 11:05:32 PM
Any early rumblings about Kernan's red, bcb? TG4 replays weren't very clear but I'm sure Cross had their own camera. He's put up with a lot of crap at times during his football career, would be an awful shame for him to miss out on what would probably be his biggest day of all.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 18, 2012, 11:11:51 PM
No word but I'm not around home. I would imagine they will do whatever can be done to have SK back. Would be a travesty as he is not evem close to a dirty footballer. It was a cybical follow through on him that got the desired reaction.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 18, 2012, 11:24:39 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 18, 2012, 11:05:32 PM
Any early rumblings about Kernan's red, bcb? TG4 replays weren't very clear but I'm sure Cross had their own camera. He's put up with a lot of crap at times during his football career, would be an awful shame for him to miss out on what would probably be his biggest day of all.

i would imagine he will get a month, which will make his suspension end at midnight on 16th March. The leap year has saved him !!
Post by: mountainboii on February 18, 2012, 11:27:15 PM
I'm pretty sure you miss the next game, regardless if it falls outside of the suspension time window.
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2012, 11:30:40 PM
Quotei would imagine he will get a month, which will make his suspension end at midnight on 16th March. The leap year has saved him !!

An interesting theory, but not very likely.

I don't think Kernan did much more than push off his man, who clattered into him.

Terrible to miss the final as Captain.
Post by: Orangemac on February 19, 2012, 09:29:21 AM
Kernan should have a good chance of getting the red card overturned. Coldrick was acting on linesmans advice.

As someone has said Cross are machines. When 7 points down and when the 2nd Crokes goal went in you would have said it was curtains for any other team but Cross never panic, keep winning their individual battles and sticking to the gameplan.

There are no egos, no gloryhunters. They always have 7/8 scorers, always have 20 men putting in a hard shift, no man is carrying the team and even when not playing well like Cunningham was yesterday can still make key contributions here and there.

Aaron Kernan was immense yesterday, composure for the goal and dictating play throughout. Getting him to replicate club form into county form will be a major part of transforming Armaghs fortunes as will bringing in James Morgan.
Post by: Onlooker on February 19, 2012, 01:04:08 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on February 13, 2012, 08:55:07 PM
I am going for a Garrycastle v. Crossmaglen final.
Nice to right an odd time.  Well done to both, especially Crossmaglen for gining the right answer to the "crowd segregation" Chairman and Committee in Killarney.
Post by: Hardy on February 19, 2012, 01:43:24 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on February 19, 2012, 09:29:21 AM
Kernan should have a good chance of getting the red card overturned. Coldrick was acting on linesmans advice.

As someone has said Cross are machines. When 7 points down and when the 2nd Crokes goal went in you would have said it was curtains for any other team but Cross never panic, keep winning their individual battles and sticking to the gameplan.

There are no egos, no gloryhunters. They always have 7/8 scorers, always have 20 men putting in a hard shift, no man is carrying the team and even when not playing well like Cunningham was yesterday can still make key contributions here and there.

Aaron Kernan was immense yesterday, composure for the goal and dictating play throughout. Getting him to replicate club form into county form will be a major part of transforming Armaghs fortunes as will bringing in James Morgan.

They've always reminded me very much of a team I used to know.
Post by: Jinxy on February 19, 2012, 01:44:46 PM
Don't you dare say it Hardy.
Post by: lenny on February 19, 2012, 03:53:33 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on February 19, 2012, 09:29:21 AM

Agreed. Great match and dr crokes deserve great credit for their part in the match. Thought their build up play and passing were top notch in the first half. Cross didn't panic though and when mckenna came on they got a grip at midfield. Kernan seemed to be unlucky to get a red so hopefully he should get that overturned.
Post by: ross4life on February 19, 2012, 04:24:52 PM
St. Brigid's manager Noel O'Brien stepped down after the game yesterday two Roscommon/Connacht championships in his time with the team all the best to him wherever he goes next?
Post by: Syferus on February 19, 2012, 05:42:35 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 19, 2012, 04:24:52 PM
St. Brigid's manager Noel O'Brien stepped down after the game yesterday two Roscommon/Connacht championships in his time with the team all the best to him wherever he goes next?

I hear Garrycastle have an opening. Don't if the arduous commute of 500 yards will be too much for him, though.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 19, 2012, 08:47:18 PM
On league Sunday tonight Pat Spillane brought up this article.

What has made McEntee one of the most enlightened coaches currently operating in football though, is that as much as his team train hard, they train even harder. As he continuously says, in Crossmaglen they're in the business not of producing athletes but footballers. The core of his whole philosophy revolves around the skills of the game, especially what's supposed to be the game's core skill — kicking the ball.

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/sport/columnists/kieran-shannon/the-way-of-the-cross-184317.html#ixzz1mrYTwRzz
Post by: INDIANA on February 19, 2012, 08:48:43 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 19, 2012, 08:47:18 PM

What has made McEntee one of the most enlightened coaches currently operating in football though, is that as much as his team train hard, they train even harder. As he continuously says, in Crossmaglen they're in the business not of producing athletes but footballers. The core of his whole philosophy revolves around the skills of the game, especially what's supposed to be the game's core skill — kicking the ball.

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/sport/columnists/kieran-shannon/the-way-of-the-cross-184317.html#ixzz1mrYTwRzz

Absolutely sure he's the only coach in ireland teaching the basic skills ;D
Post by: Orchardman on February 19, 2012, 09:16:46 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 19, 2012, 08:48:43 PM

Absolutely sure he's the only coach in ireland teaching the basic skills ;D

Your right there, if only a lot of county teams would have more players who can kick the ball properly, and this has been a problem for a long time. I have noticed on many occasions the last few years watching their big games, when a man is coming out with the ball in his own square packed with players, and nearly always manages to nail a kick pass to either wing half back position and a man there to collect. How many county sides fliff about with 10 handpasses in their own half going nowhere.

I should point out though I much prefer a team to hold possession that kick a rubbish long ball for the sake of it, as in the so called golden era of the 70's that spiilane harks back too
Post by: theticklemister on February 19, 2012, 09:22:16 PM
best kicker of the ball on display yesterday was the number 8 fella for Garrycastle! wouldnt mind getting the service he gave yesterday.
Post by: Orchardman on February 19, 2012, 09:35:02 PM

Just read the article there, remembered seeing this before but i loved it!

As the team bus approached Croke Park before the 2002 All-Ireland final, Tierney was taken aback by the sea of orange and white near Quinn's Corner. "Jesus, Tony, have you ever seen anything like it?"

"I know, Benny," said McEntee. "Did you ever see so much talent in your life?"

