GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Leo on February 05, 2012, 09:45:57 PM

Title: RTE League Sunday
Post by: Leo on February 05, 2012, 09:45:57 PM
What an absolute insult to the opening day of the GAA season.
Dead-hand Marty Morrisey (what a sh1t presenter) and sleeping-pill Whelan along side the painting-by-numbers "analysis" of McStay in a programme that had all the editorial and production values of an end of term primary school play, this does serious disservice to every player, supporter and GAA volunteer who braved the weekend's poor weather to put on a series of games. Luckily I was at a game and not totally depending on broadcast coverage but God help those whose only access to action was via TV.
The so-called highlights show couldn't even put up a sensible graphic recording all the results. Surely a short sudio report for each game is not beyond the capacities of the over-paid "public servants" that populate RTE.
Take an hour's slot - 4 major games , say 8 minutes each, leaves 28 minutes - 12 reports of 1 minute each leaves another18 minutes for cha & a brerak - how diffciult is that?
Have we a public relations or media division in the GAA that can take this lazy broadcasting to task?
I am certainly heading for the Setanta subscription after that crap.
When you look at the slick operation of Hook, Pope etc in rugby no wonder we are losing "market share". Desparate stuff!
Title: Re: RTE League Sunday
Post by: Leo on February 05, 2012, 09:49:01 PM
Before you get me on my keyboard skills... it leaves 16 minutes for chat & an advertising break (I do know that Cha has hung up his hurley!).
Post by: Jinxy on February 05, 2012, 10:31:04 PM
Any mention of the 'hot zone' or is it too early in the season for that?
Post by: TheThirdManning on February 05, 2012, 10:51:19 PM
The GAA shows always are  and always have been pathetic. I think I read somewhere that the GAA gave RTE their 3 biggest viewing last year so how we don't get more effort put in I just don't know.

Yesterday mornign I found myself watchin a re-run of Seo Spoirt despite not having an ounce of Irish. I was happy enough to read the subtitles and get a feel for the weekend's action. Darragh O'Se and David Henry were on with two others. There was an interview with Johnny Doyle and kids from a school somewhere took a 65 challenge and had a laugh with it.

Im not expert on the ins and outs of how TV stations work but I would imagine that TG4 is on a fraction of the budget these eegits are on in Donnybrook.

I mean is a Saturday morning show, that is well produced, looking ahead to all the weeks action really that hard to put together?

And don't even get me started on The Committee Room and Up for the Match. It's two early in the year for that.

And someone please stop letting Marty Morrissey host shows!!!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 05, 2012, 10:54:36 PM
Quote from: TheThirdManning on February 05, 2012, 10:51:19 PM
And someone please stop letting Marty Morrissey host shows!!!

If anything they've been giving him more shows to do in recent years rather than less. He must have incriminating photographs on Ryle Nugent.
Post by: Denn Forever on February 05, 2012, 11:10:34 PM
But what does Ryle Nugent have on Ryle Nugent so that he is the lead Rugby commentator?
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 05, 2012, 11:13:48 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 05, 2012, 11:10:34 PM
But what does Ryle Nugent have on Ryle Nugent so that he is the lead Rugby commentator?

Kinda happy Ireland lost v Wales...for Nugget's sake.
Post by: Jinxy on February 05, 2012, 11:14:37 PM
Lads the weekly magazine show on TG4 is the way to go.
Post by: panc56 on February 06, 2012, 12:06:41 AM
Agreed it was awful. Not to show a full list of results is pathetic , on top of that they showed highigjts of games that were live on TG4 & Setanta Over the weekend. Not one camera left Montrose to follow a game. How many had they in the Aviva?
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 06, 2012, 07:23:53 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 05, 2012, 11:14:37 PM
Lads the weekly magazine show on TG4 is the way to go.

It's very good, not sure of the 65' comp - bit soccer am for me but good for the kids I suppose...
Post by: snoopdog on February 06, 2012, 12:44:57 PM
yep Dreadful.
They couldnt even send a camera to the Mayo Laois game and they showed brief highlights of Down and Donegal but couldnt be bothered to do even a 1 minute analysis of the game. I know they show disdain for ulster football but that was a disgrace.
They are an embarassement to the GAA.
Post by: Denn Forever on February 06, 2012, 08:47:18 PM
GAA 2012 on TG4 is on now.  Mayo/Laois game and Galway/Derry game so far.
Post by: haze on February 06, 2012, 09:08:18 PM
Now this is a proper highlights show.

Some great scores in Meath Monaghan game
Post by: neilthemac on February 06, 2012, 09:12:52 PM
Can somebody get a motion to Congress that RTE be stripped of all league highlights and magazine tv programmes.

give them all to TG4.

They'd even do a better job of the Sunday Game too
Post by: thejuice on February 06, 2012, 09:31:19 PM
Is there no-one else other than Marty, please god. TG4 have always done a decent job. RTE are a shambles when it comes to GAA coverage.
Post by: Jinxy on February 06, 2012, 09:51:25 PM
Quote from: haze on February 06, 2012, 09:08:18 PM
Now this is a proper highlights show.

Some great scores in Meath Monaghan game

Thank god for TG4.
Post by: mortified on February 06, 2012, 10:40:14 PM
Quote from: panc56 on February 06, 2012, 12:06:41 AM
Agreed it was awful. Not to show a full list of results is pathetic , on top of that they showed highigjts of games that were live on TG4 & Setanta Over the weekend. Not one camera left Montrose to follow a game. How many had they in the Aviva?

exactly, they always shows games that were live elsewhere, really terrible show.
Post by: Orangemac on February 06, 2012, 11:36:28 PM
RTE National League coverage - 1hour.

Last Friday night - Ireland U20s Rugby team - live coverage - 2 hours.

Sums up their priorities.

The GAA need to be on the frontfoot promoting all the good aspects of the game.Marty Morrissey and Kevin McStay would put you to sleep.
Post by: Leo on February 06, 2012, 11:57:59 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on February 06, 2012, 11:36:28 PM
RTE National League coverage - 1hour.

Last Friday night - Ireland U20s Rugby team - live coverage - 2 hours.

Sums up their priorities.

The GAA need to be on the frontfoot promoting all the good aspects of the game.Marty Morrissey and Kevin McStay would put you to sleep.

Quite what the well-pid PRO office in Croke Park is doing about this is hard to see.
Post by: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 12:04:36 AM
I'd love to know what the viewing figures are for these u-20's rugby games.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 07, 2012, 01:01:42 AM
RTE highlights shows in general are pish when you consider they get carte blanche from HQ. If anything The Sunday Game has too many pundits describing what is under the noses of the people watching. Just show more of the highlights from around the country and have a bit of balance.
Post by: Breffni_Yank on February 07, 2012, 01:02:50 AM
In my opinion the one thing the GAA really lacks is a weekly GAA show where any fan of the inter-county scene can go to, to see what is happening in the world. It really wouldn't be that hard to put together. Loads of retired and current players would gladly take part.

RTE's attempts are pathetic and lazy. I wish TV3 or TG4 would try and come up with something quality so that RTE either had to react to it or the GAA would direct money towards the other station to help fund the programme.

And as for u20 Rugby ::) Imagine RTE bothering to show a Leinster u21 final or the likes...That will be the day.
Post by: The Insider on February 07, 2012, 01:33:31 AM
As most counties do a DVD of their league games, both Longford and Offaly did so in Pearse Park(or Glennon Brothers Pearse Park as its now known) with modern technology and the web it should possible for the GAA to upload highlights of every game , Am told highlights of Ulster Council games are available to registered user's. Still have nightmares of Marty's walk along the sideline in Kingspan Breffni Park milking the Meath supporters calling for him to give them a wave !. Need more men like Brian Cody to put him in his place
Post by: Rossfan on February 07, 2012, 12:08:23 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 06, 2012, 09:31:19 PM
TG4 have always done a decent job. RTE are a shambles when it comes to GAA coverage.