Post by: Leo on February 19, 2012, 09:48:41 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on February 19, 2012, 09:35:02 PM

Thanks Benny, good one.

Just read the article there, remembered seeing this before but i loved it!

As the team bus approached Croke Park before the 2002 All-Ireland final, Tierney was taken aback by the sea of orange and white near Quinn's Corner. "Jesus, Tony, have you ever seen anything like it?"

"I know, Benny," said McEntee. "Did you ever see so much talent in your life?"
Post by: shark on February 19, 2012, 10:02:44 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 19, 2012, 09:22:16 PM
best kicker of the ball on display yesterday was the number 8 fella for Garrycastle! wouldnt mind getting the service he gave yesterday.

Seanie O'Donoghue has always been a brilliant kick passer.  He was an outstanding underage player but did his cruciate twice in his early 20's and as a result never played county senior.
Post by: Jinxy on February 20, 2012, 12:23:21 AM
I actually remember him from the Leinster final.
He was spraying the ball around that day too.
Post by: shark on February 20, 2012, 09:23:44 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 20, 2012, 12:23:21 AM
I actually remember him from the Leinster final.
He was spraying the ball around that day too.

You may also remember him from the Leinster u21 final in 2000 when we had a rare win over your lot. He was wing back that day at 18 years of age.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 20, 2012, 10:54:03 AM
Calmed down a bit now and have watched the game a few times in the calm of victory.  For 20 minutes, as has been said by everyone, Dr Crokes were very good.  Their game plan of holding the ball up and having Buckley, Daithi Casey, O'DOnovan and in particular Brosnan making driving runs through the centre was very effective.  However, the reality is that this game is very is very labour intensive and the repeated tackles that the runners take means that they are worn out very quickly.  The 2 MFs and Caey in particular faded very badly and once Titch came on the launch pad for this was lost.  The reality is too that in that period the Crokes got 3-4 very crucial refereeing decisions, the square ball goal, Ambroses excavation to pick up a ball which let to a point and there were 1-2 very dubious frees which allowed the to keep the ball in the Cross half, one in particlular against PK.  We were fortunate once or twice as well, in particular a jersey pull by Titch should have afforded a 21 yard free which would have been scored. 

Of course we all know what happened in regards to Oisin taking responsibility.  I want to ask a very simple question, why could Cooper not do what Oisin did at the end of the first half when the Crokes needed him?  We often see lists of the greatest forward of the last 30 years etc etc.  Invariably the top 5 generally are Canavan, Maurice, Gooch, Joyce, Trevor Giles.  You will then have the mentions for Mattie Forde, Dessie Dolan, Donnellan but rarely Oisin is seen as the top class forward in the same class as these men.  I know I am biased, and I know he has been surrounded by great players, but he has been the fulcrum of the county team and the club team for years and is far from simply a free taker.  His point to kick start our comeback was brilliant.  He took it on himself to drive at the Crokes defence and was noy afraid to do it.  This is a man of 36 with probably over 400 games at all levels to his name and he still has the drive and ability to do that.  I have read on numerous forums that Crokes had better footballers but we were just a better team.  I personally believe that if you went man for man on ability wise we would come out on top in over half the positions.

The sending off was wrong and frankly if, for talk sake Aaron Cunningham did what the Crokes man did, which he nearly did against St Galls (ie coming through late and frontal), there would have been uproar with the dirty cynical northerners tag being thrown up.  The reality is that in a fairly clean game that didn't have a bad tackle the only instances of "cynical" play that I saw were this follow through on SK and the Gooch going down like he was shot when Oisin fouled him.  It was a fould but why did he feel the need to tuck his legs under himself and spin around other than to emphasize the fall and draw a card. 

The Crokes,by the time the game was really in the melting pot, were a spent force.  The had no leadership in the forward line, outside of Brosnan there was no drive around the middle and he was noticebly less forceful in the second half, and the defence were chasing shadows.  They were overkicking balls into the forward line and we were picking up a lot of lose ball and you'd swear we had the extra man.  On several occassions Skinny, PK and Paul McKeown picked up stray passes.  Gooch dropped balls, and on at least one occassion O'Leary was in his own full back line picking up the ball.  This was of no benefit to Crokes. 

Anyway, onto the final.  Garrycastle have a very tight unit and play a very simpl style.  Leave room for the 2 Dolans in the forward line and work the ball into the best position for them and Mulvihill to pick off scores.  They work exceptionally hard and in Dessie have a special player.  We will need Danny O back, Titch fully fit and SK to have his card lifted.  We will of course be favourites and that in itself can bring problems but the management are the best I have ever seen at taking boys down to the ground after a big win. Another factor is the experience of playing in the Final.  That in itself is invaluable. So long as we focus on playing our own game and do not underestimate Garrycastle then we can win but not easing up as some have suggested.
Post by: sheamy on February 20, 2012, 11:12:44 AM
Firstly, congratulations to Cross on an outstanding display of character and resolve. I thought they were in big bother but the goal before half time brought it back.

The minutes leading up to that goal were, in my view, the iconic images from this game. I agree with BC1 that the mental strength of Cross is typified by Oisin McConville. The point he scored just before that goal lifted the team just as he has done on many occasions. Oisin never ever shirks responsibility. From the penalty miss in '02 (which would have finished a lesser man) to the winning goal, and to this latest performance, this isn't new. He was, I thought, initially thinking about a goal as that's what his side needed. He took the point then set up the goal a few minutes later. Sheer class.

The wider point I want to address, is why do intercounty teams not play like Cross? Why are no other teams coaching their players in this style. The corner backs kick the ball 30 yards and kick it accurately! The wing forwards kick the ball as soon as they get it. No soloing or very very little. There was the odd time the kick pass went astray but that wasn't the norm.

Why teams can't see that this conserves a hell of alot more energy in contrast to the constant running game is beyond me. Possession seems to be king in football. So, would Crossmaglen's style work at the top of intercounty level? Would it work verses a blanket defence Donegal style? Even Kerry, long regarded by themselves mainly, and others, as the artistes of the game, do not play like Cross. They tend to carry the ball to midfield before releasing.

Football at the top level is all about the percentages i.e. balls dropped, passes gone astray. Is this why the top intercounty teams choose not to play the Cross way preferring the running and handpassing game where athleticism takes precedence over footballing ability. Perhaps most intercounty players aren't able to kick the ball accurately. Or catch it under pressure. One of the hardest skills in the game is catching a ball with a defender all over you when you are meeting the ball at speed. It's much easier to take a handpass off the shoulder and 'cross the gain line' as that b*stard McStay would say.