+1.

RTE's GAA programmes are real D4 stick something on for the bogmen type effort.
Seó Spóirt and GAA 2012 are two excellent programmes.
Post by: Hardy on February 07, 2012, 12:17:02 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 07, 2012, 12:08:23 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 06, 2012, 09:31:19 PM
TG4 have always done a decent job. RTE are a shambles when it comes to GAA coverage.

+1.

RTE's GAA programmes are real D4 stick something on for the bogmen type effort...

That's exactly it. It's infuriating to be patronised by gobshites like Morrissey, Canning, Lyster and practically all the pundits. They always come across as talking down to you, explaining, interpreting, repeating as if they assume their audience has senile dementia, posturing and smugly expecting deference.

Compare and contrast with the matter-of-fact delivery by the TG4 presenters and pundits. Information and opinion presented in conversational terms in a tone that infers an assumption of equality of both knowledge and interest on the parts of both presenter and viewer. The same applies more or less to TV3.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 07, 2012, 12:42:51 PM
Unfortunately (or maybe fortuately) i didn't get to see this show but can just imagine the tripe that was displayed. However, why sit back and complain about it? surely someone who viewed it could pen a quick synopsis on how sh1t it was and point out how it could have been improved. They could then post it up here and we can in turn copy it and email it to the relevant complaints dept at rte and croke park. If we do this every week and highlight how crap each show was and why we can at least make our point known.
Post by: BennyCake on February 07, 2012, 01:07:50 PM
RTE's league coverage looked like a thing that was threw together at the last minute.

Isn't there anyone better than Whelan and McStay?! Get a feckin' grip RTE.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 07, 2012, 01:12:46 PM
Surely theer would be an appitite for a 'Football focus' type programme on a saturday/sunday morning and a decent highlights show on a sunday/monday night?
it cant be that hard to show some breif highlights from every game and extended highlights of 3 or 4.
FFS the formula is already there with what the BBC do for the soccer, its just a matter of adapting it for gaa games & the national league
Post by: BennyCake on February 07, 2012, 02:00:56 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on February 07, 2012, 01:12:46 PM
Surely theer would be an appitite for a 'Football focus' type programme on a saturday/sunday morning and a decent highlights show on a sunday/monday night?
it cant be that hard to show some breif highlights from every game and extended highlights of 3 or 4.
FFS the formula is already there with what the BBC do for the soccer, its just a matter of adapting it for gaa games & the national league

Agreed.

You would think that now there is a rival for live games in TV3 and TG4, that RTE would buck up their ideas. But it seems to have gone the other way. Match of the day bucked up their ideas after ITV had the PL highlights. Why can't RTE?! I don't think they care about GAA coverage though. They spend millions on Champions League coverage. There are alot of fans of Liverpool, United etc who watch their team, but who the hell cares about Marseille, Dynamo Kiev and the likes?!
Post by: PAULD123 on February 07, 2012, 05:59:46 PM
An hour is not enough for highlights from 16 games. Match of the Day covers only around 7-8 matches and it takes an hour and a half.  Premier Soccer Saturday is over 2 hours long for the same number of matches.

Ten minutes is the minimum time that should be given to each Division 1 game, 6-7 minutes for Division 2, 2-3 minutes for division 3 and a minute for division 4. Throw in about 20-30 minutes chatting and analysis, that would give a show that was approximately an hour and 45 minutes long for all games over the weekend.

That is an appropriate length for a highlights show. Not a meseley hour where half the show is one game and some other Division 1 matches get less than 2 minutes, let alone what happens to lower division games!
Post by: Denn Forever on February 07, 2012, 06:08:06 PM
GAA 2012 seemed to concentrate on Div 1 and 2 games.   I doubt it has the budget to get to Div.3 and 4 games.