You could argue Armagh tried to copy the Cross way last year. It worked v Down but it cost them the game v Derry. Maybe Cross are just better than Armagh :-)

Anyway, whatever the reasons Cross are a joy to watch and I applaud them...
Post by: Denn Forever on February 20, 2012, 11:20:46 AM
I concur.  Both semi finals were a joy to watch and I was thinking to myself it was a pity the IC football wasn't like this.

The most enjoyable football to watch is underage, Sigerson and club football.
Post by: Joxer on February 20, 2012, 11:35:25 AM
BCB1,

I know you say O'Callaghan would be a miss and he does a good job in the role he plays, but I thought McKeown was very good the other day and steadied things up somewhat when he was introduced.  Paul Kernan was excellent and didnt give an inch.  I know a final is a final but experience should see you through with a few points to spare on Patricks Day.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 20, 2012, 12:07:19 PM
Great win in Longford on Sat, raging I couldn't make it but will be there for the final with bells on. It was a performance full of heart, vigor and belief and Garrycastle kept firing till the final whistle. Fair play to Anthony Cunningham, not only is he getting the best out of his players but he has them well set up and hard to break down, the Galway hurlers will have no excuse for failure this year.

As I predicted it was a nip and tuck match with a kick of the ball between the teams. Joe McQuillan is one of the better refs around but he employed an uncharacteristic officious style of referring on Sat, as did Coldrick in the other semi. The GAA obviously want to avoid mills, negative footage, etc. due to the recent incidents but they are doing a particular disservice to the partaking teams with this approach. McQuillan was throwing cards around like confetti and it very nearly cost Garrycastle, Shaughos first card was never a free never mind a booking. Couldn't see much contact in the second either but credit to the man, his instinct was to turn around to gee up his teammates and he lifted Duignan's chin up off the floor. Great leader and playing his best football in years, great partnership with Seanie O'Donoghue in the middle. Seanie's kick passing has already been mentioned but his ball in to Dessie for his secong point from play in the first half was unreal. Dessie had two men hanging out of him and one retreating to cover in front but Seanie was able to put it in the one position where Dessie could get it. Reminded me of an NFL quarter back, our very own Tebow. Paddy Mulvihill really helped out in the middle too, was surprised tbh, more of a luxury player. And this game was won in the middle I feel, Brigids just couldn't get enough ball in to Kilbride and Frankie wasn't at the races at all, or rather he wasn't given the time to pick off passes. It was unreal commitment in the middle third and they are flying fit. Maybe after Paddys Day when Cunningham has a bit more time he can take the physical training sessions for Westmeath.  :P

Another turning point was Mullins save in the second half when the game was in the melting pot. A fine dedicated keeper who gave many years to Westmeath and could consider himself unfortunate to find himself backup in both Aidan Lennon's and Gary's stints. Early yellow cards didn't help Henson or Doran but they never shirked the battle. James Dolan was everywhere as well and took his goal and point well, lovely check inside for the goal. Gary, Dillon and Duignan put in the hard yards and all took fine points when presented. Garrycastle also maintained a fine tradition on Saturday, a 100% record for Westmeath teams over Connacht teams in the senior championships, keep her lit.

All thoughts will turn towards Paddys Day and the final now. They will be massive underdogs and hopefully that will suit them as there will be zero pressure or expectation on them and they can just go out and play. I liken it to Offally Kerry in 82, they will need a sneaky push to edge it.  :P Have been threatening to go to the club finals for years but between matches and what not I've never managed it. Can't bloody wait for this now. This will be my third time to see them in this extended run of theirs, the other two being the replayed county final and the leinster final, a lucky omen I hope!

Crossmaglen in the other semi final were like a juggernaut, even at 7 points down you just knew they were never beaten. Feel sorry for Brosnan though, my motm, didn't deserve to be on the losing side. Surprised Crokes running game caused such problems, they won't be caught like that again. Hard to pick out anyone outstanding for Cross, like Garrycastle it was a committed team display. Hopefully it's a tight final but Cross hold all the big cards at the moment, great for a Westmeath team to be there.
Post by: Syferus on February 20, 2012, 01:50:53 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 20, 2012, 11:20:46 AM
I concur.  Both semi finals were a joy to watch and I was thinking to myself it was a pity the IC football wasn't like this.

The most enjoyable football to watch is underage, Sigerson and club football.

Better players means less room for the good ones. My most cherished memories remain the 2001 and 2010 Connacht finals (coupled with the 2006 minor finals). Nothing can top that sort of unified passion and excitement of those occasions, both on and off the field.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on February 20, 2012, 02:11:24 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 20, 2012, 10:54:03 AM
Calmed down a bit now and have watched the game a few times in the calm of victory.  For 20 minutes, as has been said by everyone, Dr Crokes were very good.  Their game plan of holding the ball up and having Buckley, Daithi Casey, O'DOnovan and in particular Brosnan making driving runs through the centre was very effective.  However, the reality is that this game is very is very labour intensive and the repeated tackles that the runners take means that they are worn out very quickly.  The 2 MFs and Caey in particular faded very badly and once Titch came on the launch pad for this was lost.  The reality is too that in that period the Crokes got 3-4 very crucial refereeing decisions, the square ball goal, Ambroses excavation to pick up a ball which let to a point and there were 1-2 very dubious frees which allowed the to keep the ball in the Cross half, one in particlular against PK.  We were fortunate once or twice as well, in particular a jersey pull by Titch should have afforded a 21 yard free which would have been scored. 

Of course we all know what happened in regards to Oisin taking responsibility.  I want to ask a very simple question, why could Cooper not do what Oisin did at the end of the first half when the Crokes needed him?  We often see lists of the greatest forward of the last 30 years etc etc.  Invariably the top 5 generally are Canavan, Maurice, Gooch, Joyce, Trevor Giles.  You will then have the mentions for Mattie Forde, Dessie Dolan, Donnellan but rarely Oisin is seen as the top class forward in the same class as these men.  I know I am biased, and I know he has been surrounded by great players, but he has been the fulcrum of the county team and the club team for years and is far from simply a free taker.  His point to kick start our comeback was brilliant.  He took it on himself to drive at the Crokes defence and was noy afraid to do it.  This is a man of 36 with probably over 400 games at all levels to his name and he still has the drive and ability to do that.  I have read on numerous forums that Crokes had better footballers but we were just a better team.  I personally believe that if you went man for man on ability wise we would come out on top in over half the positions.

The sending off was wrong and frankly if, for talk sake Aaron Cunningham did what the Crokes man did, which he nearly did against St Galls (ie coming through late and frontal), there would have been uproar with the dirty cynical northerners tag being thrown up.  The reality is that in a fairly clean game that didn't have a bad tackle the only instances of "cynical" play that I saw were this follow through on SK and the Gooch going down like he was shot when Oisin fouled him.  It was a fould but why did he feel the need to tuck his legs under himself and spin around other than to emphasize the fall and draw a card. 

The Crokes,by the time the game was really in the melting pot, were a spent force.  The had no leadership in the forward line, outside of Brosnan there was no drive around the middle and he was noticebly less forceful in the second half, and the defence were chasing shadows.  They were overkicking balls into the forward line and we were picking up a lot of lose ball and you'd swear we had the extra man.  On several occassions Skinny, PK and Paul McKeown picked up stray passes.  Gooch dropped balls, and on at least one occassion O'Leary was in his own full back line picking up the ball.  This was of no benefit to Crokes. 

Anyway, onto the final.  Garrycastle have a very tight unit and play a very simpl style.  Leave room for the 2 Dolans in the forward line and work the ball into the best position for them and Mulvihill to pick off scores.  They work exceptionally hard and in Dessie have a special player.  We will need Danny O back, Titch fully fit and SK to have his card lifted.  We will of course be favourites and that in itself can bring problems but the management are the best I have ever seen at taking boys down to the ground after a big win. Another factor is the experience of playing in the Final.  That in itself is invaluable. So long as we focus on playing our own game and do not underestimate Garrycastle then we can win but not easing up as some have suggested.

I've always thought that, if records are to go by then quite simply Oisin is probably the best footballer Ulster has ever seen, its hard to argue with. Some would say so and so has this medal and that medal but when you look at Oisins medal haul and records then it would be extremerly difficult to find anyone to match.
Post by: muppet on February 20, 2012, 02:13:51 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on February 20, 2012, 02:11:24 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 20, 2012, 10:54:03 AM

I've always thought that, if records are to go by then quite simply Oisin is probably the best footballer Ulster has ever seen, its hard to argue with. Some would say so and so has this medal and that medal but when you look at Oisins medal haul and records then it would be extremerly difficult to find anyone to match.

This logic would make Mike Frank Russell probably the greatest fupballer in history. Maybe he is.
Post by: Applesisapples on February 20, 2012, 02:16:12 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 18, 2012, 02:22:19 PM
Have seen Cross a number of times this year and thought they would walk the AI. Can't see them winning this....
Prophetic....
Post by: Applesisapples on February 20, 2012, 02:36:03 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 18, 2012, 11:27:15 PM
I'm pretty sure you miss the next game, regardless if it falls outside of the suspension time window.
I think thats only in the national league, so should be a month if it sticks.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 20, 2012, 03:08:14 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on February 20, 2012, 02:36:03 PM

If any appeal is unsuccessful he misses the final. The rule is if there are no games within the time frame of the suspension then you automatically miss the nest game after the time suspension is up. So even though a 4 week ban would be up on 16th he still would miss the Final as it is the next game in the competition.
Post by: Applesisapples on February 20, 2012, 03:08:57 PM
Oisin McConville, like Gooch, MF Russell, Mickey Linden, Joe Brolly and Peter Canavan was and is a formidable footballer and a special talent who unlike some of the afore mentioned hasn't faded from the scene. You can't gauge a player by his medal haul. Oisin still has it.
Post by: Applesisapples on February 20, 2012, 03:11:22 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 20, 2012, 03:08:14 PM

If any appeal is unsuccessful he misses the final. The rule is if there are no games within the time frame of the suspension then you automatically miss the nest game after the time suspension is up. So even though a 4 week ban would be up on 16th he still would miss the Final as it is the next game in the competition.
I think you are wrong there, from some club suspensions we've had recently...It's still experimental for the NL. Was never a red anyway...Coldrick was crap as usual. If He and McQuillan are the best we can muster heavan help us.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on February 20, 2012, 03:25:57 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on February 20, 2012, 03:08:57 PM
Oisin McConville, like Gooch, MF Russell, Mickey Linden, Joe Brolly and Peter Canavan was and is a formidable footballer and a special talent who unlike some of the afore mentioned hasn't faded from the scene. You can't gauge a player by his medal haul. Oisin still has it.

I agree that it dosen't gauge a player but on the otherhand it is also difficult to overlook a players medal haul. All you hae to do is watch Oisin and you can see that he oozes pure class and he should rightly be mentioned along side some of the so called greats.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 20, 2012, 03:27:59 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on February 20, 2012, 03:11:22 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 20, 2012, 03:08:14 PM

I think you are wrong there, from some club suspensions we've had recently...It's still experimental for the NL. Was never a red anyway...Coldrick was crap as usual. If He and McQuillan are the best we can muster heavan help us.

What is being done in NL has no bearing on any suspensions SK may get. What I have quoted is the common practice that has been in place for a number of years now. Under current regulations for all club suspensions based on a time frame you have to serve at least a 1 game ban to ensure that your sending off has a punitive effect in the event that no game is played  under the old system you could effectively get sent off in a game in say November and not miss any games as December and January were closed months for official games and then play in the AI semi in February because your 4 weeks were up and you would have missed no games. I know this as it happened to me. The rule was changed to prevent something like this happening.
Post by: Applesisapples on February 20, 2012, 03:28:20 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on February 20, 2012, 03:25:57 PM

I agree that it dosen't gauge a player but on the otherhand it is also difficult to overlook a players medal haul. All you hae to do is watch Oisin and you can see that he oozes pure class and he should rightly be mentioned along side some of the so called greats.
You'll get no argument here, I remember his first senior game against Tyrone at 19 years of age...Some player.
Post by: Applesisapples on February 20, 2012, 03:53:47 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 20, 2012, 03:47:47 PM
Engage your brain.
What?
Post by: johnneycool on February 20, 2012, 04:04:02 PM
Quote from: sheamy on February 20, 2012, 11:12:44 AM
Oisin never ever shirks irresponsibility.

A bit harsh Sheamy.
Post by: sheamy on February 20, 2012, 04:16:25 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on February 20, 2012, 04:04:02 PM
Quote from: sheamy on February 20, 2012, 11:12:44 AM
Oisin never ever shirks irresponsibility.

A bit harsh Sheamy.

fixed. cheers  :)
Post by: screenexile on February 20, 2012, 04:19:19 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on February 20, 2012, 03:53:47 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 20, 2012, 03:47:47 PM
Engage your brain.
What?

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Jinxy on February 20, 2012, 04:23:28 PM

Eoghan O'Gara: 1 All Ireland medal.
Dessie Dolan: 0 All Ireland medals.
Case closed.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 23, 2012, 10:50:43 AM
http://www.kerryman.ie/sport/gaelic-football/all-ireland-heartache-for-dr-crokes-3027433.html (http://www.kerryman.ie/sport/gaelic-football/all-ireland-heartache-for-dr-crokes-3027433.html)

Anyone who says Kerry folk are sore losers should read this.