Post by: Sportacus on February 07, 2012, 07:00:26 PM
Whichever channel unearths a great commentator will have it nailed.  God I used to love listening to O'Hehir in my youth. He had a great tone and really added to the atmosphere. There's nobody commentating at the moment who I enjoy. I really think it's actually doing damage to the GAA - like do you ever see a child running about with a ball impersonating Morrisey?
Post by: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 07:26:57 PM
I couldn't care less about that to be honest.
The problem we have now is commentators that try to be 'characters' with pointless anecdotes and folksy mucksavagery.
Give me someone like Darragh Maloney, who just says what's happening on the pitch, over that tired stereotype any day of the week.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 07, 2012, 07:42:13 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 07:26:57 PM
The problem we have now is commentators that try to be 'characters' with pointless anecdotes and folksy mucksavagery.
Give me someone like Darragh Maloney, who just says what's happening on the pitch, over that tired stereotype any day of the week.

This.
Moloney, despite not being a GAA man at all, is the best RTE commentator right now. No bullsh*t or ramblings a la Morrissey/Canning.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 07, 2012, 11:26:26 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 07, 2012, 07:42:13 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 07:26:57 PM

This.
Moloney, despite not being a GAA man at all, is the best RTE commentator right now. No bullsh*t or ramblings a la Morrissey/Canning.
Yeah, Maloney is the best by a mile

Post by: Orangemac on February 07, 2012, 11:45:45 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on February 07, 2012, 05:59:46 PM
An hour is not enough for highlights from 16 games. Match of the Day covers only around 7-8 matches and it takes an hour and a half.  Premier Soccer Saturday is over 2 hours long for the same number of matches.

Ten minutes is the minimum time that should be given to each Division 1 game, 6-7 minutes for Division 2, 2-3 minutes for division 3 and a minute for division 4. Throw in about 20-30 minutes chatting and analysis, that would give a show that was approximately an hour and 45 minutes long for all games over the weekend.

That is an appropriate length for a highlights show. Not a meseley hour where half the show is one game and some other Division 1 matches get less than 2 minutes, let alone what happens to lower division games!
This sounds logical. Unfortunately not to RTE. It is in the GAAs interests that the skills/scores of GAA are showcased properly particularly for younger viewers. With modern technology it is not expensive to have highlights from all games. Maybe the GAA needs to launch it's own channel.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 07, 2012, 11:48:00 PM
Marty was commentating on radio 1 last Saturday and it was shocking. The nature of radio means commentators must talk more than on tv which is a big negative where Marty is concerned. He is just brutal.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 08, 2012, 09:46:09 AM
He's a reporter, not a commentator. He shouldn't be allowed to commentate.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 08, 2012, 09:56:43 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 07, 2012, 11:48:00 PM
Marty was commentating on radio 1 last Saturday and it was shocking. The nature of radio means commentators must talk more than on tv which is a big negative where Marty is concerned. He is just brutal.

Was listening to him at the match. With Kerry a point up Marty was telling us "There is no score after three and a half minutes of play". 30 seconds later his next comment up "And after four minutes Kerry are up by two points". I'd have fucked the phone at him if he was within range, I'd say Dessie was doing his nut.
Post by: Denn Forever on February 11, 2012, 01:00:35 PM
Just watching Seó Spóirt repeat this morning with subtitles.  Great show. See Tony Fearon won their weekly competition.  That man wins again.
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 11, 2012, 01:09:33 PM
Tomorrow this show will hv highlights of the two games Setanta have already shown tonight and the two games TG4 have tomorrow. Pointless really.
Post by: Jinxy on February 11, 2012, 01:42:32 PM
Not if you don't have Setanta.
Plus, they're the the two most attractive fixtures from a viewers perspective.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 11, 2012, 10:22:09 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on February 11, 2012, 01:09:33 PM
Tomorrow this show will hv highlights of the two games Setanta have already shown tonight and the two games TG4 have tomorrow. Pointless really.