QuoteAll Ireland heartache for Dr Crokes
Damian Stack was in Portlaoise on Saturday afternoon to witness Dr Crokes' humbling by the awesome Crossmaglen

"How did they throw that away?"

THAT was the question on many Dr Crokes and Kerry lips in the immediate aftermath of Saturday's All Ireland club semi-final. Given that Dr Crokes were up by seven points at one stage in the game it seems a totally reasonable question to ask.

Thing is though, it totally fails to grasp what happened in Portlaoise. The idea that Dr Crokes threw this game away is fundamentally flawed. Dr Crokes didn't throw anything away.

It was wrenched from them by the most effective, methodical and classy club side in the history of Gaelic Football.

Crokes didn't lose because they missed a few kickable chances in the first half. They lost because Crossmaglen were the better team and by some margin.

That, of course, doesn't quite square with the evidence of the first twenty minutes of the game. When Crokes were rampant and with Cross not looking anything like the formidable outfit we've come to know and (if you have to face them in battle) fear.

The initiative was very much with Dr Crokes then. The Kerry champs snapped up nearly every ball in the middle third of the field. Johnny Buckley and Ambrose O'donovan lorded matters over Johnny Hanratty and Stephen Kernan, while Eoin Brosnan and Fionn Fitzgerald were perceptive, reactive and effective sweepers on the half-back line.

With all that possession you'd expect a forward line of the calibre of Dr Crokes' to make hay. They did, but only to a certain extent. The lines of running and the passing, with boot and fist, were things of beauty. This was champagne stuff from Dr Crokes.

The only thing that was missing was more of an end product. They scored 1-5 to Crossmaglen's 0-1 in that period. It could or maybe even should have been something like 1-8 or possibly even 2-8 had Andrew Kenneally's effort been on target.

Given how anaemically Crossmaglen were playing it wouldn't have flattered the Killarney men and had they done so could Crossmaglen have come back from it? You'd be tempted to suggest not, but given what transpired you wouldn't put it past them.

Their joint managers Tony Mcentee and Gareth O'neill will be overjoyed with how they managed to claw back that deficit. By the same token they won't have been in the least bit pleased with how they performed in the opening twenty minutes of the match.

They conceded the initiative to Crokes. They looked overawed by the occasion and by the quality of the opposition. There was very little evidence of their years upon years of experience.

There was little evidence of their famed dogged determination either. Strange as it is to write, Crossmaglen were timid. They really could have no complaints when they found themselves seven points down.

That realisation seemed to ignite something in them. They knew they were better than this. For all Dr Crokes quality, they knew, deep down, that this was a position they had no place being.

Oisin Mcconville was the catalyst for Cross. He got a point just after Daithi Casey's goal to keep Cross ticking over and he set Michael Mcnamee up for the all important goal. Most importantly of all, however, was the decision of Mcentee and O'neill to throw David Mckenna into the fold in place of Stephen Finnegan.

At a stroke midfield and the attack were bolstered as Stephen Kernan moved into a more offensive role. It wasn't just that Buckley and O'donovan no longer had as much leeway as they had been having, all over the pitch Cross were getting stuck in, turning the heat up.

Dr Crokes didn't help themselves when the pressure came on. They did some foolish things. Like taking frees or kick-outs short, putting their defenders under serious pressure to carry the ball from defence. Cross pounced, frees were conceded and matters got steadily worse.

It wasn't just Mcconville who came to the fore for Cross. Jamie Clarke was inspirational too in the second half after an anonymous first. Inside the first minute of the second period he showed his class and his intent to make life utterly miserable for Crokes full-back Luke Quinn.

With a shimmy and a jink he left the Killarney man for dead, headed for goal and set up David Mckenna for a score to make it a one point game.

After Stephen Kernan's goal Cross were utterly dominant. Crokes simply had no answer to their power, their pace and their precision. Eoin Brosnan and Fionn Fitzgerald kept battling to some effect, but in most other places Crokes men were being beaten.

Crokes did, of course, bring this game back to parity. They did so totally and utterly against the run of play, assisted by the foolish sending off, for an off the ball incident, of Stephen Kernan.

Even down to fourteen men Cross had the better of their Kerry counterparts, but when Eoin Brosnan got up the pitch for a point to make it a three point game once again, suddenly Crokes sniffed an opening.

Chris Brady's instinctive finish from Brian Looney's rebounded goal shot gave Crokes hope again. In reality their late spurt was but a mirage. Cross were in control of this game, fourteen men or not, Crokes goal or no Crokes goal.

They weren't intimidated by Crokes. They didn't worry about what Colm Cooper might do now that the game was back in the melting pot. They had the Gooch well and truly wrapped up. Cross cornerback James Morgan kept him as quiet as a church mouse.

Nope, Cross didn't panic. Not for a second. They composed themselves, got down the pitch again (where they'd virtually camped out from the beginning of the half) and scored a goal of their own.

That's the mark of champions. Great champions at that. They play a lovely brand of football. They play it well. They make best use of the resources at their disposal. Alas Dr Crokes didn't.

Take the case of Colm Cooper. Even when Crokes were on song Cooper was peripheral, drifting deeper and deeper trying to bring his influence to bear.

He's the jewel in Crokes' crown. He should be the focal point of the team. Get the ball to him in dangerous positions. He'll do the rest.

So no, Crokes didn't "throw this away". Far from it. They made mistakes. In how they set themselves up, in how they tried to move the ball, in some of the decisions they made, but at the end of the day they simply came up against an irresistible force.

A good Crokes team was well beaten by a truly great Cross outfit. No mystery there.

Post by: heffo on February 23, 2012, 11:02:39 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 20, 2012, 04:23:28 PM

Case closed.

Two AI medals Jinxy - himself and Bastick win the Junior AI in 2008 too!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 23, 2012, 11:24:01 AM
Quote from: heffo on February 23, 2012, 11:02:39 AM

Case closed.

Well if heffo is throwing Junior AI medals into the mix, you can add Dessie's U21 one as well :P
Post by: heffo on February 23, 2012, 11:25:04 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 23, 2012, 11:24:01 AM

Case closed.

Well if heffo is throwing Junior AI medals into the mix, you can add Dessie's U21 one as well :P

He might  have a club AI in a few weeks to even things up too!
Post by: LeoMc on February 23, 2012, 11:28:38 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 23, 2012, 10:50:43 AM
http://www.kerryman.ie/sport/gaelic-football/all-ireland-heartache-for-dr-crokes-3027433.html (http://www.kerryman.ie/sport/gaelic-football/all-ireland-heartache-for-dr-crokes-3027433.html)

Anyone who says Kerry folk are sore losers should read this.