It'll be one and a half setanta games so!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 12, 2012, 08:06:04 PM
It's like the sundaygame tonight - lyster and O'Rourke both on
Post by: Sportacus on February 12, 2012, 08:40:34 PM
That was a fair discussion on kildare monaghan dust up.  Wasn't much but it won't look good in Monday papers, and it comes quickly after the derrytresk thing.  And any sanctions handed down when these things happen will be watered down - nail on the head.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 12, 2012, 08:40:51 PM
Does Davy Fitz really need touch screen technology to switch a wing back and midfielder? He looks so serious doing it too :D
Post by: Bord na Mona man on February 12, 2012, 09:03:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 12, 2012, 08:40:51 PM
Does Davy Fitz really need touch screen technology to switch a wing back and midfielder?
Normally he jumps up and down swinging both arms like windmills to make such a switch!  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on February 12, 2012, 09:53:37 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on February 12, 2012, 08:40:34 PM
That was a fair discussion on kildare monaghan dust up.  Wasn't much but it won't look good in Monday papers, and it comes quickly after the derrytresk thing.  And any sanctions handed down when these things happen will be watered down - nail on the head.

Yep.
'GAA neanderthals at it again.'
Post by: Leo on February 12, 2012, 10:27:21 PM
Much better show - possibly the change of personnel helped - plus they seemed to have taken on board our issue about failing to show all the results.
I still think a quick summary from all League games and a league table for eah division should be an essentail part of such a programme.
And for real controversy - a "team of the day".
But a long way improved from last week's dung.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 12, 2012, 11:20:07 PM
Watched it tonight hasn't Colm O'Rourke aged a lot?
Post by: bigpaul on February 12, 2012, 11:26:42 PM
I couldn't say it was 'much better',Colm O' Rourke was definitely better than Ciaran Whelan, but then he would have to be! What I found amazing was that they made no mention of Jim Mc Guinness' interview on TG4 while Kevin Cassidy stood within earshot, surely this was just about the biggest talking point in the GAA weekend, but we had to depend on a sports report on the news to find outabout it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 13, 2012, 02:44:52 AM
Quote from: bigpaul on February 12, 2012, 11:26:42 PM
I couldn't say it was 'much better',Colm O' Rourke was definitely better than Ciaran Whelan, but then he would have to be! What I found amazing was that they made no mention of Jim Mc Guinness' interview on TG4 while Kevin Cassidy stood within earshot, surely this was just about the biggest talking point in the GAA weekend, but we had to depend on a sports report on the news to find outabout it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That was a seriously awkward moment..McGuiness practically walked away for a finish. Didn't see Seó Spóirt dé h-Aoine, but apparently Cassidy said he's retired and thats it finished? Strange to say that after McGuiness seemingly left the door open for reconciliation, no?
Post by: glens73 on February 13, 2012, 07:45:42 AM
McStay while commenting on Laois v Donegal said "good win for Kildare"
Post by: Armaghgael on February 13, 2012, 01:32:00 PM
Why cant i watch it on media player?
Post by: armaghniac on February 13, 2012, 03:38:03 PM
QuoteWhy cant i watch it on media player?

What does it say? It won't allow you watch it outside Ireland I imagine, and some NI ISPs do not clearly signal that you are in Ireland.
Post by: Jinxy on February 13, 2012, 03:54:22 PM
Quote from: bigpaul on February 12, 2012, 11:26:42 PM

That was a bit mischievous by TG4 alright.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 29, 2012, 08:48:08 PM
Expert analysis from Colm Parkinson tonight  :o
Post by: sheamy on April 29, 2012, 09:02:06 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on April 29, 2012, 08:48:08 PM
Expert analysis from Colm Parkinson tonight  :o

Jeez, he's some ballbag alright. RTE scraping the barrel there.