QuoteAll Ireland heartache for Dr Crokes
Damian Stack was in Portlaoise on Saturday afternoon to witness Dr Crokes' humbling by the awesome Crossmaglen

"How did they throw that away?"

THAT was the question on many Dr Crokes and Kerry lips in the immediate aftermath of Saturday's All Ireland club semi-final. Given that Dr Crokes were up by seven points at one stage in the game it seems a totally reasonable question to ask.

Thing is though, it totally fails to grasp what happened in Portlaoise. The idea that Dr Crokes threw this game away is fundamentally flawed. Dr Crokes didn't throw anything away.

It was wrenched from them by the most effective, methodical and classy club side in the history of Gaelic Football.

Crokes didn't lose because they missed a few kickable chances in the first half. They lost because Crossmaglen were the better team and by some margin.

That, of course, doesn't quite square with the evidence of the first twenty minutes of the game. When Crokes were rampant and with Cross not looking anything like the formidable outfit we've come to know and (if you have to face them in battle) fear.

The initiative was very much with Dr Crokes then. The Kerry champs snapped up nearly every ball in the middle third of the field. Johnny Buckley and Ambrose O'donovan lorded matters over Johnny Hanratty and Stephen Kernan, while Eoin Brosnan and Fionn Fitzgerald were perceptive, reactive and effective sweepers on the half-back line.

With all that possession you'd expect a forward line of the calibre of Dr Crokes' to make hay. They did, but only to a certain extent. The lines of running and the passing, with boot and fist, were things of beauty. This was champagne stuff from Dr Crokes.

The only thing that was missing was more of an end product. They scored 1-5 to Crossmaglen's 0-1 in that period. It could or maybe even should have been something like 1-8 or possibly even 2-8 had Andrew Kenneally's effort been on target.

Given how anaemically Crossmaglen were playing it wouldn't have flattered the Killarney men and had they done so could Crossmaglen have come back from it? You'd be tempted to suggest not, but given what transpired you wouldn't put it past them.

Their joint managers Tony Mcentee and Gareth O'neill will be overjoyed with how they managed to claw back that deficit. By the same token they won't have been in the least bit pleased with how they performed in the opening twenty minutes of the match.

They conceded the initiative to Crokes. They looked overawed by the occasion and by the quality of the opposition. There was very little evidence of their years upon years of experience.

There was little evidence of their famed dogged determination either. Strange as it is to write, Crossmaglen were timid. They really could have no complaints when they found themselves seven points down.

That realisation seemed to ignite something in them. They knew they were better than this. For all Dr Crokes quality, they knew, deep down, that this was a position they had no place being.

Oisin Mcconville was the catalyst for Cross. He got a point just after Daithi Casey's goal to keep Cross ticking over and he set Michael Mcnamee up for the all important goal. Most importantly of all, however, was the decision of Mcentee and O'neill to throw David Mckenna into the fold in place of Stephen Finnegan.

At a stroke midfield and the attack were bolstered as Stephen Kernan moved into a more offensive role. It wasn't just that Buckley and O'donovan no longer had as much leeway as they had been having, all over the pitch Cross were getting stuck in, turning the heat up.

Dr Crokes didn't help themselves when the pressure came on. They did some foolish things. Like taking frees or kick-outs short, putting their defenders under serious pressure to carry the ball from defence. Cross pounced, frees were conceded and matters got steadily worse.

It wasn't just Mcconville who came to the fore for Cross. Jamie Clarke was inspirational too in the second half after an anonymous first. Inside the first minute of the second period he showed his class and his intent to make life utterly miserable for Crokes full-back Luke Quinn.

With a shimmy and a jink he left the Killarney man for dead, headed for goal and set up David Mckenna for a score to make it a one point game.

After Stephen Kernan's goal Cross were utterly dominant. Crokes simply had no answer to their power, their pace and their precision. Eoin Brosnan and Fionn Fitzgerald kept battling to some effect, but in most other places Crokes men were being beaten.

Crokes did, of course, bring this game back to parity. They did so totally and utterly against the run of play, assisted by the foolish sending off, for an off the ball incident, of Stephen Kernan.

Even down to fourteen men Cross had the better of their Kerry counterparts, but when Eoin Brosnan got up the pitch for a point to make it a three point game once again, suddenly Crokes sniffed an opening.

Chris Brady's instinctive finish from Brian Looney's rebounded goal shot gave Crokes hope again. In reality their late spurt was but a mirage. Cross were in control of this game, fourteen men or not, Crokes goal or no Crokes goal.

They weren't intimidated by Crokes. They didn't worry about what Colm Cooper might do now that the game was back in the melting pot. They had the Gooch well and truly wrapped up. Cross cornerback James Morgan kept him as quiet as a church mouse.

Nope, Cross didn't panic. Not for a second. They composed themselves, got down the pitch again (where they'd virtually camped out from the beginning of the half) and scored a goal of their own.

That's the mark of champions. Great champions at that. They play a lovely brand of football. They play it well. They make best use of the resources at their disposal. Alas Dr Crokes didn't.

Take the case of Colm Cooper. Even when Crokes were on song Cooper was peripheral, drifting deeper and deeper trying to bring his influence to bear.

He's the jewel in Crokes' crown. He should be the focal point of the team. Get the ball to him in dangerous positions. He'll do the rest.

So no, Crokes didn't "throw this away". Far from it. They made mistakes. In how they set themselves up, in how they tried to move the ball, in some of the decisions they made, but at the end of the day they simply came up against an irresistible force.

A good Crokes team was well beaten by a truly great Cross outfit. No mystery there.

You wouldn't get that in the Ulster Herald.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 23, 2012, 11:46:48 AM
Quote from: heffo on February 23, 2012, 11:25:04 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 23, 2012, 11:24:01 AM

Case closed.

He might  have a club AI in a few weeks to even things up too!

Here's hoping.
Post by: under the bar on February 26, 2012, 10:55:45 PM
Cross certainly must be considered as the best club team since the comp started.

Pulling on the county jersey is no doubt considered a major step down for the Cross players. 

Post by: DuffleKing on February 26, 2012, 11:21:39 PM

I'm sure you don't speak for the 4/5 who will be good enough utb

Post by: armaghranger12 on February 27, 2012, 10:32:00 AM
4/5 more like the 7/8 that will be good enough..
Post by: ogshead on February 27, 2012, 12:14:51 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 27, 2012, 10:32:00 AM

Cross are some outfit alright but your posts are awful cocky ar12... name the 7/8 and who they would replace in the county team.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 27, 2012, 04:54:28 PM
Quote from: ogshead on February 27, 2012, 12:14:51 PM

Cross are some outfit alright but your posts are awful cocky ar12... name the 7/8 and who they would replace in the county team.