As for Martin 'we'll see a different Donegal' McHugh, so we can expect 13 men behind the ball rather than the traditional 14 :-) Talking balls Marty.
Post by: Jinxy on April 29, 2012, 09:09:09 PM
I cannot abide Martin McHugh.
By the way does anyone else think it's a bit of a joke that Eugene McGee is chairing that committee set up to review gaelic football?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on April 29, 2012, 09:15:40 PM
Terrible stuff altogether.................. Parkinson is an ignorant oaf, how he gets theses gigs are beyond me  ::)

Mc Hugh.....................why doesnt he just come out and call us Dubs c***s........................ id respect him better, for all his sly digs and making up stories about the dublin camp

Brolly is the only lad that speaks sense and who keeps me from switching off the box
Post by: sheamy on April 29, 2012, 09:16:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 29, 2012, 09:09:09 PM
I cannot abide Martin McHugh.
By the way does anyone else think it's a bit of a joke that Eugene McGee is chairing that committee set up to review gaelic football?

McGee?! You get the impression there's something not altogether sane about him.
McHugh is just a hateful wee bollix. Nothing more to be said there.
Post by: sheamy on April 29, 2012, 09:18:51 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on April 29, 2012, 09:15:40 PM
Terrible stuff altogether.................. Parkinson is an ignorant oaf, how he gets theses gigs are beyond me  ::)

Mc Hugh.....................why doesnt he just come out and call us Dubs c***s........................ id respect him better, for all his sly digs and making up stories about the dublin camp

Brolly is the only lad that speaks sense and who keeps me from switching off the box

Awful disrespect shown to the AI champions there across the board. Brolly was the only one that was about to say something positive 'it was more than that Michael' but he was cut off...Spillane talking pure shite as usual.
Post by: Jinxy on April 29, 2012, 09:20:34 PM
McGeeney was right on Newstalk yesterday, the quality of football analysis, on TV in particular, is very poor.
McHugh was on about lads not being able to kick points anymore again the other night.  ::)
Post by: sheamy on April 29, 2012, 09:24:39 PM
'Cork will never ever beat Kerry in Croke Park because Kerry have great forwards' Pat Spillane

How much does this buckin eejit get per appearance?
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 29, 2012, 09:28:36 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on April 29, 2012, 09:15:40 PM

What sense is this you speak of? Brolly speaks as much nonsense as the rest of them.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 29, 2012, 09:36:32 PM
Quote from: sheamy on April 29, 2012, 09:24:39 PM
'Cork will never ever beat Kerry in Croke Park because Kerry have great forwards' Pat Spillane

How much does this buckin eejit get per appearance?

Too Much!

Kerry have the best team in the country, then how come it's 2009 since they won an All-Ireland?

Footnote: They probably are but they are not invincible.
Post by: moysider on April 29, 2012, 09:41:46 PM
Brolly reached a new low today. He should be ashamed of himself for being so obviously biased. Producer and presenter need to take a long hard look at themselves too for allowing licence money to be wasted like this.

TG4 analysis of the games was professional. Largely objective with no obvious agendas. And then you get League Sunday!
Post by: sheamy on April 29, 2012, 09:50:31 PM
Brolly went a bit OTT but he is absolutely right to highlight disgusting play acting. As long as he does it consistently though. It is one of the most hideous things in the game.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 29, 2012, 10:09:42 PM
Quote from: sheamy on April 29, 2012, 09:50:31 PM
Brolly went a bit OTT but he is absolutely right to highlight disgusting play acting. As long as he does it consistently though. It is one of the most hideous things in the game.

Did Spillane have any comment about play-acting? Was a dab hand at it in his Hayday!
Post by: ross matt on April 29, 2012, 10:13:35 PM
A dab hand at playacting... diving and playing behing his own defence from the wing forward position. All the things he moans about now. One of the games greatest ever players but a hypocrit and a pundit with little credibility.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 29, 2012, 10:27:06 PM
Quote from: ross matt on April 29, 2012, 10:13:35 PM
A dab hand at playacting... diving and playing behing his own defence from the wing forward position. All the things he moans about now. One of the games greatest ever players but a hypocrit and a pundit with little credibility.