Hearty is no .1
James Morgan- Declan Mc Kenna
Aaron Kernan- Kevin Dyas
Paul Mc Keown- Fin Mo
David Mc Kenna/Johnny Hannratty- Toner and Lavery. (I know mal and Charlie are there at the minute)
Tony k- Brian mallon
Aaron C or Stephen Kernan - Anto duffy
Jamie Clarke- John Kingham

I don't mean any disrespect to the players but man for man is the Cross players not better?

My Championship Team
1)   Hearty
2)   James Morgan
3)   Brendan Donaghy
4)   Paul Mc Keown
5)   Aaron Kernan
6)   Mc Keever
7)   Andy Mallon
8)   Charlie
9)   Titch or Johnny
10)    Aaron Cunnigham
11)   Mal Mackin
12)   Tony Kernan
13)   Gavin Mc Parland
14)   Stevie Mc Donnell
15)   Jamie Clarke
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 27, 2012, 05:55:28 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 27, 2012, 04:54:28 PM

Hearty is no .1
Aaron Kernan- Kevin Dyas
Paul Mc Keown- Fin Mo
David Mc Kenna/Johnny Hannratty- Toner and Lavery. (I know mal and Charlie are there at the minute)
Tony k- Brian mallon

I don't mean any disrespect to the players but man for man is the Cross players not better?

My Championship Team
1)   Hearty Probably No1 but may not be guaranteed after flop last year
2)   James Morgan Either him or McKeown, but not both
3)   Brendan Donaghy
4)   Paul Mc Keown see above
5)   Aaron Kernan definitely
6)   Mc Keever
7)   Andy Mallon - Would have Dyas here and Mallon at CB at expense of Morgan/McKeown
8)   Charlie
9)   Titch or Johnny - no way to both
10)    Aaron Cunnigham - no way
11)   Mal Mackin
12)   Tony Kernan
13)   Gavin Mc Parland
14)   Stevie Mc Donnell
15)   Jamie Clarke - definitely
All due respect but putting in a good shift against some mediocre Kerry club side isn't the same as going toe-to-toe  for an hour with our bog-dwelling short-arses from across the Blackwater.

I would certainly have most of those players in the panel but it would be unfair to those who are already shining with both the U21 and senior sides (Campbell, Forker, McParland, McVerry etc) to be disregarded just to make way for the Cross contingent.
Post by: ogshead on February 27, 2012, 07:08:37 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 27, 2012, 05:55:28 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 27, 2012, 04:54:28 PM

Hearty is no .1
Aaron Kernan- Kevin Dyas
Paul Mc Keown- Fin Mo
Tony k- Brian mallon

My Championship Team
1)   Hearty Probably No1 but may not be guaranteed after flop last year
2)   James Morgan Either him or McKeown, but not both
3)   Brendan Donaghy
4)   Paul Mc Keown see above
5)   Aaron Kernan definitely
6)   Mc Keever
7)   Andy Mallon - Would have Dyas here and Mallon at CB at expense of Morgan/McKeown
8)   Charlie
9)   Titch or Johnny - no way to both
10)    Aaron Cunnigham - no way
11)   Mal Mackin
12)   Tony Kernan
13)   Gavin Mc Parland
14)   Stevie Mc Donnell
15)   Jamie Clarke - definitely
All due respect but putting in a good shift against some mediocre Kerry club side isn't the same as going toe-to-toe  for an hour with our bog-dwelling short-arses from across the Blackwater.

I would certainly have most of those players in the panel but it would be unfair to those who are already shining with both the U21 and senior sides (Campbell, Forker, McParland, McVerry etc) to be disregarded just to make way for the Cross contingent.

I'm glad this sparked a debate... as good as Cross are at club level not all their players make the cut at county level. I don't know why this is, maybe the players can't motivate themselves for anyone else other than their club or because it is just one level too high for them. Again, it could be that they have been playing non-stop for the last 24 months and are burnt out.
Post by: armaghniac on February 27, 2012, 07:53:53 PM
Cross players are certainly worth considering, although the likes of Forker and McVerry showed promise against the Kerry county team and not just a Kerry club.

But in the Cross setup players know what they are expected to do and they know how other players will play to them etc. In recent years there has been very little sign that Armagh players have a clear idea of their role and coordination of play hasn't been great. Perhaps this will change this year, Tralee gave some hope.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 28, 2012, 10:01:26 AM
I was just winding the good people up there. I personally think that there will only be 5 max Cross players and i don't think any more would be deserve their places. Hearty, Morgan, Aaron, Tony Kernan and Jamie would be the 5 but would have some others as back up.  The younger players have took their chance since they got it and they would not deserve to be dropped just because the Cross players are back. 
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 28, 2012, 10:04:07 AM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 28, 2012, 10:01:26 AM
I was just winding the good people up there. I personally think that there will only be 5 max Cross players and i don't think any more would be deserve their places. Hearty, Morgan, Aaron, Tony Kernan and Jamie would be the 5 but would have some others as back up.  The younger players have took their chance since they got it and they would not deserve to be dropped just because the Cross players are back.

Would agree with that with maybe TK possibly replaced by Johnny Hanratty.  I think they need his "dogness" around the midfield. 
Post by: rowzocull12 on February 28, 2012, 10:06:35 AM
Cross should win the final easily with the use of young talent, primarily in the form of Squilly O'neil, Paul Sweeney and most obvious Vilius Vilchiesknas. Also heard that Drumintee stalwart, Conor Wesley Hoey, is seeking to secure a transfer to Cross? Any truth in this?
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 28, 2012, 10:16:44 AM
I dont no if your looking work rate and dogness tk has to be the man. Watching the game on T.V last week taught he was by far man of the match for the amount of ball he got and never give it away (apart from his shot which led to aarons goal). every time Cross needed a go-to-man it was him. 
Post by: CornerBackNo2 on February 28, 2012, 11:38:08 AM
1, Hearty
2, Mallon
3, Donaghy
4, Morgan
5, Kernan
6, McKeever
7, Dyas/Duffy
8, Vernon
9, McKenna
10, Mackin
11, S Kernan
12, McParland/Cunningham
13, J Clarke
14, McDonnell
15, McVerry
Post by: Onion Bag on February 28, 2012, 01:48:42 PM
All this talk of hearty in goals, i have seen enough of Geoughan throughtout the mc kenna cup and league to date to say that i reckon he will get the nod for the number 1 jersey.
Hearty is so unpredictable at times and has made some howlers, i.e The goal against tyrone last year,
Post by: Applesisapples on February 28, 2012, 02:14:02 PM
Geoghan looks a good prospect, but Hearty will get the nod on experience and his kickouts.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 28, 2012, 03:01:23 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on February 28, 2012, 01:48:42 PM
All this talk of hearty in goals, i have seen enough of Geoughan throughtout the mc kenna cup and league to date to say that i reckon he will get the nod for the number 1 jersey.
Hearty is so unpredictable at times and has made some howlers, i.e The goal against tyrone last year,

Correct me if im wrong onion bag, but was Geoughan the ballymacnab Goal keeper? Was he not at fault for at least one of the goals in the county final against Cross? And did he not single handily get David Mc Kenna man of the match because he could only kick the ball down the middle of the field and had no variation on the kick outs? He also that day denyed Cross another 3 or 4 goals to his credit.