Post by: moysider on April 29, 2012, 10:46:32 PM

A bit of balance would be in order. Why did Brolly not highlight the handtrip by O Neill on Vaughan and Cadogan giving him the hip on the way down? Cynical and very dangerous in turn. Another foul by O Neill on Keegan which effected a 4 and possibly six point turnaround? No mention of that either. He wheeled out an admittedly ill-judged, but hardly game-changing feint by Vaughan, to sew it into one of his pet hates.

I would have no problem with Brolly highlighting Vaughan's stuff if he balanced that with a rabid O Leary shaking a player that could have had a head/neck injury! As well as the foul that allowed Cork to kill the game. Both were  correctly highlighted on TG4 earlier but not a meg from the national broadcaster.

Would it a have been ok to grab and shake McCrory in the earlier game? He s supposed to be neutral.

Then he s on about Tony McEntee and Crossmaglen? WTF. Surprised he didn t manage to drag Enda Muldoon in as well. Utter bollix.
Post by: Jinxy on April 29, 2012, 11:09:55 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 29, 2012, 10:46:32 PM

A bit of balance would be in order. Why did Brolly not highlight the handtrip by O Neill on Vaughan and Cadogan giving him the hip on the way down? Cynical and very dangerous in turn. Another foul by O Neill on Keegan which effected a 4 and possibly six point turnaround? No mention of that either. He wheeled out an admittedly ill-judged, but hardly game-changing feint by Vaughan, to sew it into one of his pet hates.

I would have no problem with Brolly highlighting Vaughan's stuff if he balanced that with a rabid O Leary shaking a player that could have had a head/neck injury! As well as the foul that allowed Cork to kill the game. Both were  correctly highlighted on TG4 earlier but not a meg from the national broadcaster.

Would it a have been ok to grab and shake McCrory in the earlier game? He s supposed to be neutral.

Then he s on about Tony McEntee and Crossmaglen? WTF. Surprised he didn t manage to drag Enda Muldoon in as well. Utter bollix.

To be honest, I thought the same until I saw the replays.
It was no free.
Unless we want to go down the soccer 'there was definite contact there' route.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 29, 2012, 11:14:06 PM

Agreed, the show was all Cork, absolutely no balance. If the Vaughan incident was not part of the agenda, then other incidents you mentioned would not bother me.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 29, 2012, 11:15:15 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 29, 2012, 11:09:55 PM

It was no free.
Same here looked a foul replays said different.
Post by: Ard-Rí on April 29, 2012, 11:23:12 PM
It was no free.

True for ya. Soccer is well on the way to being non-contact, we don't want to take any inspiration from those quarters.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 29, 2012, 11:24:33 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on April 29, 2012, 11:23:12 PM
It was no free.

True for ya. Soccer is well on the way to being non-contact, we don't want to take any inspiration from those quarters.

Give it time!
Post by: moysider on April 29, 2012, 11:27:49 PM

It was no free.

Keegan was pushed in the back causing him to lose balance and fall over. That s  a free as much as a trip in same circumstances would be. End of. Yellow card too under the circumstances. Player through for possibly a goal chance and a last desperate push by a flailing opponent. If he got closer it would be a better push but as anybody that has ever ran a bit fast knows it takes f**k all of a push to make you fall over. 100% foul. No matter. History now. But I thought Deegan today was intimidated/bullied more today than even the Mayo players were. Little chat with captains before throw-in ( what was he expecting?!) Before Vaughan did his Luganis he was hit in the throat, by a Cork defender. He looked at the ref. who was disinterested, so yer man has another go.
  Like Ballyshannon some weeks ago, this could be the making of us. If we play Cork later this year I will give us a good chance. They, and their manager, were unseasonally serious today.

Post by: sheamy on April 30, 2012, 07:54:30 AM

I'm not defending Brolly. The bollix can do that himself  :)
Am just saying he's right to highlight playacting and more people should do it. Agree, not nice what O'Leary did and the slap he dished out before that.

These pundits make a name out of pissing people off. First McHugh calls Jinxy's boys saft and now Brolly takes Mayo to task over playacting. This is only fuel to their fires. They are best ignored with the mute button to be honest.