I think he has the potential to be a good keeper but to say that he 1st choice is away off the mark.  Hearty has a bad blunder against Tyrone last year and Donegal a few years ago but I can also think of game's that he won for both Armagh and Cross down the years.   
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 28, 2012, 03:10:52 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 28, 2012, 03:01:23 PM

Correct me if im wrong onion bag, but was Geoughan he ballymacnab Goal keeper? Was he not at fault for at least one of the goals in the county final against Cross? And did he not single handily get David Mc Kenna man of the match because he could only kick the ball down the middle of the field and had no variation on the kick outs? He also that day denyed Cross another 3 or 4 goals to his credit.

I think he has the potential to be a good keeper but to say that he 1st choice is away off the mark.  Hearty has a bad blunder against Tyrone last year and Donegal a few years ago but I can also think of game that he won for both Armagh and Cross down the years.

I'll correct you but that was Sean Hughes, who incidentally had a good game that day.  Geoghan is a very goo keeper.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 28, 2012, 03:24:16 PM
Im sorry, I do apologise to Sean Hughes and to all connected with my mistake.  cheers Bc1 you the man
Post by: Armaghtothebone on February 28, 2012, 10:24:07 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 28, 2012, 03:10:52 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 28, 2012, 03:01:23 PM

Correct me if im wrong onion bag, but was Geoughan he ballymacnab Goal keeper? Was he not at fault for at least one of the goals in the county final against Cross? And did he not single handily get David Mc Kenna man of the match because he could only kick the ball down the middle of the field and had no variation on the kick outs? He also that day denyed Cross another 3 or 4 goals to his credit.

I think he has the potential to be a good keeper but to say that he 1st choice is away off the mark.  Hearty has a bad blunder against Tyrone last year and Donegal a few years ago but I can also think of game that he won for both Armagh and Cross down the years.

I'll correct you but that was Sean Hughes, who incidentally had a good game that day.  Geoghan is a very goo keeper.

Was'nt there but the nab keeper was many peoples man of the match
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 02, 2012, 12:05:09 PM
Kernan's red card stands. Pity for the fella.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 02, 2012, 12:18:55 PM
Don't think it will have any bearing on the game in fairness Tony, When Cross click they will run over the top of this team. Cross minus 3!!

Do a double bet every year, usually comes up, but the hurling game will be tough to call. Did Cross to draw one year, Crokes game happy days Osin!!

Can see the hurling going to a draw as it will be tight.
Post by: Applesisapples on March 02, 2012, 01:26:20 PM
Christ when you think of some of the yellows issued Stephen Kernan's Red was very very harsh considering he was emptied late by the Crokes man who wasn't even sanctioned.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 02, 2012, 01:35:16 PM
Big shame for Stephen but you know what happens when someone is given a cause to fight for... ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 02, 2012, 06:31:17 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 02, 2012, 12:18:55 PM
Don't think it will have any bearing on the game in fairness Tony, When Cross click they will run over the top of this team. Cross minus 3!!

Do a double bet every year, usually comes up, but the hurling game will be tough to call. Did Cross to draw one year, Crokes game happy days Osin!!

Can see the hurling going to a draw as it will be tight.
From an overall team perspective I agree but on a personal level it's shit to see someone lose out due to a harsh refereeing decision.
Post by: Orchardman on March 02, 2012, 08:34:59 PM
I've never met stephen kernan, but it really annoys me when this happens to a lad, missing the chance to lead his club out in an all ireland final, with 3 other brothers playing. It wouldn't matter that he already has 2 all irelands, i'd be sick as a dog.

The sending off was a joke, the gaa need to wise up. surely this will go to DRA
Post by: jodyb on March 02, 2012, 08:56:58 PM
Showed it on the glorious beeb this evening again in slo mo and while there's no question he was not the agressor, he retaliated and clearly boxed the f##ker. Unfortunately for him but it was a sending off offence, provoked or not.  :(
Post by: get up there on March 02, 2012, 09:38:01 PM
what a complete joke that this should stand, it was more of a (get off me motion) than a intentional strike, like, paul kerragan got his red card overturned after 2 counts of intent to strike, any paper I've read, both north and south says that it was a dubious sending off, so were is the problem, in fact I've heard nothing else only that it was a harsh sending off from the media, pundits, and players alike, the bigest game off the lads life and  to be cheated out of it like this leaves you very disillusioned with the gaa, some of the bans and fines there dishing out is a disgrace.
Post by: Throw ball on March 03, 2012, 12:41:58 AM
Honestly think that the disciplinary board is destroying our game with some of the inconsistency and lunacy of some of the decisions made.
Post by: jodyb on March 03, 2012, 12:04:36 PM
Quote from: get up there on March 02, 2012, 09:38:01 PM
what a complete joke that this should stand, it was more of a (get off me motion) than a intentional strike, like, paul kerragan got his red card overturned after 2 counts of intent to strike, any paper I've read, both north and south says that it was a dubious sending off, so were is the problem, in fact I've heard nothing else only that it was a harsh sending off from the media, pundits, and players alike, the bigest game off the lads life and  to be cheated out of it like this leaves you very disillusioned with the gaa, some of the bans and fines there dishing out is a disgrace.

Prior to yeterday evening, I would have agreed with you. When I was watching the game, I was jumpin around the kitchen like a lunatic in bad temper when he got sent off. Unfortunately the footage last night shows a clear box and intent dosen't come into it at that stage. Its clear, if you strike, you walk.

Enda Muldoon reacted in a similar 'get off me' fashion when that sc#mb#g Paddy Campbell grabbed him by the b@lls in 06 (Described as extreme provocation at the time) but his red card regardless of how unjust it was, was not rescinded on appeal.